View Full Version : What kind of dog? Recommendations?

20-11-2006, 19:51
Its been confirmed today that we are moving in 2 or 3 weeks into a bigger better house! Poor hubby only found out when I emailed him and told him - but has emailed me back saying that he's looking forward to it too.

The best thing - is this place has a backyard! It'll be nice to have some fresh air away from a busy main road :rolleyes: AND - whats better, is we're allowed a dog!

I just dont know what kind of dog I want?

It must be small enough for a small-ish backyard (but big enough to cuddle!)
It must be able to be a good guard dog.
It must still be friendly enough for our growing family.
It must be able to be trained.

I'm thinking maybe a kelpie or a cattle dog? I would love a labrador - but it might be just a tad big... Any suggestions?

draught
20-11-2006, 20:23
Check out this website - it helps you to determine the breeds that will suit you best - we found it very helpful in determining what would suit us best. Select a dog (http://www.pedigree.com.au/select/)

Mamaduke
20-11-2006, 20:31
I don't want to rain on your parade, but, if I had my time again, I wouldn't have got a dog until after we'd had children. Dogs take up so much of your time and energy, and after buying our fur baby before the boys were born, we went through the agonising decision of having to find him a new home when all of our time was spent with babies.
If I were you, I'd hold off and then get one who will grow up with your child/ren and know their place in your family from the get-go IYKWIM.

20-11-2006, 20:33
That website is a good one!
Just wanted add that many cattle dogs and kelpies are quite nippy and aren't that great with kids...

...labradors would be good though!

And whatever you do, DON'T get a Beagle! We have tow...they have taken 10 years off my life :eek:

AimeeB
20-11-2006, 20:37
:) We did alot of research as we have a 4 and then 2 yr old and our DD2 was only 4 months when we ended up going with a staffie.My DH had had one as a child and thought he was wonderful!We love our Diesel who we have had since he was 9 weeks old(he will be 1 on Chrissy day)He loves the kids and lets them sit on him and ride him and anything else they throw at him!Avalon is now 13 months and likes to crawl over him.He has never once shown any dislike to this.Of course we always watch him with them but because they are a bit more of a boof head dog they aren't easily hurt by the kids and the kids can be quite rough with him.He is very obedient and will sit quietly on his mat inside at night time without ever jumping around and we have a smallish yard too so he is just the right size.They look a bit tough and scary so he looks like a good guard dog but really if anyone went near him he would prob lick them to death:laughing: This was our choice as we previously had a kelpie and had to sell him to a farm as a work dog as he hated the smaller yard and kept jumping the 6 ft fences:eek: We do walk him everyday though and I have to let Dh take the lead as he does pull alot which I think is a trait of the breed!His new trick is to follow the kids up the stairs of the play equip. at the park and follow them down the slides!Goodluck with looking,as I said we think he is the right dog for us,I hope you find the one right for your family!

mum2charli
20-11-2006, 20:38
Hey Ally

Could I just say that it would not be a good idea to get a kelpie/cattle dog if you will have a small back yard. I have 2 and while they are the most amazing, loving and loyal dogs they do need room to get rid of some of that constant energy that they have.

We have 1/4 of an acre here and they still go crazy. They are walked every single day as well (and I am talking 45 minute runs in open fields and that still isn't enough some days :laughing:).

My two are fine with DD, they are very gentle and loving towards her as well, but they are trained (well, enough anyway) and no longer pups.

Maybe something like a spaniel??? They are beautiful family dogs, my mum has an english springer spaniel that is an amazing guard dog and great with kids.

Hope that helped.

btw did you get my really long PM two saturday's ago?? about the nursery furniture buying etc?

aardvark
20-11-2006, 20:40
Someone I know got a Labrador pup, and in a few hours while his wife was out, it dug up 1500 pavers he had not long finished laying.

The nurse at the vets we go to reckons labs can be maniacs until they are 2 y.o, when they seem to settle down. My friend with the pavers agreed.

I don't want to rain on your parade, but, if I had my time again, I wouldn't have got a dog until after we'd had children
Thats a really good point... and one I've kinda pondered over.

The house we are moving into is just behind a housing commission estate and with hubby away for over half of the year I really want some extra security...

I'm still kind of in two-minds - but the extra companionship when I'm all alone will be nice.

