View Full Version : Birthday cake for 1st birthday
what birthday cake did you make/buy for your child for their first birthday?
i am tossing up between vanilla and chocolate - though i know it won't be eaten!
any ideas?
my brother makes all my girls cakes.. for mikaelah's 1st birthday he cut out a sponge spelling her name(bubble writing), covered it in pink frosting and put silver cacous around each letter.. i loved it! she wouldnt have cared what it was lol. for danielah's 1st birthday he did her a butterfly.. plain sponge and frosting again but different colours for different parts.. both cakes were double layered and had cream in the middle.
heres the links for the ones he's done.. might make it easier.. i cant find a pic of mikaelahs first one but i'll keep looking..
http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p175/Shezi26/birthdaypics1st3rd084.jpg
http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p175/Shezi26/birthdaypics1st3rd085.jpg
http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p175/Shezi26/mikaelahbirthday095.jpg
the butterfly was cracked coz the idiot guy who put it in the fridge at the play center wasnt careful.. my brother was not impressed!
goodluck deciding.. oh forgot to add he got all the stuff at woolies. very easy and cheap :D
mum2littleman
26-11-2006, 15:49
DS birthday was yesterday i made him a big choc thomas the tank cake, and it was huge and it didnt get eaten caz we were all so full from dinner. but it was nice just for him to have it altho next yr im buying so much easyer and cheaper.
I made a Chocolate Dorothy Cake with White Chocolate Icing. EJ seemed to like it the icing was a little too rich/sweet though :laughing:
http://www.hotkey.net.au/~cathyn/cake.jpg
gorgeous cake miaow!! im sure EJ was very happy!!
mum2littleman too full for cake?!!? i refuse to ever be too full :laughing: got a pic?? would love to see it :D
For something a bit different we had a marble cake,it looked so pretty!
It was in the shape of a number one,white icing,and had pink icing teddy bears scattered all over it.
Though next time I think I'll make my own,it cost far too much.
~Emmylou~
26-11-2006, 19:47
I bought a plain sponge and decorated it myself :D
It had pink icing, pink and green butterflies, and a number 1 in silver balls. Oh and marshmallows around the base!
It was girly and cute and she loved it! Wasn't expensive at all either.
mum2littleman
27-11-2006, 01:03
yeh i have a photo but i must tell u its not very good at all but i tryed .. lol o and mind DS in his undies it was very hot-
DS cutting the cake with the help of his NANNA
http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i148/mum2littleman/Picture1456.jpg
27-11-2006, 13:33
I made Zachariah a buzz lightyear chocolate cake for his first birthday.
For Isobellas first birthday she had a sponge, I was 38 weeks pregnant when we had her party and had bub on her first birthday so I didn't have time or energy to do anything extra special! will have to make up for it next year!
Thanks Shezi and mum2littleman the cake is great :) Its a lot better job than my Dorothy LOL (Id never iced a cake before and then ran out of icing lol)
ButterflyGirls
29-11-2006, 08:51
This is a picture of Morgan's 1st birthday cake. I modified from a boy with a tux to a little girl. My SIL kept eating the icing on me, so i only just had enough!!!It turned out pretty good in the end, now i'm hooked on making specialty cakes!
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i279/ButterflyGirls/IMG_1026.jpg
For Jade's 1st b'day cake i'm making her a cow. So will post it on Sunday
yeh i have a photo but i must tell u its not very good at all but i tryed .. lol o and mind DS in his undies it was very hot-
DS cutting the cake with the help of his NANNA
http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i148/mum2littleman/Picture1456.jpg
LOVE that cake! well done. its so cute. so's you're little man :D
This is a picture of Morgan's 1st birthday cake. I modified from a boy with a tux to a little girl. My SIL kept eating the icing on me, so i only just had enough!!!It turned out pretty good in the end, now i'm hooked on making specialty cakes!
