View Full Version : Trying NOT to Conceive
LachlansMun
25-10-2005, 10:48
Anyone trying NOT to conceive. i gave birth about 6 months ago and I havn't decided what contraception to use yet???
We use condoms at the moment because I'm paranoid about falling pregnant again, as we didn't plan it last time. I was on the pill last time I fell pregnant......
not really keen on the Dep shot or impalnon.....so there's probably not that much left???
Sorry I can't really give you any advice but my ds was also conceived on the pill :eek: . I was also really paranoid about the pill after ds.After he was born we used condoms for the first year and then we started ttc. We got pregnant immediately. Just really fertile I guess. After this one is born I think it will be the big chop chop for my dh ;) .
I did get a big info sheet from the hosp on contraception, I'll try and dig it out and get back to you.
mollyandkurtsmum
25-10-2005, 13:15
after my second bub I knew I didnt want another for a few years so I decided on getting the depo shot. I had it for 3 cycles (9 months) and then stopped as we decided to try again. It took me 3 years after my last shot to get a period and nearly 4 years to get preg again. Ive only had one period since Molly was born in feb 2001. My doc said sometimes that just happened if your body didnt agree with the shot. I thought it might of been nice to of been told that before hand so hence my telling you lol.
Stay away from Implanon!
I am still recovering from surgery I had to have to get it removed after the little ******* embedded itself in the muscle of my arm.
It also made my libido drop drastically, I had AF for like 5 months on, 2 weeks off, 6 months on, 3 weeks off....those kind of cycles. Also made me crazy :eek:
My doctor recommended the combined pill, as the mini one has same stuff init as Implanon.
great ,so what are we supposed to use? ive been researching this too as dh and i definetly dont want anymore but im not to keen on any of the options available. i went and got a script for the pill, but i have heard to many stories about side effects, unwanted pregnancies etc. having my tubes tied seems to be the best option, but it just seems so final, and you should see the look of horror on dh face if i mention HE takes some responsibility and goes and has a vasectomy! we dont want to use condoms, i mean surely one of the benefits of being married is not having to worry about condoms anymore! but its definetly affecting our relationship, because im always worried about getting pregnant~ what do i do??!!
I used Implanon when it first came out. I have a nice big scar on my arm now as it was put in by an inexperienced doctor, it travelled up my arm and I ended up having to have ultrasounds and stiches to have it removed. (2 insicions, one doctor had a go, then referred me to an ultrasound place)
While i was on it I had a great time, for the first 2 years I had no periods, then for the last year I would have a period only once every 2 months, pain free.
It's not for everyone, but I think for some people it's alright :D
Angel_baby_1982
25-10-2005, 16:35
:D DH and I came to the conclusion long ago that since the pill, depo shot, implanon, iud, condoms, etc don't work for us we're just going to not worry about b/c at all until we're finished having kids, then one of us will get the tubes done!
Took 2 yrs ttc#1 anyway, could be the same each time!
After ttc I have come to the conclusion that getting pg is harder than people think, so the rythem method is a plausable option. Of course a few cycles of getting used to picking up your fertile signs should be done before ceasing the use of condoms. just get a basal body thermometer, its easier thn you'd think!
Have you guys thought about an IUD? There is a new one I think it's called Mirena. It release a hormone (I'll be buggered if I can remember which one!) and they reckon it can really help with AF too. I haven't had one but am seriously considering it after festerooni is born. At least until DF gets the snip ;)
Funkychicken
25-10-2005, 17:02
My husband and I managed to go 5 years purely by using condoms when I was fertile and nothing else after I finished ovulating. This worked perfectly until 7.5 months ago! I have mastered the observation of my cycle and know I had finished ovulating when this little babe was conceived so I can only assume from a bit of research that I had what is known as a lunar cycle and ovulated twice. Observation is a great means of using drug free contraception but beware of those 2nd ovulations.
---------------------------------
Sal-7 weeks to go!
mollyandkurtsmum
25-10-2005, 17:41
as woman we should only have sex when our husbands want it and even then it should be only to procreate. Every sperm is sacred!!!!!
oh yeah and my hubbies getting the snip yay!!!!
for some it may be harder to concieve than most people think, but dh and i only need to brush past each other on the stairs for me to fall pregnant.... :)
oh and has any one else had trouble convincing their hubby to get the snip, yet somehow changed their minds? if so what did you do/say to encourage them to go ahead with it?
LachlansMun
25-10-2005, 18:09
We're not married yet so I don't think he'd agree to the snip....plus he's only 21!
I'm leaning towards the dep shot (which I tried when I was 15, I got a continuous period but could be different this time???).......maybe I mite try the pill again because Im a bit older and more paranoid about falling pregnant now. When I was young and silly, I didn't think it could happen. It was pretty easy for me to fall pregnant though!
My dh is only 25 and is asking me is there a minimum age for the big chop chop. I'm so glad he is all for it but I don't think it will happen for a while. You never know we might end up wanting 10 kids ;) . We are very much people who conceive by just saying baby.
