View Full Version : Shamed at Friends Wedding Update!!!
subaruforestermum
27-11-2006, 07:00
Well as some of you read my previous thread about nasty bridesmaids, I thought I would share the update with you.....
Well last Thursday, I finally spoke to my mate who got married, and we talked for ages and I told her what they done, and some snide little comments they made about "her being really busy, it's a big day for her you know".....well durrr it was her wedding day...anyway..
She is sooooooo p**sed off......she is the type to say things when she has had a few drinks and she had when I spoke to her and was going round to see them for a BBQ.....
LMFAO........wish I could see it.......
And its good cos she said, that she believed me over them anyway even if they did try to lie their way out of it...and said that me telling her will not ruin our friendship....
I dont want to ruin their friendship, I just want them to realise that my mate had friends before them (they are not the centre of everyones universe, although they would like to be), and I will probably be there after them, IYKWIM....... they constantly get ****ty cos I know her better then they do, as she has a hard time opening up, but we've known each other since school.....over 7 years now......
So there is my update on the b**ch bridesmaids........
DOES ANYONE ELSE HAVE HORROR STORIES OF B88CHY BRIDES, OR BRIDESMAIDS, OR MOTHERS OF THE BRIDES ETC??????
Would be funny to read other peoples encounters........
27-11-2006, 07:16
no stories from me...just want to say, what a great friend you have:D , mates like this are so important.
My maid of honour hasn't spoken to me really since my wedding which was 4 years ago. Two other friends joined her in this as well essentially although they have since made 'attempts' to mend bridges but I just don't know if I can. They have been pretty feeble attempts too I should add.
The reason...?? Essentially, I didn't spend enough time at my wedding talking to them or making sure they were okay. Apparently when they came up to the bridal table I gave them a 'look', (I honestly don't know what they meant by that), and then didn't really pay them any attention.
Oh - and my maid of honour told me that I moved my chair away from her at the table. This part is true - I moved my chair over to be a bit closer to my NEW HUSBAND so that we could actually reach each others hands to hold hands!!!
Thse people knew as well I hadn't met all of my DH's family - like his Grandparents and a lot of the Aunts and Uncles and close family friends as most of them lived about 12 hours away so I spent a lot of the reception meeting my new family!!
The worst part about this was that these were 3 people I considered to be amongst my closest friends and who I thought would understand if I didn't get to spend time with them and if I had been rude, which I still don't really believe I had, that they would have realised it certainly was not intentional. One of them was quite rude to me on her wedding day but my DH and I didn;t care or take it personally as we knew she was a bit stressed and anyway we figured it was about her that day anyway, not us. It really put a big cloud over a day that I am supposed to remember for being one of the really happy days of our life - not the really happy day where I lost my friendships...
Funny thing about these 3 girls who were so upset with me being so 'rude' on my very own wedding day - the other 150 guests had a great time! Including my other bridesmaid who was FABULOUS!
the_original_duchess
27-11-2006, 07:48
my maid of honour didn't turn upto my reception....
she had another party on that night apparently. i havent spoken to her since. and i only realy asked her coz i didnt have that many close girlfriends at the time.
next time i have something big on, and i need to bring one of my girlfriends, im gonna either get my DH to dress in drag, or ask my mum.
aden2005
27-11-2006, 08:28
I was the one and only bridesmaid in my best mates wedding, when she come back from her honeymoon i never heard from her again, i used to ring up all the time and say hi and stuff, shes was always busy!!!
I HAVENT EVEN SEEN THE WEDDING PICS!!!!
that has me in them :gloomy:
We fell out for a couple of months and she called up to mend things and thats when she asked me to be her bridesmaid, so yeah i was used i reckon, she doesnt have any close friends never has, because shes too into herself to care lol
Luv Katherine-xxx-
Mamaduke
27-11-2006, 08:46
I bet you feel better now that you've told her!
I was once maid of honour for my friend and even though I love her to death, she sure did test the friendship during her 'bridezilla' period!
We were all 19 when she got married so I was in a completely different place/mind frame to what I am now but it just seemed like I couldn't do anything right.
The endless photos were driving me bananas so I sat myself down on the esky to have a drink. No sooner had I taken a sip I hear, "Excuse me, you're meant to be a bridesmaid...you know, a bride's maid - come over here and help me!"
Ok...let that one slide.
Then at the reception, every time I got up from the bridal table the MC was motioned by 'her highness' to go and get me and tell me to get back to the bridal table - well that table was boring!!! I had the newlyweds on one side 'gooing and gahing' at each other and on the other side a drunk bridesmaid who in her liquored up state, was calling her ex-boyfriend in London to try and re-light the flame, amidst a flood of tears!
I was going out with a real jerk at the time who seemed to relish in the fact that he was the poster boy for "instant ar$ehole...just add beer". He started to carry on so I bundled him outside (not wanting to cause a scene at her reception)...I was accused after the wedding of "doing the whole 18 holes" (her reception was at a golf course) by the bride. She thought I'd actually left for a while to go and fornicate around the golf course!!!!! Puleeease!
That's the thanks I get for making sure her reception wasn't ruined by a moron!
Bridesmaids have a tough gig, even though I tried not to be a 'bridezilla' when I got married, I'm pretty sure my 'maids' would have a few stories to tell also! :o
Mamaduke
27-11-2006, 08:47
Another thing...
My MIL has photos of our wedding at her house (that she ordered from the photographer) but I'm not in any of them...isn't that nice!? :rolleyes:
Mummaof2
27-11-2006, 08:54
I have 2 stories.....
The first - I helped my best friend from school plan her wedding, asked MY aunty to make her dress and our bridesmaid dresses, organised her hens party, helped set up the marquee the night before and neither myself or the other 2 bridesmaids ever got a simple thank you not to this day. We don't talk much anymore due to other reasons.
The second - My matron of honour pulled out 2 months before my wedding with no reason or excuse just that I should have someone that I am close to as my matron of honour. Hmmm.....that was the reason why I asked her. She is my DH's best-mates wife and we became really close as well and when my DH i announced our engagement she started changing and then pulled out. Luckily one of my other close friends was more than happy to step in and be my matron of honour and she even made a speech on the day saying "If she could choose anyone to have as a sister (she has twin brothers) that should would choose me no questions asked":hugs:
rynosmum
27-11-2006, 09:25
One of my two bridesmaids spat the dummy at the reception because (in her words):
1. She felt uncomfortable with me having other friends
2. She was annoyed that I was spending all of my time paying attention to my husband....:eek:
She ended up leaving the reception. We talked about it after the honeymoon and agreed that the friendship was over.
I was bridesmaid one week ago for a lovely friend and it was the best day ever. I do believe that a bridesmaid is there to be the complete support to the bride. We had an absolute ball!
subaruforestermum
27-11-2006, 15:23
This is one thing that the bridesmaids were telling me "its a big day for the bride"..... Well I knew that......And when ever I went to talk to her, they would be there, and butt in, because they were in the "bridal party".......
It is crazy how people have reacted in these stories about the bride wanting to spend time with their NEW hubbies.....Ummm who wouldnt?????
Your mother IL is so charming Mamaduke.......give her a framed one just of you for christmas...lol
Anymore horror wedding stories?????
Worm'sMum
27-11-2006, 15:34
I was the one and only bridesmaid in my best mates wedding, when she come back from her honeymoon i never heard from her again, i used to ring up all the time and say hi and stuff, shes was always busy!!!
I HAVENT EVEN SEEN THE WEDDING PICS!!!!
that has me in them :gloomy:
Luv Katherine-xxx-
This sounds exactly like me...Dh and I were in our supposedly good friends wedding, the only people in it actually, and then we never caught up with them again and never saw the photos. It's now been a year and I still don't know what we did wrong! We tried calling them and asking how they were going etc and I even saw a post on here from her saying that she had clingy friends who didn't understand her lifestyle!? and then one day I finally got an email saying that 'I want to be your friend, and your a great person but I just can't be your friend' I was heartbroken as both our daughters were born 7 weeks apart and we seemed to share a lot, but who knows!? I felt more sorry for DH though as he had known the husband for over 5 years! He sill gets msg's every now and then from him saying that we should catch up, but nothing ever comes of it.
But I'm glad you have such a wonderful understanding friend subaruforestermum, they are very hard to come by! I'm still looking for my loyal understanding friend!! Hope everything all works out!
Butterbear
29-11-2006, 11:13
I am in total shock about these stories! You poor girls!! I recently got married and strangely my sister was my nightmare bridesmaide. she had gotten married last year and it was VERY small and she was trying to make my wedidng hers. It got to the point we didn't talk for weeks because i couldn't handle the "controlling" of my wedidng. Grnated, people have different tastes etc... but she even hated my dress and advised not to get it. Thats the worst, becasue when you find the dress you just know. Thast what put the icing on teh cake!!! Fortunately we started talking again and then it was my future sister in law that turned into the nightmnare to the point she was refusing to come to the wedding week prior becase she hates her brother....
All in all it all worked out for the day! Fortunately my maide of honor and other bridesmaide were my stregnth through the whole thing!!!!!
Don't get me started on my wedding. I was a nice to everyone but I had problems after problems from day one of my planning of my wedding. I guess since my parents were paying for the wedding my mother thought she could rule the decisions of the wedding.
My mother deciding she was going to make the wedding cake (she has made a few wedding cakes) and not listening to us and having a total different design from what I'd imagined my cake to look like http://i94.photobucket.com/albums/l109/ajcable/Wedding%20Photos/F1020017.jpg . What I pictured was definitely not square or those horrible gold hearts on top of my cake
My cousin who was the junior bridesmaid picking her own dress which I didn't see till 2 days before the wedding and only because I demanded to see it. My aunty said it was going to be a surprise. They picked the dress 2 months before the wedding and when we asked to see it then they said they hadn't found one. She looked like a big yellow banana with evil eyes ***link to photo deleted by moderator*** while the rest of the bridal party had bottle green dresses ***link to photo deleted by moderator*** . Oh yeah my nana told her that everyone was wearing gloves and gave her these lacey fingertip-less gloves to wear. Oh my god I nearly died when I saw them. I was just about to kick her out of the wedding party before my dad rescued me saying no one else was wearing gloves
The lady who did my makeup was my uncle's g/f at the time and she not one nice word to say to me all day. She was a really b****h who thought the world revolved around her and no one else mattered.
I'm not going to go on as I will get upset and want to murder someone.
bekkyboo
29-11-2006, 12:45
Our best man got drunk the night before and pulled out last minute - then our replacement never turned up - so best man (my BIL) was dragged along my my PIL, and ended up throwing up just before haivng to come inside for the ceremony... hmmmm
Xavier's Mumma
29-11-2006, 13:55
I can relate to each and everyone of these stories.....
I had 3 Bridesmaids and a matron of honour
My matron of honour was my rock through the days leading up to teh wedding and months b4... we have been friends since primary school.
Well here goes my story now ill call each bridesmaid 1, 2 and 3 so i dont confuse myself :laughing:
Bridemaid 1 was my sister in law, i asked her only 3 months b4 the wedding due to the first bestman pulling out and DH then wanted both his brothers .( couldnt just have the one his closest to MIL had a fit about it)
So i then had to get another bridemaid, so i didnt mind paying for her dress seeing i asked her at short notice so that was ok, then she expected me to pay for her shoes and underwear and everything else:eek: which i refused to do.
Next is number 2 who was my little sister what a tantrum after tantrum but wasnt to bad.
Number 3 was a close friend i had known for 6 years everything was fine with her until a month b4 the wedding she decided she didnt like the hairstyle everyone else wanted to have ( i let the girls decide what they wanted as long as they were similar ) she wanted to have her hair out and curly... i kindly said look u cant due to the other girls having really thick hair well she swore that if i didnt allow her to have her hair the way she wanted she was going to cut all her hair off and not be in the wedding:banghead:
we had a huge fight and i told her in not very nice words that she longer needed to be aprt of my day...
few days later i get a call from my matron of honour saying that number 3 called her at work and said i cut up her dress because i didnt want her in the wedding lol
we got over that then the nite b4 the wedding all the girls came to stay at my place.
I was in my room with the matron of honur as she was the only one that had seen my dress ( i wanted it to be a suprise and everyone knew)
DH was still at home so the door was closed i didnt hear number 3 turn up and i had my back turned away from the door and she waltz in i honestly thought it was DH and i said GET OUT u will see the dress...... hmmm didnt go down very good she stormed off and said that was it how dare i make this about me and i should have considered her feelings
So with that i burst into tears sobing and MIL comes in saying DH doesnt need this extra stress the nite b4 the wedding WTF.
