View Full Version : No "Snappy" Jan
*Country Bumpkin*
25-11-2006, 17:28
Well I have just walked all over my local shopping centre for over 3hrs searching high and low for "snappy" nappy fastners.
I went to coles, woolworths, bilo, target, kmart, big w, priceline and 2 chemists
not 1 "snappy" to be found:confused:
I found nappy pins in one store only. Which I had to but cause there was NO way I was going anywhere else.
Im really suprised at the lack of cloth products available in the stores-
I suppose the [disposable] users over rules the lovers of clothies though:rolleyes: (no offence meant to anyone)
in coles they only had 1 brand of liner too!!
so as you can tell Im not "snappy" jan:mad: :laughing:
Im seriously considering looking into opening a store dedicated to cloth!!!(god I really HAVE been sucked in big time havnt I lol)
Good work Adele.. on the store idea. :D
But it's true - some stores I find have nothing at all for clothies, but others have snappies in every available colour. :rolleyes: It's just a matter of finding the store that stocks them.
How frustrating for you though!! If it helps you can get them from theweewuns.au.com but you'll pay about $3.70 plus postage.
SilverStarfish
25-11-2006, 17:41
Wow, what shopping centre was that? I see them all over the place. I've got 3 snappys, i bought them all in Brisbane.
I feel your pain though... nothing worse than trudging fruitlessly through the shops :banghead:
:) I stocked up on snappys from our local woolies a couple of months ago as they were half price.That made me wonder whether or not they were going to stop selling them.I have found them on ebay too.The one thing I think are hard to find is decent pilchers-yes I use the old flats and they work fine for me.But the lack of pilchers peeves me off.I also tried to buy nappy pins not long a go at the chemist as I went to have lunch with DH at work and the snappy snapped when I changed Avalons bum-no nappy pins anywhere.The assistant at the chemist said that they don't sell them any more as people don't use cloth nappies anymore.I said well I do and she was like OH:confused:
tootiredtosleep
25-11-2006, 17:48
I'm a digustable, and happy with them!
I think I've got what you need!! Its a 'happy baby' pink snappi, still in the packet.
It's yours if you want it. I will dust it off first!!
HoopDeeDoo
25-11-2006, 17:51
Well my cloth don't need a snappy, maybe most of the clothie users are using MCNs now :yes:
But Em, Totsbots still use Snappies and I luff my totsbots. :D
oh, and I should add that I bought about 5 snappies when I was pregnant and 3 of them are still in their packets. :rolleyes:
HoopDeeDoo
25-11-2006, 17:56
Ok well maybe all the snappies are gone because they are so popular??? :D :D
hayleylea
25-11-2006, 17:58
I think i have a few somewhere that i used in the early days when i was using cloth nappies. Ill see if i can dig them out :rolleyes: They are yours if you want them! (or if i can find them rather :laughing: )
How frustrating for you.
My local Big W store has pretty much every colour possible in the snappy's, even rainbow ones!!!!
Sorry no help, but if you really can't find any, I have a few unopened ones I can send you if you would like??? I don't use them so you are more than welcome. PM me your address if you are interested!!! :thumbsup:
How frustrating for you.
My local Big W store has pretty much every colour possible in the snappy's, even rainbow ones!!!!
Sorry no help, but if you really can't find any, I have a few unopened ones I can send you if you would like??? I don't use them so you are more than welcome. PM me your address if you are interested!!! :thumbsup:
ooohh rainbow ones:D I dont use them but how cool.
*Country Bumpkin*
25-11-2006, 18:01
I think it has alot to do with the fact that most people these days use pockets or AIO:yes:
I dont know alot of cloth users that use terry flats these days.
TooTiredTo Sleep- where do I send the money order :D
25-11-2006, 18:06
I love snappis, I have excess to so you're welcome to one if you still need it :D just pm me! :D
My local Big W has tonnes too... got some just the other week :yes:
FourAngelKisses
25-11-2006, 21:00
I've seen them everywhere too. Big W always has heaps, I've noticed lately they are selling them in packs of 2-3 now too.
25-11-2006, 21:14
hmm.. yep, concider using modern cloth :thumbsup: Problem solved.
there are quite a few modern cloth options that are fitted, but require a snappi closure. It can give a better fit than standard snaps and velcro. tots are one, pookey pockets do some too... there's a brand called snappi nappies or something too... there really are a few options that are good and snug with a snappi.
and you can use snappis on modern bamboo terry flat nappies.
We love our fitteds, but I actually can't wait to put a folded square on our new bub, fasten it with a snappi and pop a t-wrap/snib over the top!
I use snappis on the totbots. I havent seen them in the shops since my girl was in flats almost 7 years ago.
mama anne
25-11-2006, 22:41
and also if you make your own fitteds and put towelling or hemp french terry on the outside layer, then if you use a snappy you don't have to sew on velcro or put snaps on :yes:
susiehomemaker
26-11-2006, 13:33
lol- had the same problem not long ago! It was so frustrating! And then when I finally tracked one down it was the old style with the rings instead of the tabs (the ring ones just dont work as well for us!) I finally found some and stocked up. And then found our missing ones. We dont need them too often as we have lots of mcn now, but we def need them as back up! Why is it that so few people use cloth these days? I just dont get it!
Ignorance? That is why I didn't. But I can see the options are endless now with cloth.
susiehomemaker
26-11-2006, 22:19
Kymmy you def have a point! I always swore to have only cloth on dd (not that anyone at work believed me) but we hit a bit of a wall whe DD started getting a welt like rash from exposed elastic on the pilchers (otherwise known a pilchards in our house...hmmmmm...aromatic...)
The only reason I found mcn was because I was looking for decent covers for our terry flats (target ones still leaked!) Since finding mcn we have not looked back! The first ones I bought where ghastly though- leaked through within an hour. Lucky I saw the potential in them and was not put off!
susiehomemaker
26-11-2006, 22:20
Dodgy old retail stores that only want to sell expendable items suck!
tootiredtosleep
27-11-2006, 00:20
adele, I sent you a PM
I dont think people use disposables because of 'ignorance'. I am a recent cloth convert and my dd is nearly 9 months old. To be honest with you i just wasnt interested in using cloth. I loved my huggies and still love huggies nappies to this day. We dont have a huge stash of cloth so some times i still use them if i run out when doing the washing. Most stores stock snappies and everything perhaps the stores you went to were just out of them? everywhere I go i see lots of them and always see liners and everything.
I didn't have a problem finding Snappis... I bought some from Big W.. but I don't like using them anyway... sliced *my* finger open, I'd hate to know what would happen if it got Cobey's leg.
If I'm using flats of pookie pockets, I just do the cover on tight over it, Cobey's not moving around enough to have it all come undone