View Full Version : TTC #1 and 30+

morganj
05-12-2006, 01:41 PM
Hi ladies. Just thought I'd start a thread for those of us who are ttc and are over 30. Look forward to chatting!!

morganj
05-12-2006, 02:34 PM
Or maybe not - lol!!!

EcstaticEm
05-12-2006, 03:03 PM
Id say maybe MJ!! I am 29, with 1 month and 20 something days till the big 30 (not that Im counting:eek: :o :laughing: )
So Im here and willign to participate!! I know there are others
Come out and embrace your over 30 and TTC!!

Kyles
05-12-2006, 03:08 PM
Hi ladies. Just thought I'd start a thread for those of us who are ttc and are over 30. Look forward to chatting!!
Hi all :wave:
I'm 33, hubby and I have been TTC since June 06. This morning AF turned up yet again and trying to keep my chin up :crying:
Helps having this website and reading about others gives me hope! Have made an appointment to see Dr next week. Hoping its not too early...anyone else in the same boat?
I have a 5 yr old SD and have wanted my own ever since I met her!
GOOD LUCK TO ALL!

:tree:

morganj
05-12-2006, 03:12 PM
Hey Kyles - Am so sorry to hear AF arrived. It certainly won't hurt to have a chat to your doctor. Make sure they listen and take action if you feel you want them to investigate. You could always tell them you have been trying longer... :hugs: to you.

EcstaticEm
05-12-2006, 03:13 PM
Kyles, Im booked in to see the doc this Saturday. I dont think its ever too early to go. Are you nervous about seeing the doc? I am... I just want a baby so badly, Im worried how I will react if we get bad news..
Silly really, but it just seems like we have been trying forever.

Kyles
05-12-2006, 03:19 PM
Hey Kyles - Am so sorry to hear AF arrived. It certainly won't hurt to have a chat to your doctor. Make sure they listen and take action if you feel you want them to investigate. You could always tell them you have been trying longer... :hugs: to you.
Thank you! I was thinking about fibbing about the length of time! Its been a year for everyone around me having bubs too. Gets harder hearing about everyone else being PG and then having to go up to hospital to visit!
:wizard: TO YOU and Merry Xmas! :xmas:
Lets hope Santa is kind to us all this year!
:fingerscrossed:

Kyles
05-12-2006, 03:21 PM
Kyles, Im booked in to see the doc this Saturday. I dont think its ever too early to go. Are you nervous about seeing the doc? I am... I just want a baby so badly, Im worried how I will react if we get bad news..
Silly really, but it just seems like we have been trying forever.
I am a bit nervous, are you taking your hubby as well? I am scared about bad news too!

morganj
05-12-2006, 03:25 PM
Don't be nervous - do you have a good supportive GP. Just make sure they take you seriously and start investigating. I got brushed off for ages to keep trying and looking back it makes me so annoyed. I think you just have to stand your ground sometimes and don't give up.

Em - I hope you too get some answers hon!! :hugs:

EcstaticEm
05-12-2006, 03:26 PM
Yep Hubby is comming! I could not do it without him:no: . I just hope we can get the ball rolling. I just have no idea what to expect, other than the blood tests..
Lordy, its tough isnt it. specially like we have all mentioned. seeing all the other growing belly's around...
MJ, have you been through all the initial fertility work ups? could you let us know what we might expect??

Kyles
05-12-2006, 03:36 PM
:hugs: Don't be nervous - do you have a good supportive GP. Just make sure they take you seriously and start investigating. I got brushed off for ages to keep trying and looking back it makes me so annoyed. I think you just have to stand your ground sometimes and don't give up.

Em - I hope you too get some answers hon!! :hugs:

Yes I've had the same GP for about 10 yrs. She did some tests this time last year to make sure I didn't have any scary diseases before we started trying...
It is really tough and there are PG women everywhere! Or do you think we notice it more because we want to be too?
Let me know how you go Em :)

morganj
05-12-2006, 03:42 PM
AnxiousEm - I can't tell you a lot only that they'll probably just order some bloods, maybe do an internal u/s to see if there is any sign of pcos, and get dh's little guys tested. That was about it for us. I have seen the GP twice and both times shortly after we got a BFP so then we were back to square one after each m/c as the doctors would say - well you can obviously fall pg - without giving any thought as to how long it took to fall pg. We have had most joy from seeing a herbalist. I visited a herbalist just before both BFPs. Just gotta get one to stick now.

Egall
06-12-2006, 12:31 PM
Hi ladies - count me in. I'm 33 and TTC#1.
Although, I have to admit, this is only our second month of trying.

I'm trying not to get too stressed though by the fact that so many of my girlfriends in my age group and my sister have had enormous trouble conceiving. A number of them have commented to me that it's kind of ironic that they have been so careful, spending years taking care NOT to get pregnant, then to realise they needn't have bothered!
It's hard not to let their experiences colour my own optimism, but I know that stressing about it certainly won't help. I'm just trying to keep it all fun for the time being.

Best wishes for your doctors appointments. I need to try to find a good GP - I don't even have one as yet.

morganj
06-12-2006, 01:11 PM
Egall - there is no reason why your age should affect your ability to conceive I wouldn't think. My problem is just figuring out when I O as I have irregular cycles. I have only taken six months to conceive each time but unfortunately both pregnancies have resulted in m/c. I have my fingers crossed for you!!

twinkletot
06-12-2006, 01:28 PM
Hi ladies:wave:

30.... blaahhh... TTC.. yay!!!!!!
Yep i'm also 30 and TTC, this is our 10th cycle trying. Have had times when i get depressed, especially when af shows up, but most of the time i think everything happens for a reason.

I really wish every the best of luck with TTC and look forward to hearing all your stories.

I've been given a referral to see a gyno as it looks like i may have PCOS (:fingerscrossed: i dont) but my dh and i have decided to give acupuncture and chinese herbal medicine a go first.

Any one else trying this?

morganj
06-12-2006, 02:02 PM
Twinkletot - it certainly can be trying at times. The last time I fell pg was after a visit to a very good herbalist/acpuncturist - if you find a good one I would highly recommend it.

Egall
06-12-2006, 03:00 PM
Thanks for the vote of confidence morgan. ;)

My cycles are usually quite regular, but then last month, first month of TTC, it all went crazy!! Maybe it was just because I got too focused on it all. I like to make things happen, but somethings just aren't totally in our control! I'm a lot more relaxed this time around though and things seems to be going pretty smoothly.

morganj
06-12-2006, 03:02 PM
Thanks for the vote of confidence morgan. ;)

My cycles are usually quite regular, but then last month, first month of TTC, it all went crazy!! Maybe it was just because I got too focused on it all. I like to make things happen, but somethings just aren't totally in our control! I'm a lot more relaxed this time around though and things seems to be going pretty smoothly.

Had you just come off the pill? That can muddle up your cycles. And I've heard so many ladies on here say how their cycles change once they start ttc! Interesting.

starlight
06-12-2006, 03:04 PM

I am 33 (DH 34) and this is our first month of trying, AF is due on the weekend so I a bit anxious. But as I have been on the pill for about 11 years straight I have no idea how long my cycles are normally.

There's just so much waiting, waiting to get married (we got married in feb), waiting to start TTC and now that is happening it is yet again more waiting.... and I am not very patient!!!

Egall I totally get the years trying to not get pregnant thing, it's rather ironic really.

Goodluck at the docs Kyles, I think it is good not to wait too long, can't hurt to get things checked out1

morganj
06-12-2006, 03:07 PM
Welcome starlight!! A good way to get to your know your cycles is to take your temp each morning. Check out www.fertilityfriend.com as there is heaps of info on there. I hope AF doesn't show up this weekend!! :fingerscrossed:

starlight
06-12-2006, 03:16 PM
Hi Morgan, thanks for the :fingerscrossed:

I'm unoffically charting (not temping but wathing my CM) I tend to get a bit focused :o so I am going to let the few couple of months go before I start temping. DH wants to take it easy to start with so I will respect his wishes as I do see his point and I know from other forums that charting can stress you out a bit.

He teases me I am going to be one of those women ringing him at work to 'Get home NOW 'cause I'm Ovulating' lol

BUT come Feb if no luck out comes the thermonitor :thumbsup:

morganj
06-12-2006, 04:27 PM
Sounds like a good plan to me - enjoy!!

parkm
06-12-2006, 08:02 PM
Hi there :wave:

I am also 30 and also TTC. This is my 5th month (but hey who's counting!).

I am also another lady whose cycle was always 28 days to the dot but as soon as I started TTC, my cycles changed!!! I can go anywhere from 28-32 days now. I know its no big deal but it is frustrating when your cycles have always been the same and then all of a sudden, when it matters that they stay the same, they change!! What is that!!!!???

I didn't realise it was that common morganj but it sounds like you have definately heard that happen before. Perhaps it is our anxiety ......

Anyway, just wanted to wish everyone luck. I am in the 2ww and plan to test next Thursday if the lovely AF doesn't show up beforehand. :fingerscrossed: . See ya!!:D

Viva
07-12-2006, 08:34 AM
hi just thought I would pop in and say hi
I am 34 and I think this is about month 4 of TTC (but I have been on HubBub since April 2006).
I think I only have 2 fertile days now (watery CM) but I remember having more in my 20's, I already have a son (who is nearly 9:eek: ) from a previous relationship and he was an "accident" but not a mistake!!!

good luck to us over 30's ladies !

morganj
07-12-2006, 08:44 AM
Welcome happytobe and ParkM. Good luck to all those in the 2WW. :fingerscrossed: for you.

As for me I have no idea what is going on. Am still waiting for AF to arrive since my m/c in early October. It feels like it is taking forever. And it wouldn't make sense for me to be pg as my temps are too low. Strange.

Kyles
07-12-2006, 12:23 PM
Hi to all!
So good to hear of some other ladies the same age as myself! A couple from Brisbane too! Thanks for all your good wishes for the Dr next week. I'm also going to accupunture tommorow, can't hurt as I have been seeing her for a while and always helps me relax a bit. I would recommend it to anyone who is a worry wort like me..She gave me this revolting mixture to drink during October but it didn't work. I was ok about it as we went to Asia on holidays 1/11 - 17/11 and didn't have to worry about what I could eat & drink at least!
AF turned up tues:( into our 7th month now. Should have gone off the pill before we started trying...takes a while for cycle to go normal again after 13 yrs !
Good luck to all!!!:hugs:

kali
07-12-2006, 06:09 PM
Hi all.

well, i might lurk around here too. i have a feeling i may well be the oldest one here at 37! Scary! Lets hope i won't be around long enough to start up a TTC and over 40 thread....

I've been thinking about trying accupuncture too as i've heard good reports on bubhub.

I've been TTC since October 2005. Just had a laparoscopy yesterday... FS didn't find any problem. DH has some problems with his spermies though (lots of them but about half with low motility). Looks like we'll start IVF in February.

Morganj; how frustrating for you that AF still hasn't showed. Must feel like you are in limbo. have you talked to your dr about it?

Good luck to you all :wave:

Mummy2my5
07-12-2006, 06:27 PM
Hi girls...... :wave: count me in here. I already have 4 children but ttc no 5 has been a long haul already (12 months) so I am going to see my gp next week and see what is going on. :fingerscrossed: to us all.

twinkletot
07-12-2006, 10:38 PM

Well i put the christmas tree up tonigh with my little staffie supervising. I really hope that santa sprinkles some baby dust :wizard: everyone's way.

Kali - so does the issue with your DH swimmers lower your chance of conceiving by much? Maybe the two of your could see a chinese herbalist together, they can help men too.

morganj - have you done a hpt? weirder things have happened!

I LOVE THE SILLY SEASON:reindeer: .

Kyles
08-12-2006, 08:04 AM

Well i put the christmas tree up tonigh with my little staffie supervising. I really hope that santa sprinkles some baby dust :wizard: everyone's way.

Kali - so does the issue with your DH swimmers lower your chance of conceiving by much? Maybe the two of your could see a chinese herbalist together, they can help men too.

morganj - have you done a hpt? weirder things have happened!

I LOVE THE SILLY SEASON:reindeer: .

Good morning ladies, Yey its Friday!:yelclap:

morganj- how are you going?

Em - good luck tommorow :thumbsup:

I have my work Xmas party tonight and going to make the most of the free drinks since I'm not PG yet!

Hope you all have a good weekend!
Good luck to those who are hoping AF doesn't turn up!

morganj
08-12-2006, 08:48 AM
Good Morning Ladies

Kyles - enjoy your Xmas party!! :reindeer: We have ours next Tuesday. Although I think I'll do a hpt just before if AF hasn't shown yet.

Sweatpea - welcome!! I hope you get your BFP very very soon. :fingerscrossed:

Kali - acupuncture can't hurt - it is so relaxing. I usually end up having a snooze :sleeping: . One day I'm sure I'm going to get caught out snoring or something. I lot of ladies who do IVF also take chinese herbs and have acupuncture to help with getting more eggs or something. A lot of FS/obstetricians support it anyway. All the best hun!

Well I'm still spotting and getting lots of strange cramps. More like O cramps then AF cramps though. Who knows!! AF - where are yooooouuuu!!! I'd think I was pg except for the fact that I'm spotting (which has never happened to me before) and my temps are too low! :confused: I spoke to my ob who did the d&c earlier this week and he said to call back in two weeks if AF hasn't arrived.

kali
08-12-2006, 12:11 PM
Julie: Have you done an HPT? Maybe implantation spotting... or maybe your body trying get back to normal after the m/c. Hope it resolves one way or the other.

Kyles: have a great time at your chrissy party tonight :tree:

Twinkle: Our FS has called it 'mild male factor' infertility. He said if I was younger he would tell us just to wait it out a bit longer and we might conceive naturally, but the chances are lowered a bit by DH's slow swimmers. Due to my age (37) he suggests straight to IVF.

I think i'll def try accupuncture. thansk julie... :wave:

adamsmum
08-12-2006, 01:21 PM
I'm nearly 41 and ttc #2. had no problems with #1 at 37....#2 is taking longer. we are looking at a GIFT cycle for Jan.

But I've been doing heaps of research as your run of the mill doctor say for someone at my age infact for anyone over 35 it's all about your eggs.

Well you can do something about it. Read the following:

http://www.acudenver.com/articles/ArticlesRL1.pdf and http://www.thefertilesoul.com/Information_Library/Done/ (US site but still relevant).

Keep positive, keep healthy and BD like mad.

good luck to us all. :reindeer:

morganj
08-12-2006, 01:28 PM
Thanks Adamsmum. I've noticed that chinese herbs and acupuncture have really helped me to fall pg in the past. Very interesting (from the first couple of pages that I read). Good luck with ttc #2. Are you having acupuncture?

Kyles
11-12-2006, 09:32 AM
Good morning ladies :wave:

How did everyone go on the weekend? Well I partied hard on Friday night which left me with a thumping head all day on Saturday! Was a great night though!!

MorganJ: any sign of AF yet?
Em: Been dying to know how you went at the Dr? I'm pretty nervous about my appointment now as DH has had to go away for work and can't come with me now :(

:wizard: to all!

morganj
11-12-2006, 11:01 AM
Good Morning

Kyles - I spoke to the GP this morning and she's ordering some bloods to find out what's going on etc. She thinks my spotting last week could have been my body's attempt at AF 'cos there wouldn't have been much lining to fall away after the curette when I m/c'd. Does that make sense? Anyway, she is going to refer me to a better FS if everything doesn't sort itself out very soon.

EcstaticEm
11-12-2006, 11:08 AM
Em: Been dying to know how you went at the Dr? I'm pretty nervous about my appointment now as DH has had to go away for work and can't come with me now

Hi Girls, been lurking..

Hey Kyles, I did it!!! We went and it was fine! Even got a Doc with a sense of Humour! Chris's swimmers are being tested first, and then, Doc say's if they are fine, he will refer me straight to Monash Fertility clinic for my work ups. He looked at my charts and said he thinks Im O'ing, and that Chris and I are doing all the right things. Chris has to "hold off" for 7 days, and Im about 4 away from O, so I think we will just try and hit O, and then do the Sperm Analyisis.. I was so relived. Cant belive I was so scared!! I am sending HEAPS of Good strong thoughts to you Kyles, you can do it!!! you will feel so much better!!!:thumbsup: and :hugs: 's.

actually :hugs: 's to all of us.. we deserve them!

morganj
11-12-2006, 11:11 AM
Em - that is fantastic news. I take it you are in Melbourne! That's great - although I have my fingers crossed that you guys catch the egg this month!! :fingerscrossed:

Kyles
11-12-2006, 11:20 AM
MorganJ: that's at least some explanation for you. Good luck with the bloods! :thumbsup:

I went to accupuncture on Fri, she felt my pulse and couldn't believe I had AF and wasn't PG! She said I must have come pretty close to getting PG as my pulse was the same as a PG woman! Did this happen to you previously when you were trying with accupuncture and chinese herbs?
:fingerscrossed: for this month as she has given me some herbs to take, only problem is DH will be away again for work from Sun-Fri next week and we might miss O :banghead:
She suggested I take temps every morning to make sure I do O and that we have some swimmers waiting there!

EcstaticEm
11-12-2006, 11:32 AM
[quote=morganj;893829]I take it you are in Melbourne! That's great - although I have my fingers crossed that you guys catch the egg this month!! :fingerscrossed:[/quote

Thanks MJ:) Im actually in Latrobe Valley, but Monash is the closest.. Really hoping Chris's SA comes back O.K.. I had always prepared myself for me perhaps having a prob.. Im not sure he is as prepared. I have to make sure he knows some-how, that I love him no matter what his swimmers are doing.

Kyles
11-12-2006, 12:19 PM
[quote=morganj;893829]I take it you are in Melbourne! That's great - although I have my fingers crossed that you guys catch the egg this month!! :fingerscrossed:[/quote

Thanks MJ:) Im actually in Latrobe Valley, but Monash is the closest.. Really hoping Chris's SA comes back O.K.. I had always prepared myself for me perhaps having a prob.. Im not sure he is as prepared. I have to make sure he knows some-how, that I love him no matter what his swimmers are doing.

That's fantastic Em! I feel a bit better about going now...still wish DH was here though! Especially since he may have to be tested as well...
:hugs: to you too!

starlight
11-12-2006, 12:32 PM

Well AF was due on the weekend so I tested sunday morning and got a very faint positive using chrytsal clear! YAY!! :smiliedance:

Tested again this morning using fortel and got a negative:confused: Asked around and found alot of complaints about fortel and false negatives

SOOOOO, I tested again using easy read chrystal clear and WHOO HOO, big clear POSITIVE!!!!!:yelclap: :bfp:

So excited!!!

morganj
11-12-2006, 12:33 PM
Congratulations Starlight!!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

Kyles
11-12-2006, 12:37 PM
Congratulations Starlight!!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Good for you Starlight! CONGRATULATIONS! :yelclap:

twinkletot
11-12-2006, 02:50 PM

CONGRATULATIONS Starlight, that is fantastic news.

morganj and anxiousEm - glad to hear that you'll be getting some answers soon.

Well af showed up on sunday, had brown spotting on saturday for about half a day, never had that before so i thought that was a bit weird.

Kyles - does your acupuncturist always check your pulse? Mine never has, he only checks my tongue... maybe i'll ask him about that.

Good luck to all those still waiting to test.

EcstaticEm
11-12-2006, 02:56 PM
:smiliedance: starlight!!! WOO HOO!!!!:yelclap: :thumbsup:

Kyles
11-12-2006, 03:18 PM

CONGRATULATIONS Starlight, that is fantastic news.

morganj and anxiousEm - glad to hear that you'll be getting some answers soon.

Well af showed up on sunday, had brown spotting on saturday for about half a day, never had that before so i thought that was a bit weird.

Kyles - does your acupuncturist always check your pulse? Mine never has, he only checks my tongue... maybe i'll ask him about that.

Good luck to all those still waiting to test.

Hi Twinkletot :wave:
Sorry to hear AF turned up, :hugs: to you!
I'm sure we'll get there one day !
Yes my accupuncturist has always done both...

morganj
11-12-2006, 03:19 PM
My chinese herbalist has always done both too!

Kyles
11-12-2006, 03:31 PM
Twinkletot - I forgot to mention that I started getting the same brown spotting a couple of months ago too-had never had it before either:confused:

twinkletot
11-12-2006, 04:50 PM
I'll definately be asking the chinese herbalist about checking the pulse.

morganj - how long were you seeing the chinese herbalist before you got the bfp? Did you stop seeing him/her when got it?

morganj
11-12-2006, 09:25 PM
I starting seeing her in June and got my BFP in July. Am still seeing her in the hope she can help me get my cycles back to normal.

frolette
11-12-2006, 09:37 PM

I've been hanging around for a while reading everyone's stories, and finally decided it was time I contributed too.

DH and I have been ttc #1 since Jan 2006. Prior to that I hadn't been too keen on the whole kids thing, but once we decided it was time to try I got really impatient and just wanted everything to happen straight away (who doesn't?!) . AF took 5 months to show up after being on the pill for 11 years (now I realise that's quite normal, but at the time I had no idea and was really worried something was seriously wrong). After 3 very irregular cycles we got our BFP in September. Sadly it wasn't meant to be and at 7 weeks I was diagnosed with a blighted ovum. The doctor warned me about all the physical symptoms I could expect and prescribed painkillers I didn't even come close to needing, but no one told me how incredibly devastated I would be or how long the hurt would last. Once again I thought something was really wrong with me when I was still bawling my eyes out 3 weeks later - until I started reading other ladies' stories on bubhub and found out that's quite normal and entirely appropriate too!

So after waiting 2 months for AF to return we are now back to ttc again. Pretty sure I o'd last friday so fingers crossed for a bonus Christmas present.

Thanks to everyone who has shared stories over the last couple of months that have helped me get through my difficult stage. Hope my story helps someone else out there too. Good luck to all those other ladies with BFPs on their Christmas wishlist! :tree:

twinkletot
11-12-2006, 10:42 PM
Welcome Frolette:wave:

That's such a sad story, thank you for sharing it with us. I know how dis-heartening TTC can be but hopefully we'll all get what we are hoping for sooner or later.

:fingerscrossed: you get that christmas bonus you are wishing for.

parkm
12-12-2006, 06:06 AM

Congratualtions to Starlight on your BFP!!!

Well I'm out yet again for this month. AF arrived and what's worse is that my luteal phase was only 10 days this month (according to FF - Arrgh!!)

Listening to all you guys talking about accupuncture and chinese medicine makes me wonder whether i should go along those lines too. I will be seeing my GP soon and I might ask her about it all. I think I will probably give myself a few more months of TTC naturally before i seek further assistance though. I just wish like all of us here, that it would happen sooner. Waiting, waiting, waiting.... oh well - there's always next month!!!

Goodluck to all you 30 and over gals!!! Come on, more BFPs for Xmas on their way!!!

Kyles
12-12-2006, 09:00 AM
Good morning all :wave:
ParkM - :hugs: to you! I know what you mean about waiting, waiting, waiting...I've been seeing the accupuncturist since about March (before TTC) as I'd had an ongoing problem with thrush for 3 years...she cleared it up in 4 months! I couldn't believe that the Dr's medications and seeing a Gyno didn't fix it but the chinese herbs did! Decided it was worth a try doing the accupuncture and herbs while TTC as well.
Welcome Frolette - Thanks for sharing your story and :hugs: to you!
Ladies I also have a friend who was TTC for a year, she is now PG but did IVF so all up it was 18 months before she finally fell. It ended up getting her so down that she suggested I not let it go too long before seeking help. I have found it is really hard not to obsess about it when you want it so bad too!
:fingerscrossed: to all 30+ and we can all encourage each other to be positive into 2007!

adamsmum
12-12-2006, 08:13 PM
I'm having my first go at acupuncture on Sat...I too have been seeing naturopath in Mel (uses chinese herbs)...I've got heaps of info form her.

eg: Coenzyme Q10 - has been known to increase egg quality...apparently IVF clinics have noticed this is in women who hadn't this this and failed, yet after taking c0q10 egg quality was much better.

Importance of kidney function which controls water in our body...and of course hormones are carried via water.

Selenium and Vit E and how they work in balancing the pituatary-ovary-uterus link. Acupuncture also opens the link, via increased blood flow etc etc.

The fact that your eggs are dormant until they are awaken by subtle changes in hormones and this process takes up to 1 year...so if your hormones are up the putt....you will have trouble.

Anyhow...check out natural alternatives....conventional doctors done have all the answers.

oh and huge congrats to the :bfp: ....may the rest of us join you soon !!!

Kyles
13-12-2006, 03:48 PM

Well I did it! I went to the Dr this morning. She was really good about it and we talked about charting, temps etc. She told me there is no need for concern just yet as she thinks it is still early days only 7 months! Feels like for forever for us though :(

She thinks there will be nothing wrong with DH as he has living proof (DSD - 5) that he has good swimmers :yes: She also seems to think that because I had 33 day cycle last month I will O next thursday 21st, only problem is DH is due to be away for work :banghead: He is trying to come back early so we can get some boys up there before thurs!

She ordered some blood tests for me to have on 29th and also said I can go and have my tubes checked for blockages if we don't get PG this month:fingerscrossed: . We will also get DH's swimmers checked if we have no luck too...

Feel heaps better but there's still waiting, waiting, waiting....

How's everyone else holding up?

kitty1kat
13-12-2006, 04:53 PM
Hi all - I am 32 and we've been trying for 10 months now.

My cycles are also very long and all over the shop. I lost one at about 6 weeks about a month ago. I had my first round of Clomid following that, but it didn't work. I have since O'd and am in the TWW.

"He teases me I am going to be one of those women ringing him at work to 'Get home NOW 'cause I'm Ovulating' lol"

I never thought I would be one of those women - but last week not only did I say that, but I made DH fly interstate where I was working for one night to 'service me' !!! I am officially obsessed. Ah well, if it works....

Kyles
13-12-2006, 05:01 PM
Hi all - I am 32 and we've been trying for 10 months now.

My cycles are also very long and all over the shop. I lost one at about 6 weeks about a month ago. I had my first round of Clomid following that, but it didn't work. I have since O'd and am in the TWW.

"He teases me I am going to be one of those women ringing him at work to 'Get home NOW 'cause I'm Ovulating' lol"

I never thought I would be one of those women - but last week not only did I say that, but I made DH fly interstate where I was working for one night to 'service me' !!! I am officially obsessed. Ah well, if it works....

Hi Kate :wave:

:hugs: to you!

I was thinking of flying interstate next week for the same reason if he can't make it back early for O :laughing:

:fingerscrossed:

morganj
14-12-2006, 09:15 AM
Kyles & Kitty - good luck catching that eggie - I hope you get to your DH in time. Perhaps try BD a couple of days before - that's what we did last time we caught the egg.

Last night I got a copy of a letter in the mail which was from The Alfred address to my obstetrician, in response to some enquiries he's made about my blood results and a mutation that was detected. So it seems the bloods weren't such a waste of time after all (which my gp ordered and he said weren't necessary). A nice way to find out about it all though - not!!! I am just too upset to phone the ob myself so DH is going to phone him tomorrow when he gets back from interstate. He thinks it's all positive though 'cos the ob is doing everything he can to help us - but none of this has been mentioned to us and here we are ttc'ing again without any knowledge of any of this!! I just feel so angry and hurt.

Kyles
14-12-2006, 09:30 AM
Kyles & Kitty - good luck catching that eggie - I hope you get to your DH in time. Perhaps try BD a couple of days before - that's what we did last time we caught the egg.

Last night I got a copy of a letter in the mail which was from The Alfred address to my obstetrician, in response to some enquiries he's made about my blood results and a mutation that was detected. So it seems the bloods weren't such a waste of time after all (which my gp ordered and he said weren't necessary). A nice way to find out about it all though - not!!! I am just too upset to phone the ob myself so DH is going to phone him tomorrow when he gets back from interstate. He thinks it's all positive though 'cos the ob is doing everything he can to help us - but none of this has been mentioned to us and here we are ttc'ing again without any knowledge of any of this!! I just feel so angry and hurt.

Oh MorganJ:hugs:

I agree with DH it is positive that at least ob is trying to do all he can :thumbsup:

I know how you feel waiting for DH to return home when you get a disapointment like that!

We have decided I will fly down to Sydney next Wednesday night so we don't miss that egg!
I have also got a mild case of thrush back so need to try and clear that up before next week also...if its not one thing its another :banghead:

morganj
14-12-2006, 09:42 AM
Thanks Kyles. I know it's positive but I just wish he'd told us that thre may be issue and that he was going to be making such enquiries as we have started ttc again. It just wasn't a nice way to find out that there could be other problems. At our last meeting with him he said the foetus from the last m/c had a chromose abnormality and that there was no reason why this should happen again. Now I find out he's making further enquiries, which of course is a good thing, but I guess now I"m a bit anxious.

Kyles
14-12-2006, 09:47 AM
I agree not a good way of finding out especially when DH is away interstate :thumbsdown:

At least you will get some more answers soon though..my heart goes out to you hon :hugs:

Viva
14-12-2006, 10:57 AM
MorganJ
I can only imagine how hurt you feel, I would be too. :hugs:

kitty1kat
14-12-2006, 12:16 PM
That's cr*p Morgan - sometimes I think Drs (esp male ones) act like fathers - they think they know better! Drives me insane.

I really like my FS, but since I met with her, I have had no contact - only dealt with her midwife. Which is cheaper I guess, but she seems to agree with whatever I say, and there has been no offer of follow-up consulatations despite the fact that since I saw her last, I have been pregnant, had m/c, had first round of clomid, blood test to show it didn't work. All I have had is a prescription for provera in the mail! Hmmmmmm.

Kyles
18-12-2006, 09:23 AM
Hi all :wave:

How's all the 30+ going?

I'm flying to Sydney Wednesday to see DH (he is away all week for work) as I should be O on Thursday! He will be back Saturday so hopefully :fingerscrossed: we will catch that egg! It would be great for us all to be spring mummys together!!

Lets hope Xmas brings us our :bfp: for the new year!

Merry Xmas everyone (not long now!) :xmas:

kaybee
19-12-2006, 10:44 AM
I'm 31 and this is our first month of trying. I feel like I'm hoping for a miracle to fall pg first go! It's strange because alot of my friends have had this happen, while others have taken a year! After 11 years on the pill, I'm also worried about how out of synch my cycle is. Before I went on it, they were terrible, AF only came every 6-8 weeks, and then lasted for 8 days!

Anyway, :fingerscrossed: for everyone! I will be testing in Jan, so will have to get myself on the calendar.

kaybee
19-12-2006, 10:53 AM
I'm 31 and this is our first month of trying. I feel like I'm hoping for a miracle to fall pg first go! It's strange because alot of my friends have had this happen, while others have taken a year! After 11 years on the pill, I'm also worried about how out of synch my cycle is. Before I went on it, they were terrible, AF only came every 6-8 weeks, and then lasted for 8 days!

Anyway, :fingerscrossed: for everyone! I will be testing in Jan, so will have to get myself on the calendar.

Kyles
19-12-2006, 10:59 AM
Welcome Kaybee :wave:

Good luck for your first month :fingerscrossed: and Merry Xmas :xmas:

morganj
08-01-2007, 08:44 AM
Hey Ladies

Well I finally got my first AF last week after our m/c in October so we are back into ttc again now finally. I hope it doesn't take too long this time.

How is everyone else going? I am starting to stress about my age already.

Lilith
08-01-2007, 08:59 AM
Hi Julie, glad you're back on track and hope you get your sticky BFP real soon.

I also got my AF a few days ago, we only had a month off but it seemed like forever, particularly as I'm hols and have nothing much us to preoccupy myself with.

I went to the FS on Thursday and she was quite funny, she said I'm only 34 so it's not "serious" yet. When I turn 35 it becomes serious. WT?? I'm 35 in 4 months?? She knows that too so I don't get it.

Kyles
08-01-2007, 09:07 AM
Hi girls :no:

I know exactly how you feel..AF turned up on Saturday afternoon after 2 days of spotting which I have never had before..have been feeling really down and stressing too :gloomy:

Even if I fall PG this next cycle I am going to be turning 34 in October the same month! I really wanted to have a baby before I was 34 :thumbsdown:

Kyles
08-01-2007, 09:08 AM
Oh and good luck to you all :fingerscrossed:

Egall
08-01-2007, 10:13 AM
Kyles - :hugs: so sorry to hear about AF. I was hopeful for you and know how disappointing it can be when you've had a chance to get your hopes up.

I know what you ladies mean about the magical 3 - 5! Surely fertility loss is a steady process and not a sudden drastic drop-off after a special birthday! I'm 34 next month and really want to be pregnant by then. I was still 32 when I got married and it all seemed fine, like there was plenty of time and now, suddenly only a year later, I'm staring down the barrel of 34 and just a step away from the big 35, and DH is 38!! :eek: What's happening? Time seems to be speeding up!

morganj
08-01-2007, 10:13 AM
I know how you feel ladies! I wanted to have my first before I was 35. Now I'll be lucky to have my first before I'm 37!! :gloomy: And I don't want to have an only child!!

Kyles - I'm so sorry hun!!

kali
08-01-2007, 10:24 AM

Julie, i'm so pleased AF arrived and you can now start the new year with a clear run towards a BFP. Hope it comes soon for you.

Lilith; great news about AF for you too.... have you recovered from your Lap? Made sense to wait. I still TTC straight after mine but my AF came a week early so i think it did mess with my system a bit.

Sorry to Kyles that AF showed up for you...

Yes, i know about the age factor. I was 35 when we started to TTC (well, just about to turn 36) and now I"m 37 and really starting to worry about my age. FS tested all my hormones etc and reckons i still have a good healthy stock of eggies which is good.

I'm on 2DPO today so just entering the long TWW.

Good luck guys. Great to have a group of oldies like me to chat to!

Kyles
08-01-2007, 10:32 AM
Thanks for all your support girls :thumbsup:

:fingerscrossed: we can all get a :bfp: soon!

:hugs: to you all and it is great to have a thread of Oldies to talk to!

anxious&impatient
08-01-2007, 11:47 AM
Good luck to everyone :fingerscrossed:

I too am 30 in March and have been ttc for 3 years in May this year. And as of May we'll be going thru IVF so we're going to have a fun road ahead of us soon.

Baby dust to you all :)

kitty1kat
08-01-2007, 01:51 PM
HI all - and a happy new year. Hope the year is kicking off well. Got to say, I am a little exhausted at the thought of the new year and more TTC - I need a break from this roller coaster! If this round of Clomid doesn't work, I think we will do one more and then have a month off - I can't take the pressure!

Hey - I had to see a Dr at a bulk billing place on Friday, as I needed a referral for a progesterone BT to check if I had ovulated after the clomid. FS had forgotten to put it in the mail for me and we were down at the beach so couldn't go to usual GP. Anyway, he was at LEAST 70 I would say, if not 75 (are they allowed to be that old??) I told him what I needed and he started giving me a lecture! Asking me all about how long I had been married for, and all about how I had only been trying for ten months, and we shouldn't be taking drugs until we had been trying for at least 2 years. I pointed out that my FS is one of the most well renowned FS in Australia, and had put me on the drugs because I didn't ovulate properly and he said he still would have told me to go away and come back in 2 years. I pointed out that I was 33, so didn't want to wait and he LAUGHED and told me that his wife had 6 children after the age of 33. I honestly wanted to PUNCH him. I am SOOOO glad I don't have to put up with that sort of thing usually. I am NEVER going to a bulk billing place again!!!

Egall
08-01-2007, 02:08 PM
Dear me, Kate. Was a small town area?? Maybe they have trouble getting doctors there, hence the retiree??

Kyles
08-01-2007, 02:12 PM
Oh my god kitty1kat you poor thing :hugs:

That Dr sounds like a real A---HOLE! You didn't need to be told that...how inconsiderate!

I have my :fingerscrossed: you will get your :bfp: sometime in 2007!

EcstaticEm
08-01-2007, 02:51 PM
OMG Kittycat1 Thats woeful, I would have gone OFF!

You did well to leave there without realigning his reproductive organs!:yes:

morganj
08-01-2007, 03:23 PM
Oh Kate am so sorry you had to put up with that! Such an awful doctor!!

Am seeing my chinese herbalist this Thursday - hopefully the acupunture will help me catch the egg this month!! :fingerscrossed:

kitty1kat
09-01-2007, 02:40 PM
Good luck MorganJ

And I agree all on the bad dr - was in Geelong so not that small, but it was a bulk billing place and it was in the middle of the summer holidays so assume they were on their last hope Dr!

Anyway, it was a waste of time anyway, as just got the results and found out i didn't ovulate. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR. There goes round 2. Onto round 3 of 100mg - when I eventaually ovulate on my own which could be anytime in the next six weeks. Or I could go on provera to force it, but would rather hold off and give ourselves the best chance this month. So not sure yet when I will be testing now...

Got to say I am sick to death of BDing already this month - and we will have to start the marathon again! Never thought I would say that....

morganj
09-01-2007, 03:38 PM
Kittykat - :hugs: . I hope you manage to get some spark back into the bd marathon. Have you tried using a Maybe Baby or OPKs. Last time I fell pg we bd'd every second day and used OPKs and temped.

I also had a test before AF to see if I'd O'd but apparenlty I hadn't, despite the fact I got a huge temp rise etc on FF. The bt wasn't done until 12DPO though - would that mean the bt was no use? Very confused.

didi2
10-01-2007, 08:27 PM
Hi - I am new to this thread and it has been really comforting to hear your stories. I am 33 as is DH. We have been TTC #1 since October 06. Had Implanon taken out in July.

Am in the 2WW at the moment, testing late next week. Am pretty certain it will be BFN as we probably didn't BD as often as we ought!

At this stage I haven't been charting, relying on CM and my ovulation pains. I am thinking of using OPKs next round.

Given my age, I am thinking if nothing happens this time around I should get stuff checked out. Do they usually start with checking sperm count?

Kyles
10-01-2007, 09:58 PM
Hi Didi2 :wave:

Welcome to the thread!

My DH and I have been trying since June 06. I went to my doctor last month since we had gone past 6 months with no luck. She ordered blood tests for me to make sure I am ovulating and that all my hormone levels are ok. My DH already has a 5yr daughter so she doesn't think there will be any reason to worry but she has ordered a sperm test for him too.
The results have all come back fine so its a just a waiting thing. Its a relief to find out there is nothing wrong but I hate waiting :banghead:
:fingerscrossed: and all the best to you!

This site is fantastic, such a wealth of information and support, thanks ladies :hugs:

morganj
11-01-2007, 08:44 AM
Didi2 - it certainly doesn't hurt to get everything checked out. Although you will find that using OPKs and taking your temp can really help with catching the egg. It certainly helped us last time. :fingerscrossed: for you and welcome to the thread. Bubhub is a great source of info.

Kyles
19-01-2007, 08:03 AM
Hi ladies :wave:

How is everyone going?

morganj
19-01-2007, 08:20 AM
Just waiting for O here - taking it's time as per usual!! :rolleyes:

sniper wolf
19-01-2007, 08:27 AM
Just waiting for O here - taking it's time as per usual!! :rolleyes:

I HEAR YA!:mad:

Kyles
19-01-2007, 08:54 AM
Yeah me too! Should be Tuesday, hopefully doesn't happen earlier like today or tommorow as DH is still away :banghead:

morganj
20-02-2007, 10:24 AM
Long time no posts - how are we all going?

Mummy2my5
20-02-2007, 10:30 AM
Hi Julie..... :wave: I am still here waiting...lol Af due in around 6 days :fingerscrossed: she doesn't come. How are you going?

sniper wolf
20-02-2007, 10:46 AM
yeah i'm here, queer and not going to the mainland (tasmania in-joke).:o

at cd20, i got nuttin symptom wise, actually i'm sick of looking for symptoms frankly. :banghead:

EcstaticEm
20-02-2007, 10:52 AM
CD 11 for me BD time. waiting, waiting, waiting!

hear you on the symptoms thing Snakeeater :hugs: .

Kyles
20-02-2007, 02:11 PM
Hi girls :wave:

Still here! Trying not to get on Bubhub every day though...should be O'ing on Thursday..

:fingerscrossed: for us all!

morganj
20-02-2007, 02:35 PM
I'm still waiting for O too!! Am going to see the GP tomorrow night to get a referral to a FS. Am sick of this waiting waiting and long cycles business. I'm 36 now and just don't want to keep waiting anymore.

ziggyzena
20-02-2007, 02:56 PM
Hi Morjan,
Yeh I am31 in August Been ttc#1 since nov 05. I am a 30 day cycle currently cd11 and seem to be ovulating all signs are correct. Shouldn't be ovulating till cd 16 so don't know whats going on!!! Just trying to relax and bding, If i am ovulating now should that mean af will be due early too:confused:??

ziggyzena
20-02-2007, 02:57 PM
so sorry Morganj not morjan silly me...

Luella
22-02-2007, 09:22 PM
Hi, I just wanted to post to say that I'm another over 30 who is TTC. We've only just started trying, and I've only just started to realise how little I know about the whole thing :o

morganj
23-02-2007, 07:04 AM
Hi Luella. I think at first it's good to hae a relaxed attitude and not try to over analyse everything too much. There is however a wealth of information on this website. I hope yuo get your BFP very very soon. :fingerscrossed:

kaybee
26-02-2007, 02:30 PM
Hi Everyone, I'm still waiting for O. It's CD29, so looks like another long cycle for me!! :banghead:

Kyles
12-03-2007, 12:33 PM
Hi all 30+ :wave:

How are you all?

como470
14-03-2007, 03:46 PM

Another newbie here! This site was actually recommended to me and from what I've read so far, think it is exactly what I need!

I've had pcos for a few years now and am about to start the world of clomid, scans and bts etc and now realise this is just the start of one heck of a rollercoaster ride! :)

kaybee
14-03-2007, 04:26 PM

Yay!! We have done it! I got my :bfp: on Monday, due in November!
Still feels a little surreal!

Angelbell
14-03-2007, 04:31 PM

Try not to stress to much the more you stress the less likely you will fall pregnant.
Try and relax forget your trying and see what happens,doing temps and stressing yourself doesn't help.:shame:
Give it 12 months in our age bracket it is common that 80% will fall pregnant in 12months and the other 20% in 18 months.If no medical problems.
So don't stress out,my first took 1 month the second 8 months the third ????? ;)
So :kiss: to you all I'm 30 and trying for number three this month so good luck.

como470
15-03-2007, 10:57 AM
Congratulations Kaybee!!! Whoo hoo for you!

I'm hoping that this year will be lucky for me as well ... am sick of hearing the "tick tock tick tock" comments from my friends and family!! lol!

morganj
15-03-2007, 12:52 PM
Hey Ladies

Well I just had my first appointment with an FS and am starting ovulation induction injections next cycle! At least it's a step in the right direction.

:fingerscrossed: for you all.

Julie

kali
15-03-2007, 01:00 PM
Thats fantastic news Julie! I remember how good it felt to taking some action after seeing FS. Hoping this works for you!

morganj
15-03-2007, 01:01 PM
Thanks Kali. How are you going? I hope we both get some good news very soon!! :hugs:

Angelbell
15-03-2007, 01:37 PM
Good luck Julie I hope this works for you!:kiss:
I've got 9 more days before AF due It's killing me!!!:(
I just want to know now!
I'm so impatient:laughing:

Me 30
DH 34
DD 8
DD 4
TTC #3 hoping for :bfp: soon!

helenmac
15-03-2007, 02:35 PM
I thought I'd join all of you lovely ladies in this thread if you don't mind. :wave:

I am currently 4 DPO and I'm anxiously waiting for time to pass. That's all I seem to do lately is wish the time away desperately hoping to get those two possitve lines at the end of each cycle!!!

Additional things that I have done for the first time this month in the hopes of it making a difference and it working!!

- Made a visual board with baby photos and cut out the body of a pregnant women from a magazine and stuck a photograph of my head on it. I look at it every morning.

- Every night while meditating I've been visualizing the sperm breaking into the egg and travelling down the fallopian tubes then implantation. Then I visualize myself being pregnant and finally with the baby in my arms breast feeding.

- Drank a glass of grapefruit juice every day around ovulation.

- Two accupunture treatments. First one - 3 days before ovulation and 2nd one on ovulation day. (along with DH having two accupunture treatments, also)

- (When I am at) 6 DPO I will drink pineapple juice every day until about 10DPO as it is supposed to help with implantation.

Now, this has gotta work!! I'm so determined!!!!

Good luck to everyone....! :fingerscrossed:

Helen.

como470
15-03-2007, 02:55 PM
Yes, never had to wait so much in my life before! Waiting for appt with fs, waiting to see if you have o, waiting to see if you have been successful in catching the egg ......... and I've only been doing this for about 3 months! :eek:

But like you helenmac, I am trying to not think about it and keep relaxed .... not always an easy thing!

I've just started having a regular massage (once fortnight) to keep me from going completely crazy and hopefully help me get a :bfp:sooner rather than later!!

:wizard: to everyone here - hopefully we ALL get out of the ttc forum and into the pg forum before too long!!