Mamaduke
AimeeB...
Loooooove the staffy's!! Fantastic rough & tumble dogs who just adore people!

We've got 'Vern' - he's a Jack Russell who spends his days digging in the sandpit with the boys, running around the yard with the boys, talking to worms/bugs/butchy boys etc with the boys, jumping in the pool...basically, wherever the boys are...that's where you'll find Vernie!!

mm85
20-11-2006, 20:41
i have a dog that seems to fit that criteria very well but is smaller than cattle dog etc. shih tzu very loyal very good guard dogs not for attacking but they bark when someone aproachs doesnt bite but trained not to. great with kids and so cuddly just a thought.

Mamaduke
20-11-2006, 20:42
Thats a really good point... and one I've kinda pondered over.

The house we are moving into is just behind a housing commission estate and with hubby away for over half of the year I really want some extra security...

I'm still kind of in two-minds - but the extra companionship when I'm all alone will be nice.

Well that's a good point too (being alone) - I agree with AimeeB about the Staffy's...great companion dogs.

mum2charli
20-11-2006, 20:43

:yes: My DF works afternoon shift and my dogs keep me company at night. Not sure what I would do without my furry friends!

Cheeky Little Monkey
20-11-2006, 20:43
I don't want to rain on your parade, but, if I had my time again, I wouldn't have got a dog until after we'd had children. Dogs take up so much of your time and energy, and after buying our fur baby before the boys were born, we went through the agonising decision of having to find him a new home when all of our time was spent with babies.
If I were you, I'd hold off and then get one who will grow up with your child/ren and know their place in your family from the get-go IYKWIM.

I totally agree with Mamaduke. I love love love dogs (and already had one prior to DD being born) but personally I would wait till after Junior is born and a little older and you are fully established in family life and routine before even contemplating getting a puppy/dog.

Kizmet
20-11-2006, 20:47
im voting cattle dog! We have a gorgeous little boy cattle dog and they are so easily trained, really loyal and great with our DD Abigail who is 8 and a half months. We got him when she was about 5 months old so they would grow up together-was one of the best things we did!

AimeeB
20-11-2006, 20:52
Well that's a good point too (being alone) - I agree with AimeeB about the Staffy's...great companion dogs.

They are great companion dogs mamduke!You just have to be prepared to spend the time with them as they do really love being one of the family!Diesel comes nearly everywhere with us and I'm sure he thinks he is one of the kids.He even came in last night and tried to climb on my lap!Not good when you're 23 weeks pg and he is only about 40 cm tall but weighs 25kg!!They are also great cos they don't need much maintenance,A bath once every week and a half and dh gives him a quick brush.Short hair so don't lose much fur.and he's more than happy,if we go out,to sit on his bed with a big bone to keep him occupied.Although we do put him in the enclosed area if we happen to go out without him as he is still at the puppy stage(mind you he will only chew MY things!!)They reckon till about 12-18 months they grow out of it.So lots of toys to play with and a nice sunny spot-he loooves lying and sleeping in the sun!

20-11-2006, 20:53
I grew up with German Shepherds (Alsatians) and absolutely LOVE them! I so wish we could have one - but the yard just isn't going to be big enough. I much prefer bigger dogs to medium or small sized dogs - probably just cause thats what I'm used to.

What about an adult labrador?

mm85
20-11-2006, 20:55
we had a labbie such sweet dogs but need lots of excersise gordie didnt get enough and had really bad arthritis however u spell it. i found them lots of work but thats just me ill try and think of other breeds and let u know if i think of any :)

mum2charli
20-11-2006, 20:56
I had a labrador as a child and she used to let me ride on her back (we have photos of it) and climb all over her, she was so gentle and loving.

My mum rescued her from a dog shelter when she was an adult and she was the most beautiful dog! I still miss her.

20-11-2006, 20:59
Oh for gawds sake dont go down the Labrador route !!!!
You wont have the time for one !
Seriously i loved my Lab & they are great dogs but a lot of hard work !!!
As aardvaark pointed out they are puppies until 2yrs of age & mine was still like one at 4yrs !
They are easy to train yes but can get up to mischief if left alone for too long or get bored which happens when you have a new baby.

I vote for a Mini Schnauzer because :
a) i want one :p
b) they are great companions & loyal
c) good for families
d ) great indoor dogs as they dont shed like most dogs
e) dont require lots of exercise

Cattle dogs & kelpies are hard work also as they require lots & lots of exercise granted some are easy going, hey we had one as kids but most can go absolutely mental in a small backyard.

You could try a Cocker Spaniel or a Cavalier King Charles ummm what else Staffy's are good to as a few has said plus easy maintenance with a very short smooth coat.

Please please once you have decided on what to get find a reputable breeder & dont buy from a pet shop. They often come from backyard breeders for one thing which means they come with who knows what problems but also they are often harder to house train etc due to being left in those horrid cages.
Let me know if you want a Mini Schnauzer because i have a good breeders details !

SairBear
20-11-2006, 21:01
we have 3 cairn terriers
they are great cuddly companion dogs
they dont yap
they dont shed much hair
they are good guard doggies
they are fantastic around kids
they are cute
they are small enough to have in the car to take places
they are big enough to not feel like ur playing with a toy
they are easy to train
they are not very common.. so always get asked what they are and a good talking point
they are small enough to not need alot of excersize but big enough to go for a run with u at the park and not get too tired

think of toto off the wizard of oz :) and the dog in neighbours audrey :)

poodysmum
20-11-2006, 21:03
BOXER DOG! Awesome family dog, great with kids, and a big sook that LOVES cuddles! :D

20-11-2006, 21:10
These ideas are fantastic... My head is beginning to muddle a bit though! LOL

Call me stupid - but I've only ever heard negative reports about pitt bulls and boxers. I thought that staffy's were in the same 'class' of dog?

My parents bred Shepherds, so I'm pretty familiar with training and obediance of large dogs - and though this may sound silly - going for a small dog is kind of scary! Its like 'unchartered waters' LOL

I'm planning on getting a dog from an animal shelter; even though I may not know its past. But I'm still kind of hesitant.

Has anyone got any animal shelter pet stories to share?

AimeeB
20-11-2006, 21:16
[QUOTE=Pink Lady;831049]These ideas are fantastic... My head is beginning to muddle a bit though! LOL

Call me stupid - but I've only ever heard negative reports about pitt bulls and boxers. I thought that staffy's were in the same 'class' of dog?QUOTE]

I thought that about staffy's at first too but honestly we looked up so much info and they all rec them as family dogs.The only time they can become aggressive is towards other dogs but our dog just got chased by the foxxy up the road and our cat beats him up all the time.I think it depends on how they are trained/loved as to their behaviour.Of course you need to watch ANY dog but learnt behaviour plays a part i'm sure.(not sure about boxers as haven't had one and don't know anyone with a pitty either.)

20-11-2006, 21:25
Staffy's arent too much of a drama if you buying from a reputable breeder this way they breed out any temperament problems. I wouldnt advise getting a pound staffy though when your going to have a bubba around it. Also the shelter staff or organisation might be a little wary too because of the fact they dont know their pasts etc. I tried many places a few months ago & none were willing to say they agreed with me even viewing certain dogs because i had Boof was horrible :(

We did have a dog that came from the pound & rescue organisation a few years ago a big boy ( Akita x Shepard ) he was great & beautiful no dramas at all but my Lab hated him unfortunately due to her issues so he went back to his foster mum.
You can find great dogs but you have to be careful & i would advise looking for a dog thats been fostered because often they are then within a family unit for a longer time they know how they interact with kids & other animals so can give you specifics. Like if they dont like cats, bad around kids or are afraid of men etc.

Try www.paws.com.au they are great & have many different links too !

Its good your researching before jumping in because its sooo easy to let your heart win on these things. No one can resist a cute furball !!!

20-11-2006, 21:34
Try www.paws.com.au they are great & have many different links too !!!!
Cheers for that website - I've found another one - but this has a bit more info :thumbsup:

subaruforestermum
20-11-2006, 21:38
I have to agree with some...I am a staffy lover, or a boxer....or bull mastiff..... all are gorgeous dogs, (staffies are my fav)..and are all great dogs family wise, guard dogs and arent too big.....

I personally dont think cattle dogs are nippy though, I think this is a common misconception, as we had 3 growing up, and none of them where nippy unless playing with each other....I know some are, as they are working dogs, and need losts of space, and attention...... But from my experience I grew up with our heelers, and they were the most loyal, loving dogs I have ever known, but very protective.......JMO

We only have a small back yard and are currently looking to get a staffy...male as they are more stocky.........

