View Full Version : Accidents
I'm wondering what accidents you have had with bub.
This is never ever to accuse anyone of being slack, accidents happen to us all no matter how careful we are. I just thought sometimes we learn the hard way, and this might help others to avoid accidents.
I'll start....
Ds was on our bed a few weeks ago where he often plays. We usually set up pillows near the edge, but the one time we didn't the phone rang. I went to answer it and Dh was doing something (?)........ Then THUD! Poor little bubba rolled off the bed and was very upset. Slack mummy and daddy still feel terrible about it. :(
I've had two little ones.
The first one was when she fell off the change table and I didn't catch her in time. She had a massive bruise on her back for about a week and I felt guilty everytime I saw it.
And the second one was shopping with the pram, I had the basket resting on top of the pram handles, overloaded the basket, (putting too much weight on the back of the pram). I let go of the handle for a second to get something off the shelf and the pram flipped up backwards. Eloise wasn't hurt at all but it scared the crap out of me! Now I put heavy things in the underneath basket and never let go of the handle!
Supermum
25-10-2005, 12:57
Poor Cathy .. poor Max!
When DS was around 7 months and pulling himself up to stand we heard the most blood curdling scream come from his room. Both DH and I bolted in there.
He had pulled himself up to stand on the side of the cot, pulled the mobile down and had the cord wrapped around his neck.
Just typing this makes my stomach lurch. Yes, accidents do happen and thankfully, most of the time - they're ok.
BTW Cathy ... our kids have also rolled off the bed. Sniff.
Chickadee
25-10-2005, 12:58
We were at the playground and Chloe had climbed up to the platfrom at the top of the slide. She changed her mind about it and started to climb back down. She sat down, bum shuffled to the edge, turned to her belly and swung her legs down toward the next platform. All normal so far... until her legs swung through the gap between platforms, she unbalanced and landed flat on her back on the lower steel platform with a solid THUMP as the back of her head hit the step.
I now try to only go to playgrounds where the gap between platforms is closed off by a vertical barriers. Not many seem to have caught onto this potential hazard though.
Chickadee
25-10-2005, 13:05
DD has rolled off the couch onto the hardwood floor. My own mistake, I knew she was rolling and shouldn't have taken my hand off of her.
Our other big one was at the park. Chloe was in her stroller, one dog running around and the other on a long 5 m lead. One on the lead decided to take off, cut in front of the stroller and since I still had the end of the lead standing behind the pram, net result was the stroller being knocked sideways and over. Chloe was strapped in as always and not hurt, just startled. That was the last time the dog got a long lead!
I've seen babies tip head first out of a carriage, one of the old-fashioned types. Older brother was trying to pull the carriage but was too short, pulled the handle down more than forward and bub got tipped out. Bub had been sitting up and shouldn't have been in the carriage anyways in my opinion. But their dad looked so upset that I didn't have the heart to tear into him.
SweetSerenity
25-10-2005, 13:36
My son's had two bad accidents!
The first was when he was with his daddy, and he wasn't rolling yet, or so we thought. So i went to go get some dinner from the kitchen, daddy was on the computer in our room (meant to be watching Peter) while Peter was sitting in the middle of our bed with the banana pillow around him...next thing i heard a huge THUD and screaming!
He somehow rolled off the bed...onto our tiled floor! :eek: I ran into our room and just couldn't stop holding him. He was fine, no bruises lucky, but that was the worst cry i had ever heard from him.
I also felt so sorry for my fiance, he felt so horrible!
The other accident was when we put him in his jolly jumper, we mustn't have hooked the chain on correctly, so whe he did a hug jump, the chain lifted off the hook and came down Petey, he had a bruise on his head (as he hit the door). The poor little man.
Thats been our two main accidents with him. Everday though he manages to hit his head on something...
