View Full Version : Is dentist anaesthetic safe?

Siennasmum
19-10-2005, 02:23 PM
This might be a stupid question! But does anyone know if the anaesthetic dentists use for fillings is safe when you are breastfeeding?I am going on monday arvo,and will need to feed when I get home!
Thanks heaps!

veve
19-10-2005, 02:29 PM
Hey :)

big sympathy hugs - I HATE the dentist!!!!

my Ob assured me that as long as it was just a filling... the needle would not affect bubs... I"m not sure about the other stuff though (e.g. root canal etc :eek: )

just make sure that you take a rolled up towel with you - to elevate one butt cheek in the chair (you might feel dizzy if on your flat back for too long... )

my dentist was really cautious too... she would only give me a temporary filling cause I need the extra strong filling stuff (- the metal stuff- if that makes sense???) - and she wouldn't use those chemicals in my mouth when pregnant..

but the ceramic stuff is ok....

I guess the most important thing is - even if they have your mouth full of implements... make them stop and clarify if you are worried..

good luck !!!!

veve
19-10-2005, 02:30 PM
oops - sorry .. just saw that you are bfing.. not pregnant (slapping of head) - think that the above babble still mostly applies!!!!!!!

:o

draught
19-10-2005, 02:50 PM
I had to have emergency root canal while breast feeding DD1 (and it was Mother's Day - talk about adding insult to injury!). DH rang around everywhere to find out whether it was safe and the resounding answer from all the experts (the hospital, ABA, etc) was that it was fine. I ended up having all sorts of work done and kept Bf and had no dramas.

Good luck - I am not a fan of the dentist but it is a necessary evil!

Siennasmum
19-10-2005, 06:33 PM
Thank you very much,I can rest easy now!
Well,as much as you can when you know you have to go to the dentist :(

our little treasures
20-10-2005, 12:56 AM
Thanks for the info I've had a half broken tooth aching for half of the nine mnth pregnancy and have now had ds 10weeks and still havent been due to b/f so I might make an app tomorrow!!

whatwasithinking
27-10-2005, 11:58 AM
I've recently had a wisdom tooth taken out when DD was only 5wks old.

I had local anesthetic and was fully breastfeeding - no problems.

I was even allowed to take antibiotics after this as well with no problems to bubs (except made her sleep longer for a couple of days - not complaining about that one! :) )

Good luck and hugs to you.

Hannah-29/9/02
Rebecca-29/8/05