View Full Version : SEPTEMBER BUBS 2006- Summer Chat#1
MrsTwith3
02-12-2006, 08:06
Here we go ladies the start of the Summer thread.
02-12-2006, 08:10
:smiliedance: yay i love summer...except the heat of course:D
well ive converted to cloth nappies....flats... and i love them changing nappies is actually fun:D
and last night zoe didnt even soak through....:smiliedance:
I have a question - how do you decide when to upgrade from newborn nappy size to the next one up? Ripley is still in newborn Huggies, and they go round him fine and never leak, but just lately, he is getting marks from the elastic on his legs/groin. He's not 6kgs yet (I think?).
We had a good night, he fed at midnight and then 5.30am and went back to sleep both times. He's just waking up now at 9.30am.
I'm off shopping today I think.
02-12-2006, 08:29
i changed up to the next nappie size when they are doing up near the edge....then you start again from the middle and make your way out as bub gets bigger...does that make sense:D
Wondermum
02-12-2006, 10:21
WooHoo.... a nice fresh thread to start summer off - good thinking Mel ;)
I think... maybe... Rylan might be heading into another growth spurt? He was feeding a great deal from me yesterday and the past two nights he has been waking every 2-3 hours - usually he had been having the big 5-6 hour block.
B-J what do you use with your cloths for absorption? I have so many cloths of all sorts here and have never used them because I need to be educated :o I have flats and toweling fitted nappies with pockets and plastic nappy cover etc... I need some education on what to do with them???
Mia - I think the Huggies Newborns go up to 5 kg. I used them until about then and then I switched to infant as I didn't really didn't want to be squeezing Rylan's little porkers into a tight fitting nappy. They grow so fast it's sometimes a little disappointing when you need to graduate up to the next size :yes: Comfort is always a factor for me when determining nappy sizes. You also don't want to keep buying the small size then find out you really need the next size up and then end up with excess newborns left over.
DellaWellaWoman
02-12-2006, 10:42
Morning all
I feel great!!
Bed at 11:30
Expressed 7:30
Awake 8:30 :yelclap: & fed EBM by daddy
Me up at 9:30
She usually wakes up at 5:30 for a feed then back to bed until about 8 but skipped that feed this morning!!
Pty I had to express, but hey...
We stopped using newborn nappies when she was about 4kg - the next size up are still a bit too big but we're managing.
We generally use cloth nappies at home during the day and disposables att night and when out. I've got terry flats and some pocket nappies (Pea Pods (http://www.peapods.com.au/store/Default.asp)).
For different folds check out The Nappy Lady (http://www.thenappylady.co.uk/Advice/Instructions.asp?InstructionID=2). I use the bat/butterfly/chinese fold at the moment with Mother Ease (http://www.nipnaps.com.au/products/covers.shtml) nappy covers.
Hoping to get out again today for a walk - went last night after DH got home while he baby-watched :D
Have a great day everyone!
DellaWellaWoman
02-12-2006, 12:39
Two-handed typing so I'd better be quick!
I've been busy this morning - amazing how much you can get done when (a) you've had some sleep and (b) you've got daddy on baby-watching duty - she's currently on her playmat playing with "spider" :)
I've done a load of washing, washed some dishes plus stacked and turned on the dishwasher, cooked some lactation boosting bikkies (had mix in the freezer so all I had to do was chop it up and stick it on the tray) and some bacon & cheese muffins which I use for lunches on the days Brylee doesn't want to be put down.
Phew, maybe I should sit down with a decaf & read the paper now!! She's still happily amusing herself, so I figure I might as well relax while I can!
Regarding play, she's definitely more interested in the world now - we do sitting on our lap facing out (she was fascinated by the cricket yesterday!), playmat playing with spider & caterpillar (soft toys), in her rocker where she kicks to make it move, and in the last few days of hot weather we've had LOTS of nappy free time on a towel on the tile floor playing with soft toys again.
In the pram now she wants to sit up rather than lay down most of the time and seems to be taking in the passing scenery.
I've also started putting on some kids CD's (dance ones for older kids) and she seems to love the boppy beat so we sing & "dance" along...Poor neighbours, I can't sing to save myself but she loves it so I'm thinking I'll make the most of it - it won't be too long before she's going "sshhhhhhhhhh Mum, you're embarassing me!"
Hope everyone else is having a good-ish day :)
YAY BJ :smiliedance: Its fun changing cloth nappies hey :yes:
I'll join this thread...cant believe bub is nearly 3 months already
DellaWellaWoman
02-12-2006, 13:19
Hi Zaras mum :)
Damien's just gorgeous!!!
hey
thank you,your bub is too:)
02-12-2006, 13:26
For different folds check out The Nappy Lady (http://www.thenappylady.co.uk/Advice/Instructions.asp?InstructionID=2). I use the bat/butterfly/chinese fold at the moment with Mother Ease (http://www.nipnaps.com.au/products/covers.shtml) nappy covers.
!
thats the fold im using to, its great:D
wonder mum i just use this fold, and put on a wool cover for night,,,it was great......i was lucky that a bubhubber sent me some nappy things for free, so it was a great start:D
Gosh you guys have been busy in the new thread! :eek:
Don't have a lot of time - we're having friends round for tea tonight and tomorrow I have all the in-laws coming round. Got baking and cooking to tend to! :chef:
We finally got Alex a swing today - my sister gave us one from her little boy who barely used his, but it was a coupla years old and not quite as up to date as some of the gorgeous one's out today. So we splurged on a Fisher Price one and it's soooo cute! Swings side to side as well as front to back, plays music, toys move, etc etc. Alex fell straight to sleep :sleeping: Don't quite know if that was the plan but never mind!
Here's a couple pics of Alex in his 'big boy cot', and his swing...oh - and a few cutie shots!!! :D :
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_0876.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_1033.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_1032.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_0940.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_0995.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_1021.jpg
Valosgirls
02-12-2006, 15:43
Oooh new thread how neat!!:yes:
Took Harrison to the Docs for his checkup yesterday and the little porker has gained 1.7kilos in 3wks 4days!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No wonder he is well into 00 clothing. LOL I couldnt believe it.
Kim - Love your pics - I love that swing too!! I wanted it but I dont have enough room for it unfortunately. I settled for the Papasan which is basically just the seat part of your swing with music and vibrations. He hates it :laughing: Im hoping he will get more used to it though.
Zarasmum - Welome!:wave: and gorgeous bub:thumbsup:
Cass - you just have to share your toblerone recipe with us - my DH is nuts for anything toblerone!! I cant believe how long Logan slept for - WELL DONE!! I hope he keeps it up for you.
Hey Mel - Im doing great. Just starting my pre-Christmas spring clean before I set up the tree and decorations. Such fun!! Also have done quiet a bit of shopping too - so the bags are mounting up to be wrapped. I love wrapping so much. How you are you today?
Ok back in a mo for more personals.....
Kim, those pictures are great and Alex is so sweet. He is obviously thriving and happy. He has a rounder face but as little hair as Ripley, heh.
Riki, DP made a batch of chocolate cake/muffins today, I will tell him to use your recipe next time! Your bubs sure is huge, well done!
MrsTwith3
02-12-2006, 19:30
Howdy Ladies,
Glad you found the thread, it could of gotten quite boring very quickly for me if noone came in to post...lol
Riki Hooley dooley what are you feeding that boy of yours???? He is doing soooo well. Must be all the great food you eat...lol. 00's already! I went through Noah's drawers yesterday and sorted the mess out and packed away all the 0000's and some of the smaller 000's that dont fit or he wont wear. I havent braved the huge bag of 00's yet, they can wait till after xmas.
Kim Alex is such a cute and happy looking little man. Love the swing. We borrowed a friends one for Noah and he doesnt like it, whereas when Callan was a bub he would fall asleep on the 2nd swing...lol
Mia How are you and Ripley going today? I had to put Noah up into the infant size when he was 4 weeks old as he was too round in the belly and they would leak.
Debbie Wow what a great night you had. I bet you feel refreshed after a sleep like that.
Cass Yippee to Logan being a good boy and sleeping so well for you. It must be cause he knows his daddy is home...lol
Zarasmum Hi and welcome. What a little cutie you have there.
BJ Good for you on the cloth nappies. Im too lazy to use them even though I had every intention of using them this time.
Jess Rylan and Noah seem to be in sync with each other when it comes to growth spurts. Noah has been the same for a couple of days now too. Im not looking forward to when he slows down as my poor ( . )( . ) are filling up so quick now that when he stops they will leak everywhere.
We have been up at my parents place all day for family day. We get together with my parents and my sister and her kids every fortnight for a BBQ.
I have a ? for anyone wanting to answer it. I started taking the mini pill on Monday before I had AF return and now since yesterday I have started to spot and is slowly getting heavier(sorry TMI). After having DS1 I didnt start the mini pill till AF returned around 4.5months. Has anyone else had AF return (those that are BF) or had it return once they started taking th mini pill? TIA
Kangaskippy
02-12-2006, 19:51
No AF for me yet...I am BF exclusively...so am not looking forward to it at all, am hoping for a BFP instead!!! yeah...:smiliedance:
Wondermum
02-12-2006, 19:53
Deb thanks for the site info on the cloths. Had a quick look at the different types of folds - there are quite a few! I will have a good look later... try and educate myself a little more.
B-J thanks for your info too on the cloth nappies.
I had put a cloth nappy on Rylan with a cover similar to the Mother Ease ones quite a few weeks ago and within 20 mins it was wet through! My question... do you need some sort of booster thingy in them for absorbency and can you get them from the supermarket???
Hi zarasmum welcome - times flies when your extra busy doesn't it!
Kim, I love the cot it is very nice :thumbsup: Alex looks really comfy and cozy in his new rocker too - good choice again, I have heard some great feedback on this particular rocker. Oh and love your :tree: it's beautiful!!!
Rik doesn't it make you feel great to know you looking after your baby so well from your own supplies. I can't believe the way Rylan is porkin up - just amazing!!! Anyways well done :chef: must be that great Gluteus Maximus Chocolate Cake you make, LOL. Oh and that reminds me I must make the time to bake one very soon!
Mel sounds like you had a lovely day out with the family today. Noah is spurting too! OMG I tell you it’s tuff when they have these spurts you realize how easy going they are when they are just pacing themselves along. I might have to make some of those lacto cookies and slip in some choc chips. I think I need to build the supply up for him again. Hope they sleep well for us tonight :fingerscrossed:
MrsTwith3
03-12-2006, 08:45
Morning everyone
We had a better night last night. Down at 7pm, up at 2am then back up at 6am. I really need to wash the sheets on my bed now though as they have a huge milk patch from a very leaky engorged ( . )...lol
I guess that is to be expected when you have a bub that has 2 days of constant feeding then back to a normal routine.
I hope you have all been having a great weekend.
Wondermum
03-12-2006, 09:02
Morning all,
We had a good night last night. Rylan went down at 8:15pm woke at 2:45am then again at 6:30am and still sleeping. I was thinking he may have been a little out of sorts from his immunizations on Tuesday.
Oh, I forgot to mention my slightly embarrassing moment last week when I was out shopping. Rylan only had a very quick feed from me when he woke that morning - just wasn't too interested in feeding, so off we went to hit the shops. I got the kids out of the car and started walking up to the shopping centre and this youngish guy say's something to me as he walks past :confused: I had no idea what he said I just kept pushing the pram into the store. I was browsing around and went to reach for something on the shelf and felt wetness on my arm. I looked down :eek: surely not :yes: one of my ( .)(. ) were leaking! This is the first time in out in public that this has happened to me as before we go out Rylan usually has had a good feed. I will know next time to pop in some breast pads before heading out after a quick feed. I'm wondering if that guy I passed on the way in was commenting on my lactating ( .)(. )????
Mel glad to hear you had a good night too. Our bubs must be in sync with each other :yes:
How are all you other mummies going?
Jess that is funny. Yesterday I went to a maternity shop to buy a couple of new things for bf - a singlet top and a soft bra. While I was in the change room, sure enough: letdown. So there I was holding a breast pad to my dripping nipple and waiting for it to stop so I could continue trying stuff on. The things we do!
We had a good night, feeding at about midnight and 4.30am, after which DP settled him and I didn't get up until after 8!
03-12-2006, 11:13
kimmy i love your cot :D
leaky boobs:laughing:
i went out last night so dh was at home with all 3 girls for the first time.....he was fine:smiliedance: ...great, cause that means i can get out again:D
jess,i dont use any boosters, but you can get them....check out the cloth nappy section here, theres heaps of links...
zoe's stiil being an angel...she's trying to talk, its so cute, she loves looking at the xmas tree too, she'll just sit there for an hour...better then tv.lol
DellaWellaWoman
03-12-2006, 14:17
I had put a cloth nappy on Rylan with a cover similar to the Mother Ease ones quite a few weeks ago and within 20 mins it was wet through! My question... do you need some sort of booster thingy in them for absorbency and can you get them from the supermarket???
It just goes to show how super absorbent the stuff in disposables is, doesn't it??
If you try different nappy folds and still have a problem you can buy boosters (often used at night), or you can cheat and use a face washer or similar to see how you go (if it works, facewashers are a lot cheaper than specialty boosters!). Another option might be to use two cloth nappies? A bit bulky, but it might work?
Also remember not to use fabric softener on your cloth nappies as it reduces their absorbency, and don't overdo the detergent either :)
Re AF and the minipill, I still haven't had anything, and I'm exclusively b/f - and I hope it stays away too!!
MrsTwith3
03-12-2006, 19:07
Gee its quiet in here today. I hope its because your all out having a blast with your lovely families. I was at home all day as DH was at work. I did duck out to the shop this morning as I had to go and buy some tampons:thumbsdown: . I thought I wouldnt have to worry about AF for atleast another couple of months but oh no stupid me got scard and started taking the mini pill. Oh well at least I know Im not pregnant:laughing:
BJ Lucky you having a night out. We were invited to a house warming party last night but it was an hours drive away and my kids are to into there routines to have them messed around with to much.
Mia How funny the dripping boob in the change room. Sounds like you had a good night with Ripley.
Debbie I hope your lucky enough to not have AF visit for months and months yet.
Cassie Wow it sounds like Logan has finally got the whole sleeping thing figured out. Enjoy your dinner out tonight. You will have to let us know what yummy things you have to eat.
Jess Got to love the leaking ( . )( . ) out in public. It has happened to me once with Noah but it used to happen all the time with Callan. Have you made the lactation boosting cookies yet? I need to make another batch tommorrow as I ran out a few days ago. Re: the cloth nappies. I have a nappy stacker full of them but dont use them as I have enough washing now as it is. I had every intention of using them but I got heaps of huggies as gifts when I had Noah and never got round to using the clothies on him. I do stick one under his bum when he is having no nappy time on his playmat. Mind you he wriggles around so much that he misses the nappy and gets it on the floor...lol
Well better go and fold some washing that went through the dryer as we had some lovely rain here today.
Wondermum
03-12-2006, 21:19
Evening..... it sure has been quiet here today. DH and I have had a busy day spring cleaning.... yeah I know we're a few weeks late, lol. It's amazing how much needs doing when you get stuck into it!
Rylan was having a good old babble and squeal tonight - he was 'GOING OFF' LOL. Was really funny watching him as he was getting really excited in his rocker and moving his legs really fast like he was about to take off on a flying bike :laughing: then he would let out this high pitch squeal then babble a bit more.... and work himself up again, lol. So by the time this little episode ended it was about 9:30pm before he went down for the night tonight.
Mel - Arrrggghh to the return of AF - tis rather early indeed. No signs of AF for me yet and still bf, although I had been getting some niggley pains that I wasn't too certain of???? I really should get that test soon huh :rolleyes: I haven't done any baking for a while but I'm really hanging for Riki's Gluteus Maximus Chocolate Cake... Mmmm nice moist rich..... Ahhh insert *drool* emotions, Ahhh Oooh.....cravings :eek: I was super hungry tonight too. After having a bowl of apricot chicken and rice for dinner I had a muesli bar and some corn chips after! I will be baking the lacto cookies as soon as I find some brewers yeast - I was looking for it in the supermarket today where all the home brew gear is and couldn't find any?????
Deb - thanks for your advice and tips on the clothies, much appreciated ;-)
B-J lucky you with your night out! Rylan loves looking at our Xmas tree too, something new for him to study inside since his 10 weeks out in the world.
Mia - I'm glad to hear I'm not the only one with leaking ( .)(. ) in public, at least you had the breast pads on you tho.... how embarrassing for Mwa walking through the shopping center with a big wet circle around my ( . ) :o
Cass - Wow Logan is sleeping really well now. If he went down a bit later for you you wouldn't need to get up during the night to feed him, but on the upside with him down by 4:00pm you would be able to have an uninterrupted dinner - gotta love that!!!! Hope you have a nice dinner out tonight too.
