View Full Version : 8 Month Feeding Pattern?
lil monkey
20-10-2005, 11:00
HI all,
Tayla is just over 8 months but I still can't get her feeding right between bottles and solids - well puree actually as she gags on anything still that has bits in it!
So, what feeding routine do you or did you have for your 8/9 month old and what foods did you give?
Help!
Jacks just short of 8 months and this is a basic day for us- a rough estimate of times
Wake 4.30am ggrrr bottle about 120mls
Bfast 6.30am 2 tablespoons apple + 1 tablespoon plain yoghurt + 1 tablespoon cereal to thicken it up. I dont give alot of cereal as it clogs him up. He will usually eat most of this. Then a piece of toast with vegemite- bout half of this is actually eaten rest is fed to dog.
Bottle 8.30am about 70mls (he is a HUGE drinker, not)
Bottle 11.30am about 100mls
Lunch when i have mine, usually vege sandwich to be mushed up, rubbed in hair etc etc. I dont think he is really hungry at lunch so stopped trying to pump veges into him.
Bottle 2pm about 100mls (then a big 2 hour sleep, a new thing for him but i am loving it)
Bottle 4pm about 120mls
Dinner 5.30pm. I struggle to get him to eat veges. He will only eat all the orange veges- pumpkin, sweet potato, carrot. I sneak in parsnip and peas. Also cottage cheese or cheese or plain yoghurt. He will eat about 1 to2 tablespoon then start to gag to tell me enough mum. Then more apples/pears with yoghurt 1 to 2 tablespoons.
We are trying to keep him awake a little later and have started putting the high chair at our table when we eat. We give him something off our plates to try. He seems to prefer chunks to gnaw on over lumpy puree? He is a champion gagger.
Other finger foods are bits of orange, chunk of cheese (robin barker says only give them grated but this gets sprinkled everywhere instead. if its a chunk he actually eats it). I give chicken tenderloins broiled in chunks.
He definitely has a sweet tooth so i avoid giving him straight apples/pears and have stopped buying baby yoghurt and just get plain yoghurt.
My other secret is to put a bit of apple through anything and he eats it. Kind of gross but he even ate tuna and pasta the other night, i figure i will just add less and less apple until its just the other food??
Sorry if i have rambled
lil monkey
20-10-2005, 11:54
No you have helped. I put apple or pear puree through her savoury stuff too or else she won't eat it!
I have tried her with toast but it sorta sits on the back of her tongue and she starts choking on it so that stopped but she east 2 mil arrowroot bikkies a day now and LOVES those but it goes everywhere but it keeps her amused for 20 minutes.
Tried the chicken tenderloans but that went on the floor very wuickly - anything in chunks she doens't care for.
She's a fussy bugger!
This is my DD's feed routine,she's 8 months.We are breastfeeding so don't know if this helps?
Approximate times only...
7am Breastfeed
then about 20 mins later she has 4 tablespoons of either banana rice cereal or baby porridge,and some fruit.
11am Breastfeed
then about 1/2 hr later for lunch she has baked beans and toast or finger food fruit,or baby yoghurt,or custard.
3pm breastfeed
7pm breastfeed,then four cubes of veges (that I've made and froze) and either chicken or lamb,and then usually has a baby yoghurt for dessert.
I give water with each meal too,and between feeds if she wants it.
She isn't really interested with snacks between meals yet.
I'm glad i am not alone with the mixing fruit through savoury! A mum at playgroup also does it so i dont feel so bad about it, but tuna and apple- yick, weird taste buds these babies!
I found with the toast/sandwich he gagged at first but i kept on giving it and now every second or third bit gets swallowed.
Fingerfood is all good and well but geez the mess is unbelievable. Our dog sits under the highchair and waits for food parcels to drop. Bub is clicking on to it and hands him food now.... and arrowroot bikkies, they almost require a clothes change after one of them, bring on summer for the nappy n singlet!
My little one is 8 months this week (woo hoo):
5am breast
9am brekky - mixed cereal and pureed fruit, drink of water
10am breast
12pm lunch - vegies & chicken, drink of water, perhaps yoghurt/custard/fruit if still hungry
2pm bresat
5pm dinner - vegies & meat, drink of water, perhaps yoghurt/custard/fruit if still hungry
6pm breast
He does sometimes have a munch or sip of whatever I'm having though. Very adventurous fellow. He managed to take a swipe of cake batter today - very crafty indeed.
Has anyone else found that when their bubs eat toast, that they get a glob of it stuck in the roof of their mouth?
Hi there - DS is closer to 9 months but I I remember that 8 month mark was quite a fussy time - he too gagged on chunkier bits and would not vegies unless mushed in with apple or pear or avocado!
Our routine has been buch better since we have swapped to putting food first - and then bottle (except the early morn bottle)
6-6:30 Bottle feed 250ml
7:30ish (or 1 hour after bottle) Brekky - some baby meusli and fruit and then some vegemite toast - that like others - the dog ends up with alot of - but some goes in and he seems to like it.
1140ish Lunch - meat and 3 veg of some description ( pureed beyond recognition) or yoghurt - ricotta and something
12:30 Bottle - 200ml
2:00avo tea - if awake - melon or whatever I have in the way of fruit mush or alternately a rusk or arrowroot bickie
5:00 Dinner - - if I didn't give him meat at lunch he gets meat and veg for din dins or pasta and avocado or basically whatever we had the might before in a mushed form
6:30 Bottle 250ml and BEDDIE BYES!!
Its all so trieal and error - one week it works - the next it doesn't! I think just be flexible and keep offering :)
Has anyone else found that when their bubs eat toast, that they get a glob of it stuck in the roof of their mouth?
Oh yes !!- I think my DS is saving it for "ron". :cool: