View Full Version : Scary Product Recall - MILK!

05-12-2006, 10:23
All these recalls lately are scaring me!!! I just received this from Coles Online and urge anyone who knows people who use this milk to forward it onto family and friends - even call them!!!

The manufacturer has requested the following product be recalled.

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION & SIZE:PURA LIGHT START FRESH MILK 1 LITRE
ITEM CODE:5208381
BEST BEFORE CODE:13 DEC
APN:9300664010041

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION & SIZE:PURA LIGHT START FRESH MILK 2 LITRE
ITEM CODE:5410316
APN:9300664012540

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION & SIZE:PURA LIGHT START FRESH MILK 1.1 LITRE
ITEM CODE:8416320
APN:9310232071114

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION & SIZE:PURA TONE NO FAT FRESH MILK 2 LITRE
ITEM CODE:8081040
APN:9310232002309

The reason for this product RECALL from sale is due to POTENTIAL FOR MICROBIOLOGICAL
CONTAMINATION.

05-12-2006, 10:28
PL - thanks for the info... its scary that milk is being recalled :eek:

05-12-2006, 10:39
Thanks mods for making this a Sticky

05-12-2006, 10:41
No problem :) Its a very scary time we live in :(

Lirael
05-12-2006, 10:43
does anyone know if it affects any other brands? I buy coles cheapo milk and wonder which company makes it? is it only coles or every shop that stocks it?:confused:

jkate
05-12-2006, 10:44
PL - thanks for the info. How come you get the emails? It would be great to get them. Although I know you keep us up to date:D:thumbsup:

05-12-2006, 10:46
Cel - the email only said Pura - I'm sure that if there was a possibility that it affected any other brand/type of milk it would have been specified.

Jkat - I buy from ColesOnline sometimes, so when you do that you can subscribe to their newsletters. They're usually boring - but it also includes these product recalls which are so important!!!

Lirael
05-12-2006, 10:55
thanks PL :D just going to get some groceries so wanted to make sure.

gee, there really has been heaps of recalls lately:thumbsdown:

Manxie
05-12-2006, 11:00

Thanks for that - being dumb here but is the APN the barcode no? Also where abouts is the item code??

Just checked out the pura website and there is nothing about this recall on there??

sorry for being so dumb:rolleyes:

nicoleE
05-12-2006, 12:10
can anyone find anything about this on the web? The Coles site or Pura doesnt seem to be displaying anything...

I wasnted to forward onto our receptionists at work as we have 4 floors here that order Pura milk for the fridges for staff tea & coffee and 2 women here are pregnant and will be very interested to hear this...

anyone????

MrsMiggins
05-12-2006, 12:11
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION & SIZE:PURA TONE NO FAT FRESH MILK 2 LITRE
ITEM CODE:8081040
APN:9310232002309

OMG!! OMG!!!

This is the milk I ALWAYS buy!! I accidentally bought the Low fat one the other day instead. I am so glad - The No Fat one had the use-by of 13 Dec!! :eek:

MrsMiggins
05-12-2006, 12:13
Oh!! And just a warning to everyone too, I have noticed a LOT of cafes, etc use Pura Lite Start if you ask for skim milk.

If anyone has coffee, a milkshake etc. while they're out, it might be worthwhile checking if they do use it in case they weren't aware of this recall.

05-12-2006, 12:47
oh wow thats scary! I hope no other brands get recalled!

Foxy
05-12-2006, 12:58
That's so strange, because I always buy the Pura No Fat, but for some reason bought Physical No Fat with a use by of Dec 13. Milk recalls - bad news! :thumbsdown:

gremily
05-12-2006, 13:03
My DF was a pasteuriser and cheesemaker for Dairy Farmers for 10 yrs so as soon as he gets home (after tea sometime) I'll ask him if you like. He's bound to know what it all means, etc :thumbsup:

LMenz
05-12-2006, 13:46

I was worried as I bought a bottle this morning so I called their customer service number and apparently it is only an issue for 'MILK BOUGHT IN NSW'

If anyone has any concerns it's probably best to call and check it out 1800 677 852

SilverStarfish
05-12-2006, 14:34
Thanks for that - being dumb here but is the APN the barcode no?

Yes, the APN number is the barcode number and is unique to each company & product. It stands for Australian Product Number. The first number (in this case 9) tells you that it was made in Australia. Then next few numbers are for the company and the ones after that are for the product.

