View Full Version : Dec05 Mums celebrating, reminiscing and birth stories

Reidymac
30-11-2006, 00:27
:smiliedance: Congratulations to the December 2005 Mummies.:smiliedance:
As the first birthday of the our little ones are celebrated this month it is hard not to reminisce about what we were doing this time last year and all the stories and events (funny, touching and challenging) that surrounded the birth of our December babies. Looking back on the year, I never imagined it was possible to find such wonderful group of BH friends to share the journey with as our babies have grown, amazed and tortured us. This thread is a space to reminisce, remember how awesome we are for making such a georgeouse and intelegent group of babies, share our stories, and celebrate the mummies.:D

So common Dec Mums, share your 'this time last year' story and/or birth story (ya know, just between us gals, here in the privacy of the Dec05 threads ;) )

sharvs
30-11-2006, 20:43
Wow, this could be long!

This time last year:

I was living in Singleton, NSW. Kaydens due date was December 21st. We were moving on January 9th. The doctor told me they would let me get to New Years Eve before the induced me. That would mean moving interstate with a 9 day old baby :eek: I was stressing. It was hot, we had no air-conditioning - yuck.

December 12th, 11pm - had a slight discharge & a few pains. Went to bed, thinking it was nothing. Chris went straight to sleep & slept until 7 am the next day. I was awake all night having mild contractions. Rang the hospital around 10am & they told me to come in. I took my bag but expected to be sent home. They kept me in until 2.30pm when they took me to Labor ward - OMG, its actually happening! A little gas & a shot of Pethadine later (little bugger was posterior) and Kayden arrived at 5.35pm.

My FIL was the only visitor (all other family was interstate). Discharged on 16th December. CHN was meant to visit on the 18th but never showed. By 23rd December I was having so much trouble breastfeeding, hated Kayden, hated myself. I was so stressed about moving.

Christmas day: Chris, myself & Kayden hardly slept, it was so hot. Our oven stopped working so it was vegemite on toast for Christmas lunch. We didnt exchange gifts, it was just another day for us.

Jump forward to Feb 2006. Been in our new house just under a month, Chris leaves for 2 months away. Little did I know it was the start of the longest 14 months of my life.

Looking back at this past year, motherhood & life in general has been a hell of a lot harder than i ever expected. Doing it alone is bloody tough & I have alot of days where I just want to share Kayden with someone. On the other hand, I am proud of way I am raising Kayden alone. He is a smart, handsome little man that makes me smile when I am down & missing Chris. I am worried that Chris & Kayden wont be able to bond properly, I'm more worried about Chris than Kayden. I mentioned to him the other day that Kayden is really starting to look like a toddler & his baby days are over. He replied "I missed it all" which was quite upsetting.

I'm hoping the next year of Kaydens life will be different to the first year. I would love him to be part of a proper family. I would love to move closer to my family so he could get to know his grandparents, aunties and uncles but i dont think that will happen.

Thanks for reading my story, i tried to keep it short and to the point. I'm sure I've left out alot, I'll edit as I think of it.

Funkychicken
30-11-2006, 21:44
Thank-you Reidy for making this happen! Thank-you Sharvs for sharing. You deserve the biggest medal for your efforts. i hope all your wishes and dreams come to fruition for you and Chris and Kayden.

Now, onto my year last year. Discovering I was pregnant in April was mind-blowing, to say the least. Darryl and I had discussed our family over the years and concluded that we were having no more babies. We had our two beautiful children and although I adore babies, I accepted this. BUT! To this day I am still a little hazy on how it happened-according to my calculations, I had ovulated well and truly over a week before, so no protection needed (we had successfully managed contraception for 5 years!). Imagine our surprise to find out we were to be parents.
Fast forward to november and I was hot, huge and believe it or not, still in a bit of denial. I had so many emotions going through me and I was so concerned about stuff that in hindsight was so trivial. Thankfully I have a beautiful group of friends who nurtured me in my pregnancy and espescially during the last month and made me feel loved and cared for.
I was busily trying to fiinish making christmas gifts. I was determined that our children would have their felted wall hangings that I had planned (I finished them on the 23rd dec) and that the gifts I was making to go overseas would be finished and posted in time!
december brought more heat and hot winds and i was so uncomfortable and really wishingthe baby to hurry up. I had pre-labour on and off for about a week and many tearful phone calls to my dear friend who was coming to the birth. I became convinced that my baby was NEVER coming out. On the 23rd Dec, I had steady pains 6 minutes apart for about 90 mins, so at 7pm I phoned my friend, B, and told her. We chatted on and off for about 20 minutes and she said, "Have you had any more during this call?"
"No", I cried.:crying: So she siad, get some sleep, call me in the morning.
10pm-Wham! A big contraction hit, and another, and another and within 10 mins they were coming about three minutes apart. we rang Darryl's mum who was coming to astay with the big children but she was at Carol's by Candlelight in the city, so plan B was to have another friend come over and wait until MIL arrived. Phone call to B and all systems go. The drive to the birth centre involved about 6 contractions and my water's breaking and was worried abotu the car seat! We only live 7 minutes from the birth centre so it was full-on. Arrived at emergency (only entry/exit open after hours)and met B there but I was in a lot of pain so I was focusing on just getting inside. The lift arrived and when we got upstairs we had to wait out a contraction and the lift doors closing and opening again. into the room and up on the bed with ,y head down and bottom up which brought releif but slowed progress so into the shower with me dropping my clothes everywhere. I was hanging over the ball with B hosing my belly (I'm sure Darryl was there, nut I needed the reassurance of a woman right then. I was ready to push very soon but i felt this really cold breeze coming up from under me and knew I couldn't birth my baby into the cold so back to the bed where I grabbed the bed head and did everything i could NOT to push. The midwife was telling me to stop pushing and I was yelling back, "I'm not, the baby's coming anyway!" With about 11 mins of my NOT pushing, Hamish Andrew flew out and landed under my belly where I scooped him up and realised that I had a new baby. It finally hit me when he was born that I was having another baby. I remeber thinking, "That's right, I looooovvvvee babies!" I was smitten within seconds and it was the deepest love affair I had ever experienced. I couldn't get enough of him and together we sunggled down to get to know each other. All this was over by 2.19am on the 24th of December, 2006.
Darryl eventually went home and got the children who came in very tentatively to see their new brother and they were both so loving and gentle. A bit in awe, I think! We went home after lunch and began our life as a family of five!
Wow- that was amazingly long and I didn't even intend to tell my birth story! Oh well, you got it now-sorry if it's too long to read!
Here are a few of pics from 12 months ago.

http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/9210/pic00237dd6.jpg

http://img77.imageshack.us/img77/1376/copyofpic00246lx5.jpg

http://img77.imageshack.us/img77/3316/copyofpic00257en0.jpg

http://img77.imageshack.us/img77/1605/pic00251aw1.jpg

http://img224.imageshack.us/img224/6224/copyofpic00261uy1.jpg

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/8882/pic00465fw8.jpg

bub7
30-11-2006, 22:36
when i found out i was pregnant it was a big SUPRISE but once i got over the shock of "omg im gonna be a mummy" i was so excited, i had to ring DP at work cause i wanted him to come home early so i could tell him in person rather then over the phone, but he guessed that i was pregnant anyway. He was a bit thrown back at first but like i was became more and more excited as the days went on.

We didnt wanna no the sex of the baby but we got told by 4 different doctors that we were having a boy,(we had alot of ppl buy us blue stuff) but i still stuck to the white and yellow clothes while buying cause for some reason i had this weird feeling that it wasnt a boy.

Skip to december i was hot and bothered,but could only stay in the pool for so long before it started feeling warm anyway. My whole body was swollen, my legs looked the same size right the way down to my toes, all my hands were swollen i just looked like one big fat blob he,he . But to be honest i had a great pregnancy i didnt have any morning sickness or anything like that was such a breeze.

21st of December i had been shopping ALL day, got home and all i could do was clean then i finally sat down and watched some tv as i didnt feel to tired. by 2am on the 22nd of Dec i finally wondered into bed.Then at 3am i woke to go to the toilet got back in bed and had the urge to go again, but then i couldnt stop it.... it was my waters breaking. I was in shock,scared at the same time, i woke DP and he didnt move a muscle :eek: he said ok wake me when your ready to leave So i called my mum she come straight over and we headed to the hospital. I wasnt in pain for 2hrs after my water broke but as soon as we hit the hospital they hit and they hit hard. Through the whole labour my contractions were 1min apart :crying: i couldnt sit the only way i could be comfortable was to stand against the wall and wiggle my hips.DP and mum just watched on in amazment at how well i was doing by myself (and im a sook with pain) i was so tired i finally asked for pain killers, gas done nothing so i got an epi, got about 30mins sleep then woke up feeling contractions again,they checked me and said i will be ready to push anytime soon, when i get the urge dont hold back.By this time the epi had worn off (didnt last as long as i got told it would :p ) and then at 8:48pm She was here, the most beautiful little thing i had seen, but the suprise to us all was She wasnt a HE like we got told, so it worked out great in the end as we still got our suprise ending like we wanted :D
We were still in hospital on christmas day, i was ment to go home the day before but since i had the epi put in my blood pressure was really high and they didnt know why it wouldnt go down and they found it strange as i didnt have any simptoms of being sick from it. So we had my whole family,partners and neices and nephews in the waiting room with ALL the christmas presents from under the tree at home. We ended up being let out christmas afternoon!

sorry its so long!! but there is my story!
hey how do i add pics?

brodiebunch
01-12-2006, 09:00
Hi guys.I can not bring myself to rewrite my labour story as it is already on the BH and I am trying to leave that trauma behind.Please go read it though as I think it is important to share.I just feel it would be a backward step for me to relive it again when I am starting to heal.You'll find it under birth trauma,"dealing with delayed trauma after a C/S wound break down.

That said I will tell you what I was doing the week before I had Oliver and Knew I was going to be induced.

The week before the Birth I was finally after many weeks allowed off bed rest:smiliedance: I am not one for doing nothing at the best off times,add to that the nesting instinct and my poor DP was to scared to put his coffee down in fear that I would clean it before he finished.LOL.My sister had set up the nurserey for me and organised the house while I rested,she is the sort of big sis that is forever organising me,It makes her happy.So there really wasn't anything to clean and I was getting really frustrated.I would go to hosp. everyday to be monitered come home do the breakfast dishes and look for something to do.My mind had gone to mush so reading was out.Enter the xmas cake making frenzy.We ended up with 3 cakes for 2 people,lots of gingerbread cookies,and a years worth of frozen spag bol.

My dad and Father in law loved the cake when they visited and I think they must have eaten one each.The other one was cut up and brought to the hosp to be enjoyed by visitors and mainly midwives.The spag bol disapeared but I think DP got sick of it and feed it to the dog we had at the time,he wont admit to this though.

The day before I was to be induced was so very long.We waited for my dad and step mum to arrive and got a (good)supprise phone call that my dps sis was coming.To kill time we took some very pregnant nude pics of cubie(formeley known as bumpy now called oliver)my stomach looked like a square!Dad arrived and took us out for dinner but I was so excited it was hard to eat.then sis arrived and we had a very loving warm night talking over our hopes,fears,names etc.I was on sleeping tablets so I got some sleep so did DP as the dr told him to take one that he would need the rest.On the 14th of dec we woke at 4 and trundled off to the hosp at 5.The family joined us at 8.I had 2 lots off gel before anything happened and spent a fair bit of that time walking the hosp yard with dad.Oliver was born at 3.46am on the 15th by emergency C/S

If you have read my story here is the things I am now remembering.It is a bit fragmented sorry.My dad and s.mum holding my hand when I was in so much pain and being great sources of strenght.DP feeding me ice and gas and knowing what I wanted without me saying anything(i was in to much pain to speak) when no one else understood,Sis sad because she had to leave before birth and the hug and kiss she gave me.Agreeing with the dr that an emergency c/s as soon as possible was the best thing.Joking about the lovely paper slippers in sugery.Most and best of all I now remember this.....

