View Full Version : December 2006 Mummies
Just thought that I would start up a thread as I can't seem to find one for the December 2006 mummies. So we can brag about our little bundles of joy and tell eachother about their milestones.
Well my little mans name is Sean Joe, he was born on the 4th Dec at 2.13pm. Weighing 9pd 12ou, 55cm long and head circumference was 36cm. I was in labour for about 4.5hrs.
I am BF him but I also give him formula just to top him up if I can't get him to go to sleep. At night time I get up to feed him 3 times.
During the day he pretty much just sleeps. Sean is quite contented and will just lay there happy looking around. Hes just like DS1 when he was first born.
I will try and get a pic downloaded this week and I will post it here so you can all see my little man.
StarMumma
14-12-2006, 14:28
Just thought that I would start up a thread as I can't seem to find one for the December 2006 mummies. So we can brag about our little bundles of joy and tell eachother about their milestones. ...
Glad I found this thread - was wondering where I was going to go once bubba is born..
:fingerscrossed: I'll be joining you soon!
Great news that everything is going good for you!
How is your other child coping? I am worried my DS1 is going to be a handful - but am hoping as it's close to Christmas there will be a few other distractions around to keep him occupied :rolleyes:
14-12-2006, 14:40
It is very quite in this thread isn't it! Calling all december mummy's ;)
A Party of Five
14-12-2006, 14:45
:wave: I'm here!
SammieSnail
16-12-2006, 05:59
Maybe the other girls don't realise this is here?
Taddy congratulations on the birth of Sean Joe :hugs:
Will jump back on tomorrow to add my bit....
Sammie
family_wish
16-12-2006, 15:59
I have been posting in the November mummies - but maybe I could hang out in both even though Ella was born in November...???
It is quiet in here.
Well know I am back, went to Maryborough for the week as DF had to work there.
Sean is doing great, little guts all what he seems to do is is feeding so I also give him formula aswell. DS1 is coping quite well. The first few days he wouldn't even go near me or Sean. But know he is a BIG pretective brother.
How are all the mums and new bubs doing?
17-12-2006, 19:32
- but maybe I could hang out in both even though Ella was born in November...???
That would be great so we don't miss out on what's happening with your little bubba too.
RaryGirl
17-12-2006, 20:08
Just found this thread - so I can add my bit about my little man.
Well little :laughing: Samuel was born on 28th November at 7:38am weighing 4.26kg. He was born by c-section which went so smoothly and stress free.
My recovery has been wonderful with me up and around the evening of the c-section and back to normal, completely pain free from day 8 - so it was an extremely pleasant birth experience.
My little man is doing so well, he sleeps well, feeds really easily - though does has have a habit of clamping those strong jaws down to make sure I don't get away. :eek:
Today we ventured out on our own (without DD or DH) and did the grocery shopping. Sam slept happily in his sling the whole time.
Overall, Sam has settled into his new home really easily.
I hope all the other December mummies are doing well with their bubba's.
18-12-2006, 08:10
though does has have a habit of clamping those strong jaws down to make sure I don't get away. :eek:
Today we ventured out on our own (without DD or DH) and did the grocery shopping. Sam slept happily in his sling the whole time.
Oohhhh that vice clamp they have - OUCH:eek:
I have been posting in the November mummies - but maybe I could hang out in both even though Ella was born in November...???
Please stay with us Family_wish :yes:
Nic71 - glad Sam is doing so well. James also seems to have a vice like grip with his jaws and I am already dreading teething time :rolleyes:
Things for James and I are good. He is a milk monster and has put on 285gm's in the past 7 days - no wonder I feel like a milk machine! He does seem to get really bad wind though, so if anyone has any tips on how to relieve his pain it would be much appreciated :thumbsup:
18-12-2006, 12:45
He does seem to get really bad wind though, so if anyone has any tips on how to relieve his pain it would be much appreciated :thumbsup:
I really like the Brauers products but when Ozzy had severe wind problems when he was born I ended up using Infacol and it worked really well.
family_wish
18-12-2006, 16:13
Please stay with us Family_wish
Nic71 - glad Sam is doing so well. James also seems to have a vice like grip with his jaws and I am already dreading teething time :rolleyes:
Things for James and I are good. He is a milk monster and has put on 285gm's in the past 7 days - no wonder I feel like a milk machine! He does seem to get really bad wind though, so if anyone has any tips on how to relieve his pain it would be much appreciated :thumbsup:
Hey Aggero.... I have been using Corams alcohol free gripe water on Ella and it seems to be working...she loves it too. I put it in a dropper and she gobbles it down :D
Ella nearly nibbled off my nipple this morning........ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh...it hurts so much...she even drew blood. She is attaching the "right" way (according to the CHN).....so why does it hurt so much...:thumbsdown: - I have been expressing today because the pain is unbearable....
Box
hey guys,
aggero zara has put on 300gs in 5days!! fatty..hehe. i truly feel like a milk mach too...
did anyone else hve stitches that can sympthise w. my pain...its ruling my life! i cnt even stand 4 long enough to chnge zara's nappy! :no:
family wish i knw how ur nipples feel..i feel like saying r u sure this is right...sorry one handed typing, no question marks...haha. :rolleyes:
overall im feeling good about the whole mothering thing though...i just hope she stays this good and relaxed!
does neone hve any good suggestions for an electric breast pump.....santa is bringing me one :xmas: :thumbsup:
I really like the Brauers products but when Ozzy had severe wind problems when he was born I ended up using Infacol and it worked really well.
Hey Aggero.... I have been using Corams alcohol free gripe water on Ella and it seems to be working...she loves it too. I put it in a dropper and she gobbles it down
Thanks ladies. Will give it another couple of days then try your remedies :thumbsup:
aggero zara has put on 300gs in 5days!! fatty..hehe. i truly feel like a milk mach too...
Wow thats fantastic Kim :eek: It's nice to know that all the nipple pain is worth it :rolleyes:
andrewsmum
18-12-2006, 21:09
I didn't know this thread was here!!
All is going well, in 9 days Hayden put on 330gm and Jake put on 400gm!! :eek: I'm BF, but only do maybe 1 bottle a day just to top up their feeds or give me a break.
They still seem to have their daytimes and night-times mixed up!! They alternate where one is very unsettled all the way up to the next feed three hours later, only to switch roles and the other one starts playing up for the following three hours!! I feel like I spend all day constantly settling at least one babe!! Wishing for the day when both of them settles, and I can perhaps have a sleep, yeah!! Wishful thinking, I know!!
As I can't tell you when I'll next be on, I'll wish you guys a great Christmas!! Hope its not too hot for us! Take care :wave:
:wave: andrewsmum good to hear from u n glad to hear how well ur twins r doing! merry christmas if we dnt c u again b4 then.
well i jinxed myself...zara is hving a very restless night! she justwnt get ff my boob!! hehe, ill be sleeping well during the day tommorow j hope.
hope everyone else is fast asleep right now :rolleyes: :thumbsup:
Must be one of those nights! Think I have managed a total of 1hr sleep :banghead: and that was with James hanging off my boob :banghead: I am def off to the chemist today to get something for this wind.
:hugs: to you Kylie. I'm not sure I could cope with twins, let alone twins +1!!!
RaryGirl
19-12-2006, 17:04
Kimberly and Aggero - I hope bubba's were more settled today and you managed a few cat naps.
Andrewsmum I admire you breastfeeding 2 bubba's, I have enough trouble with one.
My little man has alot of wind as well - but we seem to be able to shift it with lots of pats and sitting up - thank goodness. My DD always suffered from wind and couldn't seem to get it all up, but this little man has no trouble burping and fluffing like a "real man". :laughing: Very elegant he is - manages to sound very adult, poor DH got the blame a couple of times.
Went out for the first time with just DD and DS today, left hubby at home, I don't know how you mums with toddlers and babies go - I had enough fun keeping DD (whose 8) and a baby under control. Sam decided he wanted a feed in the middle of the computer repair shop and let everyone know that he wasn't happy - went from sound asleep to starving to death in 2 minutes! :eek: And of course DD kept telling him to wait and shush, while the computer guy is trying to tell me there is no problem with my computer - must just be me. :banghead: So went home to feed Sam and left DH to go back to the computer shop - oh joys of modern technology.
Sending sleep vibes to all the bubba's so us mummies can have a good night sleep tonight.
Mrs Dolphin
19-12-2006, 17:45
Hi all :wave:
I didn't know this thread here either...but will be checking in more often now....Leah is going well but we still having few feeding probs so i have decided to express breast milk and do formula top ups as she is only putting on 20g weight every couple of days.
Glad to hear everyone else going ok and nice to see familar faces/names in here!!
be back later....
19-12-2006, 19:25
Ella nearly nibbled off my nipple this morning........ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh...it hurts so much...she even drew blood. She is attaching the "right" way (according to the CHN).....so why does it hurt so much
Your nipples will get used to it I promise:thumbsup:
just found this thread, good to see familiar people, i missed out on december by one day, james was born 30th november.
Hes doing well, all 11 pounds of him :eek: I'm feeding him expressed breast milk as he is so lazy on the boob and just wants to suck for hours on end! But having trouble keeping up with him, hes such a little piggy
good to hear how everyone else is going with their new arrivals :wave:
jade21887
19-12-2006, 20:17
Im also going to join here lol. I was meant to be a dec mummy. But bub had other ideas! Having a **** of a week. Nothing going right. Feeling really down. Hoping its just hormones and that it will pass.
Hope you have a better day today Jade :hugs:
RaryGirl
20-12-2006, 21:52
How's everyone's day today. Were they better?
My little man had a very clingy day today and he decided he didn't want to sleep much - mind you he slept most of yesterday and last night, so he was entitled to some awake time. Only problem is he thinks it's food time when he's awake, even if he fed just half an hour ago.
I have just got him to sleep, so :fingerscrossed: he has a good night, cause I don't think my boobies can handle another feed for a few hours.
I hope everyone else gets a good nights rest as well.
Just a quick question.....at what stage does wind etc become classified as colic??? I bought some Infacol drops yesterday for James and they have cut his night time screaming/crying/pain down to about 2hrs but still this seems to be a long time for such a small baby to be in pain. I feel so helpless and miserable that I can't help him :crying: He is soo settled during the day, I hardly get a peep out of him but come 8pm he is agony......I am only giving him the Infacol with the night feeds as these are the problem ones, should I be giving them to him with every feed?
jade21887
21-12-2006, 06:17
aggero,
i took my bub to the drs yesterday, and was told that my bub has colic and reflux. I would take him into the drs. Only give infacol at the feeds that make him upset. What else have you tried for wind? I find a bath helps, putting him in a sling helps a little cause it keeps him upright, you can give them a little cooled coiled water in a bottle and that helps with wind. Colic usually lasts 3-4 months, so please keep that in mind! I'll be thinking of you when Im up all night with my bub!!!
A good tip that I was given, was instead of doing things during the day, do them at night when he is unsettled, and sleep whenever you can during the day. It means that I now get a sleep when Soph has a nap during the day, so Im getting about 3 hrs every 24 hrs rather than 2!! I put him in the sling, do the washing up, wash the clothes, put things away etc.
Hi!!
Just found this thread, it is good to find lots of people with bubba's at the same age to talk to!!
Our little tiger was born on december 2nd, after an induction, and 20 hours of labour, then an emergency c-section... but all was well in the end!
Are there any people who live in brisbane and would be interested in coffee mornings or something? would be great to have someone who understands to talk to!!
Nice to meet you all!
RaryGirl
21-12-2006, 11:33
Hi Flip
Your bub was born on a great day - my birthday!!!!
I'm a brissie girl - live on the Southside, so if you're over this way we can catch up for coffee and chat.
Nic
21-12-2006, 11:43
I'm a brissie girl - live on the Southside
I'm a northsider;)
RaryGirl
21-12-2006, 13:04
I'm a northsider;)
I was a northside girl until I got married. Took me ages to accept that I was living on the southside and I hated the fact that I didn't know how to get anywhere - needed (or still need) the refidex to find my way around.
aggero,
i took my bub to the drs yesterday, and was told that my bub has colic and reflux. I would take him into the drs. Only give infacol at the feeds that make him upset. What else have you tried for wind? I find a bath helps, putting him in a sling helps a little cause it keeps him upright, you can give them a little cooled coiled water in a bottle and that helps with wind. Colic usually lasts 3-4 months, so please keep that in mind! I'll be thinking of you when Im up all night with my bub!!!
A good tip that I was given, was instead of doing things during the day, do them at night when he is unsettled, and sleep whenever you can during the day. It means that I now get a sleep when Soph has a nap during the day, so Im getting about 3 hrs every 24 hrs rather than 2!! I put him in the sling, do the washing up, wash the clothes, put things away etc.
Thanks Jade. James had a much better time of it last night thank goodness. Only took an hour to relieve his wind!!! I have tried all the usual burping techniques, but don't really find any of them too effective. I agree that a bath seems to calm him (and me) down.
:fingerscrossed: both our bubs improve quickly.
21-12-2006, 13:15
I was a northside girl until I got married.
Isn't it funny how the river divides the city and most ppl don't venture to the other side as it's the unknown lmao!
bris_mummy-to-be17
21-12-2006, 13:47
hey girls :wave:
just thought i'd pop in and see how you's are going.
sorry aggero about the problems with bubbys wind. sounds horrible. glad it's getting better for you though =) :hugs:
Wow i never realised how many of us live in brissy! I'm a southside girl and i too hardly ever go to the northside :p I used to go over there a lot because one of my boyfriends lived at stafford but now i dont know anyone there! Would be nice if we could do a coffee morning one morning or something.
Hope to be joining you soon =) xoxo
21-12-2006, 13:49
I used to go over there a lot because one of my boyfriends lived at stafford
I used to live at Stafford - but we just bought at Bracken Ridge.
Mrs Dolphin
21-12-2006, 18:51
Hi Everyone!
How is everyone going today?
To those in Brisbane just talking about your north and southside and how those on each side don't venture over the other - it is exactly the same here in Perth! We refer to it as North of the River and South of the River and usually everyone sticks to their 'own' side of the river IYKWIM!! Funny how it is isn't it! Anyway - not really important just made me smile to see another city the same as ours!!
Aggero and Jade21887 - I sooo know what you are going through! Leah has what DH and I are referring to as the 'witching hours" - from about 10pm to 4am she is unsettled and upset and from what I can tell it is from wind as she cries distressed arches her back, pulls her legs up and is hard to calm down. It can take so long to settle her after a night feed that by the time we do it is time for the next feed (she is feeding about every 3hrs). I thought it was because we are breastfeeding during day and she is having formula at night but if your bubs are breastfed then maybe it is nothing to do with the formula!
Jade21887 - has the doctor given u any advice or anything for the colic and reflux? Is your bub breastfed or formula? My bub will sometimes vomit after a formula feed and she has just started doing this.
Other than the no sleep at night (DH and I got to go to sleep at 6am this morning after being up all night with leah!) we are really enjoying Leah and watching her change already!
Hope everyone else is having a good day and getting some sleep!! :)
jade21887
21-12-2006, 19:39
Mrs Dolphin - Ive been told to raise the bed up, so Ill try that tonight and see if it makes any difference.
SammieSnail
22-12-2006, 06:53
Hey Girls :wave:
Sorry I've been slack at posting.
Have had a nasty bout of mastitis and nipple thrush ever since coming home from hospital. Mainly my fault for running around like a mad twit going out every day and getting by on no food or sleep :shame:
Kevin was born on the 10th of December @ 1am after 1.5hr labor.
My waters broke at a friends house at 11:30pm on the 9th of December, 5 mins later contractions started at 3 mins apart then 10 mins later were back to back. We got to the hospital around 12.
It was quite intense and scarey.
Because I was 10cm dialated when I arrived at the hospital they wouldn't give me any pain relief. I luckily got away with just a small graze.
Kevin was 3840g and 50.5cms long.
He is now back to 3800g and is 53cms long.
We only just made it to the public hospital so when he was 8hrs old he had his first car-ride to the private we were booked in with.
I should go jump in the shower and eat while I have the chance.
I look forward to sharing in this amazing journey with you all. :hugs:
Its good to keep track of everyone after their bubs are born
Things are not too bad here, although we have no routine watsoever, some days wind causes James major problems then he'll be fine for a few days, some days he'll sleep heaps others not at all, some days he'll scream for hours on end, so we're trying to just go with whatever he throws at us, just when we think we have him sussed he changes his routine!
He has his 3 week check up thismorning, so i will be interested to see what he weighs
If im not online before xmas, have a great Christmas with your new babys everyone :xmas: :reindeer:
Oh excellent - thanks family_wish for letting me know about this thread.
Sorry haven't had the chance to read the past posts.. I only have another 10 mins and she's due to wake up for a feed.
Thanks all for the suggestions on the other thread about rocking Chelsea to sleep. I called Karitane today and they have given me some great advice as well. I will try it by just patting her in her bassinett to sleep. And if she cries and it's really bad cries then pick her up to cuddle, rock a bit then put back down. Hopefuly she'll cooperate and help mummy!
It's so hard when your husband doesn't want to do it because he doesn't want to hear her cry at all and quick to pick her up.
It's just driving me insane taking so long to rock her to sleep. So wil try this technic and if it doesn't work well I guess she wins again and back to the rocking.
Hope you all have a Merry Xmas because I know I wont have time to log on again until probably next wed.
:tree: :xmas:
family_wish
22-12-2006, 18:04
:fingerscrossed: Sabby hope the patting works for you....it works for Ella and myself most of the time.....but sometimes she is just too cranky and I have to give a her a big cuddle first ;)..but then I end up patting her and she falls asleep....touch wood..:laughing:
Boxox
andrewsmum
23-12-2006, 14:38
he doesn't want to hear her cry at all and quick to pick her up.
Hi Sabby, my DH is the same - he hates hearing the babies crying, yet he gets frustrated very easily if they continue to cry after about 3minutes (!!) so he returns the baby to me to settle...:banghead: Also, if they keep it up, he thinks a bottle of formula will quieten them (even when their last feed was only 1 hour prior!). His method of feeding them is to make up a bottle, stick it in their mouths and the bottle is propped up with a nappy underneath - so he has his 'hands-free'. Grr, I really think he should hold the bottle at least, and be right there to help out if the bub start choking on it ?? While he supports me a lot by helping out around the house, when it comes to dealing with the babies, I'm not happy with the techniques he uses - the way he holds them (one handed!!) feeds them, changes their nappies, baths them, wraps them, etc.
OK, vent over!! DH hasn't yet had any time off, so I've been relying on assistance from family members. I pretty much cope OK on my own, its just needing to keep my older DS happy, entertained and not bored that's difficult. We are both suffering from cabin fever - need to get out and about but it's a bit hard with the two bubs!! Not easy to just throw them in the car and drive!! So I've had my SIL pick him up occasionally so he can spend time with his cousins and get out of my hair for a few hours. DH will be on holidays for all of January. Can't wait - maybe he can do a few night shifts while I sleep!! (:fingerscrossed: )
The babies are doing really well, they've reached the one month mark, it's hard to believe that four weeks have passed already! Both are putting on weight and starting to look like proper babies (although still on the skinny side!). Their clothes still don't fit properly (size 0000) but they're quickly growing into them!!
Had the paed check them out yesterday, he seems to think Jake has a heart murmur. Will get it confirmed in February (as most babies have this problem, but most do grow out of it). Hayden is still jaundiced, was told it'll be another month before the colour goes back to normal. He doesn't seem concerned that both babies are chuckers (they get sick after every feed) that they constantly smell like vomit. eww. Need daily baths!! Grr... Didn't say it was reflux though, just said it was normal for babies to bring up their feeds (yes, I know, but vomiting this much - I don't think so!!) even though it doesn't seem to worry the babies.
Have had a few wind issues(both babies can go a few days without doing poo's but when it comes, it's sooo smelly!!). Have also had some sleep and settling issues but will be going to Karitane next year, when they return from their Xmas break to get a routine developed.
Anyhoo, just realised this is a long post, sorry!!! Hope you all have a Merry Christmas!! :tree: We are so lucky to have our bubs with us on this special family day.:xmas:
Southside and Northside is confusing for me.. I need suburbs!! We live in Bulimba, near the city... moved here after we got married, to be closer to my job, hehe then we found out that i was already 5 weeks pregnant so I dont have anyone I know close by.
I dont know where is a central place for everyone??
:reindeer:Merry Christmas Everyone!:reindeer:
Just a thought, Anyone interested in catching up for a coffee morning, PM me and then we can work out the most central place
Thanks !:smiliedance:
24-12-2006, 17:05
We live in Bulimba, near the city...
