View Full Version : Did you have any pet when you were wee child?
ThomasMum
24-10-2005, 14:27
I grew up with pets. We had 2 dogs (Smokey and Gumnut), a horse Ghost and a cow; Moo
One day we are going to buy much bigger place so that Thomas can have a dog...
Do you have any pet too? Whats their name?
If anyone was gonna have a pony..it was gonna be you TM!!!!! Hahaha!!
ThomasMum
24-10-2005, 14:31
If anyone was gonna have a pony..it was gonna be you TM!!!!! Hahaha!!
Mine is not a ponny, its a big great horse LOL
I cant stand ponny, sorry ponny-lovers
Hey...I had lessons on a pony as a child..called Whiskey..shhhh....our little secret..Ok??
ThomasMum
24-10-2005, 14:33
OMG lol O's Mum!
Why ponny? Who not the "real thing"?
I'm talking about horses here :D
When I was growing up we had cats, dogs, guinea pigs, rabbits, mice, a turtle and even a goat for a couple of weeks (which was meant to be a lawn mover but ate everything else :eek: ) I always wanted a horse but unfortunately we never got one :(
Currently i have a dog and 3 cats.
Chickadee
24-10-2005, 14:36
... and a cow; Moo
Love the name. Reminds me of DD's teddy bear - since she always has it when we are out she is regularly asked what it's name is. Teddy bear, of course, duh!
We always had cats growing up. Our first was a manx named Mitzi.
ThomasMum
24-10-2005, 14:44
Love the name. Reminds me of DD's teddy bear - since she always has it when we are out she is regularly asked what it's name is. Teddy bear, of course, duh!
LOL MarthaM, I think I came up with that name, Moo. How lazy was I?
We used to have a cat too Gingy I think that was the name, but didnt last we gave it away. My Dad hated it and she (the cat) knew so everytime Dad's car pulled out at the driveway she would hissed lol
24-10-2005, 14:47
We always had 1 or 2 dogs and a cat growing up. I also had a variety of birds, mice, guinea pigs, rabbits and fish :cool:
At the moment we have 3 dogs, a cat and a rabbit. When MJ's older I have no doubt she'll want mice etc and i'll give in :rolleyes:
RB
Angel_baby_1982
24-10-2005, 14:53
Had 3 dogs, Fella, Belle and Dexter,
had several rabbits (flash, mel, cas (as in casserol! no we never ate him), flame and a few others),
a carpet python (basil),
and a yabbie (clipper). I loved that yabbie but let him go when he got as long as my forearm as my father kept commenting about how he was almost pan sized!
Always wanted a ferret but never got one :(
When i was born there was a cat at home called Toby. We always had cats, birds (finches and budgies and canaries in a huge aivery) also guinnea pigs and chooks. we had quails for a while too. We had dogs when i got older but small dogs, really we were into small pets :)
Now i have a small dog called Wally, my beautiful cat Harry died just before i got preggas with Sam....
melfunction
24-10-2005, 15:03
We had a persian cat called Possum and I loved her. She followed us home from the shops one day and Dad fed her. She passed away at 17 of kidney failure. A few years after Possum, we got a manky cat called Grease. He was maaaadddd!!
He use to follow our rottweiler, Axel to the river and come back with half dead possumS (not the cat!), and ducks. Grease was the boss at our house. He use to climb up on Axel's back and go to sleep in the sun. He also use to love swimming!! Would jump in the river, when we took the dog for a swim. He's now living the quiet life in NZ with my neighbour and gets fed venison. Very spoilt.
We had a cat called Pebbles,who basically grew up with me,she died when she was 16.I also had fish,a few budgies and pet mice.
Now I have a persian cat called Oscar,he's now 7 years old and very much a part of the family.Oh and two noisy cockatiels that DH bought along with him when he moved in.I don't like them,too noisy,always waking up the baby,grrr
peterpan
24-10-2005, 15:17
When I was a wee girl.. We had a lamb amy,Dog barney and then Jess,Horse Socks and rabbits
My mum still has the horse and had added to the family with 4 more...
DH and I have 3 dogs Ziggy,red dog and Daisy May....
Daisy May I had when I meet DH and she is a jack russell who is almost human.
Worm'sMum
24-10-2005, 15:24
I think almost everyone in my family (cousins etc) had dogs growing up and birds too.
Our dog's name was Susie and my nana and pa had 2 that we saw all the time named Conrad and Penny - So much fun growing up with them, although they've all now sadly gone to doggy heaven.
We currently have a beautiful border collie named Toby and a fish called Esme!!! And our little girl just adores them!!! :)
ThomasMum
24-10-2005, 15:26
I think almost everyone in my family (cousins etc) had dogs growing up and birds too.