Oh I love the leaky boob stories! I still have slightly leaking boobs sometimes, even though Alex hasn't fed off me in 3 weeks :confused: THought I would have 'dried up' by now? He won't drink EBM anymore or else I'd continue expressing, so now I just want my boobs back to normal!
Cassie Logan is definitely making up for lost time with all the sleeping he didn't do in the first few weeks! You must be loving the sleep you're catching up on!
Hmmm, being that I never 'exclusively' BF (always had formula top ups) and I haven't fed in 3 weeks, shouldn't AF have returned?? I haven't started the pill yet although I have a script for it. And no - there's no chance of a :bfp:!
Riki Harrison has had one MASSIVE spurt!!! That's fantastic. He's obviously thriving and loving his mummies milk!!
It really does sound like all the bubs are getting into routines now and sleeping beautifully. Big :smiliedance:!!!!
Thanks for all the lovely comments on Alex! He sure does bring a smile to our face!! :yes: And he loved all the attention he got from his Nonna and Opa today! He's the only grandchild on DH's side, so he gets extra spoilt!
Hope everyone had a GREAT weekend!
04-12-2006, 06:42
:D morning guess what.....me and dh are going to try and concieve a son...yep thats right bub number four....so anyone know of a nice girls name:D :laughing:
MrsTwith3
04-12-2006, 07:37
Morning ladies:wave:
BJ Holy Smokes going for another already. My hats off to you. I will keep my :fingerscrossed: that you conceive the little boy that your DH wants and that you have a very healthy and happy pregnany.
Jess Yes please get that test soon as Im just dying to know (sticky beak arent I?). Good on you for spring cleaning. Im finding I cant get a few extra bits and pieces of cleaning done during the day now that Noah is in a pretty good routine. As for the brewers yeast you will have to get it from a health food shop, same as the flaxseed meal (lindseed meal).
Cassie That meal sounded yummy. Yes routines do make it harder to get out at times. Saying that we are in a routine doesnt really limit us to going out so much during the day its more the evenings and nights as Noah seems to "know" when its his bath time etc.
Kim Grandparents are great at spoiling the little ones arent they. I remember my mum always complaining about one of my nans always spoiling us and would cuddle us if we had just gotten into trouble. Guess what my mum does with my kids? Yep she is exactly the same...lol. I could still get milk out of my boobs after I finished b/f Callan about 3-4 months later. Not huge amounts but enough to know I could of started to relactate quite easily.
Rik Where are you lovey??? Has daylight savings thrown you out? Hope your well and we get to chat to you soon.
Hi to everyone else that I havent mentioned.
Kangaskippy
04-12-2006, 07:56
Hi all, hope you had a lovely weekend, sounds like bub's are getting the hang of sleeping!!! yippeee..
Had my little brothers 25th birthday party last night which was a lovely evening as my SIL cooked up a storm and we ate outside, she set everything up so nicely..it was a dream to be waited on as she dished out all meals etc...such a sweety...
Jack was on his best behaviour and looked very cute all rugged up...and everyone passed him around and took heaps of pics of him...
sort of messed up his 7pm sleep time but when we got home at 11.30pm he feed and was asleep by 12am and didn't wake up till 8am...:angel: and is now just laying in bed sucking his fingers...hehehehe
also I got him weighed last week and he is now 6.62kg @ 11wks...:smiliedance:
Wondermum
04-12-2006, 08:40
Good morning :)
Rylan was great last night and woke at the usual intervals.
B-J :eek: Whaaa??? I thought you had given up on more children. Oh congrats anyway, the more the merrier I say and :fingerscrossed: for a baby blue for you all.
Cass - sounds like you had a nice night out and enjoyed some yummy food!
Kim - I wouldn't worry AF hasn't returned yet. If you are certain your not pregnant then I'd be enjoying life without it for now. It will probably come to visit you soon when your hormones settle.
Mel - I too don't like to disturb Rylan's routine he has going in the evening - I'm loving the fact that I get a few hours to myself in the evening before I go to bed. Thanks for letting me know where to get my ingredients for the cookies from. I know I should get down to the chemists and get a test but I just keep thinking.... Nah I couldn't possibly? and it just keeps getting put on the back burner iykwim. DH said to me last night that I might be feeding the new baby with the hunger I have had lately but b/f also makes you hungry too. I can't explain the pains tho - unless AF is on it's way for me too? Didn't you say you got them a while ago?
KS - sounds like you had a nice evening with family yesterday. Jack seems to be growing lovely too - well done :thumbsup:
missneriss
04-12-2006, 08:54
Hi everyone! Just popping in for a quick check of what's been happening.
Leaky boobs... what a hassle. I kept forgetting to wear breast pads at first and got a few strange looks! That let-down feeling in public makes me panic a bit!
We flew to Sydney for a wedding over the weekend - Jasper's first interstate trip. It was stressful but not as disastrous as I'd thought! He was an angel on the plane- I just BF him for the whole flight. And he slept right through the ceremony (what I was most worried about - "Does anyone have a reason that this couple should not be joined in holy matrimony?".... "WAHHHHHH"). The wedding was at the Sebel, and we stayed there too. So we had a babysitter in our room and I kept going up every hour to check. It was great.
I tell you what though, I'm glad to be home.
No AF for me either... but I've had a few crampy feelings.
Speaking of cloth nappies, have you guys tried the all-in-ones? They're great. Jasper wears them at night and they never get soaked through. You don't have to fuss around with covers either, because it's all built in.
i think ive completed my cloth stash for now :yes: havent tried AIO though.
glad to hear everyones bubs are well. Damien sleeps through 8pm-6am:D he giggles when he gets udressed so cute hehe
BabyClancy
04-12-2006, 10:18
hey ladies
we're back from our trip to visit the relos. i'm glad to be home. it's so exhausting having to go visit so many people and it was really hot the whole time we were away. harry was a little :angel: while travelling in the car but had a few nights when he was a little :devil6: because he was overtired.
i got engaged while i was away:D after dp and i have been together for 6 and 1/2 years, we finally got engaged. dp asked me while we were eating lunch in the park at the exact same picnic table where we first met.
i haven't had time to catch up on everything that happened while i was away but i hope everyone's babies are doing well.
Valosgirls
04-12-2006, 10:27
First of all let me just say.....
FAR OUT BJ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!THATS SOOOOO EXCITING!!!:smiliedance: Man I never thought for a moment that you would round #4 - thats just great. If you really want a boy you have got to do the deed as close to your ovulation day as possible. Have you ever charted your temps and such? I charted-worked out the day I O'd and we got our boy. I read the book "how to chooose the sex of your baby" and it worked a treat.
Morning Mel - Im doing great - had such a busy weekend but that seems to be the norm here lol. The daylight savings has thrown me a bit today - the only clock I havent changed is the computer one and Im sure if I dont do it right now that DD2 will get picked up from kindy an hour late :laughing: Got a busy week ahead with school wrapping up and plays/presentations etc to go to. Also listing some of my maternity wear on eBay( sob sob) didnt want to but I have sooo much of it and nothing to wear in my regular sized wardrobe! Hope you are having a nice day.
Hey Cass - LOL about you changing your clocks!! ha ha it really does mess you around a bit doesnt it? No wonder I was so tired when I went to bed last night. Ooooh and THANK YOU for that lovely food description!! mmmm mmmmm makes me want to go out now too.
Kim - Yep your breast milk can stay there for AGES! I hadnt fed in 3yrs and I could always squeeze out a little drop even then - wierd hey? Dont stress about AF - she'll rear her ugly head soon enough LOL.
Man Jess! You sure have an appetite there LOL - anyone would think you were me:laughing: Go the BFP I say!! ha ha oh but only if you were wanting it of course. I cant wait til Harrison is sqealing like you described Rylan - he is just getting into the cooing bit but nothing really loud yet.
Oh I hear you all on the leaky boobie stories too!! I forgot to wear pads yesterday and the got the BIGGEST letdown known to mankind ------RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF CHURCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NOT a good look you know - wet white shirts are really not 'Church' wear - especially when you are the Pianist!! LOL Ohhhh now Im going to start laughing again..................................
Hey, everyone. I'm surprised so many of you use cloth nappies - good on you. Can I ask why though? Is it environment, or baby comfort or cost or what? I'm using disposables and thought most people did these days (?)
We had a good night, except he fed at 2.30am and then started "waking up" from 4.30am onwards - fed him at 5.30am. No sleeping through the night for this little guy yet.
Immunisations tomorrow, I am a bit ambivalent about it but I guess it is the best way to go.
i switched to cloth cos every sposie i tried leaked :thumbsdown: and cos theyre cute to hehe.
Damien has immunisations on wed im not looking forward to that either
DellaWellaWoman
04-12-2006, 12:30
Congratulations Shan!!!!
and :eek: at TTC #4 BJ - I'm struggling with one, I can't imagine how you do it with three, let alone 4!! :fingerscrossed: you get the boy you want.
I use cloth nappies for environmental/budget reasons, and I drypail so it isn't really all that much of a drama, just an extra load of washing every second day or so. Oh yeah, and as Zaras mum said, they're cute (although a lot of baby clothes aren't designed to fit over cloth nappies!!)
Cassie I'm still between maternity (falling down around my ankles) and pre-pregnancy (not a hope in hell) clothes too.
I bought a couple of pairs of pants after I lost most of the pregnancy fluid and one pair is too big now which I guess means I've lost some weight, but I'm thinking I might need to get some more bigger clothes :crying: - this whole breastfeeding thing doesn't seem to be doing it for me!
Better stop there or this will be an essay so have a great day all
BabyClancy
04-12-2006, 15:57
unfortunately cass we won't be getting married any time soon. not for about 3 years. we need to save money first. but on the bright side i have plenty of time to plan my fairytale wedding. i had to wait about 4 weeks from the time we got the ring for him to propose, i was starting to wonder if he was going to chicken out.
mia and zarasmum, harry has immunisations on thursday too. must be the week for it.
i hear you all on the clothes issue. i'm starting to fit back into my old clothes but still have the jelly belly. i'm going to be desperately trying to loose it now though as we have a wedding to go to on december 30. i don't want to look like i'm pregnant, and as we won't be taking harry it won't be obvious that i just had a baby. anyone have any good weight-lose tips? i'll be doing plenty of walking, ab work and drinking plenty of water over the next couple of weeks i think.
Hi all :wave:
Had a busy day shopping today plus made a quick trip to the Drs (all is well!).
Thanks for the reassurance bout the boobies still leaking and the AF not returning! Feel better knowing it's all normal.
Congrats SHan on the engagement! How exciting :smiliedance:. Good luck on the weight loss for the wedding at the end of December - you can do it!
BJ - :fingerscrossed: you get your boy! The power of positive thinking may just work in conjunction with the usual theories!
Cassie your meal sounds delicious! Makes me hungry! I have no intention of cooking for the next 3 days though as DH is interstate again. Easy meals for me that involve no washing up are a goer!
Wow - the swing was definitely our best purchase EVER! Every time Alex gets in it, he laughs at himself in the mirror for a bit, then falls asleep, and stays there for hours if I let him!
Loving the spare time I get!
BBL
Wondermum
04-12-2006, 17:40
Riki.......Riki :wave:
I've been rather busy this arvo :chef:
I have just pulled off your recipe for that chocolate cake. It's cooling on the kitchen bench as I type. It looks like the BEST chocolate cake I have ever made!!!! I'm so proud of myself, lol. It's stands so tall and looks yummo!!! My cakes usually don't turn out that well - so thanks heaps and I'll let you all know just how delicious it is after the taste test :D I'm only having salad tonight for dinner so I can have an extra large slice for desert :laughing: Mmmm...Mmmm!!!
Wondermum
04-12-2006, 21:03
Evening ladies,
Ahhh…. The chocolate cake was VERY NICE indeed :thumbsup: Thanks again Rik.
DH had a Flex day today so we were out and about. I picked up Rylan’s Pixi Photo’s….Awww I’m so pleased, he looks so adorable and he is smiling big smiles!
Kim – so glad you are happy with Alex’s swing, it’s great knowing you have spent your money on something worth while for them. It did look very comfy in the photo – I think if I could squeeze into it I’d be setting up camp too!
Shan – CONGRATS on your engagement! Good to have you back. Some good weight loss tips... for me would be stay away from anything chocolate, get my but on the walking machine that cost a fortune that is sitting there gathering dust, drink plenty of water and eat healthy….you can try it if you like? If you can behave and have the will power to stick to a liver detox diet for 2-3 weeks they are really good at helping you drop about 5-10kg in a short time. Then after just stay on a healthy eating plan. I love to do one soon but I'm b'f so I can't :banghead: My DH is going to do one soon. He has done them in the past and has lost 10kg at a time, but was also training to go through the Fire Brigade.
Nerissa – good to Jasper was an angel for you while you were away. I wish I got a let down feeling in my ( .)(. ) so I could tell when I needed to fix them up. I have a strong let down when bubs is attached *splutter…cough* but don’t feel much at all. I haven’t tried the all-in-ones, they sound good. Where did you get them from Nerissa?
Danielle – Damien’s sleeping some great hours – you must be feeling tops!
Rik – Oh no… poor you with the wet t-shirt look in church of all places! Do you feel your let down? I think my car seat belt may have triggered mine last week.
Mia – all the best for you with the Ripley’s needles tomorrow. Be brave for your bubba, he’ll be right.
Deb – I put Rylan in a terry this afternoon after his nappy free time. I used the Maira’s fold for boys. It worked well, thanks for the link again. I wasn’t using a good fold for him when I put one on him a while ago. I should put him in clothies more often as he is the ideal clothie bub – doesn’t poo every day, so I don’t have to worry about cleaning #2 off his nappies.
Cass – how did shopping go?
Mel - how's your day been today?
Sammy - How are you and Abbey going?
Lee - What goodies did you get in your Castle hampers.... Ahhh second thoughts better not tel me. How are you and you two bambino's?
Gail - How are you coping hun? How has Alex been?
Liz - How are things going for you guys.... busy?
BFK - How are you and Amelia?
Mmmmm - chocolate cake - I want I want!!!! I made a passionfruit cake for the in laws yesterday, and hoped there'd be some leftovers for me to enjoy later, but of course every last crumb got polished off so now I am CRAVING cake! Must be pregnant :eek::eek::eek::laughing:
Wondermum
04-12-2006, 22:04
Just heard there has been an earthquake in Taree - I think this is where Sammy is - I hope your o.k. hun :hugs:
Sammy let us know you're ok!
Aaaaaah, anyone else completely over these 2/3 am feeds? I really thought Alex would have dropped it by now, but he's never slept through one yet! Right now he's grunting away in his cot, as I'm trying to get him back to sleep after his feed. Unfortunately he always fully wakes for these feeds, so then I've got the whole settling process to contend with as well. I dreamfed him at 10.45pm, so I really would have thought he would go longer than this. Maybe I shouldn't post when I'm REALLY tired and grumpy in the future!
Hope everyone else's bubbas are letting them catch plenty of :sleeping:!!!
05-12-2006, 05:18
i feel for those of you still having to wake up at night...you must be tired:eek:
zoe went top bed at 7:30 last night and woke up about 5:30 today....yep im loving my sleep, hope you all start getting some soon too:thumbsup:
filmgirlgail
05-12-2006, 07:07
Just found this thread. Hopefully will BBL for personals but Alex is still waking a lot during the night - not for feeds but grizzly or something so I"m up every 1.5-2 hours last night. Yesterday I think was his best day ever tho, only cried when hungry or tired. He's started going about 6 hours between bottles in the day - just between lunch and dinner - anyone else have this. Still no routine to speak of. The electic swing helps too.
However, did have anight off with DH"s :tree: do with MIL babysiting over night!!!
And DD and I decorated the :tree: which she loves :D. Oh and I"ve lost 5 kg so far, just another 20 to go!!
MrsTwith3
05-12-2006, 08:26
Morning Chickadees
Another good night here thank goodness. Noah went down just before9pm, up at 4am then back up just after 6am. He is back asleep again now...woohoo.
I even dragged my butt off to bed reasonably early for me..10:30pm.
We are off to the MIL today.
Cass that chicken sounds yummy. Good to hear Loagn is still sleeping well for you. On the clingy thing, Noah looks around for me when other people hold him. He is ok if Im in view. My other 2 were like that too. Its just a stage most bubs go through. Mind you with Callan I still have him hanging off me all the time. He doesnt even let his dad change his nappy or get him drinks if Im around..."Mummy do it" is his favourite saying.
Jess Mmmmmm chocolate cake. I hope you had a big piece to make up for only having salad for dinner. How are your boys doing?
Shan A huge CONGRATUALTIONS to you on your engagement. Welcome back too.
Gail Its great when the baby is so happy and contented during the day isnt it. How was your night off and your DH xmas party?
Kim That feed is a real killer isnt it. I dont have any tips on how to get him to sleep through bit longer for you. Hopefully soon enough he will just do it. Does he completely wake at that time or is it just more of a grizzle? Have you tried settling him without actually feeding him? Sorry not much help really am I.
BJZoe sounds like a dream bub with all the sleeping she does at night. Lets hope your next one will be the same.:laughing:
Rik Is everyone better now? Howare Harrison and the girls going? What are you upto today?
Well best be off to wash my sheets with all the big milk patches on them before we go visiting.
Hi to Liz, Lee, Mia, Nerissa, BFK, Belinda,Deb, Danielle,Sammy and everyone that I am sure to have forgotten...lol
Have a great day all
filmgirlgail
05-12-2006, 09:23
OK - probably going to be a big post as I"m heading back to the start of this thread to try to catch up with everyone.
BJ - you're mad TTC again already. But then we knew that. Good luck and I hope you get your boy.
Cassie - Congrats on that HUGE sleep from Logan - can he chat to Alex for me??
Debbie - Glad Brylee likes the music. We're not allowed to sing!! DD always tells us to "STOP" when we try to sing nusery rhymes but to be honest I'd rather not sing tahn sing them 200 times a day. We put our foot down when it's our music and sing all we like in the car!
KIm - love the piccies. He looks so small in his cot! We bought a FP swing too but as they only last til 6 months we bought the one that turns into a feeding chair and a toddler rocker to make the most of it.
Shan - how lovely. Congratulations!!
RIKI - where's the recipie for chocolate cake?????
OK that wasn't as bad as I thought and NO INTERUPTIONS from the kids. So just quickly. Had a great time at DH's Christmas do - he's the boss so I was on best behaviour and didn't drink as I didn't feel like it, but pigged out on food but luckily stayed the same weight as last week which is great. just what I hoped for. HOwever, I did have to wear granny tummy holding in pants :D but they work!!! Just washing them now as we're taking his manager out for dinner on Thursday so will need them again. I was planning to join my gym this week but Alex just isnt' sleeping thru the night. Last night
Down at 8:30, grizzly at 11:45, 1:15, then just got him into bed with me (a habit I want to break soon) and he was on and off until 6am. DD woke up at 5:15 crying, but luckily she's easy to settle as she can tell you waht's wrong.
Oh and ladies, we bought a bumbo seat for DD which was great. Can't wait to use it for DS when he starts sitting up by himself. http://www.bumbo.com.au/
Alex has just kind of self settled. I got him to sleep in about 2 mins this morning, then put him to bed but he woke up so I gave him his dummy, put him on his side and went to have my shower and he was just going off when I got out!! DOn't know how long he's down for tho - could be 10 mins or 2 hours!
As for play time, he loves looking at our CDs!! Or watching his sister - I'm so glad they love each other. He goes on his playmat for ages and his swing for about 20-30 mins. Or we just chat to eachother - he's cooing and I love it!!
Hi to everyone else!! This is the longest I've been on the PC for over a week I think and still NO INTERRUPTIONS so Alex has been asleep for an hour and Jess is still in front of the telly. Time to go and turn it off and have some girlie time with her.
Have a nice day everyone.
filmgirlgail
05-12-2006, 09:31
Oh and DD is in pants today!!! We're in all day and she wears them all day at daycare but not at home - apparently quite common - I think it's an attention thing at the moment. But :fingerscrossed: we go well today with them.
missneriss
05-12-2006, 10:38
Hey all, just a quick hello today as the little monster is grizzling. He's in a very strange mood today and keeps pulling off my ( . )( . ) and crying. He won't sleep for longer than an hour either :(
I'm spewing because I have a friend coming over who's never seen him, and she'll think I have a nightmare child (partly true!)
I think my supply is low. Does anyone have any hints? I've been expressing as much as I can but only get a couple of drops.
Re the cloth nappies - we use them for environmental reasons, and also because at night he sleeps through with no leaks!
Mia – all the best for you with the Ripley’s needles tomorrow. Be brave for your bubba, he’ll be right. I was hopeless, it was a bit embarrassing actually. I cried the whole way through it. The way he flinched in pain when the needles went in and then screamed in protest, it was the most heartbreaking thing. Lucky DP was there and held him, as I was a mess. He is asleep in his cot now and doesn't seem to have any adverse effects so far.
Aaaaaah, anyone else completely over these 2/3 am feeds? I really thought Alex would have dropped it by now, but he's never slept through one yet! Kim, we are still waking every night but I am very patient and don't mind. Sending you good vibes!
shopping was a nightmare. I am only a size 10, but have F size ( . ) ( . )...so its impossible to find something I can wear a bra with in this years stupid fashions!
Ugh, I am the same - size 10 but with DD (now E) breasts and it is hard enough to find nice looking bras or bikini tops too. I think if you have big breasts you are supposed to be a granny or something.
RIKI - where's the recipie for chocolate cake?????haha it is on page 56 of the old thread, I wrote it down so I could go back to it!!!
I think my supply is low. Does anyone have any hints? The ABA type people just say to feed more if you want to make more, and that your supply will catch up eventually - but I don't know if it works in every case...
Oh also Bronnyjane thanks for the tip on nappy upsizing. I just put him in his first Infant size nappy and feed proud and sad at the same time. Also he didn't gain all that much weight in the last two weeks, but I'm not too worried, will just keep an eye on it.
05-12-2006, 17:14
I think my supply is low. Does anyone have any hints? I!
theres a thread in the bf section....lactation boosting cookies...worth a try:D
DellaWellaWoman
05-12-2006, 17:57
theres a thread in the bf section....lactation boosting cookies...worth a try:D
Yep, the lactation boosting cookies are good (I've made them with both the choc chips as per the recipe, and I've substituted almonds & dried apricots), and you can also try things like fenugreek or milk thistle tablets, and of course supply = demand so you could try expressing after some/most feeds or offering extra feeds to the normal ones - check the ABA website for more info as there's heaps there.
Brylee went to bed at 10:30 last night :smiliedance: but then woke up at 3am for a feed *sigh* then up at 7am and into bed with me for an hour or so. Can't complain too much I guess, she's very easy to settle (feed to sleep then just wrap her & pop her in the cot), but that awake hour in the middle of the night sorta sucks, lol.
A busy day today for us, ABA meeting then lunch in the food court before heading to mother's group at the child health clinic!
Better head off & get dinner organised methinks....
Have a good night all!
filmgirlgail
05-12-2006, 21:10
DD was in pants all day today and did very well!!! :smiliedance: No accidents. She wears them all day at daycare and goes by herself to the loo and all but not at home, apparently quite common, but today we were in all day so I decided to put her in them from after breakfast.
Unfortunately the rest of the day was drama queen mode - luckily doesn't happen too often - where everything was met with crying and drama. Ended up with a very early nap before lunch instead of after and an early night for her. Hope all is well. Just off to bed as Alex is still up and grizzly every couple of hours at night so I'm a bit :sleeping: Hopefully will get on here more soon.
Where is everyone?!
Ripley did okay with his shots, haven't noticed any symptoms anyway. Feeds at 6.30pm, 10.30pm, bath, massage, all of us asleep at midnight, 4.00am, back to sleep 4.30am, up for feed at 7.00am. Not too bad!
Off to the city today for physio and some chores.
:( I want another baby now. I just cant get it off my dang mind, to the point where I fantasise about going off the pill without Dh knowing and "accidently" getting pregnant...........Im so naughty arent I :eek:
Well bub slept through again YAY. Well if you call midnight to 6am sleeping through. He just would not settled before 12am last night, I almost went insane (but still thought how fantastic it would be to have another one, I must be really loving being a Mama or just plain nuts :o ) He semi-woke at 1:45am so I changed him and when he went back to full sleep while waiting for me to make his bottle I just took him back to his bed. Had a feed at 6am and is still asleep now which means SHOWER TIME Yay lol
BBL.
Just heard there has been an earthquake in Taree - I think this is where Sammy is - I hope your o.k. hun
:sleeping: what big bang! :laughing:
All good apparently it was a sonic boom from an RAAF jet doing a training exercise...we didn't hear it though, we were pushing up zzzzz's!
Well helloooooo everyone! Been super busy the last few days. Huge weekend and then I started back at work on Monday (actually working from home though) which has been a nightmare...I'm seriously considering resigning, but I think I'll give it a few more weeks and see how I go before I make a decision. So I've missed a few pages of posts...hopefully nothing too dramatic has happened.
We fiiiinally got the last of our Xmas lights up last night. They look fantastic, and I will post a pic for you all, but we need to get a tripod first so that we can take a non-blurry picture.
I'm finding Abbie's physio a real struggle. I can see an improvement in her but it is really distressing for her. It's not uncommon for her to cry for an hour or more after I do the exercises and I'm worried that it's going to affect her emotionally. She can be pretty highly strung (gee I wonder where she gets that from? :rolleyes: ) and doesn't forget about things and settle down like alot of little bubs...once she gets wound up it really takes a long time for her to calm down. Someone suggested to me that Bowen therapy may be effective and more gentle, so I'm going to give that a go, while still under the care of the physio. Do any of you know much about Bowen?
Gail awesome to hear you're going well with your DD's toilet training. It's such a relief to get them out of nappies!
Mia vaccinations are so difficult. Glad Ripley hasn't had any side effects!
Nerissa if you can manage to spend a day in bed with bub, feeding him as much as possible, that is supposed to be great for your supply. I think it's the combination of rest, no stress, skin to skin contact and frequent feeding that does the trick!
Cass my goodness hasn't Logan changed! So glad to hear that he's sleeping well for you now!
That's about all I have time for ATM, have to go back into the office :thumbsdown: Hi to everyone I've missed!
Wondermum
06-12-2006, 12:20
Ahh LOL Sammy I heard about the EARTHQUAKE news here on the Hub in another thread..... as soon as I read it I thought of you guys! Glad to here you survived through the aircraft noise :rolleyes:
I've been rather preoccupied of late as my DS1 Hayden has been suffering rather bad nose bleeds. It has been a problem over the last 15mths or so. Yesterday evening and late last night it got quite bad, so I had taken him to the doctors today and got a referral to see a specialist.
I'll BBL for more personals :wave:
MrsTwith3
06-12-2006, 12:26
Hello lovelies
Another great night had here. Im so loving have a contented bub that sleeps. Noah went down at 8pm, up for a quick feed at 4:10am then back down by 4:30am then not up again till 7am. He was only up for an hour and ready for bed again then slept for another 2.5hrs. He is so happy when he is awake all he does is smile and babble and look around. He even smiles at his big brother who is forever running up to him and yelling really loud to scare him. I reckon he is just building it all into his memory for when he is older and bigger then him and will pay Callan back big time...lol. Callan is a wee littlething compared to most kids his age. He will be 3 in Feb and he still fits into some size 1 clothes (not so much the length more so the waist)
Cass . Love the new avatar of him,what a handsome little man. Logan does look long. I think that about Noah too. Maybe its just that they have grown so quickly that you notice it more IYKWIM. That is so great with him sleeping 12 hours for you, now you just have to get your body into bed a bit earlier to take advantage of it.
Sammy That would be hard working from home. I would be too distracted trying to do other things instead of my work:laughing: . Poor little Abbie. Glad there is some improvement. Sorry I havent heard how Bowen therapy works. Goodluck with it.
Gail Yay to the no nappies during the day. Callan regressed and went back to WANTING his nappy on during the day when Noah ws about 5 weeks old. He was going well and only wearing one to sleep. Today he has decided to not wear a nappy and Im just going with it, the only thing is he wont wear undies. Not good when you have people over and here is Callan with his doodle out for the whole world to see....lol
Mia Thats great that Ripley went so well with his vaccs. Im taking Noah on friday. I am so hoping that they dont upset him too much.
Nerissa Trying to boost the milk supply can be a challenge for some. All I can suggest is keep up your fluids, get as much rest as you can, offer the breast as much as he will possibly take and give the lactation boosting cookies a try. I make them and they seem to work a treat for me (and they are yummy too).
Anna Wow wanting another one already. I cant talk I get upset thinking that this is our last and I will never be pregnant again or have a tiny bub to care for etc. It is on my mind alot too.
Rik where have you gotten to lovey? Hope you are all ok.
Jess How are you and the boys today? Are you taking full advantage of having Hayden in preschool and out with all the crowds doing some :tree: shopping?
Hi to everyone that I havent mentioned personally. I hope you and your bubs are doing well.
Well Im off to make a new batch of my LBCookies.
:( I want another baby now. I just cant get it off my dang mind, to the point where I fantasise about going off the pill without Dh knowing and "accidently" getting pregnant...........Im so naughty arent I :eek:
ive thought about that too :laughing:
Damien had his needles today had a bit of a cry but hes all good now...just a bit sleepy:sleeping:
filmgirlgail
06-12-2006, 15:07
Gail Yay to the no nappies during the day. Callan regressed and went back to WANTING his nappy on during the day when Noah ws about 5 weeks old. He was going well and only wearing one to sleep. Today he has decided to not wear a nappy and Im just going with it, the only thing is he wont wear undies. Not good when you have people over and here is Callan with his doodle out for the whole world to see....lol
Yeah, if you're like me, I get squeamish if they're wearing nothing and I don't allow her to sit on the new sofa and chair - don't mind the wooden chairs as they'd be easier to clean. Well we are in pants again today -even managed a quicktrip out to Mt Coot-tha for ice cream in them and now she's in nappy for nap time. How we do it is she cries saying she wants her nappy and I just take her nappy off and leave her and let her cry about it for 10 mins (3 this am) and then she comes and puts on the pants!!! Still unsure about going shopping with her in them, but :fingerscrossed:
DellaWellaWoman
06-12-2006, 15:40
Well I started typing an hour ago....
Brylee slept unwrapped for th first time last night :yelclap: She's been wriggling out during the night for a couple of weeks but I hadn't been brave enough to try putting her to bed unwrapped until now. Not too bad a night - bed at 11:30, feed at 2:50, feed at 6:30 then into our bed for a snooze/cuddle/feed at 8.
Tried putting her down for a nap this arvo and she wasn't interested - fell asleep in my arms, tiptoed up to her room, gently laid her down and she was wide awake :banghead: Really not sure why I bother!!
Oh well, at least I've done a load of nappies, put the dishwasher on, semi-folded some clothes and know what we're having for dinner - although we do need to duck up to Coles or the cat isn't going to be very happy!
Guess I'd better get to it..have a great afternoon everyone :)
DellaWellaWoman
06-12-2006, 16:35
I'm guilty of frequenting this website lately - looking for either quick stuff for dinners or things I can prepare/eat one-handed when I have a sleeping babe in arms... www.bestrecipes.com.au
Oh, still haven't made it to Coles yet - good thing they're open till 9pm...lol
DellaWellaWoman
06-12-2006, 17:10
One of the advantages of living in tourist central (aka Gold Coast) - supermarkets are open till 9pm Mon-Fri :yelclap:
And I STILL haven't made it there - might have to get hubby to get the cat food,lol
DD doesn't seem terribly happy today for some reason *sigh* so she's glued to my ( . )( . )
I'm back!!!!!!!!
No joking this time:D
Well finally I'm online!!! And I've missed so much!!
It's so fabulous to see how all of us who were pregnant together and our bubs who are in some ways so different.
Kylie-Anne delight to hear Amelia's reaching out and grabbing for things already or probably has for awhile (i should log on more often) I think you were the first to pop apart from Debbie. How time flies! How's Brylee?
Cass, sorry your AF's are giving you trouble. I had the stupidest thought the other day that I miss my AF's but then I got a belly ache from something else and I thought what was I thinking??? Logan sounds like he's settling down a bit then. Funny James is the same with the wrapping?!? He's a funny boy.
Gail :smiliedance: for Jess. HHmm toiet training you've just made me realise what I have to look forward to...
AnnaT welcome back to you too. Hope you;ve settled in. Jetts looking good. I'm trying to shake my last kilos too. I can't fit into any of my clothes but I wont buy anymore. But only 5 to go and I'll be ten kilos above your start weight. (I got to 100 by 41weeks)
SammyD It's great you can work from home but hey, if you can resign..all the better.
Jess I hope your DS is okay.
Mel your little piglet is soooo cute !!! Making delightful sounds from his chair. I hope his big sister is more caring of him though! Boys are ,well, boys....
Shan, I hear you on the jelly belly. You could always tell your friends at the wedding that you are pregnant LOL
Kimmy, DS laughs at himself? That's so cute. I hold James in front of the mirror at first he freaked out but then he just stares in amazement
Kangaskippy it is nice to get photo op's with our bubs on a cold day- rugged up, we got James a Santa suit from Target. A bit frivolous I know but it's worth it to send out for Christmas
Nerrissa LOL i get a let-down in the middle of the shops when I hear a baby cry. And there is alot aound this time of year.
Danielle, Damien sleeps well lucky girl.
Riki, I sent you a PM. I see your mud cake recipe is a hit but I wont ask for it as i'm trying to fit into my clothes again. (this potato sack i'm wearing now get's itchy now and then)anyway I have enough temptation. ATTN sept mummies DO NOT get tempted by Riki's wicked recipes!!!! I have a marvelous recipe for carrot sticks!
