View Full Version : what happens now?

porridge
30-11-2006, 21:13
I went for a scan today after some bleeding on Tuesday to find that my baby has no heart beat. It was 7 weeks and 4 days.

what happens now? I've had no pain... no real bleeding... I'm just in shock and have no idea what happens next...

anyone?

Lunar
30-11-2006, 21:14
:hugs: :kiss: hun, I'm so sorry to hear your sad news.

Dr will most probably send you for a D&C, basically it is to clean out your uterus.

Once again...:hugs: :kiss:

Jinglebells
30-11-2006, 23:24
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: Lots of hugs for you, i'm sorry to read your post, what normally happens is you get given the choise to have a D&C or wait it out and m/c natrually, quite a few people choose to wait and see what happens as you hear so many stories of the scan people getting things wrong and they dates were wrong and then ended up having a baby 7 or so months later

wannabemum
30-11-2006, 23:26
Sending big :hugs: to you and your family, what a horrible thing to happen. He/she is resting back in heaven waiting to come down, it obviously wasnt there time yet, but they are getting ready for the real thing!

:angel:

BubbaNoogie
01-12-2006, 08:03
I had the same thing when I lost the twins, no pain and no real bleeding. I had to have a D and C. I am really sorry to hear of your loss:hugs: My thoughts are with you.

DQ
01-12-2006, 08:08
I'm so sorry porridge :hugs: :hugs:

JuniorMinime
01-12-2006, 08:23
I am so sorry to hear of your loss porridge, just take it easy and rest a lot and it may happen naturally. Otherwise like all the other girls have said that you will have to go for a D+C. They aren't that scary and it doens't take long either.

I am sending you lots and lots of :hugs: and if you want to PM please feel free.

porridge
03-12-2006, 15:17
well I've been given the weekend to see what happens... and tomorrow (monday) I'm off to pathology for blood tests because the dates might be wrong and my dr. wasn't happy to do 'anything drastic' until he was 100% sure what was going on.

This has been the longest weekend ever.

Pathology opens at 7:30am tomorrow...

I'm pretty sure I know what the tests are going to say... they'll just confirm it and no more baby for me :(

my heart is breaking

03-12-2006, 15:58
Please don't give up all hope yet darl.
I posted in the July thread about it because my doc told me that he didn't like to send women for early scans unless neccessary because sometimes it is too early to detect a heartbeat and this really upsets them.
I hope and pray that is the case for you and that you are just not as far along as you thought.
After all you were very unsure of your dates weren't you, so it is possible it was just too soon to tell???

I know what you mean that you say you are pretty sure though.
When I had brown spotting with my first pregnancy I knew straight away that I was going to miscarry ( and I did) or maybe I just gave up hope to save myself further dissapointment,who knows wha might have happened had I stayed positive, but you have had no bleeding so please hold on to your hope:angel: for one more day!!

Goodluck for tomorrow I will be thinking of you and waiting here to support you whatever the outcome:hugs:

DQ
03-12-2006, 16:07
Good luck for tomorrow Porridge. :fingerscrossed:

Femme la Phoenix
03-12-2006, 19:08
:hugs: oh Porridge that is awful news; the scan at the gyno's are usually more sensitive and can pick up images inside the uterus alot clearer than ones at the imaging centers or hospital...I would make an emergancy appointment with you specialist and go with their advise.
Please don't give up and stay in contact with people the worst thing you can do is burry yourself into the blankets and not want to escape...lots of :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

Jinglebells
03-12-2006, 19:28
Porridge will be thinking of you tomorrow, and i'll have my :fingerscrossed: for you that the blood test shows a rise in hcg, I'm so hoping that they have just got the dates wrong, good luck with everything :hugs:

Moorish
03-12-2006, 21:29
Oh Porridge I'm so sorry to hear your news :crying:
My prayers are with you for a miracle to happen.

We're here for support either way.
I do hope the news is good for you tomorrow.
:hugs: :kiss: :hugs:

Moorish
04-12-2006, 14:42
Anyone heard from Porridge today?
I hope she's ok. I've been thinking about her all day.

04-12-2006, 15:23
Same here, I just woke from an arvo sleep and jumped straight on here to check!
Porridge are you ok darl??:confused:

JuniorMinime
04-12-2006, 16:33
Me three!!!!! I was wondering the same thing, I really hope she is ok.

Porrisge we are sending you lots of :hugs: and we all have our :fingerscrossed: for you.

Let us know soon sweety.

xpectant
04-12-2006, 17:43
Hi Porridge,

So sorry to hear what you are going through. You will probably have to wait another 48 hrs after this blood test (unless they took your blood at your scan) so they can compare the HCG levels and see how much or if they are rising (they should double in 48 hrs however in 10% of women they don't). I was given three options. 1. To wait it out and let it happen naturally. 2. To have the op where they clear it out (some risks involved) 3. To have some medicine put inside you which helps you to miscarry on your own - this was the method I was going to choose as it was well monitored due to some research program they had going - anyways, before my appointment for another scan I lost the baby naturally so didn't have to go for option 3. No-one can prepare you for how you feel through all of this. Fortunately I have a great friend who had miscarried herself and she was a fabulous support. This site also was great as they offered support and answered all my questions. Thinking of you in this time. Don't hesitate to let it all out in a thread or PM someone if you want private talk.

porridge
04-12-2006, 20:54
Hey guys...

I had the bt this morning and got a call from my gp at about 1:45 this afternoon. My hcg levels had dropped significantly so that was a pretty definite answer. He also said that he'd seen the report of my scan and the measurements were right(ish) and bub was 7 weeks and 6 days with no heart beat. He called my ob and then I called about 10 mins after to arrange and appointment. I'm going in tomorrow at 11am for a chat and then work things out from there.

I started bleeding today, not just spotting. It's pretty traumatic just going to the toilet!

I am relieved that I know what's going on now, though I think I suspected it even from the start. I just didn't feel 'right' iykwim? We are very sad, but our circumstances atm are pretty amazing right now to help us cope with our loss.

My DH lost his job 2 weeks ago (which is sad... but) had he still been working, he would have been away in Canberra for these 2 weeks gone. Instead he's been at home, helping me with Griff and generally letting me rest and comforting me as much as possible. It has certainly been a great blessing.

Anyway, I just wanted to share that. Thank you so much for all your support... it's been wonderful to know that I have ppl to talk to on here... which is sometimes easier than face to face. :hugs:

Still not looking forward to the inevitable C... I shudder every time I think about it! :eek:

DQ
04-12-2006, 21:07
:hugs: to you Porridge. I am glad you and hubby are together atm. You need eachother right now.

Best wishes for the future. :hugs:

Jinglebells
04-12-2006, 21:10
awww :hugs: :hugs: , i'm so sorry to hear that, I was really really hoping for you to come back on and tell us that everything was fine, we've all been thinking of you today, if you ever need to chat or anything we're all here for you

more :hugs: :hugs: comming your way

04-12-2006, 21:14
Oh Porridge I am so sorry for you right now all I can do is send some virtual:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: .

I know it is so painful emotionally and it will take time to heal but you will be able to get past this and fall pregnant again and carry a healthy bub to full term, considering you have already done it once, at least you know you can!

Sorry your DH lost his job, but like you said thankgoodness he is there for you as you sooooooo need support right now.
When I M/C I had just flown to the South Island of NZ to see my mum. I started to bleed a couple of days after arriving and telling my mum I was pregnant (found out I was M/cing two days before Xmas) and DH was still at work back up in the North Island, it was great having my mum, but it was awful not the having the father of my baby there to hold me througout the pain. He couldn't even get a flight down in the short notice and ended up travelling over 24hours via bus and train to get to me, the sweetheart. Sorry to blab about my story just want you to know I understand the way you might be feeling right now
So let him hold you and help you and things will get better very soon.
I hope you get another BFP in the new year, new year and new beginnings!!

Sorry for the long winded post!

DQ
05-12-2006, 09:27
Julie - you are such a sweetie.

Porridge - we are all thinking of you hun and hoping that you can have an enjoyable Christmas, I know that will be hard.

Like Julie said, New Year and New beginnings. I really do hope you get your BFP in the New Year which brings you a healthy, beautiful bubba to add to your family.

