View Full Version : Calling all Kiwis!!

Jadesmum
19-10-2005, 18:09
:-)

melfunction
19-10-2005, 19:40
Hey cuz,

I'm from Christchurch tho originally Hokitika. Have been in Brisbane for 6 years. love it, love the weather. Just wish it would rain more because thats what I'm use to.

19-10-2005, 19:50
I'm a southlander! Grew up in Invercargill and moved to Upperutt when I was 18 moved to Palmy North when 21 then moved here to Brissy last July.
Love it here wouldn't move back to NZ now, but may go back for a holiday next year.
Now we have kiwis from the top, middle and bottom of NZ on this thread!

AM
19-10-2005, 19:52
I was raised in Puhoi, north of Auckland, but spent quite a few years in Tauranga/Te Puke/The Mount before dh and I both came across.
We've been here for 5 years, and I am incredibly homesick for family now i have a child, and am pg again, so we are returning home again in a couple of years time.

AM
19-10-2005, 19:54
Julie, my mum was born and raised in Winton, and lived in Invercargill as well.

jasminesmum
19-10-2005, 19:57
I was born in Napier and have been over here for years.

Went back at christmas last year for a holiday.It was great to see rellies but here is much better.

Hubby couldn't believe how green it was and how many sheep there were.Of course I had to cop all the sheep jokes and we had to stop and take sheep photos.

Michelle

melfunction
19-10-2005, 20:01
Julie, my dh was born in Invercargill, but lived in Gore

19-10-2005, 20:18
My DH is from Palmy btw.
It's such a small world! I know Winton very well, used drive through every week when visiting our family farm in Mossburn.
I do miss my family, my mum especially but we are so much better off here financially and I am so much happier here, I think it's all the sunshine!
We have had all the family visit us here this year so thats made things easier on us homesickness wise, though it's hard saying good bye when they leave. Xavier is the first grandson for both our families so we feel a little guilty that they can't see him more. Bless the internet, I email pics home everyday!

19-10-2005, 20:22
Oh a Gore boy aye? Did he drive an old Holden Kingswood bogan car lol????
We used to do 'laps' around the centre of Invers city with bogans!!! They're all boy racers these days mind you - fancy Japanese cars!

19-10-2005, 20:25
weather- crap. Unless you are a skiier/ snowboarder. Way too much rain, they need to send some of it over here.

AM
19-10-2005, 20:34
Jadesmum - I moved from Puhoi to Orewa when I was 13, and went to Orewa college!
Very small world indeed!

melfunction
19-10-2005, 20:40
OMG laps! that brings back memories Julie. He told me he use to be a bogan. His brothers all were too.

AM
19-10-2005, 20:50
Scarier and scarier....
Lived in Orewa from 1988 until 1996, and both myself and my elder sister worked at the Waiwera Thermal pools!
I was there when the infamous Jenny and Bob were managers there, and they ended up getting thrown out for ripping off the company, and my sister worked right through to when Sybil took over.
Actually, from memory, i'm pretty sure my sister also waitressed at the Waiwera hotel for a while as well. :eek:

AM
19-10-2005, 20:55
O - and when I was at primary school (Wainui) we used to travel to Orewa Nth primary for 'manual' cooking and woodwork classes, with the dreaded Mrs Robotham, and i can't remember the guy's name now, but he was lovely.

19-10-2005, 20:59
Gores no bigger than Masterton, it sort of got famous for a while when Havoc and Newsboy did a tv show on how it was the gay capital of NZ which upset alot of people!!!! Some people can be so ignorant about anything outside their own little world. Mudhuts? come on LOL!!!

AM
19-10-2005, 21:07
C'mon, Ive gotta know your mums name... I wonder if I ever worked with her?
I was in the front office for the most part with Liz and Rosalind.
And I did not know that Jenny had died! She must have been young.

peterpan
19-10-2005, 21:12
Gidday Kiwi girl's
I"m from the south Island Kaikoura bloody to cold there so moved over here
DH is a aussie so when the rugby is on he has to sit at the other end of the lounge......Go the Kiwi's we won again......
DS was bor on the 30th May 2005 and his first outfit was a all blacks jersey and boxer short's
Miss my family but not the cold. My Mum,Dad and sister are coming over on the 29th of october.....9 more sleep's can't wait to see them

Angela
David(DH)
Peter (DS)

19-10-2005, 21:27
Gidday Kiwi girl's
I"m from the south Island Kaikoura bloody to cold there so moved over here
DH is a aussie so when the rugby is on he has to sit at the other end of the lounge......Go the Kiwi's we won again......
DS was bor on the 30th May 2005 and his first outfit was a all blacks jersey and boxer short's
Miss my family but not the cold. My Mum,Dad and sister are coming over on the 29th of october.....9 more sleep's can't wait to see them

Angela
David(DH)
Peter (DS)
Kaikoura has the most gorgeous coastline, which makes up for the cold. Getaway did a thing about a few weeks back!
We were given heaps of kiwi clothes too when DS was born, despite the fact that he is an Australian Citizen! Treasure the time with your family, it goes so quickly when they're here. We don't have anymore family coming till JAN now, so will be a quiet Xmas *sobs*

melfunction
19-10-2005, 21:31
Hi jadesmum, sorry he don't know of anyone of that name.

Lots of people ask me who is going to turn out the lights after everyone leaves. Like, that is sooooo old its got mould on it.

Hey angela, how you doing? Put kaiden on solids morning and night now. he loves it. can't get it in his mouth fast enough. How's cutie boy pete?

AM
20-10-2005, 05:41
Lisa, I only remember Jane A'herne, she was the PE teachers daughter?
I was two years ahead i think, being born in '74.

Just a bit of trivia, You know the entrance to Wenderholm park, just north of Waiwera?
When I was about 17 i was being an over confidant new driver, and came around those corners too fast, coming from Puhoi, and wrote mums car off into the bank just before the entrance to the park.
I very nearly went the other way, and would have gone over the cliff there into the Waiwera estuary, so someone was looking after me that night! :eek:

Ky
20-10-2005, 13:40
Hey Guys ...

Born Palmy, Feilding till I was 3 ½, grew up in Gisborne, moved to Island Bay when I left school, then Upper Moutere (near Richmond), Tawa then back to Feilding, Palmy where I had dd while watching them knock down the old maternity ward where I was born then on to Masterton, Bankstown in Sydney then down to the South Coast of NSW!

Dh was born in Whangarei, grew up in Kaikohe, shifted back to Whangarei, then Masterton at high school age then on to Palmy where he met me and the rest is history!

Bella was born at Palmerston North Hospital and Daniel was born at Wellington Womens Hospital.

Don't think we will go back ... like it here too much!

mixi_mama
27-10-2005, 11:00
Hi im Moewai,
Well i stay in Brisbane (Greenbank) and have been here in aussie for about 5 years. I was born and raised in Auckland...stayed mostly in Devonport. Travelled a bit around aucks... (otara :eek: lol ). My husband is also a maori (im half he's full)... he's been here for the same amount of time as me. He grew up in Manurewa but his family are from Whirinaki way (where i cant quite remember).
I also stayed in Putaruru/Tokaroa before i moved here - glad to see so many kiwis :D :D

As for schools i went to Takapuna Grammar School in Nth Shore Aucks.
Hubby went to Rewa :p

angelraelz
25-11-2005, 10:25
hiya

i am new the forum but i am from new zealand as well... i was also in whangapoaroaoa Hibisics coast from 1986 - 1991.

But i am manily from nelson (motueka) and christchurch. i was in mot from 1991 - 1997 and then christchurch till i left nearly 2 years ago this january. But i went from chch to mot often.

i love melbourne alot and hope to go back to nz in 2007 for my brothers 21st and my mothers 50 birthday all going well i should make it back there.

i have 2 little boys and hopefully will be pregnant again soon.

angel :p

carls
25-11-2005, 10:30
Do you girls like chups and buscuts? LOL

:D ;)

ArnaNZ
25-11-2005, 11:53
Hi ya,

I'm from Tauranga/Te Puke, moved to Auckland when I was 12 (Forrest Hill/Takapuna way) and left NZ in 2000. Lived in London for 4 years - met my husband who's from Toowoomba and moved to Brisbane in July last year. Sounds silly but haven't actually met that many Kiwi's here!!!

We've got a little boy on the way who's due to pop out on the 11th of March. Had our first appointment with the midwife at the Birthing Centre (RBH) on Tuesday - makes it all very real now!!!

Arn

melfunction
25-11-2005, 12:12
Do you girls like chups and buscuts? LOL

:D ;)

That one is so old its got mould on it :p

Oh and I'm a kiwi until Monday, when I become an Austrayan

annsam
26-11-2005, 08:09

I was born Auck, grew up Whangarei, adult years Wellington so got around a bit. Been in Sydney for 5 years now. DH is welsh. DS is Australian so a bit of a mixture. Nice to meet you all.

AM
26-11-2005, 08:23
Hi Arn, I lived in Tauranga/ Te Puke for a while, No 2 road, and I was born in Takapuna.
My partner and I also left NZ in 2000, and landed in Brisbane in 2001, after a while in NSW.
Just about every second person we know is a kiwi!!

mixi_mama
27-11-2005, 07:09
i cant stop running into people i know from back home....
DH ran into a football friend yesterday, they havent seen each other in 6 years and he was shopping at Grand Plaza. :p
I know sao many kiwis its not funny - i dont know many australians to be honest ;)

Kaycee
28-11-2005, 08:54
HI everyone, thought I had better pop in here to say "Hi"
I spent my primary school years in Eltham (Taranaki), secondary in Te Puke and tertiary in Hamilton, went on OE then came back to Hamilton. Now in Vic. We know a lot of kiwi's too, mainly connected to the diary industry.
I hope the last person remember to turn off the light! :)
(joking, NZ is a great place to live, but we are happy in Aus for the moment)
Cheers, Kaycee

Biene
28-11-2005, 09:07
Hi, another kiwi here. I'm currently living in Perth, but came over from Auckland (yes another jaffa) in 2001, my partner is German but loooovvvveeesss NZ and would move with me there in a second, but I'm enjoying the Aussie weather at the moment!

ArnaNZ
28-11-2005, 10:18
Hey Angie,

The world is too small - I grew up on a kiwifruit orchard on No 2 Road. Moved to Tauranga when I was 10.
I'm just finishing up at Uni with my last exam tomorrow so have managed to mingle in with a few Aussies. I think hubby works with more Kiwi's than Aussies though!!!
Actually heading home on Friday for my cousins wedding in Tauranga so really looking forward to catching up with all the family - and having a holiday before Christmas!!!!

Kaycee
28-11-2005, 12:34
Angie and Arna, We had an orchard on Te Matai Road.
Arna - I'm jealous - have a great trip!
Kaycee

flygirl
18-12-2005, 21:37
Hey! I'm from Christchurch, originally from Timaru. Been on the Sunshine Coast for 2 1/2 years - we go back for holidays but love the weather here!! Have an 11 1/2 month daughter - miss all the family tho!:D

kimmariee
19-12-2005, 08:24
Hi was born in hamilton moved to aussie when was 5 then back to nz when i was 15 lived in hamilton then down to wellington met my hubby whos from samoa had 1st son then back to hamilton had 2nd son came back over to aussie to sydney had 3rd son then up here to brisbane trying for 4th baby now. Love nz but love aussie more we go back to vist every 2nd year as hubby has lots of family over there and my mum is there. My oldest loves the all blacks and warriors and tells everyone hes from nz. :)

Lambie
19-12-2005, 12:42

Another fellow kiwi here...moved to Brisbane (Underwood) from Auckland ("Westie") with my husband back in 1999 (another "Westie").

Just come back from a 2 week holiday and I have to say that I still prefer the temperature in Auckland. I am extremely homesick at the moment, but could quite possibly be the hormones!!!

ArnaNZ
19-12-2005, 12:51
I know what you mean about the weather Sonia!!! I got back last Wednesday from NZ and the heat here has taken my breath away!!! I'm feeling really homesick at the moment too. It's hard having a home and a life in one country and having everyone else in another. I'm feeling more torn about coming back to Brisbane now than I ever have but it's where we need to be now so it's all good. Just hard over Christmas especially!!!

AM
19-12-2005, 14:44
Right there with you , about the homesickness!
Last time I was home was about a year and a half, and we aren't due for a visit until August.
I have found it so hard with a child and no family, and now with no2 on the way, we have decided to renovate the house and head home for good in about 18 months or so.
Big call, but I feel really strongly about my kids knowing their extended family.

peterpan
19-12-2005, 16:19
Hi Kiwi's
I'm going home on Thursday for xmas and I'm like a big kid have had my bags packed for the last 2 weeks.....I know when i get back i will be homesick love going home but hate the goodbyes..
Hope you all have a great xmas hugs to you all

Ky
21-12-2005, 14:54
Have a great trip and enjoy being amongst your family.

I will sit here and be insanely jealous for the next 2 minutes then I will snap out of it and enjoy this scorching Aussie day!

peterpan
05-01-2006, 10:52
Hi All.
Hope you had a great xmas, NZ was just great when I lived there i could'nt wait
to get out of Kaikoura my home town now that I am older...lol That town is so pretty oh can you tell that I am homesick.....
It is so hot here and I just want to go home:( DH is Aussie and said no way
it's to cold there in the winter...
sorry for the whinge guys Have a great day

AM
08-01-2006, 09:57
Kaikoura really is beautiful, I've only visited briefly, but it is lovely!
Hugs for the homesickness, hope you get to fly home for a visit soon! :)

peterpan
08-01-2006, 20:48
Hi Angie,
Thanks for the hugs:)

andie_pandie
08-01-2006, 21:17
So good to see so many Kiwis. I was born in Palmy then when I was about to start high school moved to Waihi and went to the college there until 15 when I moved back to Palmy. My husband was born in Wellington, moved to Auckland when he was young and then down to Palmy where we met 18 years ago. We just celebrated our 10 year anniversary here in Brisbane on the 7th Jan and since arriving here we have not looked back. We have two boys our oldest is 11 and yes a kiwikid, my other boy is a Aussiekid and I am due to have another little one in June. I am a little long in the tooth to be having another one, was told 7 years ago it was impossible for me to conceive, they were wrong so will be a mum again and hopefully this time to a little girl will know in a couple of weeks.

Me 37
Hubby 36
Kiwikid 11
Aussiekid 7

Aussiekid No 2: EDD 18th June 2006

BigW
08-01-2006, 21:23
Just found this awesome thread......:p
I too am a kiwi born and raised. Grew up at Dacre (near Invers, half way to Gore), lived in Te Anau (Mararoa), Palmerston North, Wellington, Wairoa, spent quite a bit of time in Christchurch and Dunedin.
I do miss it, but more so the people, and not so much the country as yet.... my time will come I'm sure! :D
Anyone happen to travel home on the 23rd of December, Brisbane - Auckland, about lunchtime? Just curious, as there were a heck of a lot of babies on the flight besides us! :confused:
Look forward to chatting with other similarly geographical chickies out there......

BigW
.................ok, posted twice for some reason???

BigW
three times?????

draught
10-01-2006, 21:25
For those of you who haven't seen it Air NZ has a very good sale on tickets to NZ at present - $129 plus taxes one way (which makes it about $220 one way) from Brisbane to Auckland - hundreds cheaper than any of the other airlines (well - except Freedom but their flights don't suit everyone!)

Ky
11-01-2006, 07:53
I think I could just about afford to go with fares like that .... anyone willing to look after my dh and kids while I go????

melfunction
11-01-2006, 08:06
I can't believe Tana Umaga has retired from the All Blacks!:eek: :eek: Best captain we've had since Fitzy....I am gutted :(

11-01-2006, 08:29
Hi! I only just saw this thread.
I'm not REALLY a kiwi.. but I kind of am. I waver between what I call myself.
My parents were both Kiwis, but I was born in Aus, I visited NZ heaps when I was little to visit my grandparents (and more recently in August when Grandad died..) :(

I love that country, it's so clean smelling and looking :)

My grandad lived in Masterton, which is where I spent most of my time when I was over there. My dad's mum lived in Keri Keri and my mum's mum lived in Aukland (near the One Poto Basin) but my mum was born down south.

ANYWAY. :) Just wanted to wave a hi :D

peterpan
11-01-2006, 18:48
Welcome to the new Kiwi's who just found us all...
I'm from the South (Kaikoura) I do miss my family and friends
try to get back once a year.
Hope to chat soon:)

andie_pandie
12-01-2006, 17:02
Karen, unfortunately I do not know any Leys however the name is familiar. I went back there last year and it has changed so much. Did go through Tauranga and to the Mount and I forgot how beautiful Tauranga was. As a teen I used to get on a bus from Waihi and go shopping which I throughly enjoyed as Waihi only had a few decent shops for clothes. :o

Me: 37
Him: 36
DS: 11
DS: 7

Bubs EDD: 18/06/05

kiwibird27
09-02-2006, 15:21
Hey - I went to high school in Tapanui - close to Gore, and lived in Te Anau (south) for years - Anyone else having issues with immigration about permanent residency????? I married a dutch man, and can't sponsor him - only as a temporary resident and can't become a permanent resident myself (meet 90%) of all the criteria!!!!
Would only effect those who arrived after April 2001 !!!
Love Australia, fantastic weather, great opportunities, friendly people - would rather chew may arm off than move back to N>Z> It never changes there!!!!

I guess if we ever get kicked out of the country though N.Z. would be the chosen country of residence!!!!

shed
09-02-2006, 15:32
Kia Ora

Born in Papakura, moved to Feilding when I was two, then Palmerston North when I was 10 but went to Feilding Intermediate and Feilding Ag.

Moved to Tauranga (Welcome Bay) when I was 18 then back to Palmy till I was 23, then Auckland for a couple of years (Milford, Glenfield, Onehunga, Glenfield) then to Surfers, then Brisbane, and then finally Sydney in 2000.

DP is an aussie and bubby will be an aussie (sob), due in August.

sashamumma
04-03-2006, 01:29
I'm another Kiwi chick and from Dunedin South Island. I don't live in Brisbane though!

flygirl
04-03-2006, 07:42
Hey! Another South Islander! I'm originally from Timaru, then moved to Chch before coming to live on the Sunshine Coast. I spent heaps of time in Dunedin as a kid! And I still have family there! :D

Carlz
18-03-2006, 18:15
Hi all, another kiwi living on the gold coast :smiliedance:
I grew up on the north shore of Auckland, lived in Glenfield till 2001 when i moved to Syd for 6 mths, then Perth for a hol and finally ended up here on the Gold Coast where i met my partner and made my bubba who is now 8 months old. :yelclap:
Just went back for 3 weeks over xmas, was good to see whanau again, but even sader leaving again now that we have bub. :crying:
But it's only 3 hours in the plane and when you get there you feel like you never left! I love the Gold Coast tho! The weather is great and there are so many more opportunities for us here.
Plus NZ Gov isn't nearly as generous as Aus when it comes to Family Benefits etc.. ;)

Go the Warriors ( haha like thats gonna happen now, but go anyhow)

Jax Tellers Old Lady
18-03-2006, 18:56
Hey there all kiwis i grew up in ingill and then moved to nelson for 4 years and am now living in brissie were i love the shops and the sun

Jinglebells
19-03-2006, 02:50
Hi everyone, i'm kinda new to this, well actually new to australia too, just moved here a few weeks ago from good old chch with my husband and 21mth old son, i'm absolutly loving it here on the gold coast, only thing is I know hardly anyone, i'm starting to get cabin fever already and its only been 6 weeks since we arrived,

melbryan
19-03-2006, 07:47
Was born there 29 years ago parents from Kaitaia and mum from Taupo. Most of the rellies are here but granparents live in the Bay of Islands (rawhiti).
Love Aussie but have to go back for my fix very so often. Can't wait till our next trip.
Go you All Blacks
Mel 29
Bryan 29
Kayne 21mths
baby Mason- 13-8-06