View Full Version : Breastfeeding necklace
Hey all! Just wondering if anyone knows about making a breastfeeding necklace? Do I need to knot each bead on so if it breaks they won't all come off? or use a stronger type of thread? Any help 'preciated :yes:
It is best to use a type of really strong coloured twine or leather, go to spotlight, lots of goodies there, or anything really strong, but from experience , they are really hard to break, and also you wanna use plastic beads :yes: cause gladd beads are very dangerous for babies, and pearls especially if cultured can fake. Have to be really careful, :)
SalTheGal
01-12-2006, 21:23
ummm....whats a breastfeeding necklace?:confused: :o
Just something to keep baby amused while your feeding him, I make them but I make them with all different things on them, such as rabbits and frogs, and very bright beads :yes:
Keep them amused for hours :thumbsup: especially when you are out and carrying them around works like a charm 110% entertainment! :D
2prettygirls
01-12-2006, 21:35
Great idae!! where do you get little frogs and stuff from? It would be good for bubs when they get to the age of being too distracted to feed.
I get them from a wholesale supplier. Not sure where to get them from from locally, looked everywhere else before i went wholesale myself, but couldnt find any,
Sorry hun xx
01-12-2006, 21:50
Ooooo interesting! So would they be good for entertaining while bub is out in the sling as well?
Does anyone have any piccies or links to sites with pics of them?
Ooooo interesting! So would they be good for entertaining while bub is out in the sling as well?
Does anyone have any piccies or links to sites with pics of them?
Yup my bubs loved it in the sling :yes:
mmm... I had one the best thing since sliced bread :laughing: but I have given it to a friend... So I dont have pics or links sorry. But I will be off tomorrow to see my supplier and see what he has, If he has the bits I can make one for an example if you like??
01-12-2006, 22:20
I'd love that! So what sort of places have these little picture bead things (eg. frogs). I'm not sure we really have any crafy type shops around here except for scrapbooking and fabric shops.....hmmmm:detective: can you get them online?
01-12-2006, 22:22
der you said above you're not sure where else to get them from! So spotlight has the plain beads and leather?
This is such a great idea? I was only feeding DD earlier, she was stuck starting at my chest and arm, I was thinking how boring it must be for her!
I'd love that! So what sort of places have these little picture bead things (eg. frogs). I'm not sure we really have any crafy type shops around here except for scrapbooking and fabric shops.....hmmmm can you get them online?
Not really in Australia... Maybe thats something for me to think about buisness wise :laughing: :laughing:
Problem with scrapbooking supplies is most of thier items arn't 3D so to speak. So thier puffy on one side, flat with no pattern on the other side, for scrapbooking reasons. Personally I am a 3D person. :D
der you said above you're not sure where else to get them from! So spotlight has the plain beads and leather?
This is such a great idea? I was only feeding DD earlier, she was stuck starting at my chest and arm, I was thinking how boring it must be for her!
Only the leather, I dont know where to get any fancy animal beads from locally...
I made one today....Heres a pic:
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h24/krystalaa/IMG_0613.jpg
I couldnt find any animals, only the teddies. :thumbsup:
02-12-2006, 16:09
Karizma~ It's awesome!! How long did it take? What are the beads threaded on? Looks fantastic :thumbsup:
:smiliedance: ....
I beaded it on Beading Elastic, cost about $10, for a reel of it, but it was the best thing i could find. I pulled it really really hard and it didnt break, that was the most impotantthing. And it has heaps of slack in it. So comfortable to wear and wont hurt your skin if baby pulls really hard.
Took about 30mins, My 3.5 yr old was beading with me so he kept stealing the good beads :laughing: So took extra time with bribing him for my beads back that I wanted to use and giving him substitute beads:D
But very impressed myself, I reckon its much nicer then my old one... :)
It looks great but how do you stop it from breaking and beads going everywhere and potentially choking bubs?
You would definately need to make sure it is knotted really well. I have a knot book cause i am a beadaholic :o So I knot it a special way, then thread the end leads back through the end beads again, and knot again. The elastic is really really strong it couldnt break it. Of course it would break eventually under extreme force, but so does everything, but would be extreme force to break it. As long as it is knotted correctly.
