View Full Version : Internet or Store??

*Country Bumpkin*
02-12-2006, 14:34

I was chatting to a friend about a business idea DP and I have had and and we got thinking about the amount of people who buy online.

The basic idea is a store dedicated to cloth nappy users. I have grown up in a family of business owners and after seeing their success I feel that opening a store dedicated to all things cloth would be a great idea BUT I need to know how many of you out there would support the business.

A few of you would know that I have recently converted and now Im hooked although its soon I really feel that this could work. Plus I have so many great friends who use cloth that are behind the idea 100%

I would appreciate it if you could answer these questions for us.
-----------------------------------------
Do you buy online?
If yes how often?

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online?

What type of cloth nappies products would you like to see in the store?
Example- fitted, All In ones, pockets, nappy pins, wipes etc....

Is there a particular product that you have trouble finding in the suburban stores??
I know I have difficulty finding nappy liners and Snappies!!!

Any suggestions you would like to put forward??

Thanks in advance to everyone!!:hugs:

02-12-2006, 14:49
Do you buy online? Yes.
If yes how often? Once a week. If not, more!

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online? Online

Example- fitted, All In ones, pockets, nappy pins, wipes etc.... A bit of everything. The more variety the better.

Is there a particular product that you have trouble finding in the suburban stores?? Most of the things i buy are from WAHM's so i buy online of course.

Any suggestions you would like to put forward?? I think you would have a better chance selling things online than owning an actual shop.

Online..Online.. ONLINE !!! :D

*Country Bumpkin*
02-12-2006, 14:52
Online..Online.. ONLINE !!! :D

I had a feeling youd say that :rolleyes: :laughing:

tickle
02-12-2006, 14:56
Do you buy online? Yes
If yes how often? Once a fortnight

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online? Probably not. Although I'll never say never.

Example- fitted, All In ones, pockets, nappy pins, wipes etc.... A wide variety

Is there a particular product that you have trouble finding in the suburban stores??I know I have difficulty finding nappy liners and Snappies!!! The shops don't sell anything that I'd use.

I wouldn't buy from a store mainly because online is so convenient. There is also a better range than what there ever could be in a store. I never use a credit card online, I always do bank deposits. Very quick and easy.:)

H&B'sMum
02-12-2006, 14:57
Do you buy online?
Yes

If yes how often?
depends when Harry was in nappies I'd buy a nappy may be once a month or once very 6 weeks. But I'm now doing all my Christmas shopping online so am buying things every week.

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online?
It depends, if I was in the area and I knew they would have what I wanted then yes I would go to the bricks and mortor store. However, if I was just browsing on the net at night and saw a nappy I liked then I would buy it there and then. I do like the convenience of shopping online. However, if your store had a website attached to it and I could still buy off the site then I would use it too. Might also interest me enough to go to the store itself.

I would like to see all types of nappies. If you are going to do a store you will need have all types so you can show new parents how each system works. I think you would also need to include woolies as well. Also a good variety of sizing, designs and types as each baby if different.

Is there a particular product that you have trouble finding in the suburban stores??
Nope I do all my nappy shopping on line and never have any problems.

Can I suggest that you check out nappycino or modern cloth nappies. Both these sites have very experienced cloth nappy parents and lots of WAHM's as well. This would be good for networking and getting to know the makers of all the nappies.
I also think you might need to think about including other types of AP/NP items, such as slings, natural products and naturally made clothing (hemp, Bamboo, 100%cotton). This would increase your customer base and help spread the cloth word around.
When suppling cloth nappies, it's really important that you are very experienced in all types of cloth nappy systems. Make sure you use woolies and know how to lanolise them, that you use fitted naps, AIO naps, terry flat naps and have a huge variety of covers, woolies and the different types and you knew what you are talking about.
When you advertise make sure you hit your target audience, advertise in places like Bub hub. Byron Child, NP mag and other AP/NP places.
I admire you for trying to get this started as it can be very confusing for parents when they start researching cloth nappies.

mum2charli
02-12-2006, 14:58
Do you buy online? Yes.
If yes how often? As often as I can afford to :D
If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online? I would still biu online but probably look in the shop for what I wanted

Example- fitted, All In ones, pockets, nappy pins, wipes etc.... All products that are available. What would be the sense in leaving some things out as different people would want to buy different things

Is there a particular product that you have trouble finding in the suburban stores?? I don't look for nappy supplies in the stores other than large items such as nappy buckets

Any suggestions you would like to put forward?? Perhaps if you were to open a store you could also sell online so that you are able to reach a bigger market? Do both at once, if that is possible I say!

