View Full Version : Living with Ex and Centrelink Payments

Ana Gram
15-11-2006, 15:15
Helpful as ever, here is the info I got off centrelink about living with an ex partner.

It would be reviewed every 12 weeks and a mountain of paperwork would have to be filled in.

The fun part is I have to prove financial independence - easy when you are a stay at home mum and get $200 a fortnight from Centrelink. How exactly am I supposed to prove financial independence when he has to pay for everything as I have $100 a week.

Plus no only do we have to prove we have separate lives ie: not go out as a couple which again is difficult when you have all the same friends but we have to prove we aren't in a sexual relationship. She couldn't tell me how to prove that one.

I understand that they have to make it difficult to stop people frauding them but come on! Life is difficult as a single person having to be dependant on their ex.

MissBrightside
15-11-2006, 15:19
Sometimes it would be so much easier to just lie to them and say your not living together.
What a pain in the a#se! Exactly how do you prove it?
Sorry can't help.

Kaileysmum
15-11-2006, 15:31
I hate centrelink!!! How are u suppost to prove it? Video tape your lives everyday and send them the tapes!!! They should be happy you are being honest and not just say that you are living apart. Hope it works out for you, as I know if me and dp ever split Id still want to live with him for DD's sake.

Crazyfamily
16-11-2006, 06:20
My sister and her ex wanted to do this but they were told after 6 weeks it is impossible to know what the relationship is so he had to move out.
If it is what you want I hopw you get to do it but from shat my sis went through it wasn't worth the hassle.

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 12:28
This is the problem, I get $100 a week from Centrelink and that's all the money I have. I can't afford to live and look after my daughter if he moves out.

It's a really horrible state to live in, having to be finacially dependant on your ex, for both of us really. And forget about either of us dating someone new, neither of us are ever able to move on while we still live together and I don't have the money to survive on my own.

They make it virtually impossible to do with one question, having to prove you aren't in a sexual relationship. How on earth are you supposed to do that??

I am worried that I will end up with no money from them at all because technically I am not entitled to the partnered parenting payment.

16-11-2006, 12:41
I have heard of people doing it successfully. I think they actually come out to the house to make sure you are living in seperate rooms etc.

Goodluck with it :)

Niki
16-11-2006, 12:43
are you on single mothers pension?

Lirael
16-11-2006, 12:43
wear a chastity belt?? centrelink are dumb@sses.
oh and Chelle, if he moves out u should get parenting payment single so ur looking at around $500 a fortnight obviously depending on rent and child support etc. you will pretty much get paid asap because obviously it will be urgent so rent gets paid and u have food. when DP and I split I got my first payment the following monday and a small payment to get me through til then too.

MissBrightside
16-11-2006, 12:52
As well as the parenting payment you get family tax a and b. I get my parenting payment one week and the family tax a anb the follwing week so i have money coming in each week. Makes it a little easier to budget.

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 12:53
are you on single mothers pension?

no partnered parenting payment, which is the problem.

MariaO
16-11-2006, 12:55
Could you get some friends or family to sign affadavits to the effect that you are living seperate lives? I know that when I was applying for my spousal visa when in England we had to produce sworn statements that our marriage was genuine.

Perhaps, produce some photos of your house with your respective bedrooms - it obviously does not prove anything but it may help?

16-11-2006, 13:01
no partnered parenting payment, which is the problem.

You should be getting family tax benefits too.

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 13:01
Well I just got off the phone with them again and they have pretty much admitted that it is virtually impossible to prove that you aren't partnered while living in the same house which means I am stuck in this situation for a very long time.

I feel like I am being punished for breaking up with him!

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 13:03
You should be getting family tax benefits too.

Yeah I get that too, my total is $100 a week. Tough to be financially independant on that with a child.

MissBrightside
16-11-2006, 13:06
I don't know of your circumstances but can you or your ex move out?
Trust me I know its hard starting over, do you have family you could stay with?

Lunar
16-11-2006, 13:07
I don't understand why you get so little. Why is that? I just don't understand. Others on similar payments get ALOT more than that. you shouldn't have to be on the partnered payment as you are not partnered. You are SINGLE. This is really confusing. If I were you I would lie and say he is not living there and then go on the sole parents payments which should be about $800 + a fortnight.

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 13:13
I don't know of your circumstances but can you or your ex move out?
Trust me I know its hard starting over, do you have family you could stay with?

I can't afford to live and look after DD on $100 and all my fanily live in Canberra.
I don't want to take DD away from her father and by taking her to Canberra to live with my parents (hell on earth), he would basically never see here again and I wouldn't be able to get back to Melbourne.

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 13:15
I don't understand why you get so little. Why is that? I just don't understand. Others on similar payments get ALOT more than that. you shouldn't have to be on the partnered payment as you are not partnered. You are SINGLE. This is really confusing. If I were you I would lie and say he is not living there and then go on the sole parents payments which should be about $800 + a fortnight.

Partnered payment is based on his income.
Unfortunately lying would be tricky as we are both on the lease, so I would get caught and then end up with nothing.

