View Full Version : Good Midwives!!

19-10-2005, 19:32
Hi everybody, well i saw the thread "bad midwives" and i thought i would start one with good midwives! :D
When i was in labour i believe i had the best midwives in Australia! :D They were so friendly, gentle and considerate of my needs. They didnt try to make me feel like i was whinging or anything bad. They were very supportive through the whole 30 hours! :eek: When i arrived i had this midwive who was very old fashioned but got the job done. She actually came on the next day and delivered my DS. They didnt look down on me for being young, which was one thing i was worried about. They were all very well organised and patient. Basically what im trying to say is that i was very lucky to have them and i cant thank them enough. Its hard work being a midwive and i'd take my hat off to them for everything that they do. I have never heard a bad complaint about them, in fact everyone who has given birth there was telling me that they are the best. I know that there would be lots more people out there that could say the same about the midwives that they had. So fess up now and tell us all your story about the midwives that you've had.

jaydensmum. ;)

talon
19-10-2005, 21:45
i had two different midwives while i was in labour. the first one was there right up until i was ready to push and then her shift ended - she was pretty good (was also the lady who took my ante-natal class) but the delivery ward was full that day and she was by herself so i didn't see her that much.

the second midwife started on shift as i was pushing and she was really excellent. so supportive and involved. she got on really well with my ob and knew what needed to happen with my epidural and all the drugs being pumped into me. :rolleyes: i was throwing up afterwards and she fixed that quick smart for me. she was really down to earth and easy to talk to.

it makes a HUGE difference when you can get support like that from the midwife. it really made what was a difficult labour and delivery a bit brighter for me. She also came and checked on us the next day and made sure we were settling in alright which meant a lot to me.

Hugs to all the midwifes out there that treat their patients with this kind of emotional and physical support. I don't think you get enough credit for the job you do sometimes and I didn't realise just how stretched the maternity wards can be with staff sometimes. Must put a lot of pressure on them also.

19-10-2005, 21:56
I don't think you get enough credit for the job you do sometimes and I didn't realise just how stretched the maternity wards can be with staff sometimes. Must put a lot of pressure on them also.

Kriscee - Its good to see that there's other "good midwives" out there. I totally agree with you. A lot of people dont recognise that they do have a hard job and they dont get credit for it. I know that there's a few midwives who make the good ones look bad. It would be such a difficult job sometimes. They have to be supportive, caring, understanding and put up a lot from family and birthing mum's! :p As i said before they do need a lot more credit for what they do.

jaydensmum.

*Sal*
19-10-2005, 21:57
I had fantastic midwives with both my labours - didn't really know they could be otherwise as I had not heard horror stories until reading that other thread. They listened to my needs, offered support (physical and emotional) and went above and beyond the call of duty. I guess I was really lucky compared to some women. My OB is also my friend and many MWs are afraid of him - perhaps that had something to do with it as well.

I see the hospital stay after birth as a mini holiday for me to bond with my baby. That mirage will be destroyed if awful midwives provide "care"

j&k'smum
20-10-2005, 00:29
I found the midwives I had 9years ago weren't as kind and compassionate as the one I had two years ago. She was fantastic. Whether the time gap had anything to do with the different approach, or maybe it was the first midwives were with the hospital in the birthing centre and the second lot were with a midwives programme run through a womens centre. I didn't have to go to the hospital for my appointments, only to the centre which made it so personal from the start. The midwife who ended up with me through most of the pregnancy was absoloutly fantastic. She even came out to my house to check on me as I was overdue.
I remember being in shock when I said I need to push and she said, "Thats ok, push". The first experience was very down the line..I had to not push when I wanted to push and go against what my body so wanted to do.. I was Blessed to be given someone who let me have the most wonderful experience of giving birth..I will never forget it and I will never forget her.
I gave birth in the squatting positin, with no drugs and it was the proudest moment of my life!!! She let me be in total control with whatever I wanted to do. There was no worry of doing it wrong or anything. She let me just Be.
Now THAT would be the most amazing rewarding job!!! :)

tickle
20-10-2005, 06:46
I had 4 different excellent midwifes while I was in labor. They were all really nice and supportive. I ended up thinking the last one was the devil, but she was just doing her job and trying to help me do what I needed to do to get that baby out!! Although at that point in time I think anyone would have been the devil!!She went back to the sweet lady I knew before after he was born. :)

AM
20-10-2005, 06:59
I was very lucky, as i got to interview a few different midwives, and choose which one i liked the most, and then she was my primary caregiver throughout my entire pregnancy.
The reason i was able to have this choice, was that I decided to have a homebirth, and engage an independant midwife.
It is just lovely to be able to build a rapport with one person throughout your whole pregnancy, have a mobile number which you can call 24 hours a day if you need to, have your midwife visit you in your own home, meet all the rest of the family, and anyone else who may be present for the birth.
I feel it really puts a woman in the best possible frame of mind to have a smooth birthing, to have a known and trusted midwife there, not to have to put up with changes of staff etc.
I am having the same midwife this time around as well, and i can't wait!

brooke
20-10-2005, 07:59
i havent given birth yet but i get too see the same midwife every appoitment
and she will also support me through my labour!
she is fantastic and i feels so confident and at ease when i am around her!
i wrote my birth plan and gave it too her and she agreed with everything that
was in there! so thats always a good start!

i can call her any time i have a worry.... and i mean ANY TIME!
And she never makes me feel stupid for asking a question or asking about a pain
or cramp!
i know that some time when i dont want to "bother" her and i call the hospital
directly they are never as helpful or understanding and its quite upsetting!
im really looking forward to jan helping me through the most presious time in my life!

alicesmum
20-10-2005, 08:34
i had 2 MWs throughout my labour, the second one rocking in for the last 3 hours. when she walked in, hard labour was already established.

when she first walked in the room, i looked up from my gas tube in my kneeling position in the shower and thought "OH MY GOD. SHE LOOKS ABOUT 17 YEARS OLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (I later learned she was actually 30, but just looked really really young!). Immediately i was worried she would be no good during the hardest part of it and was so sad to be losing the first MW who had been awesome until that point with the clear and gentle way she explained everything and all the good questions she asked.

Anyway, I was VERY wrong. This young MW was awesome. she massaged my back, pushed on my hips (did anyone have that, that is the best thing when they squeeze your hips together). She was very physical with me, which must have been draining for her as she was so tiny!!!!! But it was exactly what I needed.

During pushing she was rather directive which was good. after it was all said and done, I was so grateful to her (and the first MW) and when she came and saw me again before her shift ended, I couldn't stop thanking her!!!!

:p

tickle
20-10-2005, 08:38
I found the different care styles that the different midwifes used to be really interesting (on reflection of course!!). They all had individual styles which made each one good in their own way.

pregasaurus
20-10-2005, 17:49
My private midwives that I hired last time and this time around are absolutely phenomenal. Jean and Gary are awesome, VERY experienced, understanding, gentle, supportive and most importantly patient. They are worth every cent and I wouldn't be half as calm as I am about the impending birth if I didn't have them by my side.

Lucybelle
22-10-2005, 12:15
I'm glad someone started this thread, although I did post in the Bad midwife thread too!

I had the MOST amazing midwife when I had my daughter over 13 years ago. I cannot explain how she seemed to know exactly what I needed, I barely needed to talk and she stayed to the end past her shift.
She gave me trust in my body and I birthed an 8 pounder in 4 hours, no drugs, no stitches.

I wish I knew where she was now - Gail from Knox Private 13 years ago, I'll never forget her.

Lucybelle
22-10-2005, 12:16
Oh yeah - Pregasauras, can you pop into the birth thread and tell them about Gary?

Mamaduke
12-11-2005, 23:00
Isn't it terrible when you forget a name.
There was one particular midwife who helped me at Box Hill Hospital - Birralee maternity unit
YAY YAY LOVE BIRRALEE MIDWIVES!!!!!!!
Anyway, on going in I was very sceptical about midwives and my thoughts on them was - well, they just s*** can the doctors!
I had a wonderful, caring midwife who did not push any of her personal preferences onto me and was with me while I laboured, and when the time came to have an emergency c/s reassured me that it was the best for baby - I remember being soooo very frightened!!!!
People racing into the room, strapping things to me, sticking things in my back, asking me questions - all I wanted to know were their names funnily enough. But the one thing I remember is the constant friendly familiar face telling me it's going to be okay and explaining things to me.
DS had to be in the special care nursery and she often came in to see how he was going.
Not to say that the other midwives weren't fabulous too!
They were all fantastic and caring and genuinely interested in how DS was going.
A year later we took DS back to Birralee to have his photo taken with the midwives and luckily enough the one I adored was there!
There's good and bad in every occupation - it's just the bad that gets focused on the majority of the time!
Carly

Jaileth
13-11-2005, 14:11
I've just read this thread and the bad midwives one - and as a first time mum who's due in 9 weeks, can I just say that it has me worried! 9 Pages in the Bad MW's thread, and 2 in this one - please, please, keep the good stories coming!!!!!

BecH
14-11-2005, 06:12
Shaelia,

I had the most wonderful midwife. She supported me through the 28 hours of labour without me getting discourgaed until transition (but this is very normal). They say the best method of natural birth is a supportive midwife and partner. Without both I defintely wouldn't have made it as my back labour could be quite overwhelming. Midwives are usually generally passionate women who believe in a natural birthing process, because although it can be hard work it is most beneficial for your body and bubs. Having said that don't ever feel guilty if pain relief or emergency c-section occurs because for you and bub to be healthy is the most important and I was exhausted after my dd arrived.

The best birthing tip i had was long slow deep breaths through every contraction. If you can't manage it have your partner breathe with you, it really helped me.

Good luck with your birth and bub.

Bec

Jaileth
14-11-2005, 10:41
Thanks Bec - will try and keep it in mind :)

Hopefully I'll be able to add my 'best midwives ever' story to this thread! :D

24-11-2005, 01:25
I had fantastic midwives. I can not praise them anough for their efforts & patience.
Not only were they great during my pregnancy but the many i had through my labour were just as great .
I had one who was changing over from being an emergency room nurse to a midwife so she was still learning & she was fantastic all excited she would see her first "proper" birth but things didnt go to plan Bubs still wouldnt arrive so she even stayed on when her shift finished so she could be present for the birth.
It was such a long a hard labour everyone cried !
All 5 midwives & 3 doctors including myself, my partner, my mum & aunty.
The most amazing experience !

Honey
04-12-2005, 00:52
I had great midwives at the Birth Centre in Royal Women's Hospital Randwick Sydney. Kat and Jo. :D
I have also worked alongside some wonderful midwives. I think if you can get onto a team midwives care in your public hospital/birth centre or even better have one on one midwifery care that is the best because you get to know the midwives beforehand so you're not being cared for by strangers. The problem with standard hospital care (private or public) is it's like a lottery you don't know who you are going to get. ALso I have seen some women love onemidwife and other women dislike her, so it can be because of differences in belief about birth, or that problem of not knowing you beforehand to know what sort of support you want and need.
Perhaps also thinking too that if you have a real personality clash - your DH can tactfully request that a different midwife care for you.

Miaow
08-12-2005, 06:50
The midwifes I had at Frankston Hospital were great (Anne and Jessica) I met another girl on the bus one day that said she had the same pair of midwifes also and said they were great as well. The midwifes that came round to visit in the days after got home from hospital were helpful and friendly also:)

TwoBlue
08-12-2005, 17:11
both of my midwives with Samuels birth were unreal
and with Ethans birth.. well she was just a bl*#dy ripper !! The absolute best and she even had me laughing during and shortly after Ethans birth !! I sent her a thankyou card just the other day because i just reckon she was the best :)

Dont be nervous Shaelia i am sure you will be apples :p
Remember this is Australia and we often tend to tell our "bad" stories before our "good" stories !!

Jaileth
01-02-2006, 12:21
Te midwifes at Caboolute hospital were great - especially Annette, Helen, Machelle and Kathy. Absolutly fantastic!!! Thank you so much!!!

saara
01-02-2006, 17:42
Te midwifes at Caboolute hospital were great - especially Annette, Helen, Machelle and Kathy. Absolutly fantastic!!! Thank you so much!!!

I'm so glad to hear that!! I'm going to Caboolture hospital when I have my (first) bub and I was wondering what they would be like!:D

3cherubs
01-02-2006, 23:02
With Arwen the midwifes at North Shore Private were excellent ( elle ), But when i had Rosie,i had the BEST MIDWIFE at Bundaberg Hospital and her name is Shellie. She explanied everything and when i was discouraged she supported us all.

CrazyBeautiful
28-02-2006, 15:44
The midwives at North Shore Private were absolutely fantastic. It's an extremely busy place and a lot of the time they are simply rushed off their feet. They're an absolutely wonderful bunch of professionals.

Nan
01-03-2006, 08:26
I had two midwives, one was awesome and the other was also good. Julie (the first one) took about 3 phone calls from me while I was labouring at home, then was with me throughout my time in the delivery room and stayed with me even though her shift ended about an hour and a half before. She was great. She just said to do whatever my body felt to do and I had minimal pain, no drugs, no tearing etc, even after pushing for over 1.5 hours!! She basically let me do whatever I wanted, which was great (as I believe our beautiful bodies tell us what they want to do).
The second lady, Chris, was also great. She helped me experiment with a couple of different positions towards the end and helped me settle on the most comfortable one. She also helped me to get showered and dressed right away as I was feeling on top of the world!! In the end I actually didn't need her to help me much, but we had a lovely conversation. So, all in all, my midwives were excellent and I hope they are around for baby number 2.
Love,
Nan. xx

Will
29-03-2006, 14:24
I have to say all the midwives, nurses and even the cleaners were absolutely wonderful at Bundy Base Hospital, I had a student midwife as well as the fully trained midwife when i gave birth - it was the students 2nd delivery, on the 'catching' end, and she did a great job. I ended up with a tear, but that was totally my fault... Everyone was really great. Although i ended up going home after 24 hours because the other pateints weren't so great and my son couldn't sleep because of all the noise!