View Full Version : to switch or not to switch

mum2mischief
28-11-2006, 11:02
i was considerin swapping to cloth nappies and was wondering if anyone could give me there opinions on cloth nappies? Any good or bad experiences?
I've checked out a few online and they seem expensive to start with but wondered if they end up cheaper in the long run.

Zada
28-11-2006, 11:27
i've just switched over and i love em:D Ive spent maybe $500 all up and ive got enough to wash every 2nd day or so.yet thats only 5 months sposie for us so def cheaper in the long run! I've got all one size nappies too so im not upgrading when he grows.

mum2charli
28-11-2006, 11:31
I have just swapped over too and I love them! I can't believe how much money I will save in the long run. This might help (taken from Green Kids)

Disposables 70 disposable nappies per week for 3 months
49 disposable nappies per week for 9 months
35 disposable nappies per week for 1.5 years
Disposable wipes for 2.5 years
Disposable nappy bags for 2.5 years
Total
$ 378
$ 980
$1638
$ 383
$ 90
$3469
Green Kids nappies (from newborn to toilet training, washing every 2 days) 20 Green Kids nappies
20 Hemp prefolds
4 microfibre inserts
Washing costs (over 2.5 years)
20 quality cloth wipes or face washers
Total
$414
$220
$ 22
$234
$ 20
$910
That is a huge saving of $2559

mum2mischief
28-11-2006, 11:35
Thanks for that so far. Do you have any suggestions about which type to get. Like all in one or prefold or whatever???
It's all a bit confusing for a first timer. Should i just but a few and see what i like?

gremily
28-11-2006, 11:48
The issue for me is the environmental cost of not switching to cloth. We all know the long term benefits money wise, while being a big layout to start with in the long run they a $1000's cheaper than disgustables.
Disgustables DO NOT biodegrade and even those that claim to be more environmentally friendly still take about the same amount of time to biodegrade unless put into a compost, use billions of litres of water during the manufacturing process not to mention deforestation to make them.

Please check out the link and have a look at the picture of the nappy waste generated by 1 baby in 2 yrs. It's pretty appalling.:thumbsdown: http://www.ecoaction.com.au/category.php?id=52

If you're not changing for environmental reasons that's fine:) you'll still notice it in your hip pocket each week!
Washing is sooooo much easier than it used to be. You don't need to soak, just chuck them in a bucket, wash on cold or hot (whatever you want) then hang on the line - the sun will take care of the sanitising!

Ozcloth nappies has some excellent info aswell http://www.ozclothnappies.org/links.html

Otherwise, there's plenty of knowledge and experience abounding in the heads of the BH Cloth Addicts:D

mum2charli
28-11-2006, 11:49
:eek: Gremily that link is disgusting! I am even more commited now to keeping my house a disposable free zone :no: Yuck!

Zada
28-11-2006, 11:51
i have pockets & fitteds i like them both:yes: ive got greenkids & baby beehinds & kissaluvs. pockets are good cos no cover needed:thumbsup:

forgot to say maybe get a trial pack from both those and see which u like

mum2charli
28-11-2006, 11:53
I only have pocket nappies so far, Green Kids :thumbsup: love them and Swaddlebees :thumbsup: love them too!

I think I am just going to stick with GK mainly because they work well and I don't have the money to try other ones just in case they don't work for us.

gremily
28-11-2006, 12:12
:eek: Gremily that link is disgusting! I am even more commited now to keeping my house a disposable free zone :no: Yuck!

Yeah, I know! I came across it a few days ago and really wasn't expecting to see that. I knew it was a huge amount, but when you see it in an enormous pile it just puts it into perspective that cloth is the much better choice:yes:

mum2mischief - I'd recommend trialling a few different types before stocking up on 1 particular brand. Baby Beehinds and Green Kids (I think) have trial packages that are well worth it.
There are different things to consider, and pros and cons to each. AIO (All In One), fitted and pocket are the different types.
AIO's are the 'complete package', you dont' need to by covers, etc, but they take alot longer to dry.
Fitted nappies need a cover but have boosters that can be removed that make drying type quicker.
Pockets are a cover that you stuff with absorbant material (correct me if I'm wrong though!).

Look for materials like hemp or bamboo that are highly absorbant, especially compared to terry cotton.

If you choose a nappy that needs a cover look for PUL rather than cheap PVC. PUL is a breathable cover that is great for the daytime.
Wool wraps or soakers are fantastic for nighttime, keep bubs bums cool in summer and warm in winter, are breathable and stay extremely dry. If you or someone you know are able to knit then it makes it a whole lot cheaper again! Alot of ppl use wool soakers during the day aswell. I do occasionally, but I don't have enough to do it all the time.

In regards to me talking about washing before, I forgot to add something. You only need to use 1/2 the recommend amount of detergent to wash them, which saves more money aswell.

Zada
28-11-2006, 12:56
i wash mine with normal clothes to make a full load too :yes:

H&B'sMum
28-11-2006, 14:28
When I mention why I changed to cloth, I usually say "I want to stop adding to the 180 million nappies going into landfill in Aust each year" people are more willing to listen. It's pretty full on when you seen it like that, but makes the point.

I have a variety of cloth nappies:
Pockets:
Green Kids
Home made

AIO:
Bubblebubs
Honey boys
Homemade
Itti bitti

Fitted
Kidz in cloth
Itti bitti
Bamboo velour (brand unknown was a swap gift)
baby beehinds (a fair few of these including hemp and bamboo)
Very Baby (including Very baby simple nights)

Covers
Bummis whisper
baby beehinds PUL

Soakers/woolies
Have heaps of these as I knit them myself

I have a fair few of each brand, But to begin with I started out with 2 from each category and then worked out which ones I liked best, then bought more of them. As I built my stash up I started to only buy nappies that I really liked or really wanted, not really need iykwim???

A trial pack from say baby beehinds and Green kids would be good because then you get to try out both fitted and pocket types and then work out which ones you like. AIO are just like fitted but have waterproofing in them and don't need a cover.

There are heaps of sites on teh net and heaps of threads here on BH about the different nappies, so go ahead and order some, you'll love it.

LucyE
28-11-2006, 15:18
anyone could give me there opinions on cloth nappies? Any good or bad experiences?
I LOVE cloth :smiliedance: I used them pretty much fulltime from newborn (including outings) but have used disposables in hospital and when on holidays where I didn't have access to washing facilities. In my experience they have been much more reliable - no major leaks especially during the explosive breastfed stage - and they are a healthier option for DS. I'm still not convinced by the long term safety of those crystal gel thingies (SAPs) used in disposables and 'sposies are just not as breathable as modern cloth so therefore the crotch area will be hotter.

I use modern cloth and have a fairly large stash of various flats, fitteds, pockets and AIOs. You really do get what you pay for when it comes to nappies, so don't expect a lot from the cheaper options out there....I would suggest investing in a couple of different well respected brands to see what style suits you and your child best (different nappies fit different body shapes better) before stocking up.

Some people like the convenience of buying just one type so it doesn't get confusing and in that case I would suggest something like the Tots Bots snappi-ables because they would suit a wider range of body types than other styles. But my personal fave, would be the Sandra's Stuffables pocket nappies because they just fitted my chubby thighed yet small waisted DS the best. I also like pockets because I can adjust the absorbancy to suit our needs - eg. heaps at night to last 12hrs+ or bare minimum during the day to keep things trim and fit under cut for disposable clothes. They take no time to dry because you can pull it all apart and unfold it to make for less layers and they wash better than some AIOs which have so many layers sewn together with a waterproof outer layer that water doesn't 'sluice' though it very effectively.

Check out the links page to nappy sellers on www.ozclothnappies.org for a list of reputable Aussie and NZ stores to check out what's availabe these days. And once you've narrowed down the type of nappy you think you'd like, post back here for some reviews and opinions and include your child's age and body shape so you can get more specific advice/opinions.

28-11-2006, 18:47
I suggest you get starter package from nurturenappies - shows you the diff types and makes it easier to try and decide which style you may prefer (I appreciate all types!)
We use flats, prefolds, fitteds and a few pockets and AIOs. I use mostly wool covers. It is nice to have a less than full bin.
It can be cheap or as expensive as you like. The initial outlay may be a lot but in the long run it is cheaper than disposables.

susiehomemaker
28-11-2006, 22:22
Hi, Everyone is giving top advice! I just thought I would add that if you get a nappy that doesnt have micro fleece/ polar fleece or suede cloth next to bubs bum, get down to your nearest fabric store and get some micro fleece or polar fleece to make liners out of. The fabric doesnt frey so you just cut the shape you want (rectangle, oval-ish or hour glass shapped) give them a wash and use these next to bubs bum. Keeps them dry and keeps the nappies cleaner (protects from icky stains to a certain extent) The fleece pretty much never stains and the poo usually just roll off into the loo! My best friend who has said all along "Jacqui, I thinkits great you use cloth, but I think I will use disposables when I have my bub" has been converted to the cloth cause when she saw how easy it was to clean DD's modern cloth nappies! (ones with polar fleece or suede cloth inners or those lined with the polar fleece liners) Good luck with it all, dont be daunted- jump right in! It is not as hard or as confusing as it sounds and if you do get confused at any stage we are all here to help!

CurlyG
29-11-2006, 01:03
Hi All!
Great thread :) That picture!!! My goodness! I showed DF that when I was doing my "I think we should upgrade to better nappies" sales pitch :D because he's a shocker when it comes to using the sposies because it's so much easier...and lets face it! It is easier, but I feel so guilty every time I use one, so it's time to upgrade so there's one less thing to feel guilty about!

When DD was born I used flanellette squares, but she quickly grew out of those so we moved to fitted terry-nappies, which I got from Kmart (~$6each). I was also given a brand of nappy called EzyNappy. But I'm not happy with either of these options because for each nappy change I am using the nappy, plastic pants and a thick (fluffy) cover and it still leaks!!!! And also with summer coming up there's just too much fabric on bubs bum! So I've been sussing out Green Kids as so many of you recommend them and I also looked at Beehinds, but am hesitant to go with Beehinds because I'd still have to use covers.

For those of you who use the pre-folds, do you just use a wool or PUL cover with those? Or do you use something else as well?

And what are "soakers"? When do you use them?

Cheers and thanks for the help!
Carly.

29-11-2006, 09:50
. For those of you who use the pre-folds, do you just use a wool or PUL cover with those? Or do you use something else as well?

And what are "soakers"? When do you use them?

I use mostly wool covers. I only have one PUL cover I really like (Mother Ease airflow) but haven't even used that for a month I think! I use wool covers and soakers over all bub's nappies now - flats, prefolds and fitteds.
A soaker is a hand knitted wool cover. I have a few cos i am crazy for knitting. They are sold online but seem hard to come by.

*Country Bumpkin*
29-11-2006, 10:13
I just converted and Im using terry flats with covers.

It cost me

24 terry flats= $48
4 nappy covers= $ 21
nappy pins= $5
100 liners= $4

total= $78

they work really well for us. Its so much easier than constantly emptying stinky nappy bins

We dry pail our nappies and I was every second day.

Skyla is still in sposies at night but come new year sh will be in cloth full time

Were buying a heap of green kids in the new year

susiehomemaker
29-11-2006, 13:15
Yay Adele! Another convert :-) My SIL and I are the only ones I know who use cloth. Pretty sad isnt it? I would prefer a load of washing every 2 days to a bin full of stinky disgustables any day! I would probably suggest investing is a knitted soaker for nights when you change over if DD is sleeping through or you dont change her during the night. My DD wets through just a tiny bit (heavy wetter!!!) and the soaker has fixed the problem entirely! It just soaks up the tiny bit that escapes. We where fine mostly but about once a week we would have a small leak!

mum2mischief
30-11-2006, 08:32
Wow guys thanks for all your fantastic reponses. I was a bit hesitant about cloth at first but i'm definitely making the switch. You'll all be pleased to know i've ordered 3 different nappies to try and am looking forward to putting those disposables in the bin for the last time.
Thanks again and it's great to see this fantastic forum woth such great advice.:yelclap:

mum2mischief
04-12-2006, 09:49
I'm so excited I just received my first fluffy package on the weekend and they are just so soft. I've given them a go and it's a bit strange at first and figuring out how best to use what nappy and which one's I'll buy more of.
I can't believe all the varieties and brands out there. Looking forward to going full time in them.
Yeah!!!:smiliedance:

gremily
04-12-2006, 09:55
:smiliedance: Yayyyyy! Congratulations! How exciting is it when you receive that fluffiness:D Very addictive.

What sort did you get?

mum2mischief
06-12-2006, 16:41
i bought one each of happy heiny pocket, happy hempy fitted and mother ease one size fitted. i like the pocket the best but i've ordered another 5 or 6 different ones from The WeeWuns. by the way this seems like a great seller. Lots of variety and they seem to have a special offer at teh moment.