View Full Version : What are your animals names?

pregasaurus
26-10-2005, 13:50
What pets have you got and what are their names?
We have 3 cats named Millie, Malachy and Mink. Millie is an 11 year old persian grey tabby who we nicknamed 'lardass' because, well, she is!
Malachy is a ginger tom (spayed). I was reading Angela's Ashes when we got him, this little ginger kitten with a tuft of orange hair on top of his head that stood straight up on end and I thought I should give him a good Irish name with hair like that!
Mink is a Norweigan Tree Climbing cat (seriously, that's her breed) who we've inherited from my sister. She's my favourite because she's such a ditz!! She rolls off the couch in her sleep, trips over the rug and when she tries to jump on the table misses half the time! When you pat her she goes into such raptures of ecstacy you could thump her on the head and she wouldn't notice.
All our cats names have started with 'M'. We've had Mr. Mojo, Misty and Misha as well. They have either died of old age, disappeared or been run over :( . But every one of them has ruled the house!

JenNT
26-10-2005, 14:32
2 cats - Minty, named because i had just lost my cat and my hubby comes home with above said new kitten...times like these, you need Minties lol twit he is....

Cosmo- Minty's daughter, about 14 weeks younger than her mum GEESH

Dogs- Jedda, German Shep 15 years old
Murphy, Rotti 3 years old and HUGE

Husband- Ken, human 34 years old :D .........enough said!

Chickadee
26-10-2005, 14:40
We have "Talisker's Double Fogelhund", named after a type of single malt scotch and generally shortened to Tali. She's a german shorthaired pointer, around 6 years old and too bloody smart. We brought her with us from Canada.

Our other dog is a Deerhound cross, we think, around 4 years old and called Cindi. She is actually Tali's dog, we got her to keep Tali company and keep her from pestering us for attention so much. It's worked a treat.

26-10-2005, 14:42
Our old cat (RIP) was named "Sully" or "Sullivan" when he was naughty!!!! We just LOVE Monsters Inc!!

Pixie
26-10-2005, 14:43
Me I have 3 birds Kiko, Mango, and Elijah, and a ferret Fi Fi

I didn't name Mango just to clear that up lol

veve
26-10-2005, 14:44
Hey :)

we have one dog a 7 year old long haired Jack Russell... (sick at the moment if you see the other thread) ... but doing better (fingers crossed)

His name when we got him was Arnold - which we immediately hated.. (the kids in the house were schwarzeneggar fans.... ) - so we racked our brains for other Arnolds... so we could change his 'surname' and call him by that -

after watching him for awhile... we realise he was an idiot (Jack Russell.... too much energy!!! - instinct takes over from training!!) .... and immediately thought of ARNOLD J RIMMER - from Red Dwarf!!! so he was christened Rimmer from that moment onwards... :)

love red dwarf!!!!!

xxxxx

LachlansMun
26-10-2005, 14:57
We have a German Shepeard called Marque who behaves more like a baby than our son does! When he sees us talking/playing with Lachlan he lies on the floor and crys........ :(

Rell
26-10-2005, 15:36
We have a German shepard called Narla, a cat called Kirra and a Rainbow loraket called Marg

carls
26-10-2005, 15:45
We have Mr Bigglesworth or Biggles for short!

26-10-2005, 15:48
We have a Jack Russell called Squirt (my husbands dog, and what a macho name - NOT!!), a Mini Foxie called Turbo (it suits him down to the ground, he never stops, I think he's hyperactive!), a cat called Coco Pop, until last night had a cat called Gizmo (got run over & killed last night :( ), and i have 5 cockatiels - Tiny, Grey, Noisy, Baby, and Girl...original huh?, and 2 peachfaces called Peachy and Peaches.

We've had a Blue Cattle Dog called Oakey, a Mini Foxie called Bandit, a Red Cattle Dog called Blue, & another 3 cats called Tigger, Golliwog, and Cleo (have no luck with cats, they either get poisoned, disappear, or get run over!

I hate them getting killed or disappearing but i just love having animals...I'll probably get another kitten yet!

26-10-2005, 16:17
We've got a couple :)

DOGS:
13yr old Border Collie named Sprocket - a gorgeous but dumb dog who's got Epilepsy

8yr old Kelpie x named Angie - the boss

9 yr old Shih Tzu named Fleur - she came with the name & i thought it'd be too mean to change

CAT:
4yr old ginger cat named Kupo

RABBIT:
2yr old grey dwarf named Stampy

RB

ThomasMum
26-10-2005, 17:16
We had 2 dogs (Smokey and Gumnut), a horse Ghost and a cow; Moo

I must add that we also had 2 chooks, Lydia and Isabella and a rooster Sir Nosey Parker

One day I'm going to write a book ala Gerald Durrell's My Family and Other Animals :)

26-10-2005, 18:17
We have 1 dog and her name is Chelsea and 2 guinea pigs and their names are fuzzles and squeaky!

Funkychicken
26-10-2005, 18:24
We have Ebony, black lab/newfoundland cross who is three. Malibu, the white cat named after a malibu bottle-I worked in a pub where we found him at the back door and inspiration came from the bottle across the bar. 2 Guinea pigs, named Fairy and Milly, Pony named Goldie, chooks (6) Rocky, Fluffy, Black knight,
Orange Ray, Cheeky and V8. And 7 eggs due to hatch shortly!
Keeps me busy feeding them all!
------------------------------------
Sal-7 wks to go!