Our dog's name was Susie and my nana and pa had 2 that we saw all the time named Conrad and Penny - So much fun growing up with them, although they've all now sadly gone to doggy heaven.
We currently have a beautiful border collie named Toby and a fish called Esme!!! And our little girl just adores them!!! :)
Hey charlibum, I love your daughter name. Thomas's Godmother name is also Charlotte altho we called her Lady Charlotte...
I cant wait to sell our current place and get a much bigger one, so we could have many pets!!
Worm'sMum
24-10-2005, 15:31
We had 3 other girls names picked out (and only 1 boys name-must have known!) but Charlotte suits her down to the ground!
I think our Charlotte would like to be called Lady Charlotte too...or Princess Charlotte!!!
When I was little we had three cats, Sir Arthurnot, Katie and Snowy.
Sir Arthurnot ate snail pellets and went crazy, so my dad gassed him in a rubbish bin :( luckily I don't remember that one!
Katie was Snowys mum, and she had another litter and we came home one day to find that Snowy had killed all of Katies kittens and spread them all over the backyard! Lovely!
Now we have a Flat Coat Retriever called Angus, a snobby cat called Saffy, about 100 fish and a horse called Zac.
One day I will get my farm and have a goat and a sheep called Shaun.
24-10-2005, 20:35
We always had heaps of pets!
My first pet was a Staffy dog....Brandy, and an attack cat called Casper, who used to fly out from behind bushes and scratch me....:( LOL
Then we had a donkey called Noah, sheep called Jenny and Jack, calves called Browny and cant remember the other names, a chook called Henny Penny, A goose, and gander, ducks and a drake, a cow called Nancy, her calf called Fred, lol....a dog called Duke, and a dog called Nino and cats called Prince, Smokey, and Blacky....oh and a goat! LOL
Now we have 2 dogs called Dozer and Drake... We would love to buy some land so our baby can grow up with lots of animals too, but at the moment its out of our reach!! :(
Lots of great memories, I think animals teach you so much! :)
24-10-2005, 20:36
Oh yeah....I forgot the 2 rabbits, the chickens, the duckling, and the frogs! LOL
24-10-2005, 23:25
Yep i had 4 guinea pigs, 1 dog and 2 budgies when i was growing up. It was like a zoo at feeding time!! :D
I forgot to add earlier fish and birds (a cockatoo, galahs (all called Gus for some reason) and budgies).
mollyandkurtsmum
25-10-2005, 09:40
I grew up in a relatively bushy part of Sorrentto on th Mornington peninsula so we were always getting strange animals come and stay for a while. We had an echidna that lived under our clothes line, a bat that had a hole in his wing so he couldnt fly he lived in a bird aviary his name was wom.......bat , there were also heaps of owls and birds that came and went and 2 baby possums called Thomas and Jordan and they had an aviry during the day and went out into the wild at night. They always came home though. We also had a cockatoo called elvis who used to put his wing over his face and say Elvis has left the building and dont you pick my flowers. That used to freak people out as they walked past our place
ThomasMum
25-10-2005, 14:50
lol michelle, i love your cockatoo! and mim your Sir Arthurnot, sounds like my Gumnut-a real trouble maker!
I had a funny story I was around 6 years old, Gumnut was very sick so I rub some vicks on his chest, boy was I in trouble that day or what! :eek:
We have no pets at the moment as our lease excludes them, but there are enough dogs and cats in this area to keep our kids amused!
I had a cat named Katy who died at 19 when my Mum ran her over, another cat named Dubby who also died at 19 (started as Pussy willow grey then progressed ... PWG, PW, Pdub ... you get it!). Two pet lambes ... Bunty and Bessie, 3 canaries - all had names but ended up being "birdie"!!!! 3 goldfish - snowy, goldy and patch several more cats ... Peter and Heidi, Casey, Sparky, Ellie, Zurbit, Dog - Jake aka "Dog".
Can't wait to move ... the boss is leaving his chooks and we are allowed to have pets there! YAY!
Oh, and how could I have forgotten, Kumai, my horse!
Irish Dad
31-10-2005, 09:42
I had a Beagle dog called Zoe, everytime the door was opened an inch she would run out and keep running for miles, disappearing for days on end living on a diet of rabbits I guess. I had her from I was 7 for about 10 years. Most stupid dog on the planet but I loved her cause she was mine ! :)
growing up we had chickens and birds and a dog and a guineapig , fish...
now i have my own place we have ducks chickens , fish, cockatiel and budgies. and soon a rabbit which my son REALLY wants.
ThomasMum
31-10-2005, 19:16
My DH had 2 dogs Scamp and Jess, a horse which he couldnt remember the name doh, and a cow Bonnie...