View Full Version : Anyone still lonely in Perth???
clairereid
18-10-2005, 21:54
Hi Guys
I am 25 years old, mother of 1 and new to the forum. My son is 10 months old and we have been living in Perth since he was 6 weeks old. We moved here because of my husband's job and come from Aberdeen in Scotland. I have made some friends over the last few months, but they have all been moved on and now I am left alone again! Boo Hoo.
If there is anyone out there who would like to meet for a coffee or a chat let me know, I live SOR and work from home, so most days are good for me.
Thanks and hope to hear from anybody soon!!
:D x x
sugar n spice
18-10-2005, 22:01
I don't live in perth i live in albany however we frequently go to perth to visit family. I would love to make a new friend. If you would like to email me please do so at sheldon05@dodo.com.au. i am 22yrs old and have 2 boys, Ethan is 4 and Sheldon is 9mnhts/ I hope to hear from you soon.
I am a 24 year old SAHM to two boys aged 2 and a half and 5 months.
We don't live in Perth yet but are moving over soon because of DP's work. In fact we will be visiting Perth this weekend and early next week to find out where to live etc. It looks like we will be SOR as well because DP will be working in Fremantle but can't be sure until we get there. An suggestions of nice suburbs etc?
Anyway would love to catch up or chat as I don't know any Perth mums. If you would like feel free to email me at deegan@senet.com.au.
Sarah(24)
DP(29)
DS1(March 03)
DS2 (May 05)
Me!! *waves hand* :D
I'm 25 with a 4 yr old DS, a 2 1/2 yr old DD and one one the way. I live SOR too.
C'mon why don't we figure out a time to all get together?
LittleBoysRock
20-10-2005, 21:23
Hi Claire,
I am 22 and have a son Owen who is 12 weeks old. I am a SAHM and live SOR.
Any perth mummies, feel free to email me at monyfelix27@hotmail.com
Hi Claire, Sarah, Mim, Simone and Rachel,
I'm also a Perth mum. I've always lived SOR, (except the last couple of years when we were in Darwin ;) ). We live in the eastern hills at the moment, but I work at Curtin and all of my family's SOR, so if anyone wants to suggest a SOR get together count me and DS in! :)
We were in a playgroup in Darwin, but somehow haven't got up to joining any groups since we've been back here (since July).
Look forward to hearing from more of you!!!
Veronica :cool:
clairereid
23-10-2005, 23:37
Does anyone want to try and organise a get together?? Any suggestions of where? Let me know cause it would be great to meet up with some other Mums x :D
Hi Claire,
My family and I moved to Perth 3 years ago, leaving all our friends and family back in South Australia. When we were baby free and working fulltime I made alot of friends but after my daughter was born I just don't seem to see anyone anymore.
I work from home and live SOR and would love to be able to have a life outside of being a mother, wife and employee. Also to be able to talk to people who are inthe same situation would be great.
Madison is now nearly 8 months old, I did the mothers group thing but found I didn't really "click" with anyone. All were alot younger than me!!!
Anyway it would be great to talk to other mums.
Jenny :D
clairereid
25-10-2005, 08:28
Hi Jenny
It would be really good to meet up. I am a bit scared to go to the playgroups incase everyone is in groups already. I guess I have a nightmare thought that I would go and nobody would talk to me, which I think would make me feel worse that I do already! My email add is clairereid1980@yahoo.co.uk please send me an email if you want and we can arrange something.
Look forward to hearing from you soon
Claire x
Hi guys!
I would love to meet up if anyone is interested!
clairereid
25-10-2005, 10:25
I would definitely like to meet up. Where do you think would be best? Im thinking a nice park or something, but I guess we will have to keep an eye on the weather forcast to see when there will be no rain. Or does anyone know of any indoor play area so the kids can run/crawl around? I am free Thursdays and Fridays, maybe in the morning, but the afternoon would be good aswell if not.
Lets get something organised
Claire x
An indoor play area would be a great idea for my two! I only know of places in Rockingham so if anybody else knows of any more that are a bit closer to you guys, I'm willing to travel. I can do a Thursday, morning would be best. :)
clairereid
25-10-2005, 13:41
Hey
I think there is an indoor play area off the Albany Highway near The Carousel shopping centre. I heard somebody speaking about it. I shall try and find out some more info and we can see if it would be suitable for everyone.
x x
I'd be in a meet up (Cannington is fine - but then again so is Rocky as my MIL lives there).
Jenny, I agree about things in common and the age thing (I note you don't have an age on your signature, but it looks like I'm the oldest mum here) :eek:
I do wonder about meeting others where we might not have anything in common except the fact that we love our kids, as it is good to sometimes step aside from being just DS's mum, and while I work part time, work is work and play is play.
Guess the only way to find out if we all get on is to meet up (after all we all do have an interest in BH in common :D )
Cheers for now - we'll see what interest...
clairereid
25-10-2005, 21:21
Okay, so lets get a meet up organised. I guess maybe a Thursday morning?? We just have to figure out where. I am still trying to find this playarea in Cannington, but if anyone else has any suggestions, please mention, as I am new to Perth so you all may know somewhere good.
Im sure our age differences wont be an issue. I have alot of friends (all over the world, but not in this part :( who are older than me) So Im sure we will get on great, like you say, only one way to find out.
Claire x
Have you guys organised a meet yet? I am moving to Perth at end of November and would love to catch up then. Sorry I don't have any ideas about where to go.
Take care,
Sarah 24
DP 29
DS1 March 03
DS2 May 05
clairereid
28-10-2005, 20:30
Hey
I am trying to organise a meet up but I am struggling to find somewhere to meet.
I have heard about a play place around the Albany Highway somewhere but I cant find any info on it. Having not been in Perth that long, I dont really know any good places.
Can anybody help??
Claire x :D
I'll try and find somewhere tomorrow :)
clairereid
28-10-2005, 22:18
Thanks for that
I have been working most of the week as I have started a new job. The girl who told me about the playarea in Cannington has gone on holiday so I cant check with her.
Let me know how you get on cause I am looking forward to meeting up.
Bye
Claire
Now I've found BH I'm pretty keen to meet other girls who are frequenting this website I've found myself addicted to in the last 3 weeks (could it be that long?).
To Claire - I'm not sure what play area you're talking about, I used to know the Cannington area very well (I worked at Carousel for 8 years and it's still a favourite haunt). And Mim, if you can't figure a place, there's always Kings Park - the newest playground is fantastic there... (the telethon playground).
If not happy with any of those - I'll bite the bullet and just say a place...
I think we're wanting a place with a playground and bit of room for kids to play - maybe a picnic area with good playground. Whiteman park is a good place for that, but might be a bit far for some. Pity we don't have a list with whereabouts of all mums. I'm sure when we all meet face to face for the first time it will get easier the next time.
Let us know your thoughts Mim :)
clairereid
29-10-2005, 10:40
Hi Mim and everyone,
I wish I had asked the girl at work in more detail about the place, from what I can gather, it is an indoor play centre. Her kids are 7 and 5 so maybe it was better for the bigger kids. I will catch her when she is back off her hols and ask her. I live in Bull Creek SOR, so anywhere SOR would be good, I dont mind driving a bit. My boy likes to get out of his buggy and crawl around, so I guess somewhere the ground is safe to do that would be good and a Thursday am is still a good time for me, what about everyone else??
I am really looking forward to meeting you guys, so lets just get a meeting place sorted then we are there.
Claire x
Hey guys,
All I have found so far is a funstation in South Freo, on Hampton Rd.
I'll keep looking though :)
sydneybubhub
31-10-2005, 09:10
Hello Claire,
This may be of great use to you. The Bub Hub have a section in the Activities Directory that lists all the play centres in Australia. Here is the link to the WA page > http://www.bubhub.com.au/activitiesplaycentreswa.shtml Listings include the centre's address, phone number and a link to their website, if they have one.
This should help you to find the one you're thinking of.
Happy playing!! :)
clairereid
31-10-2005, 13:55
Thanks for the link to the play areas. I have looked on there before, but being fairly new to Perth, I didnt recognise any of the areas so I kind of dismissed them. The one in Cannington would be ideal, but I dont think it is there anymore. I have tried calling but the call cannot be taken!
I see there are ones in Fremantle and Rockingham, as we all seem to be SOR, I think maybe we will go to one of these.
We are just trying to figure it all out, but I am really looking forward to meeting some other mums from the site.
Thanks again for your help
Bye
Claire
It would be great to catch up with some mums from Perth. I live SOR too - Rockingham actually but i don't mind travelling most Thursdays are good aswell - there are plently of parks around here if no one wants to go to the Fun Station but i'll just keep checking this thread until a descion is reached :D
Just to add to the Funstation lists
I've taken my DSS and DSD to the one in Midland before -pretty sure it's still operating, but I haven't been there for a while as we've recently moved back from Darwin (where we went to Playshack :) ).
I'll keep watching till we get a vote of most popular. Whiteman Park and Kings park are the best outdoor playgrounds I've been to.
Cheers.
I'm in Rockingham. If we decide on a funstation, then Rockingham or Freo would be good. If anyone else has any other ideas please share! :)
clairereid
31-10-2005, 20:53
Hey Everyone
Freo would be good for me aswell. Is the funstation suitable for a 10 month old that is crawling but not quite walking?
Claire :p
Claire,
I know the Rockingham funstation has a 0-4yr old area, with a small ballpit, and foam blocks and other stuff. I would assume the freo one would as well.
pommymum
08-11-2005, 10:35
I know what its like to be lonley in Perth. I came from the uk 4 years ago and the friends ive made have also moved out of WA. I have a little boy who is 2.5. Where abouts are you? im in yangebup. Your more than welsome to email me back. take care
Pommy mum
Hi Pommymum and Deanne,
We are trying to organise a meet up and I would love to meet you both!
I think it might be at the funstation in Freo. Don't know when, eevryone has disappeared! :) Do you guys have any ideas?
Hi mim
Yeah I'm pretty cool with whatever anyone can come up with. Just looking forward to getting out of the house and meeting people. As much as I love my daughter, I need adult conversation! :p
I'm still around.
I work Mondays and Wednesdays so any other day's fine with me. Some one had suggested a Thursday.
I think the only way this will happen is if we pick a date and just book it.
What does everyone think? Shall we pick a Thursday in 3 or 4 weeks and book in the Freo Funstation?
A Thursday morning will be great for me. What about the 1st of December? With my preggy brain that will be easy for me to remember! :rolleyes:
Will that be a good day for everyone? What time?
I'm ok for anyday during week. With the lead up to xmas, my boyfriends work tends to take us out of town on weekends. (he's a sound engineer on weekends) :rolleyes:
I arrive in Perth on the 5th of December and would love to be involved in any meet up.
We will be free any day of the week as haven't organised any activities for DS in term 4.
Hope you are all well.
Sarah 24
DP 29
DS1 March 03
DS2 May 05
pommymum
08-11-2005, 20:49
The 1st of December is fine with me but ive got a feeling the fun station in freo has closed down. What about the play park at the esplanade very shaded and theres also a realy nice cafe there which is an old railway carriage. The coffee is good!
me 35
hubbie 29
toddler B 2.5
baby bump 26/1/06
If set on Funstation, then Midland is still going - I'm sure that would suit Deanne :), otherwise Esplanade in Freo's fine - I'm happy to go anywhere - we're used to travelling.
Only suggestion is whether we leave it for another week (8th Dec) so that Sarah81 might join us. Let us know if you're going to be too busy at that point Sarah or if our next meet up might be better.
Although funstation in midland is admittedly only 10 min walk from my house, im willing to travel anyway. a nice day at the esplanade also sounds nice. if you. want to wait til sarah arrives then thats fine by me. one extra person i can meet. question: has anyone else got a bub 7-10 months going through that really clingy stage people reckon the kids go thru? shayley has been really bad over the last week and im not sure what to do about it at this stage.
I'm happy to make it the 8th if Sarah can come - the more the merrier. Though Freo esplanade is good for me, Midland is a bit far, so I may have to leave it till next time. Let me know what you decide :)
If you could make it the 8th of December that would be great. But only if that suits everybody else.
We would love to come and won't be doing much else other than unpacking. My DP is already in Perth working and will be working from the day we arrive anyway. So we will be lonely and looking for things to do!
Deanne I have a 6 month old who is quite anxious around strangers and clingly at that time. Which make family functions great fun when he won't let anyone else can hold him!
Sarah.
I'll bite the bullet then...
Thursday 8th December it is then at Freo Esplanade :D
Sounds great! :D What time?
That sounds good. Anytime in the morning would suit me, both my boys sleep at lunchtime still.
Does anyone know the name of the park on the Esplanade or directions to it? I just want to make sure I go to the right place as I will be very new to Perth then!!
Sarah :)
Lovely ladies......
Esplanade on 8th sounds good. only prob is that im out of town at the moment so as of 9.30am tomorrow i have no internet access so who's up for suggesting a time to meet so i can be there to meet you all.
pommymum
09-11-2005, 17:38
the 8th December is fine with me. its very easy to find just across from the Esplanade hotel in freo is a big park youll also see the railway carriage cafe you cant miss it. the childrens play area is 2 mins walk from the cafe. Should we all meet at the cafe to start?
Deanne is after a time for December the 8th, would 10am suit anybody? It was mornings that was going to suit wasn't it? If afternoons are better how about 3pm?
Hope some others around so that we can get a time for you before tomorrow Deanne.
Sarah.
Lets just make a time - otherwise it gets too complicated. I put forward 10am as otherwise it'll prob be after dinnertime by the time I get home (I live about an hour away). Okay, here it is...
Date: 8th Dec 2005
Time: 10am
Place: Esplanade, Fremantle (for Sarah, that's across the road from the Esplanade hotel
Who: All Bubhubbers....
What do you think, any objections need to speak up quick otherwise Deanne will be there by herself :p
That sounds like a good plan, hopefully everyone can make it! Thanks for the directions pommymum and pegasus, I just didn't want to get lost and miss out.
Sarah :)
clairereid
09-11-2005, 21:51
Sorry I have been so quiet, working alot!
The week of 8th Dec would be good for me too, either funstation of esplanade. Weather should be good by then and I will go anywhere the coffee is good!!!
Lets gets something organised???
Claire x
10am sounds great! Are we meeting at the cafe or at the esplanade itself? I can just see myself wandering around for hours, going up to anyone with kids and completely embarrasing myself!
clairereid
10-11-2005, 15:17
Im not sure, is the cafe at the esplanade?? I think I know where it is, just on the otherside of the railway line, the huge grassy area? I will probably get lost.
Maybe we should all wear pink carnations so we know who is from Bub Hub!!!!! ha ha
10am on a thursday is good for me, is 8th dec a thursday? Sorry, I am so unorganised. In Scotland it would be snowing at this time of year so I am totally confused and keep thinking it is May.
Who can all make it??
x x
new to the forum and in Perth SOR!
SAHM too (look, I'm even getting used to the new acronyms! ;) )
How *are* we going to recognise each other?!
Would love to come meet you all too, if you'll let me.. if not, I'll just rock up and eavesdrop on your conversation :D
Hey Jaderocks,
You are more than welcome to come! Nobody will be able to miss me. I'll be the poor harassed pregnant woman chasing after and yelling at my two tearaways!
What if we meet up at the esplanade directly across from the esplanade hotel? We won't be able to get confused then. What do you all think?
clairereid
14-11-2005, 17:13
Yes, right across from the Esplanade hotel sounds good. Is there a shaded area there? About 10am??Aiden has been having his long sleep in the morning lately, but hopefully he wont that day. I am looking forward to meeting all of you. Is there a shaded area at the esplanade?
CU all soon x x
Ashy'smum
14-11-2005, 22:40
Hi everyone and thanks for all the friendly welcomes and invites to join you all on the 8th Dec. If all goes well DD Ashley and I would love to come and meet some new friends? I've read thru the threads to catch up. So how many will be going? I know where it is, I did a function (i am/was a photographer, now im SAHM) in the Esplanade when i was 3 months pregnant with DD. I remember it clearly as i was battling with morning sickness. :p
wills_mum
15-11-2005, 00:31
Hi - I'd love to join in, I live SOR and work from home most days. But I'm going overseas till 24 Dec so wont be able to go to the first meet in Fremantle. It would be great though to meet other mums in SOR on a regular basis. My DS is almost 5 months old and he loves socialising with kids and babies, and I'd love to meet up with other mums and make new friends. If whoever is organising it could keep me updated shiori@thegardengurus.com. Thanks.
Shiori
Me 29
DH 38
DS (Will) (born 21 June 05)
Perhpas we should do a roll call type thread closer to the meet date to see who is coming? That way we know who to wait for etc on the day.
So far we have that is on Thursday December 8th at 10am, directly across for the Esplanade Hotel. ( I know where the hotel is cause thats where we stayed on our trip to Perth) I am terrible with directions so moving to a new city is going to fun!!
Look forward to meeting you all then :D
Sarah 24
DP 29
DS1 March 03
DS2 May 05
clairereid
15-11-2005, 14:15
Yes a roll call nearer the date would be a good idea, maybe a week before or so. I will try and remember to do this, but if someone else remembers before i do, then go ahead and make a new thread with all the details of our meeting.
Has anyone else noticed they have become forgetful and slightly scatty since becoming a Mum?? Please dont say it is just me :confused:
:D ha claire, it's not just you! I can barely remember what I did yesterday! I just say my brain went on maternity leave when I had DS and over 4 years later it's showing no signs of wanting to return to work!
A new thread closer to time sounds like a good idea. Maybe we could do PMs as well? Hopefully one of us will remember!
clairereid
15-11-2005, 21:23
Hi Mim,
Im glad it isnt just me! I think my brain is still on maternity leave also, unfortunately, my bosy went back to work in July!! Oh dear
See u soon x
mummyto3
20-11-2005, 14:39
hi:D
I hope you dont mind me joining this thread,I am new to bub hub and looking to meet up with other mums.I live in Port Kennedy but dont mind travelling a bit.I have 3 children,Kaitlyn(3),Blake(15mths) and Madison(8 weeks).
Hope you all had a great weekend :D
Hi mummyto3,
I live in Port Kennedy too! Can you make the meet up in Freo? The more the merrier! :D
mummyto3, its Mel here, I was going to email you, but I have lost your email address (one of the twins got to the add remove and deleted my email program... charming boy he is!!). Is tuesday the 29th at 10amish ok with you for the funstation.
And anyone else who wants to come hey??
(funstation in Rockingham that is)
Hey I'd love to come to the funstation but tuesday my kids are in childcare, maybe next time? Hope you have fun!
Were you guys planning on coming to the meetup in Freo?
I cant get to freo that day, its my twins' kids christmas party at school and I gotta go :rolleyes:
mummyto3
24-11-2005, 10:51
Hi Mel,
Yup tuesday the 28th sounds good :).Blake is forever getting stuck into the laptoplittle terror!.I will send you an email so you have my address again :)
Not sure about the December meetup just yet.We are taking the kids to Hi 5 the day before,down in Mandurah,so depends on if we have my step son overnight.If he does stay the night i will most probably have to take him back to his mums on the 8th,though if not,we should be able to make it,just depends on how brave i am feeling taking the 3 kids out by myself.Kaitlyn has been a real terror lately.I will know closer to the date anyway.
mummyto3
24-11-2005, 13:28
Mel,i just realised,i cant do this tuesday :(
My doc has been away for a few weeks so i have had to wait for an appt to see him.I was able to get one on tuesday to see him for my 6 week checkup and Madison's 8 week needles..though she will be 10 weeks by then..lol better late than never!.Also we are seeing a doc about Matt getting the snip..yay!!!.
So sorry,i was just looking in my diary and saw it written down...
Um what about during the holidays?.I suppose it wouldnt matter what day as you would have all your kiddies and so would i :).
I will email this to you as well just in case you arent able to get into here :)
I am also new to the forum and new to Perth, moved here from London (previously from Zim/SA) in Feb. I live in Willetton and have a little boy who is 18 months. I would like to meet for a chat and a good cuppa, am free most of the week. Please email me if you are keen my email is cimmiehow@yahoo.co.uk
clairereid
06-12-2005, 15:50
I am also new to the forum and new to Perth, moved here from London (previously from Zim/SA) in Feb. I live in Willetton and have a little boy who is 18 months. I would like to meet for a chat and a good cuppa, am free most of the week. Please email me if you are keen my email is cimmiehow@yahoo.co.uk
Welcome to Bub Hub
I have sent you a PM about the meet up in Freo this Thursday. Hope you will come
Claire x
Another Port Kennedy Mum here...........
He he We will be able to take over bubhub soon .............
mummyto3
08-12-2005, 16:43
lol yes there does seem to be a few of us Port Kennedy mums on here.WHo knows ,we have probably all seen each other at the shops at one time or another :D
I totally forgot about the meetup today,did it still happen?.I wouldnt have been able to make it anyway,as DS woke up this morning and threw up everywhere in his room,then i went to Rockingham shops,got as far as taking the pram out of the car and he threw up everywhere again,so that was the worlds quickest trip to the shops!.He isnt grumpy or anything,so i have no idea what is wrong.
Anyway hope to meet up with you all sometimes soon.
Yet another Port Kennedy mum here too! (and bubhub newbie)
Trust me to discover this site just as the meet was happening. :rolleyes: So did you ladies have a good time? If you schedule another in the New Year, I would love to come meet you all!
(and message to Bianca, I promise I am not cyberstalking you! Will pm you soon!)
Lainie
Yes we did meet up, it was nice to meet new people. I enjoyed it and
hopefully we can meet up again in the new year and you can join us this time Mummy-2-3.
See you in 2006!! :-)
hey guys! i havent been on here in ages and it looks like i just missed a meet up!!!
I have a baby girl, Maya who is nearly 6 months old, i am a SAHM until Feb and then back at uni full time..
I dont have heaps of time but id love to catch up with some Mums with babies the same age...
email me if any of you feel like doing the same? (brookiemonster@gmail.com) :D