View Full Version : do u put a gift under the wishing tree

mum2littleman
21-11-2006, 22:30
just wondering how many ppl put gifts under the tree i put at least 2 every yr one for a boy and one for a girl. :tree: :xmas: :reindeer: i like to think that all children can have a HAPPY CHRISTMAS at least i hope thats where the gifts really go.

oleander
21-11-2006, 22:36
Im sure the gifts really do go to kids in need. I haven't ever bought a wishing tree prezzie but I think it's a great idea and might start doing it too.

Ana Gram
21-11-2006, 22:37
I think it is a great idea but I can't afford it.

pegasus
21-11-2006, 23:00
Sorry if anyone's offended, but I don't buy these presents as I don't believe that they do go where they're supposed to. In that, I mean that people claim these presents when they might not really be on needy street.

My two step children get these presents each year, yet their mother spends about $500 each on them every year (and sometimes more). We also give them presents as well as their grandparents on both sides and other relatives. These two children are not needy (materially wise), and bin a lot of stuff they get for Christmas anyway.

I would rather give my money straight to a charity such as St Vinnies or the Salvos and know that it's being spent on giving people in need Christmas lunch or such.

pegasus
21-11-2006, 23:06
Just wanted to ask -

Does anyone know what the criteria is for people to get these presents?

Mamaduke
21-11-2006, 23:08
I would do it (and Jesse's expressed a desire to 'give a present to a poor kid' this year) but I have to have a little whinge about the idea...
I've noticed that it's not only children but adults on the tree as well, now IMO adults will get over the fact that they don't get a Christmas present (take me for example!)
I don't see why the wishing tree includes adults.
Children, yes...adults, get over it!

Little Gorilla
21-11-2006, 23:08
I have never done the wishing tree in target or kmart etc

However when I worked in Sydney the firm I worked at had a tree that you could get a tag from and then put either a boy or girls pressie under the tree (the tag also had the child's age on it and I think their first name too).

The pressie then got distributed to an inner-city aboriginal childrens school (or it could have been some sort of after school care or service...I don't actually remember:o :o )...but the way they did it mean that the pressies REALLY went to the children.

I feel very selfish to say that seeing pictures of the kids opening their pressies and playing with their toys made me feel very happy .....although it also made me feel very appreciative of what I have.

damien's mum
21-11-2006, 23:12
I always, always, every year... This year i am going for the grandad.. I usually make sure it's one of the kids, because xmas is meant to be for them. But what about the old people out there, that don't have any family, and don't have people to celebrate it with. Its not only for the kids, coz i love xmas aswell..

mumtok&z
21-11-2006, 23:19
Even though we are Muslim and we don't celebrate christmas we put a pressie under the wishing tree every year ever since DS1 was born. I want the kids to learn about giving and the joy it brings to make some one less fortunate as them happy.

mum2littleman
21-11-2006, 23:22
Even though we are Muslim and we don't celebrate christmas we put a pressie under the wishing tree every year ever since DS1 was born. I want the kids to learn about giving and the joy it brings to make some one less fortunate as them happy.

THAT IS SO SWEET what a great person u are and what a lovely thing to teach ur children.:wave:

damien's mum
21-11-2006, 23:31
Yesssssssssss Angie i agree, U are!

Ruby Slippers
22-11-2006, 00:10
My girls go shopping with me for the gifts they love to do it .:D

mum33
22-11-2006, 01:33
I would do it (and Jesse's expressed a desire to 'give a present to a poor kid' this year) but I have to have a little whinge about the idea...
I've noticed that it's not only children but adults on the tree as well, now IMO adults will get over the fact that they don't get a Christmas present (take me for example!)
I don't see why the wishing tree includes adults.
Children, yes...adults, get over it!

some people are struggling the whole year just to get by in life. i am sure that even though they dont expect presents, a present for them would be a welcome surprise for them. dont be so heartless, who said the spirit of xmas was restricted to a certain age.

oh and i will be putting a gift voucher under the tree for an adult recipient. i'm sure most of the gifts given will be for children. what if there was a destitute mother who was living in poverty for circumstances beyond her control? i think it would be nice to give a gift voucher to an adult who can go to the store and choose what they would like this year.

melbryan
22-11-2006, 05:43
We took one to target yesterday and my Ds1 helped wrap it and place it under the tree. I want him to understand that christmas is not all about what I can get but what I can give. I am hoping the store is responsible enough to give it to the needy as they are the ones who deserve it. We always choose a tag which is the same age as DS1.

cjb/jbvd
22-11-2006, 06:13
i make sure i put one under the tree, but not the one with "requests". i can't remember which one it is, but one of them has a tag with the childs name, age and the present they want. i kind of object to a child asking for a gameboy or psp. i can't afford to buy my DS something that expensive let alone somebody else. and it puts me off buying anything for that child because i know they will be dissapointed if they don't get what they asked for.

but the kids who don't ask for anything specific, i will always more than gladly give them something to smile about at christmas.

i just hope they go where they are needed. i've often thought more about being the person who distributes the gifts and food and things, as well as giving. when DS is older, we will probably do this together.

22-11-2006, 06:23
Sorry if anyone's offended, but I don't buy these presents as I don't believe that they do go where they're supposed to. In that, I mean that people claim these presents when they might not really be on needy street.

My two step children get these presents each year, yet their mother spends about $500 each on them every year (and sometimes more). We also give them presents as well as their grandparents on both sides and other relatives. These two children are not needy (materially wise), and bin a lot of stuff they get for Christmas anyway.

I would rather give my money straight to a charity such as St Vinnies or the Salvos and know that it's being spent on giving people in need Christmas lunch or such.

Well, that's opened my eyes...
I'll still get a pressie for the tree though..

22-11-2006, 06:33
Just wanted to ask -

Does anyone know what the criteria is for people to get these presents?

Unfortunately many years ago my mother was really struggling money wise around x-mas and we had to ask for a food hamper which we were able to pick up they also asked my mother if she wanted presents for us kids (we didn't want them). So anyway you have to go pick up the hamper and pressies and ppl were rocking up in BMW's etc and other flash cars collecting their presents for their kids and their food hampers. I was horrified to see this especially as most of the ppl collecting the items really did look well off.

So the criteria I guess is if you ask for it you get it:thumbsdown:

22-11-2006, 06:44
So the criteria I guess is if you ask for it you get it:thumbsdown:

That is awful. :no:

My little sis is running the Wishing Tree program at the local K-mart and she's always raving about how good it is... I think that she's in the dark when it comes to how the gifts are distributed...

22-11-2006, 06:51
Also the tree's that have the ppl's name and age on them they really don't go to someone by that name they just put the name on the tag to try and pull at your heart strings more.

If you do happen to buy a gift and use one of those tags go back a few days later and that exact gift tag is back up on the tree.

Mamaduke
22-11-2006, 07:48
dont be so heartless, who said the spirit of xmas was restricted to a certain age.

Heartless? The spirit of Christmas isn't about getting either. A child who stills 'believes' would be absolutely heartbroken on Christmas morning to discover that Santa had forgotten them, so the idea of the wishing tree is fantastic in that sense.
Over the years, the looks on my children's faces Christmas morning is enough to get me into the spirit of Christmas, regardless of whether or not I have a present to unwrap.

shed
22-11-2006, 07:54
I used to buy one most years, when I was young and single.

But this year I am not even buying for my nieces, only for my own baby. How selfish LOL, I don't care - I've done my time.

I have noticed that I am more generous in giving to childrens charities since becoming pregnant/having a baby though. so I make up for it there.

ETsMum
22-11-2006, 09:55
I don't as I think it is dodgy. :o But I'm not totally selfish... I do sponsor a World Vision child instead. :)

Also, I think it is pointless wrapping the gifts as don't they just get unwrapped to check that the gift is suitable?

mz sv6
22-11-2006, 10:03
the names and ages on the cards that are hung on the tree are all made up cause of privacy reason and the presents get unwrapped by the charities once they pick them up so there is no need to wrap them up cause once the charities pick them up they sort out who the presents go to

mum_I'm_hungry
22-11-2006, 19:14
I might be naive, but I think it's nice. We buy one that would be suitable for each member of our family (mum, dad, girl, boy) and wrap them and put them under the Wishing Tree for a family that isn't as lucky as us. :xmas:

22-11-2006, 19:20
some people are struggling the whole year just to get by in life. i am sure that even though they dont expect presents, a present for them would be a welcome surprise for them.

I agree completely.