Goodluck in making your desicion.......

Chub Chub
20-11-2006, 21:45
Throwing a spanner in the works! I have a very loyal relaxed staffy and my brothers staffy who is the same age is nippy, full on and a wee bit crazy! Just be aware!

What about a retired greyhound? My cousin has one and it is a super loyal, relax dude! He is truly a loving soul (in a dogs body). He is very good with her two sons! Little maintenance required:thumbsup:

My next choice would perhaps be a greyhound....;)

SilverStarfish
20-11-2006, 21:48
It must be small enough for a small-ish backyard (but big enough to cuddle!)
It must be able to be a good guard dog.
It must still be friendly enough for our growing family.
It must be able to be trained.

They are certainly NOT the dog for everyone, but I have a Hungarian Puli (http://www.hungarianpuli.com.au/) and he fits your description right down the end ends of his wooly toes :D

Pulis are a medium sized dog that thrive on being part of a family.They are not a dog you can just leave in the backyard. They are traditionally sheep dogs and are naturally protective of their "pack". They are fantasic with children - Kormos was our baby until Sarah was born. Now he's the big brother!

Oh, and they are supposed to be very intelligent... though ours, poor thing, isn't always the sharpest crayon in the box :laughing: but we love him anyway.

HelenHasTwins
20-11-2006, 21:52
I grew up with German Shepherds (Alsatians) and absolutely LOVE them! I so wish we could have one - but the yard just isn't going to be big enough. I much prefer bigger dogs to medium or small sized dogs - probably just cause thats what I'm used to.

What about an adult labrador?

i rekon you can't go wrong with a german shepard.....I have 1 and I love him....very gentle , very loyal...and he makes me feel sooo safe when my DH is not home...I think your yard would be fine as long as you walked him every day

Cheers Helen

20-11-2006, 21:54
I personally dont think cattle dogs are nippy though, I think this is a common misconception, as we had 3 growing up, and none of them where nippy unless playing with each other....I know some are, as they are working dogs, and need losts of space, and attention...... But from my experience I grew up with our heelers, and they were the most loyal, loving dogs I have ever known, but very protective.......JMO

Totally agree its like all dogs can be nippy but even in a family environment ours was nippy & pulled my earring out as a child so i wasnt allowed to be around her by myself even at 10yrs of age.
I guess it comes down to making a leap of faith & doing a lot of training etc so the dog knows its place in the "pack".

AimeeB
20-11-2006, 21:57
Throwing a spanner in the works! I have a very loyal relaxed staffy and my brothers staffy who is the same age is nippy, full on and a wee bit crazy! Just be aware!

What about a retired greyhound? My cousin has one and it is a super loyal, relax dude! He is truly a loving soul (in a dogs body). He is very good with her two sons! Little maintenance required:thumbsup:

My next choice would perhaps be a greyhound....;)

Greyhound is a good suggestion too!Alot of people don't kow much about them but my DH and FIL have trained and owned greyhounds forever and they are actually beautiful dogs.My in-laws have about 6 running around their property at the moment as pets as their racing days are over and they can't bring themselves to get rid of them.They do a program to these days where instead of putting them down once their racing career is over(which unfortunately is what usually happens:thumbsdown: )they are re-training them to become family pets.My DH and FIL reckon they would leave a bub with them unattended and not worry one bit.Although I wouldn't suggest this I know they have always been great with my kids when we are there.

babylover111
20-11-2006, 21:57
I just wanted to add that the site given by someone is fantastic!! I just answered the questions and the top dog that came up was the one i have :smiliedance:

20-11-2006, 22:02
They are certainly NOT the dog for everyone, but I have a Hungarian Puli (http://www.hungarianpuli.com.au/) and he fits your description right down the end ends of his wooly toes

Oh he is SO cute! Are they difficult to buy in Australia? I'm guessing pure-bred only. So sweet though!!!

i rekon you can't go wrong with a german shepard.....I have 1 and I love him

You know - my grandmother had to take one of our shepherds off our hands (we already had 4 and this one wasn't suitable for breeding) and she had about the same sized backyard as what we will have. Her shepherd was still a fantastic guard dog and like you said, providing we walk it frequently enough then it might just be a goer. And there is a great exercise park down the road for it to REALLY run around in too...