UpTheDuff and Kim (EM2B) I hope your'e bubs and you are well.
Bronny-Jane- TTC already!!! This is exciting! I'd TTC too but I'll let the hole in my uterus heal first. Then I think I'll have the nextone at home away from the surgeons and there eager scalpels!!! good luck BTW I hope you get your boy keep us up to date!!! Lucky you didn't get your tubes tied eh
Hope I haven't forgotten anyone. Anyway this is long so if BubHub crashes while I submit reply don't blame me..............................
BTW James is good he's 9weeks today. The marathin BF's in the early days have made me a very heavy 6.5kg boy!! He sleeps for 6hours at night 6pm-12pm then 4pm then 6pm Feed then strait to sleep so cant complian. No settling back to sleep but he just catnaps during the day.
Hey has anyone taken there babies swimming yet??
Wondermum
06-12-2006, 21:15
Hi gals,
Cass – losing 1kg a week is great! I don’t even know how much I’m loosing per week lol. I just jump on the scales every couple of weeks to see what the verdict is??? I must admit I’m not trying very hard to lose anything atm and what I have lost has just been coming off by itself in the way off excess fluid and b/f. I will make a better effort after the Feasting Season, hehehe. We have a video camera. We got ours just before we had DS1 and it is well worth it. OMG, just before I had Rylan I looked back at some footage of Hayden when he was a bub and I cried at how much he has grown and how innocent he was back then. It’s just amazing! Cass with Logan looking around for you when someone else has him it is very normal. At this young age it’s the familiarity of knowing and recognizing his mummy. Separation anxiety usually appears further on down the track at around 8 months and again early toddler years.
Kim – I’m still giving Rylan an early morning feed. My first DS was sleeping through by this stage already but Rylan hasn't followed as yet. They’ll get there soon, at least it’s not as bad as it was in the first couple of weeks of their life, hey. Your passion fruit cake sounds very nice btw!
Gail - congrats on your weight loss and DD toilet training :yelclap: It is true they usually start toilet training at day care – I think it’s because they see all the other tots using the toilet too, becomes a popular trend. My DS started at day care first too. Other children I know have also started training at day care before home. The bumbo chair looks good too Gail – approx how much are they? I’ve seen something similar in Toys’R’Us but it’s more of a cushion type chair.
Nerissa - to increase your supply try the lactation cookies, I haven’t yet but will be soon and I've heard they are good. Also, a midwife recommended snacking on Almonds and drinking plenty of water – I did this in the first weeks and I had no probs with keeping my supply up when Rylan’s demand was very frequent. Also, someone else had already suggested chest to chest snuggling – does wonders for your hormones!
Mia – lucky you had DH there with you while Ripley had his needles. I know it’s heart breaking! How is he going today? Rylan was fairly good after his needles and didn’t have any reactions apart from a slight faint rash on the cheeks about 5 days after.
Sammy – sorry to hear poor Abbey isn’t coping too well with her exercises hope you have some luck with the Bowen Therapy. Great to hear you have been able to get some work at home. Are you considering resigning due to wanting to be at home with Abbey full time or are they giving you the *****? That was my reason for resigning from my office job after DS1 and also the lack of childcare places.
Mel – Rylan is the same with Hayden – smiling away at him as soon as he is within eye’s range, it’s very cute. Hayden is such a good big brother – I have been quite surprised by his attitude toward Rylan. Tho he can annoy me at times :rolleyes:
I think Hayden is on the total opposite end of the scale to Callan. He is a fair bit bigger than the average 3 yr old in his age group. Every time I tell someone how old he is I always get… “really, oh he does look a lot older, what’s his dad like?”. Hayden has always been above the average growth percentile for his age, he is tall and solid. I was comparing photo’s of my two boys the other day. They do look fairly similar but I think Hayden was a little chubbier around the same age Rylan is. Mel I usually enjoy my Wednesday’s shopping without Hayden but today I had to take him to the doctors while Nathan took the day off to look after Rylan. I did however get out today by myself to do a bit of shopping.
Danielle – glad to hear your little man is going o.k. after his shots
Deb – well done for Brylee’s unwrapped sleep last night. Rylan doesn’t like being wrapped much as he likes to suck on his hands. If I do wrap him he will wriggle and wriggle until he gets his hands out then sometimes will drop off to sleep if he’s tuckered himself out by doing this (very unusual now tho). LOL about Brylee waking as soon as you lower her into her cot. Rylan does the same during the day too. I can usually get him down for a good nap once in the day but the other two naps are usually just cat naps in the rocker as he will wake if I take him into his cot. I think I might steel some of your tips too and make some easy meals.
Nats – Welcome back…again, lol. James sounds like he has a great sleep routine going in the evening and he’s definitely got a typical boy appetite going - gaining some great weight.
I took a photo of one of Rylan's pixi photo's - It's isn't that clear as it was taken when I had already put it in the frame.
Rylan 9 weeks
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153/Jessath/rylan9weeks001.jpg
Well, that’ll be all for me for now folks. Hope you all get a restful nights sleep in tonight ;)
filmgirlgail
06-12-2006, 21:48
Hiya Wondermum
Well, we bought ours 3 years ago in the UK and I think it was about $70/75. Just looked on a website here and it's $87. here are the features for it.
Feature
Bumbo Seat
Excellent for feeding
Keeps baby safe
NO straps requiredSoft and comfortable
NO slouching
Encourages good posture
Use on ANY level surface
Easily portable
Durable
Great for outdoor use
Easy to MaintainGreat for babies as young as 8 weeks old
Encourages interaction with siblings
Excellent play chair when not feeding
07-12-2006, 06:18
:wave: hey nats.....so you still alive huh:rolleyes: :p
sounds like your going well.....hurry up and get your uterus to heal...we can have another baby at the same time:D
MrsTwith3
07-12-2006, 07:08
Morning all
Welcome back again Nat. Your little man looks like he is doing extremely well. What a great job you are doing. Way to go on the massive weight loss. Unfortunately Im one of the unlucky ones who store it all while breastfeeding. I still weigh about 6kg less then when I fell pregnant though so I shouldnt complain too much I guess.
Jess Hi hun how are you going? That pic of Rylan is just gorgeous. How is Hayden going? How does he react with his nosebleeds? Most kids woud be terrified of all the blood. Good on you for shopping alone. I love being able to duck down to the shops on my own even if its just to pick up bread and milk.
BJIve read a couple of other posts from you re: your TTC. I wouldnt worry about other people reactions or comments. I would just turn around and say to them "why does it matter to you how many kids I have as Im the one that raises them not you". Goodluck in trying to get your little boy.
Cass How did Logan go last night?
Rik where are you lovey? we all miss you in here.
Hi to everyone else:wave: hope your all well.
We had another great night here. Noah was down by 9pm, up for a quick 10min feed at 4:50am then back down again till 6am. I really am lucky this time round to get a bubba that sleeps. I think it helps that I feed or nurse him off to sleep from the word go. It took me 2 kids to figure that one out...lol.
Well best be off as have to go to the shops and get a few things as I have some friends and family coming over for lunch today.
If I dont get back on here till tonight have a great day everyone.
07-12-2006, 07:12
BJIve read a couple of other posts from you re: your TTC. I wouldnt worry about other people reactions or comments. I would just turn around and say to them "why does it matter to you how many kids I have as Im the one that raises them not you".
:D well my little sisters my baby sitter and she doesnt have a problem...yet:D
its so odd people feel they can comment....mind you its coming from people who only have 1 kid....i think by now i know what im in for;)
7 HOURS OF BLISSFUL SLEEP!
Hopefully Jett will be an over achiever and want to better that amount of time tonight :laughing:
Back later its hard to type with a 10wk old trying to grab your booby!
Wondermum
07-12-2006, 08:02
Jess Hi hun how are you going? That pic of Rylan is just gorgeous. How is Hayden going? How does he react with his nosebleeds? Most kids woud be terrified of all the blood. Good on you for shopping alone. I love being able to duck down to the shops on my own even if its just to pick up bread and milk.
Hi Mel ;)
I'm o.k. Rylan woke a few times last night, so a little tired. Hayden is o.k. just himself. He is very use to getting the nose bleeds now. He often knows before the blood starts dripping from his nose... he heads straight for the box of tissues. I hate it when it happens during the night because they are the messy ones usually and all the bedding needs to be striped and remade. But he is a very good boy with it all - I just feel sorry for him esp at night when he's fast asleep and it happens. Thankfully he didn't suffer from one at all yesterday - I think he lost enough blood the day before! Yes, I love my solo shopping trips - they ROCK!!!! I don't mind pushing the pram around with Rylan in it as he is usually great when we're out but even then I like the convenience of just getting in and out of the car quickly without having to deal with seatbelts and prams and holding hands!
Good on you for training Noah so well :thumbsup: It's great when things roll so smoothly - makes you feel like your in control of it all.
Gail thanks for the features on the seat - looks good.
B-J When are you TTC now or soon? Does it usually take you a while to get your :bfp: ???
Anna - Yay 7 hours sleep sounds wonderful!!!
07-12-2006, 08:26
B-J When are you TTC now or soon? Does it usually take you a while to get your :bfp: ???
!
well havent had to try....i only had sex twice in 6 months and concieved dd 2...and zoe was concieved when we didnt use a condom:eek:
so im guessing it might not take too long...im trying this month...i hope i get it first try:D
Wondermum
07-12-2006, 08:51
well havent had to try....i only had sex twice in 6 months and concieved dd 2...and zoe was concieved when we didnt use a condom:eek:
so im guessing it might not take too long...im trying this month...i hope i get it first try:D
:fingerscrossed: you get your :bfp: soon then. That means Zoe and the next one will have their b'days very close.... around 1 year apart.
Wondermum
07-12-2006, 10:40
happybirthday Danielle :party:
Kangaskippy
07-12-2006, 11:04
Jack had 9hours sleep straight!!!
Sleep: 9pm
Feed: 6am
Awake: 9am
WOW!! I now feel a bit sick from too much sleep, something I thought I would never say again!...:smiliedance: Mummies doing a happy dance today!!
DellaWellaWoman
07-12-2006, 11:34
Ugh
Into bed at 10:45, up for a feed at 2:50 then back into bed at 4 :crying: then awake again at 5:30 :eek: so I took her into the spare room so we could both get some sleep - thank god for b/f lying down!
Off to an ABA dinner tonight so :fingerscrossed: Brylee isnt too tired - at least the ladies will undrstand if she is I guess!!
Still haven't had breakfast and I think I need a coffee - I can't keep my eyes open!
Have a great day everyone.
Okay, so yesterday we went into the city for physio and chores and Ripley slept in the pram for the first time! So I did a little shopping while I waited for him to wake up and then we went to the new parents room and the cleaner was in there having her lunch! So I went and found a nice, quiet, dimly lit section of the shopping centre with couches. It backs onto a new bit they are still constructing. Well about 30 seconds after he latched on, someone started up a huge deafening power saw right behind the wall lol. So he might be deaf now. Also there seemed to be a homeless person on the next couch lol.
Today we went to an ABA meeting and he was a star. It was the first time I've put him down on a mat with other babies, and it was so awesome seeing him looking at them with such interest. Apparently his tummy time skills are very advanced? I'm so in love.
He is not advanced at sleeping through the night :laughing:
07-12-2006, 14:19
Oh, BTW, love your signature ;)
:D hey did you see those shirts for babys....i was born for the baby bonus....i was thinking about creating maternity singlet tops...long ones though to cover your hips...with diamonte covered sayings on the front like...
i have bad credit......
my boyfriends a crack head..:eek:
work for the dole doesnt pay this good:laughing:
Went MIA for a day but I'm back! Been very busy catching up with family and friends, and today I had a bub hub meetup - had a great time and Alex was excellent for me.
Well, sleep wasn't much better again last night. For some reason, the dreamfeeds don't seem to work too well. I don't know if I should keep persevering with them, or give up and let him dictate what he wants. He drinks at the dreamfeeds, but it doesn't extend his sleep time at all. So I figure I could be sleeping instead of waiting up to do it, only to be woken again 3 hours later! He's pretty much settling round 8. I wake him for d/f at 10 or 11. Wakes again for feed round 2 or 3 (last night it was 1am :eek:), then next feed between 6and 8am. It can vary quite a bit, but that's the average. The strangest thing is that he has had this routine since he was pretty much 2 weeks old! He just can't cut out that early morning feed. In fact, I think he used to feed better around 3 or 4 weeks old than he does now! I shouldn't complain, cos he goes straight back to sleep after every feed, and is a dream baby throughout the day (barely cries and just smiles all day!). I guess I just need to give in and let it happen :rolleyes:
Mia how great that Ripley's tummytime skills are so advanced! What do they classify as advanced?? Just wondering as Alex has such great strength in his neck and back - but not sure if that's normal...
No swimming lessons here yet. Soon I hope!
Ok, I need opinions. I need to provide a photo for the twinkle toes thing we're getting done, and I can't decide between the following 2.
Let me know what you think!
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_0995.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_0981.jpg
BBL
:
my boyfriend is my brother:eek:
:
That's okay Bronny we don't judge here (rural NSW, she explains)
I wish I could join you in concieving a baby but I have to wait 12months lest my uterus erupt! Unless I go another ceasar then I'll just fall Pg immediatley (the immaculate conception LOL)
Cass poor thing.I hope it's just a phase for your DS. With the swimming did you use the huggies swimmer nappies?
Debbie how come your always going out with all the ABA ladies??? I could do with a lactation consultant in my life!
Kangaskippy I bet you nearly fell out of bed this morning wondering if a dingo took your baby
Riki where are you??? cheescake shop i'll bet!
James will have his 8weeks needles tommorrow. Damn it cant i just have the needles for him and I'll lactate the immunisation goodies!!!!
I guess he wont remember them I'll have a boob ready for comforting....
07-12-2006, 15:12
That's okay Bronny we don't judge here (rural NSW, she explains)
phew guess at safe in here nats....im dating my brother...your bubs dad and you have the same father:D :p
your bubs dad and you have the same father:D :p
still trying to figure out who that might be......:D
07-12-2006, 15:57
:tree: :tree: :tree: :tree:
LMAO Gals you crack me up!
Cass - hmmm depends on what you call a nap. He closes his eyes for 10min or semi-sleeps with one eye open for maybe 30min, do they count? Nope no naps here although yesterday and today he has taken to falling asleep around 4pm and I end up waking him up at 6 or he will not sleep the night :no:
BJ - I would so buy one of those shirts from you! When Im pregnant again would you make one pretty please??????
Kimmy - the first pic! Both are gorgeous though :D
Hmm well I fell off the Weight Watchers Wagon today, damn KFC and their yummy nuggets! I havent had dinner yet so I may not blow my points budget just yet. I really hope Ive lost something on monday (other than my mind) so I dont feel like I did all this for nothing.
On the TTC front Im going to try making a deal with Dh. If he lets us start TTC now for 4mths, if nothing happens in that time we will postpone it for 3mths after that. Do you think thats fair? That way if we dont get pregnant, oh well we know its going to take awhile again but if we do then we are very lucky and its the way God wanted it to happen.
DellaWellaWoman
07-12-2006, 16:03
Debbie how come your always going out with all the ABA ladies??? I could do with a lactation consultant in my life!
LOL
It's usually once a fortnight, but we had a meeting Tuesday and our Chrissy dinner is tonight.
Most of the ppl I know are through work so they're, well, at work!! And I did private ante-natal classes (couldn't get into the hospital ones) so don't know all that many mums. So my mums groups are the ABA (great 'cos there's ppl with older kids so you know what to expect), mum & bubs yoga and the child health clinic mother's group.
ABA's great because if you have any questions (or want someone to check your attachment, etc) there's always a counsellor there - saves hunting down a LC!!
07-12-2006, 16:12
BJ - I would so buy one of those shirts from you! When Im pregnant again would you make one pretty please??????
oh im not really that creative....but i'll try and make some...just buy shirts and glue them on...if they look good...i'll make you one too:D .....
Cassie I think you're right about the dreamfeeds - doesn't seem to be making a whole lot of difference so I might skip it tonight and see what happens....
Thanks for the advise on the pics girls - all my family tell me that one's the best too! For some reason I still like the other one as well though :o
Debbie - I'm the same. I have no network here since moving here 3 years ago (not with babies anyway) so I'm building one. Our local ABA branch seems to meet weekly or fortnightly, and they are great to go to. I'm also making friends with a couple of new mums from ante natal class and another patient of my ob who was due 3 weeks after me.
Kimmy - I don't think Ripley is any more advanced than other bubs, maybe he just enjoys tummy time more than average so he goes on holding that head up high! Oh, though in the last day or two he has rolled from tummy to back a couple of times. Very exciting!
Kim I'm going right out on a limb here...I like Pic #2!
Nats I got some reusable swim nappies from BigW and I use them instead of the little swimmers...so far so good they have contained a few accidents for me!
