View Full Version : Chicken Liver - How do i cook it......
kamaraj
05-12-2006, 11:51 AM
Hi everyone, I am hoping someone out there can help me!!! My lil man Cody needs to have an iron enriched diet. He has just hit 8 months and the Dr told me to give him red meat but we have found that livers contain lots more iron and I think that would be easier than red meat at this stage but my dilema is how do you cook it???? My hubby said he just fries them but I dont think that would be good for cody!!! Can you just like boil them then puree (sp??) them?? Any help would be appreciated!! TIA, Tammy
mummyof5
05-12-2006, 12:22 PM
I have only ever eaten them fried or made into pate. If you want the pate recipe let me know - my 3 year old is addicted, will eat it straight out of the blender!!
We sometimes fry them up with bacon and onion, which is lovely with some toast for a light meal. Could you fry them up in a little butter, then puree, maybe add some veges as well??
kamaraj
05-12-2006, 06:22 PM
hey there mummyof5, that would be great. I went into our coles store today but I couldnt find any livers but I will ask I think. My hubby would greatly appreciate that recipe too. Thanks
mummyof5
05-12-2006, 08:06 PM
Haven't found them at coles for ages, though did manange to get some at Bi Lo a few weeks ago. You are better off asking at an actual chicken place though.
Chicken Liver Pate
125g butter
250g chicken livers, timmed
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 tablespoon brandy or dry sherry (i don't worry to much as it gets added to hot food, so don't think thre would be too much alcohol left, but you could try that claytons stuff for non alcoholic or put in half or something if you are worried)
salt and pepper
grated nutmeg
1 bay leaf (i don't usually bother with this):no:
Melt half the butter in a frying pan. Add the livers, onion and garlic, cover and cook gently for 5 minutes.
Remove from heat and add the brandy or sherry, with salt, pepper and nutmeg to taste.
Work in an electric blender until smooth.
Spoon into a small serving dish and place bay leaf on top. Melt remaining butter and pour over the pate. Chill until firm.
This is so nice, I'm about to make some for christmas lunches. I find it keeps quite well in the fridge covered with some foil until you are ready to use it, as long as the butter is still unbroken on top.:thumbsup:
As for the red meat thing, is he getting any pureed up now? When my kids were babies, they nearly always got some of our previous nights dinner wizzed up for their lunch or dinner the next day, and if we had steak and salad, I would keep some meat aside and add it to their tinned food, or veges I had made and kept in the freezer...
Just some idea's anyway. Hope this all helps and hubby enjoys the pate - mine loves it too.
kamaraj
05-12-2006, 08:27 PM
:thumbsup: Thanks heaps for that!! We dont have a chicken shop in our town but I know one of the butchers so they mey be able to get me some. As for the meat thing, Cody has been a sick bub so we have had to stop and start the whole solid food thing. He has just started to get more variety as we are managing to get on top of it all. I have given him chicken and a little tuna as it is easy for him to manage. I will try to puree some meat for him as he really needs iron, he is on a supplement but we need to add as much as we can to his diet and as liver has the most we thought that would be a good option. Will definatly give the pate a go :thumbsup: looks good, hubby just seen the recipe and is very pleased. Thankyou heaps :thumbsup:
Snowlilli
07-12-2006, 07:42 PM
This may sounds very odd! However, chicken liver with pear has been very popular with the little girl i care for.
We chop up the liver, cut up a pear (peeled) and boil it in just enough water to cover the contents in the pot. Bring it to the boil, and then leave it on low for about 20. Once cooled we puree it....
Hope this may help
07-12-2006, 07:55 PM
Chicken Liver!!!!! My first reaction was :barf:
But hey if it works & you like it! :p
(sorry I know not helpful to to thread.... delete if neccasary (sp?) :) .)
I reckon DH would like that pate recipe :rolleyes:
aardvark
07-12-2006, 08:20 PM
Go looking via Google. Chicken liver is a popular additive to Risotto.
You can also use it to make a stuffing for chicken - I have seen a recipe somewhere.
Don't forget plenty of vitamin C with the iron, it aids absorption.
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.