View Full Version : Pregnancy Yoga
spunkyboysmum
01-12-2006, 19:49
Hi:)
I am only 5 weeks preg but I really would love to try pregnancy Yoga a little further down the track but I have no Idea of where to look for classes.:smiliedance:
I live SOR , in Canning Vale so I was hoping to hear of anyone who has done classes before and how they went. Any other Ideas for staying fit during pregnancy??
I was so scared to do anything with my first bub so I stacked on excess weight and therefore had a big job to loose it all once he arrived. I really dont want to get like that this time!
Any advice /ideas would be awesome,
:D thanks
Luv Kellie
Elmopalooza
01-12-2006, 20:46
Hey Kellie
Umm i havent done any pregnancy yoga but i did start doing the Aqua Aerobics at Fremantle Leisure centre... PM me if u want more info!
hi and welcome to bub hub :wave:
i am 27 weeks along (3rd trimester, woo hoo!!) and hoping to start a pregnancy yoga class when i finish work in a couple of weeks. its at 8 limbs (http://www.8limbs.com/)in east vic park on saturdays at 12-1pm.
my mum has been to yoga classes there and said they are good so i am going to give it a shot.
i'm also hoping to start the pregnancy water aerobics at riverton leisureplex on thursdays.
hope that helps!
spunkyboysmum
04-12-2006, 22:11
Thanks for the replys:)
I was thinking of checking at riverton as it is my local Leisureplex:) and thurs would be good for me so thanks for that:)
I hadnt though of swimming but it is a great idea! Ill look into the Vic Park yoga too.
Luv Kellie
kirstenriley
04-12-2006, 22:24
Hi Kellie:wave:
Im Southern River and i have a pregnancy yoga dvd you can have if you want to come and pick it up.
Bellamyn
05-12-2006, 14:45
Kellie
I had a pregnancy DVD I did thru out my pregnancy & it was gr8!
Also swimming I did alot of & also gr8!
Have a fab pregnancy!
Bella
Hi Bella, I am new to the forum but I am also looking to do something on a Thursday. I am 25 weeks, expecting my second bub. If you want some company let me know.
Kelly
hi and welcome to bub hub :wave:
i am 27 weeks along (3rd trimester, woo hoo!!) and hoping to start a pregnancy yoga class when i finish work in a couple of weeks. its at 8 limbs (http://www.8limbs.com/)in east vic park on saturdays at 12-1pm.
my mum has been to yoga classes there and said they are good so i am going to give it a shot.
i'm also hoping to start the pregnancy water aerobics at riverton leisureplex on thursdays.
hope that helps!
Umm i'm 31 weeks and im interested in doing the pregnancy yoga ting. would love to join with someone else
OverTheMoon
18-12-2006, 10:25
Kellie, you must be able to read minds! So many of us looking for the same thing. I am 5 weeks too and have been thinking about pregnancy yoga around this neck of the woods too. Sounds like Riverton is the closest, yeah?
If you would like company, i am very interested too, and Thursday's is great for me.
clairereid
18-12-2006, 17:44
Hello
I did pregnancy yoga with DS and thought it was great. It was in UK so sorry, I cannot recommend anywhere. I thought it was more beneficial in the later stages, but there were girls at all stages who loved it. The teacher was a midwife and made the most delicious cakes!! thats not why I went honest!
It was manily stretching and not really like yoga I had done before, but it was excellent nice and relaxing!
I did my pregnancy yoga in a place in Bassendean:thumbsup:
Really nice girls and that's all they do - not a gym or anything - they focus on birth etc. Got details if anyone's interested.
spunkyboysmum
22-12-2006, 18:23
Hi ladies:)
I just found some info on a place that does the pregnancy yoga classes:)
I will prob give them a call next year. Have a look!
http://www.naturaltherapypages.com.au/therapist/3065
Luv Kellie
choplits mum
27-12-2006, 21:59
Hi..
I am nor and have been looking everywhere for pregnancy pilates. There is one in Joondalup but they said the numbers are too in consistent, so if anyone is interested to go please pm me and maybe we can get a group together??There is a private one we can do for $100 per hour..so if we can get 10 of us that would be great?!?
I am 24 weeks..
:xmas:
OverTheMoon
27-12-2006, 22:35
Kellie, I emailed the contact in your link about The Yoga Shala and got back this information, if anyone is interested??? I am keen, and i like the fact that your birthing partner is welcome at half price and my email was responded to within a couple of hours.
Classes Saturday mornings at 10am at 144 Shreeve Road in Canning Vale
New year begins 20th Jan
Also classes in Bedfordale on Wednesday nights at 6:30pm
Cost is $14 or $12 concession
Hope everyone's chrissy was good.
Mel xx
spunkyboysmum
06-01-2007, 19:59
Oh no what a shame!!! I only work on Sats so looks like I miss out :(
The CanningVale Yoga Shala is right near me too, agghh damn these pregnancy hormones!! now I wanna have a cry lol!!!
Thanks for letting me know Mel, I was going to ring them Monday but now I wont bother, Ill just keep looking!
Luv Kellie
XXX
OverTheMoon
07-01-2007, 22:37
No worries, Kellie. Doesn't look like i'll be able to go for a while either - i've been told that i have to rest and not do much 'cos of the 3 bleeds i've had in the last 2 weeks.
Good luck with your quest.
Luv Mel xxx
spunkyboysmum
25-01-2007, 23:30
Hi Ladies:)
I contacted yoga shala and they have pregnancy classes on wed nights at 6.30pm in Bedfordale.
I live in Canning Vale but decided the drive would be nice:) I went Yesterday for the first time and found it to be great although I was the only student as everyone is still in holiday mode! The teacher saud she expects more students over the next couple of weeks to return.
I dont know how long I will do the classes for as there was a fair bit of excercises lying on your back and I think as of 20 weeks you are supposed to limit lying on your back....Ill have to look into it.
I must admit it was very relaxing!! Prob the most quiet time Ive had in 18 months!! (I love my son but I also love my quiet time!!)
Thanks for all your help everyone:)