I dont do the wishing tree. But I do up a 4 shoe boxes filled with toys etc for poverty stricken kids over seas. Operation Christmas child it is called. :)

mum33
22-11-2006, 21:19
Heartless? The spirit of Christmas isn't about getting either. A child who stills 'believes' would be absolutely heartbroken on Christmas morning to discover that Santa had forgotten them, so the idea of the wishing tree is fantastic in that sense.
Over the years, the looks on my children's faces Christmas morning is enough to get me into the spirit of Christmas, regardless of whether or not I have a present to unwrap.

oh my god, i know it isnt about gettin, its about giving. did you even read what i wrote? no-one said they were waiting to recieve anything but that it would be nice for them to recieve something.

whatever, i cant be bothered argueing with you... i believe in the spirit of xmas, coz thats what its all about, being good to people who cant have xmas as good as we have it, child or adult...

xmas is about being kind and generous and loving. you obviosly have a different way of showing that st xmas time.

22-11-2006, 21:29
I find it really hard to believe that people in BMW's come and collect the charity gifts for their own children :confused:
Even if they were strange enough to do that.......who would actually give it to them?

I thought these gifts were given to the Salvation Army to distribute? That's what they do here anyway :confused:

I don't believe it is ascam of any sort, and even if it is a little bit dodgy I think I jsut like to pretend that decent people still exist and the gift I buy every year really is going to a child in need :crying:

This thread has made me upset :( I mean, that's not anyones fault, but I guess I am just heartbroken to think that they possilby aren't going to children in need......

Mamaduke
22-11-2006, 21:33
oh my god, i know it isnt about gettin, its about giving. did you even read what i wrote? no-one said they were waiting to recieve anything but that it would be nice for them to recieve something.

whatever, i cant be bothered argueing with you... i believe in the spirit of xmas, coz thats what its all about, being good to people who cant have xmas as good as we have it, child or adult...

xmas is about being kind and generous and loving. you obviosly have a different way of showing that st xmas time.

:eek: Relax...breathe!

Little_Toad
22-11-2006, 21:34
I did my wishing tree gifts this weekend!

I got a boxed set of Dr. Seus books for a boy and a set of fairy books for a girl.

I might even get a present for a dad.. perhaps shaving gear to last a year.

I hope they do go to a family who is struggling this year.

Also.. was just thinking, I reckon K Mart should give a discount for gifts put under he wishing tree as they are benefitting in a big way too... I hope it's not just a cunning marketing plan on their part to sell more items plus improve their image.

caz
22-11-2006, 21:38
I'm going to put a present under the wishing tree this year. I'm also going to go through my pantry to see what food I can give to charity

mumtok&z
23-11-2006, 01:09
Yesssssssssss Angie i agree, U are!

THAT IS SO SWEET what a great person u are and what a lovely thing to teach ur children.:wave:

Aww thanks! Charity and giving are a big part of Islam so i guess you could say I am trying to teach the boys about religion too. But I do like the idea of some one less fortunate being given something to make their heart sing, even if it is only for a little while.

23-11-2006, 06:43
I find it really hard to believe that people in BMW's come and collect the charity gifts for their own children :confused:
Even if they were strange enough to do that.......who would actually give it to them?

Just mentioning what I actually saw and really the Salvation Army is a charity that would be more likely to give without judgement which is why I think ppl choose to rort them.:thumbsdown:

melfunction
23-11-2006, 06:47
Yep, I put at least one for boy and girl under every year :)

mum2littleman
23-11-2006, 21:04
i no we dont get to pick but id much rather the gifts go to an orphanage that way u really no they are going to children in need.:xmas:

pegasus
24-11-2006, 00:26

I thought these gifts were given to the Salvation Army to distribute? That's what they do here anyway :confused:

I don't believe it is ascam of any sort, and even if it is a little bit dodgy I think I jsut like to pretend that decent people still exist and the gift I buy every year really is going to a child in need :crying:

This thread has made me upset :( I mean, that's not anyones fault, but I guess I am just heartbroken to think that they possilby aren't going to children in need......

Unfortunately there are some people out there who will prey on other people's generosity.

I guess the other thing is that some of these people have a perspective that they are a needy person and fully deserve an extra gift.

I love the idea of giving a gift to someone who doesn't have "santa" visit their house. If anyone truly knows a scheme where they know the people who receive the gifts are people who can't afford their own, then please put it forward.

porridge
24-11-2006, 08:53
We did when we were kids... we all (4 kids) got to pick a card off the tree and pick out a gift.

I'm going to do that with my kids when they're old enough (to pick something out!)

I think the idea of the wishing tree is great!

24-11-2006, 10:47
yup I do and the kids take part in it :)

Karizma
24-11-2006, 10:50
YUP... Every single year, we put 3 usually one from all of us, now That theres four of us, looks like 4 pressies under the tree this year, my 3.5 year old loves it. And so do we. The thought of a child going without a pressie is just aweful. So where ever we can contribute we do :yes: