View Full Version : Who is working
OopsieDaisy
05-12-2006, 10:04 AM
Who here is working still? What kind of work do you do and how are you coping with it while being preg. When do you plan on leaving?
HollyHotLips
05-12-2006, 10:07 AM
I am working, I work from home doing audio typnig and transcriptions. I plan to go p/t from 30th April then have a break from 18th May right through til 13th August as my parents will be over as well. I will definitely go back to work though, even if only part time - hopefully it will be easy enough to fit work in around when the baby sleeps but we'll see...!
That's the plan anyway!!
carly29
05-12-2006, 11:06 AM
Hello my name is carly, i have two boys aged 5 and 18 months and i am still working four days a week. i work for a pathology company as a blood collector so am on my feet alot dealing with sick people everyday, i must say the past 2 months have been soooo hard!
i am 15 weeks at the moment and am planning on working untill the end of march, but if i am physically able is another matter entirley! i wasnt sick with my first two pregnancies, but this time its really taking it out of me!! so i shall keep plodding on!!:sleeping:
janie
05-12-2006, 11:14 AM
Carly, wow, you must be just exhausted!! you poor thing. i bet you get not a minute to yourself and it is hard on your feet all day thats for sure. good luck with the rest of your pregnancy.
Kristy, what do you do for work then?
Also, doing the audio typing at home sounds like a wonderful job to have with kiddies and pregnancy. sounds ideal.
i recently 2 weeks ago gave up my physcially demanding dept store job (on feet and walking round the entire store all day endlessly and also doing a lot of lifting and unpacking of boxes and stock). And now am concentrating on my home business of doing nails which i was also doing while doing my other full time job.
feeling %100 better now. but might do a little office temping here and there in the new year if i can as well as my nails.
Kayte
05-12-2006, 11:15 AM
Im working :D I am an admin manager and i do accounts payable/recievable..I plan on working right up until i can prefable middle/end of april!
OopsieDaisy
05-12-2006, 12:06 PM
Janie - I am a nightfill assistant so on my feet all night till early morning, pushing heavy trolleys and lifting heavy cartons.
But I think it is coming closer to me leaving. Called midwife today as have woken with bad pelvic pain... she wants me to work 3 nights a week max and not to do heavy lifting and pushing but that is hard to avoid in my kind of job LOL
I also have varicose vein which hurts and swells when on my feet, so right now I am feeling utterly useless and crippled :crying:
borntobemummy
05-12-2006, 12:16 PM
I feel for you all who are working, must be so hard! I just finished uni:smiliedance: and am busy "working" looking after DD and our house. I haven't decided if I will work next year (as a teacher), I'll only really be able to go 1st term and be heavily pregnant.
doin'mybest
05-12-2006, 12:23 PM
I'm a SAHM and baby sitter to my 5yo nephew 5 nights a week. This is enough work as i can handle at the moment :sleeping: I sometimes think the babysitting is a full time job in itself!:banghead:
Bri44
05-12-2006, 01:15 PM
Hi Guys
I am also still working. i currently help a bread vendor some mornings and am a merchandiser during day when they need me (plus having my 4 year old son all day when i'm not working). I am starting to have trouble with the early morning starts and then going out on the road until like 4 in the afternoon, ends up a long day. I am planning on working as long as I a physically able so i will just have to see how i go. Luckily i have a really good boss, so that makes it easier. It just seems lately that there never seems to be enought hours in the day(or night). Has anyone else had any trouble with pinching nerves in theie back and legs? Can anyone give me some advice?
DS - 11/04/2002
D? - 18/05/2007
doin'mybest
05-12-2006, 01:20 PM
I had trouble with this last time and found a good chiro/physio who helped heaps.
mysteeq
05-12-2006, 01:28 PM
I was working in a cafe I gave up work when i was 4mths i coudn't handle standing on my feet for long periods at a time so now im home packing and cleaning up my house for our big move this Friday just brought us a house and well thats been pretty hard work.
twitch
05-12-2006, 01:36 PM
Up until 2 months ago, I worked Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays. My Manager then quit so I had to go full time to cover him until they find someone to replace him. I do Human Resources and Recruiting for a mining company. It's not "hard" work, just brain-draining and I am getting really tired. I'll go back part time when a replacement comes, then hopefully quit for good in February.
