View Full Version : Puff pastry recipes

bubbasmum
30-11-2006, 06:50 PM
Im feeling a little peckish and i have some puff pastry. What can i make with it? Any suggestions? Something nice and simple...

Ashleigh<3
30-11-2006, 06:58 PM
:) I know just the yummy treat!

Get out a muffin tin, one with 6/12 who cares, You're the one cooking-Cutt up squares that are large enough to dip into the muffin holes and hang over the sides a little bit. Sorry about not having correct measurements.

You can put salsa in the bottom along with cheese, chilli/seasoning anything you like-
Or you can make Ham, cheese and tomato ones.

You don't have to cook them for to long, Sorry I never really use a timer I just keep checking on them till they look crispy and puffy!

These are yummy and are so quick and easy to make.
Let me know how they go if you try this one out?:D

the_queen
30-11-2006, 06:59 PM
Apple dumplings? wrap up some pieces of cooking apple, sprinkled with sugar, and brush with beaten egg. Sprinkle top with extra sugar. Serve with custard/ice cream/cream.

You could put sultana's and cinnamon in too, and omit the sugar if you like.

bubbasmum
30-11-2006, 07:32 PM
ooh yummy thanks for these ideas! Ill try them out.

WeloveHarriet
30-11-2006, 08:16 PM
Make a white sauce, grate an onion and a carrot - mix all in together along with a can of tuna (or salmon) and cut each sheet into 4 squares. Place spoonfuls in the middle and fold into a triangle. YUMMO. And they freeze uncooked really well.

Bubble*Crazy
04-12-2006, 12:01 AM
Really naughty ....!!!!

Cut one sheet of pasty in half and put on top of the other half IYKWIM, and then cut into rectangles. I would normally get 6 rectangles out of doubled-up pastry.

Brush with a little milk, egg or butter if you like and cook on baking paper in 180C oven till lightly brown.

Once pasty cools, slice the puffs in half (horizontally) and spread with jam and whipped cream and replace the top (to form a sandwich) and dust with icing sugar. Yummo 'match sticks'.

Roxy76
06-12-2006, 11:22 AM
spread a layer of tomato paste over sheet and top with pizza toppings and cheese. roll it up and cut into slices to make pizza pinwheels.

cook in oven till pastry is crispy and filling hot and melted!

soooooooooooooooo delish!!!!!! :smiliedance:

p4purple
06-12-2006, 11:31 AM
Put left over savory mince or spag bol in folded over triangles. Put mashed pumpkin that has been mixed with a few other vegies and a little bit of curry powder for curry pumkin puffs. Try spinach and cheese. Apples or pears with a bit of cinamon on a round disk. So many options!!!!!

Also try satay sauce pinwheels or cheese and herb.

mythreelittlemonkeys
06-12-2006, 02:27 PM
:) I know just the yummy treat!

Get out a muffin tin, one with 6/12 who cares, You're the one cooking-Cutt up squares that are large enough to dip into the muffin holes and hang over the sides a little bit. Sorry about not having correct measurements.

You can put salsa in the bottom along with cheese, chilli/seasoning anything you like-
Or you can make Ham, cheese and tomato ones.

You don't have to cook them for to long, Sorry I never really use a timer I just keep checking on them till they look crispy and puffy!

These are yummy and are so quick and easy to make.
Let me know how they go if you try this one out?:D

Ok I tried these for mums n bubs yesterday just brushed pastry and tins with olive oil and put some salsa on bottom, pancetta chopped up, feta and a bit of semi dried tom and popped in oven. THANKYOU so much they went down a storm...I recommend this ides HEAPS! so simple and so scrummy

Mamaduke
06-12-2006, 02:28 PM
Really naughty ....!!!!

Cut one sheet of pasty in half and put on top of the other half IYKWIM, and then cut into rectangles. I would normally get 6 rectangles out of doubled-up pastry.

Brush with a little milk, egg or butter if you like and cook on baking paper in 180C oven till lightly brown.

Once pasty cools, slice the puffs in half (horizontally) and spread with jam and whipped cream and replace the top (to form a sandwich) and dust with icing sugar. Yummo 'match sticks'.

Ooooooooooo....yeeeeeeeeeeaaaaah!!! :thumbsup:

me&mine
06-12-2006, 02:34 PM
Oh! Oh! I Got one... kids love it too...

Get two sheets... spread one with either:
- vegimite and cheese or
- tomato sc and cheese...
put the other sheet on top.. cut into strips, twist the strips and lay on baking tray... (dont worry how meesy it is)...cook!