Lirael
16-11-2006, 13:17
can he say hes gay:D

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 13:25

They would probably ask him to prove it!!

16-11-2006, 13:36
You need atleast two referees like drs or someone higher standing to say that you are not together. Not good to get family but friends should be ok. Usually if its temporary they will give you your entitlements. Also, you must have seperate bank accounts! They will review it every 6 months. They will ask your neighbours too apparently. The key is to say its temporary then make up excuses as you go along.

This is all from a friend who works for centrelink :thumbsup:

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 13:45
How crazy is that! They give entitlements for a short term break but not a complete separation.
We've always had separate bank accounts, and we have only been in here for a month so the neighbours probably wouldn't be much help.

Perhaps I would be better off fighting it out with them in person rather than on the phone as I have spoken to two people, one who gave me a number for a counsellor (???) and the other got narky at me and told me that according to Centrelink I am not separated.

javalava
16-11-2006, 13:49
When you say that you cant afford to look after your DD on $100 a week. It wouldnt be $100 a week if he wasnt living there... it would be $500 single parents payment. Then whatever for rent assistance and tax benefit the ohter week. Would that be enough?? Like someone said it would be $800 plus.

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 13:54
double edged sword really. I wouldn't get an increase in payment unless he moved out. However, I can't afford the rent on this place on my current payment. The rent here is $250, and I don't know if I can take him off the lease unless I can prove that I can pay the rent myself.

Lirael
16-11-2006, 14:00
double edged sword really. I wouldn't get an increase in payment unless he moved out. However, I can't afford the rent on this place on my current payment. The rent here is $250, and I don't know if I can take him off the lease unless I can prove that I can pay the rent myself.

same thing happened to me. I explained all to my real estate and they were great. rent was taken care of for 2 weeks when DP left so I had that window in which to organise it. you can go into centrelink and they will give you an estimate of what you should get if he moves out which you can then tell real estate. you will be able to pay the rent no probs. think of it like this, its more trouble for them to find someone else than let you stay without him on lease.
tell centrelink when he leaves that you need an emergency or crisis payment as ur broke and they should get ur forms through asap.

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 14:40
But then, he has nowhere to go either. It cost us over 2 grand to move this time and will take 6 months to catch up again.

I know it just sounds like me whining but it's just frustrating and not a fantastic way to live as we will be stuck in limbo until I can earn some money.

Lirael
16-11-2006, 14:47
But then, he has nowhere to go either. It cost us over 2 grand to move this time and will take 6 months to catch up again.

I know it just sounds like me whining but it's just frustrating and not a fantastic way to live as we will be stuck in limbo until I can earn some money.
its just cr@p really. neither of you will be better off financially even if he does have somewhere to go considering the moving costs. have you thought about doing catalogue deliveries or something?
I was doing 2 drops a week and getting about $60 dollars for that, they always need ppl over xmas.
or maybe some nightfill work at woolies or coles or even big W? would ur ex babysit?(sorry im not sure what ur qualified for etc so im just randomly throwing out short term, relatively easy things:D)

16-11-2006, 14:54
Go to centrelink with the references from friends, Dr's, laywers or whoever you can get them off. Then like my friend said tell them its just temporary until he can find other accomodation etc. She said they will review in 6 months, so you've got 6 months to try to sort something else out.

That way, something might be done sooner rather than later.

newmummy06
16-11-2006, 14:55
I agree with having referees write stat decs or something similar.

The only other thing I would suggest would be to take him off the lease, say he is living with a friend and claim the sole parent pension. Pack up the majority of his stuff that he doesnt need and store it somewhere at home or in storage and if centrelink check say that you are waiting for him to pick it up. Maybe even get him to sign a lease on some crappy place, store heaps of his stuff there and just pay some extra rent so at least youre getting the pension and having him live with you while you can prove to centrelink that he rents somewhere else.

My boyfriend has been living with me for the past year and I claim the sole parent pension. We have seperate bank accounts and addresses for everything so no one can trace him back to here.
The sole parent pension pays around $450 a week. I claim it because we couldnt afford to live apart either and I want him close to our daughter, so I know how you feel.

Cover your bases and you will be fine.

IheartOman
16-11-2006, 15:58
This is going to throw a spanner in the works but I will say it anyway..

I understand Centrelink can be a big pain in the ar*e. I remember my mother and father forever complaining about some letter they had gotten off centrelink, or something they had to do and most of the time what they are asking seems more hassle than it's worth and the 'logic' doesn't always make sense.

HOWEVER, lets try to remember where the money is coming from and that they don't actually owe us anything. I think sometimes we as Australians can take for granted the fact we live in a country that pays their less fortunate society members an allowance. I dont have a problem with the complaints of how Centrelink processes are silly and dont make sense, but I do think when I hear people complain about the amount they are or aren't getting from taxpayers money that is just ignorant. If money is such a problem and someone needs more then I would suggest getting a job..