26-10-2005, 18:45
We have two Siamese X twin brother cats, it's their 1st birthday next month. Their names are Boofhead (boofy for short) and Basil.

Sharlee
26-10-2005, 19:02
We have 2 cat's. One called Mindy and the other called Titty Tat :o DS calls our cats nungnah's. We also have goldfish and catfish. DS calls the catfish Ziggy (only because he can't say whicky's..as in whiskers).

brooke
26-10-2005, 19:47
we have a VERY SPOILT maltese x ****zu called "Mr Leo"
who thinks he is human... even burps like a human.. nice!
tries to talk like a human and even sometimes walks on his back leg! He is like my little baby!

And a very small black cat (she never grew and dont know why) called "Miss Molly" who had kittens on my Wedding Dress.. BEFORE MY WEDDING DAY! :mad:
and is some how still alive!
but i still love her.. just a little bit less than before...

BubbleBelly
27-10-2005, 12:56
I have a chiuahwa cross minni foxy called Maddison (Mad Dog Maddy).
But she lives with my family because i can't have pets where i live :(

27-10-2005, 13:36
We have 2 dogs.

Dozer...named so because he plows into things, and sleeps alot!
Drake, that was his name when we adopted him, it suits him though...He's very Rakish...LOL

kimmy
27-10-2005, 13:55
Me I have 3 birds Kiko, Mango, and Elijah, and a ferret Fi Fi

I didn't name Mango just to clear that up lol
You're so lucky, Ive always wanted a ferret but we cant have them in QLD. hopefully one day they will change the law about that.
I have a lorikeet call cherry & i didn't name it either.lol

mollyandkurtsmum
27-10-2005, 17:17
we have

a 10 yr old balck cat called Schmelcombe Douglas he was smelly Melcome as a kitten and then it kinda all merged into his current name. He also getts shmell or the black douglas

a 4 yr old female torty cat called Back ho my son was going through a truck faze at the time and we said he could name her

A four year old staffy Felicity or flick for short

A 5 month old staffy Tucker

A 7 year old ****zu calledd arthur it was supposed to be R FOR as in R for rug but comes out as arthur

a 3 year old alexndrine female called Clayton (we thought she was a boy)

A 2 year old Smoker parrot called Hatch cause she did

a rabbit called rabbiticliouse pronounced rabbit tickley *** cause he does

we also had a bull when I was a kid called Boozy the iron side boy Im not really sure why

27-10-2005, 18:08
I know of a person thats cat's name is Ceefer (as in C for cat), and one who's dogs name is Deefer ( D for dog and D for D***head)!! Original!!

SweetSerenity
27-10-2005, 18:32
We have a miniture daucshound (i think thats how it spelt) or a sausahe dog if you prefer to call it that, and her name is RUBY. She's so cute!
Luv Nat xxx

Sarie
28-10-2005, 15:39
We have a female Pomeranian called Misty, her son (we lost to parvo 2 weeks ago) we called Squeaky cause he was crossed with a toy and was tiny. We also have 3 cats Tessa (a nine year old black tabby), Smokey (18 mnth old 3/4 persian) and Bianka (2.5 year old exotic persian - and mum to 4 new bubs herself), we also have two turtles Trevor and Thomas (go figure :o )

veve
28-10-2005, 15:42
I know of a person thats cat's name is Ceefer (as in C for cat), and one who's dogs name is Deefer ( D for dog and D for D***head)!! Original!!

Hey :) I think that is cute!!!!

I have a friend who named his dog 'boofhead' - it is actually quite a smart, loyal dog... and I LOVE the name :D

maybe1more
28-10-2005, 17:03
I have a cat who is 11 months named Coco! We got her so our son would learn to be gentle as we were planning on extending our family.

Rockett
28-10-2005, 17:07
We have a persian cat called Oscar and two cockatiels called Poppy and Billy :)

caz
29-10-2005, 11:59
We have 4 cats who are all moggies,

15 year old Zac who is black and white and always ready to have a conversation with anyone who listens

8 year old Sam who totally black and the biggest sook around, he could survive on love and cuddles alone

3 year old Ralph who is also black and suffers from small cat syndrome (always trying to prove himself around the neighbourhood)

then there is

2 year old Tiger who is ginger and white and refuses to grow up

Mother Duck
29-10-2005, 21:37
Great topic - sorry to yabber but SSOO up my alley (the joy of living in the country!)

Some little notes on past posts ...
Oliver's Mum - A Devon Rex, great idea! - will keep you very warm in winter - did you know of their exothermic ability?!
Shannon Re Gizmo, I'm SO sorry, it makes me sad just reading it!
Jayden's mum - I LOVE GUINEA PIGS!!!!!
Kimmy Re Ferret - so feel the same way about rabbits!

As for our little troop...

We have the fussiest stray cat in the universe whom I have called Oliver (sort of pronounce it Oliveea - kind of fake French nameish) - not a stray anymore!!! He has been a blessing for Mikki to learn animal interaction with SSOOO patient

Nanny-Noo is a Mareema (huge Italian herd dog) who also found her way to our family - Great guard dog, feel so safe but gentle as a lamb with bub - such a nice nature. Came to us named Nute - have never changed a pets name b4 but!

