View Full Version : SA Country Mums

M O P
21-11-2006, 08:01
I don't think there are many of us on BH but could we have a roll call?

the_queen
30-11-2006, 15:49
I'm in the Upper South East :D

doin'mybest
11-12-2006, 10:51
:wave: I'm in the north.

M O P
11-12-2006, 12:32
I don't think there are many of us on BH
ok-so I wasn't lying!
I think there's one more in the South East but I haven't seen her for a little while.

doin'mybest
12-12-2006, 10:54
Looks like we're definately a minority group on BH Kazza!

five
13-12-2006, 19:16
The one is the South East would be me :wave:

Mount Gambier to be exact :D

M O P
13-12-2006, 20:21
Hi 5 (sorry that wasn't meant to be a pun!)
There is actually another mum in the SE,
I can't remember her user name. She has a little girl and is TTC I think.

Sharlee
18-12-2006, 19:20
I have been here for ages and ages. I live in Mt Gambier too!

Hi Five, I know you :wave:

Squiggles
19-12-2006, 11:48
Just found this thread..

Im in the Mid Murray :wave:

doin'mybest
19-12-2006, 15:21
:wave: Hi. Nice to see some more south aussies around!

Mala
21-03-2007, 20:41
I'm in the Mid North.
We're definitely a minority round here!!

mellyg
23-03-2007, 20:13
Hey there, I am new to bub hub and in the mid murray.. Not sure what I am doing yet but am trying to work it all out..:yelclap:

Squiggles
24-03-2007, 10:27
Hey there, I am new to bub hub and in the mid murray.. Not sure what I am doing yet but am trying to work it all out..:yelclap:

Hi Mellyg... Im in the mid murray too!! Im from Tungkillo

doin'mybest
24-03-2007, 13:35
:wave: Hi Mala and Mellyg.

Looks like there is a few SA Mums around after all!

fairywings
12-04-2007, 17:16
I'm from the Eyre Peninsula :thumbsup:

I think I know Sharlee too :wave:

TracieP
28-04-2007, 23:13

I am from the Eyre Peninsula too. Posted a thread last year for any mum's from this area. But had no replys. I'm in Pt. Lincoln

kelbel
14-05-2007, 09:01
Hiya,
I am from the South East too!
Millicent!
Would love to join in!

Sharlee
30-05-2007, 19:16

Hi FairyWings, now you have be puzzled :confused:

Have I met you? :smiliedance:

cheezelz
19-06-2007, 06:32
Im from Salisbury East in Adelaide but an spending the next 6 months away with hubby in Paringa near Renmark.

I am so lonely!!! Anyone out in my neck of the woods????:hugs:

cookiesa
21-06-2007, 11:38
In Whyalla, Eyre Peninsula... Do I still count LOL

Sorry now in Hallett Cove

tinania
02-07-2007, 00:05
Heya, I'm from country SA as well :) On the Spencer Gulf.
Just joined the forum tonight.

M O P
02-07-2007, 08:47
welcome Tinania-
not long for you to go now!

tinania
02-07-2007, 12:00
Thank you ^^
Yeah, I know :S Any day now, lol. And I'm not ready yet!

alarna mae
07-07-2007, 08:37
hey im kinda from near gawler...also victor harbor (i go there lots to see mum and dad)
id love to meet some email pals from country s.a and eventually make an excuse to drive and see you....

cheezelz
16-07-2007, 12:05
Im up on Renmark till the end of the year with hubbys work. So I guess thats the Riverland?

larazie
01-08-2007, 17:42
Hey there:wave:

Im from Lower south east...Mt Gambier too.
But im only ttc#1 (9months now)

PM me ladies if u like.

missie_mack
01-08-2007, 17:53
I am so lonely!!! Anyone out in my neck of the woods????:hugs:

Im up on Renmark till the end of the year with hubbys work. So I guess thats the Riverland?

Hi Cheezelz :wave: I'm on the Vic/SA border probably more Victoria but every other town is soooo far away. Renmark is only about 45 mins away. I too am here with my hubbys work. Life in these towns really is hard to get use to after city life for me (we are from Sydney way)

twolittlegirls
01-08-2007, 20:59
I'm in the country, I'm from Naracoorte!

LoveMyBoys
11-08-2007, 17:15
Im Liv, 23y.o mum to 4 boys and im from Mt Gambier :wave:

cheezelz
11-08-2007, 18:28
Hey missie_mack I only just read this thread. I didnt expect anyone from my neck of the woods to be on here. I knwo what you mean about country life after living in the big smoke. Renmark is ok though and we have Berri & Loxton close by. Ive been to Mildura a few times. I needed a fix of a normal, not country Target so went for a drive. Are you up here permanently? Have you been going to any mothers groups or activities up here.
Hope to speak soon.:wave:

becca022
12-08-2007, 19:23
:wave: Im in Port Pirie. Good to see so many people in the same region. :yelclap:

chloekat
25-08-2007, 19:32
Hey guys my name is chloe and i just joined not long ago and this is my first post. I live in the Barossa Valley and am 39 weeks pregnant with my first, a little boy! Does anyone live in this area? i find it hard to chat to mums from this area as its not that big, im in Tanunda which isnt far from Nurioopta and Angaston and bout 20 min from gawler. anyways just thought id say hi :wave:

Take care everyone!

*chloe

nugglyboysmum
04-09-2007, 23:57
oh my goodness, i can't believe how many of us there are in the lower south east! i am in Mount Gambier too. i am a SAHM to Archie who is 16 months old, we are ttc#2 but not telling anyone IRL as we expect ttc to take a while and don't want the extra pressure of people asking us if we re pg yet IYKWIM. I look forward to getting to know you all, feel free to pm me or email.

fairywings
12-09-2007, 15:13
Hi FairyWings, now you have be puzzled :confused:

Have I met you? :smiliedance:

:laughing: We haven't met... but I chat on msn to you!! You know my MIL:hair: . Not that You nor I are impressed about knowing her! lmao.

jomumoftwins
20-09-2007, 13:56
Hi Chloekat just thought i'd say Hi and that soon we're moving to Two Wells so we'll be a bit closer and maybe able to meet up soon.
Jo

Taniad
03-10-2007, 09:33
Hi my name is Tania and I am also from the South East. I have a gorgeous girl named Chloe is 7 months old.

mellyg
11-10-2007, 15:56
Ooooh I have not checked this one in a while as I thought there would not be anyone near me.. But from what I can see we could almost have a bubhub meet with about four girls there.. I am in keyneton, which is 5 mins from Angaston.. So that means that chloekat - Barossa, andjo - two wells, squggles - tungkillo, alarna mae - near gawler and myself - near Angaston.. Oh thats 5.. I am going to PM everyone and see if we could meet up one day soon..

mummynow
15-10-2007, 17:29
Hi :wave: I just joined bub hub earlier this week so this is all very new to me. DH and I have just bought a block of land at Glencoe just out of Mt Gambier on the way to Millicent. We won't be able to move until sometime next year as we are inthe process of finalising a building contract for a transportable home. They estimate upto 9 months approx to being able to move in.

Currently we live in metro Adelaide at Wynn Vale near Golden Grove and Tea Tree Plaza etc. We have 1 DD aged 2 and a half. We were TTC for 20 months with her and so in Dec 2005 when she was only 9 months old started TTC again. No we didn't want another one straight away - we were banking on it taking upto 2 years again to conceive. We have just completed our first cycle of IVF and I am in the 2WW after my embryo transfer last sat 13/10. I just have to wait til 31/10 for a blood test :fingerscrossed: for :bfp: or my next AF to start :thumbsdown: .

Anyway just read thru this thread and was excited to hear how many of you are in the South East. I really look forward to getting to know you so when we move I already have some friends :smiliedance: . We are travelling back and forth a fair bit at the moment while we sign paperwork, meet builders and suss out kindys etc.

Looking forward to chatting!!

mummynow
15-10-2007, 17:30
Hi :wave: I just joined bub hub earlier this week so this is all very new to me. DH and I have just bought a block of land at Glencoe just out of Mt Gambier on the way to Millicent. We won't be able to move until sometime next year as we are inthe process of finalising a building contract for a transportable home. They estimate upto 9 months approx to being able to move in.

Currently we live in metro Adelaide at Wynn Vale near Golden Grove and Tea Tree Plaza etc. We have 1 DD aged 2 and a half. We were TTC for 20 months with her and so in Dec 2005 when she was only 9 months old started TTC again. No we didn't want another one straight away - we were banking on it taking upto 2 years again to conceive. We have just completed our first cycle of IVF and I am in the 2WW after my embryo transfer last sat 13/10. I just have to wait til 31/10 for a blood test :fingerscrossed: for :bfp: or my next AF to start :thumbsdown: .

Anyway just read thru this thread and was excited to hear how many of you are in the South East. I really look forward to getting to know you so when we move I already have some friends :smiliedance: . We are travelling back and forth a fair bit at the moment while we sign paperwork, meet builders and suss out kindys etc.

Looking forward to chatting!!

moonblossom
15-10-2007, 19:13
Gawler here...WHOO HOOO...still classed as country i think LOL

mellyg
16-10-2007, 10:23
:wave: Mummynow, I hope that you get the results you are after.. I really feel for women who have to go through so much to get a child... :babydust2: Sending lots of babydust your way..

:wave: moonblossom.. I am organising to meet up with andjo once she is setteled into two wells, would you be intersested as I was thinking Gawler might be a good place for us to go?? Wont be for a few weeks yet.. PM me if you want to anyway..

And anyone else in the area thats interested in meeting some bubhub mummies..

alisando01
24-10-2007, 22:30
McLaren Flat for me. I Dont have public transport for 10 ks so i must b country. I kind of border outer suburbia tho. any1 round my way? don't know many mum's here and still travel back 2 our old suburb 4 playgroup. I also live on a vineyard. we rent the old farmhouse and our driveway is 500m long.

mellyg
25-10-2007, 14:52
:wave: Hi there Ali.. Well I didnt even realise that we lived in the same state as each other.. You dont get too many from SA on here.. We should meet up in the city one day once we are a bit more aquainted.. Anyhow, see you on the SAHM thread..

cheezelz
25-10-2007, 15:02
:wave: Mummynow, I hope that you get the results you are after.. I really feel for women who have to go through so much to get a child... :babydust2: Sending lots of babydust your way..

:wave: moonblossom.. I am organising to meet up with andjo once she is setteled into two wells, would you be intersested as I was thinking Gawler might be a good place for us to go?? Wont be for a few weeks yet.. PM me if you want to anyway..

And anyone else in the area thats interested in meeting some bubhub mummies..

Hey Mellyg

Im from Salsibury East. I used to live accross the road form andjo before she moved so we are pretty great friends. Id love to catch up too if thats ok. I just need a bit of notice because Im in renmark at the moment with my DH work. I come back to Adelaide every few weeks but if I have nitice I can get back for a catch up. Just PM the details.

Lisa

mellyg
26-10-2007, 09:58
:thumbsup: That sounds great cheezelz as I have not met anyone on bubhub yet so the more the merrier I say.. Once we hear from andjo when she is settled we might leave the date up to you then so it will be more suitable for you!!

cheezelz
26-10-2007, 10:12
:thumbsup: That sounds great cheezelz as I have not met anyone on bubhub yet so the more the merrier I say.. Once we hear from andjo when she is settled we might leave the date up to you then so it will be more suitable for you!!

I heard from andjo yesterday so I know she is up and running again after the move. Maybe I will drop her a line and let her know there are people after her to catch up.

jomumoftwins
26-10-2007, 12:53
Hi yes I'm back but not to full strength yet, tomorrow it's the twins 2nd birthday and in a couple of weeks it's my 30th so still really busy. Maybe we could organise a meet up after November 10th in Gawler somewhere or I'm happy to have people meet up at mine in Two Wells.it's up to everyone else! I've already hosted a few meetings at my old house with people from another forum and they were great so I'm not fussed, sometimes easier with twins to meet somewhere where they won't run off from me. Thanks everyone.

Jo

mellyg
26-10-2007, 14:26
Hi yes I'm back but not to full strength yet, tomorrow it's the twins 2nd birthday and in a couple of weeks it's my 30th so still really busy. Maybe we could organise a meet up after November 10th in Gawler somewhere or I'm happy to have people meet up at mine in Two Wells.it's up to everyone else! I've already hosted a few meetings at my old house with people from another forum and they were great so I'm not fussed, sometimes easier with twins to meet somewhere where they won't run off from me. Thanks everyone.

Jo

Sounds great Jo.. How about you and Cheezelz work out what is going to work best for you girls eg dates for cheezelz and whats easier for you and give me a PM and I will be sure to be there:thumbsup: Happy birthday for the twins tomorrow and yourself too..

jomumoftwins
12-11-2007, 14:25
Just thought I'd let you know that I'm ready anytime for a catch up around the Gawler area! I will speak to cheezelz and see if she's still interested, she's only just moved back from riverland and has no computer up and running. Will let you know more soon.
Jo

alarna mae
05-12-2007, 07:34
hey ill meet up at gawler. im limited to train and bus atm my car isnt here but id love to meet some bubhub mummys and some country mums at that (so far havnt got along to well with city people)
pm me when you organise something

La Que Sabe
19-01-2008, 09:16
i'm in the adelaide hills.
country enough...? =]

anne38
20-01-2008, 08:19

This is the first time i have posted so a bit unsure of what to do. Im a fairly new mum to a beautiful baby boy - born 17/8/07. I live in Mount Gambier. If there is anyone from there id be happy to chat.:goodvibes:

mummynow
20-01-2008, 09:32

This is the first time i have posted so a bit unsure of what to do. Im a fairly new mum to a beautiful baby boy - born 17/8/07. I live in Mount Gambier. If there is anyone from there id be happy to chat.:goodvibes:

Hi anne38 & Welcome!! My DH and I are currently in the process of building a house at Glencoe! Unfortuneatley we still live in Adelaide until probably July or August when the house will be ready for us to move in. We were just down in the Mount from Jan 2nd-7th. I sooo love it down there :D We have 1 DD who will be 3 in March and are still TTC a second bubby.

There are quite a few other mums on here from Mount Gambier and surrounding areas. I have spoken to them in the past but as I am still in Adelaide I have been really slack and not remained in contact with them. With any luck they may re-surface on this thread now that you have put up your new post :yes:

I'm happy to chat with you as when we move I am not going to know anyone down there :(

anne38
20-01-2008, 10:00
Hi mummynow :wave:

Thankyou for the quick reply to my post! Ive been in Mount Gambier for just over 2 years so still settling in. Glencoe is a nice area. Do you have family down here or just moving to the area? Apart from my baby i also have a 16 yo daughter & 2 step children so life is pretty hectic atm. Look forward to hearing back from you. I will hopefully be online later today.

A

mummynow
21-01-2008, 09:36
Hi mummynow

Ive been in Mount Gambier for just over 2 years so still settling in. Do you have family down here or just moving to the area? Apart from my baby i also have a 16 yo daughter & 2 step children so life is pretty hectic atm.
A

Hi again

Where did you move from before you were in Mount Gambier? And what bought you there?

No I don't have any family down there. We have researched places to move (in SA) for years now. Been looking into employment opportunities and affordable real estate costs. Lifestyle, climate, schooling, hospital etc. Some places were beautiful but came up dud in alot of our criteria.
Mount Gmabier has it all :smiliedance:. I used to go there every year with my parents as a child and teenager at Easter so I knew what it was like and knew it gets really cold in winter. Since then I have been down at many different time of the year so have an idea on the weather.

My parents are considering moving down too. They may end up near us or in Mount Gambier or Millicent. Completely up in the air though. ALso DH's sister and her DH live in New Zealand and they have been considering moving to Asutralia for years now. They came over for Christmas and stayed with us for 3 weeks. We took them down there and they loved it. THey even looked at some houses and land so now they have gone home to look into it a bit deeper and may also move over and down near us somewhere :thumbsup:

So where are you? are you actually in Mount Gambier or on the outskirts (N,S,E,W?)

anne38
21-01-2008, 10:33

We live right in Mount Gambier, not too far from the blue lake. We are planning on renovating our house this year as we need a bit more space. We will probably move out while its being done so will need to rent somewhere for a while. I moved here from Portland to be with my partner. Its only one hour away just over the vic boarder so not too far to visit family & friends, i try to get over there every 2-3 weeks. There definately is plenty of work down here. My daughter started fulltime work about 6 weeks ago. Do you have jobs to go to or will look for work once you are here?

mummynow
21-01-2008, 10:48
Initially we were looking for jobs over the past few months as we thought it might take a while to get some. But then we found too many suitable opportunities and realised if either of us got a job too soon then we would be in a sticky situation as our rental contract here doesn't run out til August and we have nowhere to live down there either.

So we decided to hang back on that til around June or so. Once we know the house is only weeks away. DH will probably end up back in the mills or possibly transport or forklift/stores work at some depot somewhere. He knows he may have to just get a job to get down there then look around for something he really wants to do once we've settled in. I'm not sure what I'm going to do just yet. I probably need to work. I just started working very part time to help with a few expenses. DD is going to be 3 in March but we have been trying for another baby for over 2 years now. We are curretnly undergoing IVF with the Flinders Medical Centre. All this makes it hard to go back to my normal full time work because of appt's and the risk that just when I get my teeth back into my work I might fall pregnant again.

I may end up back in admin down there or might consider retail depending what it is or for a change I was talking to a Mum at the Glencoe kindy and she reckons she does seasonal picking. She reckons she does 2 or 3 different seasons a year (cherries, potatoes and apples I think) which gives her 9 months a year good pay then she has 3 or 4 months off.
So really don't know yet as circumstances keep changing on me.

What is your daughter doing full time? And I assume you too are a SAHM for now due to the little bubs?

Actually to change the subject, what's Protland like? My SIL and her DH were trying to consider a broader region but within approx a 2 hour radius of us. A drivable distance to visit etc. And how long wold you say it takes to drive from Mt Gambier to Warrnambool? And have you been there? If so what's that like?

M O P
21-01-2008, 12:38

I'm not near you but welcome to BH
I have a daughter born 08.08.07

anne38
21-01-2008, 20:43

Portlands a lovely place although very windy and a little bit cooler in temp to Mount Gambier. Its just over an hours drive from here, warrnambool is 2 hours from here. I spent my first few years in warrnambool then moved to Portland. Warrnambools about the size of mount gambier. The shopping is really good there, heaps better than here.

My daugher has a job on a dairy farm as a 'milk harvester' which she loves. Shes a real girly girl so its that last job i would have thought she would like! But she loves it which is great and shes happy so thats the main thing. Im hoping she will go back to school and finish year 12 at some stage but its up to her.

I will probably stay at home for the rest of this year at least. I may go do some study next year, not sure what yet. Im enjoying being at home with my baby so will just wait and see.

Are you able to continue with IVF down here?

anne38
21-01-2008, 20:50
I'm not near you but welcome to BH
I have a daughter born 08.08.07
Hi:wave:
Thankyou!!
Its a very cute age, lots of smiles etc

M O P
21-01-2008, 21:40
Thankyou!!
Its a very cute age, lots of smiles etc
I'm lucky this time as Pearl is very smiley-
my son Hugh liked to frown!

Pearl is so close to crawling,
not sure if I'm ready for 1 child to be running around and the other crawling around just yet!

anne38
22-01-2008, 08:08
I'm lucky this time as Pearl is very smiley-
my son Hugh liked to frown!

Pearl is so close to crawling,
not sure if I'm ready for 1 child to be running around and the other crawling around just yet!

Thats early to be crawling, Riley doesnt like being on his tummy so i dont think he will crawl for ages. My daughter didnt crawl at all, she didnt walk until she was 13 months but she made up for it in the talking department!

mummynow
22-01-2008, 09:25
My DD was up on her feet around 8 weeks old. You know when you hold them on your lap and they won't bend their legs? That sort of thing. She never seemed to want to sit! So everyone was like "She'll be walkking by her first birthday" :ecomcity:

Well she didn't even crawl til she was 9 months old!! And then to top it off she started standing up in the middle of the room unsupported not long after and walking around the room holding onto furniture etc. But even though she could just stand up in the middle of the room, she would then cry as she didn't know how to get back down. She would walk if you held her hand but she refused to take her first step on her own until she was 16 months old!

mummynow
22-01-2008, 09:30
Are you able to continue with IVF down here?

Well, I'm working on the theory that I won't need too. You know, the power of positive thought and all that.... I will be pregnant before we move!!

But as far as I know there are ways to do it down there as a certain specialist visits at certain times. But because we are working with my body cycles that can be messy. So without looking into it too seriously I have heard from others that it will probably be easier to stick with the hospital here and just come back as required. They do things slightly differently for patients who have to come so far that limits how many trips you have to make. So I don't really know what will happen yet. Trying not to think that far ahead :laughing:

anne38
22-01-2008, 18:24
Well, I'm working on the theory that I won't need too. You know, the power of positive thought and all that.... I will be pregnant before we move!!

But as far as I know there are ways to do it down there as a certain specialist visits at certain times. But because we are working with my body cycles that can be messy. So without looking into it too seriously I have heard from others that it will probably be easier to stick with the hospital here and just come back as required. They do things slightly differently for patients who have to come so far that limits how many trips you have to make. So I don't really know what will happen yet. Trying not to think that far ahead :laughing:

I really hope that it all works out for you :fingerscrossed:.

Id like another baby down the track, my partner thinks we have out hands full now as it is which is probably true. Id just really like Riley to have a sibling close in age to him so will wait and see but i couldnt leave it too much longer as im 38, turning 39 this year.

Its miserable weather down here today, a bit cold & windy:gloomy: but its ment to be warm by the weekend. Are you doing anything for the long weekend?

M O P
23-01-2008, 07:27
:fingerscrossed: & baby dust Mummynow :goodvibes:

If you do need to be travelling to Adelaide though for specialist treatment there is PATS-
which is a Govt travel scheme where they reimburse you for most of your travel costs and accommodation if required.
I didn't worry about it when I had Hugh as I thought it was all too hard, too much paper work etc but went to the effort when I had Pearl and it really helped.

mummynow
23-01-2008, 09:02
If you do need to be travelling to Adelaide though for specialist treatment there is PATS-
which is a Govt travel scheme where they reimburse you for most of your travel costs and accommodation if required.

Gee thank for that info :) So where would I find out more about it? Which dept arranges it or something so I would know where to start if I ever had to apply? Or what does PATS stand for?

mummynow
23-01-2008, 09:07
Its miserable weather down here today, a bit cold & windy:gloomy: but its ment to be warm by the weekend. Are you doing anything for the long weekend?

I think for a while we will be happy to have cold windy weather after the hot dry weather in Adelaide for so long. I'm sure we'll get sick of it too over time though ;)

I have to work Saturday afternoon and then Sunday we are going with some friends and their family to a beach miles away at Aldinga or somewhere like that for a picnic, beach cricket, paddle if it's hot etc. Apparently it will take us nearly 2 hours to get there!! But sounds liek it will be fun. Then we are going back to our friends house after for a BBQ tea or something. They are at Sheidow Park so they are in they are roughly the half way mark between my house and that beach. Monday DH has to work so I will probably spend most of the day at my parents house.

How about you guys?

M O P
23-01-2008, 16:34
Gee thank for that info :) So where would I find out more about it? Which dept arranges it or something so I would know where to start if I ever had to apply? Or what does PATS stand for?
Patient Assistance Transport Scheme

it's the Department of Health ran

the central office in Adelaide is 08 8226 6550

:fingerscrossed: you won't even need to bother!

M O P
23-01-2008, 16:36
Australia Day Angus is playing cricket in Yunta-
it's north of the highway v south of the highway

alisando01
23-01-2008, 17:15
Alidinga is my neck of the woods! i am in mclaren flat. dh plays local footy 4 aldinga and my IL's live there! small world!

MummyNow-does your friend have a beach permit? if so then she can get 1 car onto the beach for free and there is a big carpark just near the beach ramp too so if u dont want to pay for the beach, just park in there. if it is 25 degrees or less u dont get charged.

M O P
24-01-2008, 10:30
Anne you should join Ali & myself in the Aug 07 mum's chat-
Ali, Carmen has started a new thread :)

I can't believe you have to pay to drive on the beach,
I've never heard of it before in SA.

anne38
24-01-2008, 15:34
Anne you should join Ali & myself in the Aug 07 mum's chat-

Hi, thanks, will definately try and get online long enough to chat, it would be good to compare notes etc... :)

Ali, Carmen has started a new thread :)

I can't believe you have to pay to drive on the beach,
I've never heard of it before in SA.
Hi, thanks, will definately try and get online long enough to chat, it would be good to compare notes etc... :)

mummynow
28-01-2008, 09:36
Alidinga is my neck of the woods! i am in mclaren flat. small world!

MummyNow-does your friend have a beach permit? if so then she can get 1 car onto the beach for free and there is a big carpark just near the beach ramp too so if u dont want to pay for the beach, just park in there. if it is 25 degrees or less u dont get charged.

Hi Alison :wave:

Well we had a great time down at that beach yesterday. Sharai's (Lea) family took there car down on the beach but the family was all set up with shade shelter and stuff about 20m from the end of that carpark you were talking about were the toilet block is. So we just parked right by the toilets and walked down the rocks and there they were! I didn't see the point in paying $5 to go down on the sand when they were just right there. Plus DH didn't want all the sand up under the car :thumbsdown:

But anyway it was agreat day, not too hot, not too cold, but oh so far away :laughing:

Even took DD into the shallows and got wet myself!

mummynow
28-01-2008, 09:40
Id like another baby down the track, my partner thinks we have out hands full now as it is which is probably true. Id just really like Riley to have a sibling close in age to him so will wait and see but i couldnt leave it too much longer as im 38, turning 39 this year.

Hi Anne :wave:

How's your long weekend going? Are you doing anything special? My DH had to work Saturday and today but we had a lovely day at the beach yesterday!

How's the weather down there? I have a good friend coming up from Kingston SE to stay over tomorrow. She has to pick her DH up from the airport Wednesday morning.

anne38
05-02-2008, 09:01

I havnt been able to get online lately for a few reasons. We forgot to pay our internet so were without it for a few days :( but all up and running again now. Also i was unwell for a few days, Riley has been cutting his first teeth so hasnst been sleeping much and has just been a bit off color.

Mummynow - we went for a drive sunday to Penola but ended up going a different was and went through Glencoe - i saw once house being built and wondered if it was yours. My partner told me his family had a farm at Glencoe for years and he went to primary school at kalangadoo.

Hope to chat soon :wave:

anne38
05-02-2008, 09:03
Mummynow - your little girl is very cute - your profile pic is nice too. I will put one of us up soon too.

mummynow
05-02-2008, 09:45
Mummynow - we went for a drive sunday to Penola but ended up going a different was and went through Glencoe - i saw once house being built and wondered if it was yours. My partner told me his family had a farm at Glencoe for years and he went to primary school at kalangadoo.
Hope to chat soon :wave:

Hi Anne - good to hear from you again! Sorry to hear you haven't been well.

It wouldn't be our house :( I wish! We are having a transportable built here in Adelaide then trucked down there. It should arrive mid July all going well. We are just up the road (walking distance) from the Glencoe Primary School so DD will likely go there. When your partner went to school there was probably still the 2 primary schools in Glencoe? They have amalgamated now and are called Glencoe Central Primary School.

We looked at a house across the road from Kalangadoo Primary. Even that school has been done up since you partner went there. It's really a decent size school for so few students! I was surprised :)

We bought our land at Glencoe from a farmer. Apparently he has a large land holding and has cattle (don't know what sort) and he is gradually selling off little bits here and there to people like us for a bit of money etc. So we just have a little pocket of land presumably at the edge of his property (unsure of the technical location in relation to his entire property).

We have an older single man who has bought a much smaller block immediately next door to us. He has build a one bedroom cottage by hand all by himself and has moved in. He is quite interesting actually... he has no electricity connected and is running off solar power only and instead of the normal septic system he has a worm composting farm thing set up. It's all council approved and sounds very environmentally friendly! We will have a 4 bedroom house and kids though so we will be a little more conventional with our connections :D

How's your daughters new job going? Is she still liking it?

anne38
06-02-2008, 15:04

Not sure about the primary schools at Glencoe. My partners family sold there farm about 10 years ago and moved to Mount Gambier to retire. How many kids go to the Glencoe primary school?

Teething is no fun, i think i got about 3 hours sleep last night and am struggling through today. I think i will be in bed as soon as Riley is asleep tonight :sleeping:

Does your little girl go to childcare? Im hoping to start Riley next week so am going to take him in for a visit tomorrow and early next week with the view of starting him next thursday. Just for half a day a week so i can get a few things done without him being too bored.

Your new neighbour does sound interesting, doing his bit for the enviroment :)

kristy_lily
12-02-2008, 21:54

Sorry to crash the thread but I was just after some info as DP is planning on going to Mt. Gambier from Tasmania for work with us to follow so I just need to know the basic info;

Is rent expensive and is it hard to find a place? (we pay $165 p/w for a 2bdr unit)
Cost of bread, milk, paper etc?
Cost of fuel?
Good daycare and primary schools in the Mt Gambier area?
Is there a lot of employment opportunities in the area?
Plus any other info would be great cos I can't think of anything else to ask.

Kristy :ecomcity:

mummynow
13-02-2008, 09:36
Is rent expensive and is it hard to find a place? (we pay $165 p/w for a 2bdr unit)

Cost of fuel?
Is there a lot of employment opportunities in the area?
Plus any other info would be great cos I can't think of anything else to ask.Cheers,

Hi Kristy :wave:

How exciting! When do you plan to be there? We just found out yesterday that we have council approval for our house so now we just have to wait on the finance approval!

If you are happy with a 2br unit you will have no trouble finding one for much the same price. Even if you want something bigger you can get something for $180-$200. If you want executive or luxury you are looking more high $200's though. Definately have a look at realestate.com.au though. I have been using it to try and find a rental for mum and dad in case they want to join us. It is extremely useful.

There are lots of employment opportunites, that's why we decided on there in the first place. Try jobsearch.gov.au as it list a large numebr of jobs down there.

Hopefully Anne will help you with the other questions as she currently lives there and knows more about the day to day living.

I hope we can meet one day once we are both there! What does DP do for work that's taking him there? Is he in the timber mills??

mummynow
13-02-2008, 15:26
Sorry I had to rush off earlier Kristy_lily. I had to get DD to kindy. We're back home now. When DH gets home I'll have a chat with him and see what else he can think of that we can tell you to help with info :thumbsup:

kristy_lily
13-02-2008, 23:24
Thanks for the info so far Mummynow, We really appreciate it! If you could find out some more it would also be appreciated. I want to find out as much as I can before hand.

DP drives trucks for a living and one of his good friends told him that there's heaps of work driving trucks in Mt Gambier (he recently moved over there for work)

We've had a look on the real estate website but the worst thing is DP wants to find a place before he goes so he doesn't have to worry about finding somewhere to stay when he first gets there.

M O P
14-02-2008, 06:06
he has no electricity connected and is running off solar power only
:o we only have solar power-
but we have no option :D

Vaughnie
17-02-2008, 20:53
Hi guys, new member here!!
I'm Siobhan, although everyone calls me Vaughnie, I'm 23 and live in Mount Gambier. I have a nearly 3 yr old son named Tai (said tie) who was born 17th March 2005.
I've only lived here close to 2 yrs and have found it hard to meet people! Most of the single mums here are a lot younger than me and I find it difficult!!
Hope to find some nice people here :)

Kristy, DP finding a place in Mt Gambier will be hard before he moves. A lot of places prefer that you view them before they'll let you even apply, and alot of places prefer you to apply and be approved before you can view the property. It depends on the agent really. Some are nice, and given you live so far away might be accommodating. When I moved back here from Adelaide mid last yr they were a nightmare to me, except for the company that I eventually got this rental through.

mummynow
18-02-2008, 08:11
Hi Kristy_lily :wave: Just letting you know I haven't forgotten about you ;) We had a busy past few days and I haven't had a chance to talk to DH but I will tonight and get back to you in the next couple of days..... I highly recomend realestate.com.au as I have (more often) than not had positive experiences with the agents. There definitely some as Vaughnie says can be not very accomodating because your not a local.... but in my experience - if you really like a place and are really keen on trying to get it you should phone the agent and not just email them and be persistent and don't give up til you get to speak to them. Most of them don't seem to reply to their email enquiries thru the website.

Hi Vaughnie :wave: Nice to 'meet' you. Your son is 4 days older than my daughter :D My daughter was born on 21.3.05. I look forward to meeting you in person once we move down later this year. So what attracted you down to Mount Gambier?

Hi anne38. How are you? I just found out yesterday that I am coming down over the Easter weekend last month with my parents to help them look for a rental in Mount Gambier. We are staying in a cabin at a caravan park. DH has to work so he will be staying home unfortuneately. It's DD's birthday on good Friday too.

Hi MotherOfPearl. I have nothing against solar power. We are all for saving the environment and all that. And especially in your situation where you have no choice! Do you have mains water? We don't so we are a bit freaked about the whole water storage and drought prospects. But we'll be ok I think as they have a higher ranfall down there :fingerscrossed:

And when we found out it was going to cost us $13000 to connect to the electricity we really freaked out and were considering all options including solar power etc. but in the long run we feel this outlay upfront will be for the best - we hope!

M O P
18-02-2008, 08:15
MN-
if you have plenty of water storage you'll be fine
we don't have mains water but we have dams, tanks & bore water when needed

Vaughnie
18-02-2008, 21:55
Hi Vaughnie :wave: Nice to 'meet' you. Your son is 4 days older than my daughter :D My daughter was born on 21.3.05. I look forward to meeting you in person once we move down later this year. So what attracted you down to Mount Gambier?

March 2005 was a good month to be born apparantly.. when I had DS the hospital was absolutely chock-full! :laughing: They made me stay at home as long as I could because they had so many women already there in labour. Unfortunately for them, I didn't last long. i'm a wimp :p
Mt Gambier. I moved here 2 yrs ago this April.. and then had a spell where I lived in Adelaide again for about 16 weeks in the middle of last year.. before coming back to Mt Gambier. The original attraction was family, and an escape from DS' father who was abusive. The attraction back last year was of the male variety :laughing: but we've unfortunately since split :thumbsdown: But i'm settled here now. I like the country living. Nothing better than a 3.6km hike around the blue lake at 7am in the morning!

anne38
21-02-2008, 21:48
Hi Kristy_lily :wave: Just letting you know I haven't forgotten about you ;) We had a busy past few days and I haven't had a chance to talk to DH but I will tonight and get back to you in the next couple of days..... I highly recomend realestate.com.au as I have (more often) than not had positive experiences with the agents. There definitely some as Vaughnie says can be not very accomodating because your not a local.... but in my experience - if you really like a place and are really keen on trying to get it you should phone the agent and not just email them and be persistent and don't give up til you get to speak to them. Most of them don't seem to reply to their email enquiries thru the website.

Hi anne38. How are you? I just found out yesterday that I am coming down over the Easter weekend last month with my parents to help them look for a rental in Mount Gambier. We are staying in a cabin at a caravan park. DH has to work so he will be staying home unfortuneately. It's DD's birthday on good Friday too.

Hi MotherOfPearl. I have nothing against solar power. We are all for saving the environment and all that. And especially in your situation where you have no choice! Do you have mains water? We don't so we are a bit freaked about the whole water storage and drought prospects. But we'll be ok I think as they have a higher ranfall down there :fingerscrossed:

And when we found out it was going to cost us $13000 to connect to the electricity we really freaked out and were considering all options including solar power etc. but in the long run we feel this outlay upfront will be for the best - we hope!
Hi Everyone :wave:
I will try get back on in the morning and add to the post - its late here and id better get to bed before bub wakes up. Talk soon. Anne

mumofcuties
21-02-2008, 21:53
im from upper south east, willalooka :yelclap:

anne38
21-02-2008, 21:58

How far is that from mount gambier?

mumofcuties
21-02-2008, 22:04
hi there
its about 2hrs from mt place to the mount i live about 30ks from keith if you know where that is.
weve just brought a block of land in naracoorte and are going to build a house on it so thats abit closer to mt gambier :smiliedance:

anne38
21-02-2008, 22:12

I know where keith is and also naracoorte. There is a few nearly locals on here:D

mumofcuties
21-02-2008, 22:18
im a little over half way between keith and naracoorte. yeah there are a few south aus people around

mummynow
22-02-2008, 08:20
im from upper south east, willalooka :yelclap:

Willalooka! That's our toilet stop on the way home to Adelaide!! Hope that doesn't offend you :laughing: But DD loves the litlle playground at the hall on the main road there and we like the bathrooms cos there clean and tidy and have a baby change table - which are hard to find sometimes.

So do you like it there? I haven't actually been thru the town as such, just quick leg stretch etc at the playground.

Anyway, nice to 'meet' and look forward to talking to you some more.

M O P
22-02-2008, 08:40
:wave: welcome back Vaughnie
and welcome mumofcuties

know where Willalooka & Keith are :thumbsup:

anne38
22-02-2008, 09:35

Hi Mummynow:wave:, how long will you be down over easter? Just the weekend? It would be good to meet for a coffee if you have time and you would like to. At this stage i have my mother in laws birthday to go to on the saturday/saturday night and not much else planned.

mumofcuties
22-02-2008, 09:43
yes willalooka is the toliet stop and no it does offend me. you would drive straight past my house every time you go to adelaide. hello motherofpearl its nice to meet some people from around this area.

mummynow
22-02-2008, 09:53
Hi Mummynow:wave:, how long will you be down over easter? Just the weekend? It would be good to meet for a coffee if you have time and you would like to.

Yes, sorry, only from Friday to Monday. I might be able to squeeze a coffee in somewhere. But I will be in my parents car so it will depend on what their plans are. I should be able to get them to drop me in town somewhere while they go off to do something else for a while. (worst case scenario, they stop for coffee too! :laughing:) We'll talk about it closer to the time :thumbsup:

anne38
22-02-2008, 10:00

Sorry to crash the thread but I was just after some info as DP is planning on going to Mt. Gambier from Tasmania for work with us to follow so I just need to know the basic info;

Cost of fuel?
Is there a lot of employment opportunities in the area?Plus any other info would be great cos I can't think of anything else to ask.

Hi Kristy_lily, is there anything else you need to know about Mt Gambier? As for realestate - renting its fairly inexpensive - you can get a reasonable house for $140+++ you just need to pick the right areas - as there a a few not so good parts of mt gambier, like anywhere i guess. There is heaps of schools, kinders & playgroups. Tennyson College is good - it goes from reception right through to year 12 but it is private. id like my son to go there but he will probably go to the primary school his older half brother and sister go to and its only around the corner. Let me know if you need to know anything else and i will try and help if i can - ive only been here myself for 2 years so not a local yet!

anne38
22-02-2008, 10:03
Yes, sorry, only from Friday to Monday. I might be able to squeeze a coffee in somewhere. But I will be in my parents car so it will depend on what their plans are. I should be able to get them to drop me in town somewhere while they go off to do something else for a while. (worst case scenario, they stop for coffee too! :laughing:) We'll talk about it closer to the time :thumbsup:
Sounds good, talk to you before easter :)

mummynow
18-03-2008, 20:27
Hi again Anne38 :wave: I'm really sorry I haven't been back to talk to you sooner. We have had so much going on here for a while and I feel like I blinked and then it was Easter!!

I just found out from Mum today that we probably are going to have to cancel our trip down there this weekend :hissy: So at this stage we won't get to catch up for that coffee :( But knowing my parents as well as I do that may well change. I will let you know if anything changes.

There is another thread here in the country SA mums that is specifically for the Limestone Coast / South East SA area if you wasnt to come over there for a chat. Not much going on there at the moment but hoping that may change with a bit more participation :thumbsup:

So here is a link for anyone who is interested:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=2469948#post2469948 (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=2469948#post2469948)

mummynow
30-04-2008, 10:39
Just a reminder to the ladies that are from the South East / Green Triangle areas that there is a link above to a thread for that general area :thumbsup:

Also we just heard that our house will be arriving approx June 12th! :smiliedance: But there's heaps of stuff that have to be done to the block once it's on site before we can move in so we aren't moving til late July at this stage. But soon I'll be able to come along to any get togethers etc. and meet some of you lovely ladies :thumbsup:

anne38
30-04-2008, 15:40
Hi Mummynow :wave:

Its seems i have missed quite a bit!! Congratulations on your pregnancy, you must be over the moon about it. :cloud9:

Anyway i just wanted to say hi but will come back and add more later on.

Anne

mummynow
30-04-2008, 17:54
Hi Anne :wave: Nice to talk to you again! I know I have been MIA for a while too. We've kind of had a lot going on as you have worked out for yourself! Yes, I am now 12 weeks pregnant - thanks to the wonders of modern medicine! I think I will probably have bubs at the Mount Gambier Hospital but still working out the finer details at this early stage.

Anyway, gotta run but will talk more later :thumbsup:

anne38
01-05-2008, 10:00
Hi again :wave:

Yes, life gets busy at times with one thing or another going on.

How have you been feeling? Any morning sickness?

I found the maternity staff at the Mount Gambier hospital to be lovely and caring. They were a bit busy though so i went home after a couple of days.

You musnt be too far from moving down here?

Anne

ChelsLuke
14-05-2008, 20:23
Hi,Im new here and thought id pop in. Im Bec 22 from Crystal Brook in the Mid north. I live here with hubby Peter 26 and our kiddies Chelsea 4, Luke 3 and Aaron due in July.I will rightly admit i am so hoping to meet other mums near me i have been online since i was preggas with Chelsea and have not met one mum from near by. Quite depressing actually lol.

mumofcuties
14-05-2008, 20:36
Hi,Im new here and thought id pop in. Im Bec 22 from Crystal Brook in the Mid north. I live here with hubby Peter 26 and our kiddies Chelsea 4, Luke 3 and Aaron due in July.I will rightly admit i am so hoping to meet other mums near me i have been online since i was preggas with Chelsea and have not met one mum from near by. Quite depressing actually lol.

hi bec im megan and i live at willalooka in the upper south east, ive heard of crystal brook but i have no idea where it is im looking on the map at the moment

mumofcuties
14-05-2008, 20:41
ok so i just found it lol, your up near port pirie, thats a fair way away from me,

have you tried mothers group or play groups to meet new people

anne38
14-05-2008, 21:46
Hi Bec:wave:
Im Anne, i have a 9 month old baby boy and am from Mount Gambier in the lower south east. Im also hoping to meet some mums in the area as im fairly new here - we moved here about 2 years ago. Im slowly getting to know a few other mums but can be a bit isolating at home with a baby. How far are you from Mount Gambier?

mummynow
14-05-2008, 21:53
Hi,Im new here and thought id pop in. Im Bec 22 from Crystal Brook in the Mid north.

Hi :wave: My names Donna but sorry I'm not from near you :( I live in Adelaide at the moment but we're moving down to near Mount Gambier in about 2 months. Hope some 'locals' jump on here and find you :thumbsup:

LusciousMummy
15-05-2008, 09:40
I will add myself to your list if that is ok.... I am from Freeling... so north...
Bit of background... Live with hubby and his four kids ss14, ss13, ss12 and sd11. I am nearly 16 weeks with my first and will be hubbys fifth!!
Hoping for a girl to try and even out the score a bit!!

ChelsLuke
16-05-2008, 14:43
Yeah Iv tried some local mums gorups. Crystal Brook is 2 hrs north of adelaide

mummynow
06-07-2008, 11:18
Well it's finally happening! 1 more week until we move from Adelaide to the South East. So much to do before we can leave though - and the packing :eek: OMG - how much does that s*ck!!

Also I'm a bit over 21 weeks pregnant now so that's making it even harder - can't lift stuff - getting a sore back from bending and packing all the time. Luckily DH has been on annual leave and doing so much for me. Sadly he went back to work today for his last week. He finishes up this Friday then starts his new job the following Wednesday. Not much time to actually move in between :no:

Can't really complain though.... We were down there a couple of weeks ago for a week and DH had a couple of interviews. He got offered both jobs :smiliedance:

Anyway, just wanted to say Hi to everyone again and let you know what I've been up to. I've arranged dial up internet to be connected a few days after we get there - but after having broadband for about 3 or 4 years, I'll admit I'm a bit nervous. But once again - can't complain as I could be getting no internet at all if DH had his way :D

Hope everyone else is well? Obviously all busy too as no-one has posted in here for such a long time!

Bye for now :hugs:

anne38
08-07-2008, 17:45

Good to hear from you. Thats great that your husband got a job down here so quick! I hope you are getting lots of help with the packing etc. I moved house when i was pregnant so know how tiring it can be. I hope all goes smoothly with your move down here and if you are still keen to catch up that would be great.

I hope all is going well with your pregnancy - i saw on your ticker that you are having a little boy - you must be so excited.

My baby is almost 11 months now and has just started to crawl so he is keeping me busy!

Better go, look forward to hearing from you soon

nessaw1978
10-07-2008, 23:05
Hi Vanessa here!

I live at Craigmore and work at Kapunda. The amount of time I spend at work i should say I live at Kapunda and work at Craigmore lol.

Would love to catch up with others with chn the same age as DD - Tremea aged 2 :)

Nessa

babysaurs
06-08-2008, 15:33
Hi everyone:wave:
Im new in here and i live in a small town called Blyth, near Clare.

babysaurs
06-08-2008, 15:47
Should probably mention that i have a DS who is 11 1/2 months old. We have only recently moved here, so would love to "meet" others in the area.

ChelsLuke
14-08-2008, 20:25
hey babysaurs. LOl ill update as things have changed for me. I'm Bec 23 yr old mummy to Chelsea 4, Luke 3 and now Aaron 4 wks this sat.
I live just over an hr form u. I love Clare, i used to live there and before pettrol prices sky rocketed i went there regulary. Id be happy to chat. my emails rhombsch@dodo.com.au

KrissyM
13-09-2008, 09:22
Im Kristy and I live in Whyalla. Im pregnant with my first due in about 5 weeks. Just wondering if there is anyone else living here.

mummynow
13-09-2008, 11:37
:wave: Hi nessaw1978, babysaurs and KrissyM :shakehands: Unfortuneately I don't live anywhere near any of you. We recently moved from Adelaide to the South East (near Mt Gambier) It has been a huge task but exciting at the same time. I am also pregnant with my 2nd due in approx 7 weeks.

Sadly the South Australia regional forum is very quiet and mostly has little or no chat's happening :( I also rarely get on the internet at the moment. Between still unpacking and orgnising baby stuff, trying not to neglect DD's needs & generally settling in a new town and house - plus being 32 weeks pregnant and exhausted. Oh and trying to get used to being back on dial up internet again :geek: Having the luxury of broadband for over 3 years in the city sure makes you take the computer and internet for granted :dizzy:

Well I hope you all find someone closer to you to 'chat' with and get to know. And KrissyM - goodluck with your upcoming arrival of your first bubs :baby:

BI
16-09-2008, 13:43
I too am new here. We're originally from Adelaide but moved to Whyalla for DH's work. We almost moved to Portland for his work.

mummynow
16-09-2008, 17:06
Hi Blue Iris :wave: Nice to meet you :shakehands:

KrissyM
17-09-2008, 10:21
Hi Blue Iris
I'm in Whyalla to. Ive got 5 weeks to go with bubs. Don't hestiate to ask if you have any questions about pregancy in Whyalla, or anything else about Whyalla. Good luck with your pregnacy.
Kristy

nugglyboysmum
17-09-2008, 12:02
Hi guys, i am from the south east too. I currently live at Naracoorte, we moved here recently for my DH's work.

mummynow - where abouts do you live?

mummynow
17-09-2008, 13:38
Hi guys, i am from the south east too. I currently live at Naracoorte, we moved here recently for my DH's work.
mummynow - where abouts do you live?

We recently moved just North West of Mt Gambier by about 25 minutes. I think we are about 50km South West of Penola (or about half hours drive to Penola) So not sure how far that is exactly from Naracoorte but not too far if I remember from the drive down here.

Where did you move from? What's hubby do for work that brought you down here? I am really enjoying country life but can't wait to get everything unpacked and get a shed so we can start putting things away!

nugglyboysmum
17-09-2008, 16:07
mummynow - we both grew up in Mount Gambier. We moved to Adelaide just before i got pregnant for DH's work, then we moved back home to Mount Gambier when DS was 8 months old, then we moved up to Naracoorte about 2 months ago. DH is a Paramedic. What does your DH do? Are you a SAHM? You must be so excited about the arrival of your little one! Yeah, moving isn't great fun, especially with a child in tow.

mummynow
19-09-2008, 13:59
What does your DH do? Are you a SAHM? You must be so excited about the arrival of your little one! Yeah, moving isn't great fun, especially with a child in tow.

Yes I am a SAHM for now at least. I tried to return to work when DD was just over 6 months old but it was all too hard. Then we started TTC#2 not long after so I didn't want to go back to work in case I fell pregnant. Then it took ages to conceive so I thought about going back afterall. Then we started IVF so working was too hard to work around doctors appts etc. So it never really happened. Now I am due in 6 weeks so looks like I'm a SAHM for but longer after all!

DH got a job as a Wood Machinist at a nearby Mill. Yes we are very excited to finally be expecting #2 :flowerz:

dragonedwards
25-09-2008, 13:18
Hi My name is Laura and i just joined here today, I recently moved to Port Pirie from Adelaide with my family for husbands soccer and work.

jomumoftwins
25-09-2008, 15:41
Hi all the newies especially Laura:), I don't visit this site as much as I should but when I get a chance I make sure I have a look in this section as I live at Two Wells with my nearly 3 year old b/g twins. We used to live in the suburbs but decided to try a bit country, been here for nearly 12months and loving it. Well I'll try and remember to look here a bit more often, speak more soon Jo.

dragonedwards
25-09-2008, 18:09
Hey Jo good to see you on here:)

becca022
25-09-2008, 21:05
Hi Laura. I'm in Port Pirie aswell. :wave:

dragonedwards
25-09-2008, 23:32
Hey becca, i only moved her 3 months ago, as hubby plays soccer for virtus and got offered a job, hated it at first but love it now.
Just brought a house in napperby so move there in 2 weeks.

Where abouts in pirie are you? we are on nelson road.

mummynow
26-09-2008, 00:43
Hi Laura :wave: Nice to 'meet' you. Glad to hear you are enjoying it up there now. We lived in Adelaide until 10 weeks ago when we moved to the South East. We actually looked in to Port Pirie (we wanted to move out of the big city and out to the country) But we didn't likek the idea of living right in Pirie. We really loved Napperby though being only about 10 mins away across the highway - a nice small town but not far from facilities in Pirie. My Aunty & Uncle live in Pirie out on Senate Road & my cousin is only about 2 mins from there also. They love it. They also all left Adelaide to live the country lifestyle.

Congratulations on buying your new home in Napperby to by the way :thumbsup: Good luck with the big move :flowerz:

becca022
26-09-2008, 16:50
We live on Johnson st which is near Balmoral Rd & Anzac rd.
I grew up here, moved to Melbourne for 4 years & came back here last year.
Napperby is nice, my sister lived there for about a year & then moved back into town after her eldest dd was born.

Are you going to the Smelters Pincic next week?

KrissyM
27-09-2008, 08:47
Hey Becca
were you posting in the Oct thread awhile ago? thought I recognised your user name, havent seen you in there for awhile though.
Kristy

dragonedwards
27-09-2008, 09:07
Yeah i will be taking the girls in the morning to the smelters picnic.
Have to work at night time, i work at woolies so cant get out of it.

Are you going?

becca022
27-09-2008, 14:41
Hey Becca
were you posting in the Oct thread awhile ago? thought I recognised your user name, havent seen you in there for awhile though.
Kristy

Yeah that's me. I've been a bit down lately so havn't been able to keep up with the threads.

becca022
27-09-2008, 14:43
Yeah i will be taking the girls in the morning to the smelters picnic.
Have to work at night time, i work at woolies so cant get out of it.

Are you going?

Yeah we're going, not sure what time yet. Won't be there for long though, I'll be 36 weeks pregnant & too sore to walk around for long.
My best friend will be setting up a stall so we'll have to go & check it out, plus we'll be dropping her off & picking her up after it's finished.

KrissyM
27-09-2008, 20:06
Its a hard thread to keep up with. Hope your feeling better.

yummyyumyums
01-10-2008, 09:50
Hi All :wave:

I live in Murray Bridge, I doubt there's anyone else here from MB..? :(

KrissyM
04-10-2008, 11:05
Its gotten quiet in here, how is everyone?

mummynow
07-10-2008, 11:27
Its gotten quiet in here, how is everyone?

:wave: Sorry I was back in Adelaide for 2 weeks visiting family and friends. Just got back home tea time yesterday. It was lovely to see everyone again - but great to be back home too. I have so much washing and housework to catch up on not to mention a nursery to organise and baby linen and clothes to wash and sort out etc :hair: So much to do and so little time :eek: 4 weeks from today I am booked for my c/section. Don't get me wrong I am definitely looking forward to it - just a little freaked out about running out of time!

Hoep all is going well for you too Krissy? You only have half as much time as me to go!

KrissyM
07-10-2008, 17:00
All is well thanks Mummynow. Have only got to weeks left :smiliedance: though my OB says not to expect it to come anytime soon cause its not fully engaged yet.. but then things can change in the blink of an eye not really fussed, it can come out when it wants as long as its healthy. Really should finish getting organised if this bubs comes early im in trouble.
Good luck with your c-saection

mumof2brats
17-10-2008, 02:19
hi im new here,
im sally, and im from the riverland SA.
I HAVE 2 BOYS ,SETH AND BROCK.

mummynow
17-10-2008, 14:09
Hi mumof2brats :wave: It is usually very quiet in her - no one really has much to say :( which is sad, but feel free to help change that ;) So where in the riverland are you? yummyyumyums is from Murray Bridge.... Maybe not too far from you?

We usually go to Berri or somewhere similar around this time of year for a break but not this year due to bubs arriving in just a couple of weeks.

KrissyM - How are you going? Still holding on? or is bubba already made an appearance:D

mumof2brats
23-10-2008, 21:52
Hi mumof2brats :wave: It is usually very quiet in her - no one really has much to say :( which is sad, but feel free to help change that ;) So where in the riverland are you? yummyyumyums is from Murray Bridge.... Maybe not too far from you?

We usually go to Berri or somewhere similar around this time of year for a break but not this year due to bubs arriving in just a couple of weeks.

KrissyM - How are you going? Still holding on? or is bubba already made an appearance:D

i live in Berri,its pretty boring here.
anyways,whats everyone doing for Christmas?
is ant it good we get the x-mas bonus it will come in handy.i might spent it on presents and a new fridge:smiliedance:
well catch ya.........sal.:wave:

mummynow
24-10-2008, 13:01
i live in Berri,its pretty boring here.
anyways,whats everyone doing for Christmas?
is ant it good we get the x-mas bonus it will come in handy.i might spent it on presents and a new fridge:smiliedance:
well catch ya.........sal.:wave:

We are just having a relatively quiet Christmas. We only just moved out here to the country mid July and that was a costly excercise.

Now we have bubs arriving in a week and a half. The baby bonus is already pre allocated to the credit card debt :thumbsdown:

Likewise the $1000 we'll get for DD will finish off paying for the plumber that did all our house connections etc as it was a brand new transportable. So all the moneys gone - boo hoo :crying:.

We have some nice pressies put away for DD though and will just get bubs some little things as he will only be 7 weeks old or something.

Mum & Dad are coming down from Adelaide for the week of Christmas to stay with us then they go home and our best friends arrive with their kids for a week over the New Year period.... so I guess we'll have plenty going on to keep us busy :thumbsup:

two cheeky smurfs
05-11-2008, 21:47
Hey everyone

My name is Lauren and I am expecting twins in May. I live in Whyalla but am relatively new to this area and wondered if there was anyone else from this area?

mummytoKaitlin
20-11-2008, 11:36

Im new here too im from the riverland to, im pregnant with #2 baby, and have a 14 month old daughter, im am not far from MB, hope to chat with you all soon :yelclap:

Cheers Renee

KrissyM
21-11-2008, 17:01
Been MIA for awhile, my computer got a virus so that kept me off here for awhile then I had my beautiful son 4 weeks ago, Rhys Jordan which has kept me pretty busy but am hoping to be on here a bit more now.
Lauren, Im in Whyalla as well been here for nearly 5 yrs now, feel free to PM me.
Welcome Lauren, Rene and Mumof2brats to the group, membership is growing now maybe we'll chat more.
Well better go and get started on tea.
Kristy

mummynow
25-11-2008, 09:22
My name is Lauren and I am expecting twins in May. I live in Whyalla but am relatively new to this area and wondered if there was anyone else from this area?

Hi Lauren :wave: Wow twins! Congratulations! I'm no wher near Whyalla though sorry :(

Im new here too im from the riverland to, im pregnant with #2 baby, and have a 14 month old daughter, im am not far from MB

Welcome mummy to Kaitlin :shakehands: Congratulations on your pregnancy too!
I live in the South East of SA so i'm a bit far from Murray Bridge and the riverland.

Been MIA for awhile, my computer got a virus so that kept me off here for awhile then I had my beautiful son 4 weeks ago, Rhys Jordan which has kept me pretty busy but am hoping to be on here a bit more now.

.....membership is growing now maybe we'll chat more.

Hi KrissyM - Welcome back! So when did you end up having your little boy? I had mine 3 weeks ago today :smiliedance: Nov 4th. We named him Matthew James. I loved Jordan as a first name but DH wouldn't agree with me :hissy:

So bubs has been keeping me busy too. The only reason i'm on here now is cos i've worked out I can BF with one arm and type with the other :laughing:

So how's litte Rhys going?

PaganKitchenWitch
27-11-2008, 13:00
There are many country Mums on here by the looks!
I'm in Whyalla too..... :wave:

PaganKitchenWitch
27-11-2008, 13:05
Lauren, Im in Whyalla as well been here for nearly 5 yrs now, feel free to PM me.
Welcome Lauren, Rene and Mumof2brats to the group, membership is growing now maybe we'll chat more.
Well better go and get started on tea.
Kristy
HOLY SH*TE....!!!!!!!
I just realised who this is!!! :wave: There are a couple of names I reckonise here! (Lets see if you can figure ME out!!!) ~ I'll have to Facebook message you to give you a hint!!!

staceylee
28-11-2008, 17:38
HI I'm from the Riverland

KrissyM
28-11-2008, 18:29
PagonKitchenWitch Yes I figured out who it is read your first message and PM you to see if it was you, its a small world Have to catch up for a coffee soon if your free.

KrissyM
28-11-2008, 18:32
Oops forgot to answer Mummynow, Rhys was born October 23 by emergancy csect he was 51cm, and 3.8kg. How big was Matthew? Hope hes going well.

mummynow
28-11-2008, 20:02
Oops forgot to answer Mummynow, Rhys was born October 23 by emergancy csect he was 51cm, and 3.8kg. How big was Matthew? Hope hes going well.

My DD was 3.8kg & 50.5cm - almost exactly the same as your little man! Matthew was 4.02kg (8lb 14oz) and 52cm. I had a c/section too. He is going well now after initial weight concerns due to poor milk supply which seems to have sorted itself out now :thumbsup:

PaganKitchenWitch
28-11-2008, 21:43
PaganKitchenWitch Yes I figured out who it is read your first message and PM you to see if it was you, its a small world Have to catch up for a coffee soon if your free.
I couldn't believe it was you!!!
We will have to do that coffee, (& chat!) :thumbsup:
You know where I live hey....
I finish work in 2 weeks, so I'll be back to being home ALL day! :smiliedance:
Or I can pop past yours ~ I'll leave my ruggins at home with their Dad!!!
Let me know what's easier for you.....

