View Full Version : M/s quick fixes. Help! Please! :crying:
Moorish
02-12-2006, 07:44 PM
Oh my gosh!
I'm 9 weeks today and I've had a week of constant nausea but no actual :barf:. It's just always there.
I never had major m/s with any of my pregnancies but always had a few weeks of up and down sick feeling. I think because I'm really tired with this one that I'm feeling it more and it's affecting me more.
I can't stand it anymore and I'm about to go stick my fingers down my throat just because I know I'll feel better if I'm sick :( (but I also know that's not the way to solve it).
For relief, so far I've tried:
* Ice cold lemon water
* Lemonade or barley sugar (for blood sugar leverls)
* Burping (LOL but helps a bit)
* Eating junk (sometimes it fills me up so my tummy feels better)
* Eating fruit because I crave it and so my tummy always has something in it
I know it will pass, and like my other pregnancies it only lasts a couple of weeks or so but I just can't handle this anymore (so sick of acting like some kind of martyr) and I'm reaching out for help to get me through the next couple of weeks.
Does anyone have any fast, home, quick fix remedies that they could recommend to me? I'm over it and I'm fully aware that I'm not even the worst case scenario.
Thanks in advance.
Roopee
02-12-2006, 10:03 PM
No advice here sorry. If i had any i would use it LOL. I suffer really bad vomiting ALL thru my pregnancies-not just nausea but the full on spews- 4 to 5 times a day.:no:
Some things people have suggested to me are
Sea Bands- motion sickness armbands from the chemist.
Ginger- well the thought f ginger makes me ill so i dont ue this one.
watermelon- some swear by this one.
Small snacks all day.
Sorry i wasnt much help.
Eleroo
02-12-2006, 11:21 PM
Ginger is good, eat some ginger nut bickies in the morn, eating small snacks though out the day may help as well, also you can get sea sickness bands from the pharmacy they may work as well, keep yourself hydrated
Moorish
03-12-2006, 10:39 AM
Thanks so much for your suggestions so far!
Keep 'em coming ladies I'm not out of the woods yet.
I revisited an old thread last night and sent my DH up to the bottle shop to get me some ginger beer. He made it with only minutes to spare before they closed (lucky for him because whether he believes it or not, I'd have made him go all the way to the supermarket for ginger beer and minties!) It really did help and my tummy settled before I went to bed. This morning I woke up feeling fine, then felt sick just before brekkie (empty tummy). I'm sure I'll be back on the ginger beer by lunch time (onya DH for getting me 1/2 dozen bottles of the blessed stuff!)
I also do remember that minties or peppermints helped take the edge off with my previous pregnancies. Roopee you should give those a try, at least you could suck on a mint on and off or sip ginger beer through a straw - just little bits until you start to feel better - it worked within about 5 mins for me last night.
Any other quick fixes out there?
melfunction
03-12-2006, 10:49 AM
I have been living on vegemite toast...the Vit B is suppose to be good for nausea...
Fingers crossed I am nearly at the end of it :rolleyes:
Aquamarine
03-12-2006, 11:25 AM
No food or drink helped me.
Go up to the chemist and get a set of seabands.
They work!
Oh and if it lasts longer than a few weeks I purchased the morningwell cd.
www.morningwell.com.au
it was amazing.
I don't know how it worked but it did for me, just wish I had found it earlier.
Me (31)
DH (31)
DS (4)
DS (2)
DS (10 weeks)
*Lauren*
03-12-2006, 02:15 PM
Hi Ladies :wave:
I had HG (hyperemis gravardium) for the first 5 months of my pregnancy and i was constantly nauseated & throwing up about 7 times a day and i literally tried EVERYTHING to help ice, ginger, small snacks, high fatty food (soaks up the acid in your tummy) flat lemonade, eating before i got up in the morning, every herbal tablet known to man... and gotta tell you that none of it worked :gloomy: ... I was wishing on death :laughing: and really didn't want to speak to anyone who said "oh i didnt get m/s" .
