View Full Version : backpack nappy bag

aquarius
16-11-2006, 16:02
has anyone out there used a backpack-style nappy bag and what did you think, was it good or would you have preferred the more usual duffel-bag over the shoulder-type bag? the one i'm specifically looking at is called JJCole Essentials backpack that has different compartments for nappies, wipes, bottle holder etc.

FourAngelKisses
16-11-2006, 16:04
I just bought a Babygear backpag off ebay and I love it!! It has plenty of room, insulated bottle holders, mobile phone holders......basically pockets everywhere. I love it, I wish I had brought one with my first baby rather than my last.

aquarius
16-11-2006, 17:10
thanks angelkisses i'll go check that out!

FourAngelKisses
16-11-2006, 17:13
No worries. :D

2s'nuff
16-11-2006, 17:21
I've just bought a normal backpack with lots of pockets for #2. Lots cheaper than a 'baby bag'. Before I had DD, a friend of mine told me: "the bigger the baby bag, the more stuff you carry around". Which after having DD, I found to be true. Once we moved from a baby bag to a little backpack, I found I didn't carry around lots of unnecessary stuff.

FourAngelKisses
16-11-2006, 17:27
I think I migrated to a small backpack when Matthew was about 12mths old.
I never did with the first two....having 2 under 12mths I needed to carry around a ton of nappies and clothes at all times, lol.

Rhys'Mum
16-11-2006, 21:41
I used a backpack until the little man was about 15months. I eventually relented to a big bag because I have to carry sooooo much food, bottles and clothes (we're a really messy eater now) but I also tend to go out for a whole day now too.

I love my backpack (Golbug I think it is, was about $40 from Bump to 3) and still use it for short trips. My little man hated the pram so I used a pouch heaps and a backpack was the perfect solution. It was easy to throw in a trolley once he could sit properly (he loved to sit up tall and look around) and once he started walking it meant I could walk with him without worrying about a bag sliding down, swapping sides etc which I find a pain now. I actually find the big bag doesn't carry that much more, its just easier to get to things most of the time.

My girlfriend used to call my backpack the Mary Poppins bag, because I would dig in and keep appearing with lots of fabulous food and things, if you are organised they are great. I can be a little lazier with the big one but it is a pain in comparison.

QTB
17-11-2006, 06:59
I just bought a Babygear backpag off ebay and I love it!! It has plenty of room, insulated bottle holders, mobile phone holders......basically pockets everywhere. I love it, I wish I had brought one with my first baby rather than my last.

thats the samw one iv got (i got mine from NZ but have seen them here in big w - about $40) its FANTASTIC! we use it as a daycare bag too :)

FourAngelKisses
17-11-2006, 07:18
thats the samw one iv got (i got mine from NZ but have seen them here in big w - about $40) its FANTASTIC! we use it as a daycare bag too :)

They are about $38 here brand new, but I got mine for $18 including postage. :yes:
Just brought one of their baby pouchs too for $22......$50 for a brand new one!!

QTB
17-11-2006, 07:26
They are about $38 here brand new, but I got mine for $18 including postage. :yes:
Just brought one of their baby pouchs too for $22......$50 for a brand new one!!

wow those are good prices!! well done! :D

FourAngelKisses
17-11-2006, 07:48
Ebay is bad, lol.....spent too much money.

aquarius
17-11-2006, 13:49
ebay is evil heh heh but like many evil things, so much fun :devil6:

thanks gorgeous people for all your recommendations i will check them out...

jbie
04-12-2006, 15:58
gr8x makes one in red that's on sale in toys r us right now for $55, used to be $100.
it's got lots of features, backpack + messenger strap, and the whole bag unfolds to become a changing surface with changeable towel top.

FourAngelKisses
04-12-2006, 16:01
Hooley dooley, $100 for a nappy bag. :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

04-12-2006, 16:06
I LOVE my GR8X 2 in 1 backpack! Beat my OiOi over the shoulder bag anyday :yes:

FourAngelKisses
04-12-2006, 16:09
No offence, but I can't imagine paying that much for something that will just carry nappies and bottles around a couple of times a week and have things leak in it and spilt on it etc?

M O P
04-12-2006, 16:36
I have a Shanghai Mommy bag which is both a shoulder bag and has a zip up compartment in the back which holds back pack straps. I tend to use the back back when I'm pushing the stroller along. It is very handy having both options.

AK- guess you won't be buying one of the $1900 Louis Vuitton nappy bags when your new bubs arrives!! LOL

FourAngelKisses
04-12-2006, 16:37
gawd no, lol. If it was my first baby and I was planning on having 200 more, then I might consider it, LOL.

04-12-2006, 16:44
I paid about $80 for my large kapoochi denim backpack... I went through 2 cheap nappy bags in 3 months before I bought that and now its onto its third child and still looks brand new! I would never go cheap again tho I'm certain even in a cpl of years once we've had our last bub it will probably still look brand new! Definitely worth the money! Its a little bit small for two bubs especially two in cloth but for one - two bubs in disposables im sure it would be perfect! :D