But I'm biased - I just LOVE german shepherds... They're such happy dogs and very loyal.

When I was 6 years old I got to hold the lead of the world championship sire! How exciting is that! :rolleyes:

Chickadee
21-11-2006, 11:30
I was also going to suggest a rescued ex-racing greyhound. My SIL has one in Canada and I have heard nothing but good things. They are large, which you said you liked, but are also lazy so don't need as much exercise or yard space as some other dogs. They are also carefully checked for temperment & given training by the rescue organisations before being adopted out.

AVR
21-11-2006, 12:17
I'm thinking maybe a kelpie or a cattle dog?

UNLESS YOU HAVE TWO HOURS PER DAY TO WALK WITH IT, i would stay away from working dogs.:yes:

They need constant exercise and stimulation. Talking from experience - they are a LOT of work.:thumbsup:

Maybe a lab - eating machine :laughing:or a really beautiful bitsa from the RSPCA! You will not only get a best friend but you will save a life too!:fingerscrossed:

Mum2Tyla
21-11-2006, 12:58
definately would not recommend a cattle dog or a kelpie they belong on a big property, they need heaps of exercise and don't go well in a small backyard, there are heaps of great medium size dogs but it all comes down to what you like and how much time you have to put into training and grooming ETC
Kelly:)

jess_live_die
23-11-2006, 18:19
sorry im no help but i want to get a dog when we move out in 2 weeks and i think ur thread is a great to help me as well thanku

aquarius
24-11-2006, 14:08
I'm planning on getting a dog from an animal shelter; even though I may not know its past. But I'm still kind of hesitant.

Has anyone got any animal shelter pet stories to share?

hey there pink lady, sorry coming into this thread quite late but we adopted our dog freya from the rspca at 8 mths of age, she is an elkhound crossed with a cattle dog (elkhounds look like huskies but a tad smaller, fluffy with curly tail!) we have had her for 4 years and she is the most fantastic dog - much more hardy and obedient and intelligent than some of my mates dogs who are purebred. she had been at the rspca for 2 wks before we adopted her and the carers were able to tell us a lot about her history and what they'd observed of her temperament. all i can say is no matter what dog you get, invest in some doggie obedience classes or training every day at home, and teach the doggie her place in the pack - you will be so glad you did when bub comes along! good luck xx

mum33
24-11-2006, 15:09
why do people love staffies so much? sorry but i think they are the ugliest things and i've seen way too many vicious staffies that i wouldnt want to be around one, let alone let my son be around one.

you can argue all you like that the yap yap dogs have just as much ability to maul a child (which i myself havent actually heard one attack a child) but those little dogs just dont have the same capacity that those staffies and other vicious breeds do.

i know different dogs have different temperaments and people say oh but xxxx would never harm our child. yeah til you see some little kid attacked by one of those dogs on the evening news.

sure a small dog could give a small bite to a child, if its got a bad temperament (but those are the ones you keep away from children) but those bigger dogs have bigger jaws and they can lock onto to your flesh and rip chunks out of you causing alot more damage than a small dog with a tiny jaw.

i'm not tryin to start a debate but i've witnessed too many bad incidents and seen too many reports on the news and wonder why people choose these breeds of dog and let them around their children.

i'm sorry, i just dont trust them dogs and never will, i've seen and heard too much. i would advise against a dog like that around children but i'm sure i'll have everyone gang up on me and tell me how wrong i am.

also, dont get a kelpie. they require too much of your time and need a BIG backyard. mum's dog is a kelpie and she has to surrender him coz she moved into a house with a smaller yard and its making him crazy and unfriendly.

shed
24-11-2006, 15:32
you have had some sensible advice here Ally and I will add my two cents worth.

There is no reason you can't get a german shepherd. They don't need a yard any bigger than a medium sized yapper does, what do you think they do all day, run laps? They don't! Our shepherd runs around less than our Westie.

As long as you walk him/her regularly then it should be fine.

You are obviously familiar with and comfortable with this breed and it sounds like you want one, so I think that would be the best choice for you.

If you are going to get a dog I would do it either:

Now

or

much much MUCH later when you child is a lot older.

You won't have much time for a dog when your baby is born so you need to get the training in place now or wait a couple of years.

Who is going to walk any dog when you are heavily pregnant or when the baby is tiny and Grant is away? Even little dogs need this to stop them becoming bored and yappy.

mel79
24-11-2006, 15:37
There's a lot of dog psychology literature out there which makes it clear that a dog is only as well behaved/aggressive as its owners allow it to be.
I have worked as a dog groomer for 3 years and have groomed some of the most supposedly aggressive dogs there are. The only dog i have ever been bitten by is a chihuahua. My sisters lifelong fear of dogs was triggered by a mini poodle attack. 1 out of every 2 people i know has been bitten by a small dog. I know one person who has been bitten by a bigger dog - but bites by bigger dogs do cause more damage so of course there is much more media focus on that. People being bitten every day by their small dogs just doesnt rate on the news.
IMO it is all a matter of how the dog is treated. I have seenthe worst behaved dogs in the world have a complete turnaround after proper dog psychology has been applied.
Having said this, i dont think that i would leave my child unattended around one of my dogs who is older & a bit grumpy.

AVR
24-11-2006, 15:47
IMO it is all a matter of how the dog is treated.

I agree, my dog could rip your arm off BUT we have never tolerated any type of agressive behaviour ( even play nipping which is done in fun by 99.9% of boarder collies- and he is a BIG BIG BIG :yes:boy) and he has never been agressive to a child - heaps around here too with all of my nephews. He actually gets all shy and super soft around them.:laughing:

Mums toy poodle... now thats another story. Small dog complex or what lol Wouldnt trust her for a second.:eek:

I think that, as everyone else has said on here, its never ok to leave your dog ( or cat) alone with your children just in case so I would say go with what suits you, your yard and your activity level! :thumbsup:

AimeeB
24-11-2006, 18:11
why do people love staffies so much? sorry but i think they are the ugliest things and i've seen way too many vicious staffies that i wouldnt want to be around one, let alone let my son be around one.

you can argue all you like that the yap yap dogs have just as much ability to maul a child (which i myself havent actually heard one attack a child) but those little dogs just dont have the same capacity that those staffies and other vicious breeds do.

i know different dogs have different temperaments and people say oh but xxxx would never harm our child. yeah til you see some little kid attacked by one of those dogs on the evening news.

sure a small dog could give a small bite to a child, if its got a bad temperament (but those are the ones you keep away from children) but those bigger dogs have bigger jaws and they can lock onto to your flesh and rip chunks out of you causing alot more damage than a small dog with a tiny jaw.

i'm not tryin to start a debate but i've witnessed too many bad incidents and seen too many reports on the news and wonder why people choose these breeds of dog and let them around their children.

i'm sorry, i just dont trust them dogs and never will, i've seen and heard too much. i would advise against a dog like that around children but i'm sure i'll have everyone gang up on me and tell me how wrong i am.

also, dont get a kelpie. they require too much of your time and need a BIG backyard. mum's dog is a kelpie and she has to surrender him coz she moved into a house with a smaller yard and its making him crazy and unfriendly.

Yes you are VERY wrong!
MIL has a foxy whom has never had a bad temperament and he bit Avalon two a days ago for no reason except that she tried to climb up on MILs lap(we all witnessed the whole thing)As a responsible staffie owner-no I would never leave any of my kids alone with any dog.But I would love to hear about ALL the attacks by staffies that you have heard of:confused: Even on the news when you hear of a pit bull attack most of these are not full or properly bred pitbulls they are usually bits and pieces and if you have a look at a number of websites inc Burkes backyard and Dr harry you will see that staffies are a highly recommended pet for families with kids.Yes-ALL dogs can be aggressive inc small ones and yes-bigger ones can cause more damage but I also believe that responsible pet ownership plays a big part.As for being ugly,well I think they're beautiful!

niesl_bug
25-11-2006, 15:06

It's been so interesting reading everyone's posts!!!

We have french bulldog who is amazing and I could highly recommend them. I guess they're in between a small and a big dog. Ruby weighs about 10kgs. She has the most gentle temperament, she is soooooooooo funny, she is fine in our small yard, doesn't need too much exercise and is just wonderful with our (very young) nieces and nephews and even the cat!
She will only bark when there is someone at the house, other than that she is really quitet.

They're quite a rare breed and a bit on the pricey side but if someone offered me $1m for her I would never give her up!
We did a LOT of research before deciding what breed would be best for us and i would get another "Frenchie" in a heartbeat!
Good luck with your decision making :fingerscrossed:

Mamaduke
25-11-2006, 15:18
I think what everyone needs to remember that a dog is an animal...
animals are unpredictable and all have the ability to bite &/or attack regardless of breed, colour, cuteness factor, ugliness :ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity:

A Party of Five
25-11-2006, 15:20
:thumbsup: That's so true Mamaduke!

That's why I don't fully trust any dogs around my children.

mum33
25-11-2006, 19:45
Yes you are VERY wrong!
MIL has a foxy whom has never had a bad temperament and he bit Avalon two a days ago for no reason except that she tried to climb up on MILs lap(we all witnessed the whole thing)As a responsible staffie owner-no I would never leave any of my kids alone with any dog.But I would love to hear about ALL the attacks by staffies that you have heard of:confused: Even on the news when you hear of a pit bull attack most of these are not full or properly bred pitbulls they are usually bits and pieces and if you have a look at a number of websites inc Burkes backyard and Dr harry you will see that staffies are a highly recommended pet for families with kids.Yes-ALL dogs can be aggressive inc small ones and yes-bigger ones can cause more damage but I also believe that responsible pet ownership plays a big part.As for being ugly,well I think they're beautiful!

well they are really more than i can mention but 3 really terrible ones were my mum was bitten by one, had a huge chunk of her calf muscle ripped off by it, its locked its jaws onto her leg and they had to bash the s*** out of it to get it to let her go.

when i was little our silky terrier had its head nearly ripped off by one, it severed all the arteries in its neck and its a wonder she survived and an aunties dog totally mauled and killed a poor innocent neighbours cat.

also, my SSIL had got one recently and they treat it with such love and attention but its starting to get so aggressive, i tell her to tie it up, coz i just dont want it around me or my son.

those were all pure bred staffies by the way.... not cross breeds. i;ve seen what these dogs can do, and i just think to myself, why? why do people take the risk?

AimeeB
25-11-2006, 20:03
well they are really more than i can mention but 3 really terrible ones were my mum was bitten by one, had a huge chunk of her calf muscle ripped off by it, its locked its jaws onto her leg and they had to bash the s*** out of it to get it to let her go.

when i was little our silky terrier had its head nearly ripped off by one, it severed all the arteries in its neck and its a wonder she survived and an aunties dog totally mauled and killed a poor innocent neighbours cat.

also, my SSIL had got one recently and they treat it with such love and attention but its starting to get so aggressive, i tell her to tie it up, coz i just dont want it around me or my son.

those were all pure bred staffies by the way.... not cross breeds. i;ve seen what these dogs can do, and i just think to myself, why? why do people take the risk?

Obviously no point even continuing this as it will turn into a debate but I must add I really don't know why so many sites would reccomend them as great family pets if the cases you stated were the norm.I am a proud and responisible staffie owner and I will stand by the statement that ANY dog can do the things you have said and that we live quite happily alongside our dog.He is a dog and he knows his place in this family and we are also responsible parents and would never place our kids in unnecessary harm.:)

Mamaduke
25-11-2006, 20:37
He is a dog and he knows his place in this family
...and this statement is the most important one that owners need to realise, no matter what breed of dog.
BTW...I love staffies and they are beautiful!

TheMamma
25-11-2006, 20:38

I agree with a lot of the posts - a Staffy is a fantastic dog. They are however a non stop ball of energy and can be VERY stubborn, but once trained they are loyal and loving companions and are great family pets.

I also have an English Bull Terrier. Yes - I know what people are thinking - but our girl is the most gentle and loving thing and has personality plus. She is great with the neighbours kids and my nephew and they are definately one of the greatest breeds of dogs. I alwaus had the same idea that most people do - that they are vicous and not great around kids etc...but my DH has had them previously and now - I will never have another dog aside from a Bully or a Staffy.

They are both excellent guard dogs (well mine would lick the culprit to death!), do not bark a lot, very loving, loyal, and great family pets!

