View Full Version : How Did You Give Birth To Your Twins?
A Party of Five
30-11-2006, 12:47
I just have a couple of question about the birth of your twins.
Right now I am 35 weeks and everything is fine, with both twins head down. When I see the doctor next Wednesday he wants to do internal exam, to see what is going on. If nothing when I go back on the 13th he wants to book a c-section for the next day. He does not think that the twins will come by them selfs.
And the only induction he will do ARM, because I have had a c-section with my last baby. And he does not think that induction will do anything. I really don't want to have another c-section, I would love to have my twins as a natural birth.
So I am interest to find out how you gave birth to your twins?
Is there anything I can do to bring on the twins myself, that is safe?
Is all this information right?
:no: He just seems very keen to book the c-section.
Duchessa
30-11-2006, 13:41
Hi Angela
I had my twins vaginally following induction. My ob was very pro vag delivery as he firmly believed that this was the best outcome for the girls (especially given that at even 37 weeks they can really do with the lung stimulation/maturation during birth).
I was induced at 37 weeks BUT the ONLY reason that my ob made me go so early was that one of my identical twins was showing signs of TTTS. Otherwise he would have been happy waiting for longer to let me go naturally.
Both girls were optimally positioned with heads down. I was already 3cm dilated when he ruptured my membranes and had been having spurious labour for about 10 days (with regular 3-5 minute contractions day and night :eek:). Consequently I went straight into fast hard labour and dilated to 7-8 cm within about 3 hours. At that point I had an epidural inserted (at the strong request of my ob in case of problems with the birth of the second twin), which stalled my labour quite badly. I ended up delivering my first without help about 8-9 hours later, followed by a forcep delivery of the second who had turned transverse during the labour.
As my twins were monochorionic there are more complications than twins who have their very own placentas.
If you want a vag birth PUSH harder (scuse pun). There is nothing that you have mentioned that would contraindicate a vag delivery if you were with the ob I was with - maybe your ob just isn't listening to you and supporting your options.
Get a second opinion if you need one, or just keep on researching.
It is not unusual for dichorionic twins to go to term - there is less stress on the placentas etc... I have some links somewhere for some info/stories - if you are interested I'll try to dig them up.
My cousin is due to give birth by caesarean to twins next Tuesday.
They are apparently lying transverse and she is happy to have the caesar so that's what is going to happen.
They have been pretty keen to do the caesar from the start of the pregnancy though, even before they had a specific reason.
Good luck.
How can one tell at 35 weeks whether a baby (or babies) are going to come of their own accord?????
Good luck with your birth and I really hope you achieve your natural twin birth!!!!!:thumbsup:
A Party of Five
30-11-2006, 13:57
Hi Duchessa,
Because I am going to the RHH in Tassie, the doctor you see changes every week. At my booking I was told YOU MUST HAVE A C-SECTION! And than others have said no way we will just wait and see what the twins want to do. I just want what is best outcome for the twins and me. And I think this would be a natural birth. So I will push harder for the natural birth. Thanks heaps for all your advice.
:angel: Angela
Quote:
Originally Posted by DramaQueen How can one tell at 35 weeks whether a baby (or babies) are going to come of their own accord?
:confused: I know! He must have a crystal ball :laughing:
And my due date is not until the 4 of January anyway!:eek:
MY twins (my 4th pregnancy) were delivered at 37 weeks.. my ob doesnt like women to go past 37 weeks with twins.. I was induced, as I think there were happy to stay put a few more weeks LOL...
the babies were still sitting a little high up, so I had alot of pushing to do with the first one. I HAD to have an epidural though incase something went wrong or the second one ended up breech or showed signs of stress and had to get out fast.
so both were vaginally born, the second one just slipped out 9 minutes later, he did need to be turned abit I think, coz as soon as the first was born, he moved to a more comfy position and probably though.. ahh... I can move, I have room LOL
Just to add to my previous post, she had them yesterday due to high blood pressure.
they are having a lot of trouble sucking and have already had a tube put in their nose with formula so hopefully the breastfeeding relationship won't be completely ruined, although I have my doubts about it now. thats a bit off topic though, but its something to keep in mind, the drugs can affect attachment and also the ability to suck seem to kick in in the last couple of weeks, so if you want to breastfeed then keeping them in there as you can will help.
mylittletwins
01-12-2006, 07:55
I had a C-Section with my twin boys. My OB suggested that was the best outcome since they were my first and i wouldnt have been stretched enough.
To be honest with you i didnt want to push twice anyway so i was happy with that.
I was due to give birth at 38.5 weeks but my waters broke at 37 weeks. Since Twin 2 (Matthew) was breached i wouldve had to have a C-Section anyway.
Duchessa
01-12-2006, 09:17
Angela - you stick to your guns and get the birth you want, girl!
As your twins are fraternal, they are a low risk delivery and are usually fine to go to proper dates. Heaps of ladies deliver fraternal twins at home with a middy! Have you thought about contacting a private midwife in Hobart to get some support? My sister who lives down there used one recently if you are interested I could pass on the number.
I had a C-Section with my twin boys. My OB suggested that was the best outcome since they were my first and i wouldnt have been stretched enough.
:confused: Really?? That sounds quite bizarre. Did he explain why you would need to stretch more for twins than for a single babe?
SammieSnail
01-12-2006, 09:57
Hi Angela :wave:
My mum had her second set of twins @ the RHH (Tas)..... I have a feeling she too was 'encouraged' into being induced. I think around 38 weeks?
She had the first set at around 39 weeks (I think) lol will have to call her later.
She has given birth to all of us naturally so I don't think there should be a reason, if all is well, that you couldn't too.
The RHH seems to push c-sections, even for single bub births, just from what I've heard from others...
Definitely push for the birth you want :thumbsup:
A Party of Five
01-12-2006, 11:56
SammieSnail:
WOW your mum has two set of twins! She must be a very strong and brave woman!
But it does seems that the RHH like to push for c-sections. I was told at my booking in that I would have to see the doctor's every time because I had a c-section last time with Ben. And they did not know yet that I was having twins.
I have given birth naturally to my other babies. I did have a c-section last time. But was because I was pushed into by the doctor's. Ben was 10lb 11 1/2 oz! And they seemed to think that he could get suck. My first son Thomas did have shoulder dystocia (sp) I only had a bit of gas and was fine. But I can still see no reason to do a c-section :no:
Duchessa (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/member.php?u=10697):
I will stick to my guns!
The midwife's at the RHH have been relay great. They know that a v/birth is the best way to go for me and my twins. They do try and get in me to see the best doctor on the day. I would love a private midwife but I have to go public :crying:
My Little Twins:
I'm not worried about pushing twice. As soon as they give you the baby/babies all that pain just goes away :hugs:
Shed:
I am worried to about feeding as I would love to feed for about 12 months. I don't want any trouble with sucking or to have a tube up their nose :(
Thanks everyone for all your great advice.
Angela
noah&layla'smum
01-12-2006, 12:10
HI!!
Congratulations on your twin pregnancy!!! Do you wanna know what I think? I think your doctor's scared you're going to go into labour naturally over his Christmas break, so he wants to get it over with before then!
I think stick to your guns too. I would have loved to try a vaginal birth, but my little girl's umbilical cord was quite short and she was up the top, so they didn't want to risk it. Also her placenta stopped working, so they were born 5 & 1/2 weeks early.
Good luck with the birth!! How exciting!
Michelle
A Party of Five
01-12-2006, 12:17
Hi Michelle,
I think that you are right! :yes:
In my Twin Class last month there was five mum's due to give birth over the Christmas new year break. I think they are worried about holidays more than babies.
HoopDeeDoo
01-12-2006, 12:33
I'd stick to your guns, and I would stear clear on an internal exam at this point too. Internals can bring on labour. I haven't had twins but I've had two babies born early, 34 and 35 weeks. They do have to be tube fed with EBM or formula before your milk comes in. If you can keep them in there till at least 37 weeks it makes a huge difference on thier feeding, size and health :yes: And being twins they will probably be on the smaller size already. Good luck, and I hope it all works out for you!!
A Party of Five
01-12-2006, 12:44
Hi Emma, I will stick to my guns!
They do want to do an internal exam next Wednesday. But as we both know it can bring on labour :no: No thanks, it's to soon.
Like you I don't want to go down the road of tube feeding, EBM or formula. I want I breast fed my twins. The last time the doctor did they weights it was girl 3lb 10oz boy 4lb 12oz, but this was about 4 weeks ago.
SammieSnail
01-12-2006, 13:06
SammieSnail:
WOW your mum has two set of twins! She must be a very strong and brave woman!
But it does seems that the RHH like to push for c-sections. I was told at my booking in that I would have to see the doctor's every time because I had a c-section last time with Ben. And they did not know yet that I was having twins.
I have given birth naturally to my other babies. I did have a c-section last time. But was because I was pushed into by the doctor's. Ben was 10lb 11 1/2 oz! And they seemed to think that he could get suck. My first son Thomas did have shoulder dystocia (sp) I only had a bit of gas and was fine. But I can still see no reason to do a c-section :no:
Ahhh yes I'm very proud of her :D
Yeah they don't seem too confident with VBACs huh? I think you know Olivia&Bellasmummy (Kristy) they were also pushing her towards a c-sect because of previous c-section.
She said that the midwives were much more supportive, like you found.
Wow Ben was a big bub :)
Like Michelle said, it could also have something to do with Christmas. I think I remember mum saying something about how the OB was going on holidays and therefore just wanted to get her out of the way as well....
Maybe the midwives could give you an idea on how to go about making the OB more cooperative?
I'm so excited for you!
mylittletwins
01-12-2006, 13:08
Duchessa,
I dont know i just did what i was told. I just wanted my twins to be born safe. And thankfully they were.
Duchessa
01-12-2006, 13:09
Duchessa (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/member.php?u=10697):
I will stick to my guns!
The midwife's at the RHH have been relay great. They know that a v/birth is the best way to go for me and my twins. They do try and get in me to see the best doctor on the day. I would love a private midwife but I have to go public :crying:
You can hire a midwife or a doula to go into the hospital and to appointments with you even if you are public. They can hold the line for you while you get on with the job and also provide you with the emotional support and information that you need to make a decision and then stick to it in the face of obstruction/criticisim from your ob.
HoopDeeDoo
01-12-2006, 13:14
wow sounds like they will be a good size :yes: DS2 was only 4 lb 7 and he was born at 34 + 6 :yes:
your bubs are a great size!
i just wanted to say my last bub was c-sect born at 32+ weeks 4lb. he was tube fed at first but in no way did this stop the breastfeeding.
i took him home 10 days after his birth, 4 hourly feeding.
my cousins twins were born at 34 weeks and also fed well.
dont worry yourself about feeding..not all prems dont have the sucking reflex...
youll be amazed to see them tube feed a prem and a nurse will stick a dummy in the bubs mouth and the little bub is sucking away. i saw this many many times in NICU/SCN
A Party of Five
04-12-2006, 16:39
Thanks heaps Emma and My Lot for all your kind words!
I do hope that they will be a good size, as I am not very big at all. :hugs: I seem to be all babies! I go back to the doctor on Wednesday, so I will let you all know what happens.
Angela :angel:
Duchessa
05-12-2006, 19:46
Ooo I have been wondering how you are going. Look forward to hearing your news.
A Party of Five
07-12-2006, 14:33
:wave: Hi There, I went to the doctor on Wednesday and I got to see a different doctor to last time. Thank god for that! This one does not want to cut me up! Just said let the babies do what they want to do.
He said that everything is going very well and would be surprised to see me next week. As the little girls head is right down now. She is about 6lb and the little boy is 6lb 5oz. So nice big healthy babies.
I have had a little bit a pain, but is mostly at night time, I think just cause I am tried now.
My mum thinks that the twins will come on Saturday 9th. Because she is having a dinner party :laughing: But I really don't mind when they come, just as long as they are both ok.
alieshia
25-01-2007, 17:26
i gave birth to my beautiful girls 8 weeks ago i was induced at 39 weeks and both girls were head down, ready for a natural birth my water was broken and it progressed very well 5 hrs latter my first little angle was born and un fortunatly my second angle girl dicided to turn and she was in a transvers position and they could not turn her. after trying externally to turn her she was showing signs of distress and so was i, I was taken for an emergency ceserand baby two was born 30 min latter. both healthy 7 lb babys.
Alieshia, Congratulations on the birth of your girls. Welcome to this thread.
I gave birth by planned c-section at 32 weeks. All went well and I would recommend a planned c-section any day.
I wasn't sure if this was the right place to put this questions but you are the only ones who can speak from experience...... I've had issues TTC so now I'm taking fertility drugs with this increases the chance of mutiple births. The specialist said that if there are two eggs I should discuss with my husband, however he would not recommend this for me because I am too small!!!
Obviously he knows what he's talking about because he does this for a living.
I've spoken with quite a few people and some that are small like me - with their births came complications...
Is anyone out there who can comment???
PS: I'm around 5ft and about 50kg....:)
A Party of Five
28-01-2007, 14:17
Hi Keesha, Like you I am on the small side. Only 55kg and 5ft. I have had five children now. All my pregnancy's went very well, no problems at all. I have had two normal birth's and two c-section. All I can say is do what you think is best for you and your DH. And taken in all the advice from your doctor too.
Yummy Mummy of 5, that's awesome...5 wow :yes: Definitely agree with your response. Women's bodies are so complex so I guess the best thing to do is wait until I have something to consider and then make the decision based on medical advice.....
Thanks for you response
Cheers:wave:
A Party of Five
28-01-2007, 16:24
No worries Keesha,
:wizard: I wish you the best of luck with TTC.
borntobemummy
28-01-2007, 16:42
I was just reading this thread and noticed you've already had the twins:yelclap: So how did it turn out in the end?
A Party of Five
28-01-2007, 17:00
Really good, thanks Borntobemummy.
I had them on the 21st of December at 3:40pm. I was 38 weeks by c-section. Felicity was 5lb 12 oz and Nicolas was 6lb 14oz. They now weight in at 7lb 2oz and 8lb 2oz. Breastfeed very well and give me about 6 hours sleep at night. They are very good babies. I am getting my DH to help me put some photo's up soon. So you will be able to check them :laughing:
Yummymumyof 5, congratulations on the birth of your twins. Our twins share the same birthday. My boys were also born the 21st of December.
A Party of Five
31-01-2007, 13:18
:hugs: Congrats Shajake your boys are so cute. Cant wait to see more photo's of them as the year go on.
:detective: I see that you where up very early this morning. Did the boys not sleep well?
FiveInTheBed
31-01-2007, 17:04
My two beautiful babies arrived on the 10th of January.
At the 36 week scan the little boy had his head up under my ribs, but somehow by 39 weeks had turned and they were both cephalic.
The visiting OB decided to induce me as the next visiting OB would not attempt a vag delivery. So 6 days short of my due date they broke my waters around 8am I was already 4cm dilated, then ran the syno drip about 930am, contractions came hard and fast, everyone was very casual but when I said I needed to push they panicked because they hadn't put the epidural in yet ( the Dr wanted that in just incase any thing went wrong with the second baby) with the anethitist attempting to put in the epi I was at 9cm and holding back the urge to push. Aishnn Joy arrived quickly after that, they told me to stop pushing once her head was out but I couldn't and she slid out onto the bed weighing 5lb15oz.The OB wasn't even in the room.
The only manipulation they had to do for the second bub was to support my belly so he wasn't falling off to the side. The epi had then taken effect and it all felt extremely wierd being told when to push but not feeling it! It was only 17 minutes later when Lucas James came out to meet us, the cord was around his neck once and he was a bit sleepy, he was given a bit of oxygen and all was fine. At 6lb10oz, he is the 'big little brother'.
Thanks to the drip it was all overin 2 1/2 hours. I still wonder how far I would've went without intervention, but don't regret anything about the delivery.
Am breastfeeding...one boob each, and they are gaining fantastic weight.( this week 340grams each!)
Their big brother is beautiful with them and excitedly shows them off to visitors!
Still in shock that we have TWO new bubbas, but I suppose that will be with me forever!!!
A Party of Five
01-02-2007, 12:19
:smiliedance: Congratulations Nichole :smiliedance:
Two healthy baby babies! With great weights too. Sounds like they are doing very well with breastfeeding. Keep it up and look after yourself. Can't wait to see some photo's.
:angel: Angela
Yummymummyof5, no they didn't sleep well at all. In fact they seem quite unsettled and I just don't know what to do sometimes.
Hey did you see that there is a double baby carrier? I quite like the idea and am looking into purchasing 1. What are your thoughts?
A Party of Five
22-06-2007, 03:43
Hey did you see that there is a double baby carrier? I quite like the idea and am looking into purchasing 1. What are your thoughts?
:no: No sorry have not seen them.
I bought the double carrier and it's fabulous. Has really come in handy.
How is everyone doing?
busymummyof4
24-06-2007, 11:01
I bought the double carrier and it's fabulous. Has really come in handy.
How is everyone doing?
Shajake, what's a double carrier?:detective:
Sounds interesting! Yr twins are 3 months younger than mine I think. Would it be something mine would have already outgrown now?
Busymummyof4, I think the weight per child is about15 kilos. It's like a baby bjorn but not quite. Check out http://www.doubleblessings.com It's great. It's 2 single carriers that you put each baby into, so you can wear singly or attach together to carry both bubs. It has come in handy when they have been screaming and nothing seems to help I put them in and bob's your uncle.
A Party of Five
25-06-2007, 13:09
Thanks Shajake they look really cool :cool: My DH has just seem them too. And he said "there goes my idea". We have two Baby Bjorn's, but we find that where we go out with both babies in it we get heaps more attention. So we use the pram nearly all the time.
kimmymonster
01-11-2007, 10:07
I had a natural drug free birth with my twins. My waters broke at midnight when I was 37 weeks and 1 day labour pains started about 2 hours later I gave birth to my daughter Amelia at 6.30am weighing 6 pounds then 16 minutes later my son Dean was born weighting 6 pound 3oz.The ob wanted me to have an eppidural I wasn't keen Iwanted to have an active walking labour and let gravity help.I had been closely monitored thru out my pregnancy and knew my bubs were both head down,they did put a canular in my hand incase I needed a emergency c-section.In the end I was lucky to have the type of birth I wanted.But I did mentally prepare myself if it couldn't happen that way.My first child was also a natural drug free birth I was only in labour for 4 1/2 hours with him.I think I knew that my labour with the twins would be short too.In the end it doesn't matter how you give birth as long as your babies and safe and healthy and so is yourself.