Odd that the Coles Online (http://157.155.162.22/) website doesn't have it listed under their product recalls. Last one is the formula recall for Nestle.

sugar n spice
05-12-2006, 14:42
I just bought the Pura full cream milk 1litre. is that ok it expires 13th dec.:eek:

we dont buy lite milk as dh doesnt like it:rolleyes:

SilverStarfish
05-12-2006, 14:45
And it's not here either. Or yet, anyway.

http://www.recalls.gov.au/ (http://www.recalls.gov.au/)

Uzbard
05-12-2006, 15:06
National Foods produce milk in every state in Australia. The milk in question is produced in New South Wales. Each different site in Australia has a different code so if you are in Perth or South Australia for example, your milk will be produced there and wont have the NSW milk. Look at the code on your bottle, if it is the same then return it to the store. Otherwise there is nothing to be concerned about.

05-12-2006, 15:06
Hmmm - its definitely a concern that its not printed or notified anywhere else...

The rest of the email was this...

Note: To our knowledge no other stock has been affected.

Customers holding this product at home should dispose of the goods immediately and
contact Coles Online for a refund.

For any further queries you have regarding this email or to arrange your refund contact
Coles Online Customer Care on 1800 455 400 or via email
ColesOnline.CustomerService@colesmyer.com.au .

We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Yours Sincerely

Coles Online Customer Care.

gremily
05-12-2006, 16:34
[SIZE=3]The reason for this product RECALL from sale is due to POTENTIAL FOR MICROBIOLOGICAL
CONTAMINATION.

I have my DF here to explain what the problem is most likely to be. Take it away Jason:D

This issue is most likely to be as simple as faulty seals on lids/cartons or poor pasteurisation. They are required to take samples of every production line and they would have found that the lids were not sealing enough/the right way in order to protect the product 100%. Which shows that they are on the ball with ensuring the safety of everyone. It does not mean that there is any form of contamination in the product even if you have had it. It is only a POTENTIAL contamination.

So there you go. Try not to worry too much if you've already had it;)

05-12-2006, 16:37
:eek: im glad im drinking full fat at the moment;)

sarahbelle
05-12-2006, 16:45

I just heard on the news about the recall.

Elmopalooza
05-12-2006, 17:59
I just bought the Pura full cream milk 1litre. is that ok it expires 13th dec.:eek:

we dont buy lite milk as dh doesnt like it:rolleyes:

Yep same here!! ( i usually buy the woolworths brand tho)

So long as its not for the WA ppl too!!

Buddha Bubbas
05-12-2006, 18:45
just heard on the news and radio that it is PURA MILK, WOOLWORTHS BRAND MILK AND HOMEBRAND... with an expiry date up to 13TH DECEMBER...

i just checked and i have woolies expiry date 13th dec :barf:

javalava
05-12-2006, 18:53
just heard on the news and radio that it is PURA MILK, WOOLWORTHS BRAND MILK AND HOMEBRAND... with an expiry date up to 13TH DECEMBER...

Woolies whole milk they said... lucky i buy low fat. Only cos i like the taste better lol.

Elmopalooza
05-12-2006, 19:03
Is it ONLY for milk in NSW!? Or should i throw my milk away too!?? Im in WA and have the full cream Pura with an expiry of 13th december.... :confused:

05-12-2006, 19:07
We have Woolworths brand in our fridge with an exp date of Dec 12th and DH has drunk most of it :eek:

Buddha Bubbas
05-12-2006, 20:07
we have had ours for 2 days and nearly finished 3Litres. we are all fine and fingers crossed no gastro but i had tipped mine down the sink.

i dont know if it was only NSW or not. they didnt give much info on the news.

Elmopalooza
05-12-2006, 20:20
ok cool! thanks for that... think im gonna head down to the shops now and buy some more milk! ;)

Lunar
05-12-2006, 20:34
There was an article in the herald sun I think..?.... that stated it was woolworths, homebrand and pura, of ALL sizes with the exp date of 13 DEC PE.

We haev a 3ltr wollies one that is nearly gone! Emily is the only one who drinks it:barf: she had a gross poo today, do you think that could be the cause???
I'm taking what's left of it back to woolies tonight to get a new one.:barf: :barf:

Elmopalooza
05-12-2006, 20:54
Well, i just tipped a FULL 3L down the drain.. what a waste... i only bought it yesterday.. better to be safe than sorry tho!

bubs_and_us
05-12-2006, 21:16
does anybody know of a website i can check out for recalls? i've got pura full fat milk in the fridge, but im in WA.... are we at 'risk'???

JenNT
05-12-2006, 21:30
geez i hope this isn't why i have had gastro for the last 48 hrs :confused: I use woolies milk too. Thnaks for the info.

05-12-2006, 21:31
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,20877185-5005961,00.html

NSW and ACT are the only ones affected

Elmopalooza
05-12-2006, 21:32
Aww really!? I just wasted 3 litres of milk then!! LOL!

jazzak
05-12-2006, 21:58
Aww really!? I just wasted 3 litres of milk then!! LOL!