Cass just ignore Nats & BJ they're being naughty again
OK people...I know you've been waiting for it...here's a pic of our Xmas lights....
http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k303/sammyd345/IMG_0421edit.jpg
Yep they took awhile! The unnerving part about it though is the amount of cars that stop & look at them...kinda freaks me out :eek: it's like I've been taking BJ's medicine :D
Wondermum
07-12-2006, 20:39
Mel - I finally went and got the ingredients for the lactation cookies today! So I'll probably bake a batch tomorrow.
I was inspired by Deb today and I whipped up some crispy bacon and sautéed onion savory muffins for quick lunch/ arvo snacks.
:laughing: B-J.... :eek: that's all I'll say :D
Sammy - love your chrissy light display :thumbsup: We do the rounds in our neighborhood every year looking at all the lights - Hayden loved it last year. There are some fantastic displays around where we live but I've heard one of the best displays 'Graceland's' at Tingira heights is no longer happening this year.
Kim - I actually like the second pic of Alex as I like the fact that two hands are cradling his head, both are lovely tho. As for the dream feeding I wouldn't persist if Alex hasn't adjusted/ altered his feeds. Might be worth a try when he is a little older if night feeding is still happening?
Anna - all the best at trying to persuade DH to TTC #2
fruitjuice
07-12-2006, 20:41
I finally get some time to post on the internet...
Adelaide is now 11 weeks, still not sleeping through, but also still dainty and just got into 000's.
I got fantastic results at uni this semester, so I'm feeling a bit like superwoman - i had a baby, missed classes, moved house, been going out lots, AND managed to not only pass, but with flying colours!
Is anyone going back to work soon? :( I'm feeling a bit sad at the thought of going back to uni and leaving Adelaide at home.
Merry christmas to everyone if I don't get back on soon:tree: , and good luck with those BFPs! (I'm getting the implanon in as soon as I can find my script)
Wondermum
07-12-2006, 21:12
Jessica did you end up taking Hayden to the docs? WHat did they say?
:yes: I took him to the doctors yesterday. He has experienced nose bleeds since around the age of two. So it's nothing new. It can be a fairly common problem - it's just caused by dry air cracking the tiny blood vessels in the nose. The problem is he will most probably need an operation to fix the problem. It is usually a fairly simple routine where they cauterize the vessels under a local but since he is quite young he will need to go under a general for the op :(
Oh poor Hayden Jess! Give him big :hugs:
Thanks for the tip re dreamfeeding. Might definitely consider it again when he gets older rather than persisting now...
Fruitjuice good to hear from you again! Well done on the Uni results.
Mia I can't beleive Ripley is turning front to back already! :eek: Clever boy! Alex turned back to side the other day and I was excited over that - hopefully he'll do the full turn next time :yes:
Sammy your lights are just beautiful! Way to go! :tree:
Ooh - I like the second Pic as well! Glad it's not just me!
Valosgirls
07-12-2006, 23:03
Hey Girls:wave:
Sorry for going missing - my stupid internet went down - yes becuase I forgot the stupid bill again:laughing: but when they lifted the restriction my whole system was up the creek without a paddle:rolleyes: and I couldnt connect.
So finally back on tonight..............now off to catch up on everyones goss - see you all in about 3hrs :D
MrsTwith3
08-12-2006, 07:32
Morning girls
Rik you dag. Dont you realise that we all miss you so much when your not around. We might have to arrange for us girls to take it in turns to remind you to pay your internet bill each month just so you dont go MIA again....:laughing: Glad your back though. How are the kiddies going?
Kim I love both pics but the 1st one is clearer. Its a shame the dreamfeeding didnt work for Alex. Who knows he might just start sleeping that little bit longer for you anyway.
Fruitjuice Welcome back. Congratulations on the uni results. That is an amazing achievement. What are you studying if you dont mind me asking? If we dont see you back have a fantastic:tree: .
Jess Its great your getting Haydens nose probs sorted. The procedure is pretty quick so he wont be under a GA for very long, they may even do a twilight sedation on him. OH yeah go the LBCookies. I hope you like them. I put heaps of choc chips in mine though. It is a shame about Graceland isnt it. We went last year for the 1st time, so glad we did.
Sammy Love the lights:thumbsup: . I'd be freaking out too having cars stopping out the front of my house.
Mia Ripley sounds like a very clever and strong little man. Its great to have friends in the real world that have bubs around the same age as your own.
Cass How did Logan go last night after yesterday effort of catnapping?
Well better go and get some work done before I take Noah to get his needles:( .
Have a great day and Hi to all that I didnt mention.
Guess who is not doing there house work...
SammyD lights look great and I bet bubs loves them too thanks for the tip on the swimmers:thumbsup:
Kimmy No2 with the hands holding him. Very nice
AnnaT good luck with the TTC!
There you go BJ someone to join you in pg:)
(brave girl is our Anna ;-)
Debbie it's good to have someone to meet with then. I have to wait till next year to join a mothers group as one hasent been organised yet.
Jessica !! ONION!? I'm still off it since pg!!! (make me a sweet muffin):D
Fruitjuice welcome back. Life is good yes?
Riki what happened you fell of the face of the earth again?!?!? Come to think of it you do live on the other side of Oz which is kinda of the face of the earth. Or did you make a mad dash to Gloria Jeans all of a sudden:D
MelI have to take James for needles at 11!
Now CLEANING TO DO....
Kangaskippy
08-12-2006, 08:49
Jack is slowly getting the hang of longer sleeps...
Bed: 8.30pm
Feed:4am
Awake:8.45am
not too bad at all...would have been great for my sleep except I didn't get to sleep till 11.30pm and DH woke me at 6am...but bub is getting the hang of it!!!
yipppeeee...
he can now roll from back to side and just lays there sucking his thumb/fingers while watching everything from a different angle... if you nudge him a tiny bit he rolls to his tummy and trys to get moving, but gets frustrated and eventually grizzles... but nothing like the screaming he use to do when on his tummy...:yelclap:
(I am also not doing housework as I should...oopss)
BabyClancy
08-12-2006, 09:05
hey ladies
sorry i haven't been around the last couple of days as we've been here, there and everywhere.
harry had 8 week chn checkup on tuesday and is now 5.2 kg and 60cm long. we also went to our first mums group on tuesday. only 4 boys in a group of about 12, with 3 of them the biggest (including harry) but not the oldest. are boys naturally bigger babies? he was really embarrassing though at the meeting. when we woke up for his bottle, not even half way through the bottle he started grunting. yes, he started pooing. he grunted, groaned and farted that loud that everyone could hear. and ofcause he stunk. so i had to wait for him to finish pooing to give him the rest of his bottle and everyone had to deal with the stink.:o after he was clean though he loved looking at all the other babies.
harry had his needles yesterday. he cried ofcause but by the time we walked out of the doctors he was asleep. so the crying didn't last long. such a good little boy:angel:
it's been really smokey here from nearby bushfires, so we haven't been able to go out walking. no fun being stuck at home.:thumbsdown:
sorry for the long post, i really should check in more often.
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 09:40
Morning all,
We had a bit of an up and down night last night. I definitely think Rylan is going through a spurt either that or he's being lazy at the ( .)(. ) and drops off to sleep only to wake hungry again in 2 hours! It will pass... eventually :rolleyes:
He is definitely a stronger little man now. Always pushing down hard with his feet in his rocker and when we hold him. His head/ neck movements are a lot quicker and more controlled now. We went out and bought him a walker for Xmas last weekend as we think he will love being able to sit in it and push his feet on the floor :D Who knows he may even master scooting about in it soon as his little legs are always going full pelt when he sits in his rocker.
Mel & Nats GL with your babies needles today... big smooches for them and their mumma's!
Nats.... yes sweetie 'onion' sautéed to be precise with yummy crispy bacon in it too! The sautéed onion actually taste quite sweet in the muffin and it is diced very finely. My mum bought me a muffin cook book quite a few years ago and it is full of all different sorts of lovely sweet and savory muffins. What's your favourite sweet muffin? I will post you a recipe. I'm baking my ( .)(. ) cookies today!
KS good to hear Jack is sleeping so well - I wish Rylan would get back to his usual routine at night. He is still going down by 8:30pm tho, so can't complain there!
Fruitjuice congrats on your uni results well done for doing so well with a new baby and all the rest!!!!
Riki welcome back... now more concentration is needed on the bills pls and less on what's in the fridge :D
Shan good to hear from you. Harry seems to be growing wonderfully. It is usually a little more common for boys to be a little beefier than girls :yes:
Cassie I'll take your short day naps combined with a 12 hour night sleep, over the early morning feeds and long day naps ANY day :laughing:. I do like being able to get things done throughout the day, but with interrupted sleep EVERY night, it's hard to function sometimes (as you know from the first few weeks with your bubba). I think we all want what we can't have hey? :rolleyes:
Cassie Alex also prefers sucking his hand (his whole fist actually!) to his dummy.... CHN told me not to stress and just let him do what makes him happy at this stage. Always makes me think he's hungry though!
Alex last night was:
Feed and down for the night: 8.30pm
Feed 1.30
Feed 5.00 (grizzled and wouldn't settle much after this one)
Feed and awake 9am
He was better night sleeper as a 2 week old :banghead:
Welcome back Riki - stop going MIA on us! We want you round here to talk food!!! :D
Nats I too am procrastinating on the housework... I used to be a clean FREAK, now I'm lucky if I do it once a fortnight! I need to get my butt into gear today though cos the floors are NOT clean!
Mel good luck with Noah's needles. I'm sure he'll be an angel bubba and cry briefly before falling to sleep....most seem to follow this pattern!
Ok, hope everyone else is having a GREAT day - it's a scorcher here - 38degrees. Hence no going out for me and Alex today. Damn - that means I can't put off the housework any longer....ok - off to it now.
BBL
Oooh I just found Abbie sucking her thumb this morning....she's so cute! Won't go near a dummy though, which is quite fine by me! And she has started rolling from her tummy to her back, too!
itssunday
08-12-2006, 10:57
hi all,
am new here. had a baby girl september 28th this year :)
and have a 6 year old son also.
just moved back to australia from a 3 year stint in new zealand and am getting home bound. glad there are sites like this where i can talk to other mums:ecomcity: :smiliedance: .
Cass, I don't know re dummy/thumb/sleep. We seem to be entering a transition phase also where Ripley is spitting the dummy out and finding his fist, but losing it again, so not settling sometimes. Just have to let him at it, I think. He will usually take the dummy and fall asleep when he is ready to sleep iykwim. The routine at bedtime seems to really work for us - do the same things, say the same things.
Last night fed at about 9.30pm then 4am then 7am.
Mia, Sean is doing the same now.. spitting the dummy out and finding his fist, but losing it again, so not settling sometimes. But does not take him long to settle. Routine at bed time works well for us. We say our nite prayers, we tuck him into his sleeping bag, give him a kiss, say goodnite, give him the dummy, he spits it out and we leave the room. He settles himself.
Sean, for 3 nights now has slept right through from 9pm -7:30am :smiliedance: He done it on and off before. Hope it lasts. He sleep for about 2hrs and a bit at nap times in the day too.
He's so fun to play with. He laughs lots and loves it when we are changing his nappies. Oh and he loves his baths.
itssunday
08-12-2006, 11:48
any one know of some play groups or pram walks near coomera on the gold coast?
sorry not used to this site yet and how to find threads :o
welcome itssunday :wave:
welcome to the site and the country.
Cass, beef spring rolls and oxtail stew?? That's right get some kilojoules in him for all the TTC LOL!!!!
One the fist sucking babies, sometimes I put James's fist in my mouth and he watches in fascination his hand dissappear into my face, his eyes go so wide, adorable!!!! I think all the babies on this page rolling over and sucking their own fist are too advavnced for that now though. There all growing up!!!!
BTW BJ Hurry up and get pg so I can go ahead and forwarn your new 'when are you due group' of the impending doom!!!!
DellaWellaWoman
08-12-2006, 13:03
Hi itssunday
Gold Coast City Council has an Active & Healthy program www.goldcoast.qld.gov.au/t_standard.aspx?pid=4364 or check out the Gold Coast threads www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9
Brylee's still sleeping unwrapped and is now having grumpy days - just wants to feed & sleep with no play time - what's with that??
She's also a fist sucker - tried a dummy a couple of times and she was seriously not impressed!
Housework? You mean we're supposed to be doing that still? :confused:
LMAO....yep - unfortunately :p
Welcome ItsSunday :wave:Good luck settling back in. I hope you find the groups you're looking for.
Sounds like it's definitely the right age for our bubs to locate their fists and put them in their mouths! Alex will take a dummy at night if I persist in putting it back in his mouth when he's trying to settle, but other than that, will take his fist ANYDAY over the dummy!
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 13:33
Welcome Tulp and itssunday:)
Rylan loves his fist and also gets his thumb in his gob sideways. I have tried a dummy a few times but he's not interested in it and I'd much rather he sucks on his hands for now instead of continuously popping a dummy in his mouth all the time. Hayden wouldn't take one until 4 months - I shouldn't have bothered really as now he still wants them at bed time :rolleyes: He will be giving his to the reindeer's this year :D
Cass most walkers now come with a removable toy tray and are adjustable. We had one for Hayden but when I got it out a while ago I dropped it on the tiles and smashed a wheel off - so to the tip it went.
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 13:40
just moved back to australia from a 3 year stint in new zealand and am getting home bound.
Ooh, where abouts in new zealand were you? I was born there and have my mums side of the family over there.
this is a test
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o128/nats_017/P1010836email.jpg
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 13:46
this is a test
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o128/nats_017/P1010836email.jpg
Awww very cutie pies Nats!
:smiliedance: I did it! Huray for the 'feeding beast' (me)
here's more.....
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o128/nats_017/P1010815email.jpg
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o128/nats_017/P1010030email.jpg
http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o128/nats_017/merryXmas2email.jpg
Thanks Jessica
Nats those photos are just awesome! I just dont have the eye when it comes to taking photos of Logan, I always seem to make his head look really big, and it just isnt big so I dont know how I do it :laughing:
Thought Id update my avatar AGAIN, Logan was holding and playing with a rattle this morning (a big heavy hard one too!) I was sooo happy I could get a photo of it to send hubby, but they blocked it cos it was too big :banghead:
Pot luck with MY pics m'dear!
Logan is sssooooo cute. James isn't reaching out for things yet though he touches his hair and pulls it impulsively. I don't think he really knows what he's doing though.
MrsTwith3
08-12-2006, 14:55
Afternoon girls
Gee Im gone for not even a day and you all chat your little heads off.
Noah didnt take too well to getting his needles the poor little mite. He screamed when they went in (as you would) and didnt stop for about 20 mins till he cried himself to sleep. he wouldnt even take the ( . ) as a comfort he was so worked up. That was at 11am and he just started to get unsettled about an hour ago so he has had his 1st dose of panadol.
Nat and Cass love the pics of your gorgeous boys. They are going to be little heartbreaker when they are older.
Jess How did the LBCookies go. Did you put choc chips in them? Did I mention they might give you a little bit of a ahmmmm wind problem:o . Lmao its probably just me!!!!
Ok all you slackers I hope you got your housework done...yes Im talking to you Kim, Debbie, Mia and anyone else that said they should be doing it....lol
Ok better go Ive got one very unhappy bub on my hands. Its hard when they arent normally like it. Oh well it will only be for a day or so.
BBL
I read somewhere that pulling their hair out is a frustration thing because they cant communicate, but I think it meant with older children. I cant believe how much hair he has! Its just gorgeous! Um, do I sound clucky :laughing:
i should say he doesn't pull it out. Just while he's sleeping he kind of opens and shuts his fist on his hair moving his hand all about exploring his head, i think.......:)
:fingerscrossed: hopefully he wont start pulling it out!!! He's unsettled after the needles
BTW OMG:eek: the doctor must've dug her nail into to his leg coz there's a gouge on it. I wondered why she was so keep to put his shorts back on, I was BFing at the time!!!!
Hey Girls:wave:
So finally back on tonight..............now off to catch up on everyones goss - see you all in about 3hrs :D
Geez.*glances at watch* Don't read too fast you might break the computer screen!!!:)
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 15:16
Jess How did the LBCookies go. Did you put choc chips in them? Did I mention they might give you a little bit of a ahmmmm wind problem:o . Lmao its probably just me!!!!
Ahhh fanks Mel... no you didn't mention the wind factor :o They taste yummy and yep I did put the chocolate chips in.... Mmmm. Hayden has been eating them too :eek: hope he doesn't start to lactate!
Poor little Noah give him lots of smoochy cuddles from me. Hope he goes alright tonight.
Nats - cool pics!
Here are some Xmas pics of Rylan - he loved pretending to be Santa for me :xmas:
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153/Jessath/rylan10weeks001.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153/Jessath/rylan10weeks007.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153/Jessath/rylan10weeks015.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153/Jessath/rylan10weeks018.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153/Jessath/rylan10weeks016.jpg
Ooh, where abouts in new zealand were you? I was born there and have my mums side of the family over there.
well that sure explains alot! :D only joshin babe you know how much i luv ya!
mel poor little noah. hope he settles for you.