Tanya1985
05-12-2006, 01:48 PM
I am still working. I work in my parents company so I can sit down when I need to but I work in a pie shop, and do 5 days a week. I do the close for 4 of those days so I am really over all the cleaning, bending down and mopping and stuff. And the other day I do the bake in the morning, I get up at 3am to start at the shop at 4am, and then I leave at 3pm. It is a really long day, but my dad has changed all of my shifts as of the start of Feb to be alot less, but still all the closes. DP wants me to stop work ASAP but I like having money too much, so I will probably stop around end of Feb or go down to only 2 days a week or something. Great idea for a thread to Kristy!
I am working part-time from home and a little bit in the office. I plan to cut down my workload around 32 weeks.
Oh - just thought I'd add, I am also a full time mother, wife, housekeeper, daughter, sister, friend etc etc etc :D
WeloveHarriet
05-12-2006, 02:25 PM
I am really lucky. My employer has 2yrs maternity leave so I am still on leave with DD. My new lot of mat leave with start in April next year. We also own a caryard so I try to help whenever I can.
OopsieDaisy
05-12-2006, 02:27 PM
Hi Guys
I am also still working. i currently help a bread vendor some mornings and am a merchandiser during day when they need me (plus having my 4 year old son all day when i'm not working). I am starting to have trouble with the early morning starts and then going out on the road until like 4 in the afternoon, ends up a long day. I am planning on working as long as I a physically able so i will just have to see how i go. Luckily i have a really good boss, so that makes it easier. It just seems lately that there never seems to be enought hours in the day(or night). Has anyone else had any trouble with pinching nerves in theie back and legs? Can anyone give me some advice?
DS - 11/04/2002
D? - 18/05/2007
I suffer sciatica which is like a nerve problem runs through my butt down my thigh. I am having physio for it.
miss ani
05-12-2006, 02:35 PM
i'm still working fulltime as an underwriter for an insurance company. i deal with brokers all day, which can be a little taxing psychologically, luckily though i can sit most of the day with my feet up. i plan to leave 6 weeks before my EDD so i can have a chance to 'chill' a bit before i pop!
goodluck with your move mysteeq!!
Bolli
05-12-2006, 03:22 PM
I work full time in an office, with some days on the road. I've found it really hard when I've been sick - the loo's here are just gross. And I get annoyed that all of my energy of the day is wasted at work so I don't do any fun stuff at home or exercise.
I seem to have a little more energy now, and I'm taking 3 weeks off soon so hopefully that will help. I'm also leaving at least six weeks before - maybe easter so I can have a break before I pop - so stay and bake well little bubba!
marlie
05-12-2006, 04:54 PM
Hi all :wave:
I am still working full time (but this is my first bub). I work for a research company and I travel HEAPS. Just came back today from two weeks OS (again). Lucky I was home long enough to get p/g! I am finding it quite hard, but will stick with it until mid-late March and have at least six weeks before bubba arrives. I might be giving it up (job) entirely as it is not exactly family-friendly with all the travel requirements. Still negotiating that though!
Back to sleep on couch now - I have jet lag... :sleeping: :crying:
charlis_mum
05-12-2006, 07:03 PM
I am working 3 days a week and have to chase DD about the other days, somedays i really don't know which is harder! I have to drive half an hour to work (which probably doesn't seem like much to those in the city!) But somedays it seems to take forever. I work as an accountant in a steel manufacturing plant. The work is not to hard - just draining some days, esp when DH is on arvo shift & i come home to just me & DD.
Hoping to start 20months maternity leave on 1st March - i'll be 32weeks then, and i only got to 36 with DD, so want to rest more to try & make sure i get to full term with this one.:fingerscrossed:
WeloveHarriet
06-12-2006, 09:40 AM
Charlis_Mum - I know what you mean. I finished work on the Friday lunch-time, went to a lactation class at my private hospital and then lo and behold went into labour the next morning at 36wks. The LC was cracking up when she saw me in the Special Care Nursery the following day - she was like "Didn't I just teach you on Friday? Aren't you still supposed to be pregnant?" - ummm yep but Harriet had other ideas. At least with this one I am already off work but then again probably would get more rest if I was at work - chasing Harriet - who has just learnt to walk this week - is proving very tiring.
Steph_mum2Jayden
06-12-2006, 03:13 PM
Hi everyone...
Until recently I was working in a dental surgery two days a week, babysitting for a friend two days a week, and going to uni two days as well.
I was getting so tired.. but I am now just working two days and will start babysitting two days again in a week, but iIstill get quite tired.
At the surgery i am up and down all day as I assist the dentist/reception/ as well as sterilization... and its a VERY busy surgery, but thankfully the dentist I assist with is also a close friend so he tries not to be as demanding as he normally is, which is good.
I plan on working up until probably Easter which will be 6 weeks before due... as long as I can make it that long.
OopsieDaisy
07-12-2006, 08:39 AM
Well I have only done a 5 hr shift so far this week and the next morning it really took it out of me, sore pelvis etc.
Am going back tonight for a 5 hr shift again.... see how we go.
charlis_mum
07-12-2006, 11:28 AM
I don't know how you are still doing it Kristy - buy lower back hurts if i pick up DD too many times, or stand on my feet for too long! You have done well to be doing physical work for this long!:thumbsup:
OopsieDaisy
07-12-2006, 11:34 AM
I don't know how you are still doing it Kristy - buy lower back hurts if i pick up DD too many times, or stand on my feet for too long! You have done well to be doing physical work for this long!:thumbsup:
I don't know either! I felt like I was going to snap in half and my insides were falling out (sorry tmi) with the sciatica and varicose veins etc. See how tonight goes, but can't see me getting any better as these conditions only get worse as pregnancy continues and while I am on my feet.
GummyBear
07-12-2006, 12:47 PM
Kristy, I don't know how you work overnight even when you're not pregnant!
I have an office job, which I love, and as long as I'm healthy, I'd like to go up to 37 weeks. I think I'd get too bored if I finished sooner, especially if I went over. Also, I guess I want to make the most of it as I don't intend to come back.
I travel 3 hours total each day to and from work, so I don't think that'll be viable with a baby. I was so worried about how I would cope with the travel and morning sickness, but I was lucky enough not to have morning sickness. I'm so grateful for that.
Baby No. 1 - EDD 27/5/07
twitch
09-01-2007, 11:19 AM
YAY! :smiliedance: I have hired my replacement, she starts on Monday so that means only 2 more months of work for me! My last day should be March 2nd. I am so happy they've finally given in and let me get a replacement, I was beginning to think I'd be in labour at my desk.
OopsieDaisy
09-01-2007, 11:29 AM
ah what great news!! I am on leave now too!
charlis_mum
09-01-2007, 11:51 AM
That's great twitch!!
I have been hassling my bosses boss to hurry up & organise my replacement too - and yeasterday he spoke to HR so they can advertise - YAY. Only 8weeks to go until I finish!
Kayte
09-01-2007, 12:38 PM
Hi Girls im still working ... 77 working days left but who is counting :D My job is fairly croozey tho :) I just sit down all day !
lilpearl
09-01-2007, 03:12 PM
I'm working a bit - doula work here and there. So far I've been feeling fine at the times I have to work. There have been some days with all over major body pain where I've thought "I'm so glad I'm at home today!". Lucky so far. I'll be attending births up until three weeks before my due date.
carly29
09-01-2007, 04:39 PM
Hi guys - im still working but its beggining to get to me being on my feet all day.. i only do about a 5 or 6 hour shift, but its beggining to get a bit of a problem ergonomically!! my belly is beggining to get in the way of my patients arms ( im a blood collector!!!!) im only doing 3 -4 shifts a week at the mo, but holy dooley its taking it toll on me, my pregnancy isnt glamourous i have really ugly varicose veins etc, my back aches my feet are swollen, but hey its money!! i think i will cut down a bit next month to probably to just tw shifts a week, it will be easier then as DS1 starts school in 3 weeks... not that im counting or anything!!:thumbsup:
miss ani
09-01-2007, 09:20 PM
i put my mat leave forms in today... finish up on 14th april. and i can't wait.
my boss was actually giving me the hurry on to get them in, so they can plan around me!! i had to wait to get my 'yes i'm pregnant' certificate from my obstetrician though.
SammiJane
10-01-2007, 08:13 AM
I am still working. I work for Big W, was in the layby department but got taken out of there just before chrissy as they didnt want me doing the heavy lifting and walking up and down stairs any more.
I have just cut back to 4 days a week for now, i have to get a son off to high school and another off to grade 6 then i will think about cutting back a bit more. My boss has been great with everything which is a great help.
I also have to put my maternity forms in and also get a letter from the doc to say i'm preggers and when i'm due. Havent made a definate date to leave yet, cant make up my mind LOL
Sam
GummyBear
10-01-2007, 08:47 AM
I have a desk job at the head office of a major company. It's great because it's not too taxing. I don't think I could cope with being on my feet all day like some of you other ladies.
I plan to work up to 37 weeks, if everything is going well. The one potential kink in my plan is how I cope with the travelling. I travel 2 hrs 30 mins to and from work every day. If that starts to take it out of me, I might need to rethink my mat leave dates.
Michelle_N
10-01-2007, 10:12 AM
Well I am working too. Have now gone to full time from 1st Jan and will be off on mat leave on 14th April (YAY!).
I was originally working part-time (3 days) so I could be with DS on Thurs and Fri (and Sat and Sun) and it was great. Perfect amount of time as I got to do all my housework on Thurs and Fri and then hang out with DP and DS on Sat and Sun. And I didnt have to rush to do everything.
Now its full time...only 'cause I need the money and I get paid mat leave for 3 months so now I get it on a full time wage.
I work in a office as a project manager so yes I am on my bum all day but I would much prefer to be at home with DS. I train to the city each day....the only prob is the rude buggers that dont get out of way and give me a seat. And I have a pretty good death glare too! :laughing:
Kirsty - you really need to take time off. You have to look after yourself and it certainly sounds like your work isnt doing your body any good. I mean you are growing a beautiful little girl and you need to make sure that you rest as much as you are able. Try and take it easy!
And all the other May mummies....well I guess it wont be too long now and we will all be at home...resting and wondering when the baby is going to come!
I must say I am enjoying this time I have now with DS as I am sure that will change when the new bubs comes!
Ness84
10-01-2007, 10:44 PM
Hey girls
I'm such a slacker I just stopped working :o
It was half me wanting to stop and half work telling me I had to stop. Long story but I was always tired and often sick with nausea and dizzyness and headaches so I switched to part time. I work an hour away from where I live and don't have a car anymore :( cos I had to sell it to pay for the wedding. So public transport when you already feel sick isn't the best combination.
So now I'm at home all the time - sleeping in really late and having afternoon naps. It's great. I'm really thankful to not be working anymore cos the sciatica is so painful sometimes that I don't think I could do anything anyway.
I'm hoping that after the wedding I can maybe work a couple of hours a week but we'll see...
twitch
11-01-2007, 06:57 PM
Hey Ness, good luck for your wedding! You're a lucky thing getting those arvo naps :p
miss ani
11-01-2007, 08:53 PM
oohhh i wish i could fit an afternoon nap in!! i occasionally contemplate slipping under my desk for a power nap!! hehehe.
good luck with the wedding!! i'm sure that's enough to keep you busy without working as well!!
Ness84
12-01-2007, 12:29 AM
Thanks girls!
I was sleeping under my desk before I stopped working - so I know that feeling. I also know the feeling of being stood on by another employee!!!
Hope you all have easy months to come while working... if only we got paid maternity leave before and after the birth :thumbsup: LOL dream on...
Tanya1985
12-01-2007, 01:25 PM
I am still working full time although my dad has cut down my hours quite a bit, but I still have to do my 10 hour shifts on a Saturday and Sunday, which are starting to get really hard but I will be finishing up almost completely at the end of feb.
twitch
31-01-2007, 10:41 AM
Well... My replacement is not working out so well :thumbsdown: She's been here for 2 weeks and the boss has given her one week to shape up or ship out. She is just not getting it :banghead: She smiles and nods and you think she's understood but nothing gets done, it's so frustrating. So it looks like I'll be here til probably mid March training up another new person. :mad:
How's everyone else going at work?
OopsieDaisy
31-01-2007, 02:41 PM
Oh really? That sux!!
borntobemummy
31-01-2007, 02:53 PM
I just got a new job:smiliedance: , it's for casual teaching at a local Christian School. I'm a little scared to get called in to work, I don't remember what to do:rolleyes: it's my first teaching job:o
twitch
31-01-2007, 08:32 PM
Congrats borntobemummy! That's great, well done. You'll be great :yes:
qldmummy
31-01-2007, 08:32 PM
I am still working full time for this week and next week. I then go back to 3 days a week until my last day of 30 March. It gives me 6 weeks before baby is due so I am really looking forward to that time when I can sleep as I am sure I am going to need it.
Michelle_N
01-02-2007, 08:50 AM
Still working full time but getting massively sick of it. Was working part-time (3 days a week) up until Jan but thought if I can stick out full time for a couple of months I will get the paid mat leave on a full time wage instead of a part time wage.
But with a toddler at home and working full time its just killing me.
There seems to be no time to do anything!
Michelle_N
01-02-2007, 08:52 AM
And congrats BorntobeMummy!
I am sure that it will all come flooding back as soon as you step into the classroom.
I remember when I went back to work after my year of mat leave I thought that it was going to take me ages to get back into it but it didnt take long at all.
I was surprised at how little had changed and how much I had remembered.
jacks mum
01-02-2007, 09:02 AM
I just do 2 nights waitressing in a friends restaurant so they are pretty cruisy which is great, I'm going to stay on until easter which will put me about 6 weeks out, unless I start hitting people in the head with my belly then I've been told it's time to go...:laughing:
miss ani
01-02-2007, 03:46 PM
congrats borntobemummy! that's great about the job... and i'm sure you'll be fine! :smiliedance:
my mat leave is all approved and finalised for 13th april (friday 13th!). only 10 weeks left of work! and i can't wait. i've been quite stressed again lately... and work also asked if i could do overtime as well, which i flatly refused to do. then they asked if i would consider cutting my lunchbreaks or morning / afternoon breaks - which i thought was quite cheeky of them!
i'm on annual leave until 12th feb at the moment... which is bliss!
twitch
01-02-2007, 04:00 PM
Oooh Miss Ani you're so lucky - annual leave! That's great they've given you a confirmed date to finish up, bit cheeky about the breaks though!
miss ani
01-02-2007, 04:27 PM
i know! i almost laughed when they asked me about cutting my breaks in half... i thought they couldn't possibly be serious!!
charlis_mum
02-02-2007, 05:36 AM
twitch - what a pain that your replacement is not working out!
miss ani - congrats on having your leave approved :smiliedance:
borntobemummy - :yelclap: YAY, i am sure you will do fine once you get into the classroom - it will all come back to you.
This is my first week of working full-time in AGES (last week i worked 4 days - thank god for the public holiday!!) and i am soooooo tired. DH is on afternoon shift (3pm-11pm) so it's just DD & I alone each night too - maes it even harder. I really don't feel like going in today - which my boss said was fine if i didn't feel up to it. but the first 2 days of the month are the busiest, so i really want to get the job done properly. :gloomy: Oh well only next week to go then it's back to 3days a week for 3 weeks before 22months leave!! :D
marlie
02-02-2007, 06:10 AM
Well - that was coincidental! I got up early this morning to write my resignation letters from my job at work... and when I finished them I come on here and see that work is the hot topic!
I have decided to resign instead of taking maternity leave, and my last day is the 23rd March. That will give me 7 weeks at home before bubba arrives. I recently got an unwanted promotion due to someone leaving unexpectedly, and they haven't replace her yet, so I have been working my butt off doing both her job and mine. Plus I have to travel heaps for my job, so it is not exactly pregnancy friendly. I was hoping to be winding down by this stage, but it has been worse than ever and causing tonnes of stress at home (plus it's the reason why I have been absent from here for the last 2mths!)
I am very sad about it (in fact, was crying this morning as I wrote the letters) as it feels really strange to be leaving my career, but family comes first I suppose. It doesn't help that my lovely DH has been putting mountains of pressure on me to quit - so hopefully he will shut up about it now, as it really hasn't helped.
Whinge over!! :o
I hope you are all doing well!! :) :wave:
miss ani
02-02-2007, 10:52 AM
marlie - it is so hard to make the decision to leave a job, especially if you have built a career around it. but it sounds like you feel it's the right thing to do at this point, so more power to you!! :hugs:
and i know what you mean about work becomming more stressful... my role has become a lot more demanding and there is pressure for me to reach a higher standard within the industry before i actually go on maternity leave. i'm quite content with where i am at the moment, and i don't particularly want the added stress at this moment in time - that and i only have another 9 weeks of actual work left!
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.