View Full Version : Would this be rude?

KaM
27-11-2006, 22:38
I have been thinking ahead to little missy's 1st birthday . .( a while away I know) and have been thinking of having it a local park with bbq's and a playground etc.

Do you think it would be rude to ask people to bring a plate?

I was thinking if I supplied the meat and some other things but asked people to bring a plate to help so it isnt such a big cost. being a single mother money isnt in abundance.

mum2charli
27-11-2006, 22:45
I don't think that is rude at all!! Good way to save money and at least there will be a variety of things that everyone eats I say! good idea

OJandMe
27-11-2006, 22:50
No, not at all! That's what we did for Ollie and Jordan's 1st birthday. It was great and the food was great as everyone would bring the thing they made best, rather than the usual packaged party food we would have otherwise done (no time to prepare 50 gazillion plates of nibblies when you're watching bubs), there was a whole table of delicious food! I do suggest though that you specify what you definately DO NOT want people to bring or you might end up with 4 or 5 plates of mini sandwiches.

Shakey
27-11-2006, 22:50
I don't think it would be rude, maybe on the invites put instead of buying a pressie bring a plate instead,

Bubble*Crazy
27-11-2006, 22:51
Gosh no! Whenever we have any sort of 'gathering' whether it be birthday, bbq, get together etc we always find people asking what they have to bring! I think most people these days don't mind bringing something along at all.

Bubble*Crazy
27-11-2006, 22:52
Maybe ask what they'd like to bring (savoury, sweet etc) just to make sure you don't have too much of something as gret_bliss said.

Mamaduke
27-11-2006, 22:57
I don't expect others to bring food to a party that I've organised, so I would think it's rude if I was told to.
If they offer that's another thing.

karcarcor
27-11-2006, 23:06
I had my daughter's 1st birthday at apark and I provided sausages, bread, onions and sauce and noone complained. In fact I had many comments on what a good idea it was.

Pixie
28-11-2006, 04:04
No it's not rude at all, depends on your friends of course too, We had my DP's 40th this year and people all brought something it was great we had such a variety of food, more than I could of prepared!

Tam-I-Am
28-11-2006, 10:20
I guess I think it depends on whether you're expecting a present for your DD AS WELL as a plate of food - if no, then no, that's not rude, if yes, then I think its probably a bit much.

A Party of Five
28-11-2006, 10:31
:party: It's Tom's 3rd birthday on Sunday!

And we will bring most of the food to the party. But my Mum always make the cake :chef: And all the other family always offers to make or bring something to the party. They will tell me what they want to bring when they RSVP. So we never double up on things. I would never ask them to, as I think it's rude. They just always offer.

But it's up to you.

claireandbailey
28-11-2006, 10:52
i think it is a little rude. Its just how i've been brought up, whenever we;ve held a party we supply all of the food! Alcohol, totally different story ppl should BYO.
I am also a single mum and i had a tin where i put all my spare change in and i also picked up bits and pieces in the months leading up to DD birthday, I had Bailey's party at a park and had sausages, rolls, chicken wings, and salads, also had heaps of party food! All i asked ppl to bring was a comfy chair if they wanted one!! some ppl like close family friends brought things like slices and cookies and drinks. i didnt ask they just brought them anyways!

shed
28-11-2006, 11:02
I don't think its rude at all. I think its the great aussie way. I wouldn't bat an eyelid if I was asked to bring a plate of food along to a kid's party.

And of course I would still bring along a present for a one year olds party.

If it was a party for the kid of say, James Packer, I might bat a bit of an eyelid, but if it was any of my friends it wouldn't even cross my mind that it was rude in any way, shape or form.

Its a kids party, not a wedding. What sort of friend would object to bringing one measly plate of food?

Elfin
28-11-2006, 11:15
I think I would be taken aback if I was asked to bring a plate for a birthday party. For a get together or just a normal bbq fine. I have always catered for birthday parties and it is fine just to have sausage sizzle, a bit of fruit and some other bits and pieces that don't cost much.

I just don't think it is something that I would ever do:no:

lizzymcfizzy
28-11-2006, 14:25
Its 50/50 so far hey! This is interesting.

I don't think its rude to ask people if they wouldn't mind bringing something to share but don't be offended if they don't bring something.

Or you could go with the cheap bbq suggested, just sausages, bread and sauce, yumo! Fairy bread is cheap too. (and still one of my favourite foods :devil6: )

Different strokes for different folks I guess.

razzle
28-11-2006, 14:30
I would probably say "BYO Meat" on the invitation and then supply lots of sausages and salad. Salad is cheaper to make than buying a ton of meat.

Foxy
28-11-2006, 14:31
I wouldn't say rude, but, I don't think it's the done "thing". When we host a party we supply everything, but maybe that's just our social circle.

Like the others have suggested maybe say on the invite to bring a plate instead of a present. Personally, if I needed some help, I would just ask family and close friends to bring something.

28-11-2006, 14:33
For MJs 1st we did a bbq at a park & provided bread, snags, sauce, onion, butter. Also fairy bread, coktail franks, lollies, chips etc. I asked people to bring their own drinks & they were fine with it :D

popchex
28-11-2006, 14:40
I think it would depend on the person. I know for me, I'd ask certain friends and family, on the side, if they would help out. They'd probably offer or bring something anyway. But others would be shocked and horrified if I asked them to bring something. lol

Maybe ask your closer friends/family to bring a bit. Personally if I were invited to a BBQ, I wouldn't have a problem bringing a plate. :)

AimeeB
28-11-2006, 14:51
:) If it's family they always offer to bring stuff anyway,and if i'm going to friends I always make an offer to bring something.If you feel it's rude just do what we did for Avalons 1st birthday in October-we didn't want to spend much so I just bought about 4kg sausages(only about $7.00 bucks a kilo) and about 6 loaves of 0.99c bread form ALDI and told everyone it was just a sausage sizzle with the birthday cake for dessert.It was a hot day so we went down to the beach foreshore and had about 40 people for a bbq,I just made 2 garden salads and cut a tray of onions,I think it only came to about $50.00,not even,to feed everyone and I just took a couple of bags of chips /lollies that I'd bought in advance.