Kells
16-11-2006, 16:30
This is going to throw a spanner in the works but I will say it anyway..

I understand Centrelink can be a big pain in the ar*e. I remember my mother and father forever complaining about some letter they had gotten off centrelink, or something they had to do and most of the time what they are asking seems more hassle than it's worth and the 'logic' doesn't always make sense.

HOWEVER, lets try to remember where the money is coming from and that they don't actually owe us anything. I think sometimes we as Australians can take for granted the fact we live in a country that pays their less fortunate society members an allowance. I dont have a problem with the complaints of how Centrelink processes are silly and dont make sense, but I do think when I hear people complain about the amount they are or aren't getting from taxpayers money that is just ignorant. If money is such a problem and someone needs more then I would suggest getting a job..

:yelclap: :yes:

I agree. (and well done for having the courage to say it....:D ) I think they do a good job supporting us, and that we do tend to take it for granted that we can have children and get paid to raise them by the govt... (myself included in this - not trying to start a war :o )

the_queen
16-11-2006, 16:48
My boyfriend has been living with me for the past year and I claim the sole parent pension. We have seperate bank accounts and addresses for everything so no one can trace him back to here.

So, you're rorting the system? :mad:

Chelle , I would advise you to do as others have suggested and get letters, affadavits, etc. It is not worth rorting the system because eventually you will get caught, someone will dob you in, and you will be required to pay back all that you've been paid.

Is there any way you can get him to pay you a certain amount per week (ie transfer it to your bank account, then there's a "paper trail") which you can call "Child Support"? You can go on the CSA website and work out how much you're entitled to claim from him, and then have him pay you that amount. If he's currently paying your bills anyway, then it might even be "cheaper" for him to pay you this child support, and then you both go halves in the bills. Pay all the bills on line so there's a "paper trail" for them too.

Good luck. Hopefully it gets sorted soon.

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 16:54

I have paid a lot of tax in my time, a hell of a lot more than I have been given. And I am certainly not ignorant thank you very much.

Unfortunately I am unable to get a job as I am unable to pay from childcare while I am at said job.

If you read my complaint it is about having to be totally financially dependant on my EX.

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 16:56
:yelclap: :yes:

I agree. (and well done for having the courage to say it....:D ) I think they do a good job supporting us, and that we do tend to take it for granted that we can have children and get paid to raise them by the govt... (myself included in this - not trying to start a war :o )

The government doesn't raise my child, and they certainly haven't put much money towards raising my child.
The government wants us to have more children, which is why they give us allowences. Unfortunately it seems that they only want certain types of families, not ones like ours.

ShadyCharacter
16-11-2006, 17:24
Sorry, but I would be lying about it.

While I DON'T agree with 'rorting' the system in the example given earlier (the poster who lives with her boyfriend and claims the sole parents pension - if you are in a relationship, you are not entitled to the payment!), I think in your case, I would be lying. If you know you are genuinely doing the right and honest thing, then that would be good enough to me.

I also suspect that if you got caught out and ended up in court over it, you would have pretty good case to argue.

IheartOman
16-11-2006, 17:38
I also suspect that if you got caught out and ended up in court over it, you would have pretty good case to argue.

I think that is where you may be wrong..

My mother rorted the system, said she was single while my father lived with her and she did get caught and ended up having to pay the whole lot back =$10,000. While she was on a payment too, so if you think your not getting much now imagine how little you would get if you did rort the system and had to pay it back. She also was very close to having to go to gaol.

Also chellegoth Im just wondering if there is any chance you and your ex would rekindle the romance? I know that I have split with partners before and fallen back into temptation so I can imagine it would be hard not to if your living with him and seeing him every day. It all just seems a little odd that you would split from someone and still live with them but are 'just friends' or 'seperated'.

As one person wrote earlier your payments will increase when he moves out so you have other options then such as finding a cheaper place to rent, moving to a town where there is cheaper rent, part-time work with part-time childcare (you can earn a certain amount before you get penalised and you also get cheaper day care depending on where you go. You could also move into a share house with a single mother and her child that would be much cheaper and you have someone to share similar experiences with?

These are all just ideas. Im not taking away from the fact that your situation may be very annoying and hard. By posting something, your going to hear things you like and dont like from others, unfortunatly my post seem to have struch a chord with you that you didn't like..

16-11-2006, 18:06
Well isnt this lovely :rolleyes:

Chelle - I would look at possibly changing over to the single parent pension. Good luck though because we have just had a terrible time with them because DP isnt disabled enough to get the disability pension & is too disabled to get newstart because he cant look for work :banghead: Then they also wont help us because he got a measly $5000 as a payout & yet that means we arent entitled to anything else for another 10mths because apparently that will last that long :confused: We have given up trying with them its like getting blood from a stone. But keep yelling hun the more noise you make the more someone will listen !

Amberlea
16-11-2006, 18:11
Go into centrelink and talk to them in person Chelle.. I was living with my ex and his family for 6 months before I finally had enough money to move out by myself.
I was able to claim the single parent pension based on the fact we were seperated - we just had no choice but to live together.
They interviewed us both to make sure we were being honest.. and asked for two referees that they could ring to ask about our situation as well.

I don't see why your situation is any different - probably moreso just the morons you have had to deal with on the phone (lets face it - they arent that helpful really)..
I think your best bet is to go in there in person - if they fail to do anything - tell them you want to see the social worker and explain your situation to her/him.

Allowances have to be made for people who simply have no choice but to stay living under the same roof as ex partners - unless anyone has been there - its not really fair to comment on whether it is right or not.

I can see where youre coming from - and its highly unlikely that you could afford to pay $250 a week rent even on SPP.. I pay $210 and work part-time and i struggle.. so I can see why you are so stressed about having to rely on your ex etc.
Good luck.

Mamaduke
16-11-2006, 18:11
we have to prove we aren't in a sexual relationship. She couldn't tell me how to prove that one.

Provide them with links to bubhub!
Don't rort the system though...it's not worth it, and I think you have more character & pride than to stoop that low anyway. :yes:

IheartOman
16-11-2006, 18:15
Well isnt this lovely :rolleyes:

Chelle - I would look at possibly changing over to the single parent pension. Good luck though because we have just had a terrible time with them because DP isnt disabled enough to get the disability pension & is too disabled to get newstart because he cant look for work :banghead: Then they also wont help us because he got a measly $5000 as a payout & yet that means we arent entitled to anything else for another 10mths because apparently that will last that long :confused: We have given up trying with them its like getting blood from a stone. But keep yelling hun the more noise you make the more someone will listen !

Man, that sucks. As if 5K is going to last that long. And the whole disability thing.. grrr.

Mamaduke
16-11-2006, 18:16
The sole parent pension pays around $450 a week. I claim it because we couldnt afford to live apart either and I want him close to our daughter, so I know how you feel.

Cover your bases and you will be fine.

Can I just say, on behalf of my children and my husband I'm so glad your family is 'fine'!:rolleyes:
When your boyfriend is sitting in your joint home enjoying your children, spare a thought for my boys who's father is at work for 12/13 hours a day, 7 days a week and paying a sh*tload of tax so people like you can be 'fine'...BTW...You're welcome!:rolleyes:

Little Gorilla
16-11-2006, 18:20
Can I just say, on behalf of my children and my husband I'm so glad your family is 'fine'!:rolleyes:
When your boyfriend is sitting in your joint home enjoying your children, spare a thought for my boys who's father is at work for 12/13 hours a day, 7 days a week and paying a sh*tload of tax so people like you can be 'fine'...BTW...You're welcome!:rolleyes:

Thanks for that MD...exactly what I wanted to say, but didn't know how to put it:thumbsup:

Newmummy06, people that do what you do p!ss me off - why should you get the benefit of a single pension when YOU ARE NOT SINGLE...then the rest of us pay our taxes, get second jobs, don't see dads walk in the front door until 9pm at night...shame on you...maybe if there were less people abusing the system...then the OP wouldn't having to go through so much sh!t when she isn't trying to screw the system at all.

16-11-2006, 18:25

PMSL :laughing:

I knew someone would say it better than i could so thats why i didnt bother !!!!

jessgray
16-11-2006, 19:27
:hugs: hugs to chelle. i would go in a speak to them in person.:fingerscrossed: good luck

i agree with MD bout rorting the system why bother doing it and risk jail and a criminal history?:thumbsdown: :mad:

Lunar
16-11-2006, 19:28

You beat me to it MD!!!

My DH works looooong hours and is lucky to be home at 9.30 PM!!! This week it has bee 10.30 when he walks in the door.
He has barely seen us all week. Only to bring home a measly $650!!! I have to work 3 jobs (one from home, and 2 casual jobs) to keep up with the bills.
I wouldn't go around telling too many ppl about what you 'do' (aka rought the system:mad: ) as some one just may dob you in one day and you'll have a sh!t load of $$$ to pay back to the government. Money that WE as TAX PAYERS give YOU to sit around on your a$$.

So as MD said, I too am glad your family is 'fine'

misskittyfantastico
16-11-2006, 19:33
My DH has seen our DD once this week. He volunteered to feed her a 3am (after getting in from work at 1pm) just so he could see her.

16-11-2006, 19:35
Oh MD couldn't have said it better myself... :yelclap:

ditto!

javalava
16-11-2006, 19:58
My DH has seen our DD once this week. He volunteered to feed her a 3am (after getting in from work at 1pm) just so he could see her.

Serious?? Oh thats horrible babe!! Hugs to you and your hubby and good on him for working so hard.... you should be very proud! At least he is honest.... :rolleyes:

misskittyfantastico
16-11-2006, 20:05
Thanks! Yeah, farming is hard work...or so I've discovered - city girl that I was!.

It's not always so intense but certain times of the year it sucks.

javalava
16-11-2006, 20:15
yeah harvest is hard.... but its what makes the money

*Chels*
16-11-2006, 20:24
Go Mamaduke!!!

I work 4 days a week,then on my days off my DF goes to work all day,gets home to have tea and spend an hour with us until he goes back to work for another 4 hours.
We hardly see each other.We pay tax and secondary tax.
We get centrelink too.Im sooooo paranoid I might have underestimated our incomes,I would hate to owe them money.Ive always been honest with centrelink.
People who rort the system suck:mad: You really suck

Nickster
16-11-2006, 20:30
Mamaduke, the floodgates have opened!:laughing:

Can I add that my DH works his 60 hours per week, pays tax, and child support to his ex who has no qualms whatsoever about claiming the single parent pension, although her partner of 10 years lives with her and they have 2 children together!

All so we can go without....

Makes me sick to the stomach.

Chelle, I have so much respect for you for doing the right thing. You've got some good karma coming to you.

Amberlea
16-11-2006, 20:38
I agree that rorting the system is a dogs way of getting money - sorry, but if you need more money - get off your butt and go get a part-time job.

Im a single mother of two - get $13 a month child support(because my ex rorts the system), and work two part-time jobs - and claim SPP.. do I deserve it?
I think so - and Im still paying my damned taxes to support the ones who don't 100% deserve it.
I also do some work for cash - in which case - I dont declare it, because I need all the help I can get - but at least that isnt taking money away from those mothers/fathers who need it!

I rorted the system once - and paid back $5000.. I wouldnt do it again - I was young and stupid so I had an excuse.. anyone who is over 18 cant use that.

(actually both of my ex's rort the system - one in order to escape child support, the other to avoid going on the dole: probably the number one reason why I hate them both with a passion)

Kizmet
16-11-2006, 21:49
My husband and I have just finished doing all our centrelink forms and Abigail is 8 and a half months old. We waited so long because I couldnt get my head around the moral dilemma behind it all. Because of people who rort the system so badly I felt like I would be judged and have things said to me. DH works full time and has an interview for another full time job with better pay tomorrow. He has just got a second job and intends to work every night and weekends. So essentially he will be finishing his full time job of an afternoon and getting on a train to go to his second one. I will be lucky if he gets home by 1am. He's not going to get to see our daughter. Sure I could rort the system but why would I want to? it's not fair on everyone else! We have budgeted down to the last cent (a lot of that has gone since my new fascination with MCN lol) to make things work. Its just what we have to do in order for me to be a SAHM. We have discussed me going back to work and basically my entire wage would go to childcare. Thas if I could find a cheap one.

Chellegoth I think going into the office seems to be your best bet. Sometimes it's easier for people to be narky and shirty with you on the phone as they can always hang up then they dont have to deal with it anymore.
I hope things work out for you!:wizard:

Becteria
16-11-2006, 22:04
Seems you hit a nerve here Mamduke!

Good on you Chelle for doing the right thing. It sucks that you are being punished for your honesty. Dont they have centrelink investigators now? offer to have one come over and check out your place?

Yu guys have great ideas and are such wonderful support. I am glad that most bubhubbers do the right thing, its good to associated with you!

Mamaduke
16-11-2006, 22:16
Seems you hit a nerve here Mamduke!

Story of my life! :p

Ana Gram
16-11-2006, 22:16
Also chellegoth Im just wondering if there is any chance you and your ex would rekindle the romance? I know that I have split with partners before and fallen back into temptation so I can imagine it would be hard not to if your living with him and seeing him every day. It all just seems a little odd that you would split from someone and still live with them but are 'just friends' or 'seperated'.

As one person wrote earlier your payments will increase when he moves out so you have other options then such as finding a cheaper place to rent, moving to a town where there is cheaper rent, part-time work with part-time childcare (you can earn a certain amount before you get penalised and you also get cheaper day care depending on where you go. You could also move into a share house with a single mother and her child that would be much cheaper and you have someone to share similar experiences with?

These are all just ideas. Im not taking away from the fact that your situation may be very annoying and hard. By posting something, your going to hear things you like and dont like from others, unfortunatly my post seem to have struch a chord with you that you didn't like..

Hell would need to freeze over for us to get back together.

I don't want to rort the system as it does ruin it for everyone who is ligitimate, and the risk of getting caught... well I don't think it is worth it.

It isn't really that odd to live with your ex, there is no temptation there. There is certainly a constant reminder of why we broke up :laughing: . We chose to continue living together as that is what is best for Ruby. As I said it is difficult to get any plan to be finanically independant off the ground with $100 a week which gets eaten up by bills.
I only had one other option which was to move back in with my parents who are in another state. This was unacceptable as a solution to me as Ruby would have been devestated at teh loss of having her father with her everyday, plus I hate Canberra and there would have been no way for me to get back to Melbourne.

Unfortunately with the rent thing, Ruby has severe atopic eczema with an allergy to dustmites which has meant we have had to move to a house with all floorboards. Very hard to find cheap places with floorboards! Her health would have suffered greatly, which again is also unacceptable to me.