Natalie :)
Maxs_MumMy
25-10-2005, 13:47
I've had a few accidents...Max was in his rocker and dp didn't strap him in cause his mobile was ringing and max flipped himself out of it onto the floor just last w.e...so voicemail has gone onto his phone now and everytime dp straps him in tight now, he also wrapped his leg around one the cot slats on the side and fractured his ankle..he seems to like having his legs around something dunno why, but now the snuggle bed is back in the cot and he cant do that anymore..
it dread's me to think what he'll be like at 2yrs old!
I like to blame DH for this one! DH came home after a night on the turps, didn't put his big doc martin boots away (even after the nagging). DS came running in to say hello to him, tripped over the boots and headbutted the metal bed frame and busted his head open. DH too drunk to help, couldn't baby sit other children. All seven of us had to go to hospital to have his head fixed up. Glue worked well until in the carpark he picked it out, went back into hospital for stitches!
i can't believe I'm going to admit to these....
When DS was little he slipped of our bed and knocked his head on my chest of drawers and he cut himself right above his eye. We had to take him to hospital where they glued it up.
I was doing the dreaded supermaket shop and DD (she was about 18 months) was refusing to sit in the child seat. I let her sit in the trolley and when I took my eyes off her for a second she perched up on the back of the trolley. Then she overbalanced and fell off! She went straight back and slammed her head into the hard floor. I picked her up and her eyes rolled back in her head and she passed out. She was only out of it for about 10 seconds, but I have never ever been so scared in my entire life... I grabbed DS and ran to the medical centre which was right there, got a doctor to check her but she was fine. I had to watch her closely for the next 24 hours. She had no problems, but please, please make your kids sit in the child seat and strap them in. It was always a 'it'll never happen to me kind of thing'. But it does happen! Even now a year later I feel like crying.
the_queen
26-10-2005, 16:53
When my DD was 9 days old, we'd been out of the hospital for 2 days, and I decided to take her for her first "walk" outside. It was just a quick stroll down to the shops. Waiting in the bakery, I turned the pusher around so I could look at my adorable little bubby.... Then a few seconds later (i don't even know how this happened!) my purse slipped out of my hands, and fell into the pusher!! Right onto her face!!! The flat part hit her on the cheek, and she didn't get any bruising or swelling or anything but GEEZ i felt like the worst mother in the world!!!
And then when she was 3, we had a much bigger accident. Like you, Mim, I thought it would be ok to put her in the back of the shopping trolley, instead of the seat. She had always gone in the seat before this, but she was getting bigger, and we were going a long way through the car park to get to the car. So I thought it would be safer than trying to hold her hand and push the trolley. (I'm about to cry just thinking about this :( ) She was standing at the front of the trolley (ie the furthest away from where I was pushing) looking forward, and the trolley came nearly up to her waist. As I'm crossing the road, trying to keep the wonky trolley going straight so a car didn't hit us, we hit a bump, the guttering (the shopping centre was undergoing major re-development so there were a lot of uneven paths and gutters). She flipped over frontways, and landed on the ground, in about a half a millisecond. I tried to get to her in time but she was already on the ground. In the fraction of a second it took me to get there and pick her up, she already had a gigantic bump on her forehead which was purple and swelling visibly as I watched it. She was screaming of course, and I was crying by this time. I rushed her to the car and took her straight to the hospital (which was only a few minutes up the road). And this was where the drama began. They iced her head, etc etc, gave her rehydrating icey poles, etc etc. But wouldn't x-ray her. My little girl was telling me she couldn't move her head. She had it turned to the left and would not turn to the right for love nor money. I wanted them to do an X-ray but the doctor told me that it wasn't necessary - her words were "she only fell out of a shopping trolley. If she'd fallen off the roof, then yes we would X-ray". Eventually she seemed to be better, she stopped crying, I took her home and watched her for 24 hours because of the head injury (which was a haemotoma, and for the next 18 months it was sensitive and would swell up at the slightest bump, my poor bubby :( ). The next morning when we woke up, her right shoulder blade had a humungous lump on it, and her right shoulder was drooping terribly, and she couldn't move her right arm. So I took her to our clinic, and the doctor we saw (Dr Cross) could not beleive that the hospital didn't x-ray her. He could tell straight away that her collarbone was broken :( the clinic had x-ray facilities so we did it then and there, and confirmed his diagnosis. She had a collar and cuff sling on for about 4 weeks and after that she was fine. Because her bones were young etc, she healed really quickly. But the best part was that Dr Cross (now my favourite doctor in the world!) put in a complaint to the hospital regarding this other incompetant doctor, and kept on it for about 6months until we finally got an apology!