Bulimba is southside;)
RaryGirl
24-12-2006, 21:52
Merry Christmas all the new mummies - enjoy your babies first Christmas. :tree:
family_wish
27-12-2006, 12:59
Hi there :wave:
Hope everyone had a merry xmas with their new bubs... Ella was so spoilt...(we got presents from people we don't even know :eek: )...amazing! (Friends of DH parents we haven't even met...???)
She has been unsettled lately..wants lots of cuddles all the time and wants to kick around in her bouncer...she has ants in her pants :yes:
I just love her to bits...:D
Hope all new bubs and mums are doing well...
Boxox
James is 4 weeks old tomorrow, doesnt time fly. He been pretty unsettled today, i dont think he knows what he wants. I feel so sleep deprived and cant seem to catch up. Ive started topping him up with formula as he doesnt seem to be getting enough from me, although with topping him up i suppose my supply will go down. Can you over feed a baby as he always seems to be hungry?!
I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas
family_wish
27-12-2006, 14:44
Hi there GCK
The health nurse told me that you can't overfeed a breastfed baby...? (not sure about FF babies though)..I know that Ella stops drinking her formula when she is full. Most of the time she will drink the 150mls but sometimes she stops at around 100-120mls...
I am getting used to being sleep deprived now....Coke is my best friend :)..and cups of tea...luckily we are mainly FF these days due to my crappy milk supply or she would be hyperactive :laughing:
Boxo
Hi All mummies!
Well finally got to log in again!
Sounds like our little ones have been being cheeky lately. She's been very unsettled for the past few days. Having very short sleeps during the day. Like 1/2 hr - 1hr sleeps. Ahhh! Driving me insane. Couldn't do much - like even eat, have a shower etc. Luckily hubby is not too busy at work and he is home early and was home fr sat - tues (xmas hols).
Chelsea is now 6 weeks old today! :smiliedance:
She has grown and she is so cute every day.
I had another cry last night because she was so unsettled all day. Sometimes I feel that I'm not equipped to be a mom and doing a lousy job at it because I find it so hard to settle her and at times hubby can settle her better than I can. :crying:
We wanted to take her to our family gp yesterday to see if what ever is making her very unsettled is medical. She had jaundice when she was born and she was sooo unsettled for the first few days and we didn't know why until they diagnosed the jaundice.
I know she has very bad low wind pain and we have been giving her drops of Brauer Colic Relief before night feed and this helps alot but see being 1st time parents we are not even sure if we are doing the right thing. So want to have her checked first, but our gp is on holidays and wont be back till the 8/1! :banghead: So will just have to go to the medical centre and her paedrician appointment is not till the 11/1.. too long to wait.
She is still fully breastfeed. I hope she is getting enough from me. That's whats hard with BF don't know how many ml's she's having.
She had a very good sleep last night. Slept fr 10.00pm - 3.20am then from 3.50am - 7.20am! So happy with that as I feel like a caught up with my sleep deprivation from the other night. GCK - I'm same with you getting so used to sleep deprived then having to function normal the next day.
Anyways hope you all had a very merry xmas!
And a Happy New Year just incase I don't get to log on again till the new year.
Here's our family pic with Santa!
http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g256/Sab11y/SSS_0074.jpg
family_wish
28-12-2006, 09:44
Hi Sabby
Maybe something you are eating is aggravating her?? Some of the girls in the November mummies thread have modified their diet and it seems to be helping...
Just a thought..
Boxxo
Sabby,
James is the same sleeping 1/2 hr to an hr then awake for hours, during the day, last night wasnt much fun he woke at 12 then 2am then wouldnt go back to sleep until i put him in our bed about 4.30am, but then i still couldnt sleep because i thought i would roll on him or squash him. He just wants to be held all the time and its exhausting. its so hard not knowing what the problem is, when youve done everything fed, burped, gripe water, nappy, dummy, rocker, play mat and hes still screaming and it feels so much worse in the middle of the night, i just feel like sitting there crying with him! I tried telling the midwife last week that he crys a lot and is hungry a lot and she just says thats normal which makes me feel worse. Sorry about my depressing post but im finding this whole parenting thing quite overwhelming!
Hello Ladies,
Well I haven't been in here for awhile. Sean will be 4 weeks on Monday. Where has that time gone, oh yeh changing smelly bums, feeding, cuddling, spoiling.
Sean also is breast fed but when we go out he will get formula or if I can't feed him anymore I will just top him up.
He wakes 2 times a night about 12pm and 3.30am. He seems to be sleeping better during the day though. But oh well we will figuire something out with that.
How does everyone lay them down to sleep?
I use to put Sean on his side but he wasn't settling as good and know I put him on his tummy which I have been told its meant to make them feel full. About 2 wks ago I also put him in the cot as he didn't like the bassinet.
Hope everything settles down with everyone and their bubs.
jade21887
28-12-2006, 15:14
Sabby,
Try to avoid things that make you feel windy. I find things like broccoli, and chocolate etc make lachy worse with his wind. And I've cut out a heap more cause of his reflux. I think I need a list of what I can eat!! Less to remember that way lol.
Sleeping I put lachy on his back. Putting them on their tummies is a sids risk. I have put a pillow under one end of the basinette to raise the cot for his reflux, so hes sleeping on an angle.
Lachy is still a pain in the butt when it comes to sleep. Still getting about 2 hrs a night. He usually sleeps from 11-1, and then thats it till 7ish. Last night I got a heap of cleaning done. I think his reflux is worse at night, cause he will quite happily sleep upright. So I chuck him in the baby bjorn and start cleaning.
jade21887
28-12-2006, 15:16
Sabby - do what feels right to you!!! There is no right/wrong way to parent. Weve all been first parents once. And what will work for one bub wont necesarily work for another.
Sabby,
James is the same sleeping 1/2 hr to an hr then awake for hours, during the day, last night wasnt much fun he woke at 12 then 2am then wouldnt go back to sleep until i put him in our bed about 4.30am, but then i still couldnt sleep because i thought i would roll on him or squash him. He just wants to be held all the time and its exhausting. its so hard not knowing what the problem is, when youve done everything fed, burped, gripe water, nappy, dummy, rocker, play mat and hes still screaming and it feels so much worse in the middle of the night, i just feel like sitting there crying with him! I tried telling the midwife last week that he crys a lot and is hungry a lot and she just says thats normal which makes me feel worse. Sorry about my depressing post but im finding this whole parenting thing quite overwhelming!
Anna I feel your pain!!! My James is exactly the same. He will only sleep if he is held until he falls asleep and then wakes only minutes after being transfered into his bed, so during the night I have taken to having him sleep on my chest, that way I know I won't roll on him. Not the best solution I know and prob not a habit I want him to form but it means I got a 5 hour stretch of sleep last night :o
family_wish
28-12-2006, 16:43
Anna I feel your pain!!! My James is exactly the same. He will only sleep if he is held until he falls asleep and then wakes only minutes after being transfered into his bed, so during the night I have taken to having him sleep on my chest, that way I know I won't roll on him. Not the best solution I know and prob not a habit I want him to form but it means I got a 5 hour stretch of sleep last night :o
Anna and Aggero - Ella is the same now....I have to let her fall "very" asleep on my chest before I can transfer her back into the bassinette at night...
I now have her bassinette on an angle and that is helping heaps too.
I have just had to change her baby formula back to S26 Alpha Gold as she was farting so much :eek: on the Nan IHA and they were extremely stinky..:rolleyes:
Sorry, I am a bit dopey...we both just had a nap...I have a cold and she is very sniffly... poor thing.
Bxoxo
family_wish
28-12-2006, 16:44
PS Jade - you poor bugger being awake all night...:hugs:
jade21887
28-12-2006, 18:08
PS Jade - you poor bugger being awake all night...:hugs:
Would you believe im actually getting used to it?! Who would have known that I'd be getting used to 1-2 hrs sleep a night!
bloggedissue
28-12-2006, 18:49
We've been having some problems settling Cayley at night too. I have to keep reminding myself and dh that it is early days yet, and we'll work out some sort of solution in the near future.
My girl is such a little piggy. Haven't had her weighed yet since we came home, couldn't get an appointment. But she lost 280 grams the first couple of days, and four days later had put back on 230 grams!
Don't think we'll be in newborn nappies too long.
Here's to hoping for a good nights sleep for EVERYONE tonight.
We had a much better night last night and im feeling almost human again. James woke at 12 then 4 and went straight back to sleep after feed and nappy, i heard him being sick at 5am and he didnt even wake up while i cleaned him up and hes back asleep now :smiliedance:
Ive been alternating between one breastfeed and one formula feed and it seems to be working well,
hope everyone else had a good night
OscarTheGrouch
29-12-2006, 08:43
Hi ladies.:wave: Thought I'd better post and get involved in this thread. Well I hate to say it but I have an excellent sleeping baby during the night. He sleeps in 4-6 hour intervals. He's very unsettled in the afternoons, but once he's over that he's fine. I must admit I don't feel tired at all. When Lachlan was a baby he got his unsettled periods during the night and I was b*ggered. I put Joshua down at 9pm last night and he woke at 4.30am for a feed and then again at 9am. Which is good timing as Lachlan generally wakes up between 8.30am and 9am. We're getting the routine down pat now. We had a first family outing to the shops yesterday. The Phil & Teds is great. Wonderful for 2 kiddy winks. Now I can see why you love it O's mum.:thumbsup: Joshua had a few days of constantly pooing during and after a feed. Was a bit worried about him and dehydration, but he got through it okay. His bowel habits seem to be normal now.:fingerscrossed: To all those new Mummies, it can certainly be quite overwhelming at first. It does get easier.:hugs:
Sabby - I have a number for you. Going back to when we were discussing medications and what you can and can't have while BF. This number is the advice line for what you can and can't take during BF. The Midwives said that GP's or Pharmacists will basically say you can't take anything, but you can. The number is: Mother Safe 93826539. Hope this helps.
Have a great day everyone.
family_wish
29-12-2006, 09:18
L & J - so glad that Joshua is a good sleeper....:thumbsup: Ella was up a fair bit last night and virtually had to sleep on my chest all night..then this morning she has vomited a fair bit..???? Don't know if I should take her to the doctor...
I gave her the boob last night (which I only usually do during the day) - maybe that upset her tummy?
Well, she is crying now.....best go.........
OscarTheGrouch
29-12-2006, 09:27
family_wish - Joshua seems to have 1 night a week like you've described. Vomitting (posseting) in newborns is quite normal, unless it's severe and causing dehydration. Joshua has some spewy days and others he's fine. On his unsettled night and had an extremely large power chuck, but settled down after that. Lachlan used to spew everytime he had a feed.
Lachlan and Joshua- didnt recognise you under the new name! wow joshua is a great sleeper, im so jealous!
Family Wish- I found that the only times James has been spewy has been after being on the boob too, rather than EBM or formula, so its interesting that you have the same thing with Ella
Well just been for a 20min walk, trying to get back into a bit of exercise as i have 10kgs to lose to get back to pre preg weight, and it took me about 2 hours to get ready for my walk between bubs nappies and him getting hungry lol
better go hes hungry again!
OscarTheGrouch
29-12-2006, 10:42
Lachlan and Joshua- didnt recognise you under the new name! wow joshua is a great sleeper, im so jealous!
Family Wish- I found that the only times James has been spewy has been after being on the boob too, rather than EBM or formula, so its interesting that you have the same thing with Ella
Well just been for a 20min walk, trying to get back into a bit of exercise as i have 10kgs to lose to get back to pre preg weight, and it took me about 2 hours to get ready for my walk between bubs nappies and him getting hungry lol
better go hes hungry again!
I think Joshua is like his parents and his big brother, we all love our sleep. Even Lachlan sleeps for about 10-12 hours overnight.:D He's well fed too so I think that helps. Oh and I know about the 10kg's to lose scenario. I've got to do the same. I didn't lose all my weight last time, so now I've got to pound the pavements and get it off.
Chucking after feeds seems to be another thing we all have in common, at least we can reassure ourselves that we are not alone and it is 'normal' Bubhub is great for that :thumbsup:
Well today is my first day alone with bubs. DH is working and my visitors have all departed. As lovely as it was to see everyone and have the help around the house I am looking forward to try to establish some form of routine.
Must go typing one fingered whilst bf (the only way I find time to logon lately) xxx
family_wish
29-12-2006, 14:32
family_wish - Joshua seems to have 1 night a week like you've described. Vomitting (posseting) in newborns is quite normal, unless it's severe and causing dehydration. Joshua has some spewy days and others he's fine. On his unsettled night and had an extremely large power chuck, but settled down after that. Lachlan used to spew everytime he had a feed.
Glad to hear that it seems relatively normal for them to spew...she hasn't really done much before this so it seems I have been lucky ...
Chucking after feeds seems to be another thing we all have in common, at least we can reassure ourselves that we are not alone and it is 'normal' Bubhub is great for that :thumbsup:
Well today is my first day alone with bubs. DH is working and my visitors have all departed. As lovely as it was to see everyone and have the help around the house I am looking forward to try to establish some form of routine.
Must go typing one fingered whilst bf (the only way I find time to logon lately) xxx
:laughing: - yes I need to master the art of one finger typing. I was a little frightened on my first day alone....how were you? But, I have such a good routine now...well sort of...;)
My friend came over today and her bubs was born a few hours before Ella - he is so sleepy and baby like..she is definitely not a sleepy baby.. so alert and "interested"... my friend said her daughter was like Ella as a baby...maybe its a girl thing??
Here is a picture of Ella on Christmas day...
http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i178/beeba_2006/IMG_1028.jpg
Here is a picture of her with her little friend Charlotte who is 2 weeks older ( Ella is the chubby one on the left :D )
http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i178/beeba_2006/IMG_1020.jpg
OscarTheGrouch
29-12-2006, 16:06
I love the Santa Claus outfits family_wish, oh they're so cute!!!!:yes: :D Where did you find those? I was looking for something like that for Joshua but couldn't find anything.
family_wish
29-12-2006, 16:59
My friend's sister got them for us both...I'll find out!!
angel_one
29-12-2006, 17:04
hey nobody told me about this thread!!!!
lol
RaryGirl
29-12-2006, 17:36
How's everyone's sleep going today? I hope all the bubbies have had a settled day.
Sabby I understand how you feel - I went through the same thing with my DD and as one of the other mums said you need to do what you think is best. It's hard first time around, but it does get easier and you soon learn to go with your gut feelings.
I'm lucky this time round little Sam is a good sleeper and feeder. He has his unsettled time in the early evening, but that's fine because when he does go to sleep, he'll sleep for at least 6 hours in the night, half wake for a feed and go back to sleep for another 4-5 hours.
We had a marathon shopping trip yesterday and my little man slept most of the time and was happy to stay in the pram. It's so different from when DD was a baby!
LaChLaN & JoShUa the little outfits came from Kmart - a friend of mine bought one for Sam. Here's a photo of Sam in his outfit.
http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h40/nic71/My%20Little%20Man/?action=view¤t=SantasHelper.jpg
angel_one
29-12-2006, 18:52
oh i just remebered!! hayden was born in november! lol, can i stay on this board with you girls??? even though im a november mummy lol
technically speaking, hes now 1 week old!!! lol (adjusted age and all!)
RaryGirl
29-12-2006, 20:02
My bubba was born in November too - but was due in December - so I think we can stay here. :yes:
family_wish
30-12-2006, 10:17
Me too!!!:detective:
merlottes
30-12-2006, 11:01
I've just found this thread i had a little girl Abigail the 14th of dec she was 6 pounds 14 ozs i had to be induced a week early coz of my b/p had my waters broken 9am but that didn't start anything so i was put on the drip at 10:30am and Abi was born at 4:11pm that afternoon. I'm having a few troubles getting her to feed and now she is having a few unsettled nights.
better go bubs is awakes about to cry the house down
Mrs Dolphin
30-12-2006, 13:17
Hi Everyone!!
First time I have had a chance to log in here for awhile - new babies certainly take time up don't they!! But sooo worth it...
I can sympathise with you all about the sleeping/settling issues. Leah was really good for 3 nights in a row with having a feed around 9.30pm/10pm or so then sleeping to about 2am then feeding and off to sleep again to around 6 or 7am. But then one night she had a really unsettled night and I was up from 12pm to 7am with her and I had about 45mins of sleep that night!! Then last night she slept well again so go figure! Plus we have to have her fall asleep on us or else she won't go to sleep.
Also glad to hear that we are not alone in the spewy department...again some days Leah will spew big time like 2 or 3 times a day after a feed while other days she won't spew at all. She is pretty much FF now due to my breastfeeding problems and her pretty much rejecting the boob but I try and make sure she also has at least 1 or 2 EBM in a bottle each day so she is at least getting some breast milk too. We are both a lot happier with it this way even though I still feel a little bad sometimes as I wanted to fully breastfeed her.
We were using the Nan HA1 Gold but just finished a time and we still had the S26 Alpha Gold so have switched back to that for now...not sure what to get next - one of these two again or to try an anti-reflux one (even though Doc said too early to diagnose reflux) but i get concerned on her big spews!
Anyway hope everyone got some sleep last night and enjoying the last few days of the year! To think that soon we have to say our babies were born last year even though they are all still so young!! LOL!!
Gotta go - little munchkin is crying...:reindeer:
bloggedissue
30-12-2006, 13:56
Well I'm feeling pretty miserable today... I've managed to develop an infection. Started bleeding yesterday after pretty much nothing for a week. Almost went into hysterics, but rang the hospital, who told me to go to doctor, who has put me on antibiotics, and gee, they're not making me feel much better, but hope that means they are working.
:laughing: - yes I need to master the art of one finger typing. I was a little frightened on my first day alone....how were you? But, I have such a good routine now...well sort of...
I was a little worried but luckily my little man decided to be soo well behaved :yes: so I loved it, although I was glad when DH came home so I could have a moment to myself. Btw Ella looks simply gorgeous!
She is pretty much FF now due to my breastfeeding problems and her pretty much rejecting the boob but I try and make sure she also has at least 1 or 2 EBM in a bottle each day so she is at least getting some breast milk too. We are both a lot happier with it this way even though I still feel a little bad sometimes as I wanted to fully breastfeed her.
Try not to beat yourself up about the not breastfeeding, as long as Leah is getting nourishment thats all that matters.
Hey guys, Kyan and I took our time getting to this thread but we finally made it.
Great to see you here Chrissy. Kyan was a decent weight, if I remember correctly he proved the Dr's wrong didn't he :D
Well I'm feeling pretty miserable today... I've managed to develop an infection. Started bleeding yesterday after pretty much nothing for a week. Almost went into hysterics, but rang the hospital, who told me to go to doctor, who has put me on antibiotics, and gee, they're not making me feel much better, but hope that means they are working.
:hugs: hope you start to feel better soon
family_wish
30-12-2006, 14:59
Well Ella was a perfect angel last night...woke up at 11.30 for a feed - fell asleep straight away, then 3.30 for a feed - fell asleep straight away......and then 6.30 for a feed...had a bit of a chat to herself and fell asleep again.......:thumbsup: She is much happier on her S26gold formula than Nan gold 1HA..so I will keep her on that. (She is less stinky too :laughing: )
Bloggedissue - sorry you are unwell...where is the infection - can't remember if you had a c-section ??
Chrissy - I really love Kyan's name - it was one I had chosen - I think that guy Kyan from that TV show is gorgeous..too bad he is gay
Melly - congrats on little Abigail...another gorgeous name...:yelclap:
Ella is getting increasingly difficult to settle during the day...she wants to party..but if it means we get sleep at night...I'll go with the flow :D
Glad everyone seems to be doing fine...only a few more December babies to come...
Box
jade21887
30-12-2006, 15:09
Well back from the drs. Lachy's been diagnosed with silent reflux, weve been given a few things to do, and were seeing the drs again next week to see if thats working. Ive been diagnosed with postnatal depression. So wrapping my head around that, but kinda glad that theres a reason for myself falling apart, and not being able to do things I usually do.
(Im posting this in a couple of threads - so sorry if you get it a couple of times - just easier this way)
family_wish
30-12-2006, 16:18
Jade - glad to hear that you have an explanation for Lachy's unsettledness...did they give you zantac to try with him? My friend's bub had the same prob and did well on the Zantac. Sorry to hear you have been diagnosed with PND..it is so common... the medication these days is really good and should help soon (if they gave you any)...there is a thread on bubhub for PND sufferers - have you seen it?
Chrissy - my sister has her baby on Heinz nurture and loves it. I think I will stick with the S26 gold because she seems happy on it - so therefore I am happy too :) :) :)
I am waiting for Ella to wake - she had her last feed at 12.30 and its now 5.15pm :eek: ........oh no, does this mean she will be awake all night??? Eeekk...
Boxox
angel_one
30-12-2006, 21:39
family_wish, isnt it just wonderfull when they decide that they do indeed need sleep too!
Hayden, gave us a rough night last night again (not to mention the aircon being a **** and making lots of noise - stupid thing!) so i woke up a zombie again - and it really didnt help having dd come in every 5 mins waking hayden - while i try and have my sleep in (sat and sundays are the only days for that - and at that its only for an hour!!! - the 2 days that dh will deal with the too older kids all by himself - and mummy doesnt care what or how he does it as long as they leav eme alone, and have breakfast! - hell i dont even mind cleaning up thebreakfast mess!)
oh well i think im again in for another long night, very unsettled today, and has only just figured out hes tired - and at that is still stiring a bit! -big sigh-
Mrs Dolphin
30-12-2006, 22:01
Wow being able to log in twice in one day!! LOL! Just a quick one though as it's Leah's bathtime...
Jade - Glad you had some success at the dr's and hopefully Lachlan will be better now and good that you are getting some help too..remember we are here if you need us!!
BloggedIssue - Sorry to hear you aren't well - hope you feel better soon!!
Chrissy - congrats on the arrival of Kyan - fancy a Christmas Day bub!!
Family_Wish - just a question - do you have set feeding 'schedule' for Ella (ie every 304 hours) or do you just feed her when she wakes up hungry? Initally I was told to feed Leah every 3 hours or so and to wake her up if she was asleep but that was mainly when she was just born and I was trying to breastfeed - now she is mostly on formula I am just wondering if I should still be waking her to feed or just wait until she wakes even if she goes like 4 or more hours during the day (at night we let her sleep!) What do you do?
Any other opinions on the above about feeding would be appreciated too!!
Aggero - Thanks for the support - I am trying not to feel bad and console myself that Leah is much happier and gaining weight now and I can always try with the second one to breastfeed when the time comes!
Hope everyone is having a good weekend (although every day seems to roll into one now doesn't it!!) :)
StarMumma
30-12-2006, 22:34
Just wanted to say hi to everyone and looking forward to catching up on all the news in the next couple of days - I really need to get to bed while the little one is sleeping....
Take care and if not on tomorrow - HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
:party:
jade21887
31-12-2006, 06:15
Thanks for the support. Dont think I'll be online for a little bit. Andrews grandmother passed away last night. Not really what I need right now. Its a bit of a shock. We were fairly close. She hadnt seen Lachlan yet, not even a photo, which makes me sad.
31-12-2006, 09:21
Happy New Years girls - anyone celebrating - I think I will be sleeping lol!:p
OscarTheGrouch
31-12-2006, 09:52
WISHING YOU ALL A HAPPY AND PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR!!!!
:party: :party:
family_wish
31-12-2006, 15:01
[QUOTE=Mrs Dolphin;943353]
Family_Wish - just a question - do you have set feeding 'schedule' for Ella (ie every 304 hours) or do you just feed her when she wakes up hungry? Initally I was told to feed Leah every 3 hours or so and to wake her up if she was asleep but that was mainly when she was just born and I was trying to breastfeed - now she is mostly on formula I am just wondering if I should still be waking her to feed or just wait until she wakes even if she goes like 4 or more hours during the day (at night we let her sleep!) What do you do?
Any other opinions on the above about feeding would be appreciated too!!
QUOTE]
Hey Mrs Dolphin - yesterday was just a one off it seems...she is back to waking up during the day 3 hourly for a feed...:) ...last night she did two four hour stints...but if she went longer I wouldn't wake her up. I am not sure if I should wake her during the day if she goes longer than 4 hours...??? Does anybody know. I'll ask my GP on Wed...she's just had a baby so at least she knows what she is talking about..:cool:
Well...
Happy New Year everyone!!!
Our friends who have a baby almost the same age as Ella are coming over and we are having a few drinky poos....:thumbsup: (if I make it to midnight!!)
31-12-2006, 16:12
Just had to share my boobs ache sooooo much today - milk came in yesterday god I forgot how uncomfy that was lol!
angel_one
31-12-2006, 18:26
[QUOTE]
Hey Mrs Dolphin - yesterday was just a one off it seems...she is back to waking up during the day 3 hourly for a feed...:) ...last night she did two four hour stints...but if she went longer I wouldn't wake her up. I am not sure if I should wake her during the day if she goes longer than 4 hours...??? Does anybody know. I'll ask my GP on Wed...she's just had a baby so at least she knows what she is talking about..:cool:
Well...
Happy New Year everyone!!!
Our friends who have a baby almost the same age as Ella are coming over and we are having a few drinky poos....:thumbsup: (if I make it to midnight!!)
i would wake her to feed her if she heads into the 4 hour range - during the day of course! at night hell if she aint waking for a feed then let her be and make the most of the time she lets you be! - also if you are worried about letting her go 4 hours between feeds you can either up the size of the feeds or just let it be till her next well baby check and see if she is gaining weight, if she isnt then you may have to wake her! :eek: for feeds, if she is gaining on the schedual shes currently on then she should be right!
Chrissy - hope you get the support you need at your sisters :hugs:
Family_wish - the one piece of advice my mum gave me was to never ever wake a sleeping baby (unless they are loosing weight, or not putting any on). On advice from child health nurses she woke my sister every 3-4hrs and as a result my sister was nearly 2 before she slept for longer than 4hrs in one stretch.
Jade - so sorry to hear your news. Take care of yourself :hugs:
:party: Happy New Year to you and your's :party:
merlottes
01-01-2007, 08:27
:party: Happy new year everyone :party:
family_wish
01-01-2007, 10:29
Thanks Aggero and Angel_one for the feeding advice......:thumbsup:
Hope you all had a great night....Ella was party girl from 2-5.30am.....wouldn't sleep......then slept for an hour........and has been awake all morning...I am buggered today:sleeping:
She is such a munchkin...:D
PS Oscar's mum - hope your aching boobs are easing off a bit...ouchy...that was painful..:eek:
01-01-2007, 10:34
I posted a thread asking for advice on what to do - but maybe someone here has some advice too so I will just copy and paste what I wrote:
Isla was born on boxing day so isn't very old at all but she is soooo unsettled. The first night she was born the nurses took her to the nursery as I had just come out of surgery around 11pm and couldn't move my legs let alone sit up etc to look after her.
The 2nd night I spent all night awake with her in my arms feeding her on and off until 6am when DH arrived at the hospital and he took over. Same thing happened on her third night.
The 4th night I wanted to go home and all night Isla spent in my arms on the lounge.
5th and 6th nights again all night in mine and DH's arms.
This is a becoming a big problem - she wouldn't sleep in the cot in hospital (not even the nurses could get her to sleep in the cot in hospital) she wont sleep in her bed here. The only way I can get her to sleep is on her belly or side (some of the time) or if we hold her upright all night.
She has alot of wind and cries hysterically when she needs to burp then cries again after she has burped like it really really hurts her - she cries cause she spews etc. I don't know what to do.
I know you are not meant to sleep them on their belly's or sides but I can't sleep many more nights with her against my chest upright on the couch.
Anyone got any suggestions. I am hoping to get into the Dr's tomorrow to see about the wind and vomitting issue but I doubt I will be able to till Wednesday.
I spoke to the hospital on day 2 about how unsettled she was and said could it be reflux? They said oh no babies that young don't have reflux! Is that true? Cause I have never met a baby so unsettled because of wind.
(We have tried using Mirena which is meant to help with wind but it dosn't really do anything).
OscarTheGrouch
01-01-2007, 11:08
O's and I's mum - Maybe you need to try Infacol drops. I've never heard of them not working. Josh has been having wind problems also and I find that massaging his little tummy helps. He's also a good spewer. Regularly burping him while feeding is helping. You can try giving her some cooled boiled water, this may help.
01-01-2007, 11:13
[QUOTE=LaChLaN & JoShUa;946705]O's and I's mum - Maybe you need to try Infacol drops. /QUOTE]
Infacol can be used from 4 weeks old - I already thought about buying that as we used that with Ozzy a few times.:(
OscarTheGrouch
01-01-2007, 11:19
Infacol can be used from 4 weeks old - I already thought about buying that as we used that with Ozzy a few times.:(
On the Infacol site is sais you can use if from birth. Have no idea where my Mims is either to look at that. Lachlan the magician has made them disappear.:wizard:
I found the following about infant colic:
http://www.joannabriggs.edu.au/pdf/BPIScolic.pdf
UK Infacol site:
http://www.infacol.co.uk/infacol.cfm
RaryGirl
01-01-2007, 11:21
Morning Ladies
O's mum - sorry to hear about little Isla's pain - I can't offer any advice, all I do is massage little Sam's tummy, but he's only had a few days of incredible pain so I'm not much help. And I sympathise with you about your aching boobs!!!!! They feel like they are just going to pop!! :eek:
It would be good if our bubba's were born with the night/day switch - so they knew when the best time to sleep was lol. Family Wish, I hope Ella lets you have a couple of nanna naps today.
I agree with aggreo - I don't wake a sleeping baby. In hospital they wanted me to wake Sam to feed - but he was a healthy size and definitely not loosing weight - so I gather he's getting enough, so I'm not about to wake him.
We had a very quiet NYE - with friends coming over for drinks. I made it to 1am (pretty good for me) and Sam woke to see the new year in then had a big feed and slept till 5am and DD slept till 9am - mind you she'd still be partying after I'd gone to bed if I'd let her. :rolleyes:
My little Sam is doing well. He's had his off days/nights but overall he's a good baby. Feeds really well (sometimes too much according to my sore boobs) and sleeps through anything (except MIL grabbing him out of bassinette :banghead: ). So we're very lucky.
GraceUnhearing
01-01-2007, 14:34
happy new year everyone.
my little man has been great. sleeps all the time and even have to wake him for a feed at around 4 or 5 hours of sleep.
hes feeding really well (breast feeding) i had to get myself some nipple shields as my nipples got really sore on about day 5, but now they've settled down and are trying them on and off.
my biggest problem is my boobs get so full my nipple wont stick out far enough for him the latch on properly.
i've tried expressing some out but it doesnt seem to make a difference.
i hope it settles down soon.
he was a week old yesterday already, where does the time go?
Oscar's mum - I used Infacol James from when he was 2 weeks old. On advice from the chemist I just drop the dosage to half of that reccommended for a 1 month old. The Infacol was a help but I have found that Gripe water works much better for James.
Also I sympathise with the sleeping probs. James won't sleep in his bassinet and wants to be held all the time. I have found that he will sleep for short periods alone in his bouncer, maybe because he feels more coocooned (sp?) it it :confused:
Does anyone know approx how often our bubs have growth spurts? James was sleeping for 3-4 hours but the last couple of days it has dropped to 1-2hrs before waking screaming for food, I wondering if a growth spurt might be the cause....
family_wish
01-01-2007, 15:09
Oscar and Isla's mum - I have found gripe water works well with Ella but I haven't tried anything else...........she also likes cooled boiled water too.
During the day I have Ella sleeping in her pram downstairs - she likes it because it is raised and is all "cocooned in" - she doesn't sleep that well in her bassinette...:banghead: - she just talks to herself and kicks around in frustration until she gets cuddles...
My fallen angel - I used nipple shields for a while and got some relief - they were a life saver :cool:
Aggero - I know bubs have a 6 week growth spurt -not sure of any previous to that. Ella is going through it now and is a hungry little hippo. :)
angel_one
01-01-2007, 15:20
oscars mum, maybe, you could hire a apena monitor if she keeps insisting on sleeping on her belly (it may at least give you some time to rest without a kid attached to you or dh) they had one on hayden in the nursery - the day before we headed home (kinda gave me a heart attack - thinking he was have breathing probs!) but it was on him cause he had be on his bellly while under the uv lights!- it was just a little sticky pad stuck to his chest then a cord attached to a little monitor that goes crazy if bubs stops moving (breathing).
jamie was much the same we would spend hours trying to settle her - she actually went thru 3 of us before we could get her to settle and that usually ended with her sleeping in her car seat (as it was sitting her up a bit, and then when she did sleep without it she was on her belly (dont tell anyone!!) - i do believe these doctors that say breastfeed babies dont get wind or colic, are full of **** as so far all 3 of my kids have been shocking! (but bailey was 1/2 on formula)
well as for my big night of drinking, i was out of it after my second ( well actually 1/2 way thru #1 lol) so i only had the 2 and then drank water! (i am so sad!)
but on a high note i got to keep some of my milk stored! was able to give hayden his 4am feed via the boob, rather than having to go get a bottle!!
oh and i have also realised this baby is the worse one i have had so far! - i have been thinking what is it with my kids, as sson as they all get home they sleep at nite!, well i just figured out (think i have finally caught up on my lost sleep) that he only sleeps from 12 to 4am! not 12 to 6am like the other 2 did! so really he is feeding just as often at night as he does at night!!
other than that i wrote a poem today - as i was trying to nap on the couch before and all i could hear was screaming kids
I remember my life was once silent and peaceful
When my time was mine,
I did what I wanted, when I wanted
The days when I could sleep as long or a little as I wanted,
And spend hours awake watching movies with Justin.
And a night out didn’t require days of planning, and begging!
Now my life is noisy and hectic
My time is now there’s,
I do what they want, when they want
I sleep, little when I can, between cries for comfort and food,
I now spend hours trying to nap while they watch Nick Jr.
And a night out – well that’s now a trip to the take-away shop for chips!
(oh and oscar this one doesnt need editing thanks! lol)
well happy new year everyone!!!
Great poem angel one! hehe
O's mum: I sympathise w. u alot and hope that it all gets better for u soon, thinking of u :hugs:
Lachlan and josh: R u at the ECHC at chatswood? I remembe ru saying ur in roseville? R u in the mums group there? (if u dnt mind me asking..hehe)
Nic71: had to giggle about ur MIL, mine is the smae. I cried yesterday cause she woke Zara up after i spent hours getting her to nap. Dnt think she will do it again now. haha
I started a BABY DIARY a few days ago and Zara is in a pattern! I didnt even realise. I would highly reccomened starting one! my echc nurse asked me too do it to make sure Zara is doing enough poos/wees etc...hehe.
I have my fingers and toes crossed she has put on weight since last week! She only put on 100gs in 10days and they were a bit worried. So back tommorow for another weigh in.
Hope everyone is coping w. newborns! Happy NY too!! :party:
P4purple: I had seriously boring night last too!!! I read ur post in that other thread and just wanted to say im in the same boat! As im sure many of us are! hehe..
Zara "fed" in the NY (typical baby style) :thumbsup:
quitecontrary
01-01-2007, 19:05
Thought I'd pop in and say Hi - although I will be a January mum (when the little one decides to make a move!) I was truly Due-in-December!
Have just been reading through the thread - trying to take some of it in for future reference.
Have had a lovely New years day - just with DH, sleeping in and indulging myself before life as we know it goes pear shaped in a delightful fashion.
Sending you all a good nights sleep, mummas, babies and partners of all descriptions!
ps was joking today about having a scientologist birth (no offence to those of this faith) as I am losing my voice, doesn't hurt but sounds strange - so am trying to keep my mouth shut!
OscarTheGrouch
02-01-2007, 01:45
Lachlan and josh: R u at the ECHC at chatswood? I remembe ru saying ur in roseville? R u in the mums group there? (if u dnt mind me asking..hehe)
No, I take them to Lindfield. Wow we would have been in the same Mums group. Us North Shorers are definately going to have to get together this year, that's for sure.:yes:
L & J- Thanks you for the information about colic, reading thru the symptoms sounds like James has it.
New years night didnt get much sleep with James deciding to scream from 1-3.30am, (we're in a bock of units and im sure the neighbours appreciated that!) eventually we managed to get 3 hours sleep by putting him in his swing.
Last night was better, with him waking every 3 hours, although hes getting into a bad habit of snacking where he wont finish a bottle then wake up half an hour later wanting more milk, not sure how to stop him doing that.
I cant wait til he gives us more than 3 hour stints at night! he'll often do a longer sleep in the evening but i have no idea how to move that longer sleep to overnight.
I hope everyone managed to get some sleep last night
Mrs Dolphin
02-01-2007, 09:17
Happy New Year Everyone! :party:
New Year for us was very quiet and DH and I were in bed at midnight listening to the neighbours yell and carry on!
Things are going pretty good for us - Leah is sleeping quite well most of the time at night now...I am hoping she is already starting to learn the difference between day and night! Last night was great - she went to sleep after her bath and a bottle at 7.30pm and didn't wake again until 1am! I kept checking her to make sure she was ok! I thought she'd wake at 11pm like usual but she didn't so mummy got some sleep and then I fed her at 1am and she went back to sleep to 4.30am! Then agian to 7.45am! I sooo hope she keeps being such a good sleeper!
Taking her to CHN today to see if she has put on weight which I am sure she has now that she is getting regular feeds with us switching mainly to formula.
Thanks to everyone's comments on the waking and feeding issue - I will ask the CHN today what she thinks.
Hope everyone else is going ok and getting some sleep!! :)
L&J Yeah that would have been fun! Anyway i made the decision to go to Willoughby today cause the mums group is much smaller then at chatty. And yes i agree we will all have to get together! P4purple will have to have her bub first!! :thumbsup:
Zara is 4kgs now!! Born at 3.4kgs so she is def not lagging behind in weight like the first nurse led me to believe. :smiliedance:
And I bought a breast pump today so I might get out by myself for an hour or two on thurs! The umbilical cord is still a bit short to go out for longer!!
Even though sometimes its annoying when she is bawling, when she sleeps for 3hrs I swear i miss her! hehe. :rolleyes:
Hope everyone is having a good start to the new yr! I think my resolution is just to be the best mum i can be and too look after myself at the same time!
OH AND LOSE THE 10KGS Zara gave me!! :yes:
StarMumma
02-01-2007, 22:02
Hi Everyone!
Finally have some time to "bubhub"! Both boys are sleeping...for now!
Hope everyone had a great NYE. We went to a friends house and had a drink with them - i even managed to stay up til 2am with DF! Both boys slept through it, both waking at 1am for a bottle/boobie when we came home!
Chayse has his night/day the wrong way aroun (why do I have midnight babies??), but we are slowly trying to get him around to a regular routine - not too worried about it, he'll be a week old tomorrow. Although I never realised how much of a routine I had with Baylen until Chayse was born and it all wnet out the window!
Baylen is still sleeping and eating just as good as ever but his behaviour has been, um, a little less than good. Slapping, throwing things, screaming, etc. He really dislikes me at the moment and screams at me everytime I go near him, it's breaking my heart to think my little man hates me. That is the only thing that's causing me to be emotional. I thought it'd be the new bubba, but it's the first one making me upset. I'm really reading when DF goes back to work on Monday and leaves the 3 of us alone. Baylen becomes a little ratbag as soon as I sit down to feed Chayse, but at the moment DF can go after him and stop him getting into too much mischief! I was going to put him into child care only once a week this year, but I think I'll leave it at 2 ays for the moment - until we're all more settled.
Sorry for my long vent....haven't even said anything about Chayse's birth yet!
Might do that in another post!
Take care and sleep well girls xox
bloggedissue
02-01-2007, 22:08
Cayley is NOT having a good night, very unsettled. Poor little mite. I think the antibiotics that I'm on are upsetting her tummy, so she thinks shes still hungry, it's so hard not to just pop the b**b in to make her quiet. Problem is if I do, it all just comes out again cos it's too much.
Tomorrow night I'll be finished the course of tablets so hopefully things will improve marginally from there.
angel_one
02-01-2007, 22:29
Cayley is NOT having a good night, very unsettled. Poor little mite. I think the antibiotics that I'm on are upsetting her tummy, so she thinks shes still hungry, it's so hard not to just pop the b**b in to make her quiet. Problem is if I do, it all just comes out again cos it's too much.
Tomorrow night I'll be finished the course of tablets so hopefully things will improve marginally from there.
i feel for you, hayden is being horrible today!, he has been feeding every 2 hours, and is just misreable inbetween, i like dont want to go to bed cause i have a feeling i aint gonna get much sleep and it just makes me crankier if i get woken up, rather than stay awake dealing with him! grrrrrrrr kids!
im thinking i should go and get some sleep now actually, while dh is keeping him quiet!
bloggedissue
02-01-2007, 22:38
It's so easy to forget that this stage doesn't last... (it just turns into another... rofl)
Hope you get some sleep.
Yay!! I've found you guys! I've just been looking in the 'Due in Dec' thread, and assuming everyone is too busy to write :o :laughing:
Not sure if you guys remember or not about how my DH has to go away for 8 weeks for work, and I made his boss pay for us all to go for the school holidays...well, we are leaving on Sunday! As it turns out, it wont be that bad cos Phoebe is such a good baby. I was having nightmares of having a screaming baby with the two other older kids wanting to be entertained and me yelling and crying all the time!