The thing I am most frustrated with is at the end of the day I get a bit of a raw deal. No money of my own, totally dependant on my ex partner and forget about the possibility of having another relationship or even dating anyone else!

16-11-2006, 22:28
Chelle ~ If it wre me, I'd go into to the office, obtain all the paperwork you need to claim the single pension, fill it out, and then answer their questions as they come.
You aren't doing anything wrong so although they will probably hassle you from time to time, you will be covered.
Just make sure it's very clear there are two speerate bedrroms etc... you may need to keep track of seperate contributions to water, electricity etc... in fact, that would be a good way to show you are financially indepedent from eachother.
I would go in first thing tomorrow morning to get it all started, the sooner you do it, the sooner you can gt some more $$$ behind you :)
Good luck

P.S to the people who rort the system - that is disgusting. It is because of people like you that it is HARDER of the rest of us :banghead: I hope you all get caught :mad:

pegasus
17-11-2006, 01:26
Chelle - I'm with Coops. (Too many pages back to organise the quotes thing).

Have you looked into Child support claims.

My hubby's ex was claiming she was trying to get child support off him when their daughter was 2months old. This was so she could claim single parents when she wasn't a single parent. Hubby found out about this when they properly did break up after 3more years and another child and found the form stated he'd been paying it for the last 3years.

I did dob her into centrelink about a year ago (there was other evidence of rorting), but I'm not sure what the outcome was.

I digress - back to topic...

My thought was if you registered with child support - they don't have to collect it, you can do non-agency payments where they just advise how much the dad would pay (that's what we do), that you could go to centrelink with this info and they would work out an entitlement for single parents.

Believe me - no one wants to deal with csa unless they aren't with their partner - that should be proof enough!

PS Love MD's idea of providing them with the link to BH for your proof.

mummyof5
18-11-2006, 21:38
Chelle, how severe is Ruby's atopic eczema? I have a friend who's daughter suffer's very badly, and she also has asthma. Her DD had to be wet wrapped as a baby, etc, so it's pretty bad, and she receives carers allowance ($94.70/fortnight) and healthcare card for that child. May be worth checking out wether you are entitled to claim, as they used to back pay a certain amount when your claim was successfull, and that may help your ex move out? No harm in asking, anyway.
:fingerscrossed: for this to be resolved soon, only wish I had some cash to throw your way...

SairBear
18-11-2006, 22:30
i know how hard it is ..specially when u are telling the truth

. i got investigated i was living with my b/f for 7mths and didnt report it to centrelink, i thought i was doin the right thing, i was reportin income etc ... b/f isnt the father of my DD so he doesnt pay or contribute any living expenses for us, we paid our own way and i dont get maintence or child support .. it just so happened we lived together

neways long story short. I now have a $7000 debt to pay back, sure i should have declared we lived together etc etc and i dont care abut anyones opinion on my situation im just worrying about others out there. as i know from experince...it will affect everything CCB family tax etc

just please declare everything and anything and dont think ull get away with it cuz u wont u will get caught!!! i learnt my lesson and now over estimate anything to do with centrelink as i dont trust em.. their systems of working out payments are way too complicated for me...so i dont risk it.

Ana Gram
18-11-2006, 23:18
Chelle, how severe is Ruby's atopic eczema? I have a friend who's daughter suffer's very badly, and she also has asthma. Her DD had to be wet wrapped as a baby, etc, so it's pretty bad, and she receives carers allowance ($94.70/fortnight) and healthcare card for that child. May be worth checking out wether you are entitled to claim, as they used to back pay a certain amount when your claim was successfull, and that may help your ex move out? No harm in asking, anyway.
:fingerscrossed: for this to be resolved soon, only wish I had some cash to throw your way...

It is getting better now that we are in a house with floorboards but we have to pay $250 in rent a week for that to happen.

In the previous house we had wall to wall carpet and her trigger is dustmites so it got very bad. We have 2 medicated creams, a lotion, a medicated bath oil, cold compress bandages and occasionally antibiotics and anithistamines and when we were in carpet, we were at the stage of spending $100 a week in medications. It was bad enough for us to take her to the childrens hospital (who perscribed everything and gave us a treatment plan), and the dermatiologist paediatrician told us that if it didn't improve she would have to be hospitalised.

Moving was only for her health and cost a pretty penny to do, not including the connection and disconnection bills that have just started coming in.

I will definately be getting an appointment to actually sit down and discuss the situation as even though we do get along, it's not the best situation to live in to have to rely on your ex for everything.

We have already started talkign about arrangments of when he does eventually move out but it can't really be done without some finacially independance for myself. Well I guess it could be done know but I have no garuntee of when I would get a different payment and how long it would take me to find a housemate to move in, as $250 a week in rent is still alot on the single parent payment. And I panic about having enough money which comes from living on Newstart for 6 months and only having $30 left after rent a week to pay for food and bills. It was hard enough living like that as a single person but I definately wouldn't want my daughter to have to live like that.

