View Full Version : Somewhat of a different holiday

Moorish
05-12-2006, 18:24
Hi all, we've just purchased our very first family king sized tent, sleeping bags, mats, gas stove and a few other camping bits and pieces.

Can anyone give me some advice on what else would be essential to take on a camping trip with 3 kids 4 & under? I don't want to go overboard and buy everything but I don't want to get stuck in the middle of nowhere without something either! We're going to gather more stuff over time, but what should I buy now?

Most of the places we'll camp at will be family sites and fairly close to facilities. No bush bashing for us just yet! :D

Moorish
07-12-2006, 15:18
Can't ANYONE offer any advice??
Or am I the only one crazy enough to go camping with 3 kids 4 & under and one on the way?! :smiliedance:

kirstenriley
07-12-2006, 15:38
lo...i think you answered your own question there!!..lol..just kidding.

I would take some sort or card or board game to help keep amused..bats and balls of course :D

As for camping gear...i have no idea sorry!!!

jamb
07-12-2006, 16:03
possibly a tad mad but here are my suggestions

(oh and i am a tad anal)

- take an old towel for a doormat at thetent, helps when there is either a morning dew (or heaven forbid rain), stops mud/grass going in to sleeping areas.

- take a square washing up tub, even if you use the camp kitchen it is good to have some where to put your freshly washed plates etc.

- put food in those plastic boxes with lids, stops ants finding food.

- a really good thing to have is a big flyscreen tent which you can use for kitchen area, provides shelter from sun/rain, you can prepare/eat food without flies, spray the entrance with flyspray and ants wont come in

- if you have an old plastic baby bath they are great for filling with a little water, kids can play and saves you from being permanently at the pool area.

- torch for night loo trips

ummm, thats all i can think of, we camp a fair bit but i only have one wild DS, as for when i am pregnant no way jose!!!

have fun

07-12-2006, 20:49
A torch
First Aid kit
plenty of drinks esp if its a long way in the car
food (canned food such as baked beans is good)
things to cook with (pots, pans, utensils etc)
insect repelent
food for in the car (sandwiches etc)
games, books, coloring books, pencils
balls, bats other sports games
bathers (if you are going swimming)
sunscrene
hats
clothes for the Summer and Wintery things (never know it could get chilly at night)

Moorish
07-12-2006, 21:24
possibly a tad mad but here are my suggestions

(oh and i am a tad anal)
OH NO WORRIES! So am I!!

- take an old towel for a doormat at thetent, helps when there is either a morning dew (or heaven forbid rain), stops mud/grass going in to sleeping areas.
Good idea - might put that inside the tent - our tent came with a 4 pack of those foam lock together mats for outside

- take a square washing up tub, even if you use the camp kitchen it is good to have some where to put your freshly washed plates etc.
Have bought 2 tubs from a $2 shop - one for washing, one for rinsing
- put food in those plastic boxes with lids, stops ants finding food.
GREAT idea! Easy to buy from a $2 shop!

- a really good thing to have is a big flyscreen tent which you can use for kitchen area, provides shelter from sun/rain, you can prepare/eat food without flies, spray the entrance with flyspray and ants wont come in
The tent we bought is huge and it has a massive middle section then sleeping quarters off to the left and right. The fly of the tent zips semi-off this section and can be poled up as a canopy outside the tent. Otherwise if the weather is really bad there's plenty of room in the "living area" of the tent

- if you have an old plastic baby bath they are great for filling with a little water, kids can play and saves you from being permanently at the pool area.
Oh FAB idea! I have a blow up paddle pool that would work!

- torch for night loo trips
Essential!

ummm, thats all i can think of, we camp a fair bit but i only have one wild DS, as for when i am pregnant no way jose!!!

have fun

Thanks we will!!!

Moorish
07-12-2006, 21:35
A torch
First Aid kit
plenty of drinks esp if its a long way in the car
food (canned food such as baked beans is good)
things to cook with (pots, pans, utensils etc)
insect repelent
food for in the car (sandwiches etc)
games, books, coloring books, pencils
balls, bats other sports games
bathers (if you are going swimming)
sunscrene
hats
clothes for the Summer and Wintery things (never know it could get chilly at night)

Thanks! So many excellent ideas! We bought some zip up folders from target for the kids that have pens, textas, pencils, paper, ruler, sharpener etc that we thought would be excellent for long car trips or to take camping as they're compact.
First aid kit - I'd only thought of suncream, bandaids and insect repellent. But then you add stingoes, bandages, antiseptic spray, panadol, tweezers etc and it might be best to go to St Johns and buy a proper kit - THANKS!

I was talking to mum tonight and she and dad ALWAYS took us camping so I picked her brain a bit!
On the food issue, she suggested that we cook meals such as spag bol, casseroles, stirfrys etc before hand, freeze them then take them in the esky with some ice. They act as ice blocks for a few days and when you want to eat one you thaw it out and just reheat it in a pot on the gas stove - :idea: what a great idea!

Thanks for your ideas!
Keep them coming! Your ideas are really helping!

jamb
08-12-2006, 06:44
yep the freezing blocks of food is a well used one by me and my mum too!

Roopee
08-12-2006, 14:33
When we go campng i have a blow up pool. Just a cheap little one so the kids can play around me while im cooking r whatever and they bath in it too. It takes up no space at all in the car either.:yelclap:
This has been my smartest ever purchase and it costs about $5.

ks23
17-12-2006, 20:06
Hi Anna,

Just about to embark on 1st camping trip post baby - he is 5 months old. We have previously camped alot but am still nervous.

MIL has screen enclosure tent and a shower tent for me to put my porta loo into - essential for camping away from the toilets!

I usually make up formula and keep in the fridge but have decidied to make up room temp boiled water each day - less room taken up in the esky and less time heating with hot water (We huse microwave at home)

We usually let bub sleep in portacot for a night before we leave too to get him used to it.

We take lots of tinned vegies and meat - hubby does meat and I get a saucepan on the gas stove and cook veg or a pasta packet for a side. I am lucky MIL helps with washing up, cooking and cleaning. My dad just lent us a fold up ccamp clothes line too - folds up smaller than a camp chair! (Take plenty of chairs too)

Mats sound good for front of tent - make sure you take old towels in case of wet weather so troops can wipe mud and water off before entering tent.

HTH
Kylie