ITS A BOY!and he is alright.I remember looking at him and saying that he looked like DP.And my Dad would be so happy to here the news and he was to be the first to hug him when dp took him back to the room.I remember my dads relief on seeing me finally back from recovery.He had been reliving my mothers traumatic births and was so worried.I remember his tears whenever he looked at DS,and the instant bond was visible.I remember the first breastfeed and watching DP bath him and learn how to fold nappies.My 4yr old niece visited and her face was just the most expressive thing I've seen.And finally My sister arriving for 3 weeks and what a comfort she was.

I can only remember my yummy b'day cake on xmas day but I am confident that as I continue healing I will retrieve more memories.:fingerscrossed:Happy birthday december babies and have a great christmas:wave:

mytwolilprinces
02-12-2006, 20:16
Wow, what beautiful stories - Sal, in particular I got tears in my eyes with your birth story - I could FEEL your happiness :)

In advance I apologise for the length of this post ....

I found out I was pregnant with Blake 4 days prior to my period being due, I wouldn't say he was an "accident" but he was certainly conceived far more quickly than expected.

I was happy but at the same time aprehensive, Joshua had only just turned 1 and was starting to really get into things - and I wasn't sure how I was going to handle 2 little ones under 2 years old!

It was also a hard time for DH and I, his brother was going through a mental health crises and was admitted to hospital for a while. DH spent most nights with him - I was left alone to look after Josh whilst trying to cope with severe ms. Just as the MS wore off DH broke his entire foot playing sport and was rushed to emergency and after surgery spent a week in hospital and was on crutches for 8 weeks - so we were not off to a good start. I started to feel as though I didn't want to be pregnant and I felt as though I didn't want the baby. I remained that way for the remainder of the pregnancy as I just didn't have the support I had first time around.

December 12 I was booked in for an induction. I was packed and DS1 dropped off at the inlaws when the hospital called and asked me to come in the following day as they were full :( - so after all the expectation, I had to just go back home and wait until the following day - I barely slept and at around 4am, I felt a twinge - after another twinge around 10mins later, I decided I was having the baby that day induction or not ! My appointment as the hospital was at 6am, the pains were not very painful, so when I got there I didn't tell them that things had started on their own. I just wanted the baby out and I thought that they could just give me the gel to get things moving. Well, the did give me the gel and BOY did that get things moving. I was in full blown labour literally 1 min after the gel was placed on my cervix, the contractions were agony and I somehow made it down to the labour ward. I asked for an epidural (which I now regret) as I was terrified of the pain. I had problems with the epidural and my face went numb, I had trouble breathing and felt pretty scared. To top it all off, Blake was stuck, after all my attempts at pushing, he had not moved down the birth canal. The ventouse was then used to get him out and I finally had my 2nd little man. Exactly 3 hours after I arrived at the hospital. Poor Blake was in a bad way, his face was purple and his head so swollen and pointy. I was worried for him, but glad to finally have him. All the negative feelings I had had about him instantly melted away and I just wanted to protect this poor little tiny human who I could tell was in shock and pain from his uncomfortable birth.

A year on and I'm thinking of doing it all again! I must be completley crazy!

Thanks for reading xx

Reidymac
05-12-2006, 22:11
HAPPY BIRTHDAY Liam!!!:smiliedance: My little man is a big one year old today and I am full of love and joy for him, sad he is growing so fast, and feeling very nostalgic. This time last year……I would like to say that I was a glowing goddess of pregnancy, but that would be a lie. Liam is our second child and both pregnancies have been full of difficulty, complications, hospital stays, Dr’s speeches about worst case scenarios, worry, pain and 40 strait weeks of 24 hour morning sickness. DH did everything including bathing me, carrying me up our stairs and emptying the dreaded buckets. I rarely ever slept (still don’t). It was 3am on Monday Dec 5 (due date) when the need to pee became a permanent state of being so I took up camp in the bathroom feeling weird, heavy and awful.

I was on strict instructions to get to hospital at the first sign of anything strange so when DH woke at 7.45am I explained how weird I felt and asked him to skip work to help with DD ‘just in case’. He smiled, nodded and wondered off to iron his work clothes. I rang the hospital to ask for advice and was encouraged to go in for a check-up. That’s when the first contraction hit, strong enough to take my breath away and knock me off my feet. The contractions were hard and fast from then on.

On the car trip to the hospital DD and DH chatted happily as I sat silent and stunned in the front seat terrified of making a sound that would frighten DD and struck dumb by the intensity of the contractions. We dropped DD of at mums and pushed on through the Monday morning peak hour traffic, DH still chatting mindlessly and me silent, breathing, watching the clock and hovering above the seat. My DH is a very calm and gentle soul who exudes a peacefulness and strength that I do not possess. I try to respect this strength and draw from his calm…. but not that morning. My mind was racing, I was terrified, shocked and grumpy at his blasé attitude, it took all my strength to hiss “PLEASE, DO NOT leave me alone” when he asked if I would like to be dropped off at the entrance and wait or walk from the car park with him.

Lumbering out of the car I realized this was going to be harder than I thought. One step, contraction, two steps contraction, my legs shaking and weak. When I looked up to survey the distance ahead, a woman on the other side of the carpark saw me struggling, called a nearby smoker into action and commandeered a wheelchair. The woman (RWBH staff) steered us into a secret door and straight into an awaiting staff elevator which was quickly vacated when she demanded ”We’re going up to level 5 first, GET OUT”. When we entered the birth suite several woman at the desk jumped into action all pressing 2 fingers into my belly (like taking a pulse). I am still not sure what that told them but it worked because they wheeled me into the first room on the left and asked if I wanted to push. Quite bewildered I asked if I could please take my jeans of first and struggled to stand while 5 people pulled my jeans off over the top of my doc boots.

I couldn’t stand anymore so clambered onto all fours on the bed. At this point all of my assistants disappeared, lights were dimmed, the room was silent and a lone midwife was fussing with equipment. She was caring and confident assuring me I was in complete control and doing well all by myself, I should just keep going with what my body was telling me and start pushing if I wanted to. But my head was still racing with internal talk, I couldn’t believe she was serious and looked over to DH who was still struggling to offload the bags. Looked back toward the midwife who was concerned with matters a few meters away and wondered how the hell I could unlock the pelvic floor clench I had been doing since leaving home to begin this crazy pushing business she was talking about. What the hell did she mean ‘push’, my waters hadn’t broken yet and nobody had examined me.

That’s when I felt DH’s hand, strong and warm on the small of my back. He whispered “Your OK, I’m right beside you” then kissed me. I felt instantly calmer with him by my side and started to let things happen. I followed the pain putting my hand down to support my perineum and realised I could feel the babies head. I completely snapped out of the panic then and pushed hard using my hand to guide this little baby out and onto the bed below me. He was the most perfect little boy crying for a minute and then looking around the room wide eyed. I was overwhelmed and kept saying ‘OMG, you have a son, he’s a little boy’ to my shocked and weepy DH. The amazing midwife had stayed back and allowed me to birth him all by myself with just DH by my side. Very non-interventionist she allowed us to cuddle and feed for ages then cleaned tested and measured him on the bed beside me taking him away for a second to be weighed. After such a medically eventful pregnancy I was overjoyed to have my little baby, another natural birth without injury and a son born into my own two hands 7 whole minutes after we arrived in birth suite (50 minutes after the first contraction at home).

In less than an hour I had given birth, fed our lovely baby, showered, dressed, greeted relatives, eaten a breakfast without vomiting and was heading up to the ward feeling the best I ever had, confident I was going home that afternoon. Unfortunately that last bit didn’t go quite as planned. Within hours of the birth everything went pear shaped and I experienced an unusual case of ‘post partum’ preeclampsia. My BP went through the roof, I was fitting, at risk of stroke and showing signs of organ failure which resulted in 5 days on a magnesium drip under intensive care (back in birth suit with lots of drugs and all the tubes and medical **** ironically enough). During those 5 days I had a group of lovely midwives who sat by my side keeping me around and helping Liam and I stay connected and breast feeding.