Ana Gram
18-11-2006, 23:23
just please declare everything and anything and dont think ull get away with it cuz u wont u will get caught!!! i learnt my lesson and now over estimate anything to do with centrelink as i dont trust em.. their systems of working out payments are way too complicated for me...so i dont risk it.

We have always made sure we over estimate with his income, so we don't have to pay anything back, which is a much better way of doing it I think. Sure I might not get as much as I am entitled to but I also don't have the stress of a Centrelink debt as I am sure you know about.

When I rang for the second time the other day, I just wanted to inform them of the separation so they could write it in my file but she didn't want to know. She kept saying "Just tell us when you are separated", to which I waould say that we are. Her response several times was " If you live in the same house, you are not separated".
I found it completely demoralising as I was trying to do the right thing and inform them of the change in relationship status!

19-11-2006, 00:08
Chelle,
Maybe you could go into Centrelink and ask to book an appointment with someone?
Surely you're not the only person to still be living with your ex! There must be an above-board way to get what you are entitled to!
Maybe you just need to find the 'right person to speak to who actually wants to help.

Chickadee
19-11-2006, 00:28
I agree, go in and speak to someone in person. I was getting different answers on a question whenever I phoned. When I finally went in and spoke to a real person she told me that the phone line can only handle simple questions and situtations, and apparently has a time limit per call! :thumbsdown:

DH and I are also separated under the same roof, so I'll be interested in hearing what answers you come up with. Good luck.

the_queen
19-11-2006, 00:29
I agree with Phinny, you can make an appointment to speak with a Centrelink social worker, they can help with Centrelink stuff as well as pointing you towards community organisations that can be of assistance. Things like community housing groups, where you could get a rental property for much cheaper rent (usually it's a percentage of your income).

Ana Gram
19-11-2006, 00:36
I agree, go in and speak to someone in person. I was getting different answers on a question whenever I phoned. When I finally went in and spoke to a real person she told me that the phone line can only handle simple questions and situtations, and apparently has a time limit per call! :thumbsdown:

DH and I are also separated under the same roof, so I'll be interested in hearing what answers you come up with. Good luck.

That explains why the first girl I spoke to fobbed me off to a help line for "family emergencies"!

Did you get any help from them at all? Or was it just way to hard to do?

Ana Gram
19-11-2006, 00:41
I agree with Phinny, you can make an appointment to speak with a Centrelink social worker, they can help with Centrelink stuff as well as pointing you towards community organisations that can be of assistance. Things like community housing groups, where you could get a rental property for much cheaper rent (usually it's a percentage of your income).

Do you get a choice of housing with community housing?
We had tremedous trouble finding a place with no carpet that wasn't either a dump or in the middle of nowhere. Ruby's eczema has improved so much since we made the switch and had everything steam cleaned (that cost a pretty penny!), so I wouldn't be able to go back to carpet now, I wouldn't be able to cope with her screaming in agony again!:(

Ana Gram
19-11-2006, 00:43
Chelle,
Maybe you could go into Centrelink and ask to book an appointment with someone?
Surely you're not the only person to still be living with your ex! There must be an above-board way to get what you are entitled to!
Maybe you just need to find the 'right person to speak to who actually wants to help.

Definately! The call centre workers seemed completely unable to deal with my scenario, perhaps a case worker (whatever they are called) would be able to deal with it better.

19-11-2006, 00:58
Yep, and if you get a case worker, maybe each time you go in, ask for the same person :thumbsup: Then that way, they get to know you and your situation, the advice should hopefully be consistent, and if things to get problematic down the track thru investigations or whatever, you'll have someone to back you up :)
Good luck with it all

the_queen
19-11-2006, 09:04
Do you get a choice of housing with community housing?
We had tremedous trouble finding a place with no carpet that wasn't either a dump or in the middle of nowhere. Ruby's eczema has improved so much since we made the switch and had everything steam cleaned (that cost a pretty penny!), so I wouldn't be able to go back to carpet now, I wouldn't be able to cope with her screaming in agony again!:(

Yes, both times I've applied for community housing, I've filled out a huge application form stating how many bedrooms, did I want stairs or not, did I want a backyard or not, what area did I prefer, etc etc. And that was just to do with my personal preference - you and Ruby have an actual medical reason.

There will be a waiting list (I'm on a waiting list right now) - but if you get a referral from a social worker, or a community health worker/doctor, perhaps you can be bumped up the waiting list, put on a "higher priority". If you are at risk of homelessness (ie tell the social worker that you only get $100 per week from CLink, and you have nowhere else to go) then you will most likely be rated "priority 1".
There are heaps and heaps of housing organisations - probably the Housing Trust (or whatever it's called in your state) will have a big list of them all.

the_queen
19-11-2006, 09:15
http://chirs.vacancyseeker.org.au/
Enter your postcode, or the postcode of where you want to live, and see if there's vacancies.

http://www.links.infoxchange.net.au/group/ixlinks/Housing_and_Homelessness/Housing/
Here's a list of housing providers.

http://chirs.infoxchange.net.au/
Here's another page of info.

