View Full Version : SE Qld Pet owners - Warning!

*~alegna~*
04-12-2006, 14:40
Just wanted to remind everyone living in rural/semi-rural areas or really anywhere near a creek bed & bush are to:

PUT TICK COLLARS ON YOUR ANIMALS.

we lost our little dog Toby on Tuesday to a tick! We had a collar on him but absent minded me forgot to put it straight back on after his bath & 48 hrs later he was gone :crying: I wouldn't wish that feeling on my worst enemy.

This is one of the worst tick seasons ever & they really are very nasty & don't muck around.

I would hate for a fellow BH'er to loss one of thier "furry Babies"

Jinglebells
04-12-2006, 14:44
aww :hugs: chicky, i'm sorry to hear about your dog, I don't own a animal, and this may be a stupid question but what are ticks? and how do they do damage to animals?

*~alegna~*
04-12-2006, 14:51
A tick as a parasite...its shaped kinda like a fat tear drop... Some are Paralysis Ticks & others are cattle ticks The Paralysis ones are the killers!

They burrow into the animal & suck their blood at the same time as injecting poison into their little systems which literally Paralyses (sp) them..slowly. They usually start to regurgitate & vomit & gradually loss control in their back legs. Then they have trouble breathing...Its a very slow death unfortunately & cruel.

Toby was on oxygen & tick syrum for 3 days before passing away..

The poison can still kill the dog even if you have removed the tick....they are horrible!

tickle
04-12-2006, 14:52
Ticks are parasites which feed on your pet (or your own) blood. They inject a poison into the animals system which paralyses them and eventually kills them.
I would recommend putting a product like Frontline or similar on over a tick collar as they have a bit more protection.
I'm sorry about your dog. Ticks are around in huge numbers at the moment.:hugs:

Jinglebells
04-12-2006, 14:55
Ticks are parasites which feed on your pet (or your own) blood.

they don't attack us to they :eek: I so hope not, sounds like a cruel way to die

jem_1981
04-12-2006, 14:57
Ange

Big :hugs: for you and your family for the loss of your furbaby Toby.

I will be very vigilent (sp) this summer. It's so sad that even with the intervention the poison can still take them from us. We currently use frontline and we check there bodies as well.

:hugs: to you at this time.

Jade :gloomy:

tickle
04-12-2006, 14:57
They don't tend to kill people as we are bigger, but they can make us (especially children), quite sick. They are good to keep an eye out for, especially when you've been out in a park or bushy area.

SilverStarfish
04-12-2006, 14:59
I would recommend putting a product like Frontline or similar on over a tick collar as they have a bit more protection.

Very good advice :thumbsup:

*~alegna~*
04-12-2006, 15:00
Yep! Keep eye on little ones definately. They start so small & fill with blood until they evenutally get too big & fall off.

I have heard of dogs getting them IN there ears & eyes. ticks go for the warm, hidden areas..between toes, ears, eyes, under legs etc.

Jinglebells
04-12-2006, 15:01
They don't tend to kill people as we are bigger, but they can make us (especially children), quite sick. They are good to keep an eye out for, especially when you've been out in a park or bushy area.

Oh wow, thanks for the information, I never new about these things, I mean i've heard of tick's before but not of any animals dieing from them and definatly didn't know they liked human blood as well :eek: as you probably can tell i'm not from aussie lol, so all these things are all new to me

*~alegna~*
04-12-2006, 15:02
FYI ~ If you do need to remove one use tweezers & twist in an Anti-clockwise motion...make sure you get their heads!

04-12-2006, 15:03
Awww :(, so sorry to hear about poor Toby. :hugs: May he be keeping an eye on you all, from up above. :hugs:

I alternate using Frontline Plus & Advantix on our fur babies, and it seems to work really well, better than a collar i find! DH's little dog Squirt goes out bush with DH to work (they basically live there, right in the middle of the scrub), and he only occasionally gets the tiny little scrub ticks on his ears....DH gets more on him than the dog! :laughing:

hayles86
04-12-2006, 15:23
Im sorry to hear about Toby. We almost lost our puppy a few weeks ago to a tick. We must have just got it in time. She lost heaps of weight and wouldnt do much after we toke it off. But she back to normal now.

werdxela
04-12-2006, 15:32
Definetly remeber to check your kids too. Ds1 came home from school last month and said a girl bumped his head and it really hurt. When i had a look he had a HUGE tick having a feast on his head. Luckily it wasnt one of the bad ones so other then a hole in his head where it was he suffered no problems.

*~alegna~*
04-12-2006, 16:14
Definetly remeber to check your kids too. Ds1 came home from school last month and said a girl bumped his head and it really hurt. When i had a look he had a HUGE tick having a feast on his head. Luckily it wasnt one of the bad ones so other then a hole in his head where it was he suffered no problems.

OMG! I'm so pleased he was ok :hugs:

Mikeswifey
04-12-2006, 16:40
I'm from vic, I dont think we have a killer tick problem here, but I didnt know ticks could kill animals.

We once found a blue tounge lizard and dad pulled ticks out of its ears with tweezers. Both ears were full of them.

Poor you and poor doggy. :hugs:

sueb31
04-12-2006, 17:07
We used to live in teh Redlands, south of Brisbane, in suburbia...and I nearly lost my cat to tick poisoning. He was unconscious and having seizures when we found him. Rushed him to the vet and a lot of money later he survived. Apparently it is a lot quicker with cats and small dogs as they have smaller bodies to cope with the poison. So watch your cats too!!

Sue

jamb
04-12-2006, 18:26
:hugs: to you, that is very sad, they are like members of the family our dogs.

it is a very very bad tick season, last week I got 8 off my lab, DS has had two and me one.

The dog is on proban but even then i still reckon you just gotta check em, they are powerful things for something so small.

more :hugs:

poodysmum
04-12-2006, 19:52
Poor pup:crying: Im so sorry to hear that you lost your furry baby:hugs:

Alli

04-12-2006, 20:06
:( I'm so sorry to hear of your loss :( I never knew ticks could kill :(:(

Issey
04-12-2006, 20:50
:hugs: sorry about your loss.:hugs:

I have tried using, is it Paraben tablets which I found better than the liquid. The tick repellent spray you can get from IGA for about $10 is quite good. Although saying that we don't bother using anything now as when our cat had a tick we ended up with a vet bill of $280 anyway.

My dog & cat have both had ticks. Only last week the dog had one by her eye. DH had to hold her down to get it out it was awful. :crying: They seem to be fine if you are lucky enough to find it in time. I am more worried about snakes with this hot weather.

DeborahT
05-12-2006, 07:55
I had to get our dogs advantix to try to illimate ticks and fleas, fleas seem to be a major problem too at the moment, i've got them all over my garden...

Ryan&RileysMum
05-12-2006, 09:00
thanks for the warniing we use advantage
i personally find flea collars dont work
so ill make sure i keep both my f/f up to date with advantage

Ryan&RileysMum
05-12-2006, 09:04
:( I'm so sorry to hear of your loss :( I never knew ticks could kill :(:(

when i was a kid we had a cat
we didnt know what was wrong with her and her back legs went
my dad grabbed her and found a tick under her neck
she was going into paralysis her whole back end was gone
she got rushed to the vet and had to be given the anti venom injection and she was on the drip or a week my dad spent his whole pay to save her
when we went to pick her up the vet said our cat was fine and the kittens would survive we were like wtf we didnt realise she she pregnant
but we were lucky mum and kittens were all fine but one kitten was born a bit slow in the head

werdxela
05-12-2006, 12:49
MALAWASH is good for washing dogs in if you suspect ticks or even to prevent them. You can mix some up with water and spray it onto cats aswell. We do this to our tom cat every 2 weeks cause he constantly comes home with ticks. Its also good for fleas and all sorts of yucky things cats and dogs get. Even kills ring worm in cats.

SairBear
05-12-2006, 13:16
for sure!!! we had a maltese x almost die from a tick... lucky she survived but it was touch and go for afew days... we treat our dogs every 2 wks in tick season and i treat my cat every month for em...

im sorry for ur loss... i know what its like losing a pet/family member and its very sad.. :hugs:

Ana Gram
05-12-2006, 13:23
Ticks certainly do like human blood too. I've had one at the top of my ear, very painful!

It's important to wear a hat with a wide rim ALL the way round when out in bush land, even scrub near the ocean. And when ever coming home from areas like these, always do a complete body check making sure you include all crevices. My brother had a tick when he was about 10 that was in his armpit.

GraceUnhearing
05-12-2006, 14:11
Sorry to hear about your dog. poor little guy.

i used to do alot of camping when i was younger.
i once got a tick in my groin area. i didnt know it was there until i though i burised my hip when i was asleep.
a fried of mine pulled the tick out but my whole leg swelled up and my grion went black and blue.
turns out im allergic to ticks. i was very sick and was also 16.

LA62
05-12-2006, 15:20
:hugs: SORRY TO HEAR ABOUT YOUR POOCH

WE ALSO HAVE A PUPPY CALLED TOBY WHOS 15 WEEKS

WE LIVE IN THE MORNINGTON PENINSULA AND LIVE IN THE BUSH, NEAR WATER ETC

WHAT SHOULD I DO NOW:confused:

*~alegna~*
05-12-2006, 16:26
:hugs: SORRY TO HEAR ABOUT YOUR POOCH

WE ALSO HAVE A PUPPY CALLED TOBY WHOS 15 WEEKS

WE LIVE IN THE MORNINGTON PENINSULA AND LIVE IN THE BUSH, NEAR WATER ETC

WHAT SHOULD I DO NOW:confused:

just make sure you protect him from the ticks & other nasties. If your unsure, go to your vet & they will be able to recommend the best thing for your puppy...its really not worth the heartache.

Thanks everyone for your well wishes

tickle
05-12-2006, 16:41
If you live in a tick area it is also important to physically check your animals regularly. A lot of the medicines to kill ticks can take a while to work and all that time the tick will be injecting poison into the animal. As people have said before check the warm / sheltered spots (ears, neck, armpits, inside of thighs, between the pads etc).

cwsmum
05-12-2006, 16:45
Sorry to hear about your doggy*~alegna~* :hugs:

My sis lives at Eatons Hill (nortside of bris) and her dog had a tick a few weeks ago. Her dog is not small, she's actually huge lol part dalmation part something else huge...anyway, her dog is ok now, but they still can't let her do too much coz there is a risk she may have a heart attack. They were told the dog has to 'take it easy' til at least Jan, she had the tick in early nov.

bub7
14-12-2006, 08:12
sorry again ang about the loss of little toby :hugs: i had a tick about 3 mths ago it was on my neck, i thought it was a pimple so all day i was scratching at it,then i looked in the mirror and i said to DP is this a tick and yep it sure was,couldnt get it out though so i had to go to doctors and get it out (was sooo painful) and also our doggy kane got a paralyses (sp?) tick and we spotted it coz there was a dead patch on the lawn and it was from him dragging himself around,the vet managed to get it all and save him..it was under his lip :eek:

ogilberry
19-12-2006, 19:40
oh my god i am so sorry to hear of your puppy you have made me go out and buy a tick collar for both my dalmations...
i got them today..thanks heaps and again i am sorry to hear of your dog...

fee