View Full Version : What NOT to eat...

JorBai
26-11-2006, 08:52 PM
I just thought It might be handy to have a thread on What is NOT safe to eat during pregnancy?

I know with Bailey I barely ate coz i was scared to eat anything, hopefully with the support of Bubhub ladies we will all find more ease in knowing what is safe to eat and whats not.

I want to know...

Can you eat Sour Cream?

Did anyone eat Asian/Chinese? I was scared to eat this last time incase I got food poisoning or something:o

Littletreasures
26-11-2006, 08:54 PM
The Dr told me to stay clear of the Soft Serve Ice cream....Something to do with spreading bacteria..

AimeeB
26-11-2006, 08:59 PM
:wave: I'm pg for the 4th time and eat everything,never given up anything-chinese,thai,LOTS of soft serves,but that's me I figure you could get foodpoisoning from anything so just enjoy.I have never been told not to eat these things altough I have heard the soft serve one before.

DramaQueen
26-11-2006, 08:59 PM
I was told you can't eat shellfish. I don't like it anyway, but with Christmas coming on I know the prawns get thrown about alot!!!

YoungMumSteph
27-11-2006, 08:53 AM
I didnt give up anything last pregnancy......I was put off my soft serve but I still ate them towards the end.

As Im part asian there was no way I was giving up chinese food!! I ate it at least once a week!!

I dont think theres any food that everyone says "DO not eat" Theres just some food that some believe u need to avoid.

Chicco25
27-11-2006, 11:53 AM
Wih Portia I avoided everything they told me to avoid, with Jett I ate everything other than Pate, Soft Cheese - eg Bree, Camberet, Ricotta and Feta and Runny Yolks. With this one not eating the same except the runny yolks - Just love eggs benedict mmmmmm

Not sure about Sour Cream, sorry. Has your doc given you a brochure on Listeria, that usually has the foods you can and can't eat in that.

Anita

mumma_jessy
27-11-2006, 12:12 PM
Some sea food is fine, as long as it is cooked and not raw or smoked. avoid these fish as they have a high level of mercury Swordfish, Shark,King mackerel, Tilefish & tuna apparently too.

Unless these soft cheeses are clearly labeled as being made with pasteurized milk, don't eat:
Brie
Feta
Camembert
Blue-veined cheeses, such as Roquefort
Mexican-style cheeses, such as queso blanco, queso fresco, queso de hoja, queso de crema and asadero

Obviously you should make sure all your meat is thoroughly cooked and has been kept hot so that no bacteria has had a chance to grow in it.

Undercooked eggs, or anything that has raw egg should not be eaten due to the risk of Salmonella, which is commonly found in undercooked eggs.

Avoid alfalfa and toher sprouts, which are often contaminated with bacteria.

Hot dogs, salami, corned beef etc are at high risk of being contaminated with listeria.

Boymum
15-12-2006, 12:04 PM

Is it o'kay to eat Pizza? I have seen pregnant friends eat it no worries, I have only had the vegetarian one myself...just wondering if it's hot and has meat on it is it o'kay? I think I ate it last time, can't remember for sure.

How's everyone else going with the cutting out any favourite foods thing?

I miss eating runnyish eggs, hollandaise sauce and coke.

twitch
15-12-2006, 12:25 PM
I've been hoping someone would start a thread like this! (I'm from May mummy's - so :wave: everyone!)

DH is getting one of those huge leg hams from work for Xmas, does anyone know if that's ok to eat? I've avoided deli meats like shaved ham and stuff, but I soooo want to eat the leg ham! I love it.

jkate
15-12-2006, 12:30 PM
Boy'smum: I have eaten pizza with all my pregnancies and had no worries. Enjoy.

Hi twitch: with my first pregnancy I didn't really know what you could and couldn't eat, and found out I was pregnant in the begging of December. I ate the Christmas ham with no problems.

I think the key is to eat what you feel right with, there are some things that are big no's. With the ham, make sure its fresh and if anything doesn't look or smell right - forget about it!!

I have found that this pregnancy I have stress a lot less about what I am eating. I just try to eat healthy and fresh.

Well thats my opinion :D

Katie79
15-12-2006, 12:51 PM
Twitch,you could always cook up the Ham as ham steaks with pinapple..Yummo.(making me hungry right now.lol.)

Does anyone know about mayonasie?(sp?)
I know that home made has raw egg in it,but what about the jar stuff from the supermarket?

Boymum
15-12-2006, 12:54 PM
Thanks Karen, my DH is out tonight for a Christmas Party and I am at home with this flu not wanting to cook of course, so I might order in Pizza. My favourite is pepperoni, but I think that may be overdoing it? I have read other threads where pregnant people have eaten pizza no worries, but not sure about a whole pepperoni one he,he.
As for Christmas Ham, yes it's fine if it's fresh ham...I will be eating some myself Twitch. Can't get any fresher than a yummy big Christmas Ham.

Karen, thanks for the advice about stressing less about foods to eat....I try to eat fresh, it's been a bit tough this week though, a few frozen pies, lasagne's and chippies have made their way into my tummy he,he....that is when I feel like eating.

Bailey's Mummy not sure if anyone got back to you on Sour Cream, well I eat it a lot...always have and no problems.

little bean
16-12-2006, 08:08 AM
In "What to Eat when you're Expecting", sour cream is used in some of the recipes - even as a topping, so it's not cooked. I guess that means that it's okay to eat. At least I hope so because I have been eating a lot of it!:D

twitch
16-12-2006, 06:39 PM
Thanks heaps ladies for all the "ham help"! I can't wait to tuck into that leg on Monday...mmmm:chef:

JorBai
18-12-2006, 03:25 PM
Now heres a question and i hope i can eat on christmas day on not dying ill with m/s!

I dont eat seafood but I love prawns... can you eat prawns from a specially prepared seafood platter at christmas time? Or are they definately a big no no?

Im gonna be so jealous watching all my family eating the seafood platter on boxing day:banghead: :D

ETsMum
18-12-2006, 03:31 PM
I reckon pizza is fine as long as it is hot. I wouldn't eat any left-overs the next day though.
Same goes for Asian/Chinese etc...

ETsMum
18-12-2006, 03:33 PM
I've read that salad bars are a :no:. We went to Sizzler last night and I only had the hot stuff. Do you think that was wise or I ripped myself off or I was silly to go there in the first place? :reindeer:

JorBai
18-12-2006, 03:39 PM
Yep Len, Salad Bars are definately a No No! Apparently because they arent covered properly and people have a free helping to them

I once saw(many years ago) at woolies when they had self serve salad bars near the deli, a little girl stick her hands in the salad and her mum said dont do that darling put it back so she took it out of her mouth and put it back in the salad :barf:

How disgusting, I reported it, but how many of these things happen that people dont see or report.

ETsMum
18-12-2006, 08:40 PM
I once saw(many years ago) at woolies when they had self serve salad bars near the deli, a little girl stick her hands in the salad and her mum said dont do that darling put it back so she took it out of her mouth and put it back in the salad :barf:

Eeewww!!!! :barf:
I'm glad they don't have them anymore!

mysonroger
18-12-2006, 08:58 PM
i try to eat fresh and not become too paranoid about the food . i'll eat prawns if they're fresh. i ate loads of feta through out both pregnancies , partly because i didn't really know it was on the 'hit list' and by the time i found out i figured it was too late, so i just kept going with it.. i've eaten blue cheese. I've even had some sort of sickness on a long haul filight after a meal (along with DH). but both babies turned out fine.

things i won't eat:
the high mercury fish mentioned earlier,
pate
soft serve ice cream (but had a bit today....oopsie) although i'm unsure why.
meat cooked medium or less
cured meats (ie salami, proscuitto, etc)

but i can't think of anything else.

**pixie**
18-12-2006, 09:17 PM
:wave: I was so careful with pregnancy #1 i went off pretty much anything i read or someone told me was bad for me. Mainly in the 1st trimester. I went off Coke as well which was a very hard thing to do, by the end of the 3rd trimester i was back drinking coke but i was still really careful with everything else.
I never actually was told about soft serve, so thanks for that one, the main things i was told was:
Hotdogs
Any drink with caffine in it
Tuna
All deli meat
& all my meat had to be well done
Chicken had to be falling off the bone as well!!
Runny Egg yolk

I couldn't get enough chocolate though:thumbsup:
I have found that this pregnancy i am a little less cautious, i have stopped drinking coke and hotdogs, but i enjoy the occasional ham or tuna sandwich.

mumma_jessy
19-12-2006, 06:46 AM
Did you know that you are allowed to eat soft cheeses... if they are PASTURASIED!

Which most Australian cheeses are, so if you feel like a bit of that Bree, and you can find one that has been pasturised then you CAN have it! I just found this out over the weekend, very happy bout that, i love my cheese :smiliedance:

19-12-2006, 08:48 AM
Hey whats wrong with Tuna?? I have been eating those tins of flavoured tuna for weeks it is soo yummy, I thought it was good for you with omega 3 and all? I thought it was only shellfish etc that was bad.
Hey Mumma jessy that's good news, I didn't realise that, where did you find this out?

jkate
19-12-2006, 09:01 AM
Hey whats wrong with Tuna?? I have been eating those tins of flavoured tuna for weeks it is soo yummy, I thought it was good for you with omega 3 and all? I thought it was only shellfish etc that was bad.
Hey Mumma jessy that's good news, I didn't realise that, where did you find this out?

I think the danger with Tuna is the mercury (there was a thread on shellfish yesterday, that also talked about tuna: here is the link (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=56404)). The only seafood I eat is tuna, and thats about once a fortnight. I ate when I was pregnant with both the boys and have had it this pregnancy too. Maybe its one of things that you can have but in moderation. Not entirely sure.

mumma_jessy
19-12-2006, 02:58 PM
Hmm, the level of mercury in prawns is quite low so i'll still be enjoying them on Christmas day! Oh and probably a little bit of crayfish too!

I guess it's up to the individual, but i can't see it hurting, to have it a little bit at Christmas
:tree:

19-12-2006, 02:58 PM
Thanks for the link!!
Well I ate it last pregnancy and this pregnancy without knowing of this.
I only have it about once a week so I doubt the mercury levels would be high enough to do any damage.
Especially considering my mouth is full of amalgam fillings (that contain mercury) they are probably more of a risk!
I have also been eating ham, it's xmas after all.
I'm trying not to worry too much about food, the stress would do more harm than the food I reckon lol!!

JorBai
19-12-2006, 03:08 PM
Hmm, the level of mercury in prawns is quite low so i'll still be enjoying them on Christmas day! Oh and probably a little bit of crayfish too!

I guess it's up to the individual, but i can't see it hurting, to have it a little bit at Christmas
:tree:

I was over the top in my first pregnancy, didnt eat barely anything. I was so limited. I wouldnt even eat KFC! LOL!

Mumma Jessy- as for the prawns- do you just buy the ones from the seafood shop and they are cooked but cold? My aunty always brings over a massive seafood platter that she orders , would it be safe to eat prawns of that. The ones you have to peel the shells off of?

mumma_jessy
19-12-2006, 04:16 PM
Yep they are the ones we have too, just make sure they are fresh, or have been frozen when they were fresh and are properly defrosted and kept cold, like the normal food safety rules.

I ate them last pregnancy and i didn't do me or bub any damage so i figure why not. :yes:

mumma_jessy
19-12-2006, 04:18 PM
Here is a food safety website if you guys are interested in it http://www.safefood.net.au/content.cfm?sid=425

kej
23-12-2006, 10:36 AM
Hi! :)
My sister just lent me the book, 'Healthy eating for pregnancy', by Amanda Grant, and it says that you should avoid all soft, semi-soft and blue cheeses, and is best to avoid both pasteurized and unpasteurized soft cheeses with a surface mould and edible rind, e.g. brie, cmembert and feta.
it says that cheese from pasteurized milk with no rind or mould are fine, such as cottage cheese, ricotta and mozzarella.
I've also given up deli meats, alcohol (obviously!), caffeine and runny eggs, though I ate a runny egg the other day. The book says salmonella from eggs will make you sick, but very unlikely to affect the baby, which is a bit comforting!

noodle
29-12-2006, 11:34 AM
I have been eating spinach and ricotta ravioli's - is this okay???

mmm7
07-01-2007, 03:06 PM
Don't see any problems with spinach and ricotta ravioli so long as it is hot. My GP and OB just say avoid anything that may have listeria, eg deli meats - salami, ham, etc, soft cheeses, soft serve ice creams and anything that contains them. Everything must be well cooked and eaten hot. Left overs must be in the fridge and eaten within 24 hours and re-heated properly - no cold spots.
I do eat the odd bit of ham in things like omelettes that have heated it up properly.
My theory though is everything in moderation.

jess85
07-01-2007, 09:04 PM
My Doctor hasn't told me any of this stuff!! I've only just come out of the whole deniel faize of being pregnant! :crying:

And I ate like anything in the first trimester!

Now i'm like full worried!

What to do what to do!

Thanks for the tips i'll be sure to take it all on board!

Jess xx