KerriO
29-11-2008, 08:39
Hi all I can't remember if i posted on here or not so I will introduce my self.
I am kerri and I have 2 children 3.5yrs and 2. I live in Strathalbyn and i would say that is not to far from MB.
I look forward to talking to you all

cartz
14-01-2009, 10:11
new to this, only found it as looking for some info! So ill introduce myself.
My name is roxane, mum to little man 8 wks and live in the riverland
Hope to talk later

Cathy3
14-01-2009, 15:33
Hi thought i would join in this chat lol Im cathy and im in whyalla.

two cheeky smurfs
15-01-2009, 10:26
Hi thought i would join in this chat lol Im cathy and im in whyalla.

Hi Cathy.
I am also from Whyalla. What area are you from? Im Lauren. Im 24 and pregnant due with twins May 18th.

Cathy3
16-01-2009, 20:45
Hi Cathy.
I am also from Whyalla. What area are you from? Im Lauren. Im 24 and pregnant due with twins May 18th.

whyalla norrie since that is a big of a large area lol Im near win newby kindy. Im 32 and have 3 kids. awww twins that be so cool.

BI
20-01-2009, 11:00
Hi there Cathy & mummy2twins, i'm also in Whyalla.

KerriO
20-01-2009, 11:51
Hi all you people who are so far away where are all the people from the hills?
It is great that there are a few of you:yelclap:

two cheeky smurfs
21-01-2009, 13:00
Hi there Cathy & mummy2twins, i'm also in Whyalla.

Where abouts in Whyalla are you? I live in Whyalla stuart. Right down the end where you cant go any further!! LOL

There are a few from Whyalla which is good to see :-)

Yeah Cathy im extremely excited about the arrival of my twins but also a little scared as they are my first!!

BI
21-01-2009, 14:58
Where abouts in Whyalla are you? I live in Whyalla stuart. Right down the end where you cant go any further!! LOL

There are a few from Whyalla which is good to see :-)

Yeah Cathy im extremely excited about the arrival of my twins but also a little scared as they are my first!!

I'm in Whyalla/playford area.

mummynow
22-01-2009, 12:53

Is there anyone out there from the South East?

ChelsLuke
23-01-2009, 19:12
I thought now that Im back Id reintroduce myself. Im Bec 23 yr old mummy to Chelsea 5, Luke 3 and Aaron 6 months. I live in Crystal Brook (Its 2 hrs north of Adelaide and 20 mins south of Port Pirie). I live here with my family and Hubby 27.

I was on here for alittle while then left when i had Aaron, Chaos isnt even close to describe the months sinc ehis birth lol.

I would love to meet other mums near me, maybe catch up for a coffee.

two cheeky smurfs
09-02-2009, 22:48
Hi girls from Whyalla

I was wondering of you guys meet up at all? and if you would want to at some stage?

BI
12-02-2009, 20:53
I met any of the whyalla ladies in here yet. I'd be up for meeting up.

mummynow
13-06-2009, 16:59
Hi All :wave:

Just wondering if there's anyone from the South East in here? I know I've asked before but I thought I'd try again in case there was any newbies ;)

sassymummaof2
08-07-2009, 23:37
hi there , im a mummy to 4 beautiful young children , and would love to chat/make friends with others in my area :)... Im from Mannum , near murray bridge .. Sarah :)

little_froglette
08-07-2009, 23:40
i'm south also..

mumof2brats
09-07-2009, 00:05
wow there are a few of us here...im in the riverland

KerriO
09-07-2009, 07:11
I think I have posted this before but I am in Strathalbyn. So sorta south.:laughing:

Lil Bugs Mummy
09-07-2009, 20:50
Hi i am Lisa 22 and my dd 9 months, i am in Murray Bridge :wave:

LoveULilly
24-07-2009, 14:54
Hi all im a newbie to this thread.

Im north.....sumthing.....not to good with geography lol.

Im in Gawler..anyone in here from out near my way?

markskidsmum2
02-08-2009, 00:45
hi there,

I am moving to SA in a few weeks. Im not sure what im classed as though...
we are going to be living in Carrickalinga, near Yankalialla, which is near Victor Harbour (!!) i really dont know many people so am interested to know if there is anything there to get to know some mums.

DrewsMummy
05-08-2009, 17:08
Hi, I'm a young mummy from Mount Barker in the Adelaide hills, anyone else near this area?

Lil Bugs Mummy
06-08-2009, 09:24
HI Drews mummy i am lisa 22 and my dd is 10 months we are from Murray Bridge we come to Mount Barker at bit let me know if u want to meet up:)

KerriO
06-08-2009, 12:42
Hi drewsmum
I live in Starthalbyn and Find myself in Mt barker too
so I am with lil bugs mum if you want to catch up I am in for it just send me a PM

One on the Way
06-08-2009, 13:34

Im from the Mount..

Theres a few girls im trying to get connected as well.. =)

LoveULilly
07-08-2009, 13:17
I could have sworn i posted on here dam lol

Well anyways i been livin in smithfield for about a yr but am a Galwer girl at heart.. Im there like 4 times a week at least hehe. I didnt realise there were so many gawler beauties on this forum. Hope your all doing awsumly with your pregnancys.

Please PM me or add me on facebook http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home&__a=1

DrewsMummy
07-08-2009, 15:26
Hi Ladies!

I'm Laura, Im 18 (almost 19) and my son is nearly 1! Yippee:smiliedance:
Wow there's quite a few of you from the hills and nearby I see :)

PM me if you'd like to chat!

Rileysmuma
13-08-2009, 19:41
Not sure if this thread is still open, Im very new to this. But im from the Adelaide Hills, Mount Pleasant. Im 20 and a new mum to my 2 week old gorgous boy Riley. Im interested in meeting new people so send me a message if you want to too.

mummynow
17-09-2009, 11:31
Hi Rileysmuma :wave: Yes it's still open but nobody uses it - which is a bit sad/ I guess there's not too many SA country mums that sit on BubHub much :(

two cheeky smurfs
18-09-2009, 08:41
yeah no one seems to post in here anymore... i posted a long time ago!! im a single mum to twins who are nearly 5 months!!!

markskidsmum2
18-09-2009, 10:45
Im here! We are on the southern fluerier peninsula.
Im happy to do meet ups near noarlunga if anyone is interested? or south of that.
Slowely working my way around SA!

two cheeky smurfs
18-09-2009, 10:55
it does seem like there are stil a few of us country SA mums floating about so if anyone is interested maybe we should get this thread up and running again!!

Ill introduce myself again!! My name is Lauren and i have 4 and a half month old boy/girl twins and i live in Whyalla :-)

mummynow
18-09-2009, 14:50
it does seem like there are stil a few of us country SA mums floating about so if anyone is interested maybe we should get this thread up and running again!!

Hi mummy2twins :wave:

I have a 4 & half year old daughter and 10 month old son. I live with them and my husband in the South East not far from Mount Gambier.

Lil Bugs Mummy
19-09-2009, 08:11
Hi i am Lisa 22 and my dd 11 months we are in Murray Bridge :wave:

staceylee
19-09-2009, 18:50
Im Stacey, 24 and have a DD she is 2months old and we live in Loxton with my Dh :bee:

Rileysmuma
20-09-2009, 14:23
Hey, I didnt think this thread was still used :)
Im Tiffany 20 and have a 7 weeker, Riley and i live in Mount Pleasant in the barossa valley. :wave:

two cheeky smurfs
20-09-2009, 14:25
hi mummynow, little bugs mummy and staceylee and anyone else that is reading this!!!

how is everyone?

Lil bugs mummy- i know i told you a while back but i will be in ther bridge sometime next week!! you still keen to catch up?

mummynow
10-10-2009, 11:51
Hi Ladies :wave:

Hope you are all enjoying the glorious spring weather today - assuming you have the same glorious weather we're getting in the South East at the moment :D

We just got home from a camping trip to the Grampians in Victoria (Halls Gap) a couple of days ago and I am still trying to unpack everything and get the house back to normal.

DD is suddenly very needy - I'm guessing because there were 7 kids on our camping trip so always had someone to play with - now it's just us again and DS is asleep she's all mummy can you do this, mummy I need you do that. I know she's only 4 but sometimes I just wish she could go and entertain herself with any of her hundreds of toys or play outside or something. DH is busy mowing and stuff outside and DS is having his sleep. I'm supposed to be paying bills online :rolleyes:

Anyway, I didn't really have anything to say - just thought I'd drop in and say Hi to everyone ;)