Mr Toby-Wong is my border collie, 4yo, soft as soft, he was my boy before DH and feels a bit put out now, although he loves the bubba (and I still sneak him under blankie on couch for a cuddle every now and then)

Working dogs - Cricket, Hazel, and Skeeta - all hillarious characters and my goodness they work hard. Cricket takes epileptic fits but such a great dog.

Had 2 other gorgeous cats, brother and sister, Molly and Sparticus but lost custody to mother-in-law, sneaky sneaky!!

Won't name all the horses, too many, except for Cameo which is Mickayla's Welsh Pony and Bravo - I got him in Melbourne (my home town) when I was 13 (now 34!) - still happy - retired on our property (didn't name him either)

Cockateils - Naffy (hand tamed), Charlotte, Chikka, and Nick (btw them they have 3 different phone ring tones)

Guinea Pigs - used to have several (Sphene, Gossamer, Corrundum, and Schmutzie) - had Corrundum for years and years was SSSOOO tame, great personalities, gorgeous animals!

~MUMMY~
29-10-2005, 22:03
we have heaps of ducks but only one has a name he is Romeo.
2 chickens named speckles and freckles
a cockatiel named dusty who is as sweet as pie.
2 budgies named sunny and tweet-tweet
2 snails
1 fish
i had 3 fish only a few days ago but 2 just died.

and i have a dog named beau. who is living out his old age at my mums house.

ohhh i now get to add another budgie which we bought yesterday named flutter !

Irish Dad
31-10-2005, 08:11
I had a Staffy/Lab cross called Cid but he finally went insane having to put up with my 2 sons thinking he was a donkey and finally went to doggy heaven last year. Now we have a Rotweiller b**h called Charlie whos brilliant with the kids, just wish he felt the same about the postman, milkman, neighbours etc... but hey who cares its the kids this sites all about so thats what really matters :rolleyes:

country life
31-10-2005, 08:27
Gee where do I start?

We have 3 dogs Molly the rotty, Roxy the blue cattle dog, Rockie the pug.

2 cats, Gizmo the moggie, Oscar the seal point himalayan.

4 horses, Tex the stallion, Jack the appy, Candy the broodie and a little foal born 4 weeks ago Choco Latte.

1 budgie Dekster.

5 chickens (plus mother hen is trying to hatch some more)

Don't know what we'll do if we ever moved back to surburbia.

j&k'smum
01-11-2005, 14:05
We have a dog, Chloe, Australian Silkie Terrior who we have had for about 8yrs and Molly the cat, who is about 10yrs and our newest addition, Obe the canary.
I would like to get a duck and some chooks in the near future.

Mother Duck
01-11-2005, 15:52
Yeah - I want to get some chooks too - the hard part is building them a house!!

Tinkabell
13-11-2005, 21:46
OK - Here I go :

Holly - the rottwieler

Scooter, Soxy and Patches - Our cats

Maisy and Minnie - Our rats

Molly - Our budgie

Fred and Barney - Our googly-eyed fish

No more for this house :eek:

Imogensmum
13-11-2005, 21:49
We have-

Gizmo the grey cat, Tinka the tabby cat

Jasper the poodle, Rumbo the blue heelerXjack russell

Spike or shutup the bird and pishes the fishes...

And margy the maggie that comes to eat the cat food each day!!

JnA
13-11-2005, 22:12
Our Pets

Nelson the dog (Simpsons ref)
Seven the female cat (Seinfeld ref)
OP the male cat (His old partner who died was named LM so we had LM n OP geddit? :D :p :D )
and lastly we have Craig the DP... oh ok, he's not a fur pet, but we love him anyway ;)

Jaileth
14-11-2005, 10:11
Some of your pets names are so cool! :)

We have Shaelia (see avatar thingy) who's a 5 year old Tonkinese Cross

We have had:
Prickles - a male sucker fish
Scully - my dh's goldfish who was 4 when she went to fishy heaven
And a whole heap more fish who never seem to get named (neon tetras look too much alike!)

DH's had:
Mulder - another gold fish (he's an xfiles fan)
Silvana - a russian blue who was run over just before we got together
Blackbeard - a cat
a heard of rabbits and several other cats

I've had:
Conner - a rotti who succumed to parvo only a few weeks after I got him
Fluffy - a long haired tortoise shell cat
Kitty - a stray tabby
Coco - bad tempered Guinea pig
Lucy - as in Luciele Ball - the cutest Guinea pig - she was such a sweetie!
Bud - the budgie (Mum named him)
Goldie, Whitey and Tweety - canaries
Vossey and Mrs Mouse - mice (who had too many babies to remember)

Can't wait to add onto the furry family! :)

Mumoffour
14-11-2005, 14:46
I have Gemma, a border collie x- she really is a gem. :) Buster- a cattle x pound puppy- he is also aptly named.
my last dog was called Deefa (dog), i should have named him d for disaster. He ended up costing about 3000 dollars in vet bills which sucker mum kept paying- his vet retired at 40- i wonder why :rolleyes:
before i met DH i had 2 chinese geese called tien and pao. and a little bush bantam called the chookie mama- she was fiesty when she was clucky!
also had a cat called Sweetie miss.
Lastly had a duckling called Shutup because it never did who was turned into a duckling pancake accidentally by my dog Mixie. :eek:

tickle
14-11-2005, 14:48
I have already posted my animals names way back but thought I'd better add the pig as she is now my avatar.
Her name is Beverly and she recently ran away from home. If anyone has seen her please PM me!!

degslou
14-11-2005, 22:39
hello 2 all,

im new 2 the site, i am slowly reading bits & peices of different topics, so here goes, our pets names- 2 dogs, jess & ninja, 1 bird called nipper, 2 chickens that my son recently bought home from kindy, he named them cooldude & sharkboy, & 2 fish tanks full of fish, 2 many 2 name

Lucybelle
15-11-2005, 06:52
O.K

Bubbalouie and Narnas - Ringneck parrots

Ishka the cat

Ruby Tuesday the ****zuX
and a staffy called Tyson - what else!

Minks
15-11-2005, 09:08
OK here's our crew...

Tess - 13yo female border collie x going deafer by the day so you need to scream like a maniac to get her attention :)

Minka - 6yo black longhair cat - my princess and queen of the house

Horses: Jesse, Lucy, Molly Brown, Misty and Priceless (bit of a comedian that last one....

Kath

Crazy Monkey
15-11-2005, 09:14
We have a 5 year old golden labrador called Maci...

redbaby
15-11-2005, 10:15
Our other children are 2 very spoilt maltese x****su brothers called Murray and Hugo. My big, crazy standardbred horse is called Bear.

ciael
15-11-2005, 16:46
I have (at mum's house) 2 German Shepherd cross Kelpie's named Sheba (Queen of Sheba) and Jesse (and her court Jester)

I also have a carpet Python named Bob, and 3 Bearded dragons Liz, Wiz and Biz (The child named them!!!!)

~MUMMY~
16-11-2005, 15:30
hey theres a really great forum where you all can post pictures and ramble on about our beloved pets ! im not sure if im allowed to promote another forum on here but i dont see it being any compatition seeing it isnt even the same type.... it's all about animals .specially birds. for those who love to post about their beloved animals as much as they do about gorgeous babies.

ANIMAL/BIRD FORUM -CLICK HERE- (http://www.yabbers.com/phpbb/index.php?mforum=birdcrazy)

it's fun, it's friendly and its all about our pets !

* i appologise if this isnt allowed and understand if it is to be deleted*

hoping4another
16-11-2005, 15:46

I have a staffy callled Lilly pictured above.
A horse called Dilkara.

Wendy

Taddy
16-11-2005, 15:51
Sheba (dog)- Rottwelier X Labrador X Ridgeback, 2 yrs in April

Gracie (dog) - Irish Wolfhound X Mastiff Rottweiler, 1 yr in December (Xmas eve)

Bear (dog)- Great Dane X Mastiff, 13 wks this Sunday

Thomas (cat)- Tabby stray cat, 1.5yrs

Peanut (cat)- Tortoise Shell, 2 yrs

13 hens and 9 roosters

Mell
17-11-2005, 02:38
Puppy (which i pick up this afternoon :D ) Billy

2 mice - Missy and Spoty

Fish - Bob

dormouse
17-11-2005, 02:49
I have two cats, Meeka is big black & fluffy and Toby is a big ginger & white tom.
I also have a staffyXlabrador named Mason.
Oh & lots of big ugly oscars (fish) all named Oscar! DH's pride & joy!

AlbertaJes
17-11-2005, 02:56
Bailey - English Springer Spaniel, 6 years

Jack - Mustang cross horse, 3 years

Melissa1983
17-11-2005, 11:37
i have an 8 week old Tabby kitten called Belle.
We did have a dog but had to give her away when we moved, she was a LabxRotti and her name was Zoe

bpato
17-11-2005, 12:17
We have two mini foxies Maverick and Zac. They are both 8 and Mav is 8 weeks older than Zac.

Zac is a purebred and Mav is crossed with something but we don't know what.

~MUMMY~
22-11-2005, 21:56
well i have to say flutter died . so thats one less pet off my list,

except we got a new bird today a ring neck named rocko.

ohh and we bought an aviary today YAY ! so plenty more birds to come.

i'd love to see some pictures of everyones pets.... some sound REALLY adorable !

Mother Duck
22-11-2005, 22:00
Sorry about Flutter :(

Good luck with the new birdie num num in the shiny new aviary!

What is your email - I will send you pics of my clan - Love them to pieces!

Pet news for us - Expecting a foal ANY day now (not me - Jazzy Lee the horse that is) - can't wait!

