View Full Version : What is "Dry Pailing"???

the_queen
20-10-2005, 10:53
Could someone please enlighten me....

When my eldest was a bubby, and we used cloth nappies, I would scrape the excess poo off into the toilet, then put the nappy straight into a bucket filled with water and Napisan. Then the next day I'd put those nappies through the rinse cycle in the machine, and then hang them out in the sun to dry. I'm hearing the term "Dry Pailing" a lot on bubhub now, with the suggestion that it's better than soaking them in Napisan. HELP!! :confused:

cosmic
20-10-2005, 11:38
Good question, Queenie. I too look forward to the response. I keep hearing the napisan days are over, but I'm still not sure why...

Angel_baby_1982
20-10-2005, 15:27
Same question here! Ment to post this question myself a while back!

mamafelix
20-10-2005, 19:12
dry pailing is great!
i did the whole soak in napisan thing with my first bub, but i'm loving not dealing with yukky poo water this time round.
it's really simple- you just don't add water to your bucket. if there's a poo you get rid off the excess (personally i SWEAR by the little squirt attachment for this) and wash.

less work, no stains, reduced smell, no heavy buckets, no extra costs for napisan, less impact on the environment.

the only reason to use napi san is if you have a gastro infection in the family and you need to disinfect, or to remove a stubborn stain (which i haven't had on a nappy this time round at all).

the_queen
21-10-2005, 08:24
:confused:
so...... (ok still a bit confused...) i scrape/squirt off the poo into the toilet, then just put the dirty germy nappy into a dry bucket? Then just wash the nappies as if they were normal clothes? And then have to also wash out that poo-ey germy bucket every day?

Thanks mamafelix - but can you (or someone else) explain WHY that is better?

EG when I was teaching The Princess to use the toilet, and she was having accidents still, if she poo'd in her knickers I certainly wouldn't just chuck them in the wash - for one thing, the stains wouldn't come out unless I used stain remover; and for another thing, I would feel like I hadn't done anything about the fact that there were poo germs on the knickers! In fact, even now she occasionally has skid marks (sorry TMI!) and if I don't notice them before I chuck them in the wash, I sure as heck notice them when I'm hanging them out because they are still there!! I have to then spray them with stain remover and leave that to soak in for a few hours, and then wash them again.

When I Napisan the dirty nappies, then chuck them in the machine, I don't use washing liquid/powder in the machine with them - I just put them on the rinse cycle then hang them in the sun. I think if I didn't use Napisan, but had to wash the nappies in laundry liquid, the savings would be negligible. Personally I would feel much better knowing that I've de-germed the nappies.

I mean, if I crapped my pants, I would want to disinfect them before I put them back on. Isn't it the same thing? Except bubby's bottoms are more sensitive and their little immune systems are less able to cope with germs?

Someone please have a go at me if I've got the wrong end of the stick. I just can't understand how this Dry Pailing would be better than Napisan-ing.

JenNT
21-10-2005, 10:50
I'm glad you posted that cause i've been sitting here thinking there is no way i'm going to do that either. Yuk! I'm sticking to napisan and rinsing,least i know the bacteria has been treated. Just out of curiousity....how hot is your water in the washing cycle to kill the germs?

21-10-2005, 12:26
when I was teaching The Princess to use the toilet, and she was having accidents still, if she poo'd in her knickers I certainly wouldn't just chuck them in the wash - for one thing, the stains wouldn't come out unless I used stain remover

:confused: Yes I too am still a little confused on this topic!

Sarie
21-10-2005, 14:06
Glad I'm not the only one completely confuzzled :o

madvoice
21-10-2005, 17:02
Makes me glad that I'm a disposable mum. Eeek.
:eek: :eek:

the_queen
21-10-2005, 17:39
You're right JenNT, I guess the water in the washing machine would have to be hot to kill germs - but I only ever wash in cold water, to save money!

So I guess if you're a dry-pailer, you have to use hot water in the washing machine?

waawa
21-10-2005, 17:51
"Heat, detergent, sunlight - choose any two."

It's been shown over and over and over again that soaps/detergent are more than adequately antibacterial for domestic use, without the irritation and bacterial resistance issues caused by antibacterial substances. Napisan and its ilk are a major cause of the falsely-named "cloth" nappy rash. Add heat or sunlight to a small amount of regular detergent (I use about two tablespoons for a large load), and you're already in overkill zone as far as "germs" are concerned.

We as a society are way, way too paranoid about the horrors of mysterious invisible bacteria, to our children's detriment. The ridiculous overuse of PineLarkDettolBlahblahSol use is creating epidemics of both allergy and deadly resistant "super-bugs" in the Western world.

I wash in warm/hot water with a small amount of regular detergent and hang on the line or tumble dry in warm. We've been doing this for three years without smells, stains, rashes or infections.

I lie - once we did get some nappy stink - when I experimented with soaking! My theory at the time was that the water just soaked the mess deep into the nappy fibres instead of allowing it to be easily rinsed off.

I don't ever have to wash out a bucket, because I drypail in a large PUL bag. I have two, and they're rotated through the wash each time.

It's quicker than taking a smelly rubbish bag out to the wheelie bin. Easy.