OK this was really long...!!! But I think it's so important for everyone to know how dangerous shopping trolleys are. I'm going to repeat what Mim said : Please everyone, strap your kids into the seat. Their safety is so important.
Oh and don't let them stand on the side either, a little girl I know did that and flipped the trolley over on herself! She got a nasty bump on the head, but the doc said she was lucky it didn't kill her.
cleighsa
26-10-2005, 18:28
this is not really a nice thread to read, its so hard to take when ur little bubas are hurt. but ill join in and tell u mine.
one morning early, when my girl was about 6mths, my dh and i heard a huge bang come from dd room, ran in there and found her on the ground below her cot :eek: :eek: ! she was crying but when we came in she settle quite quickly, and she wasnt hurt apart from the shock of it. her cot mattress was up high but we didnt realise she would be clever enough to climb out just yet. it was only the day befor that she first pulled herself to stand!! (that day we put matress down)
so please put ur cot matresses down well before those bubbas start climbing.
leighsa
Harmony83
27-10-2005, 09:17
I was playing with my little boy on the bed, but needed to go to the loo, so asked DF to watch him for a sec. Ron poked his head out of the bedroom to talk to me, and then DS started screaming, and I just knew he fell off the bed... Poor DF was so upset! We took him to the Doc and all was fine - we are much more careful now!
This one is a stupid stupid me moment - I had a butter knife in my hand and him in my other arm, without thinking (stupid) I switch him over to my arm with the butter knife, and I felt it push into something, anyway he started screaming and holding his mouth, I think I got him in the mouth with the butter knife.... No bleeding or anything, but I still feel rotten...
And this is a could of been... DS has just figured out how to pull himself up. We put him in bed last night and he started cryingI decided to leave him for a bit, because he was sooo tired. Anyway my DF went in to check on him, and he had pulled himself up to standing but couldn't figure out how to get down - poor little bugger - so he was crying for us to rescue him!! I felt so negligent!! We don't normally let him cry I usually go straight in there!
Sad stories, but some good suggestions. I have now put ds's cot down low. The trolley stories are helpful too, I didn't know how unsafe they could be!
and this is a could of been... DS has just figured out how to pull himself up. We put him in bed last night and he started cryingI decided to leave him for a bit, because he was sooo tired. Anyway my DF went in to check on him, and he had pulled himself up to standing but couldn't figure out how to get down - poor little bugger - so he was crying for us to rescue him!! I felt so negligent!! We don't normally let him cry I usually go straight in there!
why do kids go through this phase???? I babysat for a family - and their youngest would do this 8-12 times before she actually tired and fell asleep!!!! ... it was exhausting putting her to bed...cause you had to go and rescue her so many times!!! (it was cute though :) )
xxxxx
DS had been cosleeping with me from birth without a problem but around 8 months DH wanted to get DS sleeping in his own cot. No probs I thought, I can put him down there and go to him for night feeds and put him back without a drama. After many nights of broken sleep (I didn't realise how easy I had it with DS cosleeping with us), I was a zombie and fell asleep with DS feeding on the edge of the bed. Next thing I know is that I've been woken up by a loud bang which was DS because he had fallen off the bed. I felt that terrible, sickening feeling in the pit of my stomach and couldn't bring myself to comfort DS because I felt like the worst mother in the world. DH got him back to sleep with no problems (DS didn't even have a bump to show for it - thank god for thick pile carpet) but I was shaking and could get back to sleep for hours. Needless to say, when I gave DH the choice of getting up at night or back to cosleeping, he chose cosleeping.