Liam is a dear sweet little fella and much loved by big sis. DH and I feel so blessed and would love to have the good fortune to do it all again some day. DH’s only request is more talk during labour and a bit of warning when birth is imminent as he insists I was so silent he had ‘no idea I was labouring in the car’ and was shocked when Liam just appeared without the MW. My only request is a little less drama, no ms and maybe an extra 10 minutes in birth suite. But....... whatever :D

:o Sorry this post was even longer than the birth, Thanks for reading XX

brooke
07-12-2006, 09:21
wow what beautiful posts! I have no idea where to begin or what to write...
all you girls wrote such wonderful birth stories they will be hard to follow up!

well dh and i had been tcc for about 7mths and had almost given up hope (as you do) but this particular month i had done 4 preg test all negative but i was feeling so hot, and tired my BF told me to go a do a hpt i told her i had already done 4 and she was so persistant dh and i had bought another one in our weekly shopping along with some brouchers to go on a trip to canada becuase i had all but given up hope!
i did the "pee test" and while sitting in the loo feeling sorry for myself i threw the hpt saying "this stupid thing isnt working!" and began to cry and threw it on the ground and continued to read the canada booklet... i then picked up the test and went to sulk but as i looked at it there was a :bfp: i almost threw up then and there! I had to look a million times! then i stuttered to dh! "omg there is 2 lines" and began to cry out of happiness, excitment and fear! OMG we were pregnant and i was going to have a baby and even more scary my next words where...
OMG IM GOING TO HAVE TO HAVE NEEDLES!
( embarrassing i know)
i then called mum and dad and my best friend and broke the news...
and from that day on wards... I had the worst MS ever! I threw up day and night used all my sickleave, holidays everything for work but i was so happy
dh was so caring and supportive, i cant tell you how many times he had to go empty buckets

fast forward to my due date and i was STILL pregnant! I was sure all pregnancy that i would go early and NOPE! I then focused my induction date
xmas day! as my new due date, im sure thats what made me cope!

on the very early morning of 23rd of dec i woke up feeling like i needed number 2s sat on the loo and nothing... i sat there for about an hour thinking "come on hurry up" then it clicked hang on im in LABOUR!!!!!!!!! YAY!
I woke up my dh and told him and waited til 7 to tell my nanna cause i didnt wanna panick her too much! i spent the next 26 hours in pain wondering when the hell the baby was going to come out... i wont go in to too much detail but i am so glad i had my mum and dh there with me... i had a natural birth no drugd... i tore and but refused stitches (crazy)
but i was so over the moon that my beautiful little princess had arrived... she was perfect and still is and i thank god everyday for her being here in our lives cant imagine my life with out her! I love being a mum even though every day can be a challange but she always does something to brighten my day!

i couldnt have gotten thru the past 21month with out you beautiful ladies!
thank you so much!

emilysmumma
09-12-2006, 10:37
Lovely stories everyone. Lets see how I go with it. “Warning” extremely long.

After 18 months of trying to get pregnant it finally happened. It had gotten to the point that we were coming to terms with the fact that we may not have kids. We hadn't looked into it any further yet as our Dr said to wait until we came back from our overseas holiday in Fiji as she said you never know what can occur when your relaxed. Well bugger me if our little one wasn't concieved whilst in Fiji.

I knew something was up when one morning I woke up and not only was I filling my bra (which usually I swam around in) I was overflowing my bra. Straight away went to woolies got a test and took it. I was so nervous that I had trouble reading the instructions on what was a positive/negative sign. Even though I thought it said positive I just couldn't wrap my head around it if it was suspose to be one line or two. I kept checking every hour to see if I got it right.

DH came home and I told him in happy tears and took another test the next morning and of course it was a postive one.

Pretty much a text book pregnancy. MS till 12 weeks, hot flushes, bleeding gums, drooling at night, you name it I did it. I loved the 5/6th month mark as still had energy, I could feel baby moving, it was all good. Come the 7/8/9th month where heartburn kicks in, feet hurt if you walk too much not so much fun but really excited in meeting and getting to know our little girl.

Had to find out what we were having as I hate anticipation.

Around the 34 week mark the BP started getting slighty higher. At 38 weeks my Dr sent me to the hospital to get checked up as it was still getting higher.
It turned out good but as my overdue appointment wasn't till 10 days after the due date the doctor there changed it to 3 days after the due date.

Well the 10th came and went. I have many photos of me sprawled on the lounge in the airconditioning in a sarong as that was all that fitted by then. I was one big swollen and stretched woman.
On the 13th we went to the hospital for our overdue checkup and were seen by a elderly gentlemen doctor who declare we were going to “evict this tenant” in 3 days time.

Left in a state of shock as all along I did not want to be induced as I new how much intervention can occur. And I would only be 6 days overdue. Saw my doctor the next day and she said I better as my BP was still up. DH rang the hospital to cancel but it was decided I would still go in and see them.

So Friday came, off we go. Didn't have my paperwork as apparently they took it we were cancelling the appointment but eventually after an hour it got sorted out and I was seen to.

A lovely midwife listened to my concerns, was puzzled to in why I should be induce only 6 days over and put me on the monitor. I had been having some prelabour pains in the last 24 hours but only 1 happened while I was there. Another appointment was made at 14 days for induction with great caution on mortality rates etc as of course Christmas was getting closer and appointments were few and far between. But it was coupled with seeing them every day after 10 days over.

Just before we left the midwife said she would do a stretch and sweep to see if she could get things going. I was already 1cm dilated which she stretched to 2cm and as it didn't cause me too much discomfort had a good sweep around the membranes and said she was on the morning shift tomorrow and would be surprised if she didn't see me back in then.

Well as it turned out she delivered Emily the next morning.

I think that's enough for now. I will get into the whole giving birth thing another time.
This is the "what we were doing before time". Well what we were doing was waiting to have a baby.
And I'm so glad we did!!!!!!!!

angel_one
13-12-2006, 08:23
wow how cool is this!!! im currently living in the dec 2006 message boards, but i do have a dec 2005 baby (too)

so my little story....
it all started after 15 months of ttc, when finally i got the all to familar feeling - for some reason i can tell im pg before the test comes up pos!!! and so after about 7 :bfp: i finally believed it (yes a little bit crazy here) and so we keep our good news to our selves untill 12 weeks and finally decided it was time to tell the family - this kiddo was gonna stick so away went... due on the 26th dec - boxing day baby -
what a fun pg!, i thought i was gonna die before the end!, at 16 weeks i had a fall, which resulted in a "sprained ankle" (well that what we thought) right before our big family holiday to brissy, so i had a slightly pain full trip to dreamworld, well i survived that and then between cold and flus every few weeks (i get sick only when pg!) i got to 20 weeks when dh decided to have his appendix out the night (like midnight) before our scan!, we then hit the 30 week mark!, i had planned a party for dhs birthday, and that evening as every one was leaivng the club, i managed to fall over again!!! this time, however i hurt my self a bit more!, my ankle bone looked like a egg! but i didnt let it spoil dhs birthday, and sat there in agony (telling everyone im ok!) till the next morning, when by then i had had enough and told dh we are going to the hospital, left dd with my sister and away we went, 3 hours later - oh you have a broken ankle!!!!! - what but i can still walk!! - i found out it is possible to move a broken part of the boody after being told as a kid, if you can move it its not broken! - so i wonder just how many broken bones i've had!??? lol. and so we then decided to move, (while very pg and broken), finally got the cast off only to have my water break 2 weeks later! (at maccas might i add!) then the next morning 19 hours after my water broke i gave birth - all naturally (no pain killers) again, to my baby boy, who due to so long between waters breaking and birth, had to spend 12 hours in the nicu (as he was showing signs of infection) and then we were allowed to go home! he was born the 15th dec, 7:20am, and his weight was 8lb 6.5 oz, (a little bit bigger than his sister).

so that was baileys story!, 4 months later i found out i was pg again! due the 25th dec 2006!!! so i would have my babies 12 months apart (well almost) well that didnt happen as hayden decided to come 8 weeks early - making my boy 10.5 months apart!!!

oh and what fun the last 5 weeks has been - with 3 kids under 3.5years!!

emilysmumma
16-12-2006, 20:19
I was going to post the remainder of my birth story tonight as it was this time a year ago Emily started to make her entrance in this world, albiet it took 11 hours.
But I am too emotional about it. Just really overwhelmed about this little girl that I have created that has devolped in leaps and bounds from the little bundle that she was a year ago.
I'm so proud to be her mumma and can't wait for each and every day to wake up to be with her.

Happy Birthday my little girl. :hugs: and :kiss: from mummy.