Angel_baby_1982
25-10-2005, 18:34
If you chart your temperature accurately the rhythem method is more reliable than the pill, so I'd hardly call it russian roulette!
It's naievity, people who don't do it properly and the 'abstenance only' and 'std's are rampant' education people pump into their kids that give the rhythem method a bad name.
For a couple spacing out their children, the rhythem method is perfect, and once you're done, one of you goes the chop :D Simple.
lol agreed os mum! i dont even want one single sperm to have an iota of a chance of sneaking by.... :)
Angel_baby_1982
25-10-2005, 18:45
not even tying the tubes is always 100%!
My cousin was concieved 2 months after her dad went the chop (and yes we're sure he's the father!) Apparently its rare but can happen!
Angel_baby_1982
25-10-2005, 18:46
The only way to be 100% is never to have sex again.......
true angelbaby.... maybe if i go have my tubes ties, hubby gets the snip, i go on the pill AND practise the rythym method then maybe i can relax and not stress out so much...:o
mmmm, i dont think my hubby would be to keen on the no sex thing lol :)
hey maybe thats how i can convince him to have the snip!! lol
Angel_baby_1982
25-10-2005, 18:59
:D ROTFL :D
Yeah, I think the "it's either the knife or abstinance" will convince him!
I could never make that threat, Hubby knows me better than that ;)
I don't know what DH and I will do once we're finished having kids, the snip is too final, what if we wanted more later? But the pill, depo shot, implanon, and iud cause me to haemhorrage.
ThomasMum
25-10-2005, 19:19
:D ROTFL :D
Yeah, I think the "it's either the knife or abstinance" will convince him!
I could never make that threat, Hubby knows me better than that ;)
I don't know what DH and I will do once we're finished having kids, the snip is too final, what if we wanted more later? But the pill, depo shot, implanon, and iud cause me to haemhorrage.
You could always freeze the lil swimmers before the snip snip, just incase you change yer mind...
You could always pray before sex, "no kids pls God" :)
Angel_baby_1982
25-10-2005, 19:43
:rolleyes: Great idea only I'm not christian :D
melfunction
25-10-2005, 22:06
I'm definitely not trying to concieve. Still haven't healed from giving birth 4 mths ago.
Last year I bought a Maybe Baby ovulation thingy, the day before I found out I was preggers. Now we are using it for contraception. I have been testing myself everyday and now know when I ovulate with accuracy. When I'm about to, we use a condom, otherwise we don't. Suppose to be 99% accurate, so we'll see...... :)
You could always pray before sex, "no kids pls God" :)
That's been working for all the Catholics hasn't it??!! :p
ThomasMum
26-10-2005, 07:53
That's been working for all the Catholics hasn't it??!! :p
Oh hush Olivers*mum...now now we dont want to get into trouble do we?
:p
lol girls, well like someone else said, every sperm is sacred you know:p .....
Sorry, didn't mean to offend anyone. :o
Hey this is my big Q too........What to use/do?
I got AF back 5 weeks after giving birth so basically i ovulated when bub was 3 weeks old! I shiver at the thought "WHAT IF?" Oh my....now what?........ i'm not game to have THAT thing attached to hubby anywhere near me until i go through menopause! That might work yeah? :p
DD Jaime 6
DS Benjamin 4
DS Lucas 8 weeks
yeah even worse thought...ovulating at 3 weeks, AF at 5 weeks, now date a pregnancy back 4 weeks....yay bub would've been hatched a week before being deemed pregnant again!
I could've been 7 weeks pregnant with a 8 week old baby...HOLY S*&^!!!!!!!!!! Thank God i had a tear giving birth is all i can say :D
HoopDeeDoo
26-10-2005, 11:04
speaking of men having the snip snip. Did anyone see rove last night? They had I guy having it done live on TV. It didn't look bad at all, he was awake and saying it was all good.
It is reversable, so it's not that final, but they said it costs a lot to have it reversed about $4000.
Imogensmum
26-10-2005, 11:13
I saw that M-O-Noah- It didn't look tooo terrible- don't know what these boys sook about!! He he!
(P.s- TOTALLY OFF THE SUBJECT-----hey em- i was just about to call you cause imy is asleep and i was going to see if you wanted to pop down the hyperdome later???)
Angel_baby_1982
26-10-2005, 11:28
personally I would have been extatic to find out I was pregnant again straight away! Maybe its just me but I'd see it as a blessing, not a burden!
ThomasMum
26-10-2005, 12:37
Ya good on ya, Angel_baby_1982.
Esp if you are having sex without contraception!
The chance for you to get pregnant is pretty darn high I say!
And be careful with those contraception "devices" not all of them works lol.
I was on pills for gee like 10 years, and after we bought the house -had it renovated we thought that were ready for bub, so i took the pills of, voila about 28 days later i was BIG FAT POSITIVE!
ThomasMum
26-10-2005, 12:41
That's why Angel Girl your on the trying to conceive bandwagon and we are on the trying NOT to conceive one?!
O's mom
TTC#NOT!!!
He he he O's Mum! Who mentioned anything abt burden anyway yeah ;)
Angel_baby_1982
26-10-2005, 12:54
don't need to gang up ladies, was just commenting on how I feel, after all you're not the only people here with valid feelings :rolleyes:
While it would be my preference not to use any outside intervention after this bub, I'm not too confident in the old Billings method for contraception myself.
Some might be surprised to hear me say that since I charted and conceived successfully.. BUT.. it turns out I ovulated on Day 7 of my cycle. So technically it could have been the sex I had on Day 5 that got me pregnant... one would hardly expect that to happen, nor did I have any ovulation signs that day. As we know, those swimmers can hang around a few days and the only way to confirm ovulation is AFTER the event. Maybe a tad too late.....? :rolleyes:
Angel_baby_1982
26-10-2005, 13:02
Yeah I am well aware of that, just thought I could help, wouldn't have bothered if I knew my suggestion would just be riddiculed.
angelbaby, come on the girls were only joking, dont take it seriously!!!
btw(and im only being light hearted ok?) you might feel differently about conceiving straight away if you already had 4 children, hadnt had your boobs to yourself in goodness knows how long and hadnt had a full nights sleep since about 1996! your opinion is just as valid as anyone elses, but this is not a heavy thread and the girls were only having some fun with you! :)
mollyandkurtsmum
26-10-2005, 13:41
I never thought of having babies really close as a bourden but my kids might of. My 2 are two and a half years apart and this one will be five years younger than my youngest. If they were closer together I would not of been able to spend the time with each that I have and they also might of had a mummy who was in the looney bin. Each to their own but geeeez if Id been preg after one week of delivering I would be totally devistated for me, my body , my kids and my sanity
Angel_baby_1982
26-10-2005, 13:50
Fair enough, I never could hold a grudge.
I do get a little touchy when people say
The chance for you to get pregnant is pretty darn high I say!
as it took 2 yrs and 1 m/c to concieve my son, I always get flash backs to the fertility specialist telling us we may never have our own children and bursting into tears in her office, then having to walk back down the main street to the car bawling.
I just thought for anyone not ready to go the chop, just wanting to space out their kids, the rhythem method might be worth looking into. I know it isn't everyone's thing.
I know what its like to have problems with other methods of contraception!
Edit;
the more reliable rhythem method is where you abstain/use condoms/diaphram until AFTER ovulation, so there's no chance of an early o catching you off guard! Then of course you only have to worry about having o twice in the one cycle!
i too had the tears at the infertility clinic a few years back now, 3 childbirths, saggy boobs,leaky this and leaky that, no sleep, no time to myself since 1999, but i wouldn't have it any other way.I'm extremely grateful for God's little gifts
HOWEVER...
I never want to see 2 little blue lines on a piece of plastic ever again!
AMEN ;)
Angel_baby_1982
26-10-2005, 14:43
ROTFPMSL
And in a few years I'll probobly be joining you in that sentiment!
LachlansMun
26-10-2005, 14:47
I was begging the doctors to tie my tubes after I gave birth to #1, but at 19 years old they deemed me to young......but I swear to god I couldn't go through that again! :eek:
Peaceangels
11-11-2005, 14:12
I was just about to start a new thread on what contraception you are all using, but then I found this one.......................
Soooooooooo, what was the outcome? What's the best idea when DH will not have the chop?
We are currently using condoms or the rhythm method, but we recently had a scare whereby my period was 8 days late and when the subject of a vasectomy was discussed DH was an adamant NO (he had a difficult time when the dog was desexed, which I have explained is an entirely different kettle of fish).
I can't beleive we are actually experiencing this problem when 4 years ago we were desperately sad dealing with infertility (I had endometriosos and it took 5 years of trying before we fell pg and as DH puts it "took 30 seconds with #2).
Having said all that, we have both agreed that we are happy with two children (although I would not be upset if I fell pregnant again) and after all that us women endure - birth control prior to kids, pregnancy, childbirth etc shouldn't the men in our lives be able come to the party NOW and have the chop (which is only minor surgery, whereas having your tubes tied is major surgery)............................
I have to say THANK YOU for this thread.
I have two pill babies ..... and the current bobble is thanks to depo!! If Nate and I sneeze at the table together I'm pregnant ....
He is only 25 also so won't even THINK of the chop .... there is 20 months between my first 2 and 26 mths this time round. I DON'T WANT ANOTHER.
But I too was told i would probably not concieve .... although I was only 14 and had one collapsed ovary and one not releasing eggs .... I guess that worked itself all out through puberty.
I've decided if I go through with a c-sect this time, I'm getting my tubes tied, Nate doesn't want me to, thinks whatever happens SHOULD happen but I can't do it ... to have four kids I would need a new car, a new house and a new live in maid!! LOL I'm not allowing him to sway me, the operation is reversible and so if I get desperate to have another than I'll save the money and by the time I get enough, the fever will have passed and reality will flood back LOL