Lara

Angel_baby_1982
21-10-2005, 18:45
i don't know if its just me but I was forced to use cloth nappies over the past 5 days (payday today and I am EXTATIC to be using sposies again!!!!!), my son's poohs leave a big yellow stain no amount of rinsing will shift, and I have put them straight in the wash but the stain remains!

I have to soak in napisan overnight and put them through 2 washes to shift it! Alot of work when he has at least 2 poopy nappies a day and wets a nappy every hour! Those 5 days were hell!

waawa
21-10-2005, 19:11
i don't know if its just me but I was forced to use cloth nappies over the past 5 days (payday today and I am EXTATIC to be using sposies again!!!!!), my son's poohs leave a big yellow stain no amount of rinsing will shift, and I have put them straight in the wash but the stain remains!

I have to soak in napisan overnight and put them through 2 washes to shift it! Alot of work when he has at least 2 poopy nappies a day and wets a nappy every hour! Those 5 days were hell!

If you're interested in fixing the problem, either sunlight exposure or a fleece liner will do the job without any chemical, power or water use.

Lara

H&B'sMum
21-10-2005, 19:13
If you are soaking in water it encourages the stain to set in more. Because the nappy is designed to absorbe mositure it, absorbes the water and therefore sets the stain. Dry pailing, as weird as it sounds, does stop the smell and staining.
If you have staining hang out your nappies in the sun for a few hours and they will disappear. The sun is the best germ killer around and it's all natural.
Dry pailing your nappies, washing in hot water and hanging out in the sun will keep them germ free.

21-10-2005, 20:21
I use napisan as thats all I know. I didn't know any different but I have noticed that when I hang out my washing and there huge yellow/orange stains on the nappies or bibs etc that they mysteriously disappeared when I came to bring the washing in! It was like magic! I had no idea that the sun could bleach out such obvious stains. my problem is I don't like to use the hot wash (saving Money) so is a cold wash ok if your not soaking the stuff? BTW I soak everything, clothes, nappies and all! -Clothes separate from nappies though. I just thought that was the way to do it, noone has ever told me different till now!

mamafelix
22-10-2005, 12:18
mmm.. why do i get the feeling that the op wasn't to try and get information so much as to start a fight?

no-one says you have to dry pail- it's your choice, as is using cloth or disposables in the first place. i was simply trying to answer what i thought was an innocent question.

no 'germy' buckets here- i put the rinsed nappies straight into my machine, but a pul bag would work as well, or you could wash your bucket every now and again?? surely you would have to do this every day after soaking anyway?? or at least i did since i found it to be pretty icky after emptying the water.

oh and i use a cold wash. ocassionaly i do a 95 C wash to double make sure that my machines clean. as waawa said- sun and detergent do just fine.
but i get the feeling i'm not talking to cloth users anyway- go ahead use disposables if it feels cleaner to you it's no skin off my nose- each to their own. personally i think it's pretty gross putting human faeces into bins and landfill... at least the sewage system is set up to deal with all that crap.

Angel_baby_1982
22-10-2005, 12:45
i doubt it was intended to start a fight, by the looks of it lots of women here were confused as to what dry pailing is, me being one of them!

Thanks for the 'sunlight' tip, I have several cloth nappies that still have stains after multiple soakings and washes, have to hang them out next sunny day and see what happens.

it wasn't starting to sound like a fight to me untill the last post!

cosmic
22-10-2005, 12:54
mmm.. why do i get the feeling that the op wasn't to try and get information so much as to start a fight?

I didn't think the point was to start a fight either, Mamafelix. When the_queen first asked the question, I was glad she did because I also had no idea how suddenly you didn't need to soak in napisan when that's all I've ever heard of before.

I thought from her post that the_queen was a cloth nappy user and was genuinely interested to know how you can get clean, disinfected nappies without soaking. I know that I intend to be a cloth nappy user too.. and my MIL keeps telling me that soaking in napisan is the only way to go (hence my own confusion about dry-pailing).

And it sounds like angel-baby likes disposables because she hadn't found a way to get the stains out of her cloth nappies, but now she has.

So everyone is happy! :)

tickle
22-10-2005, 19:47
I don't use cloth nappies, but I too was curious on this topic.
I was just wondering for the mums with stained nappies, do you have a front loading washing machine? They get out EVERYTHING. Since I have got one I have not had to soak ANYTHING!!! It is great. They also use half the water of top loaders and you can wash anything cotton at 60 degrees (it heats its own water very economically) so all stains come out and all bugs are killed.
They are a bit more expensive, I have just invested in one, but in the long run you save heaps of money as they are so much better for your clothes!

cosmic
22-10-2005, 19:49
Hey Oliversmum... when you say more expensive, about how much?? And for what size? I don't reeeeally need a new washing machine but if we have some surplus funds it might be worth considering. I keep hearing everyone raving about them!

veve
22-10-2005, 20:04
ok - this question may have already been answered... (I HAVE read the thread...honest!!) - but I HATE using hot water in my machine... and would like to continue to use cold....

I am definately using 'flats' when bubs arrives... I know sun kills most stuff (thanks nature :) ) but I want to be sure.....

a) can I dry-pail and wash in cold???

b) when I wash (in cold) do I then use normal detergent?? ... or a sensitive detergent??? or napisan in the machine??

help is appreciated...

tickle
22-10-2005, 20:14
They start from about $599 for a basic model. And from what I have been told they all self heat, so you don't have to worry about it taking from the hot water system. And they work just as good as the expensive ones.
We have a Meile, which are pretty expensive (about $1500 new), ours is 10 years old and is still as good as new (we got it second hand).
They take care of your clothes so much better, as they are not being pulled around the centre thingy in a top loader. And if you are paying for water, which I think most people are, they will save you money!!

JenNT
22-10-2005, 21:09
Here's what is getting me confused.

In my hairdressing salon, by law, the water has to be hotter than 60c to wash the towels that we use on clients or the salon gets closed down.This is to ensure all bacteria is killed and not passed on. These towels are used on clean hair so by dry pailing i am meant to go home and wash nappies in cold water without soaking, with faecal matter on them however small and then pop them back on baby and use them as burpers as well??? :eek:

waawa
22-10-2005, 21:17
You're comparing a regulated commercial situation where towels are used by multiple different people with unknown infections and immune system issues, to a domestic situation with reuse only between a single child or siblings. When nappies are reused in an institutional situation, greater precautions are usually recommended.

You're also not "meant" to do anything - options are being offered and experiences shared. If you'd like a broader range of experiences, do feel welcome to come into one of the dedicated cloth discussion groups.

If you want to use hot water, if you'll only be comfortable doing so, go ahead! What the experienced nappy mums here are saying is that healthy, safe results can be achieved with cold water, so long as you use detergent and dry in sunlight (or in a warm dryer). Given a reasonably efficient washing machine, this still gets your nappies clean and is both cheaper and more environmentally friendly than hot water. (And what you save in the first year and a bit will buy you a top of the line whizz-bang machine if you don't have one already!)

No-one's mandating anything. Do what works for you.

Lara

JenNT
22-10-2005, 21:24
No worries, you explained that pretty well, thank you! Now if only i can find a washing machine that irons as well :)

waawa
22-10-2005, 21:30
LOL - don't iron your nappies! It flattens the pile and reduces the absorbency.

As for other items ... my iron last came out of the cupboard about a year ago. If it isn't self-ironing or the wrinkles don't fall out on a ten-minute tumble dry, it goes to Good Sammy's. :)

JenNT
22-10-2005, 21:59
Iron nappies PMSL i didn't mean that, man i'd have myself commited if i started doing that!
Did you know you can buy a fabulon spray that you spray on clothes and then smooth out by hand...and it works..no more iron :D

waawa
22-10-2005, 22:16
Don't laugh... the UK Environment Agency report, lapped up smugly by the media, included assumptions of not only using disposable liners, soaking in bleaches, washing only 12 nappies at a time (despite owning nearly 50), doing this tiny load in over 100g of detergent in 60-90 degree water - but also a percentage of people ironing all their nappies :O Can you imagine?

Even with these most ignorant and wasteful of practices, the environmental impact was found to be equivalent to changing only four single-use nappies a day ... I was pretty struck by that.

veve
23-10-2005, 07:33
I am SURE there are people out there who iron nappie.s..... after all there ARE people who iron towels... sheets... even underpants!!!! really...

if my underpants are folded before they are thrown in the drawer it is a VERY good day :D

xxxxx

Mala
23-10-2005, 22:37

I have enjoyed reading this thread.
My third child is not due until June 2006, and I'm already confident that I will be using cloth nappies.
With #1 I did, but only when we were going for long drives or out somewhere.
With #2, I guess I was a bit too busy - and he was born in July, so sunshine was a bit rare, and the dryer was already working overtime - we could afford the disposables, so it just became too convenient!

But, this time, I will be a SAHM (I have been all along - just study has had me so busy). And, call me mad :confused: , but I can't wait to have all of those white cloth nappies pegged up all around the line!?!? :D
And, I'll enjoy that a BIG container of Napisan ($20) will last DH's footy season!
Not just a fortnight!
Because - I'll be dry pailing.

One thing though - what is a 'pul' bag? :confused:
Some people have been referring to this.... Please let me know!

Mala

waawa
23-10-2005, 23:10
Only white nappies Mala? Why deprive yourself? ;)

"PUL" is "polyurethane laminate", a fabric coated with a very thin layer of polyurethane to make it water resistant. We've spent a lot of time compiling a comprehensive nappy FAQ if you're interested, it's at www.ozclothnappies.org (we're a non-commercial volunteer organisation, not selling anything)

Enjoy

Lara

cosmic
24-10-2005, 06:58
Great website. And what an adorable picture on the front page!! :)

jarrahsmumma
24-10-2005, 17:07
i also dry pail, after months of using the napisan i came across a thread discussing this. really i had never thought of this before and because my mum had used napisan i just thought that was what you did (and i had no friends who used cloth)

now my cloth nappy experience is ballooning with pocket nappies , all-in-ones, hemp and PUL ...my advice to all mums looking at using cloth is to get out there and search "MODERN CLOTH NAPPIES" on google, it's amazing what is out there. there is no better way to spend your baby bonus after all the other essentials are accounted for.

best of all most of the nappies are made by mums so your supporting other mums not just multi-national corporations

what a wonderful world of nappies
(BTW I dry pail, wash in 40c water in a front loader and dry in the sunlight..just to be sure)

peace

26-10-2005, 10:31
Just to let you guys know that today I started dry pailing, will let you know how i go.

cosmic
26-10-2005, 10:34
oh yay! I can't wait. :D

Baby Girl
28-10-2005, 15:00
I did this with both my girls when they were in cloth nappies, I just thought I was being lazy by not soaking them but I am glad to find out that my method has a name - DRY PAILING!!

I never had any troubles with stains or smells. I would put all wet nappies straight in the bucket and pooey ones would get scraped and rinsed under cold running water then thrown in the bucket. I washed them daily in warm water and lux flakes (dissolve the flakes before putting in the nappies) and hung them on the line to dry in the sun, if it was miserable weather they would get a tumble in the dryer. I never really had a problem.

29-10-2005, 08:57
Just to let you guys know that after a few days of attempting to dry pail, DH put water in the buckets 2 days in a row, so we have tried again and it WORKED! How much easier is it. OMG anyone using soaking you should try the dry pailing talk about easier work. :D

LucyE
29-10-2005, 11:57
Glad it's worked :D

For anyone else interested, this is our nappy washing routine: flick poo into toilet (or little squirt it if necessary), place nappy and wipe in dry bucket, if it's just wet, it goes straight into the bucket. Every second night I load the machine with the nappies, add the OMOmatic, set it for a 40C warm wash, extra rinse option, lower the spin speed and go to bed. In the morning, I hang up the nappies on the line. In the arvo, I bring them in and dump them in the drawer - no folding or ironing necessary :p We've only had one stain in 18mths and that was because a pooey nappy got accidently left for over a week without being washed. It came out after 2 or 3 normal washes and line drying with no need for bleach or napisan.

Re Frontloader Question - they are fantastic and well worth the money. I would disagree and say that you do get what you pay for so if you can afford it, try and get a Miele or Asko, they are built to last.

ChristineM
19-11-2005, 08:50
:confused: I am still confused as to what dry pailing is? Surely it's not as simple as scraping off the poo and than putting the nappy into a bucket without water, then washing in the machine with hot water??? If that's it then I will stick to nappysan in a bucket of hot water. From reading this thread I don't think I'm the only one still confused...
Anyway, each to their own, isn't it great we are all so different.

Mor
19-11-2005, 15:04
:confused: I am still confused as to what dry pailing is? Surely it's not as simple as scraping off the poo and than putting the nappy into a bucket without water, then washing in the machine with hot water???

Yep! That's all it is!

It makes cloth nappy use even easier, uses less water & chemicals, is cheaper and is less likely to reduce the lifespan of fitted nappies (the enzymes can damage elastics).

But as you said, one of the great things about cloth nappies and information is CHOICE! I think it is fantastic that more people are learning about the different options and able to make choices they didn't even know were options! :)

ChristineM
19-11-2005, 15:31
Just to let you guys know that after a few days of attempting to dry pail, DH put water in the buckets 2 days in a row, so we have tried again and it WORKED! How much easier is it. OMG anyone using soaking you should try the dry pailing talk about easier work. :D

You know what? After re-reading most of this thread & after Oscars Mum's reaction to dry pailing I've decided to give it a go. If I can get a better result without using the napisan chemicals I will be really pleased. Call me strange but I'm even looking forward to this little experiment.

Thanks to all for their ideas, advice & methods. This is my fourth bub and I had never heard of dry pailing before. This is a great forum. Thanks Bubhub. :)

annsam
19-11-2005, 16:59
I dry pail and haven't had any issues to speak of.... but then I haven't soaked so dont have any comparison. One tip - make sure your bucket has a lid on it otherwise it can get really smelly. I know its probably common sense but the whole thing confussed me to start (but that was right from the whole cloth nappy thing, not just dry pailing) so Im sure you ladies who already use cloth are a little more clued up than I was :D

Mumoffour
24-11-2005, 06:46
thanks for the info ladies. I am running 3 nappy buckets at the mo and hate wasting the water that goes into them. I have a lil squirt attatchment on the loo and think i will dry pail from now on too. I haev noticed that bub's yellow poo stains dont come out in the wash but disappear when the naps are hung on the line in the sun *Magic* :D thanks for the info

H&B'sMum
24-11-2005, 19:43
For those of you who have smelly buckets, try popping in a pail pal. They are little ***** that smell yummmmmmy and go in your bucket and last for ages then when they are running out of smell throw them in with your nappy wash and your machine and nappies smell divine too.

04-01-2006, 17:00
Just thought I would resurrect this thread for all the new cloth nappy users like me :D

Makes a lot of sense & no more work than using disposables really., just a little more washing to do :)

RB

04-01-2006, 17:05
Exactly Rainbowbrite! :p ;)

JenNT
04-01-2006, 17:08
They are little ***** that smell yummmmmmy

What the ? :confused:

melfunction
04-01-2006, 17:20
What the ? :confused:

My thoughts exactly :confused: :p

waawa
04-01-2006, 17:26
I think Karena meant "disks"!

Lara

somedaysoon
04-01-2006, 18:17
OMG - I just laughed out loud!!!!!!

Back to the original message, and I'm sure this debate has been had before, do you all use cloth nappies because of the environmental factor or for some other reason?

cosmic
04-01-2006, 18:21
For me, I do like the environmental benefits, but it is also a big cost issue. Not to mention that the new cloth nappies are just sooooooo cute!!!! :D

waawa
04-01-2006, 18:22
I just looked through all the messages thinking we'd just had the "why" conversation ... turns out it was elsewhere! My take (and lots of others) can be found at the birthtalks forum, in the poll thread called " Why do you use cloth?"

Lara

Jaileth
04-01-2006, 18:44
Sounds like it makes things a whole lot easier - but could so,eome p;ease explain to me what the Little Squirt thing is all about? Thanks

04-01-2006, 19:29
Back to the original message, and I'm sure this debate has been had before, do you all use cloth nappies because of the environmental factor or for some other reason?

I have been using disposables for almost 8 months now & figure i could be spending DH's hard earned money on better things like more clothes :D for MJ ofcourse :p

RB

cosmic
04-01-2006, 20:01
Shaelia, the little squirt is a hose thingy that you attach to the tap in your toilet (you might have seen them in toilets in Thailand... I know I did - and there was no toilet paper :rolleyes: ) that you use to hose off the pooey nappies if you need to.

04-01-2006, 20:06
Just a thought. I find that if MJ clothes every got bf poo all over them, which was pretty often, i would run them under cold water & rub them together kind of like handwashing IYKWIM. I never had to soak them as this did a great job of getting the "crap" off them. works with her bibs now too :)

RB

Jaileth
04-01-2006, 21:54
There's a tap in the toilet??? :confused:

*goes and checks*

Weird!! I never noticed that before!

So, where would you get one of these little squirt thingys?

04-01-2006, 22:26
Alot of the sites that sell nappy and nappy products sell the little squirt or you can order them from mail order (pm me if you want the mail order details).

05-01-2006, 00:41
Shaelia - Im glad im not the only one :p I never realised this until we re did our bathroom a few months ago LOL yep there is a "tap" lol i was looked at strangely with the question " How do you think the water gets to the toilet then ? " Well ummm yeahhhh hehehehehe :o
Ive read you can get the squirter things from bunnings or other hardware stores also. Im gonna have to look into that also now as it seems we are a changing !

Jaileth
05-01-2006, 06:18
Thanks - have to check it out next time we're at Bunnings! (If they don't have it there, I'll definatly pm you for the details, Oscar's Mum - thanks)

I would prefer to use cloth - save on money, help the environment - all that kinda stuff - but was worried about how much work it'd be. Now I just have to get the hot tap fixed for the washing machine! :)

the_queen
05-01-2006, 07:37
I'm going to use cloth this time around because of the cost factor, and it's good for the environment, but also because when Vallerie was a bubs I tried using cloth but I ended up feeling like "OMG all I do is washing, this is so hard, alas alack woe is me" but now, I do washing every bl**dy day anyway :p so it won't be that much more work for me. I guess what I'm saying is, I'm much more accustomed to being a mum/housewife now than I used to be!!
On other forums I visit, there's talk of the chemicals used to make sposies, especially the gel stuff that soaks up the wee's... you know, how it kinda turns to crystal-ly-things... especially with a baby girl, I don't want those things finding their way up inside to her girly parts. Of course, thinking of it like that makes me feel guilty for the 3 years Vally spent in sposies..... :rolleyes: there's always something to feel guilty about!!

05-01-2006, 07:42
I have to agree with everything you just said. The crystal things annoy me, there are soo many of them all the time, no matter how little she has done in the nappy. Also MJ is almost 8 months old & i'm so used to washing, folding etc, whats a couple more nappy's :)

there's always something to feel guilty about!!

Too true, will it ever end?

RB

Mummabear
05-01-2006, 07:43
there's always something to feel guilty about!!

Aint that the truth!!!!

I must admit that if it weren't for the option of dry pailing I prob wouldn't try cloth nappies. I'm just too lazy, lol.

I'd love to say that I'm switching to cloth because I'm conscience of the environment, but truth is that I'm conscience of the hip pocket :rolleyes: . I'm trying to cut back on spending as much as possible so I can avoid having to go back to work, even though I would only work at nights when he's sleeping I still don't want to do that. What if he wakes up and wants his Mummy :( Or closer to the truth, how can I sneak into his room to watch him sleeping if I'm at work :p

the_queen
05-01-2006, 07:49
When I was pregnant with Vallerie I was talking to my old Granny on the phone one night (she passed away when I was 36 weeks pg :( ) And she mentioned something about nappies, I said "yeah I want to use cloth but it's a lot of washing, isn't it? I think I'll just go with the disposables." There was silence on the other end. Then she said "don't you have an automatic washing machine??" I said "um, yeah" She said "and didn't I just give you my old clothes dryer which still works perfectly well??" I said, "um, yeah" She said "WELL!! When your aunty Chris was born, it was the wettest winter in 40 years. I had to wash all her nappies by hand, then hang them out under the verandah, then bring them inside next to the fire when the next lot needed to go out under the verandah, and it wasn't too hard for ME!!!!!"
LOL Granny..... she guilted me into trying the cloth nappies (I only lasted a couple of weeks.....)

cosmic
05-01-2006, 08:09
And right now Queenie, Grannie is watching your conversion to cloth and is surely very proud (and saying "I told you so!!" :p)

the_queen
05-01-2006, 12:38
:D LOL "I told you so" would be exactly right!!!

Mummabear
05-01-2006, 22:29
Aaahhh Grannies - don't you just LOVE them. I miss mine terribly :( 13 kids, all cloth, all hand washed, all breast fed, all loved equally. What a woman..... :D

Jaileth
06-01-2006, 22:02
Woman? Nah, Super woman! :D

quriouskey
11-01-2006, 06:39
Shaelia, the little squirt is a hose thingy that you attach to the tap in your toilet (you might have seen them in toilets in Thailand... I know I did - and there was no toilet paper :rolleyes: ) that you use to hose off the pooey nappies if you need to.

Hi, we're thinking of getting one of these, but are they actually any different from the trigger nozzles you can get for watering the garden? Of course they come with the high-pressure hose and attachments, but is the nozzle part any different?
Thanks,
Liz

somedaysoon
14-01-2006, 16:49
Woman? Nah, Super woman! :D

Or SuperNanny! LOL

cosmic
14-01-2006, 16:53
Hi, we're thinking of getting one of these, but are they actually any different from the trigger nozzles you can get for watering the garden? Of course they come with the high-pressure hose and attachments, but is the nozzle part any different?
Thanks,
Liz
Liz, I haven't got one so I couldn't tell you - but I will try to find a website that sells them so you can have a look.

ETsMum
16-01-2006, 07:58
OK,OK - I've got my head around dry pailing..

Now.. how long can you leave them in the bucket for? We mostly use disposable, so we might only use one or two cloth nappies a day, so it takes a while to work up to a washing machine load. I don't want them to go mouldy.

H&B'sMum
16-01-2006, 12:59
C, you can get litle squirts from Bunnings for about $50.00 or www.babybeehinds.com.au sells them as well.

Len I wouldn't leave them any longer than 3 days, that's my limit. Good luck with it all.

stilldreaming
16-01-2006, 15:10
This is a fab thread.........I want to use cloth nappies for the bubs on the way after using solely disposables for Cooper (yes bad I know.)
I too have been super confused about all the cloth lingo but now have a grasp.....and if I had known that you could get cool little ones that don't need folding etc it may have been different...LOL...
I just remember these HUGE nappies on tiny babies....they looked like they couldn't move if they tried!:D
I'm going to check out some websites right now and maybe start buying some weekly........I have been told they are pricey though....is that true? With 2 babes under 2 the purse strings need to tighten!

Trish 29
DH 31
Cooper 17m

16-01-2006, 15:16
I have been told they are pricey though....is that true? With 2 babes under 2 the purse strings need to tighten!

They may seem a little expensive but you must consider how many times you can use the nappies! again and again and again, and then when your finished with them you can sell them! It might sound like alot of money to begin with but in the long run you save heaps of $$$$$$$$$$$$$:)

16-01-2006, 15:20
Now.. how long can you leave them in the bucket for? We mostly use disposable, so we might only use one or two cloth nappies a day, so it takes a while to work up to a washing machine load. I don't want them to go mouldy.

I wash every second day, but i'm lazy & do everything together :o No seperate colours etc, unless there is more than one load to do.

RB

Mor
16-01-2006, 16:38
re. cost I posted here: http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=116631#post116631 about the cost savings of cloth recently. There is a variable upfront cost, but there are massive long term savings!

stilldreaming
16-01-2006, 17:23
Thanks for that.....I will have a look at that post now. I suppose if I start buying some now (22 weeks preg) it won't seem so costly. I will also have a look on ebay etc.
Thanks again:D

Trish 29
DH 31
Cooper 17m

H&B'sMum
16-01-2006, 18:09
Good luck Trish and welcome to the addictation!!!!!!!!!!:D

stilldreaming
16-01-2006, 19:26
Haha thanks just what I need....another addiction!! :D

Trish 29
DH 31
Cooper 17m

cosmic
16-01-2006, 19:26
Trish, I have been picking up a few here and there as I go along.. along with some terry and flannel squares from Target and it doesn't take long to build up a nice little collection. :)

16-01-2006, 21:55
Yep try ebay thats where ive been getting mine so i can work out what suits bubs best that way i can then go wild on what i really need & want :D

Mor
17-01-2006, 06:33
Ebay CAN be good, but do be careful, as the high quality nappies made and sold by WAHMs are not put up there much anymore. If in doubt, check in here and ask someone for a review, chances are someone will be able to advise you on the nappy.

Also keep in mind that if you buy 4 fitted nappies off Ebay from different sellers, you pay postage 4 times... you might be able to save more money getting them from a seller like:
www.darlingsdownunder.com.au or
www.theweeewuns.au.com

H&B'sMum
17-01-2006, 06:41
Also on ebay make sure you don't get into a bidding war and end up paying more than you would from teh wahm in the first place.

stilldreaming
19-01-2006, 14:12
Thanks for the advice girls.....there seems to be a big selection out there. Do any of you have any absolute faves? I might have to cheat.......

Trish 29
DH 31
Cooper 17m
#2 EDD 23/5/06

the_queen
19-01-2006, 15:48
I haven't bought any clothies yet (I've been trying to find the best value for money, best quality, most environmentally friendly and Australian made.... geez I'm easy to please hey!!) I just found this website the other day http://greenbums.com.au/ and have read on here (and other forums) that these nappies are fantastic. And I cannot beleive the price!! Compared to other sites I've looked at, I mean. I was getting ready to pay between $20-$30 per nappy, but greenbums start at about $10!!

Anyway, I haven't bought any off this site yet (next week is payday ;) I'm starting then! 2 a fortnight will fit in my budget) so don't take my word as gospel, but from the looks of the website, they look pretty good!

And I'm sure some wise woman on here has got some greenbums - somebody back me up here?? :D

waawa
19-01-2006, 16:12
Do post reviews once you get them. I may be a bit conservative, but I tend to buy from WAHMs who I know are getting great reviews for both product and customer service, and who participate in the community; but someone's got to try the less well-known WAHMs out! Would love to hear what they're like.

For what it's worth, ten dollars for a newborn nappy is not out of the ordinary; for one example, right now, Cherub's Kiss (no WAHM has better reviews than Lesley!) is selling newborn fitteds for $30 per 3-pack. Also check out Snappi nappies (from Weewuns) and all the various fitted options linked from ozclothnappies.org and modernnappies.org .

Lara

the_queen
19-01-2006, 17:44
Thanks Lara! I hadn't seen the Cherubs Kiss ones, and they are GORGEOUS!! As well as reasonably priced!

Can I ask all you wise ladies a question: The AIO's are like washable sposies, IYKWIM, yeah? IE they just go on as is, no cover/pilchers required, no stuffing with pads required? And I wash them as they are? IE no taking them apart etc?

And have I got this right - a pocket nappy needs stuffing with something absorbant, but a normal fitted nappy doesn't? But both types need a cover?? And when you change the nappy, does the cover need changing every time as well? Or is it OK to use the same cover for a few nappy changes? When I used flats and pilchers for Vally, I'd change the pilchers every time I changed the nappy. I guess what I'm asking is, do I buy equal number of nappies and covers, or could I buy less covers?

I'm sure I will get the hang of it once I've bought some - but I don't want to spend the money on the wrong type for me, IYKWIM (LOL does anyone know what I mean:p ) I'm deciding whether to go for the AIO's or not.

I have read the info websites, really I have :o I just can't seem to get my head around it, and word-of-mouth is the best way to judge these things I think!!

TIA for your assistance :D

cosmic
19-01-2006, 18:03
Queenie, I can answer some of those questions...

AIOs don't need a cover - they are as they say All in One. But I have heard to steer clear as they can take a very long time to dry.

Pockets have a pocket that you can stuff as thick as you like (more for night time etc) so they are faster drying. They DON'T need a cover. They have a waterproof outer.

For standard fitteds (eg Baby beehinds) you can add extra boosters if you want (no pocket) and you need to put a cover over them.

I have heard that usually it's good to have 2 covers on the go at once, so each change, change the cover and let the other one air out till next change. Based on advice, I am planning to have about 4-6 covers in my stash - some PUL, some fleecy or wool. :)

And $10 for a nappy?? :eek: I've been paying too much!!!!!

H&B'sMum
19-01-2006, 19:18
You will need a cover if the nappy doesn't have PUL. Youc an get PUL covers, wool (soaker) covers or fleece.

My favs are:
Greens pocket.
Bitsforbots
and babybeehinds.

I have been testing for a friend who has just started her own nappy making business. It's called www.ittibitti.net/ The nappies are very trim and great for early walkers, skinny bubs and people who don't like the "fat bum" look. She has great fabrics and she is really nice to deal with. So have a look. I can confidently say that they are great nappies.

waawa
19-01-2006, 19:23
You will need a cover if the nappy doesn't have PUL.

You'll need a cover if the nappy doesn't have a water resistant outer layer, which may or may not be PUL :) Several very popular brands of pocket and AIO nappies have a fleece outer (Sandra's Stuffables, Green Nappies Dreamytimes, Honeyboys from Cherub's Kiss, Bubblebubs...)

There are also wool-outer almost-in-ones around.

Lara

19-01-2006, 20:15
When i use ebay i always have a limit & stick to it for starters as i think that is always a must tis amazing how feral people go over something even paying more than its worth !!!! :confused: But ive been trying to get some already used items to see whether i should invest in more of that style or brand IYKWIM & i always take into account the postage with my limit that way im not paying too much !!! Always the best when it comes to shopping on ebay.
Well i have a big load ok well not big just 5 on the way from Greens & im so excited i cant WAIT to get them hehehehe ! I was bouncing on the seat here when i got my invoice LOL !!!! Im easily amused heheh :o
Ive also been in contact with Sandra & she will be re-opening very soon so will advise me when i can buy some of hers to try out !
Im so glad that ive gotten some great advice off here has been awesome :D :D

LucyE
19-01-2006, 22:50
And have I got this right - a pocket nappy needs stuffing with something absorbant, but a normal fitted nappy doesn't?
Yes and no :) You can always add extra boosting to a normal fitted but it's not absolutely necessary.

But both types need a cover??
If it doesn't have a waterproof outer like fleece, PUL or wool, then it does. You can get pockets which don't need a cover too.

And when you change the nappy, does the cover need changing every time as well?
With a fitted nappy using a PUL cover, no I don't bother. I would use the same PUL all day and then toss into the nappy bucket. If it is a wool cover, I would alternate so that it can breathe. If you are using a pocket, I would change the whole lot each change.

do I buy equal number of nappies and covers, or could I buy less covers?
Using fitteds, you can have less covers than nappies.

the_queen
20-01-2006, 08:19
:D :D :D Thanks you guys!!!

One other question (you ladies are so wise!) (And this may well be a stupid question) Does the wetness come through the cover? I know you say "waterproof" but I can't reconcile that with "wool".... maybe I'm just thinking of the woollen pilchers I already have - they're not like that, are they?

The main reason I ask is, I'm planning on slinging bubs a lot - will the wetness come through the nappy and onto the sling? Should I be buying more than one sling?? (LOL someone pleeease say yes, that way I can tell my husband I simply HAVE to get both of the patterns I'm currently in love with :p )

LucyE
20-01-2006, 23:55
No question is stupid :)

Does the wetness come through the cover? I know you say "waterproof" but I can't reconcile that with "wool"
No, the purpose of the cover is to prevent wetness coming through. Covers made of PUL would be the best at preventing wetness and compression leaks but you compromise on breathability (although PUL is breathable and much better than something like PVC).

Wool isn't 'waterproof' per se but water resistant. It's a wonderful fibre which will absorb moisture and then slowly allow it to evaporate thereby cooling the nappy region. To get it to work as a cover though, you will need to lanolise it first. It's a very simple process of soaking the cover in some dissolved lanolin (I use Lansinoh sp??), I spin dry in my washing machine and then dry it on an airing rack. It has a slight greasy feel which is what makes it work.

Some people find that with fleece and wool covers when bub is in one position for a long period of time (like in a sling or carseat) that they may get compression leaks. I've not had this problem but then I've always made sure the nappy itself was suitably boosted. Compression leaks usually occur when the nappy is very wet and the moisture has nowhere else to go but through the cover.

21-01-2006, 01:10
Ok i get that but ok here is me being stupid/dense what about wicking ?
I mean i keep reading about being careful with wicking now obviously the wool cover will prevent but if it does become too wet wouldnt the leaks them be drawn to the sling ?
Maybe im just being silly or im just really confused about the whole wicking thing :o

LucyE
21-01-2006, 09:19
Wicking usually occurs if you have a bit of wet nappy in contact with an absorbant material eg. the cover isn't on properly and the nappy is touching part of the clothing; or you have a cover that has an absorbant binding (like a Tots PUL); or you have a cotton PUL cover.

Once the nappy is very wet and the moisture has no where else to go, it will kinda seek out the path of least resistance. So long as you have a suitably absorbant nappy for your needs, and the cover is put on correctly, you shouldn't have issues with wicking or leaking.

When I'm going out or plan on slinging DS, I just add an extra booster so have not had any compression leak issues with wool covers. It's really a case of trial and error to find the best system for you. I have a heavy wetter so have always needed super absorbant nappies, while someone else may only need half the boosting that I do.

the_queen
21-01-2006, 09:27
Thanks Lucy! This is my main problem, the thought that I'll having him/her in the sling and suddenly I feel this wet patch on me.... Like you say, I guess it's just trial and error, and I'll have to wait and see what sort of wee-er my bubs is!
I'm thinking of getting mostly pocket ones, but get a few AIO's for going out etc. Everyone is right - this whole experience is getting very addictive!!
It's been decided in our house that while I get to choose the brand and type of nappies, VALLERIE gets to choose the design LOL:D so far she's choosing the pink ones, the ones with love-hearts, more pink ones, purple ones, baby yellow ones, etc etc.... I want to choose red, and navy, and orange, and dark purple, etc etc, so it's all a bit "gender non-specific" but ohhhh no, my little Princess wants to dress "her" baby in "stylish" nappies LOL..... I guess it doesn't matter that much, and the only problem really will be other people saying "why is your baby boy wearing a pink nappy??" so I think I'll have to come up with some witty responses to that one!!:D

21-01-2006, 14:51
LucyE - Ok thanks for that ive got it into my thick head now hehehe. I really appreciate your advice ! I also have a really heavy wetter so have been really daunted by the fear of leaks & wicking.

the_queen - Tell them that " pink is the new black ! DER ! " LOL !!!!
I mean cmon look at how this summer saw the return of pink shirts & polo tops for guys as well as little boys ! Tell them your just being "cool" :cool:

SixtiesChild
24-01-2006, 20:32
I've been reading this thread with great interest and was wondering where I could buy some pul fabric? - To make a pul bag. :confused:
I've asked the staff at spotlight but they've never heard of it.
I'm hoping that someone will know.

24-01-2006, 20:41
I've been reading this thread with great interest and was wondering where I could buy some pul fabric? - To make a pul bag. :confused:
I've asked the staff at spotlight but they've never heard of it.
I'm hoping that someone will know.

Try ebay :D they often have loads just remember to watch where your buying it from as its usually sold from the U.S so the postage is horrible another option would be to try a few of the SAHM's who make the pocket nappies they may be willing to sell you some :D

tickle
24-01-2006, 20:49
Have you tried here?
http://www.nappycino.com/
They have loads of listings of nappy making material suppliers.:)

waawa
24-01-2006, 20:49
where I could buy some pul fabric?

Someone slap me around if I'm sounding like a broken record, but this is such a FAQ that we've put it in the FAQ :D I hope this helps:

http://www.ozclothnappies.org/info.html#pul

http://www.ozclothnappies.org/links.html#sewing

Enjoy your sewing!

Lara