You have to just do whatever makes you feel better for that moment and keep changing your strategies (everything i did i threw up so i couldn't do it more than once and never went back) and sleep as much as you can, i worked 6.30am till 5.30pm came home and went to bed woke up at 6am and did it all the next day.
Showers and aromatherpay (lavender) were the only things to give any release.
:hugs: to you. I wouldn't wish m/s on anyone and noone quite gets it until there going through it.
x Lauren
ButterflyMama
03-12-2006, 02:27 PM
Frosty fruits
Ginger gummy bears
Eating small amounts, frequently
Chicken soup/broth
Ginger ale/beer
These all helped me and I lived on them until I was about 12 weeks along. Hang in there! :hugs:
I have been living on vegemite toast...the Vit B is suppose to be good for nausea...
Was about to say good old vegemite toast myself.
Sure helped me out in previous pregnancies.
Wonder if borocca would do the trick if the Vit B helps soo much ???? :detective:
bubbasmum
04-12-2006, 01:42 PM
Somebody suggested peppermint lollies to me. I lived on icy poles through my m/s.
danielle13
04-12-2006, 02:03 PM
Ginger bikkies and ginger ale/beer helped for me too at times, but when it was REALLY bad, almonds saved me every time!! I don't usually "do" almonds but I read somewhere that they're great for soaking up the excess stomach acid, and they worked!! I only needed a few at a time too, which was lucky cos I couldn't stomach the thought of having to eat too much!
Good luck, hope it passes soon!
Jo_Jo
05-12-2006, 03:31 PM
hey there!
try peppermint aromatherapy 100% oil any brand will do and put a few drops on your pillow underneath your pillowcase or on a old pillowcase it works a charm!!:fingerscrossed: ....jo
Moorish
05-12-2006, 04:02 PM
Thanks girls, I'm trying a few things at the moment.
I'm still not a bad case in comparison but when you've got 3 kids at home to look after and you don't feel 100% it really does take it's toll.
The ginger beer is still a winner at the moment and I'm snacking on lots of savoury food when I can.
I do like the peppermint oil idea though, I thought I might put some drops on a hanky so I can take it where ever I go, as most of my m/s is from about 11am til after dinner time and during the day the kids have stuff on and I've got shopping to do etc.
:fingerscrossed: this only lasts another week or two.
bris_mummy-to-be17
05-12-2006, 04:10 PM
hey
the only thing that worked for me was vegemite toast as has been suggested and mcdonalds. i also sucked on fruit tingles in the car and this made it heaps better too.
talk to your doctor next time you go back. ive heard they can prescribe some medicine for you to take or even tell you what vitamins will help. from memory i think it was vitamin b12 or b6 or something? but yeah just check with your doctor :) hope it all disappears for you soon
Everyone has pretty much made my suggestions already. Despite all those helpful suggestions though I still couldn't control my nausea and after 3 miserable weeks I went to my GP and he suggested I try maxolon. I really wasn't that keen on trying medication, but he said it's safe in pregnancy (category A) and it was concerning cause I'd already lost 3kg. It worked immediately and I didn't look back. I still had bad moments, but nothing like before I started maxolon. I had three a day from about 8 weeks til 21 weeks. My Ob was going to add B6 if the maxolon didn't work well enough, but it did. I also took elevit though too, which has 2.5mg (I think) of B6 which according to my Ob is enough to significantly reduce nausea in 50% of women.
So, my point is try all the suggestions that people have made, but if you are still miserable you don't have to be - go and see your GP.
poodysmum
05-12-2006, 08:53 PM
No advice here sorry. If i had any i would use it LOL. I suffer really bad vomiting ALL thru my pregnancies-not just nausea but the full on spews- 4 to 5 times a day.:no:
Some things people have suggested to me are
Sea Bands- motion sickness armbands from the chemist.
Ginger- well the thought f ginger makes me ill so i dont ue this one.
watermelon- some swear by this one.
Small snacks all day.
Sorry i wasnt much help.
I tried all of these too. But if you get to a point where you are constantly throwing up, then you might need to go to the doctor to get Maxalon (anti nausea tablets). Hope you get some relief soon:hugs:
Alli
babyboo
06-12-2006, 12:04 PM
I had BAD ms with dd and took ginger capsules. Got them from the chemist - just the clear ones with the ginger inside.
Took about 3 an hour at first - i found that all the teas and biscuits didnt do anything and i couldnt stand eating it so i grabbed for the real deal and just swallowed it :laughing: :laughing: and it worked - really knocked it off.
Good luck.
Moorish
08-12-2006, 08:32 AM
Thanks girls, you're all so wonderful!
I've had a good couple of days so :fingerscrossed: I'm coming out of it but I've been trying some smoothies for breakfast rather than a bowl of cereal. I feel that I can handle the milk better when it's blended with something and it's given me a great kick start to the day. Especially the banana smoothies - good burst of energy. I recommend that people try that - it's working so far for me!
shannanigans
08-12-2006, 02:28 PM
Hi! We have just found out that I am about 8 weeks pregnant with our first child, and I have felt nauseous off on and on for the past week or so. I am also a student of naturopathy so have been doing a bit of research and trial and error on myself with regard to morning sickness. One explanation to certain cases (and seems to apply to me) is due to low blood sugar levels. During pregnancy a woman's metabolism increases by up to 20% meaning our bodies burn through the food quicker than usual. I found that muesli/cereal was making me feel worse first thing in the morning...b/c of the milk i think (when I haven't eaten all night and my blood sugar level is low) so tried vegemite toast (grain bread), and that did the trick! I have a small bowl of cereal later in the morning and I feel fine. I am listening to my body a lot more now, and when I feel a little queasy I know it is time for a snack. I don't ignore it. Carbs are what settle my queasiness each time, but I make sure they are not empty calorie carbs. I made up some brown rice/lentil and chickpea packs for the freezer which I defrost and add some salad veg/herbs & spices/tuna or chicken to when I have a carb craving. Am shoving it down within 10 minutes, its tasty as and works wonders! Try taking the nausea as your body being hungry - don't ignore it and feed it (healthy food)! Just the right amount until you feel satisfied. Anyway - that is what works for me at the moment, so hopefully that will help someone out!
fai firinne
09-12-2006, 04:28 PM
A boost of Vit B6 might help you out.
"Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine) has been shown to have a significant effect in reducing nausea and vomiting in women with severe pregnancy sickness.
A study showed that it had a more dramatic effect in women who had worse nausea & vomiting than women who were having just mild nausea.
The max daily dosage recommended is 100mg per day and it works best when taken with as a B complex tablet."
Does your pregnancy multi-vite have close to 100mg of B6 in it?
Vitamin B deficiency is known to be a cause of anxiety, depression and general tiredness and 'blah' feelings, as well as nausea, so correcting any deficiency might help you feel better overall.
If you up-chuck a lot, your magnesium stores can be diminished, too, and low magnesium makes nausea worse.
Your midwife would be able to help you check that you're getting enough vitamins.
Rich sources of B vitamins:
Brewer's Yeast
Vegemite
Wholegrain / wholemeal (yay for vegemite toast!)
Wheatgerm
Nuts & seeds - try raw almonds and sunflower or pumpkin seeds
Green leafy veg.
Drink heaps! If you get dehydrated that adds to the sicky feeling
Try to eat a little often, dips in your blood sugar make the nausea worse
Try to avoid sugary junk food because those foods cause a sudden rise in blood sugar - then a dip, which makes you feel awful, but healthy food (like a bite of vege wholemeal toast with avocado - example!) release carbs into your system in a gradual way over time, so your blood sugar stays more steady and that should help you feel less nauseous.
I found that eating even just a tiny bit often, and avoiding a totally empty stomach, seemed to help keep me on an even keel.
If I got stressed or exhausted from pushing myself, that was it. Upchuck city.
Keeping active and mobile helps your metabolism, clears your head and helps the blood sugar to stay regular. Even just a gentle walk or a quiet swim when you feel revolting can help.
I hope you feel stacks better soon, hon. Congratulations on your pregnancy!
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.