So..Brismummy had better have had her bubs by then or I wont get to post it....might have to get a 'back up' sms buddy.
Sorry to hear of those of you with unsettled babies. I truly admire anyone who can get through a constantly crying bubs without going insane. I know I couldn't cope with it. (the powers that be must know that - they just make me deal with newborns having surgery - 2 out of 3 - but give me nice settled bubs as a result).
I guess you dont get given anything you cant handle :rolleyes:
Okay...I am officially rambling - lack of sleep (on my part, not Phoebes! I am finding myself staying awake past midnight even after she goes to sleep at 10! Crazy!)
I finally got my cot yesterday, and Phoebe's bedroom is FINALLY finished!! It's all pink and pretty and I cant wait to set it all up properly today :smiliedance: The only thing is, cos we split our old bedroom into two (built new walls etc) to turn it into Phoebe's room and a study, her bedroom now doesnt have an air conditioning vent in it. (but the tiny 1.2m wide study does!). So it gets VERY hot in her room. She's still with us anyway so it doesnt really matter just yet.
God, I am rambling. Sorry guys! Just happy to have found where you went....
Oh, O's mum - Phoebe sleeps on her side the majority of the time - I know the 'rules' say not to, but she seems more comfy that way. And I hear you about the sleeping sitting up thing - DD1 did that for 3 months! When I finally got to lie flat it would make me feel faint!!! lol. Good luck with it.
Morning ladies:wave:
Happy new year everyone!!!:wizard:
I finally found the dec mummy thread :yelclap:
I am so happy, yesterday I phoned the early childhood centre and made our first appointment.
She asked me how Jason was doing and I told her that he is very unsettled at night and that he would just sleep from 3 am onwards and lots during the day.
She told me that I have to change his sleeping pattern and move it forwards to 6 to 12 pm. So I woke him up every 3 hours , we had our first shopping experience which made me realised how sore and exhausted I still am.
At 8 pm while I was cooking dinner he cried a bit and I think at 10 pm until he was sleeping. I fed him every 2 1/2 hour and next time he woke up for a feed at 12 pm, then again at 3 where he cried himself again into the sleep and now until 7 am. so I got quite a bit of sleep, yeah!!
Nothing helps when he cries, no extra feed , no cuddle , no settling down from me or DP, he has not too much wind so we let him cry, even if it breaks my heart..
I think we are on our way!! Hope we can repeat that tonight, as I'm already terrified when it becomes night.
Will catch up on some personals later...
Hugs to you al!!:hugs:
angel_one
03-01-2007, 09:37
It's so easy to forget that this stage doesn't last... (it just turns into another... rofl)
Hope you get some sleep.
hah! bubs is 2 months old already, and isnt doing anything different to a friggin newborn!! (so sad that when you have a term baby that just grows up too fast, you wan them to stay babies, but when you actually have one that stays a baby for an extra 2 months you want him to bloody hurry up and start acting like a big boy!!!)
but you are right he will eventually move on to the next stage!, a bit like the dummy removal stage we are in rigth now with bailey (and i am so bad and have already givin in this morning!) and the i must pick the baby up stage jamie is in (for 4 days now) and its not like she picking him up off the floor, shes gettign him out of the portacot!!!! - remember hes now a newborn! so think of it as your 3 year old playing doll with your newborn!! (wanna know how my heart is doing right now??)
oh well kids! gotta love them casue you cant hurt them!! lol
i need sleep!!! (every 2 hours last night)
Morning Ladies,
Well just thought that I would write a quick post to let you all know how Sean is doing while DF has DS1. I know that I should be asleep but I will be once I do this.
Okay we took Sean in for a checkup yesterday he was 4 wks on Monday. He has put on 695grams so know he weighs 5.140kgs, has grown 2cm in length know 57cm and his head is know 39cm has grown 3cm.
I ended up giving him some pureed pear yesterday lunch which then he slept for 4hrs straight. I know you aren't meant to feed them yet but I just feel he needed that little bit extra. As he was waking every hour or 2. Not getting much sleep so am know off to have a nap.
Hows everyone else and their bubs going? Take Care
I decided to try doing a dream feed last night to see if I could get James to sleep longer and it completely didnt work. I fed him at 11 but he started farting and carrying on and woke himself up, got him back to sleep about 12 and he woke up at 1 for a feed anyway, so i shouldve just left him sleeping. Next plan is to try and move his big evening sleep to overnight.
StarMumma
03-01-2007, 12:42
Hi Girls!!
Have managed to get both boys to sleep at the same time in the day, and after a not too bad night I don't feel the need to nap, so am able to get on here an catch up - the housework can wait!!
Did anyone else find that the "washing monster" came into the house while you were in hospital and create havoc, leaving you to deal with it all when you got home?? I have only just caught up an was only in hospital for 2 days!!!
Chayse has been a good baby, very sleepy and a bit mixed up with night and day, but am slowly getting him around.
Last night I just put him in Baylen's routine - dinner, bath, top-up feed and bed by 7pm. He had another feed at 10pm, then 2am, 6am and I got him up for a feed and play at 10am, and he's now back down for a bigger sleep. Just going with the flow during the day, but trying to get into a routine for the night so I can have some brain function in the day!
Baylen's been better with me - actually came and gave me cuddles today and let me chane his nappy and put him down for his nap!!
Think I'll go and post Chayse's birth story now...
Take care girls xox
family_wish
03-01-2007, 13:49
didnt work. I fed him at 11 but he started farting and carrying on and woke himself up...:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
That sounds like Ella.......she sure likes farting...:D
2boysforus.........jealous of your 4 hour feeds...my eating machine is down to 2.5 hours now during the night.....
OscarTheGrouch
03-01-2007, 14:29
Hi all.:wave: Sorry to hear about the sleeping problems. I had the same problem with Lachlan. Thank goodness Joshua is a good sleeper at night. He has a feed about 10pm and then sleeps till about 4am and then till about 8am or 9am, (touch wood that it continues)!!!! He does get unsettled during the day and is always feeding. Here's a photo of him and his cute clothy bumb:
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h178/bond_girl35/03012007048.jpg
family_wish
03-01-2007, 14:34
What a cute little butt...:)
Maybe if I get those nappies for Ella she will sleep as well as Joshua..........;) .....if only..........:D
RaryGirl
03-01-2007, 15:59
I decided to try doing a dream feed last night to see if I could get James to sleep longer and it completely didnt work. I fed him at 11 but he started farting and carrying on and woke himself up, got him back to sleep about 12 and he woke up at 1 for a feed anyway, so i shouldve just left him sleeping. Next plan is to try and move his big evening sleep to overnight.
I did that the other night as well - with no luck. Sam didn't wake himself up during the feed, but he woke up at 2am for the usual feed, as though he'd never had the midnight feed anyway. Then again that night 3 hours later and 3 hours after that. :rolleyes:
Where as he normally goes 5 hours then 4 hours. So I don't think I'll try the dream feed again.
goldcoastkiwi are you still expressing every feed and giving it to James in a bottle? If you are how's it going? I'm considering doing the same thing as Sam's a chomper and I've tried everything to stop it, but I'm not winning and it's painful. :eek:
I bought the Avent electric breast pump and it hurts alot less than when Sam feeds - so I thought expressing maybe an option.
Any feedback is appreciated.
Hi Nic71- Yes im expressing for most feeds, about 150mls then if he needs topping up or if i cant get enough milk i top him up with formula and he seems happy with that. It takes a bit of time and work expressing and i'll probably eventually swap to formula but i'll keep up the expressed milk for as long as i can.
Hi all, well I have decided that James is a bat!!! He is an angel during the day but come 7pm becomes a challenge. Like some of the other bubs he feeds every 2-3hrs. I would love to stretch it out by even 1 hr and was wondering about maybe giving him a formula feed at his 10pm feed to see if it would keep him alseep longer....any ideas on if this could work???
I tried out tough love for the first time today. Put James in his rocker and let him cry for about 4mins picked him up, settled him, then put him straight back down. He cried for about another 5 mins but then settled himself and he is now sleeping :thumbsup: If only I had the patience to do that at night :rolleyes:
Is anyone taking the mini pill for contraception? Before I left the hospy my Dr gave me a prescription for the mini pill (not seeing him until 8 weeks). Now I had it filled and was all ready to start taking it (to my DH's great delight) when I read the consumer info and came across a paragraph saying if you are fully breast-feeding, tablet taking make commence 6 weeks after delivery. That means I still have 2 weeks to wait before I can start taking it. Has anyone taken it any earlier??
Aggero: My midwife told me not to have s*x until after my 6week checkup (which im fine about! hahaha)
If the formula works let me know!! Zara does the same. Im glad she is an angel during the day but at the same time id love her to sleep longer at ngiht!
Her new trick is to be awake from 4am - 7am! Pls dontdo it again tonight! (last 2nights have been like this...)
That said I have to wake her up for a feed now. She is sleeping unusally long!
Is anyone else always checking their bub is still breathing? I get so paranoid!
Kells and Omum: Zara loves sleeping on her sde too. Sometimes i let her but im always worried and feel a bit guilty. My dad said when i was a bub the recomendation was tummy or side sleeping! Go figure..
Although I have a November baby I was due in December so I thought I would post here.
I can report that Daniel is a lovely third baby - he appears to have read the book on what to do - he sleeps, feeds and has unsettled periods as if it is scripted! He had a big unsettled day when he was three weeks old - which is referred to in one of my baby books, then another today - as he is six weeks tomorrow and babies traditionally are unsettled at 6 weeks and 12 weeks as they go through a growth spurt - go figure!
Apart from that he is settling in really well. I am breastfeeding and it is going well - I have great lactation consultants with DD1 and DD2 to thank for that. Over the last few nights I have discovered that if I put him in a bamboo nappy with an extra booster I don't need to change him when he wakes for his 2am feed, so he is only awake for 20 minutes - yay for the baby beehinds nappies!! He is sleeping from 8.30pm to 2am then again until about 6am - depending on when his sisters wake and how much noise they make when they come into our room. Now if only they would both sleep through the night I might actually catch up on some sleep!
We had our 6 week check up today - he is 5 kgs and is 60cms long - he has grown 8 cm in 6 weeks!!:eek: Given that I am quite short it is odd having another long/tall baby (DD1 is also tall)! I will be towered over by my children very quickly at this rate!
Anyway - I have been following the thread but haven't had time to post much. DH is going away for two weeks tomorrow so it will be me and three children at home alone so I suspect I may not be posting much for the next couple of weeks either, but will try and read to at least keep up with how everyone is going!
Hope you are all well and that unsettled babies start sleeping better for you all.:fingerscrossed:
RaryGirl
03-01-2007, 21:30
Aggero - Sam is getting around one formula bottle in the evening cause he just feeds and feeds and he's still unsettled so I give him a formula bottle. He normally has the last feed around 8:30/9:30 and lasts till around 2am and then has a snack (around 10 minutes) and sleeps again till 6am.
Today is the first day he didn't need a formula top up cause I managed to express enough to 2 x 125ml bottles (good milking day today! :smiliedance: ) this morning - so we used the two little bottles when he needed a top up.
I'll see how he sleeps tonight. He had a feed at 8:30pm and :fingerscrossed: he lasts till 2am.
Also you asked about mini pill - I asked my ob about it when checking out of hospital and he said he'd give me a script when I went for check-up and I'd should be ok for the first 6 weeks if I was breast feeding.
Kimberley I also check that Sam is breathing. He makes so many noises in his sleep that when I wake up and all is quiet I have to check that he is still breathing.
Thanks goldcoastkiwi - I was wondering how it was going. I want to BF as long as I can, but it's just not comfortable! Then again if I have a milking day like today we'll be fine.
Hope everyone gets lots of sleep tonight.
StarMumma
03-01-2007, 21:43
He has a feed about 10pm and then sleeps till about 4am and then till about 8am or 9am, (touch wood that it continues)!!!! He does get unsettled during the day and is always feeding. Here's a photo of him and his cute clothy bumb:
You're lucky to have such a good sleeper! I am aiming for that with Chayse! I love the nappy - so cute!
I did that the other night as well - with no luck. Sam didn't wake himself up during the feed, but he woke up at 2am for the usual feed, as though he'd never had the midnight feed anyway. Then again that night 3 hours later and 3 hours after that.Where as he normally goes 5 hours then 4 hours. So I don't think I'll try the dream feed again.
I tried the dream feed with DS1 a few times and it never worked - even sleep school said to stop trying it - however DS1 was about 6mths old at the time.
I would love to stretch it out by even 1 hr and was wondering about maybe giving him a formula feed at his 10pm feed to see if it would keep him alseep longer....any ideas on if this could work??
I tried this the other night and I got an extra hour, so it might work - can't hurt to try!
Is anyone else always checking their bub is still breathing? I get so paranoid!
You're not alone in this - I did it with DS1 & am doing it again now - does not make for a rested Mummy!
Anyway - I have been following the thread but haven't had time to post much. DH is going away for two weeks tomorrow so it will be me and three children at home alone so I suspect I may not be posting much for the next couple of weeks either, but will try and read to at least keep up with how everyone is going!
OMG! You're a brave woman! I am dreading DF going back to work on Monday and leaving us alone for those 9 hours!!!
Sorry no more personals - DS2 is awake and wanting feeding...
Night girls xox
RaryGirl
04-01-2007, 12:20
Aggero - an update on last nights sleep - he didn't have the formula bottle last night cause I could express so much in the morning and his sleep pattern was the same. So it seems the formula doesn't fill my little man up anymore than being bf.
angel_one
04-01-2007, 14:09
well after a horrible day of everyone being in bad moods (mainly an over tired mummy!) we today are all better, hayden is over whatever his issue was, and is now back to being a angel, - sleeping!! and so today i have done a load of washing and actually made my bed!!! (which is now covered in the last weeks worth of clean washing! to be folded!)
and i do believe i have yet to yell and scream at dd - which must mean she is either behaving or im happier today! lol
now im just nicely scolding dd for harssing ds1, and when i turn around shes sitting on the couch behaving and hes on the floor screami ng as if shes bullying him!! (i think he prides himself in getting his siter in trouble!)
oh and my big boy loves me again!!! its only taken 8 weeks! and he now will snuggle with me and let me comfort him (and yesterday, becasue hayden was gettting all the cuddles, as sson as i had a second with out him, bailey was in my arms (not by my choice though!) he loves me, really loves me :hugs: :) !
hey has anyone done weight watchers?
im trying to figure out weather to go to meetings (thats if they are on out here this year) or go online, or buy the at home kit?? - and then you have the for men kit! (i think dh can just eat what i eat and we will be fine though! argggggggggg, damm weight
GraceUnhearing
04-01-2007, 14:49
L & J where did you get that nappy from? My DF would love that one as he's a plant mechanic and loves anything with trucksor machines on it! I loved to get one For my little man. could you please let me know where you got if from? thanks.
My stitches still hurt from the episiotomy
and its been nearly 2 weeks, Id anyone else having this problem? or how long did it take for the stiches to stop hurting. The Dr looked at them yesterday and said hey were healing fine
I went to the Drs yesterday and it also turns out I have mastitis in my right boob too, so now I’m on antibiotics, and dam it hurts when he feeds from that boob but I have to keep trying.
Aggero - an update on last nights sleep - he didn't have the formula bottle last night cause I could express so much in the morning and his sleep pattern was the same. So it seems the formula doesn't fill my little man up anymore than being bf.
Thanks Nic. Might try using my breast pump again (last time it tried it it cracked my nipples) and see if a top up of that helps b4 hitting the formula
I went to the Drs yesterday and it also turns out I have mastitis in my right boob too, so now I’m on antibiotics, and dam it hurts when he feeds from that boob but I have to keep trying.
Sorry to hear about ur mastitis :hugs: hope it clears real soon
family_wish
04-01-2007, 16:18
Well, I tried Ella on a new formula (Heinz Nuture Gold)and we had a new routine last night. She actually slept after her feeds and I even had to wake her for a feed last night. I now feed her in the dark in the wee hours of the morning, wrap her tight after the feed and don't look at her in the eye..... She had two four hour stints so I am happy. Wonder what will happen tonight?? We have been shopping all day so she has slept most of it......maybe the "bat" in her will come out.
My_fallen_angel - sorry to hear about your mastitis..the same thing happened to me. I tried to keep feeding and even hired a super duper breast pump but for some reason it dried up. I even had two sessions of ultrasound..... The antibiotics I was on gave Ella and myself thrush..hope the same doesn't happen to you!!:fingerscrossed:
angel-one - I did weight watchers but only the at home kit...but I had no success. I need to be weighed every week to stick to it!!:laughing: I lost 8kg on Sure Slim before I got preg..but now I am 6kg over my pre-pregnancy weight so need to get back on the wagon........ except I am in LOVE with chocolate....
Draught - my hubby is going to be working interstate again soon.... I'm just a tad apprehensive...:cool:
Well, Ella officially hasn't had breastmilk for 3 days...I feel a bit bad but I can't get blood out of a stone. She is loving formula thank god and thriving on it! Happy that I got at least 5 weeks of it into her...
Bxoxo
quitecontrary
04-01-2007, 16:53
angel_one I did Weight Watchers meetings at the beginning of last year (before wedding and pregnancy and two months travelling the globe). Would like to go back later this year but shall see what happens 6 weeks after the little one actually deems to appear! Found the meetings good, and managed to lose weight, then the rest of the year took over. And here we are, January again.
Mrs Dolphin
04-01-2007, 17:58
So great that everyone is slowly finding this section!
We are going ok - Leah is being a great baby at the moment and slept last night from 7.30pm to 11.30pm then after I got her settled at 12.30am she slept to 4.30am so 4 hour stints at this stage is great I think! Plus then she slept again from 5.30am to 9am!
I love being home with her all day - she happily now lies in her bouncer and watches me, naps or plays with her toys (yes a bit already!).
Family_Wish - Don't feel too bad about the breastfeeding - easier said than done though I know - I know exactly how you feel as Leah is getting maybe 40ml of EBM a day if we're lucky and she is majority fed formula now but as you say you can't get blood out of a stone!! Let me know how you go on the Heinz formula as I have considered using this one but haven't yet...we have just gone back to S26Gold after trying Nan HA1 and not really liking it.
My_Fallen_Angel - Hope you are feeling better soon!
Draught - great to hear your bub has grown so much and doing well!
sorry girls that's all I have time for ATM - try to be back later!
GraceUnhearing
04-01-2007, 19:43
I lost 8kg on Sure Slim before I got preg..but now I am 6kg over my pre-pregnancy weight so need to get back on the wagon..
i lost 12 kilos on sure slim before i fell pregnant, but i hated it, i couldnt have any sugar what so ever.
At the end of the day i dont think it was worth the money at all.
I think it was something i could have done by myself (if i had the motivation) the eating plan was useless a whole heap of stuff i could never find at the local supermarket!
And i need my sugar!! hehehe
OscarTheGrouch
04-01-2007, 20:08
L & J where did you get that nappy from? My DF would love that one as he's a plant mechanic and loves anything with trucksor machines on it! I loved to get one For my little man. could you please let me know where you got if from? thanks.
I got the cover from Stitch N Stuff in Canada. You can have them made to order as either a cover and an AIO, maybe a pocket nappy also. I don't think I can put the website on here because of advertising ...etc..... so PM me if you want the address.
A quick post to report that tonight I put all three of them to bed on my own - a major feat as the older two were over tired and screamed and had tantrums. DH has gone away for two weeks for work so tonight was the big test - but so far I have survived and I think they are all down! Now I just need to fall into bed and all will be well!
I bought a new sling yesterday - a hugabub style one and Daniel loves it - slept in it while I hugn laundry out today and then later while I look the girls for a trike and scooter ride around the block - if you odn't have one I highly recommend one! I even cooked dinner with him in it tonight, although he was pretty grumpy by then - but at least the other two got fed that way!
Hmm....better do some more mod work then get to bed.
StarMumma
04-01-2007, 21:59
Looks like most of us are getting a routine happening - sorta!
Chayse had a feed at 10:30pm last night, then at 3:30am, woke at 6am fed for 7mins then back to sleep to be woken by us at 9am!! So am feeling refreshed!
MCHN came today and checked him over - doing well. Put back on the weight he lost and more (ppfftt to MIL who says BM is no good for babes as you can't see how much they get!)! Chayse now weighs 4.5kgs!! Gonna be a chubba like his brother I think!!
DS1 has been much better, he even lent over and gave me a kiss tonight...I think he might like his Mummy again!!!
The house is all clean and organised again, so am starting to feel less aprehensive about DF going back to work on Monday...
Does anyone know how long it took to get the baby bonus? Have some Christmas bills that need attention!
Ok, am off to express so little piggy can have a quick feed when he wakes and we can all get back to sleep asap - milk monster had 150ml EBMat his 3:30am feed this morning, but still wanted a boobie top up!!
Take care, sorry no personals and still no birth story...maybe find time on the weekend!
Renee xox
bloggedissue
04-01-2007, 22:10
I went to medicare/family assistance today, and she reckoned three weeks...
Hey, ladies who had a c-section, can I ask how long your bleeding continued. Mine has been really weird. It pretty much stopped before i came home, was minimal, then two weeks after the birth had a lot, and it has been on and off almost every second day. It's freaking me out alittle...
family_wish
05-01-2007, 10:15
Family_Wish - Don't feel too bad about the breastfeeding - easier said than done though I know - I know exactly how you feel as Leah is getting maybe 40ml of EBM a day if we're lucky and she is majority fed formula now but as you say you can't get blood out of a stone!! Let me know how you go on the Heinz formula as I have considered using this one but haven't yet...we have just gone back to S26Gold after trying Nan HA1 and not really liking it.
Mrs Dolphin - I am really happy with the Heinz Nuture Gold.......Ella seems to have less wind, better poos..and is not stinky like she was on the Nan 1ha..and it seems to have the same ingredients??? Weird...
i lost 12 kilos on sure slim before i fell pregnant, but i hated it, i couldnt have any sugar what so ever.
At the end of the day i dont think it was worth the money at all.
I think it was something i could have done by myself (if i had the motivation) the eating plan was useless a whole heap of stuff i could never find at the local supermarket!
And i need my sugar!! hehehe
Yep, I agree, it does work but it is sooo strict and going out for dinner is a nightmare... I think I will stick with the basics of the "eating plan ;) " and modify the bits I don't like...ie must have one (or two) pieces of chocolate a day :laughing:
I bought a new sling yesterday - a hugabub style one and Daniel loves it - slept in it while I hugn laundry out today and then later while I look the girls for a trike and scooter ride around the block - if you odn't have one I highly recommend one! I even cooked dinner with him in it tonight, although he was pretty grumpy by then - but at least the other two got fed that way!
Hmm....better do some more mod work then get to bed.
This sounds great....I'll have to investigate. At the moment at home I put Ella in the bouncer and take her everywhere with me when she is not sleeping but its not really practical...
Ok, am off to express so little piggy can have a quick feed when he wakes and we can all get back to sleep asap - milk monster had 150ml EBMat his 3:30am feed this morning, but still wanted a boobie top up!!
Take care, sorry no personals and still no birth story...maybe find time on the weekend!
Renee xox
Wow, 150mls at his age...yes, he is a little milk monster!! I never managed to express 150ml (my highest amount was 60mls.......)
I went to medicare/family assistance today, and she reckoned three weeks...
Hey, ladies who had a c-section, can I ask how long your bleeding continued. Mine has been really weird. It pretty much stopped before i came home, was minimal, then two weeks after the birth had a lot, and it has been on and off almost every second day. It's freaking me out alittle...
Yep, our baby bonus took about 2 weeks to arrive. Nearly all spent....can you believe our TV blew up just before it arrived.....??
I had a c-section and stopped bleeding when Ella was 4 weeks....
...got to go home after a few hours and are awaiting results. He's now though on much smaller feeds at more regular intervals however he is just more interested in sleeping. He sleeps so much. I actually get more sleep now than I did when I was pregnant.
Emotionally things are going better. Realising all I need is my little man and me. We don't need his father. Just having Kyan look at me with his huge eyes is enough to make me melt....
Will do some personals in a few ticks. Hope everyone is well. :)
Good luck Chrissy - hope Kyan just has a virus or something.....:fingerscrossed:
OscarTheGrouch
05-01-2007, 10:31
Mrs Dolphin - Joshua is mainly FF also. I have a limited supply due to previous breast surgery. He has a BF and then 100 - 150mL top up of formula. I express but don't get great volumes. I use Karicare Gold, as I used that as a top up also with Lachlan. Don't seem to have many issues with it. Have heard good things about Heinz Nuture also. Both Karicare and Nurture are made in NZ so they probably come from the same old cow.:laughing:
bloggedissue - My maternity allowance took 3 working days to arrive. And as for the bleeding. I'm having the same cycle as you. Stops and starts quite frequently, very confusing.
*Chrissy* - Good luck with it all Chrissy. Glad things are looking up for you emotionally.
2boysforus - Glad things are going well for you. Sounds like you've got a good routine going. Glad DS1 is coming around and being Mummy's boy again. Lachlan has his moments. Sometimes he just looks at me as if I'm the worst Mummy in the world when I'm feeding Joshua.:crying: Would you like to come and do my housework now.:laughing:
draught - I love my sling also. I wear Joshua throughout the day. Much easier than having to constantly pick him up from him bassinette continuously during his unsettled periods during the day. I still wear Lachlan at times when he's teething ....etc... and needs that extra TLC. I have a hugabub and have just purchased a gorgeous sling from ebay.
family_wish
05-01-2007, 10:51
Lachlan (September 2005) born on Shane Warne's birthday
Joshua (December 2006) born on Ricky Ponting's birthday
:laughing: - must be something about male's born on the day that Shane Warne was!!! ie your little pitchfork smiley!!
OscarTheGrouch
05-01-2007, 11:03
:laughing: - must be something about male's born on the day that Shane Warne was!!! ie your little pitchfork smiley!!
Yep.... and he's never getting a mobile phone!!!:laughing:
family_wish
05-01-2007, 11:26
:laughing:.....
or blonde tips!!:eek:
OscarTheGrouch
05-01-2007, 11:42
:laughing:.....
or blonde tips!!:eek:
For the hair or .........:laughing:
family_wish
05-01-2007, 11:57
My fallen angel: Exactley me! Mastitis in my right boob and still feeding on it but its killing! The nurse said to feed on that boob first so she completly empties it. Seems to be getting a bit better. Just the fever and chills it is causing is hard to deal w. when ur trying to get that little bit of sleep. ALSO the stitches...mine healed about 2weeks after. Just woke up one morning and it was all better. But yeah that 2weeks of healing was hell!! I had episiotomy too.
Mrs Dolphin: I envy u! great sleeping pattern, hope it continues for u!
I think Zara is going through her 3week growth spurt (she is 3weeks and 2days) She hasnt slept at ALL today just wants to feed all day! Dh and Mil tried to settle her and she just sucked them! hehe, it was cute. Im still in a good mood about it all, im sure if it continues all night i wont be!
Also im so confused (my vent) my sister is starting chemo in feb and she will lose her hair, eyebrows etc.. and she is going to be Zara's godmother. So dad thinks we should christen Zara this month so meeg looks good and feels good etc.. im just worried Zara will scream the whole time and i wont be able to settle her, she will be 6weeks by then. BUT oh its stressing me. I said id wait a year and do it then and meeg was still saying "fine do it, i still wont have my hair back" I really want to make her happy but i feel like im comprimising my sanity and Zara's!! What to do!! Ok thats that out :banghead: I love my sis and would die for her but i just thnk should be about Zara's happiness...im still to scared to take Zara out too!
Sorry for the long post :ecomcity:
jade21887
05-01-2007, 19:53
hi girls,
been having more bad than good days atm. been put on zoloft, and lachys now on gaviscon, so hoping that will start helping things.
thanks to those who have been concerned :)
bloggedissue
05-01-2007, 21:15
Kimberly... think Cayley is going through her growth spurt today too.
Christening - we're having Cayley baptised next week. I'd recommend doing it sooner than later... if you wait a year she's going to be wanting to crawl or walk or move around, where as now she'll be happy unless hungry.
But of course, that's only my opinion...
I think if Cayley is unsettled at our baptism service I'll just take her out to the cry room/mother's room and when it's time for her to make her appearance I'll come back in.
StarMumma
05-01-2007, 21:44
He was dehdrayted and hadn't regained his birth weight yet, so she got me to whisk him up to the mater....We don't need his father. Just having Kyan look at me with his huge eyes is enough to make me melt....
Sorry Kyanisn't well - I hope it's something minor and is cleared up quickly for you both.
I went to medicare/family assistance today, and she reckoned three weeks....
Thanks - i just had a look at Family Assistance on line and it'll be paid this week!!
My DF is so jealous your 2 boys are on the cricketers birthday!!!
Also im so confused (my vent) my sister is starting chemo in feb and she will lose her hair, eyebrows etc.. "fine do it, i still wont have my hair back" I really want to make her happy but i feel like im comprimising my sanity and Zara's!! What to do!! Ok thats that out :banghead: I love my sis and would die for her but i just thnk should be about Zara's happiness...im still to scared to take Zara out too!
What a tough decision...just do what feels right for you and your family...
hi girls,
been having more bad than good days atm. been put on zoloft, and lachys now on gaviscon, so hoping that will start helping things.
thanks to those who have been concerned :)
Hope your meds start working soon and the good starts to out weigh the bad...
jade21887
06-01-2007, 06:22
Kim,
We got soph christened when she was 7 weeks old (out of convenience more than anything! We were getting married so figured we may as well kill 2 birds with 1 stone), she was pretty good, a bit whingy, but there were so many people there to calm her down! I only dealt with her when she needed to be fed (little rascal was meant to take a bottle, but she had other ideas!! try thinkingabout breastfeeding in your wedding dress!! lol)
I think she should be fine, however, if you arent comfortable, you shouldnt do it to make everyone else happy. They arent the priority.
I have to report that i LOVE baby beehinds bamboo nappies - DS has been in one for 12 hours now! Before you think I am a terrible neglectful mother I should explain - I changed him at about 7 last night, then fed him, rocked him, fed him, rocked him etc until he fell asleep finally and deeply at about 8.45. He woke at 3am and I fed him and he fell asleep so I decided not to wake him by changing a nappy that was obviously not bothering him and wasn't leaking. He woke again at 5 and I decided to feed him quickly before his sisters woke and change him after - but he fell asleep again and is still asleep now at nearly 7am! Hurray for a great sleeper and for a nappy that will hold him all night comfortable enough to sleep for that long!!!
On the christening front - DD1 was christened at 4 weeks as all four grandparents were in town, then DD2 was christened at 10 weeks as we had a family gathering for Christmas at my parents house (they live overseas). We haven't arranged DS yet as we may be moving interstate in then next couple of months so need to wait and see where we will be. My sister didn't have her DS christened until he was about 16 months as they were away working for a year just after he was born - it all went well but her biggest fear was that when the priest when through the standard questions of "do you reject Satan" etc that her son would yell out "NO" as that was what he was saying to everything at the time!!
OscarTheGrouch
06-01-2007, 10:23
Baby Beehinds Bamboo certainly are the best nappy available IMO. I just love them.:thumbsup: In fact I have just ordered another 20 of them.:eek: I don't have the time to wash every day for 2 bottoms so I need the extra.
RaryGirl
06-01-2007, 10:48
I'd stopped completely 8 days after c-section. :smiliedance: But I got excited too quickly - came back on day 12 worse than when before. It stopped completely exactly 21 days after c-section.
Chrissy - I hope Kyan gets better soon.
For those with mastitis - it does get easier. I had it really bad with DD, but this time I picked up on the signs well before the fevers hit! The feeding through it is painful, I found it more comfortable to express those feeds and I really emptied that boob - plus massaged the lump out at feeds and under a hot shower. Feel great now.
Oh the hugabub!!! I love it - I got one a few weeks ago and it's fantastic. I wear Sam when we duck into the shops rather than get the pram out and I also wear him around the house of an evening (when he isn't feeding) to try and settle him down. Only downside is Sam generates heaps of heat, so we both end up a little clammy.
jade21887 - I hope you are having a better time and there are more good days than bad. :hugs:
Kimberley - go with what you feel is best. We didn't get DD baptised till she was 7.
To everyone I have missed - I hope you are having really good days and bubs are sleeping well.
It's just me and Sam home today. DH took DD to Wet 'n Wild for the day with family. I'm hoping Sam will catch up on a bit of sleep, as he didn't sleep for 8 hours straight yesterday and he was one unhappy little man!!!! Plus mummy wasn't much better. So :fingerscrossed: we'll have a better day today.
Thanks for the christening advice girls! Im think il make it for August. Megan is feeling really let down by me, but i havent organised anything, Zara wouldnt get an after party or invites or anything. I just know in my heart I should wait. August isnt that far away. And Meeg finishes chemo in May.
Blogged: can u believe my church has no crying room?
Nic: thanks for the mastitis advice. I do already do all that. Had it twice now in the lasr 3weeks! Such a killer. I hope i can learn the signs now too!!
I cnt w8 till tues i have so many q's for my ECHC nurse.
I feel like a failure and i hate saying ths outloud but the only way i can settle Zara is with BF. I try so hard for so long and she wont sleep!! I dont know what to do. I feel like 20mins of crying for a 3week old is enough. I just feel so bad...............
i think the growth spurt is continuing today too. i hope thats the issue! She slept from 12-6am which was UNREAL! And then fed and slept till midday, but has been unsettled since then! hasnt slept for more then 30mins etc..........her temp got up too 37 but my book said to worry at 37.5. so im just tryng to keep her cool, and relaxed which is so hard!
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO i just put her down and now next doors car alarm is going off and she is screaming!! WHY MMEEEEEE!! :rolleyes: gotta run
I feel like a failure and i hate saying ths outloud but the only way i can settle Zara is with BF. I try so hard for so long and she wont sleep!! I dont know what to do. I feel like 20mins of crying for a 3week old is enough. I just feel so bad...............
Kim, please don't feel like a failure. Most of the time the only way I can settle James is with a boob and to be honest I don't mind, whatever works to get some peace and have a happy baby.
Well yesterday was a nightmare for me :thumbsdown: James decided to show me he could be a devil child during the day and was crying and unsettled from 6:30am-3:30pm when he finally slept for 3 hours then when he woke up at 6:30pm it started again until midnight when he finally settled :banghead: BUT he slept straight through until 5am :eek: I nearly died when I woke up and looked at the clock. I had almost had a heart attack and had to poke him to make sure he was still breathing :laughing: Thats the longest stretch of unbroken sleep I have had since about mid way through my pregnancy!!! I felt almost human today.
Fingers crossed he does it again tonight xxx
Chrissy - my little one is the same - except I don't have to clean vomit off him. He sleeps for anything from 2 to 7 hours at a time. DD1 was like this too - until about 6 months when things went a bit haywire. DD2 is the opposite - always has been and probably always will be (we had a major battle of wills over bedtime tonight that I did not handle well). So - enjoy it. A friend of mine believes that God only sends us children that we can handle - and you as a single mum deserve a baby who sleeps so that you can deal with all the other stuff that goes on. (I think I get to have a good sleeper as I am a part time single mother:rolleyes: but whatever the reasons I am NOT complaining!!)
Kimberley - absolutely NOTHING wrong with breastfeeding to sleep - I have done it with all three children and when I acted embaressed about it to my GP he just laughed and said that this was how his wife put all of their kids to sleep too. I am not sure why people tell us it is a "bad habit" - it works, it is safe, and everyone is happy, so go for it I say!
Evening ladies :wave:
hope you and your bubs are doing well!!
Jason is most of the time an angel baby.
He sleeps a lot during the day, I try to wake him up every 3 -4 hours as I'm too scared that he won't sleep at night.
The only thing what works for us is when he is unsettled, change his nappy, give him a feed and then put him into the bassinette.
He starts screaming and crying for about 10-15 minutes and then he falls asleep.
I feels sometimes very bad to let him cry, but we tried to rock him and soothe him before which doesn't work at all.
Yesterday night was really bad as he was screaming so loud and weird that I first thought that something is really worng with him and I panicked but he was fine.
Hope you all will have quite nights!!
Hugs to all :hugs:
angel_one
06-01-2007, 22:11
Question for you ladies with slightly older bubs or even older children.
I dont mean to brag or anything at all. Im just wondering and am very clueless.
Kyan is an amazing sleeper. Once he has all his wind up (ok - he's bottle) he's straight back asleep. Im mean seriously, once I've cleaned up all the spew off him (always fun) his little eyes are shut and he'll sleep for another 5 hours or so. Sometimes 3 hours and then he'll wake up and get a tiny grizzley and feed again.
He'll spend a little time awake during the day but he's either just chilling in his rocker or in my arms.
Is this something he'll grow out of throughout the next few weeks? Is this like a newborn stage, where he sleeps alot or have I just been blessed with a good sleeper?
He's only 12 days old.
chrissy - make the most of it while you can!, he will be pretty muchly sleeping, eating and crapping, for a few weeks! then he will make himself known!
i tell you what though, hayden is 9 weeks old, (almost 2 weeks adjusted) and i have found my self getting board with him! lol, the other 2 kids by now were rolling, and smiling - doing a bit more than sleeping and feeding!.
he'll get there!
Kim - we had dd christened when she was 6 months old - mum made a beautiful gown for us, that well in feb in central qld was really hot, so apart from us trying to give our baby heat stroke, she was great, little wriggly, but other than that pretty good, bailey was done at 4 months, only cause he was the size of dd (@6mths) then, and that was in april (a little cooler) - we could pick a place with aircon but not quite that smart! lol, hayden will be done when he gets big enough to fit the gown, which could take forever!, prob when he is 6 months im guessing.
other than that i joined ww online yesterday, shall start monday!!! :eek:
and dh took the big kids out today, they went swimming - not in our town but one an hour away! lol, im not complaining, i got the house work done with one interruption! (hayden wanting a feed!) and so now it is all clean, and next weeks jobs are to reorganise my linen cupboard, and the **** cupboard! (i have a helper next week!- my sister is staying for 2 weeks and she is great with the kids!)
well im off
should be looking at bed soon!
yeah it does seem frowned upon about BF to sleep, well the midwife said "do it, but be prepared that at 7mths old u will still be doing that! and if thats ok w. u then go for it" So that scared me from the start! :no:
Thanks girls, AGAIN!
Zara had a **** night so im off for a nap while i can!
Morning everyone,
Well yesterday was a bit of a nightmare for us. Went to the inlaws and James was such a cranky pants, we were there from lunchtime til 10pm and he pretty much screamed the whole time :eek: He wouldnt sleep at all, although he drank so much all day, i think he may be having a growth spurt. Atleast he did a 5 hour stint overnight as he'd tired himself out so much.
How much "playtime" should babies a month old have? as sometimes he just has a feed and goes back to sleep, should i try and keep him awake for a bit? and what type of "playing" can you do with them at this age?
I hope everyone is having a good weekend :wave:
A major rule for babies - if they are sleeping, don't wake them!! So if he wants to sleep, let him - they don't "need" playing at this stage. As they become more alert you can interact with them more - simple things like a walk around the garden talking about what you can see, or pulling faces for them to copy is about the extent of it - and of course reading books to them (NEVER too early to start that one!)
Good Morning All!
Wow I haven't posted since last year! Haven't had a chance to log in because of my little one.. She's very demanding.
I have found a way to settle her better at night and sleep longer. We've been having dinner at my sister's house which is only 2 blocks away fr my house. She has 2 kids (3 yrs old and 7 months old). They make lots of noise that Chelsea cant scream and cry when we are there. Well she cries a little bit but then too distracted because of all the other noise.. We stay there fr 6pm - 9pm. She doesn't usually sleep during these times when we are at home anyway. So when we get home, bath her and takes me 20mins - 1 hr to put her to sleep and she would sleep fr 10.30pm till 3.30am! Oh so nice to have a long sleep!! Feel normal the next day! But ofcourse can't have dinner at my sister's house every night.. but she loves us being there so we just provide the dinner the alternative nights.. We won't have dinner there every night maybe every 2nd night. Just great thing for me as well.. I'm going insane being at home all day just looking after her and she so unsettled.. keeps waking up and can't do anything.. even house work..
She is worse after lunch - just wants to be held... but I'm getting used to it now and just going with the flow. I'm not fusing over rocking her to sleep as well... I'll just do whatever works I guess.
In regards to play time.. just put her in her cot that has the musical mobile and she would laugh and look at it for up to 20 mins then I put her in her rocker that has the vibrating thing and she would last there for 15-20 mins then she'll be tired and want to go to sleep (hmmm for 30 mins sleep! hehehehe!).
Christening - we plan to have her christened on feb 25.. Just need to book the priest church, basically everything actually.
Just got her professional pic's done on saturday and she had some nudie ones and she looks so cute! She weed on the sheet a couple of times but all is good. Will show you when I get the pic's.
Here's our santa photo to share:
http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g256/Sab11y/SSS_0074.jpg
Hope everyone has a nice day!