02-12-2006, 15:00
Do you buy online?
If yes how often?
Too often! But its actually better cos I live in an area where there isn't much choice. I don't have a credit card but use direct banking. We have a shop not far from where my hubby works and they are like OZeBaby irl! It was amazing to me.

I don't have a car so that is a hard thing for me personally. With 3 kids it does tend to be easier to buy online. Though itwould be nice to have a store near by that sold cloth.

Fitteds, woollies, flats, prefolds, advocacy wear. Slings and other things maybe?

Bamboo and hemp, nice wool to knit up woollies.

Find sahm local suppliers?
All the best. I hope it works out!

02-12-2006, 15:01
I had a feeling youd say that :rolleyes: :laughing:

Well it is alot more convenient then going to a shop that's for sure and in all honesty you would have alot more buyers that way to.

Oh and i also pay via PayPal.. so if you ever decide to go ahead with this idea, consider PayPal as one of the payment options. Kthanx!

tickle
02-12-2006, 15:03
Great suggestions Karena. I definately agree I would love a shop that stocked everything, that had an online store attatched. Everything all in one.:thumbsup:

Little_Toad
02-12-2006, 15:04
Adele.. pick a suburb with lots of mums and a big baby boom... (preferably with a little money) and you'll do well.

Make sure you get a place with low overheads.

If you got nappies from a company to sell... such as Green kids.. you wouldnt get them for much less than what they sell online for.. and then you have to add your mark up.

Other things would be proffitable like flats etc that you can already get cost as a retailer.

Good luck if you decide to persue it.

meme
02-12-2006, 15:10
well i for one say shop. i much prefer a irl shop and the reason i don't have more bought mcn is that i cannot go to a shop. i had the same idea's when i first started using and thought, i will just have to start my own blooming shop! i am sure there are heaps of people who would use cloth who don't knowit exists who would go to a shop.
go for it and i will be happy to run the noosa branch!!:D

*Country Bumpkin*
02-12-2006, 15:13
Thanks everyone- you are all being a huge help- keep the idea coming!!

I had actually thought of stocking slings and AP merchandise - So any preferances ??

And I was also considerignthe online store idea!! We woudl definalty have a wode range of products and sizes. And I would also be calling upon my clothie friends to come and help in the store.

Kymmy- That was a great ide about the wool!! Ill look into that too- luky my nan can nit well hehe:D

*Country Bumpkin*
02-12-2006, 15:15

yeehaaaa I have an investor already :D :laughing: :laughing:

biscotti
02-12-2006, 16:00

Ohhhhhh - I thought I'd get to run the Noosa branch :laughing:

M O P
02-12-2006, 16:21
Do you buy online? yes
If yes how often? when I need to, maybe once a month or so average

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online? I live 150kms from my nearest shop so I'm more than happy shopping on line

Example- fitted, All In ones, pockets, nappy pins, wipes etc.... In our house fitteds are the most popular and covers are good to see

I know I have difficulty finding nappy liners and Snappies!!! except for the nappies and covers- Australian made children's clothing

Any suggestions you would like to put forward?? there are lots of on line nappy stores out there so you'd need something different, one seller I use often offers free postage on orders over $50- this may be a way to grab new business

Good luck with whatever you decide to do!:)

jessi
02-12-2006, 16:23
I had actually thought of stocking slings and AP merchandise - So any preferances ??

Slings... go for Bubba Earth slings... I love them. SO comfy for both me and EL!

shed
02-12-2006, 16:29
Do you buy online? Yes
If yes how often? All the time.

Online now that I know the products.

Fitteds and pockets, stuff you would find on ozebaby, WAHM funky stuff, one-off creations

yes - PUL

How are you going to organise your mark up and your suppliers profit, especially for the nappies. Green kids and Baby Beehinds are already well established online and WAHM's can't produce the bulk you would need so if you sold a nappy for $25 and it cost them about $10 to make it, who would get what to make it worth it for everybody.

Most people find out about these products online on sites such as this or nappycino. they are already online (in the shop if you will) at the time so you will be competing with a couple of mouse clicks. If it was me I would probably visit the shop once, have a look at stuff, get an explanation and then go off and buy the stuff online when I needed it again.

Good luck. There is at least one shop like this in Sydney (dunno what its called sorry) if you wanted to have a look at a business model.

LilShenanigans
02-12-2006, 17:35
Sorry to jump in where I don't belong (I'm not a cloth nappy person), but I think it's a great idea - especially since I could never find the products I would need to become a cloth nappy person! (my dad tried to suggest I do it, but by the time I was given 'hand me downs' I was over it).

...I think there should be both. A store reaches local business, online reaches worldwide. For me, checking out products online is my research technique, if I find something I like, I go straight to the store and buy it! Saves wandering store after store looking for one item.

As someone said about payment options, paypal is great, of course there'd be credit card... but a lot of people don't use their CC's online and haven't a clue about paypal - I'd also suggest a direct debit approach(or even Bpay).

I agree with everything about a large selection (as harrysmum said), including things like slings etc.

Oh and if making a website, I would highly steer clear of anything over the top. Some lucky people out there have cable/broadband whatever, but those struggling in the financial area just need a basic website that doesn't take hours to load.

...Ok, I'll leave now :o

mum2elouise
02-12-2006, 17:51
Do you buy online? Yes
If yes how often? As often as i can afford

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online? I would definitely use it although i do find shopping over the net so convenient so i think i'd do a bit of both.

Example- fitted, All In ones, pockets, nappy pins, wipes etc.... Yep, all the types of nappies - AIO's, fitteds, pockets, flats. Then covers - PUL, quality fleece, wool soakers, shorties, longies. Inserts to go with pockets and boosters for overnight or heavy wetters - bamboo, hemp, microfibre. Liners - microfleece, silk (great for helping with nappy rash).

Is there a particular product that you have trouble finding in the suburban stores?? Definitely liners!

Any suggestions you would like to put forward?? I would be absolutely wrapped if there was a store around here that sold nappy-making supplies - PUL (the only place i've seen this for sale is on the net), microfleece, suedecloth, polar fleece, flannelette, velcro, snaps, snap machines (don't know if this is actually what they are called:o but you know, the things that apply the snaps:laughing: ), elastic, hemp, bamboo, terry towelling, microfibre.

Adele - good luck and good on you for giving it a go!:thumbsup:

mum2elouise
02-12-2006, 17:54
BTW, i agree about the AP type of products, too - slings (go with lots of different types, like pouches, ring slings, mei tai's, clip slings...), maybe woollen or hemp breastpads, organic bubs clothing, nursing wear for breastfeeding Mums, etc...

02-12-2006, 18:32
Do you buy online? yes
If yes how often? weekly

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online? I'd much prefer buying thme in store!

What type of cloth nappies products would you like to see in the store? nappies - fitted flat prefold pockets aio, wipes, liners - incl raw silk, boosters, inserts, covers - pul/wool/fleece, nappy totes (3 sizes - small for one cihld med for 2 children large for home use), nappy buckets, pail pals, snappis, pins, nappy stackers....

Is there a particular product that you have trouble finding in the suburban stores?? not really as I dont really look

Any suggestions you would like to put forward?? great idea, i have thought about this myself but found there wasnt enough profit in buying other ppls and selling thme so I moved to another sales area. I think you'd be best at making your own and selling them not other peoples.

Selling ap products sounds great too... also you could consider selling environmental friendly products also like enviro friendly cleaning products/disposable wipes/flushable liners etc as some cloth mums are also very enviro consious :)

02-12-2006, 19:11
Oh and if making a website, I would highly steer clear of anything over the top. Some lucky people out there have cable/broadband whatever, but those struggling in the financial area just need a basic website that doesn't take hours to load.

That is a good point. I have dial up and I know some ppl have slower than mine and it can frustrating waiting for tons of images to download.

gremily
02-12-2006, 19:22
There's some great replies here:thumbsup:

Do you buy online? Yes
If yes how often? Once every few weeks, depending on the money situation.

I do alot of research on the net and buy from reputatable sites. However, if there was a store close to me I would definetly go and check it out. If it was cheaper for me to buy from the store (taking into account I'd have to pay for postage over the net) I'd buy from the store.

Definetly a range of all types - and like someone else said I think you'd need to have some sort of experience with each to really make customers believe you know what you're talking about. Soakers - I have honestly never seen a soaker in baby stores. PUL covers, flat nappy needs. Pails. Info on modern washing (you know, talking about how there's no need for soaking, wash in cold water, 1/2 amount detergent, line dry, etc). Liners and cloth wipes. Little squirts. Wet bags. Swimmers. Trainers. Wool care products.
Then there's other products that would probably draw in your customers like CLOTH PADS and cups (I can't find these anywhere but online!), breastfeeding pads and necklaces/bracelets, natural clothing, slings, hemp products, organic sheets.
I could probably go on but that's quite enough atm!!

Already answered that above.

My mind's gone blank, so I might have to come back to this bit!!

*Country Bumpkin*
02-12-2006, 20:30
Wow everyone has had such gret sugestions!!!