Mamaduke
22-11-2005, 22:52
Up until a few months ago, we had a beautiful German Shepherd called "Santino", San for short (from the really overprotective brother on Godfather). Now we have a Jack Russell named "Vern" by our 4 y/o for the character in Stand by me, we have a revolting little black rabbit called "Buddy", and a useless fish called "Dory" -all named by Jesse...all fed by ME!!!!! :mad:
Carly

~MUMMY~
23-11-2005, 07:18
you can just host your pictures on a place like photobucket.com and then paste them here.... i will show you all my birds... including the ducks because their ducklings are so cute !

this is flutter the one that died.
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y126/sunnysunnysunny/flutter3.jpg

this is sunny and tweet-tweet
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y126/sunnysunnysunny/ababa.jpg

this is rocko our new baby ringneck
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y126/sunnysunnysunny/rock.jpg

these are SOME of our ducks...
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y126/sunnysunnysunny/duckluck15.jpg
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y126/sunnysunnysunny/sexydrakeROMEO.jpg
you can also see our 2 chickens behind that drake duck.

and this is dusty our cockatiel.
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y126/sunnysunnysunny/dustyflowers.jpg

ohhh we have 2 fish too but they are boring we have all seen goldfish before.

sharonli
23-11-2005, 14:55
We have 1 dog and 2 cats.

Lily is a 4yo female staffy-X

Max & Morris are 5yo male burmese cats

mumhoney
23-11-2005, 21:48
hi,

WOW... everyone has great sounding pets.
Here are as many of mine as I can remember.
Charlie - 5 y/o rottie x , my beautiful girl
Gretle - 4 y/o border collie X , my VERY naughty, behavioural problem dog
George - 2 y/o ginger tabby boy, he runs the house
Flossy - 3 y/o sheep, with an identity crisis ( thinks she's a dog!)
The Fischers Lovebird Clan - Akuma, Akazi, Serengetti, Masai, Victoria + most of their offspring
Bourkes Parrots x 2
Scarlett Parrots x 2
Puddles (deceased) - our much loved duck
Buckley (deceased) - our favourite magpie
Bo Peep (deceased) - our short lived but very loved lamb
J.C (Jackie Chan) - our Bennetts Wallaby, living the high life in the wild
Betty - the Bettong, also kicking up her heels in the wide world
Oscar & Tawny - the Tawny Frogmouths, stalking the skys
Sticks II - the Musk Lorikeet, probably a daddy by now
Mum & Sugar - the Sugar Gliders, Mum died of old age - she had brain damage and could not be released, she was the most beautiful animal! Sugar released herself..
Snapper & Monty - the Blue Tongue Lizards
Skipper & Muddy (deceased) - the Mudskippers, they jumped out of their tank and dried up behind the television :o

There are more I am sure, but too many to remember... I'm a bit of a sucker for animals, hence being a vet nurse! :D

Louise (25)
DH (29)
DD (4/12/04) Im nearly 1 !!!

Cheyenne's*Mummy
24-11-2005, 15:02
We have 3 Seal Point Siamese, Sabyon Au Grand (Saby) 5 Yr Old Male, Rehgan 4 Yr Old Male and Jolie, our 4 Yr Old Female. My younger brother is a chef which is how Saby got his name, he's named after a French Dessert. My mum named Rehgan, she imported his father from Washington and so thought he needed an American kinda name. And little Jolie I named after Angelina Jolie.
We also have Pudd(Pood) who was at the house when we moved in. Someone was still feeding her but just didnt want to take her with them i guess. She's a beautiful cat. We tried not feeding her for a while to see if she would leave (Bf's idea) but she didn't so she stayed, inherited the name, which she now comes to and is the healthiest i have seen her since we moved in. She was a little wary of Jase when we moved in but loves us to death now and she will definately not be left behind by us should we move.
Luckily, i dont have the cats my mum has otherwise this post would turn into a short story of names. At the moment she has 17 cats and 4 kittens, and we can tell each and everyone apart, even the kittens. Don't know how really... :p

H&B'sMum
24-11-2005, 19:27
We have a cat named Borda. He is a black and white tabby. Dh wanted a border collie and we couldnt have a dog at that time so this was a comprise. Also he wants to names all out pets after the 80's Aust Cricket team so have started with the captain!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mother Duck
24-11-2005, 19:55
Hello all you pet loving folks!

We have a new addition - a little fillie born around four this morning - she is as pretty as a picture - so we have called her "Avatar"

30-11-2005, 23:50
Well i thought i would add mine into the mix also !
We have 2 cats mother & son . Mum is Belle & is a Scottish long hair - she should have been a Scottish fold but she actually got the gene that makes their ears stand up ! She got out & got preggers 2yrs ago now to our neighbours cat who was a white persian & had Mr Mcfurs who is either called Furry or Furball. She is the biggest drama queen i know of she thinks she owns the place ! She hates being picked up or patted unless she asks for it, if you pat her when she isnt wanting it she will clean herself as if your dirty & you have ruined her fur ! Furry is just a huge basket case being scared of the vacuum & storms he also goes into self mutilate mode if he is stressed ( he pulls his fur out ) but is very affectionate & loves bubs always trying to get pats !
I had my purebred labrador Zoe who was 5yrs up until 2 mths ago as we thought it best she go to a new home. She has behavioural problems & us moving into the townhouse last year wasnt fair on her & she became unhappy with living here & not happy about bubs. Poor thing was happy just having me as her owner then along came DP & then was bubs ! Hardest decision ever but she is in a new home with a friend & someone who takes her to work everyday.
I also lost my cat Bam-bam to old age last year while i was preggers i got her while in high school so she lived a very spoilt 12yrs but i miss her daily.
We have pondered getting another dog in the future a small one that will cope with a townhouse but im more worried about having a second child first ! hehehe

~MUMMY~
01-12-2005, 05:58
well im doing mine again alot of them have changed and a few are going soon.... so now we have.....

2 gold fish
tweet-tweet-grey/green budgie
sunny- green budgie
fushy- violet budgie
big-grey grey spangle budgie
Rocko-the vicious blue indian ring neck
dusty- cockatiel
speckles and freckles- our bantam chickens
and we are selling all our breeding ducks... partner has had enough and his work is longer hours now and doesnt have the time to clean the pens everyday. :( dont get to see any more babies now each spring. ohh well....

katesmom
01-12-2005, 05:59
We just have a 1/2 tailless Vietnamese Manx named Wally. At the time, I thought those Where's Waldo? books were kind of cute, but I really don't care for the name Waldo, so he's a Wally. And it's the perfect name for him since he's such a big, pouty, whiney baby. :p

Samaras Mummy
10-12-2005, 21:25

I have a white staffy. Her name is Kitana she is quite a crazy dog she loves shaddows and is alway chasing them around the yard she also likes torch lights she pounces on the light :confused:

My DP has 3 fish not sure what kind. There names are Stud, Suckle and Smeak

11-12-2005, 06:01
I have a German Shepherd x Kelpie called Jam
A guinea pig called Lemmiwinks.
And in my avatar show's my sister's dog, who'll be living with me until April 2007 (while my sister is in Ireland) his name's Zeke :)
The other animal in my house is Chris, he's a husband of sorts :p

11-12-2005, 11:31
I have two new additions now, a little ginger persian kitten named Binky, and a baby cockatiel who is only 7 days old, and i'm hand raising him as his parents abandoned him....meanies! He doesn't have a name though as i will give him away when he's old enough...if i can... :o

Mother Duck
11-12-2005, 22:56
Hello all - really sad to say that we have lost one of our beautiful mares, Prelude - I think it was a snake bite.

She had a fillie at her feet, less than a week old, poor little darling had been at least 24hrs without a feed. Her eyes were all sunken with dehydration.

I think the little one might come good - we have been bottle feeding her Mickayla's formula until the vet opens tomorrow and she looks better already - three hourly feeds through the night again, its been awhile! Lucky it is a beautiful night!

LilShenanigans
12-12-2005, 01:29
after watching him for awhile... we realise he was an idiot (Jack Russell.... too much energy!!! - instinct takes over from training!!) .... and immediately thought of ARNOLD J RIMMER - from Red Dwarf!!! so he was christened Rimmer from that moment onwards... - Veve

I love that, just had to post it again for a chuckle.

I've got 3 cats (one of which is mine and actually attached herself to me!).
Cadbury is (heck!) about 8 yrs old... typical cat, lost 8 lives as a kitten... the vet knew us VERY well - still a trouble maker lol
Oh and it's Cadbury's White Chocolate, snowball seemed to.. 'used' :p
The Girl - about 4 yrs, she was a twin stray we captured and was going to take to the RSPCA, but we fell in love. She lost her twin 'The Boy' due to poisoning, probably from someones garden.
Obviously we had a writers block when we named them!
And then my Gracie, her first birthday is on the 13th dec!
I was going to call her phoenix because I had a dream that I called her that to come back, but when she was introduced to Cadbury ( a small joke in the family that he's a poof -long story!), my mum said she was a fag hag.. so mum started calling her Grace - from Will and Grace.

Addition: Sorry if my cats sexuality offends anyone, it's a personal choice really and we'll stick by him :D

12-12-2005, 06:52
Addition: Sorry if my cats sexuality offends anyone, it's a personal choice really and we'll stick by him :D

I know what you mean about that! Our two dogs try and go at each other sometimes....weirdos. And i oncce had a horse that would try and go any other male horse around, never mind the females....

Jessie - that is soooo sad (((((big hugs)))))....And with a foal at foot.... :( I hope she does well and pulls through for you....

I hate it when i lose any animal, but horses are my big soft spot.....can't wait to get another one, one day... :rolleyes:

LilShenanigans
12-12-2005, 16:38
It's so hard losing an animal, my mother has said these are the last cats.. she doesn't want anymore (believe it when I see it! :p )

We used to have a cat called Sweetie which had 2 be put down when she was 16yrs (about 80 in cat years!).
And the best cat I remember, Gandolf the Grey - used to always lick the vegemite off my toast when I wasn't looking!

And if mum thinks she can live without a cat Im going to have to think of an unusual pet to get... and I dont think she'll like reptiles :( hehe

Mother Duck
12-12-2005, 21:32
The foal is doing really well - she is getting lots of baby horse 'formula' and electrolytes - feeds every two to three hours and is responding really well

Hooray!

We have named her now, her official name is "Jessie's Prize" but we are calling her " baby" - this is because DH used to call her mummy baby :(

On a very bright note she is a lovely little fillie!! :)

13-12-2005, 08:28
Thats great Jessie! And a lovely name for her too!

What breed of horses do you breed? Thoroughbreds? Just thought that maybe 'Jessie's Prize' kinda sounds like a racing name...

DeLiteFull
13-12-2005, 11:21
My cat is a beautiful blue eyed 'ragdoll' his name is Boston.

my other cats RIP were called 'oreo' and 'salem'

anything american... sad i know

proud_mama
13-12-2005, 15:13
I have my two beautiful baby cats.

One is a Burmese and his name is Salem, he is a big snob at times :p

And my other is a Ragdoll, but i think he also has tabby in him, but his name is Buggar :p the name speaks for itself..lol

13-12-2005, 15:32
I was thinking about calling my kitten Bugger, as thats what Mac called him on the way home when he was crawling out of the box! But he's Binky now....

Mother Duck
13-12-2005, 21:16
H'ya Shaz - gorgeous kitten!

We have stockhorses - we use them for cattle work and campdrafting.

There has been a slight change - "Jessie's Pride" instead of Prize - prize is too much like ownership and we don't own them, they are our friends!

She is doing better all the time!

13-12-2005, 21:24
Ahh, stockhorses...more my kind!

I used to ride every day, but when we moved i had to sell my mare....I now wish i hadn't. She was thoroughbred, but a good all rounder. I think she was bred to race, but never made it through the trials.

I did a bit of mustering up until i had Mac, for my Uncle, but no big stuff. Would love to though. I don't get a chance to see much campdrafting, not with two little girls, and the heat out here! I love going to rodeos too, but they're a bit slow out here, you wouldn't think it being the country!

I think I like the sound of Jessie's Pride better too. And yes, i agree, they are our best friends! I can't wait to get property one day and have as many horses as i like...and i can't wait to teach the girls! (If they're willing!)

Mother Duck
13-12-2005, 21:32
You and yours are welcome anytime!!!

Speaking of the interaction, this foal has been a Godsend for Mickayla who was quite frightened by the 'big' horses - she loves patting this one!

I would never force her, I hate it when people try to 'puppet' their likes etc with their children - although if she doesn't become a scientist shes in trouble - ;) - Just kidding!

13-12-2005, 22:10
I forgot you are only in Murgon! Its not THAT far away from here...i go through on my way to see my mum at Cooran (near Gympie kinda...).

Do you have a heap of land? I've never actually lived on property, but have always felt i belonged somewhere in the bush, not a city girl....DH is a farm boy, so hopefully well get it one day!

Yeah, I'd love the girls to love horses too, but if they don't its no biggy. DH wants them to be into sports, i think he kind of expects them to be, as he did sports and so did his dad. I was never a big sports person, only horse-riding, i was more into reading and writing. As long as my girls don't sit in front of the TV all day and are doing something constructive i'm happy, whether it be indoor or out. DH thinks its somehow not normal to be an indoor person...that you've gotta be doing something active all day to be healthy.... :confused:

Sorry, kind of got off the topic there! LOL

GIZMOE
14-12-2005, 15:41

I have 2 little staffies 1 black with white patches his name is Rocco and the other is a brindle colour and his name is Gelignite. They are so funny but can be really naughty at times. But the worst part is as soon as I yell at them they sit down and give you this look like my yelling upset them. Then I give in and have to give them cuddles.

Sad I know!

Amy

Ffrenchknickers
14-12-2005, 15:55
WE have a boxer called Charli:)

matty's mum
14-12-2005, 16:03
we have two cats,

Tomas O'Malley and Dutches (from the Disney movie)

and a shiht-zu dog

Pixie

hayleylea
17-12-2005, 14:16
we have a cockerspaniel who is thinks he is a human called Axel, a rotweiler puppy who is 9 weeks old called Roxy, maltese terrier called Sky, Cockatoo called Ernie, Galah called Gertrude (gerty), fish called, Nemo, Marvin, Kitty, Eeny, Meeny and Miney a ram named Stewy and 25 sheep who get called a whole heap of names when we cant get them into the yards lol.

outbackmum
19-12-2005, 17:43
:rolleyes: were do i start .so meny ,
cow named MOOOO,,,juersy
horse named Troy ,,, clydy X thoughr
3 birds ,bugie-olly,yellow ring neck-pauly , galar we saved - i call it Agro
dogs foxy X- snoopy,,
,maltise x silky-scruffy,,
,Perynese mt dog X marama- sheba .
.bull mastiff X boxer- ebony,,,
bullarab ,foxhound X mastiff -patch and she has 16 ,3week old pups for sale if anyone is interested :D
dad of the pups cruser -boxer x cattle
a red cattle dog - rose .
now PIGS patrick , patuna , whitny, wolly, paris.:rolleyes:
well hope i havent missed any oo:eek: bugger the goats there is 14 of them and yes thay all have names lol

giggles
19-12-2005, 17:53
WE have a boxer called Charli:)

we have a boxer too called Kato and a staffy called Rasta.

We also have 2 Mummy and Daddy weiros without names (I know, I just can't think of anything good) and three brand new bubbas that will be leaving the nest soon to find new homes so will remain unnamed!

Mother Duck
20-12-2005, 00:04
Sorry to say that we lost our little fillie "Jessie's Pride" - after a week she just went downhill so fast - looked like she would be OK for a minute there but in the end (24hrs on a drip) she just wasn't coming good

Sad :(

They are just so fragile young foals

20-12-2005, 06:51
Oh Jessie, I am so sorry for you.....Its so terrible when they seem to be doing so well, and then just do down so quickly...:(

I lost my little birdy i was raising too after he was doing really well last week....in no way does it really compare with your beautiful little filly though....

So sorry to hear that...

moonblossom
20-12-2005, 06:56
A black cat, named Cooper, after Coopers Pale Ale....mmm a beer, that'll have to wait another six months ROFLMAO

Mother Duck
20-12-2005, 23:25
I tried to pm you this but your messages are full - so I will post it here for you :)

Hi there - funny enough I have been thinking of you often in the last week or so. Must be the Qld country affinity - or maybe just that horse lovers affinity - or maybe your gorgeous kitten picture (which I notice has been outdone by your gorgeous bubba!

Thanks for the thoughts, it was just so disappointing after such intensive work to try and keep her going.

Sorry to hear about the little bird, you know it does compare - I feel the same sadness no matter what creature is in my care!

Love J

22-12-2005, 20:51
Hey Jessie...how are you? I guess we're both having bad weeks.....

My little foxie Turbo died today....of Parvo. He died within a day of getting sick...i only noticed him unwell yesterday at lunchtime, and by 3.30pm this arvo he was gone. I took him to the vet this morning, and they kept him in to figure out what it was....Its taught me the lesson now, to get them vaccinated as pups. I never have before and we've just been lucky i guess...

It hard not hearing his bark (as much as it annoyed me sometimes:rolleyes: ), but i guess i'll get used to it. I dare say i'll get a new little puppy sometime though.....i can't seem to live without a dog....

I have been thinking of you over there alot too curiously enough...wonder why? Hope you are all well:)

Mother Duck
22-12-2005, 23:51
I'm sorry to hear that you have lost your friend - you will probably find yourself looking for him when you go walking for a few days

Always so sad - and Parvo yep that'll get em

We really must organise to meet each other in the New Year !

There is some weird affinity thing going on there!

~MUMMY~
23-12-2005, 00:43
well bubba got a early chrissy present off my cousins a puppy... we named her holly.
she is a ****su/chuauah.would have been nice is i knew about it ! who said we even wanted a dog ??? ohh well we have one now and we love her to bits... but dont ya just hate when people give other people animals as presents without asking first !

23-12-2005, 07:00
Thanks Jessie, and yes, we must meet up sometime, that'd be great!

MUMMY- A puppy, wow! And yeah, i guess it would have been helpful to know about it first! LOL I would never give an animal as a pet without knowing that the new owners wanted it....thats how all these abandonements happen....She sounds like a beautiful mix though, she'd be tiny wouldn't she?

I might not get on here much after tonight as my sis is coming tonight, and the rest of the fam tomorrow. So have a great chrissy and new years guys! Stay safe!:)

Mother Duck
23-12-2005, 09:03
Merry Christmas Shaz

Enjoy your family - I wish mine were here! LOL

~MUMMY~
23-12-2005, 09:42
yep she is very tiny and scruffy ! the size of a chuauah and the looks of one too she doesnt look much like the brothers and sisters which you could tell were a mixed breed... ours just looks like a scruffy weird colourd rat....lol

yes i wasnt impressed i didnt know about it first (i would have said no if i knew) and i wasnt impressed she was COVERD in ticks !!!! so we have been dealing with them this morning...

atleast she is in a good home with us and will be spoilt... (she woldnt eat her dog food so i grilled a chicken breast for her :eek: and all i got for breaky was a glass of water)
im excited... a reason to buy all cute doggie stuff today because she has nothing except a dog bed... not even a bowl or collar or leash so we get to go doggie shopping... how cute !

23-12-2005, 11:12
Its always so much fun to get them their cute little collars and things! Any excuse for shopping! LOL And you can buy so much more stuff for the little dogs.... Have fun!

amme
23-12-2005, 11:37
We have a dog called 'Corben', he is a kelpie x blue heeler, he got his name when my DP was listening to Dr. Karl on tripple J one day when his ex-partner was preggers. Dr Karl was talking about the causes of an itchy tummy when your pregnant and apparently it has something to do with corbens (perhaps DP heard wrong!). When he Picked the dog up as a puppy he was scratching like mad so he got the name 'corben'.

We have a cat called 'Molly', he is a orange and white domestic cat that i got at about 6 weeks old, when i picked him up they assured me that he was a very rare ginger female (i couldnt tell the difference!). A few months later i was playing with my beautiful little girl (or so i thought) and noticed he had testies!!!!

We also have a beautifull little bush bunny! His name is 'Smidge' (cause he is only a little smidge of a rabbit) . We were cleaning up in the garden about 3 weeks ago and accidentally disturbed a nest of bunnys, their mum ran off but we assumed she would come back after dark so we wernt too worried. The next day we went to check on them and they were all dead except for one. So i went to the vet and got some special milk for him and a tiny little bottle, put him on a hot water bottle and fed him every 2 hrs for a week! He didnt even have his eyes open at this stage but did have a little fur. As soon as his eyes opened (about two weeks ago) he started eating grass so his feeds are down to every 6hrs:) He has so much of a personality! He loves cuddles! Follows my DSS everywhere and is even toilet trained!!!!

If you have gotten this far thankyou for listening to me dribble!!!