Have an appointment with baby clinic 2mrw at the chemist. Then Paedetrician on thursday.
andrewsmum
08-01-2007, 12:13
Wow, just caught up on everyone's posts and their babies.
Got some very good names on here - I love the names Rylan and Kyan (can you believe I had both on my list?) the only reason they weren't used was because my DH never heard of these names and didn't like them :rolleyes: Also love Sean and of course Hayden!!
My babies are doing OK, they're growing heaps! Both babies put on 800gm in three weeks :eek: They are on a combination of breast and bottle feeding. I'm starting to wean them to be fully FF, but it's taking time (more for my comfort than anything!! I can express 400mls at a time LOL).
The twins will be 7weeks old on Wednesday. They have their unsettled moments between 6pm till midnight EVERY night, so it's been a bit hard going!! Mostly its because of wind pains and vomitting. Have been told to switch formula to a thickened one for reflux (not diagnosed, but to see if the formula helps their vomitting or settling issues).
We have just had their 6week check up today and I'll have mine on Wednesday. Wonder what the GP will say as I've only just finished bleeding (I had a C/S so those who said their bleeding stopped after three weeks - so lucky!!). Have also done the s*x thing, we've been deprived for six months!! My DH now calls me the 30 second wonder (so you know how long it took hehe... sorry DH!!). Need to discuss contraception with the GP.
Hayden's still jaundiced but the colouring is slowly improving. Jake has put on so much weight that he now resembles a baby and we can see they are definitely identical - just size and amount of hair is different. DS1 Andrew has been a good big brother helping out whenever he can.
My DH is finally on holidays so it's good to have his help around the house. He's only had a handful of days off since the babies were born so he's realising just how much work I do with the twins. :thumbsup:
Happy New Year to all! :party:
08-01-2007, 13:43
Well today is my first day at home by myself - hmmmm I seem to be coping (but the day isn't over yet)!;)
I even managed to get Isla and Ozzy down to sleep at the same time - silly me was too hungry to go to sleep and ate instead of sleeping so by the time I finished eating Isla was awake again:banghead:
The breastfeeding issue is getting easier, just attaching Ozzy first then after a minute putting Isla on that breast as it isn't as full.
As for settling her at night - well I am finally back to sleeping in a bed again instead of the recliner chairs in the lounge room (it hurt my stomach to lay flat). And so yep Isla is sleeping in her cot - DH bought it into our room though as we are getting her to sleep on her side (she still won't go down on her back)!:gloomy: A long warm shower before putting her to bed also seems to do the trick too in settling so hopefully we are onto something here.
As for her wind still just as bad. As we have just moved recently we went to a new GP as the other one is slightly too far to travel back to as a local GP but this GP was useless she said breastfed babies don't get wind at all:eek: Ummmm what planet is she living on!!!! And then she went on to say that babies will wriggle and squirm around and scream like they are in agony but they lie! Hmmmm I think I will be going back to my old GP even though it's a fair distance.
Well I hope everyone else is well and the babies are good.
RaryGirl
09-01-2007, 10:10
As for her wind still just as bad. As we have just moved recently we went to a new GP as the other one is slightly too far to travel back to as a local GP but this GP was useless she said breastfed babies don't get wind at all:eek: Ummmm what planet is she living on!!!! And then she went on to say that babies will wriggle and squirm around and scream like they are in agony but they lie! Hmmmm I think I will be going back to my old GP even though it's a fair distance.
Lovely :thumbsdown: . If babies can't manipulate us as yet (as the studies say) how can this Dr say they are smart enough to lie???? I'd travel to my old GP too.
Someone also needs to tell Sam that he doesn't have wind - cause for a BF bubba he sure burps and farts alot.
09-01-2007, 13:40
If babies can't manipulate us as yet (as the studies say) how can this Dr say they are smart enough to lie???? I'd travel to my old GP too.
Laughable isn't it:rolleyes:
just found this thread so i will remember to post in here from now on... i hope we are all well.. Jasper has had some bad wind and is in pain so we have had to change his formula.. the HCN said if there is no change after 24hrs we have to put him on soy as it means he may have an allergy... :fingerscrossed: the new formula works as i cant stand the smell of the soy one lol... ok well i am off to work out where my brother has saved the pics of my new lil man.. talk soon ciao!!!
Evening girls:wave:
How is everyone going?
We are doing ok , just had a horrible night.
Jason just didn't want to sleep and screamed the place down. Tried to settle him down with bf, didn't help, rock him also didn't . The only thing helped sleeping with him on my chest on the sofa.
DP thinks he is already spoilt but can you spoil a 2 weeks old baby???
Today he seems to be exhausted , screams sometimes but doesn't demand the boob that often. and feeds not as long as normal.Shall I be worried?
He also slept from 5 - 9am then from 11:30am to 2 :30 pm or so where I slept myself and now again since 5:45 or so.....
I try to burp him after every feed but he is not a good burper.
Just don't want another night like the last one.:gloomy:
Hugs to all mums and their bubs:hugs:
angel_one
09-01-2007, 21:06
hello all!!, well i have my sister here and she has been a great help - hell i might even be able to make my voice last anothercouple of weeks!, she seems to beat me to the punch when it comes to telling jamie to stop being naughty!
we went to the park today, and jamie went off about 100mtrs to the slide, and i was on the swing (no one else was there), well guess what she did, i was watching her the whole time (like a good mummy! lol) and i saw a van approaching, and stood up and started walking towards her, well she comes running over to me, saying mummy im scared! i ask what of? and she pointed to the van! - how weird was it that we both had the same feeling over this van!
well im off to scrapbook!
bloggedissue
09-01-2007, 22:00
Ooh, I'm scrapbooking too... first layout with cayley in it... special.
angel_one
10-01-2007, 09:15
Ooh, I'm scrapbooking too... first layout with cayley in it... special.
man i havent got to hayden yet, still trying to catch up on jamies!
10-01-2007, 09:56
Just thought I would share a picture of Isla:
Click here (http://s67.photobucket.com/albums/h300/speedwayatom/?action=view¤t=Newpics024.jpg)
Great Morning to all mum's!!!
Had a wonderful sleep! My beautiful Chelsea slept from 10pm - 5am!!! 7 hours sleep - beauty!!! Then after her feed etc she slept through till 9am! OMG! Can't believe it. So happy with that! First time ever. Wonder how long this will last...
Been using gripe water for her wind but just using 1ml. I think 5 ml is way to much to give by mouth. She's BF.. Tried giving her express breast milk by bottle so my mum can baby sit her if I or hubby want to go out but she wont take the bottle. Might try changing the teeth of the bottle... I heard pegion teeth is the best. Does anyone have suggestion? Also for a dummy. I'm using Avent but she hates it.. the nurse told me not to let her use my nipple as a dummy.
She is now 7 weeks old and 4 days old. She is still unsettled (except for her long sleep last night). Some days she won't sleep upto 6 hrs! So the nurse has referred us to Karitane to help us with sleep and settling techinque. We are booked in on monday and its half day course. If it doesn't improve then we may have to do a 5 day course where we stay there and teach us better way of settling her to sleep.
She now weighs 4.4 kg's and height 55cm. Weight inceased of 500g in less than 4 weeks so happy with that and length inceased by 4.5cm since she was born.
Here's her latest pic:
http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g256/Sab11y/IMG_6218.jpg
A'mum - wow!!! 400ml's when expressing! Gees last time I expressed the other day took me 15 minutes to express 50ml's! And that's with an electric pump!
O'mum - Yeah your GP sounds stups! Can't believe she said that babies who are BF do not get wind.. What.. we imagining our babies discomfort and farting so much!
cordu68 - don't worry. Do what ever works especially it's your first.
angel_one - Lucky u have an extra hand there for help..
10-01-2007, 10:11
suggestion?[/B] Also for a dummy. I'm using Avent but she hates it.. the nurse told me not to let her use my nipple as a dummy.
Nothing wrong with using your nipple as a dummy- you do what you want, not what the CHN says! What reason does she give for not comfort feeding? I have always done that and havn't had any problems from doing it!
I still haven't worked out the multiple quote thing so let's see if my memory works instead!
Oscar and Isla's mum - beautiful photo!! And that GP hs obviously never had a breastfed baby of her/his own! All of mine have burped and farted and made quite a fuss about it during their 6 months of exclusive breastfeeding - and I don't think they are the exception that proves the rule somehow??!!!
Cordu - you actually can't spoil a baby until 12 month old according to Robyn Barker in "Baby Love" - so go for it!! My DH loves to lie on the couch and let DS sleep on his chest - I am the one that has to remove the baby so that I can get DH to do things around the house!
Sabby - nothing wrong with the nipple for a dummy - none of mine have ever had a dummy and all are quite healthy and happy for it!! Some of those CHN's have never actually had children themselves - the last one I saw gave me a lecture on breastfeeding to sleep - and she was 33 weeks pregnant with her first - I just thought to myself "just wait and see honey!!":laughing:
We are going really well here. DH is away for another 10 days but I am itno a good routine with the three kids - have mastered grocery shopping etc with them and for the last two night have had all three asleep by 8pm and Daniel was the only one to wake in the night so I am feeling much more sane! He is a calm, happy little soul who is growing so fast! His hair is still falling out on top so it is anyone's guess what colour it will end up being.
Anyway - hope you are all well and getting sleep. I have to remember to get injections done next week - can't believe it will be 8 weeks!
StarMumma
10-01-2007, 14:38
Hi Girls!!!
Hope you're all doing well!!
I have finally got that photo website to work on my pc and can show off a couple of pics of my boys:
Baylen:
http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p84/renmat/Baylen3.jpg
Chayse:
http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p84/renmat/Chayse1.jpg
That's all I have time for today, as I am off to buy an air conditioner - Just saw it's going to be 39 here on Tuesday :eek:
Can't do that to the boys anymore!!
Also, I posted the arrival of P4PURPLE's baby on the due in dec area...
Tea Lady
10-01-2007, 15:28
Sorry - haven't checked in in awhile, but I've been a little preoccupied!
X is going really well - he's feeding like a pro and sleeping well so far. I know it's only early days yet, but it's all just soooooo much easier than it was last time! I don't think we're even doing anything too much differently. I'm sure all babies just have their own personality :yes:
I was intending to usef disposable nappies on him for awhile, but I was so unimpressed with the Huggies I've got that we're using mostly cloth on X already - not exactly saving $ though because I'd already bought a couple of boxes of disposables :rolleyes: At least I don't have to change him in the night if I use a really absorbent one - that's a real plus!
Draught - I saw you raving in another thread about your new sling - would you mind telling me how you carry Daniel in it? I put my sling on for the first time yesterday and just couldn't get it working properly. I could get X comfy in it, but my back was in AGONY after walking around Woolies for about 1/2 hr :gloomy: I've actually just ordered an ergo, so maybe that will do the trick for me! I'd love to be able to make my other sling work though - maybe my back's just not ready yet.
Cordu - how did your night go last night? I hope it was much better.
I'm sorry I haven't had a chance to catch up much at all with what everyone's up to. I'll try to get on a bit more and keep up with things. I hope everyone's babies are behaving themselves today :)
TL - I am not sure how I will go describing how I carry him - snuggled upright with his head on my chest is probably the best way to describe it! Who have you ordered your ergo from? If it is Amanda at carryingaway.com you can go and see her to pick it up and she will give you a full demo on how to use it - and how to use your current sling if you take it with you. Very helpful!
family_wish
10-01-2007, 16:16
Hello everyone
Ella is asleep in her rocker (for a change) so I have a minute to post :party:
Meags - which formula are you using??
Angel_one - great that you have some help!
Click here (http://s67.photobucket.com/albums/h300/speedwayatom/?action=view¤t=Newpics024.jpg)
Too cute!! She is a chubba isn't she? Ella looks anorexic compared to her. Oscar is gorgeous too. Love the Doll shot!
Sabby - I have tried Avent and Nuk dummies and I find she likes the el-cheapo Happy Baby ones the best (from Safeway/Woolworths and Coles I think)
2boysforus - great photos! Love the food all over face shot!!!!
Ella slept from 8.45pm - 2.45pm this morning and then from 2.45-.645 so that was pretty exciting. I wonder if it was because we put her in the cocoon inbetween us in bed last night.
Draught - my hubby is off to Sydney and then Singapore so I will be all by myself with Ella :eek: - bit nervous about that. He wanted me to meet him in Singapore :laughing: - but I don't want to fly by myself with her and I am worried that she will not be fully vaccinated......so I will be staying put.
Otherwise, apart from a terrible sinus infection all is going well here :fingerscrossed:
Cordu - I sometimes sleep with Ella on my chest. It is difficult to resist them and they are so used to being in your womb so close - so why not cuddle them when they want it?
Boxox
Hello Ladies,
Well at the moment Sean is asleep. The hot weather seems to be making him alot more sleepier. He is know 5wks and 2days. Hes growing up so fast. He started smiling last friday I got some good photos of him. Hes such a happy baby. The last 2 days he has been really good with his wind. Which is a bonus.
For the last 3 days I have had both of the boys asleep at the same time so I get to sleep aswell.
Thought that I would share a few pics of the boys. Please let me know if they don't work.
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/taddy838/9January07032.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/taddy838/6January07008.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/taddy838/9January07014.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a73/taddy838/9January07004.jpg
So what do you all think? Gorgeous or what?
Sorry but both my boys mean the world to me.
10-01-2007, 16:52
Too cute!! She is a chubba isn't she? Ella looks anorexic compared to her. Oscar is gorgeous too. Love the Doll shot!
lol my mother bought the doll for Isla so we can take a photo of her every month then every year to compare how much she has grown;)
ok im ready to say im in hell!!
Zara isnt sleeping AT All.....how can it be heathly for her.......................its been the last 3days and i just keep hoping she will be better "tommorow" but its not getting better!
She is literally awake from 10am till midnight, sleeping for no more then 1/2hr at a time. its driving me mental! She will sleep on me, but as soon as i put her down, 15mins later she is crying! Then after minight, she will be up at 3.30 then 5am then 8am. Im so worried about her.
MIL is saying "oh its colic" :banghead: I hate her opinions, sorry im frustrated in case u cnt tell. hehe.
Should i take her to the dr? I got gripe water today so ill try it.
According to dunstan language she is saying "eairh" and "eh" alot so im sure she has wind and i think maybe a ut of reflux? I dont knw..........i just dnt know what to do...........
o's mum: isla is sooooooo cute! well done..so is ozzy!
Sabby: We use the nuk dummy, but she wont always take it.. its good cause its small and doesnt swamp her little face :)
Taddy: Sean is so cute!
Family wish: hope the infection gets better!
Tealady: good to hear everything is going well for u! good to hear frm u.
Also, those using the gripe water..do u give it before u feed?
Zara hates the taste. hehe, the look on her face!
Also just after a feed sometimes, she gasps for air then coughs do u see this as reflux?
StarMumma
10-01-2007, 21:00
...Ella slept from 8.45pm - 2.45pm this morning and then from 2.45-.645 so that was pretty exciting. I wonder if it was because we put her in the cocoon inbetween us in bed last night...
Ah..isn't it lovely when they give you a bit of sleep?? My boy is having his last feed at 10:30pm and waking again between 2am & 4am, but last 2 days has woken again between 5am & 6am!!! Mummy is feeling a little sleep deprivation today!!
...Well at the moment Sean is asleep. The hot weather seems to be making him alot more sleepier. So what do you all think? Gorgeous or what?
Sorry but both my boys mean the world to me.
Hot weather is doing the same to my 2 also...makes for quiet days around the house...
The photos are very cute!!
lol my mother bought the doll for Isla so we can take a photo of her every month then every year to compare how much she has grown;)
That's a brilliant idea...might start something like that with DS2 - wish we had of done it with DS1
ok im ready to say im in hell!!...Zara isnt sleeping AT All.....how can it be heathly for her.......................its been the last 3days and i just keep hoping she will be better "tommorow" but its not getting better!....
Oh you poor girl, I do feel for you...do you let her cry for a little bit to see if she self settles? Deep baths? (although this never worked for mine) A walk in the pram? Express some milk for an afternoon and go sleep ANYWHERE!!! She'll be feeling your stress too and this won't be helping either of you. Call your MCHN help line in your state for some unbiased advice...
Both my boys are sleeping. Had to convince DF to let me wrap DS2 (in mulsin), as he would not settle and go to sleep, and lo and behold he's now sleeping like a proverbial babe!
Still hot here and going to be hot tomorrow too. Have now bought an air con unit and it's going to be fitted on Sunday - YAY!!!
To all the Mummies who are home alone, I feel your anxiety. DF went back to work on Monday and I was so worried about how I'd cope with the 2 of them, but so far we've managed. DS1 has been back to his angelic self only playing up when Dad walks in the door!!!
Hope you're not all suffering too much in the heat and your baby gives you SOME sleep tonight!
If you'd have asked me 2 years ago if I'd be happy with 4 hours straight sleep I'd have laughed at you - now I know that's gold!!!
Oh, and tonight I nearly made DF fall in the bath! I asked him to hold off on having the snip til the end of the year as maybe we might think about having another baby next year!!! Must be happy hormones...:p
Take care xox
Hi ladies:wave:
just a quick post before I fall asleep until the next feed.
Thanks for all your replies and support . My last night was much better, he cried a bit and then fell asleep.
Hope we can repeat that tonight!!
We had a long walk in the pram today and a very busy day, most of the time he was quite and content
I enrolled him at Medicare, applied for maternity payment and also for FTB.
Today I had a visit of a Early childhood nurse. We must be doing some thing right as Jason has gained lots of weight. He weighs now 3650 g , birth weight was 3390 g, yippieh,
He seems to have a sticky eye though which I need to wash with saline solution and that I should rinse with some expressed brestmilk as it has some antibiotics in it aswell. Otherwise I need to go to the GP with him to get antibiotics ointment as it might be an eye infection.
Tomorrow I might go to a mother's group which is in my area
Hope for a quite night for all of us and our bubs.
Hugs to all :hugs:
StarMumma
10-01-2007, 21:39
...Tomorrow I might go to a mother's group which is in my area...
Glad you had a much better night and hope you get some rest tonight!
Try to make the effort to go to Mother's group.I was very reluctant to go with DS1 (they don't offer it to you 2nd time around, even if you've moved area - buggar!), but I am so thrilled I did.
The girls and their boys (we were all boys in the group) came over to visit on Saturday (I am the first in the group to have a 2nd - another is on the way, another boy!) and they were so lovely to us.
They brought frozen meals, cakes, nappies, cleaned up the house and were generally wonderful friends!!!
I was saying to DF how grateful I am to have these 3 fantastic women in my life and am so grateful to the MHCN and my DS1 for allowing me to let them into my life....bit soppy I know, but they truly have been great to me (and me to them I hope!) during this journey called parenting!
Anyway, to get to the point - I can not urge you enough to go!!!
SammieSnail
11-01-2007, 00:45
Hi girls :wave:
This is the first proper chance I've had to get on here in ages...our computer died so I made DH buy a new one :devil6:
To those who have posted photos wow, beautiful bubs and siblings.
Kimberly, I feel your pain, Kevin has the same routine! I can barely feed myself before he wakes again during the day...and then he's up constantly during the night :banghead:
Where is all the time going? our bubs are growing so fast!
Well Kevin is finally asleep again, I've been trying to put him down since 9pm....every time I do he just wakes up again and screams or grizzles for the next hour...now I'm too scared to put him down lol
I'm breastfeeding but giving him a bottle or two of formula a day so the poor thing has been suffering from constipation. He went from Sunday to Tuesday without pooping and then WHAM....DH and I were so happy when something finally came out :o
He's also got conjunctivitis which just won't clear up, so off to the doctors tomorrow I guess.
I'm feeling socially deprived with DH always working or studying, yet I can't ever find the time to jump on here so I might have to track down a mothers group of my own....thanks for the idea Cordu.
Lets see if I can break the groundhog day cycle!
Hugs to all
Sammie
Morning girls:wave:
Jason just had another feed and a nappy change, then of course weed all ove him so I had to change his clothes .:banghead:
I would have had a quite night unfortuantely DP and I had an argument so I ended up going to bed at 1 :30 am, and I was so tired at 10 pm :sleeping: , oh well!!
I rinsed yesterday evening his eye with saline solution, looks again sticky, so I will do it again and then rinse it with breast milk.
Might be a conjunctivitis too.
Good that I can go to mothergroup today, they might cheer me up and there will be 2 child nurses there so I can ask them about that too.Thanks 2boysforus for the advice on mother's group.:hugs:
Hope you all had a good night sleep!! Almost time to get up and make breakkie!!