I think that no matter what sort of breed you get you must give the dog attention and love every day - and I would highly recommend obedience training. Any dog, no matter how big or small should still know who is boss in the house!:p

BlueGin
25-11-2006, 21:02
Hey Pink Lady, I was on the same search as you this time last year, and rang some shelters.
Both the Lost Dogs and RSPCA person I spoke to recommended a Rhodesian Ridgeback as a great option for these areas:

1. Guard dog - great with a warning growl, and to protect, but by nature will generally stay by their owner rather than "rushing" or "attacking" someone so you feel personally safe

2. Exercise - One of the few dogs who much prefer sleeping at your feet to any other activity, and you aren't even allowed to have them running around heaps as pups as they can damage their growing joints! This also means they don't eat as much as you'd imagine.

3. Kids - Amazingly tolerant to being manhandled once trained properly. Ideally children are never unsupervised with dogs, and certainly aren't encouraged to pull their ears and such, but this is a good trait for those inevitable times when little fingers just can't resist that waggly tail!

4. Company - Super loving and loyal, a true friend for life, will think you are Christmas-on-legs!

Now as you only have a limited time till the bub comes along I'd look at Ridgeback Rescue, as they can have the most fantastic grown up dogs and they are professional re-homers too, and these puppies are massive, so all the normal annoying puppy behaviours could well be too much for you in a few months! Mine was 35kg by 6 months, as a guide, and 70cm to his shoulder.

I grew up with a Staffy, definitely not an aggressive breed when bred by skillfull and knowledgeable people, so you'd need to have the Staffy Breeders Association put you in touch with the right breeder to get the best temperament.

Can't recommend dog shows enough, they are a great way to compare dog sizes/coats/differences in the sexes, and to speak to breeders to and ask questions. A responsible breeder wont hide flaws as they aim to find the most appropriate home possible for each and every puppy!

Good luck!

XGin

A Party of Five
25-11-2006, 23:18
:crying: OMG that's so sad, the poor thing!

Lirael
25-11-2006, 23:18
PL I would have to say get a cat. :D

mythreelittlemonkeys
25-11-2006, 23:27
I think I agree with perth pony no dog can be 100% trusted they are animals...
I have been bitten twice in my childhood - both unprovoked by family pets...they were a golden retreiver and a springer spaniel...both until that point never bitten and great with kids...maybe I smelt wrong???!!! Anyhow both breeds are supposed to be the best with kids...
I would never leave any dog however good they are with a child...or let them guard the child...
BTW I have a beagle puppy...he is sweet with my baby and she loves to see him...but I would never let him be alone with her or let him too close even supervised all it takes is a split second for an affectionate nibble to ruin a face...

kej
25-11-2006, 23:55
Hi! We have got a new puppy, a labradoodle, she's 6 months old now, and absolutely adorable. We were told they'd make good family pets, but hadn't actually planned to get pregnant until after we got her.
She is very cheeky, and gets up to mischief, but has already calmed down noticably in the 3 months that we've had her. we've been told she doesn't need excessive amounts of exercise, she doesn't shed any hair and she is just GORGEOUS!!!!
Also, we've seen portugese water dogs and boxers at puppy school which also seem like great family pets.
only down side with the labradoodle is that she was quite expensive. but worth every penny i say!!

aquarius
26-11-2006, 11:56
perth pony that is the saddest story about the old labrador who was destroyed, i am nearly in tears. stupid stupid people indeed. and i'm sorry to hear about the attack on you when you were only little, how distressing...

i reckon all dogs have different personalities within their breeds and how they've been trained and what life experiences they've had contribute to their different personalities as well, so it's not good to assume that just coz dogs are of the same breed they will behave totally the same way. agree with what someone else said - learn as much as you can about dog psychology and do some obedience training and then you get to know your dog in time and you'll know what's best for everyone.

mel79
27-11-2006, 14:31
I also just wanted to add that I agree with pp that it is the dog's experiences, its training and its personality which make a dog what it is.

I also wanted to respond to a pp comments about mongrels - when you say that all mongrels are in the same category, and all have bad temperaments, I personally see that as being the same as saying that everyone who is of mixed race has a bad temperament - you cant generalise, about people or dogs. Everyone is an individual, human or dog, and is affected by their experiences in life - i dont think that it is justified to say that a person or dog is 'bad' because of their race or breed.

Pixie
27-11-2006, 14:39
did I respond to this already lol I forget but I want to say, I have trouble looking after my Bird let alone a dog :laughing: I'd say wait until baby arrives then make a choice as to what happens!