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i279/ButterflyGirls/IMG_1026.jpg
gorgeous cake! i love making them too but never seem to have the time and little hands wanted to 'help' lol. my brother is the easiest option for now..
jembelina
29-11-2006, 11:03
I used Greens buttercake mix (yummy....what didn't get eaten on the day was devoured at mothers group on the monday!! So easy and tastes great) and made heaps of cupcakes which I used to spell out his name, each letter was iced in a different colour. It looked fantastic and I got heaps of comments!
jembelina
29-11-2006, 11:10
I used Greens buttercake mix (yummy....what didn't get eaten on the day was devoured at mothers group on the monday!! So easy and tastes great) and made heaps of cupcakes which I used to spell out his name, each letter was iced in a different colour. It looked fantastic and I got heaps of comments!
I made Baileys 1st Birthday cake under the supervision of a friend who is a cake maker. I did it all, she just watched and told me what to do if I was stuck.
It was a sponge cake. It looked good but probably a little too sweet I think. Nice though!
It was a Winnie the Pooh themed day!
http://i129.photobucket.com/albums/p211/Lea060383/P1010114.jpg
Cheeky Little Monkey
02-12-2006, 15:27
Wow Leanne I think you have a hidden talent there in cake decorating ! What a brilliant cake.
munchkin05
02-12-2006, 15:42
we got ben a duck birthday cake (cause he is obsessed with ducks) and instead of having happy birthday ben we wrote quack quack ben on it
http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f7/bens_milk_truck/bancake.jpg
Bens mummy- Your duck cake looks fantastic!
Infact I just read all the threads and looked at the pics- everyones cakes are amazing! Some real talent on the hub!
omg the pooh bear & duck cakes look fab! i love the different ways yous have iced them.
i know where im coming next year for ideas!!
the_original_duchess
06-12-2006, 12:47
i finally have uploaded pics onto photobucket so i thought i'd share some of the pics with you of my childrens bday cakes.
jessica's 1st birthday cake (http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/the_duchess_2006/birthdays018.jpg)
justins 2nd bday (http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/the_duchess_2006/birthdays012.jpg)
justins 3rd bday (http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/the_duchess_2006/Pictures125.jpg)
btw, i didnt make any of them , my mum does all the cakes in this family.
ButterflyGirls
06-12-2006, 20:57
thought i would put in Morgan and Jade's birthday cakes from last weekend. We had a combined party for them as they are only 11 days apart.
Morgan's Pool cake. She turned 4. (was disappointed with this one)
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i279/ButterflyGirls/IMG_2533-2.jpg
Jade's cow cake for her 1st birthday (we re-positioned the candle after we realised what it looked like) :laughing:
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i279/ButterflyGirls/IMG_2532.jpg
i finally have uploaded pics onto photobucket so i thought i'd share some of the pics with you of my childrens bday cakes.
jessica's 1st birthday cake (http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/the_duchess_2006/birthdays018.jpg)
justins 2nd bday (http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/the_duchess_2006/birthdays012.jpg)
justins 3rd bday (http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/the_duchess_2006/Pictures125.jpg)
btw, i didnt make any of them , my mum does all the cakes in this family.
your mums a gem! love the snake one. looks like it took ages to make! worth it though :D
Jax Tellers Old Lady
06-12-2006, 23:39
For ds first birthday i made a bert and ernie cake and used home made butter cream icing and a cadbury milk chocolate cake packet mix. It turned out great everyone loved it.
http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i97/bertandernie_2006/IMG_1536.jpg
Wow guys all of those cakes are really cool! I was chatting to a friends partner a few weeks ago and he said to me 'who really has the time to go overboard decorating a birthday cake?'
I waved my hand in the air and glad to see Im not alone here.
When I saw the name of the thread I just had to come in and have a look. DD2 turns one in a couple of weeks time.
This was the cake I made for DD1's 1st birthday (http://i100.photobucket.com/albums/m34/nzmama_2006/ca2a0d4c.jpg), she was pooh mad!
From there we had Tigger, Piglet and Eeyore. This year I let someone else make her cake and was dissapointed so put my cake making hat back on. I wont repost the pics because Ive already put them up on another thread here :D