View Full Version : Advice for Lanolising
susiehomemaker
17-11-2006, 21:06
Hi Again:wave:
I have just ordered my first wool soaker, and I am after some instructions on lanolising it:detective:
Also, any hints/tips you have for using wool soakers would be great! I love the idea of them, but I dont really have a clue what Im doing yet!
Thanks, J
mysonroger
17-11-2006, 21:35
haven't actually done mine yet but was told to just dissolve a bout a half a teaspoon of lanolin in hot water then mix it into a bucket of water and soak the wool cover in that...but that's all i know .....I don't know how long, etc
:yes: 15 mins should do it but some ppl do it for longer.
I am getting lazy though now and use the spray lanolin - couldn't be easier.
susiehomemaker
18-11-2006, 07:15
Where abouts do you get the lanolin or spray on lanolin? Can you just get it from the supermarket? Thanks for your help!
TheWeeWuns have lots of different smelling spray lanolins, Twins in Cloth stock it as well.
Twins in cloth is the cheapest.
I bought mine from Wee Wuns - spray lanolin.
Lansinoh is available in chemists.
It works out cheaper and easier to get it in spray form. Lasts for a while.
:thumbsup: and it smells so yummy! (I've got Jamaica Me Crazy, next time I want Monkey Farts)
You can also get lanolin balls from most nappy shops, ie Nature's Cradle and Darlings DownUnder, which are cheap and easy to use.
And remember you don't need to wash them very often. I do mine- wash and lanolise- about once a month but even that is possibly more than I need to - unless like last week Hugh ended up with some brown stuff on one!
Yeah I don't wash our woolies very often - we have heaps though. Only wash and re- lanolise when we have to. Like Kaz says when they are soiled. And if they start to smell. The lanolin neutralises the urine so if it smells then it needs a lanolise.
oh and hang them in the shade to air between uses and after washing
Hey Laurasmummy, I've just sent you a pm with lanolising info:thumbsup:
I've just had a thought: could you add an essential oil, like lavender, when lanolising? I had a few tubes of Lansinoh given to me, so there's no need for me to buy lanolin for aaaages, but I'd love to leave a nice scent. I'm always using essential oils, so I know the precautions about using it diluted with bubs, but do you think it would effect the soaker in any way?:detective:
I'm not sure but you could give it a try gremily and please let us know how it goes. Lavender would be great for night covers.
That's what I thought, Kymmy. It's an oil, so it would disperse well with the lanolin. Thinking maybe lavender and chamomile would be a good combo. I'll give it a go next time I lanolise.