This is were my wonderful Matron of honour came to my aid, She firmally told MIL and number 3 that i didnt need all this Bullsh!t and imagine how i feel considering knowone offered to help me do any of the organising of the wedding in the first place.
( i did all the invites, flowers, decorations,made the girls lil handbags to carry)
so thats my story lol sorry its so long i do have so much more to add but thats the short version:ecomcity:
My bridesmaid and maid of honour were fantastic. During the reception, I was so busy going around chatting with guests, my bridesmaid came around a couple of times to feed me. She said she had to make sure I was eating.
Both my bridesmaid and maid of honour were excellent support during the reception and dinner. They were around when I needed something like a tissue etc. and neither gave me a hard time about not hanging with them enough.
That's just what friends do. No words need to be spoken, you just understand. The last thing you want on your wedding day is to have your bridal party have a go at you.:shame:
Well know that I have calmed down a bit. I will tell you the rest.
My original bridesmaids were going to be my SIL, my cousin who's only 4 years younger than me and a like a sister and my junior bridesmad (OOOPS B****h face). We told everyone in October what our plans were to get married in April. Thankfully the dresses the bridesmaids were wearing was exactly the same one my SIL wore for her Year 12 Formal so I had only to buy another one. Anyway Nov I get a call from my aunty in S'pore saying that my cousin who was supposed to be flying in from San Fransico (24 hour flight) wasn't going to make it to the wedding as it she could only arrive the day before the wedding and leave 2 days after. Which was fine with me and I fully understood. Picked my other best friend and that was sorted.
Then my witnesses who got married about 2 weeks after we annouced our engagement separated 3 weeks and 1 day after their wedding as she found her husband in bed with his best friend (yes another male) on their wedding night doing the deed. That was the end of that marriage. So I got my other married cousin and husband which was fine
Then i had booked in to get my nails done which was going to cost me $85 (getting fake nails and manicure) which was fine with me 2 days before the wedding. To see my junior bridesmaid (she was 12) turn up to my house with fake nails. I said to her oh "Who did you nails" . Oh N's (horror makeup artist) friend is a nail artist and did for free for me. GRRRR I was so made because I asked N if she knew anyone who did them and she said no I don't know anyone who did them but I recommend you a place to go to. I was so mad I called her and she said oh I thought you wanted something professional (PROFESSIONAL MY A** all I wanted to do is save some money) To make a long story short I got her friends number she came over and did my nails and charged me $20 because she put diamentes on my nails which looked great.
Then my parents decided they wanted to have reception at place near our house which didn't cost too much which was fine with my but they could only realistically cater for 100 ppl we had 107 ppl nearly 2 tables couldn't see us walk in the reception hall and there was hardly any place to walk.
29-11-2006, 15:15
omgggggggg maybe I shouldnt have any bridesmaids when we get married?! ARGH
SammieSnail
29-11-2006, 15:48
I've only been to two weddings in my life, my own and my good friend's (the Saturday just gone).
And both of them have taught me that there will always be something that goes wrong, no matter what.
Regardless it is a special day and should be remembered that way.
My friend and I were talking yesterday about how things go wrong but if you or other people :ecomcity: on about them there's no possible way you can remember all good things that happened......
So to those who had things go wrong :hugs: and please try to focus on what the day was about - you and your partner declaring your love for one another to the world.
TeamAwesome
29-11-2006, 16:06
my "evil bridesmaid" was my future (now) SIL and she got engaged herself two weeks before our engagement party and completly did an about face from being nice to me.. started being a huge cow to me and she and her now DH decided it was too stressful to be our Maid of honour and Best Man and completely pulled out... btw their wedding was 13months after ours...
we had two others each besides them and to be honest getting "rid of" my SIL and BIL from the wedding party I chose her cos I thought you know going to be family etc... should have gone with my original plan and asked lil SIL who was devastated when she wasnt in our wedding party... and a good friend to be my MOH but she even talked me into asking SIL. lol the other two friends were great to me!! my mum wasnt going to come (only found out on the Tuesday she was coming when the wedding was on the sat) and my MOH's mum stepped in and pampered me while I stayed at their house for the couple of nights before the big day! they were great I seved as my bm's bm when she wed in Nov of the same year
My SIL who was supposed to be the MOH put in no effort for getting dressed up for our wedding then expected us to get dressed up for hers... so we went out and bought "appropiate outfits" everyone thought I must be meant to be a bm cos I was so dressed up!! oh well... without them in the wedding party our day went off without a hitch!!
Tulp I agree thats definately how it should be!!
NAtalie
Ange&Seth
29-11-2006, 16:07
I've only been to two weddings in my life, my own and my good friend's (the Saturday just gone).
And both of them have taught me that there will always be something that goes wrong, no matter what.
Regardless it is a special day and should be remembered that way.
My friend and I were talking yesterday about how things go wrong but if you or other people :ecomcity: on about them there's no possible way you can remember all good things that happened......
So to those who had things go wrong :hugs: and please try to focus on what the day was about - you and your partner declaring your love for one another to the world.
Well put Sammie :thumbsup:
I'm still waiting to be proposed to, but when my turn comes to have my own wedding, I think I'll only be having one bridesmaid and that's my best friend. I know none of this stuff will happen with her there:D She'll protect me!
29-11-2006, 16:20
Wow, reading all your stories makes me wonder if I even WANT a bridal party or not. Though I am probably only having 2 anyway (my sister and SIL) hopefully theres no *****yness, but you never know with my family and in-laws. :rolleyes: :banghead:
Maybe (with any luck) I can convince Grant that we can go on a holiday (just us and the kids) and elope somewhere.
29-11-2006, 18:32
I have to say my BM's were the best :D
Another thing...
My MIL has photos of our wedding at her house (that she ordered from the photographer) but I'm not in any of them...isn't that nice!? :rolleyes:
Same here! Its her and "my boy" as she calls him! lol
My MIL ( after we paid for a hairdresser and make up artist for her which cost a bomb as she was at the hotel where DH was getting ready) went for a swim and f#^ked up her hair and makeup completely. $250 down the drain.
Shame came to a really formal wedding with wet, pool hair.:banghead:
Oooooh forgot to mention that SIL ( part of bridal party :eek: ) cried "unhappy tears" because he was getting married to me lol:rolleyes:
mum2peanut
29-11-2006, 21:56
Seem we all have a BM horror story.
I had my besty as my Chief BM, I had been hers two years before that. Leading up to the wedding she became really narky about the things I was paying people to do, for example chair covers, invites etc. She had to do a lot of stuff herself for her wedding cause her in laws wouldn't pay for anything. Anyway she just made snide remarks and such, and pretty much once we got back from our honeymoon they, (her husband was DH's groomsman, that's how close we were) or more so she pretty much stopped talking to me. I think she had a case of the green eyed monster, also we were building a new house at the time and she was carrying on about how big the house was and why did we need all this space etc. They were renting at the time.
The hard thing is we work togther and we had babies two weeks apart and still have some mutual friends, and I feel bad for them.
There were two things that really made me realise how selfish she was.
1. 6 wks after my wedding my parents split up, which killed me. One arvo I told her what was going on, and she never asked me about it again.
2. When it was announced at work that mum had cancer, she pretty much said to me 'bad things happen to everyone, we just have to deal with it'.
God it pi**es me off that she's in my wedding photos.
Bearskin
29-11-2006, 23:12
I had great BM's - but then I was a very laid back bride. They chose their dress styles, material, shoes, hair - really I didn't mind how they had their hair or what makeup they wore and they made lovely choices :)
However - BIL/SIL wedding! Well, I had been with (now) DH for about 2 years when they got married; we had just purchased some farm land together and getting very serious. I had always been friendly (ish) with DH's family however this wedding spoke volumes. Come to BIL & SIL wedding:
1 - I was not invited to kitchen tea or hen's night. Half the female population of our small country town was invited and all the family and partners, except myself and one other very old family friend.
2 - Nor was I invited to the rehearsal dinner. My (now)DH was the Best Man; I stayed home and watched TV while he had to set up the town hall for the reception and didn't finish 'til midnight :D Sucker!
3 - Not welcome at the family farm before the ceremony. All the extended family except me were invited to meet at the family farm and drive into the church together.
4 - I was not invited or welcome into any of the family photos, even the casual ones at the church after the ceremony.
5 - Not seated at any of the family or close friends table, but stuck up the back with people I barely knew.
6 - Expected to set up for BBQ the next day at IL's farm; carted tables, chairs, picked up meat from butchers, cleaned up, passed food around and not one word of thanks (to anyone at all) or even just a "Hello Michelle, how are you? Having a good time? Thansk for sharing our special day" BIL sat there and watched me lug a table off the back of our ute and didn't lift his butt off his chair to help.
7 - I found DH's 90 year old Nanna cleaning up all the empty cans in the front yard after the 'day after BBQ' as the newlyweds were too busy to come back and clean up after all their friends sat around drinking cans until 2am.
8 - On their return from their honeymoon, told DH they were pregnant but told DH that he was not to tell me as they were only telling family right now. Nice!
Gotta love my IL's....
I got my own back though - SIL is an asthmatic. Their ideas of gifts (rather than be grateful to receive a gift in the first place)is that guests must spend at least what it cost the bride and groom to feed and drink them for the night. So I gave them a $50 donation to the Asthma Foundation...
My mum had it worse on her wedding day though - at the church after the ceremony my Nanna (mum's MIL) asked mum to step out of the photo as Nanna wanted a photo of 'just family'...nice when mum thought she had just joined the family!
Wow!! What terrible stories. Although it is the happiest day of your life, there is always something that will not go to plan. I am married and have a pretty sad wedding story...quite long though so this is the short version...
Was 5 months pregnant on wedding day, leading up to it my mum just about disowned me, my sister & brother were ashamed of me, i had no-one to really go wedding dress shopping with or even bounce ideas off for the wedding day, my DH and I never got to make the final decision as to were we wanted the reception and the list goes on. Anyway, on the day the church was just about empty - one of those hugh Christian (Christan Life Centre) churches and there were about 30 people there, my mum did come but stood there with a very terrible look in her eyes as I walked down the isle, my sister was alright but I could tell she didn't want to even be there, I never even got to have my first dance with my husband - still haven't! Sometimes I hate to even think of my wedding day, it actually makes me feel sick.
My husband and I are photographers so we go to heaps of weddings, I make a very big point to be uplifting and always remind the bride and groom of what today is really about and why they decided to get married in the first place (we have even just got a client who is in the same boat we were in 5 years ago, and I am doing all I can to make sure that this will be a day she and her DF will never forget...good memories only).
After all is said and done, I remind myself that on that day - as horrible as it was - the worlds most beautiful man made a promise to me, from that day on I have never been happier. :)
oh yeah another thing makeup b****h said was "why is she upset it's not as if she's skinny or beautiful" WTF. She was lucky she came out alive after that comment to my uncle who is very close to me
I must say my wedding day was the happiest day of my life... BUT! I had my older sister as my matron of honour and she was HOPELESS!!
She got drunk the night before the wedding and had a HUGE fight with my mum for no good reason and then refused to talk to her the next day (i.e. day of my wedding)
On day of wedding, she forgot her dress and handbag, so rang me to ask me to go and get them :eek:
She was really fussy with her hair, and then had organised for her girls to have theirs done, but didn't have the money to pay for it (ummmm, so guess who had to!)
She took ages to get ready, and then went to get dressed and her DRESS WOULDN'T DO UP! I had to recruit someone from the hotel to help get her in it! She had put on a bit of weight.... :rolleyes:
In the end, I was waiting for her to get ready, and she was still fluffing around. Anyone would have thought that she was the bride.... !Oh and at her wedding, she organised a limo to pick her up, but when I got to the house she was out the front panicking because she didn't have enough money on her card to pay and they wouldn't take her without it. So yup, I had to pay again!
Sound a bit disorganised by chance?
(But I still love her to bits... I would just never ask her to be in my wedding again! Thank god I'm not planning another one ever... :p ).
Another thing...
Oh dear!!!!!!! I'm sorry MD but i have just laughed myself silly at that one!:laughing:
I wonder.....what does she say to people when they ask "where's the bride?"
"out polishing the broomstick?"
Another thing...
Ha ha ha.... MIL's, god luv them... Mine is ok, but she requested photo's on the day for our photographer to take... WITHOUT ME IN THEM... Apparently she wanted to take the opportunity to take photo's of the family while they were there.... :mad: And DH does not understand why I was soooo mad... Oh and btw, she called a couple of times while we were on our honeymoon... She is having trouble letting go...
korahblue
23-04-2007, 22:07
We got married a few weeks ago and the worst things that happened were:
*me breaking out in a rash on my face the day before and having to go to the chemist to get antihistamines and cortisone cream to try calm it down
*me putting my DH's ring on the wrong hand during the ceremony - dont know what i was thinking there
*our stupid dj calling my husband the wrong name for the entire reception and the one time he did get it right [during our dance] he called me the name he had been calling my husband "would everyone now please join brett and phil on the dance floor" what the??????
I laugh about it now cause in spite of it I still had the best day and needless to say I wont be recommending the dj to anyone!!
One of my two bridesmaids spat the dummy at the reception because (in her words):
1. She felt uncomfortable with me having other friends
2. She was annoyed that I was spending all of my time paying attention to my husband....:eek:
She ended up leaving the reception. We talked about it after the honeymoon and agreed that the friendship was over.
I was bridesmaid one week ago for a lovely friend and it was the best day ever. I do believe that a bridesmaid is there to be the complete support to the bride. We had an absolute ball!
Hmmm - did we have the same bridesmaid?? LOL
I just got so frustrated because I know I was not a Bridezilla. I found them dresses that were on a great sale - made sure the outfits were something they could wear again if they chose, they didn't have to pay for their make up to be done, I bought them their jewellery, I planned my own hen's night as my matron of honour was going on an overseas trip a few weeks before the wedding and didn't have time which was fine - I didn't expect her to drop everything for me! and told them to wear whatever shoes they wanted to wear - just as long as they were comfortable enough to be in them all day. I didn't expect them to do any 'duties' for me or anything. I told them just to make sure they had fun at the reception.
One of them as I said earlier was fabulous and we are still really close friends, the other wasn't happy my attention wasn't her enough and that I spent so much time meeting my new husband's family so just stopped talking to me.
I was maid of honour at my best friends wedding and I made sure her glass was always full if she wanted it, that she had eaten enough and even helped her go to the loo! It was an honour to be asked - and the day was supposed to be all about her after all!
I had 3 bridesmaids and a maitron of honour and they were all wonderful, my family are controling and wanted everything done their way, from the dresses to the flowers to the wording of the vows! My bridesmaids supported every decision I made and defended me to the hilt (they all know I'm a wuss and would cave otherwise) when my family put the pressure on. Without them my day would have been over run by the control freaks.
The one thing the family managed to ruin was my aunt slipped her daughter into the bridal party on the way to the church and that pi$$ed me right off. She had it planned for ages because she'd bought the dress ages before and said it was for something else but has only ever but her daughter in it for my wedding :rolleyes:. The kid is a brat and was covered in temporary tattoos and had a screaming fit in the entrance of the church. She had asked if her daughter could be in the bridal party repeatedly and I'd said no. This woman dosen't take no for an answer. Should have hired a bouncer!:no:
CaseyorMarshall
08-06-2008, 18:20
I have two stories
1- An ex-best-friend of mine (:laughing: sounds good already :p) got asked to be a BM for a school friend who she didnt really talk to anymore and thinks she just got asked cos the bride made a pact with friends at school. Anyway my mate got the invitation and her dp of 8mths was not on the invitation. The bride knew they were together and also she was friends with my mates dp as well. All the other BM's dp got invited so my mate decided to pull out. The wedding was in Brisbane at 6hr drive away, also my mate wouldve had to pay for fuel, food and accomodation by herself.
2- My MIL still whinges to this day abt my wedding, she claimed she was sat at the Pot smokers table when she is one but that wasnt why I sat her there
it was so she could have a table up front near us, she whinged she wasnt sat at the table with her sister,SIL n my dh's nan (it was right next to her),
she complained that no-one spoke to her much from my family (they are not rude just most of my family are the kinda people they have to meet you a few times b4 they open up and also her own family hardly spoke to her, and also she complained that my BM didnt thank her in the wedding speeches for paying for her n best mans dinner (we requested no gifts or $ just buy your own meal).