Good luck and Merry Christmas.

angcaltam
05-12-2006, 10:15
Porridge - I'm so sorry for your loss. Just remember that we are all here for you whenever you need us.

Sending lots of :hugs: & :kiss: your way.

Another :angel: taken to the sky way to early.

bris_mummy-to-be17
05-12-2006, 13:43
hey.

we don't know each other but i just wanted to show you there are so many people on here who care about you and wish you well.

good luck for the new year :hugs: :fingerscrossed:

porridge
05-12-2006, 15:12
well... another trip to the doctor's.

I'm booked in tomorrow morning 7am for a D&C. Should be out for lunch (which will be good, because I'm fasting from midnight tonight) - whether I feel like eating... I don't know.

My Dr. said I will bleed for a few days and then nothing, so I'm hoping she's right and there are no complications.

My DH and I have decided that we would like to take the baby with us - is that a common thing? We want to bury it somewhere special.

Thanks for your continued thoughts and encouragement guys - I really REALLY appreciate it :D

plumptobump
05-12-2006, 15:17
Aw sweetheart, Im so sorry! :hugs: :hugs:

Wish there was something that I could do or say to make things better...

Jinglebells
05-12-2006, 15:19
aww porridge, I'll be thinking of you tomorrow :hugs: :hugs: ,

It is quite common to take the baby home with you, heaps of people buy a plant and bury the baby under there either in a pot or in the ground, I think its a lovely idea

JuniorMinime
05-12-2006, 15:29
I wish I was able to take our two angels home with us and bury properly but we had tests done on ours and then they never offered them to us.

Porridge my heart goes out to you love and I wish you all the best. Remember we are all here thinking about you and sending you good vibes and lots of :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

Pm me if you want.

Tea Lady
08-12-2006, 15:39
Porridge I just found this thread. :crying: I'm so so so sorry to hear what you've been through :crying:

I'm glad your DH is with you and I hope the D&C wasn't too bad. Big :hugs: to you, you poor thing.

porridge
08-12-2006, 20:25
Hey, thanks tea lady... I guess it wasn't that bad (I don't remember anything and no pain) well, except for where they gave me an injection to stop the nausea post op... my leg hurts so much!!

I think the hardest bit was when I asked if I could take *my baby* home... my Dr just said "No... it's only mushed up tissue anyway.." that hurt :( also, from the amount of 'stuff' that they removed she thought I had been pregnant for longer than they had thought... oh well.

We're hoping to try again for an outside baby in Feb... see how that goes :yes:

Jinglebells
08-12-2006, 20:55
Hey, thanks tea lady... I guess it wasn't that bad (I don't remember anything and no pain) well, except for where they gave me an injection to stop the nausea post op... my leg hurts so much!!

I think the hardest bit was when I asked if I could take *my baby* home... my Dr just said "No... it's only mushed up tissue anyway.." that hurt :( also, from the amount of 'stuff' that they removed she thought I had been pregnant for longer than they had thought... oh well.

We're hoping to try again for an outside baby in Feb... see how that goes :yes:

Oh Hugs Porridge, how hurtfull of that Doctor to tell you that, you had every right to take him/her with you, In Nz where I had my D&C's done its one of the things they ask before you go into theater, and even if your undecided then they will ask you again after, i'll be keeping my :fingerscrossed: for you for a :bfp: in feb

angcaltam
09-12-2006, 10:47
Porridge - You poor thing. How very rude of the Dr to say that.:shame: I think I would have given him what for.:banghead: He had no right, that was your baby ! ! !

I'm always here if you need to talk, I'm a great listener ! ! !

Sending lots of :hugs: your way, and I hope that everything goes better for you next time.:fingerscrossed:

JuniorMinime
09-12-2006, 13:55
Hey Porridge, I understand about wanting to take your baby home but that's what our ob said to me as well. But it's true unfortunately, that doesn't mean that it doesn't hurt any less in fact more!!!

I have been saing some prayers for you and your DH and hoping that you are coping well.

I'm not doing that well but I am getting there. I find that if I help someone else it is actually helping me. This christmas is hard though.

I hope you get that :bfp: in Feb as well. Good luck and I am always here to talk if you ever want too.