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 15:23
well that sure explains alot! :D only joshin babe you know how much i luv ya!
:( :laughing: :hugs: me too
Jess those pics are just gorgeous! Rylan is so cute - what a chub!
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 15:25
Jess those pics are just gorgeous! Rylan is so cute - what a chub!
fanks - he is a chub isn't he :yes: esp in the first one.
hmmm you've inspired me to upload some new pics...back soon!
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 15:31
hmmm you've inspired me to upload some new pics...back soon!
:smiliedance: :yelclap: :D :p
just want to say how much I HATE DIAL-UP ! has taken me so long just to upload a couple of pics :banghead: and they look kinda blurry but here goes...
http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k303/sammyd345/IMG_0399.jpg
http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k303/sammyd345/IMG_0250.jpg
http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k303/sammyd345/IMG_0356.jpg
Anyway must be off hope you all have a great friday night!
DellaWellaWoman
08-12-2006, 16:34
I had a shower by myself!!!!
Okay okay, settle down - I usually shower by myself but this is the first time in 14 weeks I've had a shower without another adult in the house to watch Brylee.
On the housework issue hmmmmmm I've folded a basket of washing, does that count?
OMG I am LOVING all te gorgeous pics!
Sammy Abbie is just adorable and your other DD is beautiful :yes:
Nats, I just love James' smile! He looks so cute!
Jess Rylan looks so healthy and happy! Love the Santa hat!! :xmas:
Love the new avatar Cassie - Logan looks gorgeous so you mustn't be too bad at taking pics!!!
Mel poor little Noah. Big :hugs: for him. Hope he has a good night. Keep the panadol on standby just in case!
Well girls I got all my housework done :smiliedance: YAY! Now tomorrow I can take it easy - s'gonna be 41 here tomorrow! YUCK!
Ooooh - congrats on the solo shower debbie! Feels like a momentus occasion when it finally happens doesn't it?!
MrsTwith3
08-12-2006, 20:20
Love the shower on my own too but its hard when DS1 always wants to get in with me. It is a much better option then leaving him out in the lounge room with Noah who he would sure attack in some way or another.
I finally got him settled again after another hour of grizzling. Well he settled himself really in his swing.
I took some more pics after his bath tonight and used one as my avatar. I think it is soooo cute. Im using it for one of the pics in the big picture frame we have gotten for my parents and Andrews mum.
I wish I knew how to use my photobucket account, Im not that good with things like that...lol
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 20:28
Sammy your girls are both gorgeous :) Abbey looks like a sweet little :angel: You must get broadband Sammy :D
Deb well done with getting in a shower by yourself. Folding washing is definitely housework, my washing is still in a pile waiting to be folded and put away - I always leave the washing until I've used my three baskets up :o
Cass Logan looks cutie pies in your avatar.
Kim thanks for your comment - he is a healthy happy little man indeed. Congrats on getting the house work done.... OMG 41 deg for you tomorrow - lock yourself inside with the air con full pelt and pray for rain.
Well I've been slowly falling apart today, I woke with a sore throat this morning and now have developed a head cold *sniff* then later today became partially crippled by a sciatic nerve pinching in my lower back (it kills), has anyone had one before? I'm so tired now I think I hit the shower and get some sleep - hopefully better then last night.
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 20:31
Mel that's a beautiful pic of Noah in your avatar :thumbsup: Photobucket is very easy just muck around a bit and you'll soon get the hang of it.
Oh, those are wonnnnnderful pictures everyone! Well done. Here's one of Rip wishing you all Merry Christmas too.
http://whippet.actewagl.net.au/xmas.jpg
Cass, there's another "big head" photo - I know what you mean!!!
Have a great weekend ladies. The three of us are going up to Brisbane/Sunshine Coast tomorrow for a week visiting both sets of grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins etc. Wish us luck!
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 21:22
Mia - Ripley made me :) he's cutie pies too.
All the best for the trip up to see the grandparents - I'm sure Ripley will be smothered with lots of these :kiss: :hugs:
Ntoh - Mia Ripley is just toooo cute! :D
And Mel Noah looks like a beautiful little cherub :yes:
Jess I think we should rub you out and start you again! You poor thing. :hugs: Hope you wake up feeling miraculously better tomorrow :wizard:
Wondermum
08-12-2006, 21:33
Jess I think we should rub you out and start you again! You poor thing. :hugs: Hope you wake up feeling miraculously better tomorrow :wizard:
Thanks Kim ;) I'm suppose to have got my but into bed after a shower about 1 hour ago! O.K. better crawl in now..... :sleeping:
09-12-2006, 08:57
BTW BJ Hurry up and get pg so I can go ahead and forwarn your new 'when are you due group' of the impending doom!!!!
:eek: what are on about:D ........:wizard:
09-12-2006, 08:58
less then 2 weeks till my birthday:smiliedance:
i was so hung over yesterday i couldnt even sit at the computer:D
You must get broadband Sammy
Believe it or not I can't get ADSL here! The cabling that was put down when this estate was developed isn't able to support it! Could get satellite but don't want another ugly dish on the roof, and the monthly cost for satellite is ridiculous. So until the 3G wireless is fired up around here, I'm doomed to dial-up!
Hope you're feeling better today Jess. I had a few sciatic twinges when I was pg and they're not particularly fun. You'll have to stop chasing that poor sheep around. :laughing:
Mia gorgeous pic of Ripley! Hope you have a great weekend, sounds fabulous!
BJ I can so tell you are on the right side of 30...I certainly don't look forward to my bdays anymore! Must be interesting trying to look after three little ones with a cracking hangover!
Ugh Cass I hate those family do's. At least there should be lots of oldies there who love babies...you should get a few minutes break! Problem though is that the bubs get so overstimulated and cranky from being handed around. Simon is away ATM isn't he? That'd really suck...going to one of his family do's without him!
Awesome that Logan slept 12 hours! Why'd you get only 4? Still having trouble sleeping or up all night on the net?!
Wondermum
09-12-2006, 10:27
Believe it or not I can't get ADSL here! The cabling that was put down when this estate was developed isn't able to support it! Could get satellite but don't want another ugly dish on the roof, and the monthly cost for satellite is ridiculous. So until the 3G wireless is fired up around here, I'm doomed to dial-up!
Oh bummer!!!! Silly developers :rolleyes:
Hope you're feeling better today Jess. I had a few sciatic twinges when I was pg and they're not particularly fun. You'll have to stop chasing that poor sheep around. :laughing:
Yeah, thanks Sammy.... feeling a bit better... LOL don't you start with those silly sheep jokes! It's been quite a while now I might have to go visit the cute little lambies soon :D
sorry jess picking on kiwis is one of my favourite pasttimes! just let me run with it for a while...i'll get it out of my system pretty soon...bro'. (hehehe)
Wondermum
09-12-2006, 10:33
sorry jess picking on kiwis is one of my favourite pasttimes! just let me run with it for a while...i'll get it out of my system pretty soon...bro'. (hehehe)
Arrggghhh *starts pulling hair out* before it starts to fall out :banghead: Why was I the only sibling in my family to be born there :rolleyes:
Wondermum
09-12-2006, 10:35
Go and have some fush end chups for lunch semmy :laughing:
come on now jiss, unzed is a great place, eh?
Wondermum
09-12-2006, 10:37
yeah bro.... the lend of the long white cloud cuz :cool:
Arrggghhh *starts pulling hair out* before it starts to fall out :banghead: Why was I the only sibling in my family to be born there :rolleyes:
don't fret! it's a good sign and shows your parents learn from their mistakes :D
less then 2 weeks till my birthday:smiliedance:
i was so hung over yesterday i couldnt even sit at the computer:D
What happened to healthy living?!? Typical Sagitarius all optimism and no follow through :D
Stop me if I'm wrong............:wave:
Hugs to you Cass. Enjoy the 'out-laws' pet.
BabyClancy
09-12-2006, 13:54
hey ladies, so much chat in here.
i need some advice. i started putting harry in his bed during the day for naps and it's working although he has a bit of a whinge when i put him into bed. but now he plays up at night. :mad: he used to be an :angel: at night. straight after his night bottle would be quiet as a mouse and go straight to sleep. now he carries on at night. he played up for about 1/2 hour last night. :thumbsdown:
what do you do so that your bubs knows the difference between day and night sleeps in their bed?
MrsTwith3
09-12-2006, 15:29
Hi Shan,
Do you have normal everyday noise during the day?
With Noah we had him in his bassinette out in the lounge room with the noise of the tv, a horrid toddler and the rest of us with not having to whisper just normal tones. At night after the late feed we would put the bassinette into our room where it was dark and quiet.
I found those things to help him distinguish between night and day. I hope that is of some help.
Hello to everyone. I hope your all having a great day. Just been sitting around this arvo watching dvd's with the kids and DH.
Noah is much happier today after his needles yesterday.
Well beeter go and do more mummy things...lol
Hope everyone is having a good day!
Its super hot and smoky here so I am veging around with the aircon on. Bub is asleep so I have peace and quiet for a little while as Dh is out with mates at a work function.
Dh and I discussed TTC again............................
............and it looks like we'll be TTC buddies BJ and Cass :smiliedance: He said he needs to have a few more days of thinking about it to be sure but I solved every one of the concerns he had so he really has nothing against it now. Im a tiny bit scared, only because everyone has me second guessing my ability to mother kiddos so close in age but I truly feel its the right choice for us.
DellaWellaWoman
09-12-2006, 16:30
Well we had a shocker last night - had prawns for dinner :D but then Brylee decided to scream from 11 till 2 with a few breaks to catch her breath. The only thing I can think of is she didn't appreciate prawn flavoured milk?
Finally got her to sleep, and she stayed there until 6:50 so at least we got a decent amount of sleep, then I fed her & back into bed with me until 9:30 so at least I'm not a complete zombie today.
Had a good day - went & picked up our pixie photos (gawd aren't they expensive!! not sure I'll get them again...) then did some Chrissy shopping while I had DH in tow - he detests shopping at the best of times so I thought I'd jump at the opportunity 'cos it doesn't happen very often!! Brylee was great at the shops, even dozed off while we were having sushi for lunch :)
Decided I want a slow cooker for Chrissy - daggy I know but at least I'm likely to get some use out of it, especially with a baby in the house - I can just throw stuff in, turn it on & forget about it and not have to rush around trying to cook while she's grumpy.
Oh well, trying to get our Chrissy cards finished & sent so I guess I'd better get back to it..
Hope everyone has a great day
If a slow cooker for chrissy is daggy then I'll stand with you as a dag :) Its exactly what MIL got me for chrissy lol
Afternoon all...it's been a scorcher here- 42degrees :eek: I don't cope well in the heat so I've tried to stay in most of the day but I had to go out earlier with DH (left Alex home with mum in the air con:D), to check out a few restaurants to host the post christening celebration at. Also had a to a spot of shopping. Was home quick as a flash though as the car was too hot to get in and out of. Who was it that had a pool???? CASSIE??? Can I come jump in PLEAAAAAAAAAASE!!!!!
Mel so glad to hear NOah is ok after his shots yesterday... the pain doesn't seem to last too long for them does it, which is good :thumbsup:
Anna that's so exciting that you are TTC. I commend anyone willing to have a second or 3rd etc so soon, as I would if I wasn't so scared! Plus, we have a situation at the moment where our 3rd bedroom is DH's study - where will all his stuff go when we have another one???!!!! Hoping to strike x-lotto in time for the 2nd so I can buy a mansion :p
Debbie I hope Brylee is better for you today - screaming for 3 hours??? How did u cope?! Hope she's more settled today.
Hope everyone else is having a great weekend. Best be off - haven't even though of dinner yet!
09-12-2006, 19:17
What happened to healthy living?!? Typical Sagitarius all optimism and no follow through
Stop me if I'm wrong.........
:laughing: its so true...hmm typical...or have you been looking through my windows again:rolleyes:
............and it looks like we'll be TTC buddies BJ and Cass
:smiliedance: yay lets keep pumping them out....i obviously havent learnt my lesson yet:D
09-12-2006, 19:24
i co sleep with zoe...never had a problem she drifts off when i do:D
09-12-2006, 19:45
Bronny, how do you conceive again when you are co-sleeping :eek:
i had the kids baby sat overnight...i was out drinking:thumbsup:
09-12-2006, 19:47
Must be interesting trying to look after three little ones with a cracking hangover!
:eek: my sister was here..she had to get them dressed and take them to preschool and daycare....me and zoe just layed on a mattress in the lounge room....next to a bucket:laughing:
MrsTwith3
09-12-2006, 20:20
:eek: my sister was here..she had to get them dressed and take them to preschool and daycare....me and zoe just layed on a mattress in the lounge room....next to a bucket:laughing:
LMAO:laughing: I probably would of slept with my head in the toilet (wouldnt of been the 1st time either...lol)
Cass It was nice spending time with Andrew and the kids watching "kids" movies of course. Had a good old laugh watching the movie Cars. I dont know maybe i have a warped sense of humour but I was in stitches watching in the movie where they were doing tractor tipping, like what sick people do to sleeping cows except this was on sleeping tractors. Ok it is warped.
Kim 42 degrees is just horrid. I hate it being that hot. Lucky for the A/C I say. Our place gets really hot as its 2 storey and we have a 12ft raked ceiling but the a/c works a treat.
Anna Goodluck on the TTC. I think you women are very strong and I have the utmost respect for you all for going back so soon. I know I wouldnt be able to handle it and it would be just my luck I would get another one with Callans temperament and personality:no:
Debbie Hmmm doesnt Brylee know prawns are good for her???? I love them too but havent had any yet now Im too scared incase they would effect Noah. 3 hours of screaming, I'd be screaming in sympathy after 1hr. Poor little mite. Is she over it today?
BabyClancy
09-12-2006, 20:45
thanks for the advice girls. he fell in his rocker today rather than having to be put in his bassinet. he doesn't have too strict a routine except for how he is put to bed at night so i thought he knew the drill. maybe it's just a faze and it'll pass soon if i stick to he's night routine.:fingerscrossed:
as for fist sucking, harry slobbers and tries to jam his fist into his mouth if he's bored and doesn't have his dummy. he prefers his dummy though which i'm happy about and the fact that he hasn't found his thumb. i don't want him to suck his thumb. i can imagine it would be really frustrating trying to stop him from sucking his thumb though. harry has a flat spot on his head from always laying on one side. it's really frustrating because when he's asleep at night i can't do anything to stop him from laying on that side. it's hard enough to keep having to prop him on the other side during the day.:banghead:
good luck to those TTC. having a baby makes you clucky. while i was pregnant i swore i would never have another but now i can't believe i even talk about when we have our next one. but that won't be for some years. we're getting married first:D
09-12-2006, 21:03
Hey BJ did you end up giving up the smokes?
:laughing: no im to self destructive:D
secondtimearound2
09-12-2006, 21:23
Hi Ladies :wave:
Sorry I've been mia for a few days.
Ever since catching gastro Lachlan sleep has gone haywire:thumbsdown: only doing 3-4 hour blocks of a night and only little power naps through the day :banghead: . I've been very tired and depressed since being sick and to make things worse it's hot and very smokey here.
Anyway I hope you are all doing well and everyone is happy and healthy.
Lee
Welcome back Lee :wave: Missed you around here!
Sorry Lachlan's sleeping isn't going so well. I really hope it improves soon for both your sakes. :wizard:
Got some gorgeous pics of Alex tonight - will post a couple once I get my butt into gear!
Wondermum
09-12-2006, 22:04
Had a good day - went & picked up our pixie photos (gawd aren't they expensive!! not sure I'll get them again...)
They certainly do cost a fortune! They always have really - I got some when I had DS1 but since getting Rylan's recently there prices have gone through the roof! I just got the free large one and one other pose which was $80 alone.
Deb a slow cooker is a great gift to get! I have had one for about 4 years now and they are such great time savers. There are so many great meals you can do in them too - there is also a great recipe thread here on the hub too. I have got one for my sister for chrissy this year - her request.
Mel your dvd day sounded cool!! Hayden really loves the cars movie - I have an inkling Santa Clause may be getting him the dvd and a few other cars merchandise. I actually haven't watched it myself as Hayden was watching it when Nathan and I were watching another dvd. I'm sure I have read somewhere else here on the hub found that tipping tractor part funny too.
Shan GL tonight with getting bubs back into his routine. All I can suggest is consistency - bath, lighting, wrapping, cuddling, feeding... (what you have been doing) and preserver, he should settle into the night time routine again for you soon. Rylan sleep routine during the day isn't as rigid as his nightly routine - he cat naps in his rocker or his bassinet which is out in the family area. The house has noise - t.v., big brother Hayden :ecomcity: clitter clatter etc..etc..
Cass I love your idea of having a cleaner :yes: Although I don't need a two storey mansion to want one as I have a 3 yr old that can turn a single storey house upside down - toys here there and everywhere! Somehow I only think I'll get that wish if we win the big one :wizard:
Kim... ehhh that heat you had sounds terrible - air conditioning is such a wonderful comfort - glad we have it too.
Lee good to hear from you - sorry to hear you have been feeling a little low lately. Rylan's sleep routine has changed slightly too. He has been waking more frequently during the night 2-3 hourly sometimes, it seems ever since he had his immunizations :confused: I thought it may have been another growth spurt?
Well we all had dinner out tonight and then on the way home took a drive around out local surrounding suburbs to check out the Chrissy displays!!!!
Hello to all you other mumma's, hope you are all doing well!!!
secondtimearound2
09-12-2006, 22:19
Jess you could be on to something...........another growth spurt. I guess it is the 12 week mark. Thanks *off to bed seeing light at the end of the tunnel* :D .
uummm why didn't I come on here earlier.
Kim looking forward to seeing those precious pics:yes: .
OK off to bed for me now. I preying for more then 3 hours.
Sweet dreams everyone :wave:
Wondermum
09-12-2006, 22:26
Jess you could be on to something...........another growth spurt. I guess it is the 12 week mark. Thanks *off to bed seeing light at the end of the tunnel*.
OK off to bed for me now. I preying for more then 3 hours.
Sweet dreams everyone :wave:
Yes you should stop by more often... we miss you Lee :)
As soon as I read your boy's sleeping pattern had changed I thought :idea: only 1 day apart in age....Hmmm??? They're up to something anyways :D Hope you get some good Zzzz tonight. I'm off to bed too.
Ok so dont count me in on the TTC just yet, Dh is making 'no' noises at me now *sigh* Honestly I could kill him sometimes. He is the kind of person that you just have to go "we are doing ________" and dont give him any room to change his mind, so indecisive. I will make him change his mind eventually.
As for those thinking Im brave for wanting #2 so soon, if I didnt love being a Mama or have such a good baby or have fertility issues I would not be going back for seconds just yet, if ever lol
Cass - sorry I didnt answer on MSN, we have company (Dh's workmates AGAIN) and I got sent out to fetch dinner.
Lee - nice to see you again!
Anna that's a majour bummer that DH is making life difficult! I hate it when people say one thing, then stew on it for a while and come back with a totally different opinion :banghead: Makes me scream! I really hope you come to a decision you're both happy with soon.
Cassie the PCOS sounds like it's reared it's ugly head again! Big :hugs: to you - I hope it sorts itself out, and if not, here's preying for a :bfp: very soon!
DH is off today on the Annual toy run for disadvantaged children. Guys on bikes drive in succession to a country town and dontate toys to St Vinnies, that get passed on to kids before Xmas. :D SUCH a good cause (not to mention another excuse for a bike ride for DH!!). DH raised a bit of money and we chipped in as well and bought an MP3 Player as our gift, and also a coupla big teddy bears. Should cover a coupla different age ranges. Took a coupla piccies before he left....
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_1192.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_1208.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_1226.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_1199.jpg
Hope everyone's having a great weekend.
BabyClancy
10-12-2006, 09:14
we had a good night. back to going straight to sleep after his bottle at night. :fingerscrossed: it lasts more than one night. he's quite grumpy today though unfortunately. he's back in bed again for the second time this morning already. music seems to be helping him go to sleep this morning. thought i might try the music during the day so he can distinguish the difference between day and night.
MrsTwith3
10-12-2006, 10:11
Morning ladies and bubbas
Kim Those pics are great. Alex really is a handsome little thing. My DH saw the pics too and said how cute he is...lol
Lee Welcome back again hun. Sorry to hear your feeling down. Its amazing what not getting enough sleep does to not just your body but your mind too. :fingerscrossed: that Lachlan's sleeping improves for you soon.
Shan Glad to hear last night went better for you. Little changes like the music during the day for his naps might help him distinguish night and day.
Cass How are you today? Did Logan sleep well for you last night after the big family get together or was he too overstimulated to settle? With your hair falling out it is very,very common after having a bub. When your pregnant the hormones mean that your hair doesnt have the same normal cycle of losing as much. Thats why when pregnant womens hair usually has a nice sheen and fullness to it that they might not normally have. Once the hormones are gone then the hair starts to shed all the extra hair that it kept during the pregnancy. Lets hope you get your BFP soon anyway.
Jess How are you all today hun? How was your dinner out last night? I bet Hayden was fascinated with all the beautiful light displays around.
We had a good night again here. Noah crashed out in his swing while we were eating dinner at 6:30 pm, got him out and went to put him to bed but thoughtI might try the dreamfeed thing at 8:30pm. He woke at 2:30am had a quick 10min feed then back off till 6:40am. Well Im off to drag DH around the shops for a bit.
Have a great day all.
BBL
Mel xoxo
Wondermum
10-12-2006, 10:39
Morning all,
I had another up and down night last night so I'm a little tired from the past week of this change with Rylan's sleep pattern and also this head cold isn't helping much along with the pinched nerve in my back - which has settled a little but still feels bruised internally now.
Kim I have to say Alex looks like his daddy atm :yes: what lovely pics and that last pic of Alex is a classic 'The look' :D
Anna :fingerscrossed: you and your DH can come to a mutual agreement with TTC#2 soon.
Shan glad to hear you had a better night last night.
Cass my hair fell out rather badly with DS1 but it hasn't started happening yet this time round. I think for me it usually starts when the bf lessen.
Mel glad to hear you had a great night with Noah last night. Enjoy dragging DH out shopping today, it's great having another adult to handle the kids when your out and about.
We are heading out for a family day out today... we're still deciding where to go atm.
Have a lovely Sunday everyone ;)
Jess.
Shan the music thing is a great idea. Alex LOVES music, and settles the moment I put it on - he falls to sleep every night with baby relaxation music playing on his Ipod! :thumbsup: Hope Harry continues the pattern for you.
Mel, sounds like you and Noah had a great night. Good luck with the shopping! I try to avoid taking DH shopping where possible!!! Thanks for the comments about Alex - he's definitely a pretty happy bubba!
Jess I hope you had a great family day out. Deciding where to go is the hardest part!:rolleyes: Yep, ALex is a spitting image of his daddy :yes:.
Cass hope the cleaning for the inlaws goes well! Doing much else today?
OMG - it's sooo quiet in here! Where is everyone??
Valosgirls
10-12-2006, 15:11
Afternoon Girls:wave:
Oooh Mel Im so jealous of you going shopping today!! I noticed that everything was open but Im too tired. Church with 3 kiddies knocks the stuffing out of us LOL:laughing:
Hey Cass - dont you hate vistors at times! Sometimes I look at the state of my house and think "ohh please dont anyone come knocking" :laughing:
Kim - SInce youve done all your cleaning could you please come and finish mine? I started the rest of my spring cleaning ( yep late I know!) and after yesterday I was completely beat. Christmas is such a busy time -I have hardly had time to scratch myself!.
The kids are now officially finished school and kindy so all the end of year things are over - this week doesnt look to be any quieter though:rolleyes:
I soo want a mudcake from the cheescake shop right now ( STOP laughing Nats, Jess and Deb!!) ha ha
Sammy your Chrissy lights look GREAT!!
Think I might put the kettle on............
Hey does anyone around own one of the Baby Bjorn Actives? The new ones with the lumbar support thingy at the back? Whats your opinion on them?
Valosgirls
10-12-2006, 15:29
Im going to move somewhere more remote then:laughing:
Valosgirls
10-12-2006, 15:40
LOL!! No I didnt mean you were remote I meant that I lived more remotely I wouldnt get visitors:p
Still...........then I'd have to home school the girls and I just cant be bothered - its enough to have to drive them there!:laughing:
10-12-2006, 15:42
I wouldnt call us remote :p A remote place wouldnt have a cheesecake shop :laughing:
:eek: no cheesecake shop in my town
Valosgirls
10-12-2006, 15:50
Wow - I know 4 families who home school - I think its coming back into vogue what with so many people becoming dissatisfied with the educational system.
I sure as heck dont have the patience for it though:D
Hey is is hot up there today? Are you up or down? I am SO bad with direction:rolleyes: Its really warm down here- 32deg under my back verandah so the thermometor says.
Mmmm cup of tea and smarties...........
Mel are you back yet??? I REALLY need a pretzel:chef: a cinammon one if you can manage it:yes:
Valosgirls
10-12-2006, 15:52
:laughing: BJ!!
Hey when are you going to TTC #4? or have you already started:D
Will the doc consider this a high risk pregnancy due to the probs you had last time?
and are you going to give up smoking??:p
10-12-2006, 15:55
Hey when are you going to TTC #4? or have you already started:D
trying this month:yes:
Will the doc consider this a high risk pregnancy due to the probs you had last time?
i was told by a specialist that i can have as many kids as i want..its just a freak thing what happened....although my doctor asked me to give him a few years to recover:laughing:
and are you going to give up smoking??.....no:party:
Valosgirls
10-12-2006, 15:59
..although my doctor asked me to give him a few years to recover:laughing:
HA HA !!!! Naturally:D
I think we may have started TTC#4 accidentaly last night:o Got too carried away I think................:rolleyes:
10-12-2006, 16:02
I think we may have started TTC#4 accidentaly last night:o Got too carried away I think................:rolleyes:
some slappin action hey:kiss: :eek: me and dh havent had sex in over a month
we could be due in september again
OMG I need some multi vitamins or something!!! I'm sure DH would appreciate it IYKWIM ;)
Riki what happened? You paid the internet then the power went off ?!?
Cass, survive the out-laws okay?
so BJ what are you doing for your b;day since I guess the Cheese Cake Shops out of the question.
Well I just settled James, cooked dinner, made DH a quice for tommorrow whilst figuring out how th use our new video recorder ---- no wonder DH never gets any! I wonder if he'd sacrifice dinner + lunch for nookie?
10-12-2006, 18:15
Ok BJ, how on earth do you go an entire month without sex :
i was getting an iud put in on friday....but plans have changed i was avoiding getting pg at all cost...and remember i co sleep:D
so BJ what are you doing for your b;day since I guess the Cheese Cake Shops out of the question.
i dont know yet...probably just getting trashed like every other thursday:D .......why you wanna hook up;)
Ok just when I gave up on anyone posting I go away and come back and everyone's back!!! :rolleyes:
Cass, I'll send you my msn address by PM - think I may need someone to chat to who's in the same position as me - DH is going away again tomorrow for another week. Damn these jobs that keep our hubbies away :banghead: :laughing: Although, I do LOVE Not cooking dinner!
Good to have you back RIk! missed you! And you already have my tastebuds going nuts again over your mention of mudcake! LOL - it's heaps hot here too - was 42 yesterday and bout 36 or something today. Yuck!
Nats - LOL - I really don't think dinner's going to suffice for what your DH really wants! Good try though!
i dont know yet...probably just getting trashed like every other thursday:D .......why you wanna hook up;)
I souvenired some gas from hospy when I had James so I'll bring that up shall I ??? :D
Kimmy I'd rather give him a bit than cook him dinner!!! Dinner takes WAY longer to complete!!!
OMG sooo true
Isnt it amazing how fast it can be to conceive a child D
If only the labour and conceiving times were reversed:p
My labour was only 17 mins once it started
:confused: Stage 2 of labour right???
:D I suppose my labour was quicker than a quicky - one slice of the knife bobs your uncle! :laughing: Should have had them put a zipper in my abdomen make it quicker for next time :D
Hey then DH cuold put the conception goodies strait in, no mucking around with this time consuming rumpy pumpy rubbish !!!!!.........
Cass, you send that oB to me next time i'm in labour in case i've got a cervical lip that needs pushing out the way :yes:
Okay I'm going to bed (feeding beast needs her rest!!!) Back up at 1am to feed booby-munchkin!!! :wave:
My labour was only 17 mins once it started :D
lol - mine was 17 hours (hospy recorded this as the total labour time), plus 2 .5 hours pushing :eek: I neeeeeeded drugs!
I souvenired some gas from hospy when I had James so I'll bring that up shall I ??? :D
Kimmy I'd rather give him a bit than cook him dinner!!! Dinner takes WAY longer to complete!!!
Must agree Nats - quicker and requires less energy :laughing:
10-12-2006, 20:59
stop talking about labour:eek: :eek: :eek:
let me be ignorant:D
10-12-2006, 21:25
We're just preping you for the next one BJ, doing you a favour if you ask me :p
my labour with zoe was less then 3 hours from start to finish...next time i'll just spit it out:barf:
Wondermum
10-12-2006, 21:45
My labour was only 17 mins once it started :D
Whaaa :eek: do you mean the pushing stage? Did I read your birth story wrong, you're JJ right :confused:
The pushing part is the worst for me *cringe* even tho it's not as long as stage 1. My first labour was about 7.5 hrs and last one was 4.5 hours total with 1/2 hr of that pushing...Grrrrrr
Wondermum
10-12-2006, 21:47
Hey ladies I've been busy playing the bubhub :chef: tonight.
Here is my entry for the bubhub bakeoff thingy :D
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153/Jessath/Bubhubbakeoff004.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153/Jessath/Bubhubbakeoff006.jpg
Tempting :D
*butterflykisses*
10-12-2006, 21:49
hey everyone
this is bad, i havnt been on for so long i didnt even know a new thread had started LOL
well i couldnt sleep like usual so i thougth i would pop on and say hello
thats was a great labour BJ
im no expert on labour because Ive never had one LOL
Cassie im praying your PCOS hasnt come back
let me know how you are
Kim the pics are great
is anyone elses hair falling out? :confused: im very upset about it atm
im off to the dr tomorrow to ask for an u/s to make sure my tubes are done right LOL
we dont want any accidetns now
well im gong to try and sleep again :rolleyes:
i promise to come on more :)
Wondermum
10-12-2006, 21:49
Cass the pic of Logan in your avatar is just gorgeous!!! Babies make my heart melt :)
Wondermum
10-12-2006, 21:58
:wave: BFK good to hear from you.... :yes: it has been some time. Amelia is looking just beautiful in your avatar.
My hair isn't falling out just yet - but I know it will :thumbsdown: I remember it falling out with DS1 - I would have to pull the hair out of the drain hole out in the shower everyday :eek: it was bad!
10-12-2006, 21:58
they look great im so cr@p with food:D
ive been busy to....check it out
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=55049
*butterflykisses*
10-12-2006, 22:00
Cassie i just noticed your Sig
good luck with the TTC and Bj as well
you go girls
I love the bath pics as well Cassie i have so many of Amelia she is a water baby
we are going to my dads on Friday and he has a pool so i bought her swimmers i wonder how she is going to like the water LOL
i cant get up and go to bed atm i feel like whats the point
:mad: when will my hormones be normal again this is driving me insane
10-12-2006, 22:00
is anyone elses hair falling out? :
)
i dont think so but its permently slicked into a messy bun all the time:D
Wondermum
10-12-2006, 22:03
they look great im so cr@p with food:D
ive been busy to....check it out
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=55049
Holy S*** REALLY?????????
I haven't read it right through yet S*** :D WhooHoo!!!!
*butterflykisses*
10-12-2006, 22:03
LOL
BJ are you starting rumors:laughing:
*butterflykisses*
10-12-2006, 22:04
LOL mines always in a pony
Wondermum
10-12-2006, 22:08
Come on B-J fess up :o .... should I be wearing this face?
10-12-2006, 22:08
Holy S*** REALLY?????????
I haven't read it right through yet S*** :D WhooHoo!!!!
no i was lying...:laughing:
*butterflykisses*
10-12-2006, 22:09
I know the post is confusing me more and mroe i read it :laughing:
see what you have done BJ LOL
Wondermum
10-12-2006, 22:10
no i was lying...:laughing:
:rolleyes: that be right.... :o ..... Arrrggghh :banghead:
*butterflykisses*
10-12-2006, 22:10
:laughing: your so funny
i needed a good laugh tonight :D
10-12-2006, 22:12
:laughing: your so funny
i needed a good laugh tonight :D
it was worth it for the giggles i had:D
Wondermum
10-12-2006, 22:15
it was worth it for the giggles i had
:p :p :p :p never to be taken seriously!!!!!
10-12-2006, 22:20
:p :p :p :p never to be taken seriously!!!!!
thats right only with water
Wondermum
10-12-2006, 22:52
thats right only with water
:laughing: LMAO.... I was picturing you sitting at the computer fagging away surrounded by half a dozen empty beam cans :laughing:
11-12-2006, 05:49
:laughing: LMAO.... I was picturing you sitting at the computer fagging away surrounded by half a dozen empty beam cans :laughing:
:eek: no i dont smoke inside:shame: ...and i dont drink when my kids are around...thats what thursdays are for...i get them babysat every thursday night..sweet
OMG someone kill me :banghead:
Im bleeding again AND IM ON THE FREAKIN PILL. I only had my period 9 days ago and it was a good one too. Im so sick of this, I spent all of yesterday sleeping or on the couch, poor Dh had to take care of bub. I dont know what the heck is going on, is anyone else having this happen? Ive never had any issues with the pill ever.