I have written them all down and will be presenting them to DP later:D

I have also recieved my first email from a company and they are willign to back me 100% if I go ahead with the buisness. They dont just stock nappies- they have EVERY type of nappy and a range of natural hemp,100% cotton etc childrens clothing, wraps, lotions and aby produts- amazing nappys too

This could work!!:smiliedance:

*Country Bumpkin*
02-12-2006, 20:32
Oh and on the websit idea- I am one of those prro people who still has dial up :banghead: so the site will definatly bve dial up friendly- dont want to not be able to access my own web store:laughing:

Percy
02-12-2006, 20:35
Do you buy online? Yes

If yes how often? Every two or three months.

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online? I would much prefer buying from a store. That way i dont have to explain the credit card to DH:laughing:

Example- fitted, All In ones, pockets, nappy pins, wipes etc.... I prefer pockets, but i think a bit of everything is a good idea!

Nappy liners.

I'll get back to you when i think of some!

susiehomemaker
02-12-2006, 23:16
Hi Adele, Awesome idea. I would def come and check out a store if it was close by. But mostly I shop online. I buy online stuff at least twice a week (including organic grocery order) Slings- have a range. People will want to try a few and if they can, they would be more likely to buy (I could only find one to try and that was at eumundi markets- lucky it suited!) Nappies- every type (if possible) and def have first hand experience with them so you can explain in detail. Personally- I would like you to stock organic products (clothing -babies, kids and adults) linen, nappies etc. DIY packs for people who want to make their own nappies (someone on ozebaby sells these- would be easy)
I would also like to see reusable nappy liners (esp silk) and reusable nappy wipes as well as flushable biodegradable ones. And as a few of the other girls have said- woolies! I have yet to see a woolen soaker ANYWHERE but online and I am now officially the biggest fan ever! No more leaks, so soft & so cute! Also good wool etc for those who like to knit their own. I would probably suggest leaflet drops in the areas of lots of families (ie nothlakes- otherwise known as nappy valley, Petrie etc) I think breastfeeding bits and bobs would be great too - hemp breast pads, nipple creams, braclets etc. I did not even know that half the stuff was out there until after I gave up BF.
Basically everything that gremily said too:-D
Washing info esp! Have big posters made up for the store if you open an irl one and then a pamphlet to go with each cloth nappy sale. Def keen on the idea of cloth pads too- yet to see them in retails stores and I love them!

03-12-2006, 06:20
Do you buy online?
Yes
If yes how often?
When I have the money to.

Probably online... I may go to a store to look at a product before buying tho'

All sorts!

Washable liners and Wet bags.

neeky
03-12-2006, 06:29
i only shop online if i absolutely have to! so once ever. and surprise surprise that was to get nappies!!

the keeping the website simple idea is great. it needs to be easy to navigate and easy to download. many a site i did not stick around to see when we were on dial up it was too painful waiting that long. even now i get impatient with some websites, some are just too complicated i think you need a degree to be able to succesfully navigate them! and make sure that it is google-able. my grandpa has an online store for his bonsai nursery and the program or whatever he was goin on about doesnt allow it to be google-able, which means a lot of buisness lost! oh and keep the address simple. something that sticks in peoples minds!

as for what i have trouble finding in the stores. LINERS!!!!!!!!!!! it took me 3 weeks to find some last time i ran out. they didnt have any left in any of the stores i normally got them from. and when i did find them they were hidden in a little corner!:banghead:

i think having an actually shop front is a great idea. IF you can afford it and IF it is viable. Definetely do some in depth research in a few areas near you to see if it really would be viable and what people would be willing to pay for the products.

*Country Bumpkin*
03-12-2006, 09:20
hey Everyone

EI have some exciting news. I have recieved an email from ANOTHER company that sell... waaaait for it....... WOOL SOAKERS:smiliedance: And providing we can negotiate a good price they will be in the store. They are the most beautiful things Ive ever seen. The have flowers and all sorts of different things embriordered on them - I cant wait to speak with the director tomorow!!

Its starting to look like this could really work!:D

jessgray
03-12-2006, 10:22
Do you buy online?yes
If yes how often?alot....

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online?i would probably still shop online easier then carting 2 munchkins into a shop:laughing:
What type of cloth nappies products would you like to see in the store? i want funky covers for boys and snappis,pins,liners....

Is there a particular product that you have trouble finding in the suburban stores??covers!!!
Any suggestions you would like to put forward??do it!:thumbsup:

Lila
03-12-2006, 11:26
Do you buy online? YES
If yes how often? i did a couple of times the last month....

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online?YES, so i could actually SEE and TOUCH what i am buying

What type of cloth nappies products would you like to see in the store? The whole range, although i am a AIO girl

Is there a particular product that you have trouble finding in the suburban stores?? different cloth nappies

Any suggestions you would like to put forward?? not at the moment, but will add that later- for sure :)

Thanks in advance to everyone!!:hugs: WELCOME :D

melfunction
03-12-2006, 11:48
Do you buy online? Yes

If yes how often? Weekly if not more

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online? Yes. I hate shopping in crowds of people.

Example- fitted, All In ones, pockets, nappy pins, wipes etc.... Everything cloth related

No

H&B'sMum
03-12-2006, 13:32
Someone mentioned earlier that they have only seen PUL material online, that's because it can only came from the USA and can take a long time to get here.

Jodie at Nappies Covered sell nappy making kits, that's good selling point.
If you decide to stock slings also make sure you know all about the different styles they are all different and need to be explained properly for them to work for the individual baby and mum.

So glad you are getting responses back from suppliers. If you are trying to get into Nappycino it's down at the moment being moved to a different server, should be back up in the next couple of ideas.

Good luck with it all.

susiehomemaker
03-12-2006, 21:30
Im so excited! I really hope you go ahead with this Adele :-D I think a shop and a website would be the best really (if you can afford it that is- if not just start with an online shop) I would love to see an irl shop- and you are in brissie too so I would be able to shop there (hence my enthusiasm!) I love cloth and everything enviriomentally friendly!!! Sounds like you are getting positive responses/encouragment so far too- Good luck with it! Also, I think if you have a huge range of many different products people will want to shop with you because they wont have to go anywhere else. Just my opinion anyways. It would save postage if bought online and time/effort/petrol if irl. Good luck again!

GreenTreeFrog
03-12-2006, 22:02
Do you buy online? Yes
If yes how often?All the time

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online?rarely shop in stores;online suits me so much better,all the options are in one place; walk in stores are scattered and may be on opposite sides of town, or even country- online means you can buy from anywhere in the world with the touch of a button
What type of cloth nappies products would you like to see in the store? There is an enormous variety of cloth products now and it is constantly changing; I think it is important to only sell products from reputable manufacturers and items you are really familiar with; such as things you have used yourself for long enough to know they really do work

There are a lot of stores already doing what you are considering;the successful ones are probably going to be those where brands have a very good reputation and the store owner is very familiar with all the products-not an easy ask unless you have been using and perhaps making similar things for some time. I would like a dollar for every person who has said "I tried cloth but it didn't work so I gave up".In my opinion these are probably people who did not get the right advice or help as they tried to understand something new.Each product is different and you need a lot of knowledge of them all to be able to successfully promote all the different types, especially to new or "wannabe" cloth users who don't have a clue where to start.
Also I would advise you to be careful whose products you stock , particularly if they are mass produced. I know of only one such brand I would put into a store and would be hesitant about anyone who tried to push their product on me;but then maybe I am just extra cautious

*Country Bumpkin*
04-12-2006, 10:26
Bumpety Bump Bump:D

04-12-2006, 13:55
Do you buy online? Yes
If yes how often?
I used to but every couple of months. But now I have 30 nappies & dh has banned me from buying anymore :o

I would much prefer a store. I hate waiting for the mail. I want it right here & now!!

All of the above. A good variety!!

Covers!! And PUL fabric.

*Country Bumpkin*
04-12-2006, 14:10
You will be pleased to know I am now in contact with a supplier who sells PUL and Im in negotiations as we speak

The range is HUGE and I think you will all really love it- it will be the first lot thats going on the web store which I should tell you I have started working on!!!:yelclap:

OM
04-12-2006, 14:16

I would still do both.

If it was a store just selling cloth nappy related products I would want to see it all in the store to compare.

Online I have no trouble finding what I want - in person that is another story.

AliyahBlake
10-12-2006, 13:33
Do you buy online? Yes!
If yes how often? Frequently maybe 1-4 times a month

If there was a store that was easily accessible via car and public transport with ample parking would you use the store over the internet or would you still prefer the convenience of buying online? Would still buy online....much more convenient.

Example- fitted, All In ones, pockets, nappy pins, wipes etc.... All types would be great

I know I have difficulty finding nappy liners and Snappies!!! Definitely those two items, and sometimes pilchers.

Any suggestions you would like to put forward?? Home delivery service and washing is a great idea.....some companies do this in Sydney but not always to all suburbs (I couldn't find anyone to deliver to Narellan Vale when I had my daughter 2 yrs ago!)