Other material you can use such as Tiger Tail wouldnt work, even thought it is 10 times stronger, there is nothing you can buy that would crimp the ends that wouldnt break under force. Leather is too think for some of the beads, and I personally have had leather slip out of place so that wasnt safe enough. Theres fishing line, but thats slips really easy cause the line is to think to knot closely.
Anyhow, this is really the best option, But YES most important that it is knotted very very well :yes: My 7months old son has been playing with mine all day he just loves it and hes rough as :laughing: But he is usually the type of baby that wont sit still hes a wiggle worm, but he was so quiet and still playing with this Ohhh and the frown from the concentration was hilarious, I love it...
Thanks Karizma, I will give it ago. I will be knotting the heck out of it so it doesn't break.
Let me know Mel if you want some elastic - I have heaps as I don't bead much any more.
SalTheGal
03-12-2006, 20:52
That looks awesome Karizma!!!! I am definitely going to give it a go.:smiliedance:
oh wow Karizma, I had never heard of them before, what a great idea, wish I knew about them when I was feeding DS2, will be definatly making one for the next baby :thumbsup:
You wouldnt believe it, I was shopping yesterday and was holding baby, and a women came up to me and was amazed, Anton (my son) was having a ball with it. And she wanted to know where i got it from, I told her I made it, She goes really, I will give you $20 to make one for me, with my daughters name on it. I said to her no no honestly you can make it it is easy, she begged me to make her one. And well coming up to x-mas how could I refuse :laughing:
Did anyone make one??? Anyone got pics to share??? Would love to see them :tree:
That would be great Kym! thanks
Let me know Mel if you want some elastic - I have heaps as I don't bead much any more.
Mel, I will bring it next week hopefully?
Oh forgot to tell you too... That elastic that i bought for nearly $10.00, I found in Big W and Lincraft for $4. It seems spotlight are ripping us off. For your wooden and plastic beads, Try the $2 shops, they have the best beads ever for these necklaces. :thumbsup:
I would not be suprised. Also at Lincraft Imagine they have vouchers in their catalogues and you can get the beads even cheaper.
Breast Feeding Necklace (http://picasaweb.google.com/mychildrensmother/BreastfeedingNecklace)
I got this today. Sorry I didn't make it. I ordered it from withawareness last week.
07-12-2006, 21:21
Nice :thumbsup:
I'm going to the bead shop nest week to get beads. So I'll be able to get eh elastic at Big W then, good!
I hope I can do it! I'm really un-crafty! I'll post a pic no matter how it turns out!
Breast Feeding Necklace (http://picasaweb.google.com/mychildrensmother/BreastfeedingNecklace)
I got this today. Sorry I didn't make it. I ordered it from withawareness last week.
:eek: I cant believe you paid for that. You can bead, you could have made that yourself.
Also I would be very careful with the beads on there, they dont look plactic, but Av probably wouldnt be into chewing on it now i suppose. But I have seen the strongest of looking glass beads and gemstone beads break very easily. Not good for bubs and teeth.
OK... I have some links for how to tie your knots properly:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hunter's_bend
http://www.layhands.com/Knots/Knots_Bends.htm#HuntersBend
Also you could double up the elastic.
:yes: Anyone make one??
15-12-2006, 20:43
I made one!!! :D
It only took about 20 mins but I spent hours looking for cool beads!
Some of the beads are cool, little stars and hearts etc...
but you can't really see this on the pic
breastfeeding necklace! (http://www.dropshots.com/photos/217399/20061215/175236.jpg)
close up! (http://www.dropshots.com/photos/217399/20061215/175616.jpg)
It's damn ugly, I'd look like a fool wearing it around in public :laughing: but it's bright and Evie LOVES it! (so much so she actually stops feeding to look at it and play with it!) lol
That's really cool Phineas!
I have always worn beautiful greenstone pendants, and both of mine love to play with it and chew on it, pretty expensive teether though...:eek:
YAY Phineas that looks awesome. :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
16-12-2006, 11:19
Now I'm on a mission to make something that looks alittle bit more like the one kymmy bought so I won't be embarrassed to wear it in public :laughing: