View Full Version : picnic at the south bank parklands??

caro224
23-10-2005, 22:50
Hello everyone!!

We just moved from Germany to Brisbane (yesterday to be exact..). We found a really nice home in Kelvin Grove and all is new and exciting... :D
My daughter Emily is 12 months and I'm 26 and looking for other mums who like to catch up for a picnic or a chat at the south bank parklands or somewhere near Kelvin Grove (my orientation is not the best.. :o ). I'd also like to get to know Brissie's nightlife a little bit, so who'd like to leave the Dads at home and go out for a drink?
Does anyone know an existing playgroup in the Kelvin Grove area we could join?

Have a nice day
:) :)
Carolin & Emily

Rell
24-10-2005, 07:09
Hi carolin
Welcome to Australia and sunny QLD. I moved to QLD from Sydney 3 years ago and am loveing it.
I live out near Ipswich so not to close to you but I would love to meet up some time at South Bank.
If you are looking for a playgroup near you give Playgroup Qld a call on
1800 171 882 and they will be able to put you in contact with a playgroup close by.
Hope you enjoy our lovely sunny weather

caro224
24-10-2005, 15:33
Hello Narelle!

Thanks for your answer! We do enjoy the great weather here, it's awesome!! :D

That would be great if we could meet at the parklands. I haven't been there yet but I heard that it's a nice place, especially for kids. I could manage it this week any time, but we'll move into our new home next Saturday so the next week will be quite full. What do you think? What time of the day suits you best? Do you know a point where we could meet?

Maybe anybody else wants to join?

See you
Carolin

24-10-2005, 15:57
HI Carolin! I'm Julie I have a six month old son Xavier. We moved here from NZ last year and we would love to meet you. We are busy this week and only available on the weekend so anytime Sat or Sun would be great, what do you all think? If not we will catch you up another time soon!

tickle
24-10-2005, 16:18
Hi Carolin!
I don't live really close to you but South Bank is always easy for most people. My DH and his family are all German and we just came back from a holiday there about 5 months ago.
You will LOVE it here!! :D
All of our family and friends that come from Germany never want to leave. Although I am sure you will really miss all of the beautiful wild flowers and green, green grass.
I would love to catch up....all of my family lives near you. PM me anytime.

Rell
25-10-2005, 06:49
This week is a bit busy for me so how does Thursday the 10th November sound to everyone?

caro224
25-10-2005, 09:19
sounds good to me. Looking forward to it! :)

tickle
25-10-2005, 17:55
What part of Germany are you from?

melfunction
25-10-2005, 21:30
Hi, would you mind if Kaiden and I came? We live out of town a bit too, but I'll drive almost anywhere to get out of the house. Thurs 10th Nov sounds good to me.

peterpan
25-10-2005, 23:36
Welcome to Aussie you will love it here....
Peter and I would like to go to South Bank I know how to get there....LOL
10th Nov is good for me

caro224
26-10-2005, 00:08
Hello!!
This is getting so good! I'm looking forward to meet you all!
Today I read the threads to "who else is addicted to bubhub" This is really worth reading, it makes you laugh and makes you cry and it gives you the certainty (?) that you're not the only one sitting at home all day. It was great!! :)
I'm from western-Germany. From Leverkusen (Bayer, Aspirine) next to Cologne.
So, let's hope the weather's gonna be good. Does anyone know a good point to meet?
See you (hurray!!!)
Carolin

pharieprincess
26-10-2005, 11:49
hi there mums
my name is Nush and i'm 28 with 2 girls Caitlin who is 5 and Ella is 15 mths.
I live in Nundah (north of brisbane) and would love to meet up with you at southbank, sounds great.
I'll keep watching the post and hopefully will meet some of you soon.
Nush

Brissie_Mum2b
26-10-2005, 13:59

I am Liz and I'm 36 years old and expecting my first bub mid Feb.

I wouldn't mind joining you on 10th November as I actually have that week off work. I'll look out for the details.

Hope to see you all then,

Liz

indian mom
28-10-2005, 10:25
Hello everyone,
I m Jyotsna . I am 23 and from India.We came to Brisbane around 3 months back.I have a 18 month old naughty daughter.Would love to join u all at Southbank Parklands on nov 10th.
Can someone pls.give me more details about time n things to be taken care of.
Thanxs

Indian mom

BecH
28-10-2005, 12:42

I would also love to come on the 10th to Southbank. I have a 2 month old baby girl and I'm 23.

Are husband's welcome or is it more a mum thing????

Looking forward to it,

Bec

caro224
28-10-2005, 14:51
Hi Bec,
of course husbands are welcome!! :) Even mothers-in-law are.. ;)
Great to see you soon

Carolin

caro224
30-10-2005, 22:03
Hello everyone! :)

From tomorrow on I won't have any Internet access for a few weeks :eek: , so it would be good to fix a time for Thursday the 10th to meet. Would 10:30am at south bank beach be allright for everyone?

See you :D
Carolin

Rell
31-10-2005, 09:16
That sounds fine to me. I have only been to South bank once before so where abouts at the beach section should we meet

caro224
02-11-2005, 12:05
I'd say the middle part of the beach section. Or does anyone know a more precise point?

indian mom
03-11-2005, 14:46
Hey
I was thinking that should we be having some kind of a dress code or colour code so that it's easy for everyone to recognize each other b'coz there will be a lot of people there during that time.Or does it sound SILLY???
Also pls. guide me as to what should we be bringing?

Thanx

Fraggle
03-11-2005, 15:13

This sounds great, My Husband, Thomas and I live on the Gold Coast. I'd love to meet everyone. I was just going to start a Thread to see if there are any GC Bub Hubbers.

Can't wait.

See you all on Thursday

Rell
03-11-2005, 16:37
Hey
I was thinking that should we be having some kind of a dress code or colour code so that it's easy for everyone to recognize each other b'coz there will be a lot of people there during that time.Or does it sound SILLY???
Also pls. guide me as to what should we be bringing?

Thanx

How about we all tie a red ribbon onto our prams?
Julie and Angela and anyone else out ipswich way do you want to all catch the train in together?

Fraggle
03-11-2005, 16:42
what a great idea. How about just a ribbon (don't think I have a red one, but am sure I have plenty of pink?

indian mom
03-11-2005, 17:35
tying ribbon is a good idea.
pink is as good as red so i m in for it.

tell me anything more
thanx
tc

peterpan
03-11-2005, 21:52
How about we all tie a red ribbon onto our prams?
Julie and Angela and anyone else out ipswich way do you want to all catch the train in together?

Hi Rell and Girl's,
Rell I would love to catch the train in with you
see you next thursday

Angela

03-11-2005, 22:47
Hey guys I 'd love to catch a train in with you, but I just clicked on that we have swimming lessons on Thursday mornings at 10:30am, so wont be able to make it :(

Rell
04-11-2005, 14:53
guide me as to what should we be bringing?

Just bring some food for you and your child/children and some swimmers (togs) if you wish to go for a swim.

ruthwin
04-11-2005, 22:44
Hi , I just joined this board tonight.
We just moved back to Oz after living in Scotland for 4 years. My husband is German, i was born in the UK but grew up in Oz.
I feel abit weird inviting myself along to your meet up, but would really like to get to know some mums with children the same age as mine, as most of my old school friends here have older children.
Anyway, can i come? not sure if i can make it, but would really like to try. We only arrived back on saturday, so still abit jet lagged sorta.

Are you still doing the ribbon on the pram?

Ruth (36)
ds..Finn ...feb 03
dd..charley...nov 04

04-11-2005, 23:44
Definately go Ruth it's the perfect op to meet some great people!! Go the ribbons on the prams, that will be fun spotting all the bubhubbers merging towards the beach lol!!!
OOOOOH I so wanna come, this is looking like it's gonna be a big event, bummer big time that I cant make it. You guys will all have to arrange another after this one so we can come next time and meet you all!!! Have fun!!! :D

Fraggle
05-11-2005, 02:50
Hey guys I 'd love to catch a train in with you, but I just clicked on that we have swimming lessons on Thursday mornings at 10:30am, so wont be able to make it :(

Hi Julie,
The swim school where I take my boy enable me to do make up lessons at another time with another class if I can't make it to my weekly lesson as long as I give them reasonable notice. Does your pool have the same option, then you can mabe make it to South Bank after all??? :)

Good Luck

Fraggle
05-11-2005, 03:49
Hi , I just joined this board tonight.
We just moved back to Oz after living in Scotland for 4 years. My husband is German, i was born in the UK but grew up in Oz.
I feel abit weird inviting myself along to your meet up, but would really like to get to know some mums with children the same age as mine, as most of my old school friends here have older children.
Anyway, can i come? not sure if i can make it, but would really like to try. We only arrived back on saturday, so still abit jet lagged sorta.

Are you still doing the ribbon on the pram?

Ruth (36)
ds..Finn ...feb 03
dd..charley...nov 04

Hi Ruth,

I only joined in the last couple of days & invited myself, oops. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it's an open invitation for anyone who can make it that live in pretty much the South East Qld area. I have seen some mum's from Ipswich reply and I am from the Gold Coast. I am sure there are probably people from all around the place.

South Bank is so great like that because it is cetral to both coasts & out west, and the train stops really close for those who don't feel like driving into the city (like me!).

Hope to meet you there.

Christine

mum2ryan
05-11-2005, 12:13
I'd love to come to the meet next thursday if i can make it. I live down on the Gold Coast, but will catch the train up. Any other Gold Coast mums want to come up at the same time... that's if it's ok for me to invite myself along. :)

Rell
05-11-2005, 20:33
No don't feel rude at all. Most of us have never met before either.
The more that come along the better i say.
Looking forward to meeting you all

Fraggle
06-11-2005, 00:41
Just before I retire for the evening, I have the train timetable infront of me that goes from the Gold Coast to the City. The best train that will get us to South Bank by 10.21 is TP47 and runs as follows:

Robina -> 9.18am
Nerang -> 9.23
Helensvale -> 9.28 - $11.70 Adult Return (Off Peak)
Coomera -> 9.33
Ormeau -> 9.38
Beenleigh -> 9.46
Loganlea -> 9.52
Yeerongpilly -> 10.13
South Bank -> 10.21
It has been suggested that anyone catching this train meet in the last carriage so we can all go up together (and get lost together is my thought), which sounds great to me. I will go back to the train station and find out how much the tickets will cost from the other stations. Also kids under 5 are free - or so the guy at the station said the other day, but he didn't seem like he knew what he was talking about - he ummed and ahhed, so I am not taking his word for the age thing. I just know bubs are free.

Ok, finally sleep time now.
Good Night all.
Christine & Thomas

Rell
06-11-2005, 08:13
Check out the QR website it can tell you all the train info including the cost.
http://www.qr.com.au

Fraggle
06-11-2005, 09:59
Check out the QR website it can tell you all the train info including the cost.
http://www.qr.com.au

Cool, Thanks for that. Saves me a trip - not that I need an excuse to go to Westfield (where the train station is) hehehe.

peterpan
06-11-2005, 15:44
Hello All,
Can't wait to see you all on Thursday....
Rell I will catch the train with you, do you think we should
catch it from Red Bank as last time I parked at Goodna I got
my bag stolen.....
hugs to all

06-11-2005, 22:32
Thomas & mum - I might give my swim pool a ring tomorrow and see if it's ok to miss a week, you're right I'm sure it cant hurt to miss one week. I would love to be able to meet everyone! If it's all good then I would like to catch the train with Angela and Narelle if it's ok with you guys? What time will you guys be catching the train from Redbank?

Rell
07-11-2005, 08:13
Hi Julie
If you miss a lesson you still need to pay $4, not sure what the rules are for make up lessons because i have never bothered.
We can catch the train from Redbank if you like. So how does 9.20am at Redbank sound?

peterpan
07-11-2005, 14:48
Gidday All,
Rell and Juile Peter and I will see you at Redbank at 9.20 to catch the train

caro224
08-11-2005, 13:51
THank you for keep organising the picnic! This is my first time in the computer since a week or so and it is amazing how much this grew! I"m so looking forward to Thursday and will go and organise a red ribbon now...!

See you all! :D

Carolin

peterpan
08-11-2005, 16:56
Gidday All,

I will have a Blue ribbon on my pram from my PJ Pants...LOL
See you Thursday

08-11-2005, 17:49
Hokey Pokey! I rang swim school and they were fine about Xav missing a lesson and they said it was $4 to hold his spot like you said Rell, thanks.
See you at the station Thurs, I'll try to be there early. I dont have a ribbon so I'll just have to stick next to you Angela!

cluck cluck
08-11-2005, 22:46
HI THERE

IM NEW TO THE SITE AND HAVE BEEN FOLLOWING THIS MEET AT SOUTHBANK, ME AND MY 6 MONTH OLD BABY GIRL SAMARA WOULD ALSO LOVE TO MEET UP WITH YOU ALL.

I LIVE IN MOUNT GRAVATT EAST SO WILL PROBABLY EITHER CATCH THE FERRY IN OR DRIVE IN.
SAMARA AND I WOULD LOVE SOME NEW COMPANY SO LOOK FORWARD TO THE DAY!

HOPE IVE GOT IT RIGHT FROM READING ALL THE POSTS, MEET AT SOUTHBANK BEACH (IN THE MIDDLE) AT 10.30AM, WITH A RIBBON (PREF RED) AND BRING LUNCH AND TOGS IF GOING FOR SWIM. IS THIS CORRECT??

COULD SOMEONE POST ME IF IVE GOT IT WRONG? OTHERWISE I LOOK FORWARD TO SEEING YOU ALL ON THURSDAY! :p

Rell
09-11-2005, 08:37
Hi Cluck Cluck Yes you have got all the details right.
Look forward to meeting you all tomorrow

indian mom
09-11-2005, 22:21
I am really excited to come tomorrow.
Hope this start turns into long lasting friendships...

Take care everyone
Jyotsna

cwsmum
09-11-2005, 23:16
Hi ladies :)
I just discovered that you have a picnic organised for tomorrow at southback, sounds like fun.
I'd love to come along, but hopefully I'll be in hospital...or at least in labor...by 10:30am tomorrow.
If you decide to meet up again I'd love join you.

Hope you all have a great day :D

Rell
10-11-2005, 08:34
Hi cwsmum
We will be thinking of you at our picnic today. I hope for youre sake you are in labour or have your little bub by then.
We will organise another meet so you and anyone else that couldn't make it this time can come along.
Good luck with your inpending labour.

BIANCA-mummy of 2
29-11-2005, 11:17
Hi to all the mums out there, I am 24 with 2 boys and havnt really met any other mums yet. I live in woody point it'd be gr8 to meet some friends with kids so we can all catch up to get them out and about. I also would like to get out every now and then and have a drink on a girls night out in the town so if anyones interested in meeting up. That would be grrrrrrrrrrr8!!

Thanks Bianca :p

BIANCA-mummy of 2
29-11-2005, 11:26
Hi Guys, I have just been reading some of the threads and if I'm right theres a picnic organised at Southbank this thursday at 10.30am Yeah???

Well if that is right I would too love to come along and meet some other mums I am 24 and have 2 boys 1 and 3 years old. It should be a gr8 day for the kids and us Mums.

Will have a ribbon aswell of couse hehehe.

Please let me know if my details are right cheers guys.

Bianca :p

caro224
29-11-2005, 12:03
hey Bianca!!
Tha picnic was on the 10th already!! But have a look at the xmas-meeting-thread at roma street parklands. There will be even more mums and bubs (I hope..). It's on the 6th of December and will be really well organised!
But I personally love your idea of having a girls-night-out! :D I'm 26 and moved to Brisbane a month ago and a haven't seen one pub yet!!! So lets do it!!

Carolin :)

BIANCA-mummy of 2
29-11-2005, 12:04
Hokey Pokey! I rang swim school and they were fine about Xav missing a lesson and they said it was $4 to hold his spot like you said Rell, thanks.
See you at the station Thurs, I'll try to be there early. I dont have a ribbon so I'll just have to stick next to you Angela!

Hi Julie, my names Bianca just spotted the cute pic of your little man and you. Was wondering if you can tell me how to add pics to the msg like you did? I have been reading about the southbank catch up thurs and hope to be there with my 2 boys too. Shall see ya there yay. :)

cluck cluck
29-11-2005, 13:05
Hi Bianca

the southbank picnic has been and gone! We are having a xmas get together at Roma street parklands on the 6th dec at 10.30am at the playground area. Please come to that!
there will be a santa sack, so bring a pressie for your little ones and santa's helpers will hand them out. SEE THE XMAS PARTY _ROMA STREET THREAD
dont go to southbank no one will be there!

BIANCA-mummy of 2
29-11-2005, 13:45
Hello Ladies LOL, LOL, LOL HEHEHEHE,

I have finally realised that I am totally behind with the southbank thingy THANX, I am such a fool. Never mind I would love to come to the xmas one to meet everyone as I know no other Mums and need to get out of the house I am 24 and living like an 80 yr old LOL.Hope to come have to see :(

I was asking Carolin about having a "GIRLS NIGHT OUT" on the town for drinks, laughs, fun and time to let us Mums let loose. We deserve a party break every now and then. So if anyone is interested to join in and go out lets make a date for the new year on a sat night.

Let me know if anyone has any ideas and is interested??

Cheers Girls, Bianca ( mum of 2 boys woody point) :D