As a child of about 6/8 years, I remember riding on the front of a shopping trolley at Coles. Because there was no groceries in it yet and mum wasn't holding on to the handle, I tipped the trolley onto myself. I wasn't seriously hurt, but there's no way I'm ever letting DS ride on the front.
my son has had many many many accidents but to name the worst ones....
when he was 2 we had sparklers and we were putting them into a pile when they burnt out ... my friends baby was learning to walk and was about to fall over on concreat so she droped the sparkler to catch him... and as she did that my son was running down the hill and stop on the burnt out but still VERY hot sparkler and burt the ball of his foot...he couldnt and wouldnt walk for about a week from the pain...
another time this was when he was nearly 3 he was sitting at the dinner table and i was sitting on the floor playing with the birds that were on the play gym (made of wood) and son fell off the chair and landed on the bird gym and the corner of the wood cut the back of his neck and head, caused the biggest bruise and gashes i have ever seen... by the way the bird gym wasnt right under or next to the chair it was a good meter away but some how he still hit it !
he has also fallen off the bed HEAPS of time... but one really bad one stick to mind.. he was jumping on my bed and i didnt stop him form doing it thinking he is 3 now should have some co-ordination but he fell off the bed and hit the blanket box and made a cut next to his eye ! lucky it didnt get his eye !!!
well they are the worse ones that stick to mind !
sugar n spice
30-10-2005, 00:18
The only 1 bad accident that comes to mind is when my son was 31/2. I was changing my baby and DS was jumping on his bed. I was telling him not to do that and the next thing i know bang and a peircing scream. He had fallen backwards and cracked his head on the window sill, his bed is next to the window. I felt so bad. He didn't cry for long and i said "let me see your head", he showed me and there was a deep gash and lots of blood. I told him to stay calm and hold a cloth on it. He was so carm and brave as i sped up to the drs which is only 2mins away, they glued it up and he was fine, no concussion. I felt so bad but he was such a brave boy. As soon as i saw the blood i was panicking. Don't let your kids jump on the bed.
Mamaduke
12-11-2005, 10:16
When Jesse was about 18 months old, I had left the door to the dishwasher slightly ajar to dry the dishes (lazy I know), I went into another room to answer the phone, virtually had said hello when I heard Jesse crying in the kitchen. When I picked him up he smelt of dishwasher powder. It was then that I noticed that the compartment that holds the powder hadn't fully emptied in the cycle.
I immediately rang 000 and waited for an ambulance. In a matter of minutes his lips had swelled to double the size and both he and I were frantic.
When we got to the hospital they kept monitoring his vitals as they were unsure if he had swallowed any of the chemical. Luckily, he hadn't - thank God.
Jesse ended up with second degree burns on his lips and in his mouth. We had to be very careful that this didn't get infected, but the good news is it cleared up so quickly and there are no scars now.
I honestly didn't know that this powder could cause such a terrible burn and I always thought that by storing chemicals up high, that our children would be safe.
Learn from my lesson, make sure the powder compartment is completely empty after each wash!
Carly
Chickadee
12-11-2005, 15:41
Good advice Carly! I'm glad your little one is ok.
You've reminded me of the time Chloe got hold of the container of toilet cleaner hanging on the inside rim of the toilet bowl. One very panicked call to Poison Control reassured me there was no bleach or any nasties in it. But I learnt that lesson quick.
One great suggestion I had was to pre-program the poison info number into your mobile phone - you never know where you might be when you need the number. When I did a baby CPR course we were also given stickers with all the emergency phone numbers on a sticker to put on the back of your mobile or your landline phone. Definitely keep them handy.
Mamaduke
12-11-2005, 15:55
Martha,
I too think it's a great idea to have the poison info number preset.
Once when my son went to stay at the 'smother in laws' I gave her the number of the info line on a piece of paper. Her and her friends scoffed,
"doesn't she (me) know you've raised two children of your own?"
I thought I was doing the responsible thing, after not having children around for almost 30 years, to help her in case something did happen.
Carly
willsmum
12-11-2005, 16:39
Charli climbs like a monkey. Several near misses when I have turned my back for a few minutes & she's up the book shelves or the wine rack. And she's barely walking yet.
Poor William has a scar on his forehead about 1 cm length where nasty old unco-mum reached out for a hug as he was running towards me and speared him with my thumbnail.
We have also now purchased a lockable medicine box after he climbed over the childproof safety gate and on to the top of the fridge and drank half a bottle of homeopathic sleep medicine. Poisons Info said at worst he would get drunk cos of the ethanol base so I had to force him to drink heaps of soft drink for a few hours.
Another trolley story - my friend's son chipped both his front teeth in half whilst seated properly in a trolley with the seat belt on. He just leaned forwards too fast and smacked them into the handle bar.
I can't beleive it. We nearly had the biggest accident today! Thomas and I were in Kmart looking for a pressie for another toddler when all of a sudden I looked over and thomas had pulled himself up to standing in the pushcair and was holding onto the shelving. I freaked. It's the first time Thomas has pulled himself up and of all the places. Luckily I caught him before anything happened but OMG if the pushchair had of rolled sideways he would have been flat on his face.
We have only had two other incidents. The first one was when he fell off the couch. DH didn' realise how he could lean forward already and turned his back for 2 seconds the splat on the tiles. The second was in the bed. DH put DS on the bed next to me, but I had only had a few hours sleep and did not fully awaken when DH told me DS was there. I drifted straight back off to sleep totally oblivious, then THUD, WWWaaaaaaa!
Luckily enough he hasn't had any cuts or bruises from either incident, more shock than anything. I think we freaked out the most.
Does anyone have the poison line number and any other relevant ones?
theres been a few, my dd has fallen out of our bed, i put pillows around her but she must have wriggled over them. theres been another i had her in a rocker on top of the couch and she has fallen out of that, theres been another where we were at hungry jacks and she was playing on the playground and fell back. :no: i felt like such a bad mother:crying:
Mine is not an accident as such but still makes me cry. When DD was born 8 days late she had really long finger nails & the hospital said that I should cut them. So heres me a very new & extremely nervous mummy with a pair of infant toenail cutters, trying to carefully cut her finger nails but even though I was being sooo careful I still ended up cutting into the soft skin that was attached to the underneath of her nail, it made her bleed a little & me howl a lot & since then I have never cut her fingernails. I don't know anyone can operate those tiny cutters without doing damage. I still feel like a bad mummy for hurting my little girl.:crying:
ive done that aswell. i have cut some skin aswell, and it was the first time i ever saw her bleeding and crying, i felt so bad:crying:
MissBrightside
23-05-2006, 11:21
I did a bad one to my 3 year old once. When he was about 18months old he followed me to the toilet and I was talking to my exDP. I was closing the door, still talking but thinking why isnt the door closing.
So I pulled it a couple more times then heard this scream come from below me. He had his fingers in the door jam and thats why the door wasnt closing. He had a huge dint in 2 of his fingers and they were purple. I cried so much.
The next day though they were fine. I still think how lucky they didnt get chopped off or something. So now I pay much attention when closing doors with the kids around
Chickadee
23-05-2006, 14:51
Does anyone have the poison line number and any other relevant ones?
The national poison info # is 13 11 26. Program it into your mobile and put a sticker on your home phone.
You can find other helpline numbers for each state or nationally in the Bubhub Info directory, I think it is under support or help lines.
I wouldnt cut dd's nails with clippers for that exact reason when she was born..however her nails were still extremely long, so i bit them off..think about it, when you bite your own nails (bad habit i know), you feel what your doing, and you dont bite skin...i found it was the same with dd...i could bite her nail just enough to make it short without causing damage...
After a week weeks i gave up though...they were just as sharp when they were cut short that she still scratched herself anyway!
Fairyfloss
29-05-2006, 02:11
OMG, I am so glad you guys have posted in here, I never even though about teh possibility of some of these accidents happening. ....takes her little back book out and start making notes.....
thank you for the eye opening experince.
A couple of months ago i fell down the stairs with ds2 :eek:
He was fine.... but i had a very sore tail bone for the next few weeks :o