View Full Version : August 2006 Mums n' Bubs #3

mrsbutterflygirl
05-12-2006, 10:42
hey guys!!! man you guys can sure talk.. i go away for a weekend and come back and there is 12 new pages! so yep i'm not reading them all... lol

Laylah is going well... she gets her 4 month needles tomorrow which i am not looking forward to cause my husband cant come with me this time! and i cried the first time. She is starting to noticed when mum goes out. I go out on a monday night and by the time i come home she is screaming.. (it's only 2 hours i go out) but as soon as she sees me she is fine. Dont know what to do about it... any suggestions?

Bella8
05-12-2006, 11:29
Hello everyone!!

Well, it's been a while since I've posted but I tend to check in from time to time to read a few of the latest posts but don't seem to have time to post.

I don't know how you guys manage to keep up with this forum. Caleb takes up so much of my time and any time spare (when and if this happens) I'm cleaning the house, cooking or trying to catch my breath!!

Working - Still doing after hours phones. Really tiring but seems to be a lot quiter coming up to Christmas. Still haven't got paid.. that's another story!

Caleb - He's grown up SO much. Can't believe he's 4 months... goes for his injections tomorrow :( He's 'talking' and smiling a lot more and shoving everything into his mouth. All of a sudden he started picking up toys so that's his latest thing. Only the other day he 3/4 rolled over so that will be the next thing... He has already managed to pick up a cold and then gastro. At the moment he's ok but just a bit cranky cause of the heat - 33 and no airconditioner does that to the best of us!!!

Christmas - Really looking forward to xmas but am hoping it won't be too stressful as we're having the family over. Haven't started shopping yet as we've had no money so as soon as that comes in I will have to run around like a mad woman!!! Caleb had his pic with Santa and cracked a huge grin!!! Then he proceded to sneeze over the big man.... :laughing:

Wedding - in my friends wedding early Jan in Melbourne. Have my first dress fitting tomorrow so hope that goes well. Almost back to pre-baby weight but can't budge that belly shelf!! I'm really nervous about 'being on show'. Lost a bit of confidence after having bubs....

Question: Has anyone else that breastfed and stopped found that your boobs are now floppy and empty? I used to be quite proud of my jugglies and now without a bra they just hang :mad:

Better go, Caleb has just woken up.

Merry pre-xmas everyone!! :xmas:

Renae xx

Beany
05-12-2006, 11:34
:banghead: :laughing:

I was playing with Asher, lying on the bed as he jumped on my tummy - his favourite occupation since like ... well, FOREVER!

Anyway, he burped and out came a slow trickle of spew. With lightning reflexes, I twizzled him onto the bed and grabbed a tissue to wipe the spew from chin and was working my way up to his mouth In those 3 seconds - literally 3 seconds - he sneezed.

Spew in flecks EVERYWHERE.

Like I said, :banghead: :laughing:

Beany
05-12-2006, 12:02
I don't know how you guys manage to keep up with this forum. Caleb takes up so much of my time and any time spare (when and if this happens) I'm cleaning the house, cooking or trying to catch my breath!!

*looks around at the mess and lack of food*

I know how I manage it ... :D

Fairyfloss
05-12-2006, 12:48
Hello everyone!!
I don't know how you guys manage to keep up with this forum.

I don't, I lurke most of the time.and my house is a big mess which means when DH finds me on teh computer we endup arguing but it is the ony thing keeping me saine.

mum_I'm_hungry
05-12-2006, 13:50
Oh, :barf: . Yep, you guessed it, we are still all sick! It's a truly disgusting one -- only a head cold, but a bad one. Bring on daycare tomorrow, I say. What's made it worse is that my husband is working afternoons/on call. Which means he went to work yesterday at midday and got home at about 1am this morning. Don't know about you, but I don't fancy a bunch of tired doctors fixing me up at midnight after they've been working 12 hours (plus sneezing in your innards because they have head colds!).

Just wanted to reply to a couple things that I remembered from last night, but have to be quick because boy-o is pooing himself silly on the floor (can't wait to change that one...). Sorry, I can't remember who said what!

Linen -- love the Treehouse stuff too. Teddy's nursery stuff is all the Toet Toet line and we bought some drawer handles for his chest of drawers as well. So cute!

Heads -- Ivy's head was ginormous. Still is. It was always way off the growth charts and everyone would tell us she looked normal, but that's what the growth charts are for, so we checked it out. She had an ultrasound on her head (hated it, of course!) and everything came back normal. Diagnosis: big-headism. No great surprise, really, my head is pretty big, too. I always took the biggest hat size at school and no-one else seemed to!

Eyes/blood groups -- so funny. When Ivy was born, they tested her blood and the group they told us she was meant that she couldn't be my husband's baby :eek: . I think we kind of knew she was, though, because she came out the absolute spitting image of my husband. Oh, yeah. Plus, I didn't sleep with anyone else :D . We all got retested that night and it turned out I have some weird variant that means I can test positive or negative depending on the test/when I'm tested etc.. I'm telling you, that was one weird night. I kept wondering if I'd sat on any strange toilet seats etc.!!!

Love the jewellery, Jessi! Hope you sell heaps more.

Thanks for checking out my web-site, Lottiesmum!

Well, off to the land of poo... Wish I could make it disappear like this... :wizard:

biscotti
05-12-2006, 14:04
I have some weird variant that means I can test positive or negative depending on the test/when I'm tested etc..

OMG - I have this too, weird hey!

Mrs Potts
05-12-2006, 15:22
Sick. Everyone sick. Husband at work. When at home, husband studying. Washing machine about to quit from overwork. Going to bed. Hope everyone good here. :barf:

Geez, Alli! And you're the writer! What chance do the rest of us have!:laughing: Hope the lurgy leaves you all soon.

DD will be having her shots tomorrow probably too. Hope all the bubs come through them with no dramas.

Well done on the sales Jessi!

kristi001
05-12-2006, 21:18
Heya Ladies :wave:

Re-lactating Well i finally got in contact with the lactation consultant and i have an appointment Friday Morning.. So i am very excited about that.. THou wasnt so excited about the Medication my doctor prescribed for the relactating has some serious side- effect including Psychotic (sp) Episodes!!! :eek: I was just about to go pick them up when she called.. Very scary!!! Also bought a new breast pump today its the Medela.. SO SO much easier!!!

Bella8 Yes about the Boob thing My once perky little boobs have turned into not so perky not so little mounds!! I feel your pain..

AlliJb Hope you get better soon!! being Sick sucks!!!

shed
05-12-2006, 22:44
Oh I am SO excited!!!

My lovely penpal from England is coming over for my wedding!!

Can you BELIEVE it?? I am SO excited!!

We have been writing since we were twelve and I met her when I went to Europe. She's in the navy and currently posted in Ethiopia.

I wrote to her and was blabbering on about Baden etc and I said to her that DP and I were getting married because I couldn't remember if I had told her and I said I would send her an invitation even though I knew she couldn't come etc etc, and she wrote straight back and said "Invitation accepted!". She had already discussed it with her hubby because I had told her in a previous email about the wedding.

How cool is that? She is really lovely, such a cool chick and I can't wait to see her again.

I can't believe it!!

On another wedding-related note, DP said he won't be buying me a car till we're married. wtf? I was so shocked I didn't even ask him why. How WEIRD.

Beany
05-12-2006, 22:53
Advanced hair ... hahahaha!

You dork ...

PS: great news regarding visiting penpal!

shed
05-12-2006, 23:17

Uniquey
05-12-2006, 23:45
I have just written up personals and lost them all, now I have to re-write, so annoying.

Shed I am STILL splitting my sides over the 'advanced hair, yeah yeah', too :laughing: funny!

Amandaw I got all sad when I read 'meet up before Uniquey goes to Canberra'. I am in such denial about going, and it's typical that I finally get a chance to meet some lovely, wonderful new friends (you guys) and we're off. I have lived in many places throughout the world, but in Oz, only ever in Brissy and I love it here. Having said that, I hope I will get to meet Mrs Potts (Erica) and any other ACT August Mummies. I would love to meet up soon, but at the moment it'[s crazy busy here, especially this week with the Christening on Friday etc. As soon as we're all free and available, I like the places you suggested and we'll all have to meet up:yes:

AlliJB GET WELL to your household

Missie_Mack DH likes the swing you have, mainly because of the power cord as opposed to just batteries. I think I will go with the Papasan one though, but thanks for the suggestion all the same.

Rach GEEZ, you'll think I'm 'single white female' soon with all the spooky similarities, :laughing: Tashmusa and I also have similarities, like birthday dates, family names/places etc. You and I just have exceptional taste, LOL!

I can't remember who suggested the 'baby photo of ourselves' idea, but I think it's a great idea:thumbsup: When should we all do it?

US I 'put up' our Xmas tree tonight, all 60cm of it, LOL! It would win in the dinky stakes, that's for sure. I had a mole cut-out of my back today, and a pap smear the other day, and next will be Miss A's needles, and next week back to the Mole Doctor again, fun, fun, fun.

Uniquey
05-12-2006, 23:48
NoosaMum Do your friends at Graceville still need a Pram? I have been given a pram, but already have one, so thought your friends may like to have it? All they would have to do is pick it up. It's nothing fancy, but not very old and only had a child in it for a very short time. Just let me know, otherwise I'll donate it to charity.

Uniquey
05-12-2006, 23:51
Geez, Alli! And you're the writer! What chance do the rest of us have!:laughing: Hope the lurgy leaves you all soon.

DD will be having her shots tomorrow probably too. Hope all the bubs come through them with no dramas.

Well done on the sales Jessi!
Erica, I hope Keeley fares well after the shots. Good idea of yours taking the Panadol beforehand though.

lottiesmum
06-12-2006, 06:47
morning all,

just a quick one because i'm due a gaggle of toddlers (there really ought to be a good name for a collective of toddlers...suggestions anyone!) over to our place to play. i was thinking of making an activity table of xmas biscuits but not sure i have the strength to supervise and clean up the mess....:eek:

baby swings - not sure what brand ours is. i bought one for DD at a garage sale thinking it might be a bit of fun. she wasn;t keen on it but DS loves it. likes to sit and swing and suck his finger. i love to watch him - he looks so calm and happy - sometimes i get fleeting visions of an old man in one of those veranda swings with a cold beer in his hand. that''s weird, isn;t it....:o

Uniquey - re: your move to ACT at least you'll have a convenient way of keeping in touch with the Qld bubhub crew!

shed - maybe he's got your dream car in mind??? that's all i can think of...i didn't know you had decided to go ahead with the wedding thing. hooray :yelclap: don't forget to keep nosy old biddies like me posted with your plans...

Bella 8 - Hi! ummm i have bad news about post-baby boobs...they do rather sag....i think this is inevitable.......sorry.

Mrs Potts - hope the shots are OK and DD has no side effects...

Noosamum - when is DD6's ballet recital?????

eyes - blue. my eyes are blue, my parents eyes are blue and 3 out of 4 of my grandparents eyes are blue. my DH's eyes are blue, his parents eyes are blue....well, you get the picture. there are differing shades but all blue!

Hi :wave: to everyone else.

right - must go steel myself against the onslaught...

MountainGirl
06-12-2006, 07:42
Thank god the cleaners came yesterday,..I have Channel 9 coming over here on Friday for 2 hours to film Scarlett,...crikey,...what do I get myself into !!!!

cheekypossum
06-12-2006, 08:57
amandaw - Yay I would love to meet up....I am staying at St Lucia......and know my way to Southbank or the city....Chermside???not too sure how to get there.........anyday would be fine by me apart from Monday and Tuesday as that is when DH is in hospital

Any other Brissie mums interested

:smiliedance: :smiliedance: getting excited :laughing:

Beany
06-12-2006, 09:11
just a quick one because i'm due a gaggle of toddlers (there really ought to be a good name for a collective of toddlers...suggestions anyone!)

How about "a murder" ... :D

*Country Bumpkin*
06-12-2006, 09:17
amandaw - Yay I would love to meet up....I am staying at St Lucia......and know my way to Southbank or the city....Chermside???not too sure how to get there.........anyday would be fine by me apart from Monday and Tuesday as that is when DH is in hospital

Any other Brissie mums interested

getting excited

Hey there Im interested eept I cant get there if its in the city- chermside I can do however as its just down the rd from me. And saturday mornings are alwasys good as DP can drive us:D yes I STILL dont have my licence:rolleyes:

Beany
06-12-2006, 09:24
Why are they going to be filming Scarlett, Jane? What a showbiz family you have - Jasper on TV last week and now Scarlett!

MountainGirl
06-12-2006, 09:44
It's stupid isn't it....I must have agreed to it during a moment of weakness! It is for 'What's good for you',.and they are doing a segment on toddlers and controlling tantrums,....hmmm,.... they want to film Squidg for 2 hours here at home,.and then we are going (with 5 other toddlers) to a sound stage with a one way mirror. they are putting the kids into the room with a couple of toys for an hour and Robyn Barker (she of Baby Love) is going to discuss their antics! - a la Richard Attenborough I assume! I just hope they don't kill each other!

shed
06-12-2006, 09:48
Capsule guy is coming today, to take back the capsule that we hired and fit the car seat.

Gosh, all these milestones.

Beany
06-12-2006, 10:07
Asher has started on "crawler" nappies ...

I'm in two minds about this whole thing. I'm thoroughly looking forward to him being old enough to do things with, like go to the zoo and so forth. And yet ... my baby is becoming a little boy! I'd a mixture of pride and sadness ...

I was looking at him the other day as I wandered around the house doing something or other and his big eyes were darting here and there trying to take everything in. He was chattering in excitement, turned to me, grabbed my hair and pulled my nose into his mouth. It sad to think those days are so limited.

The thing is, I'm not especially broody - I don't want another baby yet. I just sort of miss him.

missie_mack
06-12-2006, 10:26
I think its a evil trick by mother nature to encourage us to keep procreating... I didnt want another one until James was out of nappies but :( he's growing up so quick.....

Oh on the booby (I think it was Bella that asked??) thing mine are fine thankyou very much for asking :D actually I think a little perkier than before but then I didnt get any real milk supplies in

Anyone going to the Sydney meet tommorrow?.... Im going as an excuse to get DH into the city to take me late night shopping haha

Beany
06-12-2006, 10:39
Missie: I'll probably be going - I'm loathe to commit either way until I know that Asher isn't sick (he's been feeling a little warm and has been a bit clingy today). Last I heard, shed was going and Raffee will try, too.

Asher is growing really fast but for this reason more than any others, I don't want another baby for a while. I want to really enjoy his babyhood and toddlerhood and beyond before getting pregnant and incapacitated again. I've also got uni to contend with ... Part of me doesn't want to go back and get this degree finished - I just want to sit at home and play with my baby. But I suppose I should get something resembling a career going ...

Boobs ... Like I mentioned before, mine grew 2 cup sizes and so are stretchmarked to high heaven. They are only "perky" when engorged. When drained, they look really quite pathetic - all floppy and sad, like deflated balloons.

shed
06-12-2006, 10:48
Boobs, yeah mine lay where they use to sit. oh well. I'm 38 next year so what do I care LOL.

Well, DP is coming home for the capsule guy now because the plan was that he would come home at lunchtime and then I would drive him back to work and then drive home for the capsule guy. Except he rang before and said we can't do that and I said why and he said "coz there's no car seat in the car for Baden".

oh yeah. can't believe we didn't think of that, duh.

missie-mack I am so looking forward to meeting you!!!

I am supposed to be studying.

amandaw
06-12-2006, 10:55
Adele - any chance of catching a bus into the city???? Wherever I go, will be a matter of buses and trains as I too am unlicenced (and nearly 27!!! so worse than you by far...I was laughing with my HOD yesterday about the fact that I can complete a Masters, but don't have the confidence to go for my blimen license!!!! Have to do something about it before I go back to work next year....but not confident about it so even suggested to DH that a bike might be a good bet for christmas :laughing: you should have seen the look on his face!!!!).

Does next Wednesday or Thursday suit Brisbanites?? That way maybe Uniquey can come (since the christening is over) and Tashmusa will be freer (might be good for you to get away from the hospital for an hour or two), and before school holidays officially start....(is your Hubby at RBH (I think so)...well if you stayed on Gympie Road you would end up at Chermside, but I do understand it would be painful when you don't really know where you are!!!!). LP, AliJB, Jessie and other Brisbanites (SORRY, I can't remeber who else is!!!) Noosamum is it a vague possibility????

What do you think????

jessi
06-12-2006, 10:56

On the booby subject. I officiaaly hate mine. For someone so young, I definatly dont have the boobies for my age. I think the term "Floppy Socks" fits pretty well... especially after a feed.

El has been in crawler nappies for a while now. I dont think it will tske long for her to grow out of them. I almost forget that shes still a baby sometimes...

Got some more pics for ya's...

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/caramelnuggetswleaves.jpg
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/bluechainbaubles.jpg
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/pinkchainwhearts.jpg
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/pinkwhitepurpleboxes.jpg
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/goldgreencrystaldrops.jpg
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/pinkchainedteardrops.jpg

:tree:

amandaw
06-12-2006, 10:58
Have you noticed that we've been skipped to our 3rd section already...soon they'll start charging us per post just to shut us up:laughing:

littlepickle
06-12-2006, 11:10
I am free most of next week. Somewhere closer to the city would be perfect for me as I basically live in the CBD, well 2 km from the centre anyway. I usually walk into the centre as it keeps me active and gived E a bit of fresh air and a chance to see the world - well the world that is Brisbane that is. Anyway, I could probably drive to chermside if thats where everyone wants to meet, but it does seem to be a bit lacking ambiance wise... if not the city, how abut a park somewhere or the southbank?
I am feeling really sick today, but I am not sure why. It started yesterday evening, I suddenly had no energy at all and felt really dizzy and short of breath. I dont have much energy today either but I am not dizzy now, I just feel sick and have a headache. Before anyone mentions the P world - that isnt even a possibility ... given that it is coming up to the right time of year for immaculate conceptions and all.. I dont think I am in the running for that! I think I might have eaten something that disagreed with me or something

amandaw
06-12-2006, 11:26
LP - there has been a really bad gastro going round... I got it the day before I flew to Sydney and really didn't think I would be getting on that plane! Lack of energy was how it started for me, but then esculated quick, :fingerscrossed: that's not it for you!

Being a city girl, maybe you could suggest somewhere good at Southbank... that's probably easier for parking for those who need it, and the bus station and train are there too.. I usually only end up at the San Marco cafe whenever we're there, but am sure ther is better locations for all those bubs

(ps sorry to everyone else for hijacking forum..once we get sort of organised we can move to pm....)...just need to know a day and who's in now

Beany
06-12-2006, 11:30
Amanda: The Sydneysiders have hijacked the thread many-a-times before this :D Carry on!

I wish I could go the Brissy for the meetup ...

Maybe next year we could all have a big meet somewhere!

Beany
06-12-2006, 11:32
Jessi: "pink chains with hearts" is adorable!

*Country Bumpkin*
06-12-2006, 11:38
Im 3 weeks late.

I feel sick

I feel dizy

Im tired

Im irratible

My boobs are sore and lumpy

Dear god no:eek:

*Country Bumpkin*
06-12-2006, 11:42
Jessi- OH OH OH!!!! Should be HO HO HO hehe:D I would like tro know how much for the earings!!! There are 5 pairs I like.. the 2nd,3rd,4th,5th & 6th

Amandaw- I dont do busses:no: I have huge issues with poublic transport

Beany
06-12-2006, 12:01
Im 3 weeks late.

I feel sick

I feel dizy

Im tired

Im irratible

On the plus side, if it IS the dreaded "p" word, then the "b" word might share the same birthday as Skyla :D

wattle
06-12-2006, 12:10
Wow S_J, that sounds interesting. Do you know when it's going to be on telly?

I'm finding being a parent to a nearly-two year old boy is exhausting, exhasperating, and pretty draining. I love him to bits and he's a real clown, but the constant whining....aaaaaaaaagh. He's really really slow in the speech development department, so he just constantly whines at top volume all day. It's starting to do my head in. Oh yeah, then there's the tantrums. hmmm. So needless to say I'm really looking forward to seeing the toddlers and Robin Barker. I love what she has to say.

amandaw
06-12-2006, 12:17
Im 3 weeks late.

I feel sick

I feel dizy

Im tired

Im irratible

I hope not for your sake (and I only say this because we're all getting used to number one) but I guess on the up side it'd be somthing new to get excited about :confused:

Any chance then of getting to a train? Central just makes it more likely that southsiders will come, and means that non-brisbanites (ie Tashmusa will have more luck in finding us (and close to hosital so that she doesn't have to take too much time out from hubby)...maybe there will be someone coming from further north (ie Jessie...not volunteering you, but I do know you guys have met) who may be able to fit you and Skyla in

and Beany...I'd like that, but can you imagine the organisation involved!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It'd be easier to organise the Fijian coup:laughing:

littlepickle
06-12-2006, 12:22
Amandaw - I'm like you, I quite often end up at San Marcos myself - well there or Cold Rock!:party: There is probably a bit more space and grass etc around that area which makes it a lot more kid friendly. We could always have a little picnic or something, there are loads of shady areas .. we could even have a sausage sizzle at one of the little bbq spots there? Its lovely at the Sountbank this time of year.

Adele: What about trains? There is a train station at the southbank, so you wouldnt have to get a bus there.

Beany: It woud be good to have a big meet up next year..I would love to meet the Sydneysiders too! I spend quite a lot of time in Sydney with work normally, but I guess things will have to change a bit there now that I have bub and cant exactly up and leave for weeks at a time to swan off to Sydney...:rolleyes:

Gastro: gawd I hope that I dont get that!! :fingerscrossed: its just something that I ate!

wattle
06-12-2006, 12:25
FYI - just received my weekly Kmart email. 30% off all bubs clothes (except sleepwear, socks etc) starting tomorrow.

Sounds good to me. :yes:

shed
06-12-2006, 12:26
Car seat is in, yay, mummy and bubby are mobile again, woo hoo.

The car seat guy had the same birthday as me. Its always so weird when that happens even though there are 365 days in the year and you meet so many people so chances are that some of them will have the same birthday.

We were talking about how old Baden was and I said his birthday was on 31st July and he said "my birthday is near then, on the 25th July" and I am like "oh that's my birthday!".

*Country Bumpkin*
06-12-2006, 13:19
Babies- Well I sure hope Im not!! As nice as that would be- I have DP's b.day,skylas b.day,dad b.day and 2 regos due in august so its not a great month financially. I have Depo and we use condoms if and when we have sex- which believe me lately hasnt been much:banghead: so I dont know whats going on- it woudl be just my luck however to be preggi AGAIN. Immaculate conception anyone:rolleyes: Yes my name is Mary

Brissie Meet- Well the train sounds ok- but to get there would involve a bus and as u already know I dont do busses lol- plu Im not real coumfertable taking Skyla on public transport on my own. Ive never done it bfore and Id have nappy bag, pram and a heap of other **** for lunch oh and Skyla of course. OIf its on a weekend DP can drive me though. But whenever suits everyone else wil be fine- Imight just be lazy and catch a cab:D

Fairyfloss
06-12-2006, 13:20
you know what forget it, I am not even going to try to remember, I can't keep up, you guys are too fast for me, (says me who is more often than not a chatter box.), maybe I will come back with some personals later.
in the meanwhile have fun every one:hugs:

missie_mack
06-12-2006, 13:35
Awww Paris I'm having a day like that too... I sometimes have to open up two bubhubs so I can write my message in one while I read the other.....

Im sure I have a brain... It was somewhere here before... Im sure it was.... eh I think I will need to clean up to find it.... never mind I will do it later.

BTW Something funny happened today while I was out. I was pushing the pram and this lady said to her kids "Let the lady with the pram through" so I turn around and look for the lady... then I realised she meant me. When did I get old enough to be referred to as "the lady"???

jessi
06-12-2006, 13:39
Adele, I have emailed you w/ prices etc

:fingerscrossed: You arent pregnant then eh?!

lilbugalugs
06-12-2006, 13:39
I am a brisbane person too!! However I have a toddler, a baby and a husband in hospital so I don't think that I will be making it next week...

Wattle - I feel your pain, sometimes it is harder to manage the toddler than the baby and mine is a little bit older than yours!! Just trying to enjoy Riley before he can talk back, throw tanties and be just generally difficult.

This morning I went to playgroup Christmas party...we had a great time, all the kids got books from santa and we all had a swim in the pool. Erin loves to swim but did not want to get out of the pool when it was time = massive tantrum...sigh.

Hubby is doing much better, still flat on his back in hospital but not in so much pain as before and he is a bit more like his usual self...I miss him so much and so does Erin, I will have to take her in too see him I guess (I have only taken Riley in so far) I fear that she will not want to leave him and we will have a (you guessed it) tantrum.

amandaw
06-12-2006, 13:52
Sorry Lilbugalugs....as soon as I saw your name, I thought 'hey I think she's a Brisbanite too'...it really wasn't a slight, just useless brain!

I'd love to meet you if you want to come... I know the circumstances aren't great, but maybe like Tashmusa and hour or two away could be good for you - absolutley no pressure though! In that regards, amybe the picnic LP suggested is best so that there's plenty of toddler room (I ahve to laugh at this...my best friend was over from England about 6 months ago and we were organising a catch up. She hadn't yet met our other friends 20 month old and suggested Queenies (a high tea house 0 as the destination....I was very quick to point out the impracticalities, and when she met Harry, i think she was really glad!!!!)...we can all share Erin's tantrums with you so you're not doing it alone! We can obviously keep you in the loop and then you can decide on the day how things are going

Maybe with the taking Erin into hospital, it could be worth taking your Mum/Dad/Whoever in so that you don't have the added tension of a tantrum - She probably doesn't quite understand where he's gone (as I'm sure you're well aware and don't need anyone telling you)..having someone else ther means that they can try sweet talking her out of there so that you can concentrate on hubby...just a suggestion.

biscotti
06-12-2006, 15:58
Brissie girls, just a quickie from me today - when you work out a day and time can someone PM me and i'll see if I can come too ...
thanks,
Noosamum XX

missie_mack
06-12-2006, 17:01
missie-mack I am so looking forward to meeting you!!!

Awwwww shucks thanks Shed :D I will be probably the only one that brings their DH..... We are hoping DS will be in a good mood and I can get his Santa photos taken at DJs in the City after.... DH wouldnt miss a chance to go in we buy our annual Christmas Decoration which is ridiculously expensive but its only 1 each a year... and James will get his first one.

Hope to meet all the Sydney Mummas that can make it

littlepickle
06-12-2006, 17:35
So, how about next Thursday or Friday mid morning at Southbank Parklands? Just to throw a date in there, I know everyone is likely to get a lot busier as we get closer to Christmas!

MountainGirl
06-12-2006, 18:27
Hello Sydney girlsl,.....where/when is this meetup tomorrow?

Beany
06-12-2006, 18:44
I sent you a PM Jane :)

mama anne
06-12-2006, 19:24
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah didnt even know about the sydney meet! that'll learn me to skimread :o
someone pm me and tell me ..... please?

adele :fingerscrossed: you're not preggy .... i mean it would be beautiful ....... but you know. fingers crossed.
i've been SO dizzy lately and that was my first preggy symptom .... no morning sickness, just dizziness and fainting. i had the depo shot at my 6 week check and there was no rambunctiousness before then .... and very little since!
but i know what you're saying, it would be JUST my luck to have sex 3 times and fall pregnant. we were trying for 7 months to fall preggo with b ...... it'd be just my luck to fall preggo after 3 times.

shed i know what you mean about the milestones. for me its clothing sizes too ..... and nappies getting smaller.

jane good luck with the filming

paris don't be sad, i can't keep up either! but we've all been through so much together, so i personally dont think it matters how long you've been away or not

beany LOVED the sneeze vomit story .... that boy of yours is going to have a pretty funny and embarrasing 21st birthday!

missie_mack you think "the lady" is bad, the other day someone called me ma'am. crikey, i'm only 23!

jessi loving the pics, it's so good when you can create stuff hey .... i love having things to show for the effort you put in.

lilbugalugs very sad to hear about your dh, but glad to hear he's getting better by the day. thinking of you.

missie_mack we're on the lookout for b's first christmas decoration too .... anyone know where you can get them with letters on them?

big hello to everyone else

hmmmm .... have run out of energy to write about us now! the wedding was good on the weekend ..... except i forgot to take something to express into whilst at the reception so ....... promise not to tell anyone ......... i may have expressed into the toilet :laughing: there was nowhere else!
oh well, just another glamorous part of being a mum i suppose.

well thats all from me ............ someone from syd pm me so i can decide if i'll come tomorrow ..........

mum_I'm_hungry
06-12-2006, 19:49
DP said he won't be buying me a car till we're married. wtf?

Well, duh, Shed. That's because he's buying you a brand new red convertible Merc as a wedding pressie (or Audi, or BMW, or whatever you like). Myself, I'm still waiting for my Porsche 4WD...

Lottiesmum -- I say a fright of toddlers (or maybe a mess of toddlers?). Can't quite decide!

Brissie meet up -- A Brissie meet up would be great! I can do next Wednesday or Friday. Southbank would be good for me. :yes:

Boobs -- I never thought I had fantastic boobs, but I think I've figured out that with the stroller, three-year-old and three-month-old, no-one's looking anyway! :laughing: They're working boobs now!

Tashmusa and lilbugalugs, which hospitals are your husbands in? Hope everything is going well.

Im 3 weeks late.

:eek:

My brain doesn't even want to go there. I'm supposed to get this stupid Mirena IUD taken out and stay off hormones for a couple months but I'm too scared. I only want to be seeing :bfn: for the next 18 months at least!

cheekypossum
06-12-2006, 20:20
Hi Brissie girls (hee hee...hello all the other mums not in brissie too)

Next Thursday or Friday at Southbank would be just PERFECT for me......where I am staying is just a walk away from the ferry and I feel really confident to get there....DH will be at the Wesley Hospital but it will only be overnight that he has to stay but I would like to be around him Tuesday and Wednesday definately as I am sure he will need lots of TLC

I am so excited that I might be meeting some of you :smiliedance: ....I am using DH Aunty and Uncle internet so I cannot just jump on whenever I want like I did at home...I will pop on in the morning

Night all

cheekypossum
06-12-2006, 20:21
Sorry have ignored all the posts for now as I don't have the time to check on them all

Hope you are all doing well

missie_mack
06-12-2006, 21:15
PM coming your way Mama Anne....

theone
06-12-2006, 22:58

Hah! My wee man was born on 2nd August. I hardly ever get a chance to get on internet to look at bubhub but its always interesting when i do - i cant get off for hours. Anyway, I had same issue with my wee man. What I do is I dont make an issue about leaving or coming back - if you make a big deal of coming home and leaving then your baby may sense it. Be more bla'ze. That could work. Maybe. Its all a guessing game.

:) Cary

hey guys!!! man you guys can sure talk.. i go away for a weekend and come back and there is 12 new pages! so yep i'm not reading them all... lol

Laylah is going well... she gets her 4 month needles tomorrow which i am not looking forward to cause my husband cant come with me this time! and i cried the first time. She is starting to noticed when mum goes out. I go out on a monday night and by the time i come home she is screaming.. (it's only 2 hours i go out) but as soon as she sees me she is fine. Dont know what to do about it... any suggestions?

littlepickle
06-12-2006, 23:10
Hi Theone!! Nice to see you in our luvvly thread!! Are you a Brissy mum too??

Right.. Any advance on Wednesday Thursday or Friday next week?
I think Wednesday or Friday is best for Alli
Thursday or Friday is best for Tash
I can do any day ...
So how about Friday? How does that sound??
It will be so exciting to actually meet some August mummies in person! i cant wait!

mum_I'm_hungry
07-12-2006, 05:47
I would love to do Friday! :yelclap:

MountainGirl
07-12-2006, 07:12
Adele - AF does not usually come back as regularly as prepreg for a couple of months,...so you probably are not late at all.

*Country Bumpkin*
07-12-2006, 07:16
Adele - AF does not usually come back as regularly as prepreg for a couple of months,...so you probably are not late at all.

Well I was thinking that BUT I got AF last month at the same time I always did before i had Skyla:confused: Just makes me wonder ad throw in all th other symptoms well Im very very scared BRING ON AF!! Never thougth Id say that

*Country Bumpkin*
07-12-2006, 07:17
I would love to do Friday! :yelclap:

I can do friday- although it will be difficult to get there Ill do my best:thumbsup:

lilbugalugs
07-12-2006, 07:21
We should be OK to come Friday also, Southbank is good for us, lots of room for toddlers to run around!!

It will be fun to meet some of the mummys that I have read so much about over the past months!!

amandaw
07-12-2006, 07:54
:crying: Friday is the one day that I can't do next week :crying: bummer...I was so looking foward to meeting you all :crying: ...sorry just one of those days

That's okay though, it seems to suit the majority of others so I might just have to luck out this time...now you all need to get along so that you want to do another!

Question for the others with night conversationalists....do you ignore bubs and hope they go back to sleep? I've had a couple of crappy nights sleep, because Charlotte has been waking up and talking loudly...last night it was 12.30 (which she did settle after 10 mins and nod back off) 2 am (which I got up after half an hour of chatter and fed her), the again at 5.30 (which I got up at 6). We have had a couple of weeks of just waking at 3ish, a single cry which I always got up to first go, and then back to sleep until 7, but the last 3 night have changed and the disrupted sleep is getting to me (because I can' sleep while she's chatting so loudly!!!!!) and then I start feeling a little fragile....any suggestions welcome!

*Country Bumpkin*
07-12-2006, 08:36
hehe just had to share some pics I took of skyla yesterday:D

http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g1...y/100_0581.jpg (http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g158/delbry/100_0581.jpg)

http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g1...y/100_0574.jpg (http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g158/delbry/100_0574.jpg)

http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g1...y/100_0571.jpg (http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g158/delbry/100_0571.jpg)

http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g1...y/100_0566.jpg (http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g158/delbry/100_0566.jpg)

now which ones do i use for my christmas cards??

amandaw
07-12-2006, 08:43
Why don't you do some of each...they are all very very cute!

jessi
07-12-2006, 08:59
I dont think I will be comming to the picnic. You'd be lucky to get me to Chermside. I freak out at driving around Brisbane. Southbank is too far away for me... sorry ladies.

I also have problems with public transport. You will be asking alot to get me onto a train. Everytime I get on one, something bad happens. I'll give you 3 examples of things that have happened to me:
1. The train stopped every 10 mins for 20 seconds, no-one knew what was going on, and it took forever to get home.
2. I needed to get to the Sunny Coast, but there were Bushfires across the traintracks. We were stranded for hours until the finally decided we should go on buses... egh.
3. I was unfortunate enough to get stuck sitting next to a lady who threw up all over herself on the trip home.

That last one was definatly the worst, and I havent been on a train ever since.

SO in other news... Nat and I are officially having a break. He asked me to leave because he wants a partner who knows what they want, someone who is sure they love him. I dont know if I love him, I dont know if this is what I want. I think we didnt really have enough time to establish a good relationship before getting pregnant... during the pregnancy, our relationship was HELL. Things have gotten better since El was born but Im just not sure if he's who I want anymore. I dont think he's the one Im supposed to be with forever... but I dont want to leave for sure, because I dont have anywhere to go, and I dont want to be a single Mum...

*sighs* So much to think about over the next few days.

Im still at our place, just staying in the spare room...

:confused:

amandaw
07-12-2006, 09:10
Oh Jessi...a really hard spot to be in! All we can offer is an ear for you to sound things off while you sort it all through

I know there's no point staying together 'just for the children' as the old adage goes, but I can't believe that Nat can walk awy from El so easily....enough from me though...I'll butt out of it

Sending lots of positive vibes your way!

*Country Bumpkin*
07-12-2006, 09:19
Jessi- I PMd u re- the picnic earlier.

On the relathionship front- I know what you mean and I have been having the exact same thoughts for ages now. As for Nat telling u that he wants someone who loves him well I presonaly think he needs to wake up- hes not helped the situation at all.

He has made no effort to help you and by the sounds of it from what you have said- Nat causes alot of the problems himslef- leaving mess, yelling at you, not helping with El etc....

I persoanly think that HE needs to pull his head out of his behind and make an effort too. Its a two way street thats what beig in a partnership is all about.

Maybe with a little time apart you will both decide what you want-

I will say this though-you DESERVE a guy who will help u and treat you alot beter that what Nat has been treating you thats for sure.

Your always welcome at our house if you ever get stuck or just need to get away and have a break just rememebr that:hugs:

wattle
07-12-2006, 09:25
Lovely photos of Skyla, Adele. You'll love looking back on those in the years to come.

Here's a couple of Max and Steph
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/Dec0605.jpg
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/Dec0604.jpg
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/maxhata.jpg

amandaw
07-12-2006, 09:35
I love the last one....putting the baby items onto something else (or someone in this case :) ) certainly puts their size into perspective hey...no matter how big they've got, they really are still so little! It's like putting a newborn nappy up against them now!

jessi
07-12-2006, 09:36
I can't believe that Nat can walk awy from El so easily....

No.. He just asked ME to leave. He expects me to leave El with him. But 1. I am NOT leaving my daughter and 2. How the hell does he expect to look after her? He cant do it when im here to help him!

I guess you could say Im in abit of a pickle.

Adele - he doesnt think hes doing anything wrong... and thanks for the message, but I still dont think I'll be going to the picnic...

:gloomy:

amandaw
07-12-2006, 09:47
[QUOTE=jessi;882169]No.. He just asked ME to leave. He expects me to leave El with him. But 1. I am NOT leaving my daughter and 2. How the hell does he expect to look after her? He cant do it when im here to help him!

[QUOTE]

Odd, odd man ....doesn't he realise that you come as a package????? Didn't his attempt at attaching El teach him that lactation could be a serious issue for him!! (sorry just trying to make you smile!)

Maybe the spare room is a good place for the moment, but at some stage a real decision will need to be made...just think about what's best for all of you (easier said then done I know!). Probably the worst part is the 'trapped' feeling you have...DH and i went through a rough patch years and years and years ago (long story there) and I think I would have left if I felt I had somewhere to go (my parents are down the coast too, but I was at uni up here, and needing to go there would have meant airing all the dirty laundry and I was desperate not to do that). We spent a very tense 6 months before we really connected again properly, and of course this one had a happy ending as we've been happily married nearly 4 years now........ It can work (as Adele said if YOU actually want it to work) but it was tough and I don't envy you. As I said lots of :hugs: and positive vibes your way

lottiesmum
07-12-2006, 10:18
morning all,

hive of action here as usual...wish i could make it to the brisbane or sydney meetup!

beany you are a meany :laughing: a murder of toddlers indeed!!!! you just wait until asher is a lovable, messy emotional bundle of toddler joy!

S_J - i am a HUGE Robin fan...what a fantastic opportunity. pls keep us posted and filled in. however, i am most jealous about your cleaners...i've not found cleaners since we moved house actually - i'm trying to do it myself as part of my SAHM economies - so i can still splurge on treats without feeling too guilty :o

Jessi - hmmm...well i'm old and by nature traditional and conservative (I AM an accountant after all :rolleyes: ) so i'm not going to try to say anything other than tread carefully. having a child is such a big change to a relationship, so i hope you can go easy on each other. :hugs:

AmandaW - forgot to say a BIG CONGRATS on your uni result. clever you!

got to go supervise a poo. god my life is glamorous!

littlepickle
07-12-2006, 10:21
Jessi,
I'm so sorry to hear that you are having such a rough time of it. I dont really have any advice to add except that hopefully you and Nat will be able to get things back on track if that is what you want. Maybe given a bit of space, things will be a lot clearer for you both. As others have said, we are here as sounding boards if ever you need someone to talk to. :hugs:

littlepickle
07-12-2006, 10:26
Are we set for Friday next week at Southbank? What time do you think would be best? 10.30 before the sun gets too hot? What does everyone else think?
So far we have
Me
Alli
Adele (maybe)
Tash

If there is another day that would be more suitable, I am flexible. I just thought that putting some firm dates out there would help to sort of finalise the arrangements.
Amanda, I am sorry you wouldnt be able to make it

littlepickle
07-12-2006, 10:29
Clicky Hips.....

No not Elises hips ... MINE!

Has anyone else been getting this? Since E was born I have noticed that my hips keep clicking and sometimes feel really uncomfortable as if they need to click IFKWIM. I was thinking this is a casualty of childbirth but thought that it would have gone by now. Is it just me or have others also been getting this?

AF - Well I still havent had AF, and there are no signs of it showing up either. Not that I am bothered though!

Baby Christmas Hats - Where did you all buy the baby sized Christmas hats?

amandaw
07-12-2006, 10:40
I haven't had clicky hips, but my left knee has been caining!!! Just under the patela on the outer side...not even sure who to see about it Dr or physio??? I haven't 'done' anything as such so am assuming it is just a little bit of a stress thing from carrying baby belly (and baby since....gee my posture has been atrocious!!! I'll have to fix that up before I go back to school otherwise I'll have classes full of teenegers who sit backwards in their hips :laughing: not a good selling point!)...have been hoping it would repair itself, but no luck yet.

Also I'm pretty sure you have Lilbugalugs (+2) on board as well....don't stress about me, as I said, really disappointed that i won't be meeting everyone, but this suits Tash and Lilbugalugs better and they're the harder one's to plan around at the moment....there just has to be another one before I go back to school :yes:

lilbugalugs
07-12-2006, 11:00
Ummm don't plan anything around me!! I am not sure what is happening here all the time, it really depends on what is happening with Hubby next week....Erin starts childcare one day a week and her first day is next Thursday...I just kind of want to be around just in case she finds it hard on the first day.

kristi001
07-12-2006, 11:03
Okie Dokie I Think i have work thi sdarn Picture thing out

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/8854/santaphotokq2.jpg

Here Goes nothing ( for the tenth time )

*Country Bumpkin*
07-12-2006, 11:05
Clicky hips- My hips have always been clicky but they are worse since having skyla- Im assuming its due to the added stress and pressure of carrying and pushing a bub out:rolleyes:

My knees dislocate also- it happened the other day at chermside- I go stuck and couldnt move lol I was tryiNg to hobble along I ended up having to croch down and snap it back into place- OWWWWWWIEEEEES

Santa Hat- I got Skylas from Kmart. It came with a little christmas shirt and was only $7! Bargain. Big W also has baby s/hats they are pink or blue and have Baby 1st christmas 2006 on them they are about $6 from memory

littlepickle
07-12-2006, 11:19
Thanks Adele :-) I will go have a looksy today:thumbsup:

amandaw
07-12-2006, 11:20
AmandaW - forgot to say a BIG CONGRATS on your uni result. clever you!

Thanks...certainly makes me feel better about showing the end product to my principal...that was one of the conditions of allowing me to undertake the research project on the kids (has to all get signed off these days, but at least it wasn't head office...they took a month just to return an email!)...I was a bit concerned that I might get a dodgy result which would have made me really reluctant to go and see her (she's like an elephant....the two times I've been up there she's asked, so there was no getting out of it!)

Okie Dokie I think i have worked this Picture thing out :D

[URL=http://imageshack.us][IMG]http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/638/santaphotolf3

Here goes nothing

Harrison looks like he's loving that!

oh and has anyone investigated swim nappies? I could only find fluro orange and blue at Kid Central (though I do know they come in pink) but have had trouble locating anywhere else. have looked online at Splash About (they've been really efficient at returning emails)...any feedback on their products? Everyone says to just take her in nude, but I know what comes out that end of her :rolleyes:

*Country Bumpkin*
07-12-2006, 11:25
oh and has anyone investicated swim nappies? I could only find fluro orande and blue at Kid Central (though I do know they come in pink) but to locate anywhere else. have looked online at Splash About (they've been really efficient at returning emails)...any feedback on their products? Everyone says to just take her in nude, but Io know what comes out that end of her :rolleyes:

www.darlingsdownunder.com.au (http://www.darlingsdownunder.com.au) they sell them and you can also buy them at kmart we swim alot so I have a few:thumbsup:

Bella8
07-12-2006, 11:30
hello there
Jessi - so sorry to hear about your situation :( As if having a baby isn't enough to deal with aswell as relationship problems. I think you are doing the right thing by trying to give yourselves some space to work out what you both want. I hope it all works out (whether thats together or apart). You guys are the only ones who can decide that. We will all be here for support either way.

I'm wondering.. are there any single mums in this group? At the start of my pregnancy I honestly thought I was going to be one as my partner wasn't supportive at all. Although we'd been trying for a year when it happened he wasn't sure if that's what he wanted!! :banghead: In the end, he was just scared but at the time he was a real &%$# and we almost broke up over it. Although I was frightened at the thought of being a single mum I knew I would cope and that bubs would be better off... sounds like your partner wants to be the single dad though.. tough one. Then again, I know if my partner and I broke up, he would want Caleb too.....

BOOBS - WOW what a response!!! Many of which made me laugh!!
Kristi – we can be in pain together
Lottiesmum – oh please don’t say saggy boobs are here to stay!!!!!!!!!!!
Missie_mack – glad to hear you’re jugglies are ‘keeping up’ appearances. Maybe it was all the pulling and prodding of breastfeeding that emptied mine out????
Beany – “When drained, they look really quite pathetic - all floppy and sad, like deflated balloons”. HA HA HA This is what mine are like!!!! Floppy and sad.. HA HA HA thanks for the giggle
Jessie & Shed – you too?? I’m glad I’m not in this alone!! Oh and Shed, love the hair yeah yeah
AlliJB – working boobs – good one!!! Mine are retired but they worked hard so I guess they’re entitled to a nap!

Beany – oh that’s how you keep up with posting… oh hang on, my house is a mess too, even though I feel I clean it every day. Maybe I just won’t bother!! And I’m with you on the shock of having bubs in ‘crawler’ nappies. I too have days when I wish he was little again, it all just happened too fast. I’m kicking myself now as when he was little all I wanted him to do was grow up!!!!!!!!

Adele & Wattle – love the pics!! I’m trying to take some for chrissy cards but every time I point the camera at him he stops smiling and just does this ET alien stare back at me!!! I think he’s looking at he light on the camera!!

Meet ups - is everyone from Sydney or Brissy???? I'm feeling left out, I'm from Adelaide.. :(

Cary - Hi and welcome!

Xmas hats - can also get them at Target with a santa romper for about $15 or with a t-shift at go-lo for $7. They're great aren't they!!!

Injections - Caleb had his yesterday and screamed the doctors office down. Poor little fella. Wasn't too bad on the way home but was cranky last night and this morning. Oh well, over with now!!!

Hi to everyone else I missed :wave:

Renae.

Bella8
07-12-2006, 11:36
Adele - any news??? :fingerscrossed:

wattle
07-12-2006, 11:50
Hey littlepickle, can't remember where I bought the santa hat, probably a $2 shop or the Reject shop. This year I bought a (please don't laugh) dog santa hat for Steph because it looked small enough for her head, but it was too small.:confused: So I hunted around and found last years one.

cheekypossum
07-12-2006, 12:22

Brissie meet - next Friday at 10.30 at Southbank sounds really good for me....though I feel really bad that Amanda cannot come as she was one of the 1st organisers of the meet:thumbsdown: I am quite flexible though.....and now EXTRA excited that we have a time and place set

Bella - Dont feel left out...I am originally from Innisfail...just holidaying of sorts in Brissie

Jessi - Big hugs on your break :hugs: Maybe it will give you guys a chance to sort things out....he does not sound like the most supportive person out there (please don't take offence)...but then I don't really know the two of you really well so It is not my place to say things like taht....just take it easy and I hope it all sorts itself out soon

Littlepickle - Can you PM Noosamum...I think I know how to do it but don't want to stuff it up

Ciao

cheekypossum
07-12-2006, 12:25
Maybe Monique can come next week??

*Country Bumpkin*
07-12-2006, 12:47
Adele - any news??? :fingerscrossed:

I assume u mean about AF..... if so nothing nada zip zero. No cramps no spotting no nothing EXCEPT preg like symptoms.

I think if I am I will run away and hide. Ill be going into Sheds tree:gloomy: Merry christmas us.

Dont get me wrong I would LOVE a new buba but right now definitly wouldnt be the best time.

Fairyfloss
07-12-2006, 13:20
Don't have much time, so just a quick note for
Jessie: I hope things work out for you and nat, but I was thinking seeking legal aid won't hurt, specially if nat is trying to keep the baby and you leave, you might be forced to pay him child support, and also ask them on what you need to do in order to keep the baby, and don't forget to snoop around and make copies of documents that shows his income for child support,they all try to hide income to pay less.
if you do endup leaving which I hope you won't, I don't want to see you being left high and dry.
BTW there are free legal services for people with no or low income, if you have a healthcare card.( or try getting one if you are eligible)

Hang in there dal I hope nat come around and it all works out for you:hugs:

littlepickle
07-12-2006, 14:07
Adele - :fingerscrossed: your not the big "P" Chances are your not though, like you said, you are on depo, plus using condoms. And on top of that, your AF is not likely to be regular for a while yet despite the fact that you had AF since Skyla was born. The amount of times I had pg syptoms when TTC without being pg wasnt funny.. nature is cruel like that, but when I was actually pg, I just knew if that maes sense. If you really do think that you are pg, then why not do a test to know for sure? Good Luck!

littlepickle
07-12-2006, 14:27
Just a quick question to those mums who have relactated. Did you use a nursing suplementer and if so, did you find it any good? I am still trying to move away from having any supplement feeds but cant seem to get E interested in the breast when theres not much there as she is so impatient. This happens mainly at night. Anyway I was thinking of getting a supplementer to use for her night time feeds instead of using the bottle so that we can try to eliminate the bottle alltogether

kristi001
07-12-2006, 16:50
Just a quick question to those mums who have relactated. Did you use a nursing suplementer and if so, did you find it any good? I am still trying to move away from having any supplement feeds but cant seem to get E interested in the breast when theres not much there as she is so impatient. This happens mainly at night. Anyway I was thinking of getting a supplementer to use for her night time feeds instead of using the bottle so that we can try to eliminate the bottle alltogether

OKie Dokie i am Currently trying out the suppliment feeding system.. Hasnt yet got the hang of it but i love it.. As soon as He gets the hang and latches on i am eliminating his bottles all together..
1. to increase my milk supply
2. So he never remembers that darn thing AgAiN!! :) Didnt realise how easy it was for me to attach him when he hadnt touched the bottle yet... Now.. Its a nightmare!!!

So in You question.. I would suggest it... I think its a Handy little device!!!

Beany
07-12-2006, 16:55
LP: have you been taking fenugreek? Shed had altogether far too much success when on that ...

Jessi: when it rains, it pours, huh? :hugs: You poor thing. I tend to agree with Amanda - give it time and effort and things might sort themselves out. You both started your relationship as completely different people - you are now a mum and a dad. It takes some adjusting. I think perhaps the pair of you need to look into getting some counselling.

Oh, and have some more of these :hugs:

shed
07-12-2006, 18:00
Kristi, I recognise the chair and the background on Santa! Harrison looks gorgeous and happy as larry. I was hoping to see you guys today. aww.

Well it looks like it was busy on bubhub today and I missed it due to the meet. I see Adele is banned...wonder what thats all about.

Anyway, it was a lovely day today at the meet. I had a lovely lovely day. Missie-mack it was so nice to meet you and I know I probably said it enough times to be a bit creepy but I will say it just once more so the others know...your baby is SERIOUSLY cute. I was completely enchanted by him!

Jane, you buggered off before I had a chance to sit down and talk to you properly. That always happens to me, that's what my doula did the other week. I understand though, better to let Scarlett have her nap at the usual time than have a feral toddler on the loose at Homebush LOL. Can't wait for those days, ha ha yeah.

Mrs Potts
07-12-2006, 18:09
Just popping in quickly. My head is spinning from trying to keep up with all the posts.

We had Miss K weighed today. Little porker has put on 900g in 3 weeks :eek: She also pee'd on the nurse! hehe

Jessi - hugs for you.

I'm so jealous of all of you having meets. I'll just have to wait til Uniquey gets down here in January.

*grunt snuffle* sounds like someone's awake. Best go get her and put the big boy to bed.

wattle
07-12-2006, 18:10
Adele is banned :confused: Anyone know what happened?

Kristi, that's the cutest photo. Well done! What a brilliant smile.

jessi
07-12-2006, 18:13
Not sure, although I just got a major infraction. Ooops.

*I just spoke to her, she said she didnt know what she had done and was waiting for a PM from the Mods!

mumstar
07-12-2006, 18:43
Hi there my name is tegan

im new to bubhub and found this thread!! hope you guys dont mind if i join in??? ds2 (noah) was born on 21/8/06 and would be great to chat to some other mums going through things at the same time as me!
ds1 (aiden) was born 18/2/04 and is loving having a little brother to help mummy look after!!

Beany
07-12-2006, 18:51
why did you get an infraction, Jess?

Oooooh what a bunch of nosey old biddies we are in here!

We had a great time at the Sydney meet today! Asher got all cooey and gurgly on the walk to the train station which soon became "pick me up, mummy!" noises which became "what the hell?! Pick me up! NOW!"

I stood on the roadside strapping a baby bjorn on while Coopsntilly and Krisseh laughed at me and congratulated Asher on his victory. As soon as he was strapped in and we walked on, he looked up at me, eyes wide, grin even wider and said "cooooorrrrrrrrr!". Translation: "sucked in, mum!" Little wretch :D

He went back into his pram on the train and even fell asleep as soon as we walked out at Town Hall - no complaints or anything. One minute he was looking up at me and smiling and chatting, the next his smile faded a little, his blinks got slower and then off to the land of nod. Cute!

Jane: wish we'd had more time to chat but I know that's wishful thinking with a toddler running around! Next time, though!

*yawn* I've got to get me some caffeine.

Beany
07-12-2006, 18:52
Hi Tegan! :wave: Welcome to the Augustians!

mumstar
07-12-2006, 19:03
where are you all from??? im in perth

jessi
07-12-2006, 19:07
Hi Tegan, Im from Brisbane. :wave:

I got an infraction for trying to sell my jewellery through bubhub. :(

mumstar
07-12-2006, 19:32
thats not good jessi :( i didn't know you couldn't sell stuff like that :( anyways i checked out your myspace page too, its really good i added you as a friend if thats ok hehehe!!!

biscotti
07-12-2006, 19:41
NoosaMum Do your friends at Graceville still need a Pram?
Thanks Uniquey for thinking of them but I have given them my old one, but thanks again for the thought :xmas:

biscotti
07-12-2006, 19:45
Just ducking out from under my mushroom for a sec, (I never know what's going on) - why is Adele banned, what happened? :confused:

missie_mack
07-12-2006, 20:01
Hiya Noosamum :wave: (seeing I missed you last time!)... Im looking to see why myself. Will post if I find anything worthy.. Gosh Im a sticky beak!!

missie_mack
07-12-2006, 20:20
Nope cant see anything just quickly that could be contentious.. ah well if anyone finds out Im sure we will all know.

Loooooong day here. We went to the Sydney meet today and met the lovely Beany, Shed and Jane. All such cute bubbas I just cant believe how relaxed everyones babies are especially little Jasper! DS just cant sit still or stop looking at everything!! After the meet (where I got too much sun :rolleyes: ) we went into the city. My DH decided to drive and I will never know why he does this cause he HATES city driving it stresses him out. Anyhow we got our Santa photo taken but it was hard to get a smile out of DS which is unusual and he usually loves strangers. I will post his picture as soon as I work out how you all do it with that bucket program thingy... Anyhow we bought some great food at the DJ's food court and finally found a bounce and spin Zebra which we have been looking for everywhere. We looked at the christmas decos and well DH has decided that the decorations just arent as good as they were last year. Does anyone else find this??

Thanks for the lovely compliments about James, Shed. Like I said we think he is cute but we are biased. Not to be a proud mummy or anything (or brag) but its unbelievable the amount of people that comment on our baby when we were out. Even my MIL was shocked at the amount of comments we got the other week- on Oxford Street of all places! She's decided that we strap him in the pram when he sits up so no one can steal him :laughing: She reckons he is just like my DH I cant see it I think he's a lucky mix of both of us.....

Oh I forgot to mention today while I was at the Sydney meet about organising something for dear Noosamum when she comes down. I know Ive mentioned it before but Im a freak for being organised about what Im doing with things like that......

Re: Clicky hips. Oh thankgod Im not alone with this I assumed I was broken. Dont know if its a birthing thing if I have it (Im a c section mummy) but I did do 20 hrs of labour so maybe that can count?? I thought it was to do with DS going postierier (however you spell the word my mind is broken too lol) but maybe not if others have it..... again I know its bad but Im so glad Im not alone with this...

Anyhow we are just home and Im catching up on bubhub.. but Im exhausted and my feet hurt Im going for a soak
Oh and 2 more sleeps until I see my spunky Robbie..... insert love struck teenager face lol

missie_mack
07-12-2006, 20:27
Ooops I forgot

Welcome Mumstar!!

Jessi- I dont have the right words Im sure but relationships are never easy in general. I think babies make things worse. Im really lucky I have a great DH and know how rare he is (thats why I married him :D that and his cute bum lol) Just remember to place things in perspective as you are now a family and take the steps needed to do the best for yourself and your daughter.... what doesnt kill us only makes us stronger! :yes:

Heres the link to our Christmas photo....
http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/4702/santasmallpicnr7.jpg

ogilberry
07-12-2006, 20:34
you gals make me laugh hehe...

i think ill fit right in here hehe:wizard:

littlepickle
07-12-2006, 20:49
Adele is banned :confused: Anyone know what happened?

Kristi, that's the cutest photo. Well done! What a brilliant smile.

Probably best not to discuss.

Missie_Mack - E was posterior too - so maybe the clicky hip thing has something to do with a posterior bub???

I managed to find a little santa suit in target today for $13 Yay! E had her photo done with Santa too!

Elise's Santa Pic (http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n275/littlepickle/12-07-2006_061_1.jpg)

Ogilberry and Tegan - Welcome to the August Mums thread!:wave:

beany - I have a bottle of Fenugreek but it makes me feel really sick - the smell that is, I find that I smell like a bottle of maple syrup when I take it.

mumstar
07-12-2006, 22:33
Thanks all for the very warm welcome!!! Missy Mack i saw robbie last week in perth and it was soooooo fantastic! The best show i have ever seen and it made for a nice little break from the kiddie winks!!

littlepickle
07-12-2006, 23:05
:smiliedance: Ive just finished writing my Christmas Cards! And I am almost done with the Christmas shopping too! Not bad considering I only started it all last week! Suffice to say I am very pleased with myself!

I have been trying to get more into the whole Christmas spirit. I have been turning on the Christmas lights, burning christmas scented melts in the oil burner, wrapping presents, writing cards, and today I bought "love actually" for $12.99 in target as I figured it was a christmassy sort of film.

Shed - Baden looks a lot like you! Love the new avatar btw

Beany
07-12-2006, 23:12
"Love Actually" makes me so homesick ... I watched it with my best friend when I was last over in London. 2003. What a long time ago that was *sigh*

Fairyfloss
07-12-2006, 23:34
couple of quick personals

Ogilberry and Tegan - Welcome to the August Mums thread:wave:
jessie: hang in there dal:hugs: , it will get better :yes:
sydney ladies: your day sounds like fun
Wattle: I have just PMed you in regards to mothers group.

littlejoy
08-12-2006, 08:31
:wave: to everyone... sorry I don't have time for a post with personals at the moment.. trying to get my house in some sort of shape for Christmas.... painting, gardening etc etc and yes it is going to take 3 weeks.. seems that having a baby and a business and an addiction to bub hub (lurking mainly) creates one messy house!!!!:o
I am not sure how to send a PM otherwise I would have so sorry to bore everyone.. but Jane with the uberkate I am going to get some but can't decide between the totally flat or the rounded and thought seeing as you have them you know what they look like and what looks better...... (well in your opinion anyway..) also are they shiny or matt???? Thanks again..

Oh and by the way everyone I bought a GHD hair straightener.. OMG where has this fine piece of technology been all my life... I luv luv luv it!!! I bought it in a chrissy pack which had a heap of products in it for $375.....

I will try to get back on later with some personals..
Jessi I really hope everything works out ok for you!!!!:hugs:

shed
08-12-2006, 08:42
How does one go about hiring a cleaner? I have decided to get this place cleaned up and since it doesn't appear to come naturally to me then someone else might get some satisfaction of making this place sparkle.

Mrs Potts
08-12-2006, 09:00
Shed - in my experience the best way to find a cleaner is word of mouth! Ask everyone you know - you might be surprised to find out who has a cleaner.

Jessi - hope things are settling down for you.

I love all the Santa photos. such gorgeous bubs.

Welcome to the new August mummies! You don't have to be crazy to post here, but it helps :D

jessi
08-12-2006, 09:29

Adele says hi! She is really bored though... no bubhub! I am going to her place on Monday and we are going to go shopping and do some artsy fartsy stuf together. [text removed by admin]

No news from me otherwise...

Peace <3

littlepickle
08-12-2006, 09:54
*putting on mod hat for a moment*
Any issues to do with moderation or other members issues in regards to moderation should be directed either to another moderator or the site administrator rather than discussed on the open forum. :D

jessi
08-12-2006, 10:19
I was just passing on a message from Adele.

mumstar
08-12-2006, 10:28
Good morning all!

Well im off to the child health clinic in a minute to get little noah weighted and measured! i am really looking forward to how much he weighs now he seems like such a little buddah to me!! I'm starting to stress a little as i havent even started my chrissy shoping, but my MIL has said she will look after both the boys on Sat so hubby and i can attack the shops childless... On another front though was feeling very motivated and did a huge spring clean of my house yesterday ( yes i know its summer but was kinda busy having a baby in the middle of spring!) and at least that is one thing done before christmas! We are having all the family around here as i dont want to be driving around all day when Aiden will just want to stay at home and play with his pressies anyway! Anyway got to go and pack the nappy bag and get some bottles ready! Have a great day everyone, will check in later with health clinic details!

jessi
08-12-2006, 12:44
Ladies,

Just wanted to say thanks for helping me through my time here at bubhub-I know I probably need you all more than ever now, though unfortunatly I have decided to leave.
I wish you all well, and hope that the comming years bring you lots of exciting adventures.
I will miss you all greatly... You're a bunch of special women.

*Raises a glass* To being alone!

Merry Christmas.

Peace

P.S. if you wish to contact me, my email is jess5ash@hotmail.com

Beany
08-12-2006, 12:47
Oh Jess ...

I hope it all works out for you. Good luck and all the best!

biscotti
08-12-2006, 13:07
Jess - I just tried to Pm you but it wouldn't for some reason :confused:

I just wanted to say in my own bumbling stumbling way, .....take a break, catch your breath and then come back. I say this only because I think you may be in a situation where it is a good thing to have somewhere to go, even if it is a cyber place.
Stay in touch jessi - hugs for you and little El,
Noosamum XX

mumstar
08-12-2006, 15:27

back from noahs 3-4 month checkup and he is doing smashingly!!! 6.6kgs now and 63cms long... he is doing all the right things looking around heaps, feeding a good amont and getting stronger with his neck everyday!! he sleeps through the night which is just a blessing as my first ds aiden didnt sleep through till 9 months old! hope you are all well, now i just have to book in noah for his immunisations :( i hate them :(

kristi001
08-12-2006, 16:00
:wave: MuMsTaR!!! Welcome to the house of Horrors!!! only joking ladies..

Shed.. :( I was totally dying to go on thursday but i had to wait for my castle hampers to arrive... I was very dissapointed i heard there was a Bit of a turn out too..

Jessie OMG we are losing our Hippy Mummi!!! Goodluck with everything girl...

Beany Oh Women your a sucka .. He has you wrapped around your little finger!!! hehe i have wanted to say that to someone i am sick of ppl saying it to me!!

Re lactating Ok i went to the health Clinic to see the lactation consultant... finally... She has set me out a plan wich she calls 48 hours of brutal love!!!

As she is telling me this i was getting tears in my eyes i might add...

Well i have to basically not give him a bottle in 48 hours.. Only feed him using the Feeding system!! So basically he feels the only option is to attach to the breast to eat.. No body can handle him besides me.. Not even a little hold!!! I have to have him as close to me as possible the whole 48 hours... So carry him ( skin to skin ) Sleep with him, bath with him... If he is awake he has to be in my arm and if he is asleep i am right there next to him..

So apparently after this 48 hours he will attach naturally to the breast and i cant give him a bottle for at least 7-8 days...So If i go out i have to feed him with a bottle hanging around my neck cause i have not yet got milk yet but cause i am using te suppliment feeding system it will slowly increase from him sucking..

So for that 48 hours NO BUBHUB!!! OMG HOW WILL I SURVIVE!!!

i am thinking of starting on tue morning... so tue and wednesday i will be on a mission to attach!! I will be needing some strength vibes ladies to get through those two days!!

shed
08-12-2006, 16:53
oh geezus kristi001, good luck. I know you really want this so just stay strong. OMG I don't envy you one little bit, not one little bit.

Stay strong. Its going to be a bit tough by the sounds of it.

Baden got his photo taken today, by one of those shopping centre ones that charge a few bucks and then rob you when you buy the photos. that's okay, whatever! Little Masterpieces or something.

He looked so cute, smiling and giggling away but the weird chick with the camera didn't click it when he was smiling. Bizz-arrre. So I don't know how they will turn out. Oh well, saves me a couple of hundred bucks.

I just thought she was a very weird girl. She would make a strange brrrrrrrrrrrrr noise right in his face, he just gave her a bit of an odd look and then when she moved away a bit he would smile. He was cracking up at the other lady. And the camera lady was yelling "Brayden, Brayden" in his face. I said nothing. There is no point in correcting her.

You know who I miss? I miss Raffee.

Beany
08-12-2006, 17:19
I've done nothing all day.

Tell a lie. I walked out to the front desk of my building and picked up a parcel containing a maternity bra. That was it.

(apart from looking after Asher, of course!)

He's been a funny boy today - all giggly and chirpy. He had a huge sleep - from 11pm till 8am and then went back to bed after a 20 minute feed 11am. He's been chattering away to himself, the lampshade, his toys ... I went into the kitchen with him as I put my cereal bowl in the sink (still unwashed!) and he looked around in utter amazement. It occurred to me then that he never really goes into the kitchen. It's all new and exciting in there! Well, I hope the novelty doesn't wear off too soon as I've been asked to make another cheesecake for Christmas this year. That's all I've agreed to, which is a significant step down from prior years when I've been in there making not just cheesecake but mince pies, cheesy biscuits and fruit cake as well.

That is going in the "Not happening this year" box. Along with sex. :laughing:

Beany
08-12-2006, 17:22
Raffee: if you are reading this, STOP. Write a message instead :D

wattle
08-12-2006, 18:08
Oh kirsti what a brave mummy you are. I'm sure it will be an intense 48 hours. You'll probably look back on it in years to come and remember all the love and effort you put into this. I imagine all that skin time will be wonderful for your bonding too. Sending lots of support vibes your way.

Beany
08-12-2006, 18:10
Kristi: :eek: You brave brave woman!

Best of luck and let us know all about it when the Weekend of Boobage is over!

wattle
08-12-2006, 18:24
Yes Raffee.......we want you back pleeeeease.

Sounds like Asher has been full of beanys today. :laughing: What a cutie pie. Steph reached out for a toy today for the first time, it was lovely. Then she clutched onto it so tightly I could hardly get it out of her tiny fist. So cute.

aaaaagh, Christmas. For some silly reason I have been delegated to cook Chrissy dinner for my parents (the whole deal hot turkey etc) AND chistmas lunch the next day for the inlaws. Maybe I'll give the kids a nice serve of eggnog to keep them quiet....hehe, no only kidding. I used to love cooking, but it's a lot harder now with a zillion interruptions.

Is anyone else cooking this year? Last year I made a lovely stuffing for the turkey. It's so hard though with all the allergies. Mum is allergic to onions, garlic, chives, pepper and leeks. Max is allergic to eggs, nuts, shellfish and reacts badly to wheat, citrus, tomatoes, preservatives and food colouring. Dad won't eat cooked carrots (:rolleyes: ), broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms or cabbage, and dh doesn't like any meat with bones or salad. GIVE ME A BREAK!!!!!! I eat anything. grrrrrrrrrrr. So Steph and I are the only easy ones. I guess I'd better get started thinking about it. I wonder if turkeys have preservatives in them?

littlepickle
08-12-2006, 19:08
Wattle - god luck with your Chrissy dinner! It must be sooo difficult when you have to be so careful! We are having a full Turkey dinner this year - not my normal style but as i is only really me and dh for dinner then I figured why not! We even hae a little christmas pud from DJ's (and I dont like christmas pud) as far as any other cooking or baking goes.. I'm not going to bother this year either .. havent got the time or the inclination!

Kristi - good luck with your 48 hour boobathon! Let us know how you get on!

Beany
08-12-2006, 19:24
Mum is allergic to onions, garlic, chives, pepper and leeks. Max is allergic to eggs, nuts, shellfish and reacts badly to wheat, citrus, tomatoes, preservatives and food colouring. Dad won't eat cooked carrots (:rolleyes: ), broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms or cabbage, and dh doesn't like any meat with bones or salad.

Ice cubes all around, then! :D

People here are difficult too but nowhere near to that extent. Noodle's eldest sibling won't eat shellfish. His wife keeps pet birds and, while happy enough to eat turkey, she gets distressed about the idea if the turkey looks like a turkey ... it has to be boned out and cooked as a turkey roll or precious little princess won't have any.

The next sibling down has gone vegetarian and won't eat fish either. And she's allergic to strawberries and raspberries. Her husband won't eat anything with sultanas or cheesecake if it has any sort of fruit topping.

The next one down won't eat fish of any kind or garlic (though I cook with garlic all the time and unless she sees me putting it in, she will slurp the food up). His mother won't eat garlic (though the same rule as above applies) or fish either.

His father won't eat broccoli, squash or brussel sprouts.

Noodle ... he'll eat anything.

biscotti
08-12-2006, 19:31
I miss raffee too, a lot... hugs to you raffee, ....I miss my3sons also.

Cathy - - I am doing Chrsitmas day lunch here in noosa for my family (my parents, my brother, his wife and children) and then here again Boxing Day for DH's family...about 15 adults and 12 children (this is the problem when you move to Noosa, family get togethers planned by the family, suddenly can only be done in Noosa).

So, Cathy....what are we cooking :D ???? Inspire me!! I bought Donna Hays Dec issue today hoping that she would have a banquet for 20 all planned out for me :fingerscrossed: Haven't looked yet.
Little Pickle - the thought of just DH and me and our children and a turkey and a pudding from DJ's sounds like Christmas heaven. My DH is one of 6 children, so his parents plus his 5 siblings plus their partners + all their children all in my house- ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH - that's me running for the nearest hills :laughing:

Kristi - oh good for you!! I am so pleased for you. Go Kristi go!!

Shed - I had Clio's pics done too by one of those shopping centre mob. Musrt have been the same girl lol, or maybe they train them to make that brrrrrrrrrrr noise :laughing: . Clio just looked bored and gave her that "yeah...right" look

ooops, gotta go, BBL,

Noosamum XX

biscotti
08-12-2006, 19:36
I'm back, ......I had more personals but they've disapeared into cyber space (master 9 took over the computer) while I was gone :confused: ....would a "hello" to everyone suffice while I see if I can get them back.....
Oh btw, sydney girls - sounds like you had a great meet !!

And I love all the Christmas photos!!

biscotti
08-12-2006, 19:40
Oh Beany and Cathy - reading all that reminded me that I have to ask DH which sister is vegan, which sister is vegetarian but will eat chicken, which brother eats seafood but can't shell them himself, which niece is allergic to wheat, which nephew can't eat anything green....and which SIL to hide the wine from...

....how about toast and tea........
:tree:

wattle
08-12-2006, 20:08
hmm, toast & tea sounds good. Maybe I'll knock up a round of air sandwiches made from gluten free bread with polyunsaturated monounsaturated low gi easily spreadable butter margarine with no added blah blah blah aaah.

Actually I could make a nice breast milk frappe. :laughing:

No seriously I might do similar to last year, without the morning sickness this time - hooray!

Here's a few tips -
Before you stuff the turkey, wipe it inside and out well with paper towel.
Push pieces of butter right up under the skin, makes it much moister.
Don't put salt on the outside before it's cooked - use olive oil then paprika, pepper & other spices.
Last year I made up a stuffing, it was great. From memory it was fresh breadcrumbs, egg, parsley, pineapple sage, oregano, orange rind, lemon rind, squeeze orange juice, salt, pepper & a few sultanas. Would probably be nice with flaked almonds or pine nuts too.
Put it in for 30 mins or so on super hot, then reduce the temp to 160 and slow cook for hours. Let it rest for 45 mins. That way it's super crispy and juicy.
Cook it on an oven rack in the tray or over a tray, so the air gets all around it.

I'll probably just serve it with roast veg (pre cook in microwave, then toss into large dish and roast on high temp while turkey is resting), maybe some easy green veg like zuccini or beans, and gravy. Oh yeah, and lots of cranberry. mmmmm, hungry now.

Anyone got some good ideas for nibbles or entree?

biscotti
08-12-2006, 20:31
Actually I could make a nice breast milk frappe.

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

amandaw
08-12-2006, 20:32
Hi all...haven't we been busy little bees in the last 24 hours!!!! (with plenty of action to boot!)

Welcome to Ogilberry and Mumster...Looking foward to meeting up with you on Thursday Fiona (managed to find a bus....that's a start!!!)

Great photos Missie Mack and Little Pickle...we're doing our Santa one tomorrow so really looking foward to that!

Little Pickle - I wrote out a cgristmas card list about a month ago in a single moment of preparedness, but of course there's not one card written yet (oh I lie, I did one to put in a package for my best mate whose in England atm)....to make matters worse, my thanks yous for all of Charlottes goodies are still sitting here (about 6 weeks later!!!!)...the letters are all written and I was just awaiting the photos...I guess at least now I save on postage :rolleyes:

Jessi - I hope all goes well for you...it's going to be a huge, huge journey for you, and I hope there are plenty of good times....

Kristi - all I can say is GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are a superwoman! :yelclap:

Us - well we've now officially doubled our birthweight (6.6kg) so obviously we're staying very well fed! We had a bit of the day from hell yesterday (just one of those days where she was really antsy and I just wasn't coping too well with so little sleep since she'd been up gasbagging all night...anyway...) but today was much better...I went up to my school to pick up formal photos ( i have a tradition of getting one with my Senior kids so that it can be hung on the Dance room wall and we can reminise on all who have been there before)...anyway she charmed the pants of everyone and didn't grizzle once all day...who knows what's going on with that child of mine!!! She was making the funniest noises all day though...they were raaaaaarrring noises....very cute when my other Dance teacher suggested we should visit the museum with their dinosaur display, and they continued when we got home too...lots of very cute Daddy and charlotte time while they just raared at each other.....out like a light now and hope she'll stay that way!

Was a little bit of an odd day for me though...The first hour or two I was up at the school just felt so foreign ... like I didn't really need to be there anymore (I think my work has always definited me, because I get such a boost from it), but then they started talking musical for next year, and kids etc and I started getting a wee bit excited...I don't know how I feel about it all.... When I'm with Charlotte I love being Mum and being with her (well other than yesterday anyway :laughing: ), but I also know that once I'm back at school I'm going to love that too, but that I'm going to have to be less involved...not sure quite how I feel about it all

:wave: to everyone...I hope all our MIA's are just lurking

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 20:32
My step sister is a royal P.I.A and vegetarian. I havent spent christmas with my family for a couple of years (remember I told you my DH's family eat christmas dinner out of a can?? Canned vegetables, canned potato salad, even spam :eek: ) Anyhoo we make her a vo la vaunt (however you spell it) otherwise I have a great recipe for a vegetable anti pesto stack.....

My family is pretty traditional when it comes to Christmas dinner. We do seafood for entree's (its a case of if you dont like it more for the rest- and if you eat too slow thats too bad too) For dinner we do roast pork and chicken with steamed vegies and baked potato, pumpkin sweet potato for desert we do my Grammys secret family recipe of sago plum pudding with brandy custard. Im thinking about trying to make it myself for the first time this year. I usually do drinks at my place at night for anyone who turns up.... I use a pistachio stuffing which is yummy. Theres a great cranberry one too if you have turkey.....

Anyhow 1 more sleep til Robbie should go early as I need all the beauty sleep I can get to make him love me lol

Have a great weekend all......

biscotti
08-12-2006, 20:33
I'll probably just serve it with roast veg (pre cook in microwave, then toss into large dish and roast on high temp while turkey is resting), maybe some easy green veg like zuccini or beans, and gravy. Oh yeah, and lots of cranberry.

.....and what time would you like us?? !! :p

Noosamum XX

biscotti
08-12-2006, 20:38
Hi missie-mack and Amanda :)

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 20:42
I miss Raffee toooo she is our go get em girl!! Come back! Noosamum is coming to Sydney to visit.....

amandaw
08-12-2006, 20:43
Re Christmas....we're really lucky....we've not had to host christmas yet (got to be some benfit to not having a pool!!) Joel's family always make a big deal of breakfast in a very aussie summer way (with crossiants, fresh fruit, little ham and egg muffin things, sweet muffins etc etc etc) so we spent the morning with them, and then head down mid morning to my parents down the coast with the roast chickens etc and picking for the rest of the day (which my brothers hate because Mum makes them wait until we get down to open presents :laughing:. This used to work really well when we first met, because we used to work together in a chicken store, so had early breakfast with Dh's family, did a few hours distributing chickens at triple time, then went to my parents, but we've grown up now (obviously) and Dh's Mum moved to Maryborough last year, and since all her kids refuse to go up (either all have partners families as well, or DH's sister sees her Dad) there's been a change of plans...this year we're having all of christmas day with my parents down the coast (and will probably go down a couple of days in advance) then will come back to Brissie on boxing day for Dh's family...either way we still don't have to host (again the only advantage of not having a pool!!!!)...I can just sit here and read and fantsise about all your yummy meals though

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 20:43
Hi Noosa :wave: ... are you stalking me you always catch me on here at night? lol

amandaw
08-12-2006, 20:45
:wave: Noosamum and Missie Mack

(I hope they pm'd you with meet details Noosamum, or that you have read them on here...I won't be there this time, but maybe next....)

mumstar
08-12-2006, 20:50
Welcome to Ogilberry and Mumster...Looking foward to meeting up with you on Thursday Fiona (managed to find a bus....that's a start!!!)

I'm not too aware of whats going on there can u fill me in?

amandaw
08-12-2006, 20:50
Noosamum...I'll be up your way the week after next...as a combined Dh's birthday and both our christmas presents, Mum has shouted 3 nights up at Twin Waters...should be great (especially since she wants to take Charlotte for one night...I don't think she's doing it for our sake though, I think she just wants Charlotte to herself :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: ! Not sure yet how I feel about an over nighter, so we'll see (I nearly feel like asking her if she wants to come up for a few hours during one of the days instead so I can just chill out! Might have to send DH away with them both too:laughing: )

mum_I'm_hungry
08-12-2006, 20:51
Hey kids,

What larks. Have pneumonia again. Finally schlepped it up to the GP yesterday to find I had a temp of 39.4 :eek: and have been in bed ever since. Finally found out how useful kids can be though, Ivy's been great -- passing me tissues and specimen jars to hock up loogies in (ahhhhh!). Hopefully won't have to go to hospital like last time. Am trying not to go as it would probably mean an end to breastfeeding. Anyway, :fingerscrossed:

Just cracked up reading this...

its a case of if you dont like it more for the rest- and if you eat too slow thats too bad too)

Nice to know I'm not the only one from a 'trotters in the trough and ears back' family!!!

Shed, I found my cleaners in the local paper.

Well, off to hock up more loogies now! :barf:

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 20:52
:wave: Hiya Amanda.....

If its not a rude question do you ever use what you learnt in uni while your teaching?? My poor DH has had a few hiccups with his GDE and I keep telling him it probably wont really matter in the real world but he isnt sure

amandaw
08-12-2006, 20:54
I'm not too aware of whats going on there can u fill me in?

Sorry that was aimed at Ogilberry...she advertised here on bubhub to build up her photographic portfolio so we are meeting with her next Thursday...I dodn't drive and Redlands is on the otherside of woop woop from me, So I was looking into public transport...sorry for the confusion, but a definite :wave: to you! (I think Jessie replied to her too, so maybe I might see her there and see how things are going)

Tash and Lilabugs...any good news?

biscotti
08-12-2006, 20:58
Hi Noosa :wave: ... are you stalking me you always catch me on here at night? lol

Yeah...I'm stalking you lol, how'd you guess :laughing: :D :o

amandaw
08-12-2006, 21:00
Oh Ali...sounds like you're in a really bad way! Hope everything settles soon (there's not much you can do other than relax and try and recuperate though is there? Not an easy task with two! :fingerscrossed: you stay out of the hospital though!

"Nice to know I'm not the only one from a 'trotters in the trough and ears back' family!!!"

Sounds like us too...when we used to have fish and chips it was always a matter of gorging yourself on the chips first, because you were guaranteed your piece of fish!:D We also learnt really early on that if you didn't want to 'share' with Mum, you got a bag of salt and vinager chips (which she hates!) or anything bar a caramel sundae at Macca's (because she used to 'share the big half'.....rotter we were, all 4 of us:laughing:

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:03
Noosamum...I'll be up your way the week after next...as a combined Dh's birthday and both our christmas presents, Mum has shouted 3 nights up at Twin Waters...

Oooh lovely, I'll pop the kettle on lol :laughing:

Seriously, Twin Waters is great - when you check in, ask for an upgrade to a King room if available, has a great spa!!

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:07

If its not a rude question do you ever use what you learnt in uni while your teaching?? My poor DH has had a few hiccups with his GDE and I keep telling him it probably wont really matter in the real world but he isnt sure

Missie_mack - in my other life (a previous one lol) , I was a teacher too. Honestly, you learn more in your first year of teaching than you do in the whole 3 years of Uni (back in my day) or four years of Uni (in the modern world lol). Seriously!! I couldn't tell you one thing I learnt back then that would still be relevant.
Noosamum XX (aka your mad stalker :devil6: )

amandaw
08-12-2006, 21:09

It depends....I used to really think not, but when I was doing a lot of my masters stuff, I realised how much of the 'best practice' I used unconsciously..a lot of it is just common sense though! In the big scheme of things, I guess I use what works for me.... it's not like I consciously think of links to theorists or whatever...I have great respect for people with really strong/broad use of behaviour management theories...I know that I rely on the rapport that I have with my kids, and often use a child who I do have a good rapport with to get around some of the tough nuts (because it's amazing what peer pressure can do!) ... I don't deal with any **** though and utilise parents and other teachers/my HOD (I have a fantasticlly supportive staffroom) at the earliest stage to try and nip trouble in the bud!

Am I right in thinking that your husband is studying music teaching (if not somebody was I'm sure!!)...what sort of issues is he having?

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:09
Raffee - if you are lurking, empty your inbox my sweet :angel:

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 21:13
Thanks Noosa and Amanda.... doing his GDE has been tough on my hubby. He's a scientist and they have him writing the strangest essays... like heres a picture saying pull yourself up by your bootstraps. Discuss this and teaching styles... like WTF how many scientist naturally write essays about political statements etc?? It makes me sad to see him so down about it all. We think he has failed a subject which will stop him graduating til July until then he can only casually teach...... :(

PS Does anyone but Shed know her real name?? Its driving my husband bonkers trying to guess what it is lol Some of the answers are amusing (Sorry Shed hes a inquisitive little soul)

amandaw
08-12-2006, 21:14
Honestly, you learn more in your first year of teaching than you do in the whole 3 years of Uni (back in my day) or four years of Uni (in the modern world lol). : )

Ohhh I definitely second this!!! It's amazing too how quickly you learn to think and react on your feet (and how quickly you learn to act....The number of times I have had to seriously rip through a child while trying to keep a straight face because in the big scheme of life, it's not always an injustice (or they look at you with this absolute look of panic on their face that you just get the giggles....I don't raise my voice often, so when I do I think there's definitely a shock value in it!)is ridiculous.

What did you teach NoosaMum?

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:18
Thanks Noosa.... doing his GDE has been tough on my hubby. He's a scientist and they have him writing the strangest essays... like heres a picture saying pull yourself up by your bootstraps. Discuss this and teaching styles... like WTF how many scientist naturally write essays about political statements etc?? It makes me sad to see him so down about it all. We think he has failed a subject which will stop him graduating til July until then he can only casually teach...... :(

Ahhhhh - a GDE...I think that can be tough actually, hardest on the science majors of all I think ....good luck to him :) Wish i could offer advice, but all I have is what I said before - he will learn more about learning and teaching (and the other like behaviour management etc) in that first year than the whole of his Uni life...I promise!

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:22
What did you teach NoosaMum?

Well I started teaching 18/19 years ago :eek:
I taught in the primary school sector initially then preschool and kindergarten. Now .....I'm on maternity leave - I'm a C&K Kindergarten Director :)

amandaw
08-12-2006, 21:26
That would be an absolute bummer Missie Mack (and I was just a little bit out with the music...who was that????) Is he certain, or just has a feeling about it? They are so desperate for Science teachers everywhere, so I guess at least there's the positive of definite work when he does finish...and other than the permanency , there are some real positives with supply...my hubby did a few weeks because he actually quit from his first position (he is secondary trained and was placed in primary and required to teach learn to swim (which of course he'd never done). He did one day and then came home basically syaing 'I have to quit...how bad would it be to know that your childs life is in the hands of someone who is learning out of the book (ie 26 Grade 1's in a pool!!) which now as a parent I can certainly appreciate!!They threatened him with all sorts of long term 'joblessness' for turning back the position, and he did 2 weeks of supply before being placed permanently in the school he did his final prac in doing what he was actually trained to do!!! We got a call every day for three months from schools wanting him for the day, so there's plenty out there. Supply money is great (though obviously doesn't come in when you don't work), and you effectively walk in at 9 and out at 3 with no marking/prep whatever....seems such a waste though for your hubby...my biggest beef with the uni was wondering what some of the generalised subjects (because we had to do some core arts ones that sucked) had to so with anything. :fingerscrossed: his gut feeling is wrong...stuff like that DEFINITELY doesn't count in the real world!

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:29
PS Does anyone but Shed know her real name?? Its driving my husband bonkers trying to guess what it is lol Some of the answers are amusing (Sorry Shed hes a inquisitive little soul)

I have wondered about this (not just you shed before you get a swelled head :laughing: ), about others real names...

Beany I sorta guessed ( I have a friend called Sabine and we call her...Beany,.....so I thought Beany might be Sabina or Sabine)

AmandaW, AlliJB and Kristi....not too hard..

Tashmusa - Tash? Natasha?

Mrs Potts - no idea, is she really a Mrs Potts though :detective:

Missie-mack - no idea...Mrs Mack..Melissa Mack....

Parisakamali - don't know...is she Paris? Parisa?? or something else all together lol

Ummmm who else....back in a sec....(have to scroll back)....lol

amandaw
08-12-2006, 21:34
I taught in the primary school sector initially then preschool and kindergarten. Now .....I'm on maternity leave - I'm a C&K Kindergarten Director :)

No wonder you're such a great mother then :) (and have lots of answers for all of us new on the job!)

I don't think I could ever do primary...at least with high school I get to have adult conversations (sometimes too adult...I don't think I'll ever forget the Year 10 student who I had this year (for a big total of 3 weeks at that stage) who came to speak to me because she thought she might be pregnant...I don't think I've ever been so lost for words!!!! Thankfully for her (really wasn't a good situation...no offence to any other young mums)...and for kids/classes I don't like I get to pass the on after 70 minutes....imagine having 'that' child all day every day :D I'm lucky though in that I teach in elective subjects (or school went into middle schooling so all the Year 8's and 9's are combined SOSE English) so even Geography is an elective by Year 10 and so there's at least something to hold over their heads a little

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 21:38
I will tell you mine if you tell me yours Noosa :angel: .... and no Im really not anything like Melissa lol :laughing: :laughing:

amandaw
08-12-2006, 21:39
Beany I sorta guessed ( I have a friend called Sabine and we call her...Beany,.....so I thought Beany might be Sabina or Sabine)

AmandaW, AlliJB and Kristi....not too hard..

Tashmusa - Tash? Natasha?

Mrs Potts - no idea, is she really a Mrs Potts though :detective:

Missie-mack - no idea...Mrs Mack..Melissa Mack....

Parisakamali - don't know...is she Paris? Parisa?? or something else all together lol

Ummmm who else....back in a sec....(have to scroll back)....lol

No idea about Shed, but then I wasn't very good at keeping up in the early days (and have jsut realised i have :ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity: alot tonight...Charlotte went down really early and Dh is having a poker night so all the boys are outside...I'm just entertaining myself)

Everyone calls Parisamali Parisa, so I guess that's it...What about you Noosamum, or Little Pickle ( I think I do/should know this one, but maybe not)...what about Raffee and Lottiesmum

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 21:42
Ooh I know that Little Pickle is Rachel...

Ok I cheated :D and looked at the Mods profiles (which are waaaaay out of date LP BTW)

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:43
Ok - shed - could be Rasheda ?????

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 21:45
:laughing: LMAO She doesnt really look like a Rasheda but she could be... what about Shedelle? lol

Shed will be shaking her head and doing a WTF when she reads this in the morning

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:48
missie mack - my name is very boring, a very common 1960's name!

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:49
Ohhhhh - yes, Shedelle lmao :laughing:

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:49
Wait a minute - didn't you meet Shed at the Sydney meet??!!!???

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 21:50
Oooh Susan???

I got my user name as I was called Missie at high school for several reasons miss- chievious miss behaving although I just think its miss- understood lol Mack is just typical of a irish girl and it wouldnt accept Mac

mumstar
08-12-2006, 21:51
thats cool just thought i would clarify!

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 21:52
Yeah and my hubby came to the meet with me... and we never asked. Thats what got my hubby curious. It was really funny you would introduce yourself and everyone looks at you really blankly and then they say your user name and its like ooooh ok yeah I know you

amandaw
08-12-2006, 21:52
:laughing: LMAO She doesnt really look like a Rasheda but she could be... what about Shedelle? lol

Shed will be shaking her head and doing a WTF when she reads this in the morning

I was think that too!

There's also Mumster, and a couple of other newies (sorry my back page doesn't go back that far) as well

Beany
08-12-2006, 21:53
Noosamum: cleverclogs! I am indeed a Sabina :D

Shed's name is Sheridan ... I'm sure she doesn't mind me sharing that ... If she does, I'll edit it as soon as she notices :p

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 21:55
I never would've guessed that one Beany lol.
Hiya Mumstar you joining us tonight??

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:57
Oooh Susan???

no, not Susan :wizard:

Hmmmm - ok, missie isn't short for your actual name??!! That could make it tough to guess :laughing:

Shed - Tashedrelle ?? nah, think I made that one up :laughing:

Beany
08-12-2006, 21:58
Give us a clue, Noosamum!

biscotti
08-12-2006, 21:59
Noosamum: cleverclogs! I am indeed a Sabina :D

*Takes a bow* :)

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 21:59
Ok well Ive got a typical 1940's name usually someone Grannies name or old aunties actually lol

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 22:01
Lisa??

biscotti
08-12-2006, 22:01
Maisie??May?? Does it start with M??

Mine starts with L.....

Beany
08-12-2006, 22:02
Lisa? Lydia?

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 22:03
Actually I could see Noosamum being a Leanne

amandaw
Shed - Tashedrelle ?? nah, think I made that one up :laughing:

:laughing: ... that one's been solved now anyway! I have no idea about you two (Noosa and Missie Mack)...mackenzie maybe???

I've never heard of Sabina before...only with an r

biscotti
no...no....

missie-mack- claire, helen, ,......ummmm...Caroline, Kathleen...

mumstar
Hi there noosa and missie

im here... are you guys trying to guess everyones real names?? that would be great if you figure it all out as i am still trying to figure our who everyone is and where u all come from! :thumbsup: just put noah down to sleep for the night so i probably wont be to far behind him :sleeping:

biscotti
08-12-2006, 22:05
Actually I could see Noosamum being a Leanne

:o

Ummmm - yes....called Lea by family and friends but yes, I'm Leanne....:o

That was easy!!!

mumstar
08-12-2006, 22:05
come on then give us a hint what letter do your names start with

biscotti
08-12-2006, 22:06
missie_mack - how did you guess that!!!!!

Beany
08-12-2006, 22:06
Amanda: I actually had to argue someone into submission about my name once ...

Me: I'm Sabina
Them: Oh you mean Sabrina
Me: ... No, no "r"
Them: The name is Sabrina
ME: I'm not a sodding teenage witch and I know what my own name is! (most days ... :p )

biscotti
08-12-2006, 22:07
Hi there noosa and missie

im here... are you guys trying to guess everyones real names?? that would be great if you figure it all out as i am still trying to figure our who everyone is and where u all come from! :thumbsup: just put noah down to sleep for the night so i probably wont be to far behind him :sleeping:

Hi Mumstar - I think we have too much time on our hands lol!! Welcome to the august thread :)

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 22:07
Mumstar..... Heres my introduction. :wizard:

My name is Ellen I live about 1 or 2 out of Sydney in the Illawarra region. Im very happily married to my DH who I often refer to as the Scientist. I have a son who actually wasnt born in August but in September. But cause I was due in August and had been around so long the girls kindly let me stay :smiliedance:

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 22:09
Oh you write just like you talk Beany I can hear you in my widdle head now :laughing: :laughing:

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 22:11
I understand the name thing... I always get Helen... and yes its like no no its Ellen... Helen?? :banghead:
No you know like the lesbian on TV but Im not a lesbian.... Ooooh I understand so how long you been a lesbian ... lol

amandaw
08-12-2006, 22:12

Me: I'm Sabina
Them: Oh you mean Sabrina
Me: ... No, no "r"
Them: The name is Sabrina
ME: I'm not a sodding teenage witch and I know what my own name is! (most days ... :p )

mumstar
08-12-2006, 22:13
well noah was born on 21/8/06 5 days early... very good baby, labour was 3 hours start to finish and he has been sleeping through from about 2 weeks old... nothing like my first who will be 3 in feb long labour and didnt sleep through to 9 months :( but all is good now very settled in our nice little family

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 22:14
Aww its my sleepy time (which means my hubby isnt watching stargate reruns anymore lol) ..... I have to go and dream of Robbie. Night night all sweet dreams and quiet babies:sleeping: :sleeping:

Beany
08-12-2006, 22:15
Hi mumstar :)

As Madam Cleverclogs (Noosamum) guessed, my name Is Sabina. I live in Sydney but am originally from London. I have 2 babies - one that I gave birth to and one that I married :p I refer to the second as Noodle because he followed me onto this forum (much to my dismay) and harasses people under the username of Mister Noodle.

My most loved boy (in the avatar sporting his oh-so-cute red bandana bib) was born on the 22nd of August, feeds a lot, doesn't sleep a lot, poos infrequently but in large quantities.

I'm a student, currently on break from my masters degree in English Literature. I have hopes of going on and doing a PhD but who knows if I'll get there.

missie_mack
08-12-2006, 22:16
:eek: :eek: I thought you just said Noah was born August and your first was born 3rd of February.. not 3 years old in February I nearly fell off my chair... oh dear I am tired:D

mumstar
08-12-2006, 22:16
well good night all u bubhubians!!!

biscotti
08-12-2006, 22:17
I always get Helen... My mum's name is Helen :)

OK - C awake too - hopefully be back in a little while, otherwise..
Night all, night Rasheda lol,

Noosamum XX

amandaw
08-12-2006, 22:19
Missie Mack....I was starting to think Gwendoline or something like it when you said 1940's and everyone's grandmother!!!

Are there still others??

and Mumstar....my intro, I'm 26 and had Charlotte on the 12th of August (no. 1...and a few times threatened only, but I don't really think that way most of the time) I live in sunny Brisbane (though a Kiwi...been here since 89 though), am/was a high school teacher (Dance and Geography), and married to another one (Phys Ed and History).....the sort of bubhubber who might go weeks without making an appearance/just lurking and then had episodes where I'll post 50 times in 3 days like at the moment...I'll get back in my box soon I promise

Beany
08-12-2006, 22:19
No fair ... we didn't get to come up with interesting ideas for Amanda's name!

:( :p

biscotti
08-12-2006, 22:21
[QUOTE=Beany;888444]Hi mumstar :)

As Madam Cleverclogs (Noosamum) guessed, my name Is Sabina. QUOTE]

Good guess hey!!!

Only because my son plays AFL with a boy whose Mum's name is Sabine and we have become great friends and she is known to us as Beany - she is german BTW, been here for three years
:) She also gets SabRina alllll the time :rolleyes:

amandaw
08-12-2006, 22:23
You'll get there Beany (though I do think you're nut doing a PHD ....despite my happy results, you'll never get me there!!!!!!)

Looks like everyone else is off...I'm a bit up...I'm never been on at the right time to be involved in live chatter! I'll see if everyone really has gone to bed or not......If not I'll follow the lead and catch some Z's too (I'm suprised that Charlotte's still asleep! The doors been banging quite a bit as we have 6 beer drinking poker hands having to make toilet trips...at least I won't be looking supsiciously at dead patches of grass for the next week :laughing:

Beany
08-12-2006, 22:24
In my experience, the only people that pronounce my name correctly from the word go are Dutch or German. Common as muck, my name there!

You know what's spooky ... My FIL's first girlfriend was called Sabine ... nee-noo-nee-noo

amandaw
08-12-2006, 22:28

:( :p

I think it was a case of putting it in thinking 'no...it'll never be as simple as that' I've never been part of a cyber community before so don't have any sort of cool nicknamey things to use....i think at the time I was going to use Beggles which which linked to my maiden name, but I think I thought everyone might think i was a tosser (because it was a pretty established little group even back then)...anyway I think it sort of went 'accepted' so I just stayed with it...sorry to ruin the fun

biscotti
08-12-2006, 22:31
so I just stayed with it...sorry to ruin the fun
no no, we can have fun guessing your surname...w....Wilson......Wilberry......Watson... ..lol :laughing:

night :xmas:

Beany
08-12-2006, 22:32
Most people in the real world call me Sabi - Beany was used by one very close friend and adopted (briefly) by my husband. It sort of made a comeback while I was pregnant ("Beany carrying a bean!").

I kinda didn't care if people thought I was a tosser - better they found out sooner rather than later! :p

amandaw
08-12-2006, 22:33
Yesterday I spoke to 3 different Amanda's on the phone (photographer, hairdresser and someone else) that was weird. I'm starting to think Charlotte will be in a class with 10 other of them....I've only ever known 2, and now between bubhub birth announcements and other mates, I know of about 10 underthe age of 1..and someone here has a Charlotte too, but she's a bit older...brain gone, can't remember who). i onec had a class (well sports activity group) with 5 Danielle's in it...that was hard, because i even got confused about which one was Dan, dani, danielle etc and just had to rely on making eye contact with one of them :)

Beany
08-12-2006, 22:35
and someone here has a Charlotte too, but she's a bit older...brain gone, can't remember who).

Lottiesmum! :)

amandaw
08-12-2006, 22:38

[QUOTE=noosamum;888481]no no, we can have fun guessing your surname...w....Wilson......Wilberry......Watson... ..lol :laughing:

night :QUOTE]

nope...night - it has been fun:yes:

amandaw
08-12-2006, 23:00
Not sure if it was Bubhub that dropped out, or just me...any way, really should get some sleep before the night chatterer starts :( Lovely to type to you all

Fairyfloss
08-12-2006, 23:55
must admit this whole name debate was fun to read

Beany:
) it happens to me alot and I hate it:mad:, but love teh fact that not many people share my name make me feel special:D BTW I think Sabina is so cute.

Amandaw:
I think it was a case of putting it in thinking 'no...it'll never be as simple as that' I've never been part of a cyber community before so don't have any sort of cool nicknamey things to use.... me too mine is even worse than yours it is my full name:eek:

Cathy: I got you PM, and that fine.:fingerscrossed: you can make it to the meeting.

Mumstar....my intro
My name is Parisa. (that's Parisa with an A). I am a meteorologist.I am planning to go back to work part time end of Jan/early Feb as DD will be in childcare. my DD was born 3rd August. I am married and live in melbourne.

a big HI to every one I have missed.

Fairyfloss
08-12-2006, 23:58
On a second thought can you guys come up with a cool/cute nick name for me, I am so boring when it comes to thee type of stuff. Any hints/tips?

wattle
09-12-2006, 06:31
My goodness what a lot of chatterboxes!!!!!!!! Imagine if we ALL got together how noisy it would be.

Great reading everyone's names and info. Here's a bit about me....
I have been known as Wattle for ages. I used to be a clown, and that was my clown name. (ie Wattle the clown do next :laughing: groan) I'm also a musician - I write music and play saxophone in a blues band - and live in Melbourne. I lived near Merimbula (NSW far south coast) for about 15 years and moved back to Melbourne 5 years ago, when I met dh, got married, bought a house in 'the burbs', did a reno and had 2 kids.

I like your name Parisa, it's feminine and interesting.

Amanda - West, Wilder, Worthington, Wilkington??

shed
09-12-2006, 07:07
**logs on and reads this thread and thinks wtf?**

what a bunch of chatterboxes.

missie_mack, I love the name Ellen. Its on my list of girls names actually. DP isn't so keen but I am not listening to him anymore.

Anyway, as Breany (haha) said, my name is Sheridan. My nickname in real life is Shed so my user name wasn't very creative.

Its true about the user name thing at the meets. You meet someone and they say their name and you are like "oh nice to meet you" and then they say their user name and you are like "oh hi!!!, how are ya? blah blah blah"

My intro: I am 37, first time mum as of 31st July, another ring-in on the August thread, my son is Baden, I am a kiwi and used to be a marketing manager at a funeral home in my last 'real' job although I was doing a fill-in job during my pregnancy. I am engaged to Steve and we are getting married in May if I manage to organise it before then.

We live in a big old house in a not-nice part of Sydney where we are stuck because DP works just up the road.

We are hoping to have another baby in a couple of years and I am going to be a SAHM for the foreseeable future except for puppy school which I am starting up again next year.

Thats about it, except one more important thing you should know about me is that I got mentioned first in a recent popularity thread mwhahahahaha

littlepickle
09-12-2006, 09:35
OMG - I couldnt believe how many pages of chater I managed to miss last night! wow! Love the names!!

Parisa, Love your name, like someone else said, its feminine and interesting. Wow, being a meteorologist must be a very interesting job!

beany - Love your name too, very pretty! And the shortened Sabi is lovely too!

Shed: I have never known Sheridan before, its nice, your parents were early trendsetters as that name is starting to get really popular now!

Well I am Rachel (not very exotic or interesting I know). I am married to Paul and have a gorgeous dd called Elise. We are also kind of thread imposters as E was born on the 30th July (my birthday) but was due in August. I work as an IT Network Architect (read: I'm a nerd) and I really must remember to update my moderator profile at some point! I have a memory like a sieve and live in Brisbane although I originally hailed from Townsville. I no longer have a North Queeeeeeeeeensland accent though as I spent almost 9 years overseas before returning to QLD 2 years ago. My accent now shifts between the laughable and the ridiculous (who knows)! Some words sound Dutch, some sound spanish, some sound Aussie, some sound English and some sound Welsh!

mum_I'm_hungry
09-12-2006, 09:37
Ha ha. Loved reading the name guessing! I'm on way too many yahoo groups, so stick to Allijb for everything. My middle name is Jane (for Jane Austen) and yep, you guessed it, my married name starts with B. I use my maiden name to write under.

Quessie -- is there still a Brissie meet up going ahead next week? Sorry if I've missed it, but I haven't read every post as I've been a good girl and staying in bed. Antibiotics have kicked in now, temp is down and husband who tells me off when I get up is out doing the groceries with the three-year-old (he he, he'll be sorry!), so am sneakily on the computer.

Beany
09-12-2006, 09:50
Wattle: I have to say, since reading you were a clown, a lot of your Wattlishness has clicked into place!

:idea: "boo hisssssss!" :idea:

WARNING

Sydneysiders, close your windows. Canberrians, you might close them too, just to be on the safe side.

One week and counting ...

littlepickle
09-12-2006, 09:53
Hi Alli

I think the Brissie meet is still on, but we are missing a few people ie Jessi, Adele, although they may still be coming
SO .. *clears throat* can we have a show of hands :D
I am hoping that it is still on!

missie_mack
09-12-2006, 10:41
I wouldnt worry about what suburb you live in Shed, Im in the same boat except well we dont have to live here just making the most of what we got. Ive seen some gorgeous houses in some not so hot suburbs and if the person lived in a great suburb they could never have afforded to have a gorgeous house just a dog box. Over the years Ive seen some close personal friends go and buy the dream house in the great suburb which meant taking out a huge mortgage working their behinds off, with kids which usually means one works days and the other nights unless you can find childcare (which means being on waitlists forever esp in Western Sydney) So anyhow they end up seeing each other maybe a hour a day which isnt a relaxed hour and every penny goes towards the house and they are living on Ikea furniture when their neighbours live on Imported Italian Leather lounges. So they do some overtime to fit in and they cant afford holidays and they either ended up Bankrupt and divorced or just simply divorced. So very sad.:yes:
Well I decided long ago I wouldnt be one of those statistics and when my friend died recently it was a reminder that life is for living. Sure we should save our money and pay a little extra off the debts (and not run up too many) but you gotta be able to have an occassional holiday an occassional splurge keep up having those dates when you move intogether.....

I will step off my soapbox now.....

BTW Thanks for the compliment on the first name BUT I hated it as a kid it was always someones grannies name or old aunties it drive me bonkers... As a adult I think differently Ive studied Genealogy and Heraldy (something like Family Trees) and when I did my family tree I found so many of them with the exact same name as me and some had awesome lives and it made me feel important in a strange way. One weird story was when I sat at my great Aunties funeral in 1997 and it was weird as we share the exact same first name and surname except she was always called Nelle (in one of those weird Irish traditions) but at funerals they always call them their correct name and anyhow it was freeeeaaaaaky it was like being at my own funeral!!

:smiliedance: Its Robbie Williams Day Ive slept in and Im refreshed. If its on TV I would probably be one of those weirdos with the big sign that says Marry Me Robbie... but DH refuses to hold the other end for me :no: :D

cheekypossum
09-12-2006, 10:49
Slow down ladies....I am not at home therefore am not living at my computer...and I have PAGES and PAGES to catch up on

"HAND UP" - Yes I am still REALLY interested in the Brissie meet...

let me see if I have this right

Friday 15th December
10.30am at Southbank

Is that right???

Mrs Potts
09-12-2006, 11:24
You guys are nuts! What a fun night you had.

I actually already knew Beany's name cos she mentioned it when she admitted to being a sniffer! As did I.;) Let's see if anyone actually is interested at all and goes looking - doubt it very much LOL

Oh yes, windows are closed in preparation for the explosion, Beany. I'll be praying for you ;)

littlepickle
09-12-2006, 12:38
Tash - Yes, thats right 10.30am at Southbank on Friday! Yay! Looking forward to meeting you!

shed
09-12-2006, 13:15
If its on TV I would probably be one of those weirdos with the big sign that says Marry Me Robbie... but DH refuses to hold the other end for me :no: :D

I went to an Otago Highlanders rugby game once with a big sign that said BYRON I WANT TO HAVE YOUR BABIES.

For Byron Kelleher. :o

missie_mack
09-12-2006, 14:24
Woo Hoooooo thanks for the advice etc given last night about DH and his GDE. It appears they made a boo boo on his results on the webpage.. they forgot to add one of exam results sooo DH is now officially a teacher and has more letters after his name than in his name (his main goal!!) and he even passed with credits... :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

At least if I hook up with Robbie tonight I wont be leaving him when hes at a all time low :laughing:

mum_I'm_hungry
09-12-2006, 14:30
:tree: Yay! I can definitely make that and am feeling much better since the antibiotics have kicked in, so should be raring to go by then. Are we cafe-ing, or picnic-ing it, or undecided as of yet? :xmas:

mumstar
09-12-2006, 15:10
Hello All!

:eek: OMG My cat had kittens this morning... 4 of em! :eek: So we now have a very full house this christmas!!! ALso we picked up some pixi fotos today of the whole family, i was really pleased they all worked out soooo good! Hope all are doing well!

littlepickle
09-12-2006, 15:15
Alli,
:tree: What do you think would be best? Picnic or cafeing? I dont mind either way :D

amandaw
09-12-2006, 15:33
Lottiesmum! :)

doh!!! I should have known that one!

wattle
09-12-2006, 15:41
Oh missie mack you make me chuckle. I flicked on the telly this morning and there he was - the big in depth interview with Robbie. I was wondering if you were watching it too. I didn't know his idol is Elvis, and he had a thing for Priscilla!! (Presley that is, not the queen of the desert :laughing: )

OOhh all your meet ups - I'm quite jealous. :yes: Glad you're feeling a bit better Alli. So when are you all coming to Melbourne? Huh?.........hands up........anyone.......hmmm.

Now I know Stephanie would hate me for asking this, but does anyone elses bub fart all the time? :o The poor little darling gives me a big weird cross-eyed smiles all the time, then pfffffffffffffft, let's it rip. She's the fart queen. I'm really careful not to eat any cabbage, cauliflower etc. Maybe she's just a windy type?

Nice and quiet here today - ds is at the inlaws, dh is playing cricket (in 37 degree heat :eek: ) so it's just gas-girl and I having a girly day. (sorry Steph)

Hey mumstar, what are you calling the kittens? Dasher, Dancer, Prancer and Rudolph?

amandaw
09-12-2006, 16:03
Now I feel like the boring one....meteorologists, clowns, authors...you are a creative lot! I think i might have missed all this in the early introductions

:detective: will have to go and serach for Mrs Potts...that could be anywhere!!!!!

I

sign that says Marry Me Robbie... but DH refuses to hold the other end for me

:laughing: :laughing:

Woo Hoooooo thanks for the advice etc given last night about DH and his GDE. It appears they made a boo boo on his results on the webpage.. they forgot to add one of exam results sooo DH is now officially a teacher and has more letters after his name than in his name (his main goal!!) and he even passed with credits...

That's such good news...congratulations! My list of letters is fairly impressive too...not that it means didley squat (in fact, I'm the most overqualified dance teacher in the state I reckon:laughing:)! mine for a laugh is:
BA Arts (Dance)/ B Ed (Secondary)2nd deg honours, Grad Dip CI (Dance Teaching), MCI (Dance Teaching) 2nd Deg Honours...how wankery is all of that!
I had to put it on all of my ethical clearance papers and all my students were very impressed..ha! Growing up, I always wanted to sit my Advanced RAD ballet exam...not for the actual sense of hard work in passing it, but just so I had the letters ARAD after my name...never did quite get there

Anyway serious question - is there any one else who has a child who raaahrrrrrrrrssss. Charlotte only started 2 days ago, and it's always happy, but she's making herself hoarse! Can't be wonderful on developing vocal cords...any suggestions?

Oh and we've finally updated our webpage with some more recent photos, so I'm going to chuck it on for anyone interested (as I've never sorted out the avatar thing!)...lots of Charlotte with family early on, but we're moving away from that now. http://webshots.com/user/charlotte_white....there's one of her as the Cottonball in the November lot, andone with me (actually with make-up on..a rarity) at my brothers wedding

amandaw
09-12-2006, 16:07
wattle - we're hoping to get down your way atEaster next year...we went last year for the first time and loved it....will be in touch if we do!

Charlotte is a farter too...she's not always great at burping, so I think it goes that way too

littlepickle
09-12-2006, 19:19
Elise is a farter too - she pops out some right belters sometimes, she is practically levitating!

My my, she is certainly no lady!:eek: :laughing:

biscotti
09-12-2006, 19:25
LP - where did you buy that cute outfit Elise is wearing??

mum_I'm_hungry
09-12-2006, 19:30
Hmmm. What does everyone reckon? Are there some good stroller friendly cafes at Southbank? I haven't been there for yonks. Closest I've come is running over to Egg Maternity all year for a maternity wear fix (love their stuff). I'd love to cafe (am always one to take the easy option), but if anyone's low on funds because of Chrissie and all, I'm more than happy to picnic and make a mean chocolate brownie.

does anyone elses bub fart all the time?

Um, that would be a big fat yes!!! He is the king of the gas (to your queen). I'll never forget -- he hit a royal high the day my husband's grannies came over for lunch. They're extremely prim and proper (so much so that I fretted all day that my daughter was going to want to go to the potty in front of them). And what did Teddy do? Well, let's just say there was something in the air that day. Ivy's also extremely gassy. She has this gigantic tummy on her and people have actually asked me if she has allergies or something to make it swell up like that. Nope. Gas. The hilarious thing is, when she wakes up in the morning, she has a little flat belly and the room is all a-fug. Charming kids I have, huh?! :o

Hey, I can't remember whose kittens they were, but you didn't know your cat was pregnant? That must have been quite the fright! One of our cats looks pregnant but I'm afraid it's just lard. She's quite the little fatty and awfully sweet and dim. The other one is smart as a whip, a skinny minnie and currently draped across the back of my neck. Devon Rexes are weird, weird cats.

littlepickle
09-12-2006, 19:40
LP - where did you buy that cute outfit Elise is wearing??

Noosamum, I found the outfit in Target last week. it was supposed to be $19 but at the checkout they only charged me $13 as they had a sale on!:thumbsup:

biscotti
09-12-2006, 21:07
Thanks LP - didn't see them at Maroochydore Target, maybe they have sold out...very cute indeed, E looks delightful in it!
:xmas:

biscotti
09-12-2006, 21:11
Quiet in here tonight....:reindeer:

Oh by the way, Hi Erica :wave: (see....I scrolled back!!)

Noosamum XX

Beany
09-12-2006, 21:58
Honestly, does anyone really need to ask about whether Asher is a farter ... ?

Well Saturday is all but over. Still no poo.

The air in this apartment is also "a-fug".

mumstar
09-12-2006, 22:13
Hey mumstar, what are you calling the kittens? Dasher, Dancer, Prancer and Rudolph?
What a great idea!!!