Cheesy Twists!

Yummy/easy/loved snack... most popular thing over and lollies/sweets at any party!

Nickster
06-12-2006, 02:42 PM
Vegemite and Cheese Whirls

preheat oven to 220C

place a sheet of pastry onto a lightly floured surface

spread pastry with vegemite, leaving a 1cm border. brush edges of pastry with a little beaten egg, and sprinkle enough grated cheese over the vegemite to cover

roll pastry up tightly, brush the outside with beaten egg, cut into thick slices (about 2 - 3cm), place on baking sheet, and cook for 12 - 15 min until pastry is well risen and golden.

I just discovered this recipe about 2 weeks ago - DD loves it.

Ashleigh<3
06-12-2006, 02:53 PM
Ok I tried these for mums n bubs yesterday just brushed pastry and tins with olive oil and put some salsa on bottom, pancetta chopped up, feta and a bit of semi dried tom and popped in oven. THANKYOU so much they went down a storm...I recommend this ides HEAPS! so simple and so scrummy

Oh sounds like such a yummy and healthy combination, I'll be trying this one....maybe this afternoon :) Yummy glad you tried it! :D

ps: The yummy things one can make with puff pastry lol

TeenyT
07-12-2006, 09:49 AM
I love cooking with puff pastry!! Not particularly good for you but yum...:p
For a vegetarian option: cook up 1 cup rice. Mix in one egg and 1/4 cup parmesan cheese.
Slice up 1 onion, 1 red capsicum and 1 carrot. Stir fry until just tender then add a decent handful of chopped Bok Choy (you can use silverbeet instead if you prefer). Add cooked vegs to rice mix and place a row in the centre of one pastry sheet. Roll up and brush with a little milk. Sprinkle with sesame or poppy seeds and cook in oven until brown (about 1/2 hour). You can serve as a parcel or chop up into little sausage rolls.

Nates_Mumma
08-12-2006, 07:28 AM
These have to be the nicest things on earth to eat! And so addictive!

Ingredients:
Puff Pastry
Tomato sauce or bbq
Ham or Leftover Chicken breast
Pineapple
Onion
Cheese ( I prefer sliced but u can use grated)
Sesame Seeds
Olive Oil Spray or any oil in a can spray

Method:
Cut pastry into 4 squares
spread your sauce around pastry leaving enough room to seal pastry.
turn it so a corner faces you (diamondish)
sprinke ham,pineapple,onion and cheese on one half of pastry careful not to over "stuff"
Season to your liking
Fold pastry in half and seal around edges (should leave you with a triangle shape)
pierce with fork 4 times to allow for puffing and air escape.
Then spray with olive oil and sprinkle with sesame seeds

I sometimes leave out sesame seeds and sprinkle top with garlic powder, salt and pepper

ENJOY!:wizard:

Karizma
08-12-2006, 08:45 AM
Oh girls I am gonna put on so much weight. They all sound delish.
Definatly going to try these all. :laughing: I have a vegemite lover and a Cheese lover and pizza lover all in the one house. So Puff Pastry all around. Thank-you very much...
Cant wait to try them:chef:

Ashleigh<3
08-12-2006, 12:12 PM
Do they have fat free puff pastry? lol

Sarie
08-12-2006, 03:17 PM
On a sheet of puff pastry I spread with either tomato paste, pizza sauce or salsa (whatever is handy at the time) then I put on ham, onion, tomato (pineapple is also nice) and tastey cheese roll it up, slice into pinwheels and bake for around 10 minutes. Yummy. Gee I wish I had some pastry in the freezer!

MJ
12-12-2006, 02:40 PM
:chef: I got one too...

Cook some snags,(or use leftovers!) cut the puff in half then into triangles (making 4 triangles). Spead dijon mustard over the puff and place the snag at the thick end of the triangle and roll ... brush with egg and pop in the oven till pastry is yummy and eat!

Sausage rolls! YUM.

neeky
12-12-2006, 03:16 PM
:chef: I got one too...

Cook some snags,(or use leftovers!) cut the puff in half then into triangles (making 4 triangles). Spead dijon mustard over the puff and place the snag at the thick end of the triangle and roll ... brush with egg and pop in the oven till pastry is yummy and eat!

Sausage rolls! YUM.
yeah my dp and ds both loved these!! so easy!

bubbasmum
12-12-2006, 04:54 PM
mmm i like the sausage roll idea! Will definetly try that one.