Buggar!!!

Rockett
05-12-2006, 22:24

So it's any milk with an expiry up to the 13th? I have 2 home brand bottles dated the 11th...they are no good then? :confused:

DD finished off a bottle dated the 11th today and had a huge runny poo....hmmm

SilverStarfish
05-12-2006, 22:27
No, its just milk with the expiry date of the 13th.

It would have been the milk produced on that particular day - ie about 10 days before the 13th.

Rockett
05-12-2006, 22:31
Ok thanks Faeml.:)

Buddha Bubbas
05-12-2006, 22:40
No, its just milk with the expiry date of the 13th.

really?? :o on the radio they said UP to the 13th??

im confused hehe. wish they would make it clear. at first i heard only Pura and then it changed. :banghead:

Rockett
05-12-2006, 23:40
Oh dear...I think I might ring that number in the morning and find out for sure.
Very confusing!

Littletreasures
06-12-2006, 07:35

well im justing sitting here watching sunrise and they also said that

Milk recall
National foods has recalled thousands of litres of milk in NSW and Canberra because of possible contamination. The expiry date on the milk is December 13 and is Pura, DaisyFresh and Woolworths and Homebrand.
These are the types affected:
Pura Light Start 1.1 ltr
Pura Whole Milk 1.1 ltr
Pura Whole Milk 1 ltr
Pura Whole Milk 300 ml
Pural Whole Milk 600 ml
Pura Tone 1 ltr
Pura Light Start 1 ltr
Pura Whole Milk 150ml cup
Woolworths Whole Milk 2 litre
Pura Whole Milk 2 lt
Pura Tone 2 lt
Pura Light Start 2 lt
Daisyfresh Whole Milk 2 lt
Homebrand Whole Milk 3 lt

For more info on the recall, phone 1800 677 852.

woven_wings
06-12-2006, 08:31
So not in SA? is it just selected states?

Were in SA and have got a 2L unopened of Pura Milk... with the 13th due date ???

firstchild
06-12-2006, 10:35
i bought a pura whole milk 1L on sunday im half way through it i just heard about the recall. im pregnant too!! i dont feel sick though do u think its anything to be concerned about??? i feel sick about the thought of it.

06-12-2006, 12:12
Gosh that is scary as soo many people drink that milk!

06-12-2006, 12:13

well im justing sitting here watching sunrise and they also said that

Milk recall
National foods has recalled thousands of litres of milk in NSW and Canberra because of possible contamination. The expiry date on the milk is December 13 and is Pura, DaisyFresh and Woolworths and Homebrand.
These are the types affected:
Pura Light Start 1.1 ltr
Pura Whole Milk 1.1 ltr
Pura Whole Milk 1 ltr
Pura Whole Milk 300 ml
Pural Whole Milk 600 ml
Pura Tone 1 ltr
Pura Light Start 1 ltr
Pura Whole Milk 150ml cup
Woolworths Whole Milk 2 litre
Pura Whole Milk 2 lt
Pura Tone 2 lt
Pura Light Start 2 lt
Daisyfresh Whole Milk 2 lt
Homebrand Whole Milk 3 lt

For more info on the recall, phone 1800 677 852.

We drink the woolworths 3lt. I work at woolies and have not been told anything?? :confused:

Kellxx
06-12-2006, 14:11
We have the Pura whole milk 3 ltr exp 13th December!!!!!!!!!!!! :banghead:

And i had a cuppa this morning with it! :barf:

M~T~J~M
06-12-2006, 14:35
Ok, so just to get it right....

I haven't heard anything until now about this.
I am in Vic, and have Pura Tone, 2 litre, with expiry of 12 Dec. This should be ok, right??

06-12-2006, 15:56
Great, that would be referring to the milk that I have in my fridge- 2 days ago I was in hospital being treated for food poisoning and I do NOT wanna go through that again! :no:

SilverStarfish
06-12-2006, 16:14
So not in SA? is it just selected states?

Were in SA and have got a 2L unopened of Pura Milk... with the 13th due date ???

Your milk is fine :)

It's only milk that was made at the Pura factory in Sydney - which is why it is just NSW milk. The other states have their own factories.

Pura also make the milk for Woolies, Daisy Fresh etc etc which is why it is those brands too.

SilverStarfish
06-12-2006, 16:17
Ok, so just to get it right....

I haven't heard anything until now about this.
I am in Vic, and have Pura Tone, 2 litre, with expiry of 12 Dec. This should be ok, right??

Yup, its fine (see above post). But if you want to check to be sure, contact National Foods (http://www.natfoods.com.au/contact-us/index.aspx) - the people who make Pura milk.