On a good note bub slept 8.5 hours straight :smiliedance:
I thought that too Cass but Im on the the pill and have been since I weaned Jett soooo I shouldnt be having this at all.
MrsTwith3
11-12-2006, 08:31
Im kind of in the same boat Anna. I started the pill 2 weeks ago and within a couple of days I got AF return. Im blaming it on the mini pill as Im sure if I didnt start taking it AF still would be MIA. As Cass said it may take some time for your cycles to get back to normal after having a bub but it could also be that the pill you are on mightnt be strong enough for you now even if it was the one you used to be on. After DS1 I went back onto the same pill I had been on for years when I stopped bf but i had constant break through bleeding. I changed pills to a stronger one and it fixed it up.
Wondermum
11-12-2006, 10:14
no i dont smoke inside ...and i dont drink when my kids are around...thats what thursdays are for...i get them babysat every thursday night..sweet
your an :angel: .......:wizard: that turns into a :devil6:
Valosgirls
11-12-2006, 11:27
:wave: Everyone.
Had a great nights sleep - Harrison has started sleeping through now so its been a nice week:thumbsup:
Mel - Where is my pretzel?:D
So what is everyone up to today? I have some serious housework too and a very non-serious attitude about doing it:laughing:
DellaWellaWoman
11-12-2006, 11:53
Damn all this talk of cheesecake shop and pretzels - I want some!!!
We went to a bub hub chrissy bbq in the park yesterday - Brylee was fine, just wanted to be fed the whole time!! Got home and laid down on the couch for a snooze while Brylee had a feed then went for a walk and she fell asleep in the pram :smiliedance:
She went to bed at an all time record early time of 10pm - DH and I went to bed at the same time for the first time in 15 weeks :eek:
Then she was up for a feed at 1 then again at 4 - took her into the spare room at 4 and we fed/slept until 7 (decided not to get up & go to yoga) and then again until 10am.
I'm starting to lose my hair now - starting to find my ponytail in the shower drain :crying:
Brylee's asleep on my lap with a ( . ) in her mouth, so when she finally decides to wake up I might go shopping - need to get some photo frames and get some stamps to send the chrissy cards so they arrive before chrissy rather than after :)
Oh yeah, and I need to avoid the cheesecake shop & the pretzel man....
MrsTwith3
11-12-2006, 11:57
Hey there Rik,
So no pretzels here. I have the same very serious lack of desire to do housework today. I figure its not going anywhere and neither am I so we can catch up with each other at a later date.
I wish it wasnt so warm here today as I would love to go to Westfield to the nice cafe they have and have a nice latte and a banana caramel cream tart. They are sooooo devine, I had one last week when I went out with my mum.
Thats great to hear Harrison is sleeping through for you.
Noah is going well too. He was down at 8pm, up at 4am then back off to sleep till 7:30am. Im loving it.
BabyClancy
11-12-2006, 13:27
hey ladies
it's a little cooler here today, only 32 degrees :smiliedance: so i thought i better go do the shopping i had put off doing while it was really hot and smokey. went to the shopping centre and couldn't find a trolley with a seat for harry anywhere :mad: and it's impossible to go shopping for nappies, formula etc with the pram so being quite cranky i went and brought a baby carrier. this should make life easier.
good sleep here. DP miss his alarm clock though. he considers harry his morning alarm clock and because harry didn't wake up until 5am for his bottle (bed at 9.30pm) he didn't wake up for his 6.30 am bottle and wake DP up for work!
had the same issue with AF. i figured the second lot only about 10 days after the first was from the injection (instead of the pill) which i had about 10 days earlier.
Cass - i love black and white and sepia photos too. all the photos of harry that i give to people are either B&W or sepia. my avator is in sepia. i love that photo of him.
a bit of a crappy night was had here! Alex woke pretty much 3 hourly for his feeds except for one 4 hour stretch. I'm just about tearing my hair out - i can't believe he's still not having at least a 6 hour stretch yet! :confused:
Still no AF here either - I have my script for the pill but haven't taken it in case it brings it on! I'm loving not having it yet!
GL to all the girls hoping to get housework done today!
It's much cooler here - only 24 degrees today, so I'm gonna take advantage of it and take Alex out for a walk in the pram later. Other than that, no major plans here, which is good as we have a very busy week coming up and will be out every day.
BJ your BB trick was just nasty :shame::laughing:
Cass make sure you let us know how u go at the Drs. xx
:
a bit of a crappy night was had here! Alex woke pretty much 3 hourly for his feeds except for one 4 hour stretch. I'm just about tearing my hair out - i can't believe he's still not having at least a 6 hour stretch yet!
:
Kimmy, James is the same!!! Only he DID sleep though for a while. He'd go for 8 hours at night but then silly me had to go and tell DH how I missed our boy waking me for night feeds, well.... James mustv'e overheard coz up he gets agian every three hours exept from 6pm to 12am his only long stretch all day :banghead: Idiot nats, idiot
Cass will you get the 'thin prep' pap smear? I did but but medicare doesn't cover the extra $40 :no:
Mel hows your little one? Not effected too much by the needles then.
BJ ever you go on BB I'll gladly vote so as to keep you in, permanently :yes:
Riki, what are you doing today? Looks like you guys in the west are all sophisticated now with your daylight savings :p so now are you only 1 hour behind??
:Kimmy, James is the same!!! Only he DID sleep though for a while. He'd go for 8 hours at night but then silly me had to go and tell DH how I missed our boy waking me for night feeds, well.... James mustv'e overheard coz up he gets agian every three hours exept from 6pm to 12am his only long stretch all day :banghead: Idiot nats, idiot
:laughing: :laughing: I did the EXACT same thing - started talking about how Alex was growing up too fast, and how I couldn't believe how quickly he was starting to sleep through (he had a 9 hour stretch at the last check), then all of a sudden he went back to being a newborn again! :wizard: NO WAY!!!!!!!!!!! Looks like we jinxed ourselves big time!!!
I did the EXACT same thing - started talking about how Alex was growing up too fast, and how I couldn't believe how quickly he was starting to sleep through (he had a 9 hour stretch at the last check), then all of a sudden he went back to being a newborn again!: NO WAY!!!!!!!!!!! Looks like we jinxed ourselves big time!!!
OMG :laughing:
I'm fearful of all the other stupid things I've thought recently like --- "I wish I was pg again" and 'i miss my period" Geez I'm an idiot :o
Speaking of pg I just rang Westmead. They say you don't nessesarily have to wait a year before reconceiving and they do allow VBAC's hhhmmmmm :detective: ..........
...Then agian my performance today at the shopping centre :rolleyes: trying to manouvre just one child maybe I'll put frivolous ideas out of my head till I grow some nous!!!!
Hey maybe the little Librans are influenced by the stars or something!!! What time was yours born?:detective:
Alex was born at 1pm. What about James??? You could be on to something here!!!
Whats a thin prep papsmear? Ive never heard of one lol, but no, Ill probably just get a normal one :D I just hope theyre not running late... Logan always seems to be due for a sleep or a feed for whatever time I make appointments for :rolleyes:
Cassie I do the same thing, I book at a different time every time I go, and it always ends up being the exact time Alex is due for his feed. :rolleyes: Last couple of times I've dragged my mum along as well so she can sit in the Drs office and feed him while I see the Dr!!! :laughing:
Cass we have the same baths....
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/excitedmummy2b/IMG_1249.jpg
Good minds think alike :D
Good minds think alike
Kimmy ur so modest. Why not great minds! Didn't wat to exclude Cass I take it :p
Cass that thin prep is just more thorough checking by the path' same procedure though.
Kimmy James was born 9.37pm the night before. :laughing: Do you ever read his star sign??
Hey James always wants to be asleep when we ahve apointments :laughing: I feel so bad for waking him up!!!
Now Cass go to your appointment:yes: now
Valosgirls
11-12-2006, 16:50
Ok the GREAT news of the day IS - no Im not pregnant! lol My local shopping centre which is currently undergoing a MAJOR underhaul has just opened its first Hot PRETZO's!!! :smiliedance: Very exciting - you just cant beat a hot cinammon and sugar one with your latte - it honestly doesnt get much better.
Hmmm I have just realized how really simple things make my day LOL
So on that note Mel - I forgive you for not getting me one ha ha! Glad Noah slept so well - he is doing just great. Its a good thing we dont live close you know or we would be meeting for coffee and cake at Westfield every other day( and I would gain like 100pounds in a month) LOL ahh Westfield - my home away from home:-)
Cass - sorry to hear your a little under the weather - get yourself a big bottle of the Oceanfast Cranberry Juice - its majic for clearing up urinary tract infections. I used to be plagued with them when I first got married - good ol honeymoon cystitus they called it. Do you have some of that 'ural' poweder from the chemist? Takes the burning away really quick.
Nats Yep 2hrs behind you lot - but we are by nature a smarter state so we dont care that you guys are ahead in time:laughing: Oh sorry Im such a looney today. I'd better shut up or you might ring me out of spite tonight to tell me what happens in neighbours this week ha ha! Oh and today I did some food shopping - ate some chips - ate a donut - and then came home put all the kids to bed. Now Im surfin eBay - I desperately want one of those Baby Born Active carriers but they are few and far between.
Kim - My AF hasnt showed up either! Dont you just LOVE it. Mine were always soo excrusiating. Mine came back with the girls really quickly so Im not sure where its hiding this time around.
Deb - How is that cheescake craving going? Mmm alll lovely and rich and creamy - its just slips down your throat with no effort at all and just BEGS for more mmmmmmmmmm.
Shan - Its hard shopping with a pram hey? I was worn out by the time I finished mine today. What kind of carrier did you get?
DellaWellaWoman
11-12-2006, 16:57
... some thing that lays them on the exact same position / angle, except it sticks with suction caps and stuff into a big bath, instead of having to try and bath then sitting up in those seat things, or having to hold them with both hands, think I might have to buy one ;)
I'm starting to look for one of these too. Target/KMart have them but they look a bit cheap & nasty... might have a look at the baby shops... Even tho Brylee's only 5kg or so she seems to be getting too long for her 000 clothes and her bath so I don't think it'll be too long before she's in the big bath. Oh, better get one of those things to kneel on next to the big bath too...
DellaWellaWoman
11-12-2006, 17:02
Deb - How is that cheescake craving going? Mmm alll lovely and rich and creamy - its just slips down your throat with no effort at all and just BEGS for more mmmmmmmmmm.
Oh shush!!!!
I went out to get the bits & pieces I needed and stopped at Gloria Jeans for a cookies 'n' cream chiller thingy... and a piece of jaffa slice :thumbsup: not as good as cheesecake, but anyway...
Now if only I could find a hot pretzel place around here... or do I have to move back to WA to find one? :gloomy:
Valosgirls
11-12-2006, 17:04
Those bath things sound like a great idea girls - if you come across a pic of one could you post a link for me pretty please? :)
Valosgirls
11-12-2006, 17:06
Oohhh come back to WA Deb - we are much funner:D
That jaffa slice sounds great:yes: - now you have made me want to go make one too - got this great recipe from my Mum come to think of it:chef:
Hmmm I have just realized how really simple things make my day LOL
RIKI ?!??! You said I make your day :(
Did you have some Mortal Sin cake yet???
DellaWellaWoman
11-12-2006, 17:26
I was initially thinking of something like this (http://www.babiesgalore.com.au/view_product_new.php?productid=1406&returnUrl2=%2Fshow_product_search.php%3Fsearchtype %3Dcategory%26categoryid%3D78) but then saw this (http://www.babiesgalore.com.au/view_product_new.php?productid=1405&returnUrl2=%2Fshow_product_search.php%3Fsearchtype %3Dcategory%26categoryid%3D78)
decisions decisions...
Cassie that puke story reminded me of this mornings incident. I had just finished telling Alex that I would bath him tonight instead of this morning today (would like to get into the night bath routine), when I took off his nappy, and he did a projectile Poo ALL OVER ME! I was trying to clean this up, when he Pee'd all over the wall next to the change table. I was trying to clean the poo off myself, the wee of the wall, and clean Alex as well, when he projectile vomitted over the other side of the change table on to the FLOOR!!!!!!!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: So the wall, the floor, the change table, me AND Alex were covered in a combo of poo, wee and vomit....eeeeewwwww.
It took me about 45 mins to clean it all up, and Alex laughed at me the whole time. Little so and so!!!!!!!!!
filmgirlgail
11-12-2006, 20:14
Sorry I've been MIA for a while but a lot's been going on.
Alex is fine and now is settling for the night at 6-7pm. Saturday night he slept without waking from 6pm - 4:45am!!! I slept from 8:30-4:45!! Last night he had a few grizzles but next week we're starting solids so hopefully that will keep his tummy satisfied and maybe help with sleep. Also the 16 week needles next week.
That's all for now, catching another early night as went out last night to see Casino Royale - VERY GOOD!!!
Hopefully will get on tomorrow. :wave:
filmgirlgail
11-12-2006, 20:47
Well you start with boring rice cereal then every 4 or 5 days, add a new food. Have to make sure you have the time for each food to be accepted and make sure they're not allergic to it, so will go with sweet potato, potato, carrot, then pea with potato, etc then fruits come later.
Oh and this is his passport picture. YOu can take them digitally at home then take them into the local photo shop and they resize and prin them off!! Lot easier than Jessica at 8 weeks on a white beanbag at the photo shop trying to get her to look at the camera !
*butterflykisses*
11-12-2006, 21:23
wow solids already
im waiting as long as possible LOL
Oh Kimmy im so sorry about your experience this morningAmelia has pooed weed and vomited over me so many times LOL
Amelia is a big vomiter I cant go anywhere without smelly like it now
Amelia hated the heat today hardly slept thank god she is sleeping soundly now
Well I went to the GP today, he is 100% sure this bleeding is not normal OR good and he put me on some medication that helps regulate your hormones or something I have to take it 10 days of the month for 3 months and then go back to see him. He def thinks its some sort of hormonal problem, how serious or bad we dont know. Did a b/t to check thyroid, anaemia et al. Will see how I go but I think the tablets are working already as Ive stopped bleeding *knock on wood*
I finished all my chrissy shopping today YEAH ME! Now I just have to pick up one of Dh's pressies next monday (its a silver key ring with Jetts face engraved on it so cute) and buy the chrissy food!
My little chunker weighs 7 freakin kilo's now No wonder my arms go numb from holding him, thats like 2 sacks of spud's!
Anywho my sister is here for the week and bub is in bed so I might go goss for a bit then go nighty night myself.
ETA - Ive been naughty and giving Jett Farex in his last night time bottle since he was 8 weeks old.........he loves it and is much more settled during the day now. I cant wait to start solids (going to start them at 5 mths).
*butterflykisses*
11-12-2006, 21:30
thats great news Anna on both the dr helping you and the xmas shopping LOL
thank fully im finished as well just got to finish Brian and camerons bdays off LOL
Oh i forgot i went to the dr and asked for an u/s and he said if they cut them (which is what i asked for ) it wouldnt show up on an u/s
grrr
so i have to ring the hpsital and ask them about it
man, i feel bad now about not starting Amelia until late
but she really doesnt need it she is getting way to chubby as it is LOL
Valosgirls
11-12-2006, 22:29
Nats!! You are an absolute scream:laughing:
So I bought one of those lovely Papasan rockers for Harrison but I still had one of those mesh bouncers left over from the girls - you guys know the ones? Anyways it didnt have any straps on it as I had cut them off so the other day I put in the big bath - whilst I was bathing the girls and layed Harrison on it. It was BRILLIANT!! He layed in the water without me having to hold him at all and kicked and splashed whilst I just sat on a stool next to him. Was fabulous:thumbsup: and superb on my back too.
Cass - the Ural comes in a big box of sachets - so whenever that burning sensation crops up you are guaranteed there'll be some left in the cuboard when you really need them at 3am.
As to solids - Im not starting until I absolutely have too LOL I will milk every day out of the 6 months I have possible. Life is soooo much easier with just milk:D
Anna - Glad that your doc is on the excess bleeding problem - I had it after DD2 - I would just pour and pour with blood right in the middle of my cycle. Turned out I had extremely high levels of Estrogen in my system. It settled after a while though. Was a real pain in the neck for sure.
Gail:wave: Nice to see you around - glad to hear that things are going well with bubs:-)
Ooohh Kim - you handed me the biggest massivest laugh EVER!!! You poor thing - I was projectile pood on my head once by one of the girls - and it ran all down my face. ha ha!
Kylie - Nice to see you too:-) Yeh my bubs so big he would be a size 2 if I put him on solids this early Ha ha ha!! Hope you get some confirmation on your tubes soon:-)
Sammy - Wot are you up to?
Mel - How did your housework go today?
Jess - Hope your having a nice day too:-)