Hugs to all
StarMumma
11-01-2007, 09:02
Morning Girls :wave:
Hope you all had a better night...
Chayse went to bed at 8pm and I didn't wake him for his 10:30pm feed - decided to let him sleep and he didn't wake til 2:30am!!! Had a feed, big poo and straight back to sleep til 7:30am!!! And the big boy slept all night too, until I woke him at 8am!!! So I am feeling very refreshed today!! I hope they keep this up!
Chayse has his 2 week check today, so I can see how much weight the chubba has put on. I am sure he's around 5 kilos now!
Well, hope you all have a good day.
xox
Morning again:wave:
I am off to the mother's group and afterwards to the GP because of his sticky eye. Hope he doesn't have an infection.:fingerscrossed:
Had to reschedule the GP appointment already twice as he decided he wants a feed when I want to go .....
2boysforus Chayse is really good sleeper.
:yelclap: I wonder when Jason will sleep longer than 4 hours??
Hope you all have a good day !!!
Hugs to all
RavenDancer
11-01-2007, 09:22
oh im so glad 2 find u women again!
ive had two unsettled days with the little man resorting to driving around in the car to settle him down! i dont know what to do! hes not sleeping during the day at all so im a wreck..i hope it gets easier...
Hi all, i havent been on for about a week as James has been so unsettled, only sleeping for 10 mins to half an hour stetches during the day, im lucky if he will sleep for an hour at a time, and is up for hours inbetween, but atleast hes sleeping for 3 hour stretches at night. Hes having a growth spurt as hes hungry all the time and drinking heaps and is growing out of some of his clothes.
I have his 6 week check up tomorrow
Sorry was going to do personals but James is screaming, but i am reading all the posts and i can totally relate to everyone with unsettled babys!
Hugs to All
bloggedissue
11-01-2007, 17:28
With the conjunctivitis - I thought Cayley might have had it, took her to the dr, just in case, but it was and is just a blocked duct.
The eye will also be red if it is an infection.
And if it is an infection you can actually squirt some breast milk into the eye. BM is also great for cuts and scratches etc. Grossish, but true.
For those with second bubba, do you let the newest addition cry much. I'm too scared to let her cry for too long in case it wakes ds1... what do you do?
jonesy47
11-01-2007, 17:46
I let Madison cry quite a bit but only because I have my hands full.
Finally been catching up on sleep. Madi sleeps 7 hours for the first part of the night usually from 9 - 4 give or take alittle. She is awake from 1:00pm - 7:00pm approx and wants to be carried so I'm strung out by bed time.
We're going to a BBQ on saturday night and mum offered to babysit but DH says hes not ready to leave her yet. But he can leave her to go fishing. I think I have post natal with him. I can't stand him atm.
Anyway better go DS just smashed something up the hallway.
Does anyone else feel like banging their head against a wall.:banghead:
Have a lovely week all
andrewsmum
11-01-2007, 18:33
but it was and is just a blocked duct. And if it is an infection you can actually squirt some breast milk into the eye. BM is also great for cuts and scratches etc. Grossish, but true.
I was gonna say the same thing!! My two had gummy eyes around the 3-4 week mark but it was only blocked ducts! And had to squirt breast milk into their eyes which cleared up a week later!! The GP told me to!! Was a bit ewww, tho!
The pics of your bubba's are too cute!! Keep them coming!! I'm still waiting for my babies' first smiles, come on!!!:o
Have had one day of using the new formula (Karicare AR thickened formula) and ther's been little vomits! I'm really excited as this means I won't have to change their clothes quite so often!! They are (and I am!) still wearing the same outfit as from 9am this morning! First time this has happened.
I'm envious about your night time routines!! I'm lucky to get two hours sleep at a time (but would prefer six hours unbroken sleep though!!)
My babes are growing up too fast :o I really need to get on with my scrapbooking!! I'd better get around to doing their hand/foot prints soon!
andrewsmum
11-01-2007, 18:37
Does anyone else feel like banging their head against a wall.:banghead:
when its to do with my husband and the babies, oh yes!! on a constant daily basis as he's on holidays!!
bris_mummy-to-be17
11-01-2007, 18:55
hey girls.
im finally able to join you!
my baby girl was born on the third of january at 426am. shes now 8 days old and is such a little trooper - i love her so much.
had a bit of a rough day today, she just wanted booby and to sleep in mummys arms so she was awake all day from 730, only having two hours sleep. she went down around 6ish and is still sleeping so hopefully she'll be asleep for another few hours.
anyways i wanna make lily a website so i better run off and do that now while she's sleeping. much love to you all xoxo
SammieSnail
11-01-2007, 18:56
I'm envious about your night time routines!! I'm lucky to get two hours sleep at a time (but would prefer six hours unbroken sleep though!!)
My babes are growing up too fast :o I really need to get on with my scrapbooking!! I'd better get around to doing their hand/foot prints soon!
How are you going to go about taking their hand and foot prints? I've been meaning too but can't work out how :laughing:
Do you feed Jake and Hayden at the same time, or just when they demand it?
My mum used to feed the twins at the same time, so if one was asleep she'd wake them both otherwise by the time she fed and settled one the other would wake up....
Your boys are gorgeous :)
SammieSnail
11-01-2007, 18:59
Congratulations! and welcome to the world Lily!
What a cutie.
Have been wondering where and how you were....:)
hey girls.
im finally able to join you!
my baby girl was born on the third of january at 426am. shes now 8 days old and is such a little trooper - i love her so much.
had a bit of a rough day today, she just wanted booby and to sleep in mummys arms so she was awake all day from 730, only having two hours sleep. she went down around 6ish and is still sleeping so hopefully she'll be asleep for another few hours.
anyways i wanna make lily a website so i better run off and do that now while she's sleeping. much love to you all xoxo
bloggedissue
11-01-2007, 20:47
Just use some poster paint... and wipe it off straight away. Might be handy to have someone there to help you do it.
Hi all, i havent been on for about a week as James has been so unsettled, only sleeping for 10 mins to half an hour stetches during the day, im lucky if he will sleep for an hour at a time, and is up for hours inbetween, but atleast hes sleeping for 3 hour stretches at night.
Must be something to do with the name Anna as my James has the exact same routine :banghead:
How much vomit is normal? :confused: James is sick after every feed and for up to 1 hr. I only feed him one side now as if I offer him both he empties both and then is sick and windy right up until it is time for the next feed. Such a viscious circle :banghead:
12-01-2007, 06:58
How much vomit is normal? :confused: James is sick after every feed and for up to 1 hr. I only feed him one side now as if I offer him both he empties both and then is sick and windy right up until it is time for the next feed. Such a viscious circle :banghead:
Try this next time you feed him. Attach him onto the breast upright (ie so he is sitting, I found that hard though), or once you have attached him to the breast normally lay down on your back so that he is laying ontop of you. By doing this you can stop the milk just running down the back of his throat and actually make him work for the milk more.
I had to do this with Ozzy to help with the wind etc and also now with Isla it does make a big difference to the amount of wind they actually get and I find that they don't :barf: as much also as the wind isn't there.
I hope that actually makes sense:confused:
Morning all :wave:
i kept a diary yesterday to see how much James is actually drinking and he had 1330mls over 26 hours including expressed breast milk and formula, sounds like heaps to me!
I would like to put him back on the breast, i was just wondering how long should a breastfeed take? as it takes me about 45mins to express and feed him a bottle, would it be less time straight on the boob? (I know there would be big variations but just wanted to know approx)
Well im off to James' 6 week check up thismorning, i bet he's gained heaps of weight, I had to go and buy him new clothes yesterday in a size 00 :eek:
Aggero- :hugs: you poor thing with James being sick after every feed, it doesnt sound normal to me (although what is "normal"!) is he gaining weight? what did your nurse/gp say? I hope what Oscars Mum suggested works for you.
I would like to put him back on the breast, i was just wondering how long should a breastfeed take? as it takes me about 45mins to express and feed him a bottle, would it be less time straight on the boob? (I know there would be big variations but just wanted to know approx)
My experience of expressing versus feeding is that feeding is MUCH quicker. My DD2 used to take 10 mintues to feed but to express enough for half a feed took me over half an hour - babies sucking is much more efficient.
thanks for posting the games Chrissy.
Some of them I'm doing already, might try the other ones when he is awake.
Aggero sorry to hear that James is sick after a feed.Hope o'mum adivce will work for you.
I must confess , I haven't been to the mother's group yesterday.When I wanted to go Jason decided again that he is hungry when I changed him to summer clothes.I was also so tired after getting just 3 hours sleep.
But mothers group is Monday and Thursday so I'm intending to go the coming Monday.
I have been yesterday to the GP and I was told I should just rinse his eyes with saline solution and then rinse it with breast milk.It is not an infection just a blocked duct as most of you said.
So I boil 1 tspoon of salt with 500 ml of water.
I had a great night, went to bed at 10:30 , fed him at 1:30am then at 4:20 am and then he woke up at 8 am and oh wow he is sleeping again.Yesterday he started to cry again when I put him to sleep. he screamed a bit and then I put him over my shoulder , said mummy loves you and patted him and oh wonder it worked , he calmed down and got to sleep.
My time for a breast feed really varies between 20 - 45 min depending if Jason just wants a snack or a full monty booby meal. I have the impression that night feeds are normally longer than day feeds as he doesn't settle before he has sucked on both sides and is full and sleepy. Especially when it is hot like now he just demands a snack which is then just 10 min or even shorter.
I guess it is just lile us as being thirstier when it is hot.
Is it too early for him to play in his activity gym?
The early childhood nurse told me that they love being on their tummy. So far he is only lying on his back.
Have a great day everyone !!
Hugs to all:hugs:
thanks for posting the games Chrissy.
Some of them I'm doing already, might try the other ones when he is awake.
Aggero sorry to hear that James is sick after a feed.Hope o'mum adivce will work for you.
I must confess , I haven't been to the mother's group yesterday.When I wanted to go Jason decided again that he is hungry when I changed him to summer clothes.I was also so tired after getting just 3 hours sleep.
But mothers group is Monday and Thursday so I'm intending to go the coming Monday.
I have been yesterday to the GP and I was told I should just rinse his eyes with saline solution and then rinse it with breast milk.It is not an infection just a blocked duct as most of you said.
So I boil 1 tspoon of salt with 500 ml of water.
I had a great night, went to bed at 10:30 , fed him at 1:30am then at 4:20 am and then he woke up at 8 am and oh wow he is sleeping again.Yesterday he started to cry again when I put him to sleep. he screamed a bit and then I put him over my shoulder , said mummy loves you and patted him and oh wonder it worked , he calmed down and got to sleep.
My time for a breast feed really varies between 20 - 45 min depending if Jason just wants a snack or a full monty booby meal. I have the impression that night feeds are normally longer than day feeds as he doesn't settle before he has sucked on both sides and is full and sleepy. Especially when it is hot like now he just demands a snack which is then just 10 min or even shorter.
I guess it is just lile us as being thirstier when it is hot.
Is it too early for him to play in his activity gym?
The early childhood nurse told me that they love being on their tummy. So far he is only lying on his back.
Have a great day everyone !!
Hugs to all:hugs:
12-01-2007, 10:03
I would like to put him back on the breast, i was just wondering [B]how long should a breastfeed take
It really varies sometimes 10 minutes sometimes an hour!
RavenDancer
12-01-2007, 10:54
afternoon ladies, little ones alseep so i have a few mins spare to just update i guess,
eli has had a few unsettled days with severe wind, but we have gotten through them and hes back to his normal self, day sleeping is almost non existent, sometimes im lucky and he sleeps for a good 3 hours but thats a rare occassion! but our night time routine is brilliant! he falls asleep at about 11pm then sleeps till 4am we have a feed and a nappy change then hes asleep till 8am! its brilliant, i feel refreshed by the sleep so im always ready for him the next day, in the beginning it was like i had 2 hours of sleep a night and was losing my mind...so im glad he sleeps during the night now.
Other than that, i dont have a mothers group, Im still new to the blue moutains so I dont know anyone, and there is a good chance ill be flying to england at the end of feb so maybe ill just skip the mother group thing even though i think it would benefit both of us.
I hope you lovelie ladies are having a wonderful day and staying cool in this disgusting heat!
12-01-2007, 10:58
Isla has an immature tear duct (which I would say is similiar or the same thing), annoying isn't it. Hopefully their eyes clear up soon.
Thank you Oscars Mum, Cordu and Draught for all your replies re my breastfeeding question. I think i'll put him back on the boob and see how he goes, it used to take him an hour plus when he was younger but hopefully hes more efficent now.
I must be making it far too easy for him, i just had his 6 week check up and hes put on 1160g in 3 weeks and is off the charts weighing 6.5kgs :eek: What a little fatty! (although he did have a headstart being 11 pound born!) I'll put him back on the boob and make him work harder for his food :D
Chelsea is about to wake up so can't be a long post.
She had her paedritician (sp?) appointment yesterday. All is normal and growing healthy. DH and I thought there was something medically wrong with her that's why she is so unsettled but Dr said all is normal and being an unsettled baby is normal esp with the colic problem. He said she will grow out of it or eventually get used to the pain.
K be right back she's awake and need a feed.
K I'm back.
Can't believe it that got her back to sleep so quickly than normal. She's been like this since yday. Only wants a feed, change nappy then back to sleep again - this is during the day. hmm.... must be because I turn the air con on and she sleeps longer..
Anyways the paed also said that no medicine out there actually helps colic but if I've been using drops and it has been working then he didn't mind me using it as long as the ingredient didn't have alcohol or ethanol on it as its no good for bub. So when got home yday checked and gripe water has ethanol! Been using it for past few days so stopped using it last night and went back to Brauer Colic Relief and she still slept thru fr 10pm - 3.30am = 5 1/2 sleep!!! So will just stick with the brauer - don't want to get my bub to become an alco! :laughing:
I must say she is settling better this past 2 days or it either me and her are getting used to each other and working well with our routines.. I'm getting less frustrated when she wont sleep. So it might be more of me just getting used to her ways.
The paed did say that try not to have bad habits like rocking her to sleep on our arms etc. He said try to get her used to being put to sleep on her bassinet/cot by patting her. So hopefully will achieve this next wk after our session with Karitane.
2boyforus & Taddy - Oh your baby pics are gergous! They are both such chubby chubs!! SO cute!
Kimberly - Sleepless - Hon most of us our going through it. At first I thought it was only my baby but then after speaking to mums its not just Chelsea..
I give Colic drops just before I feed her and only give to her once a day and at night feed (9pm).
Sammiesnail - I'm with you with being socially deprived. I get excited when I can go for a walk outside! How sad is that ha!
Cordu68 - I'm same with you with when would bub sleep longer. Well Chelsea didn't start sleeping 4-6hrs straight till after 7 weeks and only way she would sleep long is if I don't let her sleep fr 6pm - 9pm.. she is restless at these times anyway and wont sleep.
Oscarsmum - thanks for the BF advice to avoid reflux and wind..
Chrissy - thanks for the games as well.
GCK - goodluck with BF. :fingerscrossed:
Hope every one will have a great weekend!
K I'm back.
Can't believe it that got her back to sleep so quickly than normal. She's been like this since yday. Only wants a feed, change nappy then back to sleep again - this is during the day. hmm.... must be because I turn the air con on and she sleeps longer..
Anyways the paed also said that no medicine out there actually helps colic but if I've been using drops and it has been working then he didn't mind me using it as long as the ingredient didn't have alcohol or ethanol on it as its no good for bub. So when got home yday checked and gripe water has ethanol! Been using it for past few days so stopped using it last night and went back to Brauer Colic Relief and she still slept thru fr 10pm - 3.30am = 5 1/2 sleep like she has been this week!!! So will just stick with the brauer - don't want to get my bub to become an alco! :laughing:
I must say she is settling better this past 2 days or it either me and her are getting used to each other and working well with our routines.. I'm getting less frustrated when she wont sleep. So it might be more of me just getting used to her ways.
The paed did say that try not to have bad habits like rocking her to sleep on our arms etc. He said try to get her used to being put to sleep on her bassinet/cot by patting her. So hopefully will achieve this next wk after our session with Karitane.
2boyforus & Taddy - Oh your baby pics are gergous! They are both such chubby chubs!! SO cute!
Kimberly - Sleepless - Hon most of us our going through it. At first I thought it was only my baby but then after speaking to mums its not just Chelsea..
I give Colic drops just before I feed her and only give to her once a day and at night feed (9pm).
Sammiesnail - I'm with you with being socially deprived. I get excited when I can go for a walk outside! How sad is that ha!
Cordu68 - I'm same with you with when would bub sleep longer. Well Chelsea didn't start sleeping 4-6hrs straight till after 7 weeks and only way she would sleep long is if I don't let her sleep fr 6pm - 9pm.. she is restless at these times anyway and wont sleep.
Oscarsmum - thanks for the BF advice to avoid reflux and wind..
Chrissy - thanks for the games as well.
GCK - goodluck with BF. :fingerscrossed:
Hope every one will have a great weekend!
12-01-2007, 13:18
hmm how strange that some posts seem to keep getting doubled!
GraceUnhearing
12-01-2007, 13:44
took my little man to the specialist today for his check up after being in the neonatal intensive care in hospital.
He said everything is good, he’s now 4.28kgs so he’s gained his birth weight and a little more, which is good.
the dr couldn’t hear anything wrong with his heart either which is great!:smiliedance:
and his breathing is normal too which I’m also happy about.:yelclap:
he wants o see him again in 6 weeks for another check up just to make sure, but after that if everything is fine he doesn’t have to see him again!
12-01-2007, 13:46
Probably a personal question here but as everyone seems to be hitting the 6 week mark what contraception is everyone using?
I was thinking of getting an IUD, but am curious to hear other options.
OscarTheGrouch
12-01-2007, 13:52
IUD for me, copper not Mirena. I had thought about having my tubes tied while I ws having my c-section, but thought it was a little too permanant for me. I've had an IUD previously and found it to be fantastic.:thumbsup:
OscarTheGrouch
12-01-2007, 13:55
Anyways the paed also said that no medicine out there actually helps colic but if I've been using drops and it has been working then he didn't mind me using it as long as the ingredient didn't have alcohol or ethanol on it as its no good for bub. So when got home yday checked and gripe water has ethanol! Been using it for past few days so stopped using it last night and went back to Brauer Colic Relief and she still slept thru fr 10pm - 3.30am = 5 1/2 sleep like she has been this week!!! So will just stick with the brauer - don't want to get my bub to become an alco! :laughing:
The gripe water I'm using doesn't have alcohol in it. The brand is Corams alcohol free gripe water.
12-01-2007, 13:57
IUD for me, copper not Mirena. I had thought about having my tubes tied while I ws having my c-section, but thought it was a little too permanant for me. I've had an IUD previously and found it to be fantastic.:thumbsup:
Can I ask how much approx it costs? Also why copper not Mirena?
The gripe water I'm using doesn't have alcohol in it. The brand is Corams alcohol free gripe water.
Just saw that my gripe water is the same as yours :)
That will make my DP happy as he was cross with me that I bought some.; becaue he thought it would be with alcohol.
OscarTheGrouch
12-01-2007, 14:58
Can I ask how much approx it costs? Also why copper not Mirena?
I remember the IUD didn't cost much at all as it's on the PBS. The insertion was free as I got it done in the public hospital system. I don't want to risk trying the Mirena as it uses progesterone. I've had negative reactions to this hormone in the past. So hence I'd rather have a non hormonal device.
jonesy47
12-01-2007, 15:13
This may be a little personal but how long is normal to bleed for after bub. With DS it was 2 weeks so I'm getting a little concerned. I thought it had almost stopped but now it's back. I played Touch Football last week so I'm hoping I haven't done any damage.
12-01-2007, 15:15
This may be a little personal but how long is normal to bleed for after bub.
That varies alot - some ppl bleed for a few weeks some ppl like me unfortunately last time bled for 3 months:eek: Hoping this time is a bit different:fingerscrossed:
GraceUnhearing
12-01-2007, 15:15
This may be a little personal but how long is normal to bleed for after bub. With DS it was 2 weeks so I'm getting a little concerned. I thought it had almost stopped but now it's back. I played Touch Football last week so I'm hoping I haven't done any damage.
im still bleeding, same as you i though it had stopped then (TMI) i passed a few clots and it started heavy again. its driving me mad!
i asked the dr and he said thats its all normal.
im so over bleeding!
GraceUnhearing
12-01-2007, 16:06
thought i'd share some pics of my little manwe've taken so many, i cant believe hes nearly 3 weeks old
a few hours old (http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/1.jpg)
arent i cute (http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/cute.jpg)
after his bath (http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/DSC00133.jpg)
my little gnome (http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/Gnome.jpg)
using my boob as a pillow after falling asleep after a feed (http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a239/my_fallen_angel/pillowboob.jpg)
i think hes cute but i think i might be a bit bias hehehe
Try this next time you feed him. Attach him onto the breast upright (ie so he is sitting, I found that hard though), or once you have attached him to the breast normally lay down on your back so that he is laying ontop of you. By doing this you can stop the milk just running down the back of his throat and actually make him work for the milk more.
I had to do this with Ozzy to help with the wind etc and also now with Isla it does make a big difference to the amount of wind they actually get and I find that they don't :barf: as much also as the wind isn't there.
I hope that actually makes sense:confused:
Thanks O's Mum. Will try these next feed.
Comming in a little late here, but it takes me anywhere between 10min to 45min but usually about 15min to bf
3 weeks for me, although I do still get a little brownish discharge.
Probably a personal question here but as everyone seems to be hitting the 6 week mark what contraception is everyone using?
I will start the mini pill at 6 weeks. I have never used any other form of contraception but after hearing how ineffective the mini pill can be if not taken at the exact same time everyday might look into other options when I get a moment.
Gotta fly bubs is awake and wanting food :D
Morning All,
I hope everyone managed to have a good sleep. We didnt bub decided it was party time from 1am til 3.45, we finally put him in his swing and he slept there for the rest of the night.
Breastfeeding is really stressing me out. Ive had lactation consultants and heaps of nurses say he latching on fine and feeding no problems but i have been trying breastfeeding him on and off over the last 6 weeks and he is so much more unsettled. He is fine if i express milk into a bottle for him but that feels like so much extra work. So im thinking of putting him on formula full-time but i feel so guilty about it. I think i should let my milk dry up so that i dont have that option anymore and can stop torturing myself about it. :gloomy:
Contraception wise we're using the abstinence method :laughing: hubby isnt impressed! We were using condoms before DS. Im so terrified of getting pregnant again any time soon
RavenDancer
13-01-2007, 07:59
contraception for me is hubby is on the other side of the world :laughing: but ill go back on the pill yasmin a month before i fly over to him
bris_mummy-to-be17
13-01-2007, 09:03
goldcoastkiwi.
i hope it gets better for you hun. whatever you decide, know that you're still a good mum.
when i was in hospital a midwife told me that if you dont get enough rest and your stressed out your milk isn't very good. so maybe this is the case? im not sure how much truth is in it but if i dont have an afternoon nap, lily has a witching hour frmo 6 til 9 at night just wanting to feed, but if i get a couple hours rest she's fine. i had trouble breastfeeding at first and i know how stressful it can be, but i only had problems for a week so i have no idea what you're going thru, just hope you work it out hun. :hugs:
well lily is still sleeping.
she woke only twice last night.
went to sleep at 930 (after being unsettled because she only had 1 sleep during the day) up at 120 fora feed, then up again at 530 and now still sound asleep. i feel so much better today. im getting used to being a mum =) at first i found it really hard, especially not having apartner to just hand her over to when im a bit stressed but its improved so much and mums helped me out a bit.
lilys great at night and im so blessed for that. she keeps her eyes closed during night feeds and doesnt play. i dont talk to her, just stroke her head and give her a big kiss =)
anyways i better run, her dad is due here soon to sign the birth rego. much love to you girls xoxo
OscarTheGrouch
13-01-2007, 09:57
Gorgeous photo's My_fallen_angel and O & I's mum. I will get motivated and put some on here also. Life's been a bit stressful lately with family issues that my computer time is getting less and less.
Well I have to say I feel very refreshed this morning as Joshua slept through the night.:smiliedance: OMG, what a difference a good nights sleep makes. Lachlan didn't sleep through the night till he was 11 weeks old. Let's see if Joshua keeps it up.
Hope all other Mummies and babies are doing well.:hugs:
Tea Lady
13-01-2007, 11:19
Hi all, just a quick hi from me again.
Thanks for sharing your photos, everyone who has - all the babies are so cute!
Has anyone else had issues with headaches after having their baby? I can't shift mine and it's been about a week now - I'm so over it. I'm thinking it's probably hormones and I'm just hoping like mad that it passes soon.
I'm starting to stress about DH going back to work next week - he went to Kmart yesterday after DD went to bed (the idea being that X would feed and go to bed and I'd have a sleep to try to help my headache). As soon as X dropped off DD woke up screaming in pain (she's constipated AGAIN) so I went and put X in the bassinette where he promptly woke up because of the screaming so then I had two kids to cope with, one of whom was beside herself with pain :( Needless to say I didn't get my sleep! Not exactly the best introduction to being home alone with them.
Do any of you ladies with toddlers have any brilliant ideas for coping with 2 on your own? Bearing in mind that DD is getting her 2yo molars as well - what timing!
Bris_mummy your little Lily was born about 3 hrs before my Xander and he hardly slept yesterday either - maybe they have a telepathic connection?! Glad to hear you're going well.
Re: contraception .......... well, given that I still have some very uncomfortable stitches I think we will be abstaining for awhile as well. After that I think we'll go back to condoms combined with my lazy version of the Billings method (ie working out when you ovulate) - I don't chart or anything but usually have a fair idea of when the "danger time" is. I'm not keen on methods that just stop implantation, not fertilisation so I think this will be the best option.
So im thinking of putting him on formula full-time but i feel so guilty about it. I think i should let my milk dry up so that i dont have that option anymore and can stop torturing myself about it. :gloomy:
Oh you poor thing gck. I had to express for DD for about 2 weeks and it was just awful - it takes soooooo long. Have you been in contact with the ABA? They have a helpline and groups that you can meet with that are meant to be really good. They also have an online forum where you can ask questions - maybe someone there could give you some advice about what to do.
Whatever you do, try not to torture yourself about it (easier said than done I know!). From what I've read on bubhub, the more help and info you get before making a decision about whether you'll keep bf or change to formula, the better you'll feel about your decision.... at least you'll know you weighed up all the options IYKWIM. Big :hugs: for you.
I'd better go. Have a nice day everyone.
I had quite a good night. Jason had a feed at 10:30/or 11 pm pm last night and then he demanded one at 3:40 am, couldn't believe when he looked at the clock. It took a while to get him back to sleep being on and off boobs but he finally went back to sleep at 5:30 until 8:40 so I was quite happy to get more sleep.
Hope you can manage the breastfeeding issues goldgoastkiwi.Maybe he just has to get used again to do the work himself and he will eventually settle down.
Jason is a full-time booby lover so I wouldn't know how is when he is bottle fed. He is just content when he is fully fed and latches himself off otherwise he is quite cranky and wants again booby.But sometimes he doesn't know want he wants:confused:
As all our Dec babies have hatched now, I just posted quitecontrary birth announcement in our Dec thread
we could arrange now to meet up with all Sydney Dec mummys:yes:
Hope you all have a good day/week-end
Hugs to all
OscarTheGrouch
13-01-2007, 11:37
Oh you poor thing gck. I had to express for DD for about 2 weeks and it was just awful - it takes soooooo long. Have you been in contact with the ABA? They have a helpline and groups that you can meet with that are meant to be really good. They also have an online forum where you can ask questions - maybe someone there could give you some advice about what to do.
Whatever you do, try not to torture yourself about it (easier said than done I know!). From what I've read on bubhub, the more help and info you get before making a decision about whether you'll keep bf or change to formula, the better you'll feel about your decision.... at least you'll know you weighed up all the options IYKWIM. Big :hugs: for you.
Well said, great advice. You're doing a wonderful job GCK!!!:hugs:
I'm starting to stress about DH going back to work next week
Do any of you ladies with toddlers have any brilliant ideas for coping with 2 on your own? Bearing in mind that DD is getting her 2yo molars as well - what timing!
TL - I understand your stress - I was petrified of DH going overseas and me having three at home on my own fulltime.....but believe me when I tell you that (a) I am not superwoman and (b) it won't be as bad as you think!
I find that you get into a routine - not necessarily at 9 we do this and at 10 we do this routine, but that you find a pattern to do things....when baby needs feeding you first of all make sure that DD is entertained (Don't be embaressed to use TV or DVD in the first few weeks - if it hold them in one place it is good), that you have the phone, the remote, a drink of water, a book to read DD and a snack for DD all within reach.
When they are both crying at the same time and both need attention I find that I prioritise who can be settled quickest, depending on the situation. Reading the older child a story to calm them ready for bed while feeding the baby often works - then baby can be put down with a full tummy while you finish settling DD - then return to finish settling DS....that sort of thing.
You will be fine and in a few weeks as you return from shopping with the two of them, having had a successful trip with no dramas, you will wonder what you were worried about!
Chrissy - many babies have an unsettled period at 3 weeks and then again at 6 weeks and 12 weeks - not sure why, but they do.
Have you tried carrying him in a sling, or lying down with him on his tummy on your chest? These are things that soothe my babies. A warm bath when he is all worked up might help to calm him too. My other trick is breastfeeding to sleep but that won't work in your case - I am sure one of the bottle feeding mums will have some other tips too.
Tea Lady
13-01-2007, 14:53
Just a thought Chrissy, if he's calm and quiet but won't actually drop off, tiny babies have this terrific reflex where if you stroke from the top of their head down between their eyebrows (ie down their forehead) it makes them close their eyes - this can make a big difference if they're fighting sleep because they often don't have the energy to open them again! I don't know if that will work with Kyan, but I wish I'd know about it earlier with DD so I just thought I'd mention it :)
What I'm trying this time with X (bear in mind he's only 10 days old so i have no idea if it'll work!) is holding him till he's basically asleep then putting him down and jiggling his hip a bit to rock him while he's in the bassinette. If he stays calm I try to taper off the jiggling and see if he'll drift off and if he gets at all upset I pick him up and start again. I don't know if that will work with Kyan but sometimes it helps to have something different to try. Don't forget you can ring the Riverton helpline if you want some other ideas too - I've found them very sympathetic and helpful :thumbsup:
Btw thanks for posting the play ideas. :)
TL - I understand your stress - I was petrified of DH going overseas and me having three at home on my own fulltime.....but believe me when I tell you that (a) I am not superwoman and (b) it won't be as bad as you think!
Thanks for the advice Draught. I'm sure it can't possibly be as bad as it was yesterday very often - at least I hope not! It's good to know other people who have survived having more than one :)
i'm a bit late joining the forum. My little one is 4 weeks old on monday:smiliedance:. We've decided to name him Braden Alexander, he was born Dec. 18 at 1056 am.
We've had all kinds of experiences from good nights :sleeping:to wind pains:mad:, and as a new mum i found it hard and stressful even when MIL is here to help out. He's been good lately, just wondering how long it will last.
Last night he decided he'd stay up with us from 6pm to midnight...it was fun at first but tiring in the end...i just gave him to DH to play with and i slept until feeding time.
13-01-2007, 16:17
I keep pushing Ozzy to bring me books, books and more books for me to read to him, that way I can be feeding Isla and still entertaining Ozzy at the same time. Good thing he likes stories.
For anyone else having problems settling their babies I have to mention the Amby Baby Hammock - we hired one yesterday and omg the difference it makes Isla loves it, I love it lol! It is meant to help with reflux and colic. We hired ours for $68 for 3 months instead of buying one. Will keep you all updated how it goes. But I did put a post on Bub Hub yesterday too asking for reviews and 2 ppl responded with great reviews on it.
Review Link Click Here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=61185)
Here is a link to a site about the hammock for those interested too:
http://www.ambybaby.com/
Matt goes back to work on Monday too and it should be interesting!! I'm going to have to be organised and have everything ready for when Ava needs to feed.
OM the hammock looks fantastic!! I could nearly climb in and have a nap my self :D
13-01-2007, 16:52
OM the hammock looks fantastic!! I could nearly climb in and have a nap my self :D
lmao you know I was thinking the same thing:thumbsup:
angel_one
13-01-2007, 18:36
ohhhhhhhhh sooooooo cute!!!!!!!!
How are you going to go about taking their hand and foot prints? I've been meaning too but can't work out how :laughing:
i use a versa color stamp pad, its small and i can stamp it all over little ones hands and feet as they let me have 1 figer at a time!
i then use a wet one to get most of the ink off.
as of right now - im too friggin scared to let dh near me (much to his displeasure!) but i am booked in at the base to have the mirena put in this friday!
That varies alot - some ppl bleed for a few weeks some ppl like me unfortunately last time bled for 3 months:eek: Hoping this time is a bit different:fingerscrossed:
sucks doesnt it!, 3 months with dd, 4 weeks ds1, and this kid has been 4weeks solid then on and off (hes now 10 weeks)
I stuck this in the sleeping/settling fourm as well but am getting no response and slightly desperate...
Hopefully someone here will shed some wisdom.
Kyan's just under 3 weeks old (on Monday) and getting him to sleep is an abolute nightmare.
Once he is asleep it's fine but getting him to sleep is the issue. He'll have his bottle and nappy change, plus a good burp and then it's time to sleep and he just won't go down.
He'll be shutting his eyes but as soon as he shuts them he'll start to scream. I'll try to give him his dummy and it'll be in his mouth but he won't suck on it because he's screaming so much.
He'll kick and thrash about and this can go on for an hour. He gets so worked up - but I know he's tired. He's eyes are blue and purple and being his mum I just know when he's tired.
He use to be such a good sleep - would fall asleep in an instant, but something changed.
In the end I'll rock him in my arms for a while and then stick him in his cot where he will wake up and scream a few times and then eventually tire himself out...
What the heck do I do? What am I doing wrong? He hasn't had a proper sleep in quite a few days.
have you tried swaddling him??, it has been the only way to settle hayden, especially at nite!
to those of you with gooey eyed bubbas, breast milk is awesome!, hayden had one and 2 days after i started b/m on it he was fine!
other than that, alll is well, i do think compared to most of your kids this one is still a runt!, hes 10 weeks old (3weeks adjusted) dont know his current weight (thursday i will- 2 mth shots!!) but to me he hasnt grown much since his last weigh in before xmas. he did smile to day!!, i think he actually laughed at me!!!:mad: lol
almost 1 week on weight watchers, and all i want to eat right now is not the veggies on the stove, but a really big chocolately chocolate cake with really thick icing!!! (had a bit of a friends b'day cake today!
ok this kid has finished his feed (looks drunk) and i now have to eradicate the big kids (bed time) and have dinner (choc cake, opps i mean steak and veg!)
Mrs Dolphin
13-01-2007, 22:32
Hi Everyone!
Been awhile since I posted as the days seem to just slip past!
Hope everyone is doing ok and getting some sleep!
GoldCoastKiwi - Please whatever you do don't feel guilty or bad about converting to formula/bottle full time. I too went through breastfeeding issues for the first 3weeks of my daughter's life and was expressing breast milk and giving her formula and in the end it was just sooo exhausting and time consuming that we went to formula full time. We have been for about a week now and my daughter is fine so far! She is a very happy, healthy and alert little girl! I felt so guilty at first too but just think that you have given your baby those important first few weeks of breastmilk as I did and that counts so much. Please PM me if you want to chat more.
Chrissy - Leah was very unsettled when she was 3weeks old but then she was fine and started sleeping longer at night so I am sure it will pass!
Jaundy - Welcome to the thread! Look forward to chatting with you soon!
TeaLady - I was nervous when my DH went back to work too but I found that I soon slipped into a routine - you will be fine! :thumbsup:
Oscar's Mum - DH and I were just discussing contraception this afternoon! I am still thinking about whether to go back on the pill or we just use condoms...btw - Isla is so gorgeous!!
To everyone else I can't remember - hope you are all going well too!
Leah is being such a good baby (although being my first I don't have anything to compare her to!) she does have her unsettled times but generally she is sleeping quite well in 4 or 5 hour blocks at night and she is happy enough when we go out in the car and loves her pram. We went out for dinner at a restaraunt the other night and once she had fed she just fell asleep in her pram despite it being very noisy!
One question though for those who bottle feed - is your baby very messy when they drink? ie - does much 'milk' come out of their mouths and onto the bib (or down their front) - Leah is always spilling it out of her mouth!
Anyway sorry for the long post... hope you are all enjoying the weekend! :)
SammieSnail
14-01-2007, 01:18
Just quickly...
To be honest I had a romantic moment the other day and got all preped for beding when DH goes, so did you buy some condoms? :no: :laughing:
Uhhhh the need for contaception had not even crossed my mind :o
I think we'll just stick to condoms for now...I've never used anything else (so am not very informed on the diff methods) and the thought of it kinda scares me.
thought i'd share some pics of my little manwe've taken so many, i cant believe hes nearly 3 weeks old
i think hes cute but i think i might be a bit bias hehehe
Nope, you're right, he IS definitely cute!
Morning All,
I hope everyone managed to have a good sleep. We didnt bub decided it was party time from 1am til 3.45, we finally put him in his swing and he slept there for the rest of the night.
Breastfeeding is really stressing me out. Ive had lactation consultants and heaps of nurses say he latching on fine and feeding no problems but i have been trying breastfeeding him on and off over the last 6 weeks and he is so much more unsettled. He is fine if i express milk into a bottle for him but that feels like so much extra work. So im thinking of putting him on formula full-time but i feel so guilty about it. I think i should let my milk dry up so that i dont have that option anymore and can stop torturing myself about it.
Wow :hugs:
That post could have been written by me last week!
At the risk of repeating what everyone has said, please don't feel guilty. I know easier said than done. I still feel guilty every time I give him a bottle over a breastfeed. But remember that you have given him a great start, and if you need to feed him formula for your own sanity that is nothing to feel ashamed of!
i'm a bit late joining the forum. My little one is 4 weeks old on monday. We've decided to name him Braden Alexander, he was born Dec. 18 at 1056 am.
We've had all kinds of experiences from good nights to wind pains, and as a new mum i found it hard and stressful even when MIL is here to help out. He's been good lately, just wondering how long it will last.
Last night he decided he'd stay up with us from 6pm to midnight...it was fun at first but tiring in the end...i just gave him to DH to play with and i slept until feeding time.
Welcome Jaundy! Congratulations on the birth of Braden.
One question though for those who bottle feed - is your baby very messy when they drink? ie - does much 'milk' come out of their mouths and onto the bib (or down their front) - Leah is always spilling it out of her mouth!
Yep Kevin was dribbling out the sides at first but I've found that if I get him 'attached' properly it doesn't happen. Much the same as when I breastfeed I try to pop the bottle in his mouth right when it is open as wide as possible...
lol does that make sense?
OscarTheGrouch
14-01-2007, 06:56
:yes:
Welcome to the thread Jaundy and Braden.:wave:
Hi Jaundy
I'm new to the forum too and saw your post and realised we're both first time mums, we both had our babies on the same day and we're both the same age! Only thing different is I had a little girl - Chloe Hope.
I totally understand your stress, it's a bit of a shock becoming a mother isn't it?! Anyway let me know how you're going seeing as our babies are the same age we might be going through the same things at the same time.
Hi goldcoastkiwi
Just wanted to let you know that I gave up breastfeeding yesterday (my little girl is 4 weeks tomorrow). I was feeding fine up until a few days ago when it all went pear shaped. I think my milk was coming too fast but no matter what I did - laying down etc she just screamed her head off! I feel sooooo much better now giving her formula even though they say breast is best I think I gave her a good start with the 4 weeks.
It feels like a massive weight has been lifted off my shoulders and now hubby can help out with feeds (wasn't successful at expressing). Plus she looks so satisfied when I give her the bottle, her eyes roll back in her head! The other good thing is you know how much your baby is drinking.
Breastfeeding was stressing me out too and I didn't really enjoy it. Even when it was going fine I just felt the pressure of being the only one to supply her food although some mums love that fact, I didn't. I kinda feel like I've got some of my life back.
I do however, enjoy giving her the bottle.
Don't feel guilty if you stop breastfeeding. You've given your bub a great start! I totally agree that expressing would be a lot of work. If you do decide to start with formula, just enjoy the fact of knowing your little one is satisfied.
jonesy47
14-01-2007, 14:08
I was considering putting Madi on the bottle. She had a few hours with my sister last night so Dh and I could go to a BBQ kid free (I ate a hot meal with no interruptions) and had 2 half bottles while we were gone. She slept like a champ last night. Sadly I was up with HUGH boobs so I couldn't take advantage of the extra few hours but no complaining. They say 3 nights make a routine so 2 to go. I was so excited about going out last night I got dressed (in about 10 different outfits) felt great, get to the BBQ and realise i forgot breastpads so spent the night with 2 massive wet patches and smelling like a dairy cow. Never mind DH found it quite amusing.
Hope your all having a lovely weekend.
OscarTheGrouch
14-01-2007, 14:39
Welcome Bec1980 and Chloe.:wave: