View Full Version : March 2007 thread #4
BlueGin
12-01-2007, 08:43 AM
Shezi, so what about the cot blankets makes them safer? This type of info is gold to me, as Mum is hesitant to advise (as she figures she is out of date). Any particular material safer? And does it just mean the baby lies on the fitted sheet, bundled up in whatever clothing will keep them warm, then a blanket? You've opened a can of worms here! LOL
Emma, Cooper is a great name! I think it would suit both a little boy and a grown man, which is a difficult balance to achieve.
Thanks Lana, I'll be on your case later today if I haven't heard! ;)
That would be great Firstime, I'll PM you my email address :thumbsup:. It will also be a great tool in the battle to convert DH... though you may have noticed by now (as I'm always saying we disagree on something, then doing it) that he usually either gives in or miraculously agrees with my choices anyway... why bother disagreeing in the first place? *sigh*
Sarah, your DH sounds so lovely, mine's not really comfortable talking to the belly, it is amazing though how much babies seem to recognise and love their Dads, I wonder if they can feel how we feel? IYKWIM?
Anna, my middy did say that they were very big on natural tear prevention, so maybe that's why they aren't bothering much with other stuff like the epi-no and massage. I hope your girl is just halfway through a turn, shoulder presentation does not sound fun!
Which cot sheet brands would you consider good? Oh, and I hope the muffins made it :o
I think that those stretchies are increasing, and there are 2 pink dots underneath my belly button now too, so sadly I think that the entire base of my belly is going to be pretty nasty. I have images of a big saggy tummy once it no longer has a baby filling it out :(
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 09:23 AM
Public induce 10-14 days after due date. Private you can be induced when you like from full term which is 37 or 38 weeks depending on whos opinion you go on. Some Obs are happy to induce after 37/38 weeks, others prefer to wait till 40 weeks, others prefer to wait 7-10 days overdue but if you are going private its your call as you are paying for it. You dont have to be induced at all but the risks do start climbing at 43 weeks. There is no set time anyway. 10 days is my time limit I have set for myself though dont think I will get anywhere near there. :fingerscrossed:
You usually get a neddle in teh hand as Lana said though if they induce you with gel and you go into labour without needing the syntocinon drip then you may be lucky enough to get off without a drip but that doesn't happen all that often. Plus if you have an epi, the normal procedure nowdays in most hospitals (not all) is to give you syntocinon in a drip in your hand aswell to encourage the contractions while you cant feel them.
With my last I had pethadine and didn't like it a bit. Everyone is different, some people do ok on pethadine alone as the only drug, some go straight to epi, some have peth then go to epi.
Yip very possible and yes, more thank likely to do with pressure and swelling caused by it. Are you swollen in your limbs? Not that you necessarily need to be but the extra weight of bubs does put an awful lot of pressure in that region so things do get a bit swollen and veins do pop out. Nice huh? One of the joys. :rolleyes:
Ok, off to do the bedtime thing. Gawd its HOT and STICKY. Expecting 40 in Sydney tomorrow. YIKES!:eek:
Thanks for all your help everyone!
I'm private & my ob said they leave it til 7 days after the due date. However, my friend who had the same obs looking after her had early signs of labour 2 weeks before her due date and was told to come back in a week if she hasn't gone into labour yet to be induced. She was 38/39 weeks and they induced her due to 'maternal discomfort'. She had the worse pregnancy poor girl :(
I;m just trying to catch up on all the posts - hard when I only have the internet at work. When the other 2 (out of 3) ppl I work for I won't have time in the mornings to read back through them all so I hope I can keep up!
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 09:39 AM
Geez u girls can chat LOL!
Neosmum , my Dp is all mushy and clucky too lately.. its actually slightly getting on my nerves, always coming up and grabbing my belly often when im busy doing dishes etc , talk about timing LOL. It is sweet though. He also talks or torments Antonio, things like Heeeelooooooooo can you hear me, or wake up Antonio..blowing rasberry's etc :rolleyes: :laughing: .
I cant recall who got the 108 nappies for $29 but why do i always miss out on such good bargains... :banghead: . That's such an awesome price!!
I think depending on my scan results, at the next 1 will determine whether or not i try the massage, prolly no point if it looks like im heading for a C/s. But i hear it can reduce tearing, so cant hurt.
I myself still have a few things to get still, cloth/disposable nappies/liners/pants
Baby Monitor
Steriliser
More sheet sets/bunny rugs
More bottles/teats
Maternity Pads and Bra Pads
Decorations for Nursery.
Think thats it, i really should make a list, seeing as i have a brain span of a goldfish at the moment. :laughing: I have to be careful when baby shopping get sooooo carried away. Too many cute outfits etc.
Im going to be using disposables for first few runny poo's LOL and then when we are out and about, rest of time i will use cloth, unless i have issues with them.. play it by ear, i guess.
Shezi i love Ahlyvia as a name, and i also love Roxy Jaimie... just remember everyone has an opinion when you are pregnant, just take it with a grain of salt Stuff em!
My hubby has been more mushy & clucky lately too! I agree, it sometimes gets annoying such as when she has been kicking & digging into me all day and I want to relax and lay down and he pretty much lies on top talking to my tummy and his beard is all prickly and goes through my shirt and makes me itchy & grumpy! Lol. Sorry too many details?! He always tells her to 'wake up' and to 'kick mummy' so he can feel her. She seems to settle though when she hears his voice and stops kicking me, much to his disappointment! Lol ...
Nappies - Big W had some the other week - the 108 pack of Huggies for $26! They always have good specials. We have one box of those and will get one more as the hospital now only supplies half of a 36 pack or something like that. Also Johnsons wipes (heard they are the best) are now coming in bulk packs for $20 of 6 packs of 80. That's very cheap! One of them and we'll be right.
Last night I got some of my stuff for the hospital from kmart. Only spent $60 and got 2 pack of stretchy cami nighties, some long trackies (in the pj section! Lol), some stretch shorts reduced to $9 then again to $7(!), a pair of going out gold thongs reduced to $9, 2 x 5 pack of undies. So did pretty well. I might go back Sat if the shorts are comfy to get some more of those. Then i need my toilettries but they are on sale too at kmart atm - Even though DH complained it was $60 I am like well if I bought 10 pairs of bonds undies it would be close to $100 and I got 10 pairs of undies for $11 or $12! Lol ... men!
Good sales on atm so stock up now!
Not buying much baby stuff atm tho as waiting for baby shower in 3 weeks time.
Have a good day everyone!
library-laksa
12-01-2007, 10:20 AM
Speaking of periniums, has anyone started rubbing cream into their perinium and started massaging it in prep for birth? Are any of you going to??
my obs says it is a good idea. DH wants to do it but i think it will turn him off forever! i might give it a try myself, the doc says use thumbs (he didn't mention oil and i'm not keen on that!) - sorry if TMI!
which do you prefer, Ahlivia or Ahlyvia?? i change my mind on a daily basis.. chris likes ahlivia so im thinking of going with that and blaming him if she doesnt like it hahahaha.
i like it best with the 'i' myself but i think both are really pretty :)
i am really having trouble sleeping at the moment. my arms are killing me! i read pregnant women have an increased risk of carpel tunnel syndrome and I have had RSI problems for over 5 years. i wake up with my arms aching and tingling/numb when i lay on my side. i know i'm not sposed to sleep on my back but i have been! but i only sleep a couple of hours then wake up all sore or need to go to the loo. my lower back is killing me too! so glad i don't have to get up for work in the mornings now and can have a nanna nap in the arvo. sorry for the whinge :( DH is up at work this week so i need someone to complain to!!
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 10:27 AM
my obs says it is a good idea. DH wants to do it but i think it will turn him off forever! i might give it a try myself, the doc says use thumbs (he didn't mention oil and i'm not keen on that!) - sorry if TMI!
i like it best with the 'i' myself but i think both are really pretty :)
i am really having trouble sleeping at the moment. my arms are killing me! i read pregnant women have an increased risk of carpel tunnel syndrome and I have had RSI problems for over 5 years. i wake up with my arms aching and tingling/numb when i lay on my side. i know i'm not sposed to sleep on my back but i have been! but i only sleep a couple of hours then wake up all sore or need to go to the loo. my lower back is killing me too! so glad i don't have to get up for work in the mornings now and can have a nanna nap in the arvo. sorry for the whinge :( DH is up at work this week so i need someone to complain to!!
Haven't been told yet about the massaging ... sounds a bit yuck but if we have to do it ... I will see if ob says anything next week.
You will recall yesterday I wasn't sure whether to go Ella Rose or Ella-Rose Mackenzie (or Ella-Rose Mikaylah or Ella-Rose Tiahnn) - basically to hyphenate or not. Asked DH last night & wrote them down so he could see Ella-Rose looked prettier and he came straight out & said No! I asked why and he just said it's too long, she's not having 4 names! Boo-hoo ...
12-01-2007, 10:34 AM
Gin- they recommend blankets as they are heavier and bubs is less likely to be able to get underneath them therefore preventing the whole suffocation thing
I always use the cellular blankies as they are 100%cotton and are breathable due to the holes in the material PLUS they are great at keeping bubs warm or cool.
I am so tired today after last nights happenings!
Thankgoodness O is at kindy all day so im off to take a long nap and then get stuck into some house work...im nesting like crazy atm
Last night i cleaned out the fridge at 2am:eek: im crazy hehehehe
Morning Ladies!
Hope everyone is having a nice day! So many post once again since yesterday arvo!
Had my OB appointment last night and Madison is very healthy and everything is going to plan so far. She is head down, bum up and laying towards the right side of my belly. Which explains a few things. I have an ultrasound at each appointment and this one was really cool - she looks adorable, so pretty! IMO!
Had a shocker of a morning, my baby shower is now cancelled thanks to my nasty MIL upsetting me. DH phone her last night to see if she could phone my mum to rsvp, as she hasn't done so. She phone alright, this morning at 6:55am and had a go at my mum and then a go at me and said she feels pressure to attend and once she feels this way then there is no way she is going to come. She ended up saying she never wants to talk to me again and hung up the phone! B!TCH! I am such an emotional person so lost the plot and ended up in tears etc etc :ecomcity:
Well I hope everyone else has a nice day!
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 10:44 AM
Morning Ladies!
Hope everyone is having a nice day! So many post once again since yesterday arvo!
Had my OB appointment last night and Madison is very healthy and everything is going to plan so far. She is head down, bum up and laying towards the right side of my belly. Which explains a few things. I have an ultrasound at each appointment and this one was really cool - she looks adorable, so pretty! IMO!
Had a shocker of a morning, my baby shower is now cancelled thanks to my nasty MIL upsetting me. DH phone her last night to see if she could phone my mum to rsvp, as she hasn't done so. She phone alright, this morning at 6:55am and had a go at my mum and then a go at me and said she feels pressure to attend and once she feels this way then there is no way she is going to come. She ended up saying she never wants to talk to me again and hung up the phone! B!TCH! I am such an emotional person so lost the plot and ended up in tears etc etc :ecomcity:
OMG Are you sure you don't have the same MIL as me?! :devil6:
jaimie
12-01-2007, 10:47 AM
Lib-Laska! I had carpal tunnel last time and i would say the best thing to do is go to the physio now(before it gets worse,as it tends to the further along you get) and they will give you exercises to do and maybe even braces for your hands. It is so awful isnt it? I hope you find some relief!
Feeling very crapola today...had a bit of an arguement with Dh this morning as i have been cranky all the time lately...according to him anyway!
As for the cot blankets and sheets. i would agree with Sarah about the cellular blanket (target do them) . I know i panicked about tucking in Jazz the wrong way. You just make it so that instead of the sheet coming all the way up the mattress its only far enough up to sit under baby's arms. Thats what i did anyway. i think thats what the SIDS brochure said.I feel like i have been awake forever..we live next to a park with a creek and this morning at 4am a ute reversed up to the creek and turned a machine on...im thinking someone must be dumping something in the creek so i am going to go ring the council now. It would have to be a council worker as he undid the chain between the posts to get his ute in...:detective:
Hope you are all feeling good today!! Hope some more breech bubs flip too!
jaimie
Emma 80
12-01-2007, 10:48 AM
I myself still have a few things to get still, cloth/disposable nappies/liners/pants
Baby Monitor
Steriliser
More sheet sets/bunny rugs
More bottles/teats
Maternity Pads and Bra Pads
Decorations for Nursery.
I still have heaps to buy and as I don't have my car licence I have to rely on DH to take me shopping and he hates spending money :rolleyes: . I wanted to get a mattress protector for the bassinette and he suggested using a garbage bag :eek: :no: and they are only about $13. I told him to wake up to himself.
Emma, Cooper is a great name! I think it would suit both a little boy and a grown man, which is a difficult balance to achieve.
I never though of him as a grown man. That's rather depressing, I want him to stay small :laughing: .
It's gunna be another stinkin hot day today. I wish I was working just for the air-con lol.
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 10:52 AM
I still have heaps to buy and as I don't have my car licence I have to rely on DH to take me shopping and he hates spending money :rolleyes: . I wanted to get a mattress protector for the bassinette and he suggested using a garbage bag :eek: :no: and they are only about $13. I told him to wake up to himself.
I never though of him as a grown man. That's rather depressing, I want him to stay small :laughing: .
It's gunna be another stinkin hot day today. I wish I was working just for the air-con lol.
I got a bassinet mattress protector for $4/$5 in Myer. You can get 2 packs in Big w for cheap too - i think $13?
Emma 80
12-01-2007, 10:54 AM
Morning Ladies!
Why do MIL's have to suck :confused: I'm so sorry about your baby shower, that's not fair.
Thanks for the tip carrie...I'll go and have a look in those shops.
OMG Are you sure you don't have the same MIL as me?! :devil6:
I think I must!! I like how you called them Monster-In-Law the other day! I am still so upset about it and it's all over a baby shower rsvp.
I got a bassinet mattress protector for $4/$5 in Myer. You can get 2 packs in Big w for cheap too - i think $13?
Oh cool, I will have a looksie in Myer today!
[quote=Emma 80;988424]Why do MIL's have to suck :confused: I'm so sorry about your baby shower, that's not fair.quote]
Thanks Emma! I think they are all meant to suck, it's their mission in life. I think it has to do with us taken their boys away from them!
Emma 80
12-01-2007, 11:10 AM
Thanks Emma! I think they are all meant to suck, it's their mission in life. I think it has to do with us taken their boys away from them!
I think your right...I could die giving birth and my MIL would be very happy :laughing:
annsam
12-01-2007, 11:20 AM
S
Which cot sheet brands would you consider good? Oh, and I hope the muffins made it :o
No idea what brands they are but never had an issue with any of the ones I brought at babies galore, just the cheapies I brought at Target.
I agree with celular blankets too. Personally, I think they are ugly things but they are safe. We also do the make the bed towards the bottom thing so bubs couldn't slip under as they are wriggly little things aren't they?
Heres a link to the instructions for perineal massage for those who are curious. http://www.childbirth.org/articles/massage.html
Sorry to hear about your baby shower M2B. Thats not nice at all!
Hope everyone is having a lovely day.
P.S. Forgot to say WELCOME BACK Caithi.
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 11:21 AM
I think your right...I could die giving birth and my MIL would be very happy :laughing:
Mine had 4 boys and miscarried between all several times and thinks she couldn't 'carry' girls.
Anyway, when her first granddaughter was born she kept saying 'good, we don't have to put her back, if it was a boy we'd have to' and things like that. She goes on about it so much!
And like yesterday or the other day when I was saying that when I said I may possibly have to have a c/s she was saying it was okay and saying it over and over and making it sound like I had thought I was a failure!
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 11:26 AM
Question re Birthing / Antenatal Classes -
Just wondering - it says to wear comfy clothes & my fave atm is a jeanswest skirt I live in but if you have to get down on the floor and do things it might be better to go with pants?
Has anyone done theirs yet & can shed some light on this (stupid) question?
firsttime
12-01-2007, 11:32 AM
CarrieB - my classes didnt entail getting on the floor at all, we were perched on nice comfy chairs with footstools the whole time. but every place is probably different.
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 11:35 AM
CarrieB - my classes didnt entail getting on the floor at all, we were perched on nice comfy chairs with footstools the whole time. but every place is probably different.
SOUNDS GOOD!
Was watching Will & Grace last night & they were on the floor so got worried - how do i get up again? lol. My friend's entailed both but the chairs were uncomfortable :(
Hope we have some like yours!:fingerscrossed:
Just wondering - it says to wear comfy clothes & my fave atm is a jeanswest skirt I live in but if you have to get down on the floor and do things it might be better to go with pants?
That's a good question, I am doing my classes next month and only wear skirts - I will not be caught in a pair of pants ever. Mine too said to wear comfy clothes.
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 11:41 AM
That's a good question, I am doing my classes next month and only wear skirts - I will not be caught in a pair of pants ever. Mine too said to wear comfy clothes.
I pretty much wear my white skirt, my printed maternity skirt or my 3/4 denim pants but sitting for ages my skirt is way more comfortable ...
I wish i still fitted in half my skirts! lol. I have a few skirt/dresses - the baby doll style dresses with the elastic up the top - they make great skirts!
Little_Toad
12-01-2007, 11:46 AM
Responsathon!
Caithi welcome back. Glad it's only your hip that is injured.
Aquadevil welcome back too, happy you finally found somewhere to live.
That frog cup set is very cute. Someone bought us something similar for Xmas.
I'll do your tummy timeline soon.
Babie's Galore: I spent $550 there and asked for a discount and they gave me $33 off and put me on your frequent buyers card.
You have to ask for these things at most stores. Doesn't hurt.
Heartburn: I found that the liquid Mylanta is far better than the tablets. I've got the Heartburn one. Yummier tasting too.
Epidurals: EEEK NO WAY!! I'm also in the birthing center so am not allowed one there.
Amity'sMum: Well done on your car purchase. Have fun driving. I might go for driving lessons if we move to Melbourne.
Speaking of perineum's, has anyone started rubbing cream into their perineum and started massaging it in prep for birth? Are any of you going to?? [ Dp keeps asking me if I'm ready for this!! he wants to do it for me.
i also have to watch my Pink Kit dvd so I know what to do in labor as I'm not going to classes. I am meant to start watching them at 28 weeks. I'm now 32 weeks.
ShanMac, I hope Hamish's birthday is a memorable one and things don't get you too down with thoughts of Oliver.
M2B and I have hooked up as sms buddies. Thanks M2B.
Shezi.. did you get someone at the end of the month? Glad your baby hs turned. Hope she stays there.
Firsttime: Love the nursery photos
AnnSam: Have a great time on your pamper night.
Emma80: Well done on being strict with your MIL. My mother is coming for about 3 days most likely, that would be ok if she could actually help out and do stuff like hold the toadlet. She has all her bones fused in her neck so cant lift things over 1kg or carry anything. Plus.. she can't go in cars, so I have to go collect her from the airport, with toadlet, then bring her home carrying her massive amounts of luggage on two trains then a walk.
My 4d ultrasound was a little disappointing. Toadlet had its face pressed against the uterine wall on once side, the placenta covering it on the other side and both it's hands covering its face. The most we saw was an eyeball. As a proud mummy to be, I can brag that my baby has the cutest eye ball ever!
Nemo'sMum:
that reminds me LT are you going to take some time off once bubs arrives or just work through?
Do you have someone to help you out with all your business stuff?
Or is it flexible coz you work from home?
I can't take time off. I am frantically trying to finish upgrading the back end of my calculators and finish 3 web sites.
I have started to turn down doing web design work so I only have to concentrate on the calculators. it doesn't take long to do the set up for new clients so I wont mind doing that. Plus it still means I have the same income (minus the web design work which is fine with me).
CarrieB: I am also very emotional. I never cry usually. The other day I cried cause DP chased me round the house with a dead cockroach.
No stretch marks for me .. yet! I am also starting to feel a little nauseous occasionally. If I eat it goes away.
BlueGin: How are your feet and ankles? My ankles and feet are MASSIVE! Even with putting on flight socks and strapping them the still swell up. I can press a dent into the front part of my foot 2cm deep. Very appealing.
Ruby& Tily'sMum. Looking forward too seeing pics of the party. hope it goes well.
Jazzysum. I love the name Roxy. Nice short and strong. So far only one person has said "I pity the kid" when she asked what we were naming it.
She then told me I should name it Mezzanine!! Has Roxy turned yet? Can you get it manipulated like Shezi did?
Mum 2 Ryan + 1 : Toadlet is in the exact same position as yours.
TazzyStone: My 4d ultrasound was a little disappointing. Toadlet had its face pressed against the uterine wall on once side, the placenta covering it on the other side and both it's hands covering its face. The most we saw was an eyeball. As a proud mummy to be, I can brag that my baby has the cutest eye ball ever! Your tummy is big now!
My tummy is definitely getting bigger, although DP said for the first time. "Your tummy isn't that big" which surprised me after being called "fat guts" for the last 4 months. He met with a lady who is due 2 weeks after me and she was significantly bigger. His opinion on my giant fat bum was slightly different.
Toadlet has been stretching and stomping like crazy. I love playing "chase the foot"
I have an appointment today and since DP took the day off to spend it with his Toad I am getting him to come with me i.e.: drive me there and back.
Making my last batch of nappies at the moment (12 more).
Then the only things I have to buy are eco disposable for the first two weeks. Liners, Formula and baby lotions etc.
That's IT!!
annsam
12-01-2007, 11:52 AM
LT, been meaning to ask, how is the Pink Kit?
In my classes once upon a time ago we got down on mats and pillows on the floor. I HATE role play.
Little_Toad
12-01-2007, 11:56 AM
Annsam. I'll let you know if I get round to watching/reading/listening to it!
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 12:03 PM
Little Toad - I just looked at your tummy timeline - I wish I'd been taking pics of mine now! I was waiting til I got bigger seeing as my tummy wasn't the most attractive to start with so wanted to take pics with clothes on but able to see baby bump! Lol ... I still haven't done it though. I think I will tonight when I go home before I forget (although these days with my pregnancy brains I'll prob forget in 5, 4, 3, 2, ... - what was I saying?!)
BlueGin
12-01-2007, 12:30 PM
Thanks for the bedding tips guys, it sounds like celular are the way to go (I hate the things, remind me of being in hospital, and they never kept me warm enough, but Bubble wont be worried I'm sure, hehe) and I did see them at Target, will have to grab some, do I need many?
M2B, nasty old MIL there! Don't let the silly biddy ruin your day though, have fun just to spite her :devil6:
LT, shame about your Mum, not really what you'll be needing at that time, oh well, once it's over, she'll be able to go home happy that she has seen the bundle, which is nice.
Love your tummy, a very cute bump! To me you don't look like you've changed a great deal in the rear-end department, but it does seem to start from higher up (IYKWIM) which is the same as mine, weird, probably all that hideous fluid! My feet are a pretty gross, I just abhor the sock lines I end up at the end of the day, make me feel so grossed out by myself! One of the worst bits for me, is seeing that there is now a "pad" on the top of my foot, like, it actually looks raised up from the side :barf:
I think we're going to have a BBQ in the first week for all the family to meet our little one, hopefully Mum will be happy to have it at hers! That way I wont feel like I've denied anyone the pleasure, but wont have to deal with people turning up here (I hate drop ins).
Think the Bubble may have flipped! The top bit, which I have been calling a bottom, feels far too round :eek: I sure hope not, I'd lose my birth centre place if that happened, and I'm a bit scared of hospitals after my last trip :(
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 12:38 PM
Thanks for the bedding tips guys, it sounds like celular are the way to go (I hate the things, remind me of being in hospital, and they never kept me warm enough, but Bubble wont be worried I'm sure, hehe) and I did see them at Target, will have to grab some, do I need many?
M2B, nasty old MIL there! Don't let the silly biddy ruin your day though, have fun just to spite her :devil6:
LT, shame about your Mum, not really what you'll be needing at that time, oh well, once it's over, she'll be able to go home happy that she has seen the bundle, which is nice.
Love your tummy, a very cute bump! To me you don't look like you've changed a great deal in the rear-end department, but it does seem to start from higher up (IYKWIM) which is the same as mine, weird, probably all that hideous fluid! My feet are a pretty gross, I just abhor the sock lines I end up at the end of the day, make me feel so grossed out by myself! One of the worst bits for me, is seeing that there is now a "pad" on the top of my foot, like, it actually looks raised up from the side :barf:
I think we're going to have a BBQ in the first week for all the family to meet our little one, hopefully Mum will be happy to have it at hers! That way I wont feel like I've denied anyone the pleasure, but wont have to deal with people turning up here (I hate drop ins).
Think the Bubble may have flipped! The top bit, which I have been calling a bottom, feels far too round :eek: I sure hope not, I'd lose my birth centre place if that happened, and I'm a bit scared of hospitals after my last trip :(
What happened at the hospital last time?
Also, someone said before you can't have an epidural at a birthing centre - is this true? I am going to a hospital so hopefully it is all good. I am worried about hemoraging or being rushed to theatre like my bf though
What does (IYKWIM) mean?
My belly button feels weird atm - it feels like it's moving and hard on the inside and when I was walking around shops last night it felt the same! Maybe bubs has a foot or hand behind it?!
library-laksa
12-01-2007, 12:40 PM
my class is in just over a week, i have 3 pairs of maternity pants (3/4 style) and only 1 skirt so odds are i'll be in pants :)
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 12:44 PM
my class is in just over a week, i have 3 pairs of maternity pants (3/4 style) and only 1 skirt so odds are i'll be in pants :)
MINE START TOMORROW!!!!
Yay! So looking fwd to them. We are doing the 2 full day Saturdays so tomorrow & next week. Poor DH will be tired - he is on a deep sea fishing trip all day today! He had to be up at 4 to go to Goldie! Lol ...
Dreading watching the 'video' if it's anything like the one I saw in sex ed in grade 7! I was away sick on sex ed day and I had to watch by myself the next day! I dragged a friend in there with me but OMG I was scarred for life! Who would do that to a 12 yr old? Funny thing was she hardly even made a noise ... Odd, I think I will be screaming & swearing!
annsam
12-01-2007, 12:45 PM
Also, someone said before you can't have an epidural at a birthing centre - is this true?I am worried about hemoraging or being rushed to theatre like my bf though
What does (IYKWIM) mean?
Most birthing centres you cant have epidurals unless they are rooms in a maternity ward. Birthing centres are generally for women who want to birth naturally but just not at home. If extra care is needed transfer to hospital ward happens.
IYKWIM - if you know what I mean.
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 12:45 PM
PS Does anyone else sometimes feel like there is a heart beat in their tummy? I can feel it now ...
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 12:46 PM
Most birthing centres you cant have epidurals unless they are rooms in a maternity ward. Birthing centres are generally for women who want to birth naturally but just not at home. If extra care is needed transfer to hospital ward happens.
IYKWIM - if you know what I mean.
Oh okay ... thanks for clearing that up! :wave:
Emma 80
12-01-2007, 12:48 PM
I'm currently going to the Chermside one and we just sit on very uncomfortable chairs for 2 1/2 hour and when you leave you have a sore back and bum lol.
LT that must have taken you ages to write your post lol. That's abit of a bummer about you scan. But at least you know he has a cute eyeball.
Emma 80
12-01-2007, 12:51 PM
PS Does anyone else sometimes feel like there is a heart beat in their tummy? I can feel it now ...
Yes I do I thought I must have been my imagination. I didn't want to mention it to anyone in case they thought I was an idiot lol.
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 12:53 PM
Yes I do I thought I must have been my imagination. I didn't want to mention it to anyone in case they thought I was an idiot lol.
SAME HERE !!! :yes:
BlueGin
12-01-2007, 12:58 PM
What happened at the hospital last time?
Also, someone said before you can't have an epidural at a birthing centre - is this true? I am going to a hospital so hopefully it is all good. I am worried about hemoraging or being rushed to theatre like my bf though
What does (IYKWIM) mean?
My belly button feels weird atm - it feels like it's moving and hard on the inside and when I was walking around shops last night it felt the same! Maybe bubs has a foot or hand behind it?!
Re: the hospital, I just felt really pushed around, over medicated, didn't really have a chance to make any decisions regarding my own care, and when I put my foot down about anything they kind of treated me like an idiot. Not nice. (Also misdiagnosed me, lol, so that doesn't help my confidence!)
You're allowed an epidural, and anything else, it just means they move you to a different floor. The centre is aimed at natural birth. They're nice about it, and don't act like the women who move and have intervention or drugs are bad or failures or anything, I just love the birth centre! lol, plus, DH gets to stay over in our private room... double bed, little sink and baby bath, and only 6 rooms with about 3 or 4 middies, so high attention levels.
Oh, and when I lie down, I can see my pulse bouncing my tummy around, such a crackup! My belly button has the top "lip" thingy sticking out, and it does feel a bit odd against my clothes!
Hey, does anyone else ever still forget the reason for their tummy? I found myself trying to brush the "bump" out of my top the other day... and sometimes catch sight of the bulge and think I really need to start a diet... :o Then I remember and feel like a right goose! :laughing:
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 01:04 PM
Re: the hospital, I just felt really pushed around, over medicated, didn't really have a chance to make any decisions regarding my own care, and when I put my foot down about anything they kind of treated me like an idiot. Not nice. (Also misdiagnosed me, lol, so that doesn't help my confidence!)
You're allowed an epidural, and anything else, it just means they move you to a different floor. The centre is aimed at natural birth. They're nice about it, and don't act like the women who move and have intervention or drugs are bad or failures or anything, I just love the birth centre! lol, plus, DH gets to stay over in our private room... double bed, little sink and baby bath, and only 6 rooms with about 3 or 4 middies, so high attention levels.
Oh, and when I lie down, I can see my pulse bouncing my tummy around, such a crackup! My belly button has the top "lip" thingy sticking out, and it does feel a bit odd against my clothes!
Hey, does anyone else ever still forget the reason for their tummy? I found myself trying to brush the "bump" out of my top the other day... and sometimes catch sight of the bulge and think I really need to start a diet... :o Then I remember and feel like a right goose! :laughing:
That's terrible about your hospital experience!!! Birthing Centre sounds great.
I'm going to a small private hospital - Mater at Redlands and it is nice and small, only has 2 delivery rooms, doesn't have a nursery or anything and you get lots of attention as small as well. Also, hubbies / partners / boyf's can stay overnight with you however in the second bed in your (private) room, no double beds. I like this as DH is going to take 1 or 2 weeks when I come home instead and work while I'm in the hospital with the middies & visitors during the day and him staying o/n.
Belly buttons - Mine is the biggest innie - I could fit half my pinkie in there (although my hands are quite small) and now just the tip! It isn't flat yet though and wont pop out I don't think and everyone says they can see my belly button through my shirts as looks like a big hole! :yes:
BlueGin
12-01-2007, 01:10 PM
Your hospital sounds really nice! It sounds like a great idea not to use up your DH's holidays, until you're at home, as I imagine that is when we'll need them most.
It's kind of bizarre seeing your belly button from outside clothes isn't it? LOL, the kind of "stretched hole" look!
Found out from DH the other day that he has set his holidays to start from my EDD, I asked what happens if I go early or late... "bad luck" :mad: :(
Not happy at all with this, and hope it is yet another of those things that he just says, then doesn't end up doing! I really worry that I'll freak out if by myself too much in the first days home, and I also want him to be as involved as possible before I get in to any routines, as I know I have a habit of developing my way of doing things, and may accidentally exclude him otherwise. *sigh* may not even come up though, as I said, he does sometimes just say things whether they're going to happen or not :rolleyes:
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 01:17 PM
Your hospital sounds really nice! It sounds like a great idea not to use up your DH's holidays, until you're at home, as I imagine that is when we'll need them most.
It's kind of bizarre seeing your belly button from outside clothes isn't it? LOL, the kind of "stretched hole" look!
Found out from DH the other day that he has set his holidays to start from my EDD, I asked what happens if I go early or late... "bad luck" :mad: :(
Not happy at all with this, and hope it is yet another of those things that he just says, then doesn't end up doing! I really worry that I'll freak out if by myself too much in the first days home, and I also want him to be as involved as possible before I get in to any routines, as I know I have a habit of developing my way of doing things, and may accidentally exclude him otherwise. *sigh* may not even come up though, as I said, he does sometimes just say things whether they're going to happen or not :rolleyes:
I asked my hubby the other day if he'd put dates in for hols but he hasn't he just said when I'm due to give them an idea and will be leaving work as soon as I go into labour (if I go in during the day). Prob gonna get my bf (who lives about 3 hrs away) to come and stay around that time so she can take me to the hospital so I don't have to wait for him or my mum - mum lives an hour's drive away from us now.
I know what you mean about saying things then them actually not happening! We had that conversation (again, lol) last night - EVERY NIGHT I CRY COS HE HASN'T PICKED UP THE BATHMAT AFTER HIS SHOWER & IT WILL GET SMELLY & HE JUST DOESN'T LEARN & I CAN'T BEND OVER TO PICK IT UP AFTER ALREADY DOING IT FOR MY OWN SHOWER!!!! :banghead:
annsam
12-01-2007, 01:25 PM
To be honest, I couldnt' wait for DH to go back to work so I could get my own routine sorted. He always mucks it up. This time though may be different with DS to look after aswell - he'll have 2 weeks off at least but he knows I'll be kicking him out before thats up ;)
BlueGin
12-01-2007, 01:27 PM
That sounds like a good idea having someone stay, I think I'll go the ambulance route if DH is at work, saves him rushing home first, he can then just go straight there (and I don't have to worry about him driving badly! lol)
You had me laughing with your bathmat mention, that was an "issue" around here a few months ago, he got the message though, finally :thumbsup:
I like the idea of him just having a loosely planned holiday time, but being in retail it is a little tougher, add to it the fact that he is keeping the pregnancy a surprise from his workmates... :o He plans on showing up with a newborn in March, lol, I can see the humour, but it does make it a little tricky sometimes picking him up from work! :laughing:
BlueGin
12-01-2007, 01:29 PM
To be honest, I couldnt' wait for DH to go back to work so I could get my own routine sorted. He always mucks it up. This time though may be different with DS to look after aswell - he'll have 2 weeks off at least but he knows I'll be kicking him out before thats up ;)
Interesting point! I do seem to get at least 10 times more things done around here when he's at work! :p
My big fear is that I won't be very good with the baby, or that I'll get PND, I am kind of scared of babies, cause I've never been around them before :o
library-laksa
12-01-2007, 01:44 PM
my DH is having 9 weeks off :smiliedance:
and he works on a mine (only away every second week) so he will be home plenty to change those sh!tty nappies hehehe
i love having him home but i am sure by the end of 9 weeks, i will be sick of him LOL esp as i like to do thing MY way!! but that said, i am really happy that he will be able to spend those first 6 weeks or so with me and our son.
tazzystone
12-01-2007, 01:46 PM
Gosh this thread moves so much it takes forever to catch up on all of the reading.... and then to remember everything is impossible.
Well we did perineal (sp) massage last time (well DH did it) and I did tear and had stiches but it was the training midwife who kinds helped with that. I thought she did a great job though apart from that little slip up (which the midwife said outload at the time for her not to move her hand and she did and then oops - didnt feel it though). I'm not really fussed on doing it this time but DH has been looking forward to the 36 week mark :laughing: to begin!!
My DH just takes the annual leave from the time I go into labour so that is good. He had three weeks last time but will prob only have 12 days this time as he is on a different shift and I also have my mum who is now retired 5 min away so I dont mind him doing that. He is also taking holidays when his parents come to visit new bub at Easter. Three weeks for the first bub though was perfect and I really needed all of that time with him being there to help make the decisions.
Just bought some nappy wrapper cassettes from Target on sale. I think they were $14.99 for anyone who has one.
LT bummer about 4D pics but sounds like bub had a gorgeous eye!! I cant wait to share my pics with you all. I hope my bub isnt shy.
Anyway better go and do something as I have been out all morning. I really hate leaving the house at the moment - its just too humid outside. I have the air con going from 8am all day. Even hanging washing is terrible. Think I will start hanging it inside again on the horse.
defaipe
12-01-2007, 01:47 PM
Shezi, so what about the cot blankets makes them safer?
i think everyone else answered this for me hehe. but yes its the chance of them getting stuck underneath tucked in sheets & doonas that im paranoid about..
what a cow! how nice of her to make your baby shower all about her!! :hugs:
I wanted to get a mattress protector for the bassinette and he suggested using a garbage bag :eek: :no: and they are only about $13. I told him to wake up to himself.
hahahaha that is something my fiance would say! i just do it! would be hard to not have a licence and have to take them with you though.. i hate shopping with chris..
To be honest, I couldnt' wait for DH to go back to work so I could get my own routine sorted. He always mucks it up.
yep im with you! much easier on your own. chris isnt taking holidays. he's having the day i have bub off and thats it unless i need him. mum is having the girls. we need him to be at work for the money anyway.
Emma 80
12-01-2007, 01:54 PM
Interesting point! I do seem to get at least 10 times more things done around here when he's at work! :p
My big fear is that I won't be very good with the baby, or that I'll get PND, I am kind of scared of babies, cause I've never been around them before :o
I feel the same way BlueGin as i've haven't even held a newborn before, and I've had depression since I was 17 so that doesn't help either. But i'm sure we will all do our best :thumbsup: .
i
hahahaha that is something my fiance would say! i just do it! would be hard to not have a licence and have to take them with you though.. i hate shopping with chris..
Don't ya just wanna smack them :laughing:
12-01-2007, 02:22 PM
Gin, Emma..... Dont stress too much about it coz you may suprise yourselfs:yes:
That said ive worked with kids all my career and the last 16mths before O was born all i did was work with babies from 3mths old
I thought it would be a breeze, i mean here i am a trained EC teacher with all this hands on experience settling and handling babies!
I was a mess when i got O home, hormones raging, no sleep, bfing every two hours day and night argh
I didnt cope well at all!!!
I was devastated and totally in denial it took me ages to ask for help!
BUT you girls dont have that pressure on yourselves to be brillant lol like i did i was totally expecting to be the perfect mother!
Turned out dh was much better at handling bub, nappies, bathing, burping, settling etc etc
I think mainly coz i was an emotioal wreck every time O would cry i would fall apart literally i would have major panic attacks!
Anway sorry i dont know why i wrote all that **** for...not to scare you girls just to make you realise that you cant do a worse job then i did thats for sure LOL you'll all do great!
Me too lets hope:D
Elmopalooza
12-01-2007, 02:28 PM
amitysmum - i want the same car you got, can i ask what year was it? sounds like a bargain....my hubby has the same one for his work car, and we want one for me too....was it the auction place in welshpool?
must get to bed soon, got the gym at 0600am....
It is an 02 model, VY commodore with only 56,000kms! I went to the one in Balcatta but they are the same company anyway. Hope u get the car u want!
Why do MIL's have to suck. I'm so sorry about your baby shower, that's not fair.
Thanks Emma! I think they are all meant to suck, it's their mission in life. I think it has to do with us taken their boys away from them![/QUOTE]
:laughing: just remember girls, for those of us that are having boys, WE will be the 'Monster-in-Law' on day! ;)
Yep i have been getting this too! I can actually feel his little feet wriggling behind my belly button! Feel kind cool! lol
My big fear is that I won't be very good with the baby, or that I'll get PND, I am kind of scared of babies, cause I've never been around them before
Gin - It is a scary thing having ur first bub and then DH/DP going back to work and suddenly ur alone... I didnt cope that well with Amity and ended up with PND (already suffered from clinical depression tho) so this time everyone will keep a close eye on me... Just make sure that if you feel like ur not coping to ask for help.. there is nothing wrong with that, it is a HUGE life changing experience!
Sarah - lol, you can come clean my fridge too if u like! :laughing: I really need to start getting Griffins room ready... soon lol.
M2B - I say just have ur baby shower anyway! If ur MIL is acting like that it will probably be nicer without her their anyway! this is a time for YOU not her!
Cant remember who asked, but Bubba Blue are a really good brand of sheets. they do them in the different sizes too i think.
It almost seems that everyone is going private.. Who else is like me and going public??
I woke up this morning and think that i may have two little stretch marks coming up on the bottom of my tummy. I saw them in the mirror.... these are my first for the entire pregnancy! I have been moisturising everyday so im NOT happy!
ETA: sorry for the really long post... You girls just talk heaps!
Emma 80
12-01-2007, 02:39 PM
It almost seems that everyone is going private.. Who else is like me and going public??
Yep i'm going public. They seem really nice at the hospital I'm going too so I hope they are nice on the day lol.
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 02:47 PM
Just got back from an hour lunch break & it's taken like 10 mins or more to read through all the posts since I've left! It's worse in the mornings when I arrive at work tho! Lol ...
This is my first bub and I am a little nervous as well but more excited atm. I always wanted to work as an EC teacher to & do nursery - At school I studied it and did 2 yrs work experience pretty much all in the nursery. I have always loved kids & all I have ever wanted is to grow up & be a mum! I can't believe it's nearly here!!! :smiliedance:
Girls, don't worry if you haven't been around babies before. You will form your own special bond with bubs, form your own routines which suits you & just go with your gut instincts (& don't listen to monster-in-laws!!! Lol).
Gin, can't believe you had the bathmat prob! Must be a DH thing ... At least he got it through his head ... eventually!
Went out at lunch and got a lemon maternity singlet from Big W (I have the white one & it's the best) reduced to $10 and went to Jeans West and got a blue strapless (or you can tie the cord around your neck as well) dress / long top (sits above knees) which is so cool & comfy & will be great for home, hospital & beach. Think I am pretty much set for hospital now except for the toilettries.
Is it just me? Everytime I am out at lunch & I see someone who is pregnant and looks about about the same along as me I wonder if it is one of the Brisbane March Mums to be! Lol ...
Sorry for the long post!
Have a good (hot) afternoon everyone - wish air con worked in my corner at work - I need a desk fan but still get the 3'oclock hot flush!
M2B and I have hooked up as sms buddies. Thanks M2B.
No probs! Looking forward to the text messages!
my class is in just over a week, i have 3 pairs of maternity pants (3/4 style) and only 1 skirt so odds are i'll be in pants
Maybe I will have to go get some 3/4 pants and get over my 'bum looks too big in pants' problem
To be honest, I couldnt' wait for DH to go back to work so I could get my own routine sorted. He always mucks it up. This time though may be different with DS to look after aswell - he'll have 2 weeks off at least but he knows I'll be kicking him out before thats up
I think I will be the same, DH is easy distracted so I will probably be looking after Madi and him - hehe
:laughing: just remember girls, for those of us that are having boys, WE will be the 'Monster-in-Law' on day! ;)
M2B - I say just have ur baby shower anyway! If ur MIL is acting like that it will probably be nicer without her their anyway! this is a time for YOU not her!
OMG:laughing: That is a good point Lana, lucky I am having a girl then 'cause I will probably be the worst MIL
I am so over the baby shower thing, probably just have lunch with my mum, sis and friends
I just went and spoke to our HR dept. about my maternity leave and apparently I will not be able to apply to work 4 days a week from the start of August until July (4 weeks before coming back to work) then they will review my request. Bit shocked as I have been here 7 years full time and only asking for 4 months off work and then wanting to return 4 days a week until her 1st birthday, then work full time again. :banghead:
So many posts girls! I think the closer we are getting to our due dates, the more we have to say! I love reading them all though!
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 02:49 PM
Yep i'm going public. They seem really nice at the hospital I'm going too so I hope they are nice on the day lol.
We are actually going to stop paying for Medibank after bubs is born because it will just be too exy for us each fortnight :(
So will prob be public for next bubs but I won't go to the public hospital near us & in same grounds as private I'm going to as have heard some horror stories. Will prob go to RBWH for #2 if still public then.
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 02:57 PM
Maybe I will have to go get some 3/4 pants and get over my 'bum looks too big in pants' problem
I think I will be the same, DH is easy distracted so I will probably be looking after Madi and him - hehe
M2B I just have some really comfy denim ones I got in Target at the start of my pregnancy (I think I will still wear them afterwards too!) but since I (& most of us) would need longer tops now you don't notice how big ya bum is so don't worry! Lol ...
I think DH will luv having his bubby girl at home but apart from that will be playing his PS2 all day long! I can tell you now he's not going out fishing all the time like he does now!!! He will have a shock if I have a c/s! He is good & vacuums & mops the floors now but if I have a c/s he will have to learn how to do everything else - although it won't be to my standards I'm sure! I clean everything weekly if not more. Even if he does the dishes he won't wipe the benches down and he leaves the tea towel (we don't dry them but he may have used it for cooking or something) just on the bench all the time. Lol ...
It'd be good having him home so I can go to the toilet & shower - I am most worried about being home alone & being worried about going to shower or to the toilet! :)
Was gonna say something else but forgot - what's new?!
Oh yeah - your work! That sux! All I have to do is email hr dude the date when I know and I said I'm taking 12 mths - they don't know that I am planning to only come back 2 days per week I don't think but I don't think they'll mind. I would really like to get work sent home as all dictating is done electronically now so :fingerscrossed:
Elmopalooza
12-01-2007, 02:58 PM
I just went and spoke to our HR dept. about my maternity leave and apparently I will not be able to apply to work 4 days a week from the start of August until July (4 weeks before coming back to work) then they will review my request. Bit shocked as I have been here 7 years full time and only asking for 4 months off work and then wanting to return 4 days a week until her 1st birthday, then work full time again. :banghead:
Hmm that sucks! They cant fire you though. When u are on maternity leave, they must hold you position for you and they are meant to accommodate for you when u come back. That means hours that suit you too.. Well, that was my understanding of it anyway!
I think when u are pregnant you tend to notice everyones bellies alot more... Bit like when u get a new car u see heaps more of them around than before!
AquaDevil78
12-01-2007, 02:58 PM
Yes!! What is it?? Baby? or our pulses?
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 02:59 PM
NO IDEA!!!
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 03:00 PM
NO IDEA!!!
Lol - just tried to post that & got this message:
This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts. Please try again in 8 seconds.
tazzystone
12-01-2007, 03:07 PM
CarrieB my DH is a mad keen fishing man. He spent Mon arv, Tuesday getting his boat and gear ready to go out for all day Wednesday. I have banned him from fishing on his next four days off so we can get the house and garage organised. I have never bought or allowed DH to buy a playstation. I cant stand them and he has too much to do anyway. Fishing is his number one hobby. I am determined to have outdoor kids and never buy one... hmm wonder what will be around by the time my DS is a teenager and he will be begging me to get one.
Wtih my first bub I just showered while bub was on the activity mat at the shower door (in our bedroom). Then later once he was in his activity station I would put that at the door while I showered. Now I have to shower with DS or when he is asleep. Have no idea what I will do with this one.
I am also going Public and did so last time and had a positive experience and didnt have to share a room even. I think this time will be different as I have a feeling there are many March mums due around the same time.
Oh and with our classes last time it was only the Physio class that we got on the floor and did things, all of the other classes I could wear skirts etc.
Emma 80
12-01-2007, 03:09 PM
NO IDEA!!!
Lol - just tried to post that & got this message:
This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between posts. Please try again in 8 seconds.
Yep that saves people spamming on forums
tazzystone
12-01-2007, 03:09 PM
Does everyone elses bubs have hiccups?? That is how I first knew how bub was positioned and I love getting them each day to make sure he/she is still head down.
AquaDevil78
12-01-2007, 03:10 PM
Im sure Annsam will know heheh :D
AquaDevil78
12-01-2007, 03:11 PM
Does everyone elses bubs have hiccups?? That is how I first knew how bub was positioned and I love getting them each day to make sure he/she is still head down.
Would that be the "heartbeat" that myself and carrie can feel in our bellies??
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 03:13 PM
CarrieB my DH is a mad keen fishing man. He spent Mon arv, Tuesday getting his boat and gear ready to go out for all day Wednesday. I have banned him from fishing on his next four days off so we can get the house and garage organised. I have never bought or allowed DH to buy a playstation. I cant stand them and he has too much to do anyway. Fishing is his number one hobby. I am determined to have outdoor kids and never buy one... hmm wonder what will be around by the time my DS is a teenager and he will be begging me to get one.
Wtih my first bub I just showered while bub was on the activity mat at the shower door (in our bedroom). Then later once he was in his activity station I would put that at the door while I showered. Now I have to shower with DS or when he is asleep. Have no idea what I will do with this one.
I am also going Public and did so last time and had a positive experience and didnt have to share a room even. I think this time will be different as I have a feeling there are many March mums due around the same time.
Oh and with our classes last time it was only the Physio class that we got on the floor and did things, all of the other classes I could wear skirts etc.
We only have a small tinny (which he has to row cos there's no engine! lol) but cos we have a little 2 door car he can only take that out with his brother or someone else with a ute. He just drives up the road where heaps of ppl fish off this bridge. As soon as we are at home for 2 secs and I am dying to relax he's off fishing & I'm home board. I was cut on Sat as it was our last free weekend til mid-Feb & we needed to get paint for the nursery, a light switch, he had to mow & things like that and he went for a couple of hours. Good thing was I was grumpy & cleaned the house which wore me out so I had a little nap as well. Bad thing was we got to Bunnings to get the paint & they closed as they were mixing it up so didn't get the light switch or anything else - our toilet is still dark at night! Grr ...
Showers - our bathroom is small but directly across from the nursery so once it's set up, if cot is where I think it will be I could prob see her from the bathroom.
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 03:14 PM
Would that be the "heartbeat" that myself and carrie can feel in our bellies??
Oh cool! I was disappointed when my books said I should feel hiccups now & I thought I couldn't! Maybe you're right!!! :yelclap:
annsam
12-01-2007, 03:32 PM
The blood flow to your limbs goes down beside your tummy button. That may be what you are feeling? It can be a strong pulse and sometimes you can see it pulsing when lying down? Just a thought.
AquaDevil78
12-01-2007, 03:34 PM
Im grateful we found an awesome house and all, but guess what as usual there is always one fkn annoying Neighbour, the house diagonal accross the road, full of low lifes, plays music really loud every friggen day from 11-11... ARRRRRRGH so i just finally put my foot down and called the council, coz im sick of it already, and im not putting up with that **** when baby is born. No consideration at all, thank god they dont do it all night. (Althugh haven't been here on a fri/sat night before.. so we'll see). Last night there kids where outside til 1am... and this am i find half a broken skate board up the drive.
Some people :banghead: :rolleyes:
Elmopalooza
12-01-2007, 03:35 PM
Heheh yeh Griffin always gets the hiccups.. so cute!
glad to know that im not the only one going public!
When Amity was a newborn i used to just put her in her rocker/bouncer.. Thats part of why i love them so much!
AquaDevil78
12-01-2007, 03:35 PM
The blood flow to your limbs goes down beside your tummy button. That may be what you are feeling? It can be a strong pulse and sometimes you can see it pulsing when lying down? Just a thought.
Mines more on top of my belly on the right side, sometimes left.. i know what you mean.. this is different tho.
annsam
12-01-2007, 03:36 PM
Im grateful we found an awesome house and all, but guess what as usual there is always one fkn annoying Neighbour, the house diagonal accross the road, full of low lifes, plays music really loud every friggen day from 11-11... ARRRRRRGH so i just finally put my foot down and called the council, coz im sick of it already, and im not putting up with that **** when baby is born. No consideration at all, thank god they dont do it all night. (Althugh haven't been here on a fri/sat night before.. so we'll see). Last night there kids where outside til 1am... and this am i find half a broken skate board up the drive.
Some people :banghead: :rolleyes:
Oh that SUCKS!!!!! Good on you. I know how you feel as thats how I feel about neightbours dog. No peace for us pg women is there :rolleyes:
No idea then about that position sorry. My bubs hicups I feel under my ribs. Annoys the hell out of me.
Oh thunder is rolling in.
tazzystone
12-01-2007, 03:37 PM
When my bub gets the hiccups it is always down low near my cervix and to the left side slightly. It is like a continuous pulse/bubble for a few mintues. You can see and feel it from the outside too.
Maybe this is what you are feeling.
tazzystone
12-01-2007, 03:39 PM
boy this thread moves so fast byt the time I type something heaps more has been added!!
AquaDevil78
12-01-2007, 03:41 PM
When my bub gets the hiccups it is always down low near my cervix and to the left side slightly. It is like a continuous pulse/bubble for a few mintues. You can see and feel it from the outside too.
Maybe this is what you are feeling.
Yah i thinkit is hiccups coz regular pattern , boom, boom kind of thing only lasts maybe a min max and then stopd... and coz my bub upside down makes sense i'd feel more up top and see it :D
defaipe
12-01-2007, 04:10 PM
ok girls im struggling to keep up with this thread!!
as for showering, well i have showers at night once the girls are asleep.. theres no other way. if they're awake they want to get in..
AD that sux about the neighbours!! how old are their kids.. 1am seems pretty bad!
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 04:14 PM
I was really looking fwd to this weekend as we are going to a birthday dinner tonight & antenatal classes tomorrow all day (:yelclap: ) and then Sat night we have a 21st and then Sunday we are picking up the cot before going to Hog's Breath for a birthday lunch... a bit stressful on our already depleted bank account ... :(
Anyway, like I said before DH went deep sea fishing today & he never answered any of my texts today asking how it was going (he never texts back to me!) just called me & said my car has a flat battery. He's rung RACQ to come jump start him. I was on the office phone to mum at the same time who told me that they'll jump start (he doesn't have a credit card so they won't be able to replace the battery then & there) and that he can't stop all the way home and would have to get someone to take him to get a battery however he has to wait prob an hour for them to turn up and by the time he comes back from the Gold Coast it'll be 6 or after so everywhere will be closed! He said he left my lights on and then he got angry saying it doesn't need a new battery as once it starts it recharges itself!!!! :banghead:
I am like no, it will need it & I will be extremely cut if it does need it & we can't go to dinner tonight and if it doesn't start in the morning to go to our antenatal classes!!! I feel like crying (again!) :crying:
They can be so damn moody!!!
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 04:15 PM
as for showering, well i have showers at night once the girls are asleep.. theres no other way. if they're awake they want to get in..
AD that sux about the neighbours!! how old are their kids.. 1am seems pretty bad!
I have to have my shower in the morning then late arvo / early evening. I guess it would be easier with a newborn tho!
Emma 80
12-01-2007, 04:20 PM
A few weeks ago I was looking after my little nephew and niece and I didn't get a shower all day until DH came home and looked after them.
12-01-2007, 04:27 PM
yep im the same need to have a shower first thing and last thing at night...cant stand going all day without one!
DH has three a day, four on the weekends but his a clean freak lol!
I usually put O in the bath and then jump in the shower so i can still see him etc otherwise all hell breaks loose!
I cant wait till sunday ive got a lunch thing on with three of my besties from my mothers group I went to with O!
I loved mothers group but only keep in touch with three of the girls now as everyone else has mved away but i havent seen them in ages so it will be great to catch up.
For the first timers i recommend joining a mothers group they are brillant well mine was anyway coz you can meet great new mummy friends!
Im going to join one this time too, mums going to mind O for me so i can have some alone time with Iris:D
FIL is over tonight (god i hate his suprise visits) which are becoming more and more frequent since his GF left him!!!
I know his lonely BUT im not up for entertaining the old fool.....his so well pedantic and makes snide remarks which im too polite to retaliate too!
His gone with Dh to get some dinner so at least i dont have to cook and wash up after him!
hehehehe im such an evil DIL :devil6:
Cant imagine what kind of Monster In law im going to make!!! will any girl be good enough for my lil landie pandie???? hmmm maybe lol ive already set him up with one of my besties daughters lol lil Gwen shes gorgeous! hahaha they chat on the phone soooo cute!
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 04:32 PM
I'm def gonna join a mother's group as well.
That's another reason why i'm looking fwd to antenatal classes tomorrow - to meet some new friends at the same stage in their lives us as and who live nearby.
Sorry about the big vent before!
12-01-2007, 04:38 PM
Vent away Carrie:D
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 04:38 PM
I'll be leaving work soon - I hope you don't chat too much over the weekend as I will have to read about 10 pages on Monday morning otherwise! Lol ...
Belly Button thingy - i think it is just the back of my belly button coming further forward and a pulse or something under that? And I think it jiggles or something when I walk (sorry to gross u out!)
Bambaloo
12-01-2007, 04:50 PM
Check out my niece on her website - she is 21 months now though!
http://babylily.atspace.com/
Elmopalooza
12-01-2007, 04:57 PM
Yep i have to shower at night too! Otherwise Amity destroys the place! Plus i hate going to bed dirty!
AquaDevil78
12-01-2007, 04:58 PM
Carrie tell ur dp that it will need replacing, my battery died last year and yes once started it rehcarges enuf to get u home if you DONT stop. If you stop your stuffed it wont start again. :thumbsup: Men! LOL
As for the kids shezi, i'd say about 8/9.. seriously its just one of those families, ifykwim. Prolly drig dealers or something seeing as there hooning in and out every 5 mins, also with loud music in car... all i hear all day is fkn screech,doof doof, revving engines. :banghead: . Like said there is always one it would seem. Im thinking about going and cutting a wire in the elec box tonight ROFL. No power = no music :laughing:
AquaDevil78
12-01-2007, 05:00 PM
Check out my niece on her website - she is 21 months now though!
http://babylily.atspace.com/
Awwww very gorgeous girl there :yelclap:
library-laksa
12-01-2007, 05:26 PM
WOAH! i went out for only 4 hours and there was another 5 pages on here!!
i have a question about clothes - i've been told that the hospital will provide bub with something to wear but i want to put him in some of his gorgeous new outfits. i was thinking just the sleeveless, short leg ones as it will still be summer and he will be wrapped up. will he be warm/cool enough? do newborns feel the same temp as us adults? i don't know if thats a stupid question, i just don't want him to get too hot or too cold... thanks :)
library-laksa
12-01-2007, 05:30 PM
Nearly forgot - dreamt about doing my belly plaster cast last night, two days to go, i am so excited!! :yelclap:
Elmopalooza
12-01-2007, 05:51 PM
LL - So glad ur excited!! Im going to cut the plaster bandages tonite so that they are all ready!
With regards to clothes for bub, generally bubs cant adjust their body temperature like we can so need to be kept a bit warmer. I would take a couple of the short sleeve ones but also some of the grown suits.
The hospital only provided a little short sleeved one when i had Amity and that was at the end of march.
Hope that helps hun!
defaipe
12-01-2007, 06:57 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Cot-Package-for-Nursery-Change-Table-Car-Seat-Pram_W0QQitemZ150076913651QQihZ005QQcategoryZ20423 QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
probably a bit late to be putting this link up as most of us have nearly everything ready but just thought it was an amazing deal (provided it was the stuff you were after)
i wouldve loved to have seen this while preg with M. totally sets ya up!
i cant wait for my belly cast either!!
LL its all controlled temp in hospitals so i'd stick with longer sleeves.. definately bonds suits are the way to go.
i went through some of the girls 0000 & 000 things earlier.. have already done 2 loads of washing and another load is soaking coz theres a few stains and what not.. i've found SOO many things i forgot they had lol. i think i'll stop shopping for clothes for her now..
AD i must be very lucky then. our neighbours are mainly older.. theres a few teens in the street but they all seem decent. :fingerscrossed: it stays that way!
Elmopalooza
12-01-2007, 07:04 PM
Wow that would have been great to know bout when i had amity!! oh well lol!
Yep, i will be taking in the bonds wondersuits.. love em!
Im all achey at the bottom of my tummy... Hope its just stretching lol.. although, im ready for him to come out now coz i soooo dont want the 2 little stretchmarks at the bottom of my tummy to get any bigger.. Very selfish of me i know, its just that i have gotten this far without any and i figure i got enough on my bum last time that i dont deserve any this time! :laughing: (wishful thinking)
I too have to deal with neighbours that play music into the wee hours of the morning.. Other than that they are fine tho.. Plus they arent actually on my street, their house backs into our cul-de-sac.
Frangi
12-01-2007, 07:10 PM
OHH MY GOD Girls you are all so chatty:laughing: !
I don't think my bubs has been getting the hiccups but it does do that rapid movement thing where it feels like the baby is going nuts inside...very funny until it happens at 5am like this morning.
As for MIL they are a strange beast that is for sure! I can't work out if mine likes me or not but hey as long as her son loves me that's the most important thing.
Can I ask a non baby question? i have been invited to a tupperware party next Friday, I don't own any tupperware because it is too expensive. What is the etiquette at one of these things...do I have to buy something?
Hope your all well and have a good night!
Elmopalooza
12-01-2007, 07:15 PM
Frangi - yeh we can talk cant we!?
Lol with the Tupperware party, firstly, i LOVE it! But it can get a bit pricey.. I have had one before and i never thought that everyone had to buy something! There may not be anything u like! If you dont like it, dont buy it. Thats my motto! :D
BlueGin
12-01-2007, 08:33 PM
I got all antsy earlier, called the hairdresser, and jumped straight on the train :D. Suddenly felt like I wanted someone to prettify me a bit, as my arms felt too tired to do a proper blow dry! Sounds awfully extravagant, but as it is a training academy it's only $25, and I haven't had a cut in a year (bad, I know, oops!).
Come back to lots of pages of chat to devour though, which is nice ;)
Thank you so much Sarah, Lana, although both of you had tough times, it's good knowing you came out the other end so well, and you both have such happy sounding little mites. I do hope that if I find it too much that I have the courage to say something. I have given DH the PND brochures to have a good look at, and have told him it is his job too to see how I'm going. I'm sure I'll do better than I imagine, love conquers all... let's hope that includes screaming newborns, he he
Thanks for the tip on Bubba Blue Lana, though still tapping my foot awaiting the eBay store name, hmm? Just kidding, but if you do remember it, let me know.
Oh, and I'm going public, birth centre at Royal Women's.
Shame about the stretch marks, it sucks even more I think when you've been diligent (which I have too) with the moisturiser. I hope yours don't get better, mine seemed to really get bad in the last few days. Scary thought, 9 weeks to go, will I have any skin left un-stretched!
Shame about the neighbours Aqua, hope that the council do something soon, you wont need that on top of a newborn... my annoying neighbour is a car-yard who have over sensitive alarms... that can be heard many houses away :mad:
How silly, I'm sure I came on here to post a question or comment... oops!
12-01-2007, 10:19 PM
I cant sleep.......argh i hate this!
I have to pee evey 10 mins and the heart burn is killing me plus its so hot and the fans are making me sneeze:gloomy:
I so want to just be able ot lie on my tummy and pass out lol thats the first thing i did when i got home from hopsy last time after having O...slept on my tum:D
nothing to say just bored, tired, cranky, :ecomcity: you know the rest!
firsttime
12-01-2007, 10:19 PM
Bluegin - i've sent through the cot test, we couldnt make the file any smaller than it is now, hope you get it ok.....:)
BlueGin
12-01-2007, 10:24 PM
:hugs: Sarah, I hope the sleep fairy comes and whacks you on the head soon :p Interesting thought, I have never been a tummy lier, but I think I'll quite enjoy that privilege once Bubble is earthside!
Thanks Firsttime, I am currently receiving a 2.6MB email... :D
AquaDevil78
12-01-2007, 10:27 PM
I cant sleep.......argh i hate this!
I have to pee evey 10 mins and the heart burn is killing me plus its so hot and the fans are making me sneeze:gloomy:
I so want to just be able ot lie on my tummy and pass out lol thats the first thing i did when i got home from hopsy last time after having O...slept on my tum:D
nothing to say just bored, tired, cranky, :ecomcity: you know the rest!
Snap, except for the heat and fans.... i sooooo cant wait to lie on my tummy again :D . Why is it that dam heartburn happens as soon as i lay down in bed, and worse reflux .
defaipe
12-01-2007, 10:31 PM
sarah :fingerscrossed: you get to sleep soon. its frustrating isnt it.. i havent been going to sleep till around 11pm lately.. im so tired but just not sleepy..
bluegin good on you for doing something for yourself!!
frangi i definately dont think you'd be expected to buy anything. i've been to a couple and am yet to purchase something. have a good time though!!
lana i had a dream the other night that i had stretchmarks on my stomach.. freaked me out when i woke up.. had to check lol.
my sis came over today with her boys and she was like 'you're huge' haha. im definately feeling it too! i cant believe theres only 2 more pics for our tummy timelines.. i have less than 7weeks now.. i just wish i could decide on a hospital. its so frustrating..
Elmopalooza
12-01-2007, 10:49 PM
Gin - glad u reminded me! I have sent u a PM... Oh, and was it you asking about blankets etc for bub?? I found the best thing to use were either the cellular blankets (can get them in bright colours) and also the sleeping bags! They are sooo great! I cannot rate them enough!
Sarah - hope you get some sleep soon hun... No sleep and a toddler equals one cranky mummy in this house lol! Oh, and i so cannot wait to sleep on my tummy either as that is my preferred sleeping position.
AD - Hope you get some sleep too!!
Shezi - I just wanted to cry when i noticed them! I hardly moisurised at all with amity and didnt get a single one on my tummy! Soo annoying!
Elmopalooza
12-01-2007, 11:11 PM
OMG! I was just sitting in my lounge room and thought i heard what sounded like horse hooves outside... I kept turning the tv down but just assumed it was kids playing.. then i heard this big loud thud so i decided to open the front door and have a look.. And low and behold there stood two police horses! :eek:
I have no idea why they were there but they were right outside my front door/window and talking to the neighbours (i live in a complex type thingy of 4 houses, big houses lol). They all turned to look at me thru the door and all i could say was "So i wasnt imaging the sound of horse hooves!"... How weird tho. I wonder why they were there.. and why the hell werent they just in a car!? :confused:
defaipe
12-01-2007, 11:21 PM
They all turned to look at me thru the door and all i could say was "So i wasnt imaging the sound of horse hooves!"...
:laughing: classic!
and yes why werent they in a car:detective: petrol prices?:laughing:
annsam
13-01-2007, 08:47 AM
Havent read posts sorry - too many.
Gawd Im in a SH*T of a mood. I am supposed to be on my way to my best friends birthday today - 15 minutes ago actually but DH decided to wash the car. DS has had the biggest tantrum and smacked his matchbox car into my knuckles so it really hurts and if I dont get going soon, theres going to be no point considering I wanted to stop and get a bday cake and have to stop at our real estate agents and get the keys for the rental property and DH and I have to go clean it tomorrow thanks to our grubby tenants previous to the ones who have just moved. Just what I want to be doing at 32 weeks pg.
Ok rant over. Going to yell at DH.
Elmopalooza
13-01-2007, 09:25 AM
Morning!
Well after sitting in the positions that apparently help turn a posterior baby for the past 2 days, he is STILL posterior!! How do i know this?? I can feel his little leg 'floating' at the top of my uterus. What cant he just be a good boy and move!?
Anna - I hope you day gets better for you... I certainly wouldnt want to be cleaning someone elses mess either! especially not pregnant.
library-laksa
13-01-2007, 11:26 AM
I found the best thing to use were either the cellular blankets (can get them in bright colours) and also the sleeping bags! They are sooo great! I cannot rate them enough!
cool! i bought a "gro-bag" and was going to ask what people thought of them... :D
Elmopalooza
13-01-2007, 11:44 AM
Lol well u have a big :thumbsup: from me!
defaipe
13-01-2007, 12:09 PM
LL i've been meaning to buy one of them also! thanx for reminding me.. they are meant to be great i just never bothered with the last two coz they were born in november and it was so hot!
anna i hope your day picks up for you!!
defaipe
13-01-2007, 02:08 PM
ok so the weekend hits and what everyones busy? hehe. nah i hope yous are all having great days!
my girls have just gone down for their sleeps.. actually so has chris.. its quite nice to have silence for a bit. i must go clean though..
we have a hospital tour for the local public one at 2.50pm so if they're all awake i'll be going otherwise i'll leave it till next week.
hey lana only 5days till my scan & your birthday :smiliedance: :D
Elmopalooza
13-01-2007, 02:15 PM
hey lana only 5days till my scan & your birthday :smiliedance: :D
hehehe :smiliedance: i cant wait!! Lol, bet u cant either!!
I was so thinking the same thing tho... bubhub is sooo quiet today!
13-01-2007, 02:22 PM
Got my hair done this morning (am sick of the high maintenance BLONDE look:yes: )
I wanted a light brown colour BUT due to my pg hormones its gone a really dark choccy brown argh!
Never mind i cant do anything about it now...it should fade out anyway!
Bought O a really cute Bob the Builder outfit (for a dress up party his going to in march)
Got it at kmart as they have 40% off their dress ups
Shezi and lana they had heaps of lil girl costumes really cheap!
All the boys ones looked too hot and itchy OR had masks/head covers so not O's cup of tea lol
He absolutely loves the outfit and is attempting to sing the theme song now lol:smiliedance: :D
annsam
13-01-2007, 03:41 PM
No posts to catch up on! :eek: :D
My day has turned out ok now - thanks for the wishes. Needed a few hours away ........... speak of the devils, DH and DS have just arrived home. Anyway, it was nice to get away and talk about something other than DS and the yet to be born DD.
Ok gotta go.
Hope the lack of posts means everyone is having a fab day!
P.S. Sarah, choc brown sounds great! I love browns and reds rather than died blonde.
Frangi
13-01-2007, 04:07 PM
Shezi - I don't think you look huge at all!
Lana- can I have the name of the ebay cot sheet store too please???:D
Anna - glad your day turned out better for you...sorry about the messy tenants...not fair!
Well I must say I am sooo tired today. We had avery busy work week and I am just exhausted...hope my energy levels pick up because I'm not sure I could do 8 more weeks of dragging my feet. DH even commented today "geez you walk slowly now...I have to keep turning back to look for you." ERRR hello I am 10 kilos heavier and it's mostly in the front and I usually always have what feels like a full bladder.:laughing:
Much quieter today ladies....
Went to babies galore today to pay off my unity capsule Yay! Was wondering does anyone know where to get those singlet tops with the easy booby access from without paying $60.00 for them??? Would love some help with this one.
Or can anyone tel me the best things to buy for easy breastfeeding access? I am a bit of a prude so don't want to be flashing my boozies all the time and I know I am going to be so uncoordinated when bubs first comes out...every man and his dog will probaby get a look :laughing:
Will I even care by then???? Advice pls!
Have a great weekend!
13-01-2007, 04:13 PM
Frangi- To be honest i didnt care in the begining...when O cried i just whipped em out anywhere anytime lol
This time round ive bought some Lovable yummy mummy cammys from DJ's you can get them in packs of two for $60 which i think is a good price and they are v.v.comfy!
I also found some great singlets with button down fronts from Sussans on sale for $10 each (bought about 4 lol) so that should do me i think till winter comes and i'll need to stock up on some warmer items.
I am really really p!ssed at dh right now!
I just want to rip his head off and flush it down the loo :devil6: :laughing:
He is driving me insane today and i just wish he would :wizard:
ok vent over
defaipe
13-01-2007, 04:19 PM
frangi compared to the prepreg me i am kinda big hehe. but hey its all worth it :D
you'll love the capsule! they're so cute! as for the tops have you tried ebay? they usually have heaps of maternity stuff on there for cheaper prices.. goodluck :fingerscrossed:
sarah sounds like my hair colour! only thing i dont like about being so dark is any greys show through fairly easily.. and yep i've got a few. found my 1st grey hair at 18 :eek: hehe
anna glad all went well!
lana any plans for your birthday??
mikaelahs just woken up but is still in bed, danielah & chris are still asleep.. so needless to say we didnt go to the hospital tour. my scan is at attadale this thursday so im hoping they let me have a look around while im there.. dont like my chances but its worth a shot. i think im leaning more toward the private hospital anyway.
defaipe
13-01-2007, 04:24 PM
He is driving me insane today and i just wish he would :wizard:
ok vent over
lol sorry i just love that wizard!!
oh and frangi i didnt care either.. i rarely used a blanket while b/fing coz the girls hated being covered.. i did get a few looks but never took any notice. if someone doesnt like it then they shouldnt be looking anyway! oh and i never used a parenting room to feed bub, made me feel sick.. i would never eat in a bathroom/toilet so i wasnt going to feed my kids there.. due to my girls wanting the boob every couple of hours i accepted i was on call :laughing:
thanx sarah you just reminded me.. i must go to sussans this week!
tazzystone
13-01-2007, 04:51 PM
I agree Shezi, I never fed in the parenting rooms either, they always smell of dirty nappies... gross. I just fed wherever and didnt use a blanket either. Thats it dont look if they dont like it. I never really noticed people looking but there was a big debate in our local paper about it at the time I was breastfeeding and I thought maybe it was me who started it... he he he I would just feed Logan in the food court while I was eating if we were at the shopping centers. I never flashed my nipples or anything and I'm not very big in that department anyway so DS's head covered most of my breast!
library-laksa
13-01-2007, 05:12 PM
Was wondering does anyone know where to get those singlet tops with the easy booby access from without paying $60.00 for them??? Would love some help with this one.
Or can anyone tel me the best things to buy for easy breastfeeding access? I am a bit of a prude so don't want to be flashing my boozies all the time and I know I am going to be so uncoordinated when bubs first comes out...every man and his dog will probaby get a look :laughing:
Will I even care by then???? Advice pls!
my cousin uses the nursing singlets (got hers from ebay) and they are great, can't see anything. my DH wondered why we were all sitting around and i told him the baby was feeding, he had no idea!
my issue is people seeing my soon-to-be flabby belly, i dont really care if they get a flash of boob LOL
tazzystone
13-01-2007, 05:45 PM
I found it easier to wear singlet tops that I could just pop my arm through the strap and unclip bra on the side I was feeding from. I hated having to lift up my top too and felt more exposed doing it that way. I think I might try couple of nursing singlets this time.
DS teething AGAIN...when will this end, had me up for 2 hours last night and is off his food. What do other mums do when toddler refuses to eat something, or even taste it?? Do you keep trying different things until they eat something or just have the approach that if they dont eat the first thing they are not hungry??
Also my DH's bestfriend's partner, Honey, had a baby girl this morning and she weighed 5lb 7!!! so so small. She was one week early. They called her Leni Anne, after Honey's mother who passed away a couple of months ago. Honey was hoping for a girl and thats what her mother thought she was having so it was nice that they did have a girl. Just thought I would share.
Frangi
13-01-2007, 06:09 PM
Thanks for the advice girls, happy to hear from mum's with experience:thumbsup:
Tazzystone - that is lovely about your friend having a girl! Must be a bittersweet time for her. It is weird like that...in our family if someone has passed they are usually replaced by a baby of the same sex. It is a bit of a worry though whenever someone in our family falls pregnant we worry about who is going to pass on as it usually works out that way. Circle of life...
Will search on ebay for those nursing tops!
13-01-2007, 06:10 PM
Thats lovely tazzy!
How tiny though:eek: I would totally freak out having a bub that size...O was over 9pound and I was scared i might break him, imagine if i had of had one that size:D
Sorry but can i ask is that her real name...Honey? sorry just curious:yes:
I took care of little girl whose name was Princess once anyone else know anyone with a really out there name?
I know a Butterfly and a Sunshine (same family)
Funny thing is Sunshine really did look like Sunshine she had this gorgeous golden sunshine hair and big blue eyes as a child!
tazzystone
13-01-2007, 06:23 PM
yeah her real name is Honey. I dont know any other out there names. I better get DS ready for bed, he is tired. :-)
BlueGin
13-01-2007, 07:00 PM
Evening all, firstly - growing up I knew a boy called "Prince"... so mean, he was a weedy little thing who was always sooking too, so it didn't really fit! :laughing:
Lana, that must have been the most bizarre sight! Just love those cot sheets, and $9.50 seems really reasonable when you get the exact thing you want. Can I ask where you've seen the cellular blankets in bright colours? I've only seen them in pastels, and they kind of look funny...
Shezi, must have been a surreal feeling having the silent house for so long, tempted to wake them up for some company? :p
As for feeding, I'm planning on just wearing the t-shirts I make for myself (like in my avatar) as with the wide neck they actually pull down past the boozie (just checked! :D). So I'll just have to make sure I pick up lots of cool materials as I see them, so that I can wear them as much as possible. Also have the hug a bub, which I hear is fantastic for modesty purposes.
Frangi, must have been exciting picking up the capsule! Can't wait to pick up our big stuff.
Speaking of which, did Chris and your bro get your stuff yet Shezi?
Getting some weird twingy niggling pains in my back at the sides, around my ribs today, and now a sharp pain on the right. I guess this is the beginnings of the road to baby time!
defaipe
13-01-2007, 07:42 PM
whoops! did i forget to mention that. yep mikaelah has her new drawers :D and bubby has hers now.. i've been washing so many 0000 outfits.. 3 washing loads so far lol. im into 000 and still some 0000 i reckon i'd have another 3 loads to go.. i've already 'almost' filled two drawers(bub has 4 deep drawers and a cupboard with hanging space - mikaelahs has 8 drawers) thankfully theres a lot of cute outfits that will be hung up so that saves space..
they also picked up the kiddy board but mikaelah has made it quite clear she will NOT be standing on that. haha so now were debating whether to take it back or not. i havent opened it yet coz it cost $100 so im not giving them the option of saying the box was opened so they dont have to refund. and the baby bath/change table combo should be in next week. we're hoping anyway.. havent paid for it so if i see a better one elsewhere i'll just buy it!
LL i never lifted up my top.. i was paranoid about my post baby belly too! i always just pulled my top down over one boob. just make sure whatever you wear has a bit of 'give' in it hehe.
bluegin no :shame: i was quite happy for them to sleep :laughing:
we've just got back from a walk(nearly an hour and a half-although i admit i was slowing them down lol M sure can fly about on her bike!!!).. it was so nice to get out and about.. we walked past the school we're going to enrol mikaelah into for kindy in 08. looks really nice, its like a cluster of houses and each part is sectioned off.. so the kindy & preschool kids are together.. seperate rooms ofcourse but combined play area.(im assuming play time is at different times though)
taryn, congratulations to your friend, honey!! definately a bittersweet moment there.. Leni Anne is a gorgeous name! i wish them all the best.
Princess, Butterfly & Sunshine? hehe each to their own! mikaelah gets 'princess mikaelah'. what worries me is the little boy named prince! haha
ShanMac
13-01-2007, 07:55 PM
Frangi - www.blestbras.com and www.maternityclothes.com.au both have the Loveable Yummy Mummy Cami INSTOCK! blestbras has 2 packs of white and pinka nd grey and black and the other site has pink and white and white and navy stripe. blestbras are cheaper per pack at $56.95 for 2even though postage is more (as the other site charges GST ontop) so they both work out to app $65.00 but maternityclothes has more payment options (direct deposit etc)
Thanks girls for letting me chat about Oliver and for being happy to listen. We light a candle everyday for him, we asked people to send a candle rather than flowers so that we would have special candles in his memory.
Names for the next boy - boy oh boy when you are onto boy number 3 it gets hard! We are pretty traditional old names - like Hamish and we like Cambell (not sure of spelling for next one) or Oscar - but I'm not sure of this!
Back pain is shocking and does anyone else get pain down your thighs - on the side when you sleep? I have to keep turning all night as the pain wakes me up!
Does anyone know anything about the Duolite twin pram? Also what's the consensus on side by side v tandem?
BlueGin
13-01-2007, 07:59 PM
Shezi, the new drawers sound great, and what a lot of clothes! I sure can see the benefit now of finding out the sex, as here we are too nervous to wash anything that's not white :o... are you washing all the tiny 0000 because that's about the size baby you have? Or is it safe enough to "assume" they will wear them for at least a little bit? That is the other reason I'm not washing, though it will mean quite a rush for DH once Bubble is born!
The walk sounds lovely, and a great way to end a relaxing day (I'll bet you got a lot done with all the :sleeping: going on!)
Tazzy, sorry, I mentally did a little happy dance when you mentioned Honey's daughter, then didn't say anything :o. It sounds like a lovely way to honour her Mum, and a special bond for the baby as she grows.
Dinner ready finally, boy I start late, shocking form Gin! :shame: he he
ShanMac
13-01-2007, 08:19 PM
Bluegin - I can't believe how creative you are, making all the stuff you do! Puts me to shame, I have no idea! Have a nice dinner.
Gro-bags look great I just checked them out, all a bit to much of a decision to decide on tog rating ... v technical!
Well, cooked a stack of meals for the boy and had a shower and finally done for the day - mad day cleaning the house ... DH thinks I am crazy, I seem to be obsessed with the floors.
I'm so tired ... I wish I could get online more to stay up with all the gos and you lot, but I just can't manage it - how do you all do it!
Must take pic of belly tomorrow to post so you can all let me know how huge (or not) I am ...
Sleep well all!
:sleeping:
AquaDevil78
13-01-2007, 08:53 PM
Evening girls, my back is killling me (i think i over did it today :shame: ). I now have a nursery!!! I put the cot, change table and pram together today, as well as move in the rest of our stuff, so we are officially all moved in now. As i said my poor back is paying for it, my feet are all swollen too :rolleyes: .
Dp kept telling me to take it easy and sit down, but stubborn old me woulldn't listen LOL. I was on a mission.
Tommorow im doing sweet F.A.
Antonio is wriggling away as i type... heheh. Probably glad mummy is finally sitting down.
Im off to have a long warm soak in a bubble bath... have a great night all :wave:
Little_Toad
13-01-2007, 11:05 PM
Hi Girls.
What's with this thread? You've all become very chatty lately.
Must be the excitment.
New word for the day: Purple:
Excited with the anticipation of the upcoming event.
Word for tommorrow: Beige:
Feeling like s**t but not quite cause that would take too much effort.
Aquadevil. I had a day like you.
Re arranged the lounge area so the cot would fit in and for when my chest of drawers arrives next week.
I also got everything up from the shed and took tags off all the clothes, unwrappped all the sheets and blankets etc and put them in piles ready for washing. I have 8 loads to do. Done two, just don't have enough clothes hoirses to do the rest yet.
All the toys/playmat/bath etc are in or under the cot.
Feels good to habe it nearly all out of the way, then I only have to worry about finishing off 3 web sites then I'm FREE!!!
I'm 3/4 of the way through finishing off my last batch of napppies. After this batch of 13 I'll have 38!! (30 is it's a boy).
Wont have to do that for another year thank god.
Annsam & Nemo'sMum, hope your DH's behave soon.
Tazzystone.. that's nice for your friend to have a girl.
defaipe
13-01-2007, 11:13 PM
AD cant wait to see a pic of little antonio's nursery!! :D must be great to have it all up!
have a nice bath!
bluegin my girls seem to take after chris.. he was a little baby not quite 7lb.. i was 8lb14oz :laughing: my girls have both been 7lb5oz(3.32kg & 3.342kg) danielah was a little shorter than mikaelah but not by much but she managed to stay in 0000 for ages!! also some 0000's are quite big. mum bought me an outfit for bub the other day in 00000 and it was bigger than the bonds 0000 ones i have. i think this bub will be the same size as the girls were so i can definately see me getting lots of use out of the 0000.
sarah how long was orlando in 0000? i saw you said he was 9lb haha. is that 4kg?
shanmac im in love with my mountain buggy twin pram. i havent got any advice on other prams except please please please stay away from 3wheelers with toddler seats.. they are very unstable and our one tipped!!
i think thats beautiful that yous light a candle every day, had tears in my eyes reading that. he's one special little angel thats for sure!
cant wait to see the belly pic!
oh and the first name i thought of that goes with Hamish & Oliver was Michael. not sure why. its my brothers name so i guess im biased hehe.
Elmopalooza
14-01-2007, 01:29 AM
Got it at kmart as they have 40% off their dress ups
Shezi and lana they had heaps of lil girl costumes really cheap!
All the boys ones looked too hot and itchy OR had masks/head covers so not O's cup of tea lol
Awesome! Thanks Sarah! I have been looking at getting amity a fairy one but dont want to spend a fortune! Lol, my hair never takes colours properly when im pregnant. In fact, since i fell pregnant with amity, my hair hasnt taken colours very well at all! Im sure it looks great tho! I go for a really dark brown..
Lana- can I have the name of the ebay cot sheet store too please???:D
Here is the link for the ebay store girls.... EBAY STORE (http://stores.ebay.com.au/M-DOLLAR-BABY_W0QQssPageNameZstrkQ3amefsQ3amesstQQtZkm) Just in case some of the others wanted it too! :D
lana any plans for your birthday??
Nup, none so far... just another day really lol. Im sure sam will organise something tho! Hope your scan goes well and im sure they will be able to give u a little tour if u ask nicely!
What do other mums do when toddler refuses to eat something, or even taste it?? Do you keep trying different things until they eat something or just have the approach that if they dont eat the first thing they are not hungry??
I generally try it a couple of times and then just assume that they are not hungry.. Im really trying hard not to let Amity develop fussy eating habits so basically she has what she is given! (im a meanie lol)
Lana, that must have been the most bizarre sight! Just love those cot sheets, and $9.50 seems really reasonable when you get the exact thing you want. Can I ask where you've seen the cellular blankets in bright colours? I've only seen them in pastels, and they kind of look funny...
Lol yeah it was a bit freaky! The cot sheets are just the best hey! Certainly nice to be able to buy some nice bright UNISEX sheets for if you dont know the sex. I bought a cool bright blue cellular blanket from Babyroad here in perth... Have a look on the Babies Galore, Baby Land and Baby on A Budget (not sure which ones u have over there) and if u cant find any let me know. I dont mind posting some over to you if u like... They had a cool green one too! :thumbsup:
annsam
14-01-2007, 05:53 AM
Morning girls,
Congrats on teh new baby girl Tazzy.
32 weeks today. Time is starting to slow down for me now which isn't an entirely bad thing. This pregnancy has been so different to my first. I never remember with my first having the bladder pains this little girl gives me. I remember always having a full bladder and DS bouncing off it but never it hurting and stinging like an electrical current like this baby bouncing off it. Also dont recall every having some of the side splitting sensations this baby gives me but then DS lay pretty much as he should for the whole pregnancy, this baby is still flipping about daily. Bet they will be such very different babies. :fingerscrossed: as DS was a NIGHTMARE.
Congrats on the nursery AD. Its nice to have things organised isn't it?
Drawers sound nice Shezi!
I hadn't actually thought about the nursing in public thing yet. I guess I probably wont be wanting ot flop my boobs out everywhere at the shops. Must have a look and see if I can find some suitable tops. Good reminder. :thumbsup:
Nothing new from me. Waiting for DS to wake as he had a late night last night. Just kept playing intermittently till 10.30 and wandering aroudn his room. No idea why as he cant see anything but who am I to question?:o
Have a great day girls.
BlueGin
14-01-2007, 08:23 AM
Thanks Shanmac :), good to be able to make some things, as I look totally weird in a lot of clothes, have a knack of making me look a weird shape, or funny colour, or something wrong, lol. How about Alistair for a name? It's one of my faves, but not DH's annoyingly.
Thanks Shezi, will have to ask MIL how big DH was then! I was a heart 9lbs 4oz, but I was the 4th, so I think Mum was getting really good at it by then! :D
Thanks for the shop names Lana, I'll have a look on their sites. I know we have BabyCo, and Baby Bunting (who don't put prices on their site :rolleyes:) but sadly Babies Galore shut down here years ago. And thanks for the generous offer! I'll certainly keep it in