That's what I could find in 5 minutes of googling. :)

You will have more success with a referral from a social worker, and a Centrelink social worker can point you towards community housing too.

Good luck Chelle.

brizbabe
19-11-2006, 12:41
It is quite difficult to be paid as single while still living together.

The procedures that Centrelink HAVE to follow indicate that if you advise of Separated Under One Roof-basically your situation doesn't get "reviewed" until at least 8 weeks from when this started.

As to the bagging of the Call Centre staff-like any workplace you get the good and the bad-From memory:-they should be looking at their procedural database for the marital status change for Sep under 1 Roof and following that accordingly. Unless it's changed, it's fairly straight forward-they send out a form (Mod LA) to you, send a message through to your "home office" and set up a review for your current circumstances to be checked by the office in 8 or 12 weeks (not sure which one)

Good luck with it all:)

Ana Gram
19-11-2006, 12:52
As to the bagging of the Call Centre staff-like any workplace you get the good and the bad-From memory:-they should be looking at their procedural database for the marital status change for Sep under 1 Roof and following that accordingly. Unless it's changed, it's fairly straight forward-they send out a form (Mod LA) to you, send a message through to your "home office" and set up a review for your current circumstances to be checked by the office in 8 or 12 weeks (not sure which one)

Good luck with it all:)

Well I rang twice and neither of them were able to give me any info to that nature. If it was as simple as looking it up and sending me a form, why couldn't either of them do that??

One refused to even help me and got angry at me. So I am not going to bother with the call centre again and will be making a complaint.

Ana Gram
21-11-2006, 12:24
Well thankyou Centrelink. Thankyou for letter saying I am no longer entitled to rent assistance which drops my payment to $83 a week. I can definately prove I am financially independant now

Although the phrase "Third times a Charm" rings true as the third person I spoke to from your call centre actually helped me a started proceedings to see if I will be entitled to more than $83 a week.

Ana Gram
06-12-2006, 11:38
I've now had my phone interview which was a bit of a disaster. I didn't have some details which they weren't impressed about, though no-one told me I had to have them.

I am supposed to have 2 references from professional people stating that we have separated. I don't have any which is not going to work in my favour.

I was also supposed to have called CSA to make a childcare arrangement, which I also didn't know I had to do before dealing with Centrelink.

I also couldn't give them a date of when the ex is going to move out, which wasn't good.

I was also told by the previous person that if this claim was unsuccessful, they would then have to decided if I can still get my current payment. So at the end of all this, I sould end up with no money at all.

mum33
06-12-2006, 11:49

lol, it would be possible right?

say thats the reason you broke up in the first place but couldnt tell them straight away because he was just coming to terms with "coming out"....lol

dragonflyblu
06-12-2006, 20:23
Oh Chellegoth I just sat here and read this whole post and I really feel for you. I havent had to deal with centrelink for years but my experiences were awful.

All I can do is offer you my support (albeit internet based :hugs: ) It sounds like they have misunderstood you... how could they drop your payments :banghead:

I have said this before on this forum and I will continue to say it, women are really treated as second class citizens in terms of government support. Our government does not do enough for mothers, I totally disagree with the women who support the "superwomen" ideal - just listen to how stressed (and still financially poor) women are who try to work P/T and pay for childcare...

Ladies dont be so harsh, we need to support each other, dont get caught up in the idea that payments to mothers are "welfare" payments. In other countires this is called "maternity pay"

Now to my point.... I had a friend in a situation much like yours, she didnt get anywhere with centrelink, including a case worker. She wrote down her story and contacted her local member of parliament. Then she followed up with a phone call and asked for some assistance. It worked. The local member assisted her through the centrelink process and she was backpaid her entitlements and it all happened really fast. Might want to look into putting a politician to work for you! Good luck.

My4True Angels
12-12-2006, 10:09
Well i have been there a few years ago so it may have changed by now but when i was still living with my ex we had a leason officer from centrelink come round (bc he was abo)
I wasnt on partnered allowance and you should tell them blaintly that you want to be put on single parenting payment as you are a single parent and you do what you please.

And when/if you get denied of the payment call them make an interview to fight the desicion.
When you go to the interview tell them that you pay a third of the rent and when they ask why say it is like a 3 bedroom house and you only get one room out of the three and you pay for your share of the electricity and phone. You buy your own food and you do your own thing. You sleep in seperate rooms etc. AND if they ask why dont you get your own place simply tell them...bc i am doing it for the kid/s so they still can see their dad daily and that the money you get would not support you and the kids in your own place and you dont want your kids to go without.
Hope this helps and all goes well even if you still are dating the dad. Goodluck:fingerscrossed:

Ana Gram
18-12-2006, 11:03
I had an interview with Centrelink this morning. Most of the interview I was told that it is very rare to get this payment and not having enough money to move out is not a good enough reason to still be living together and that I probably won't get the payment. Very encouraging.

I also wasn't sent all of the right forms, so now I have even more paperwork to fill out.

I felt the whole time she was basically trying to discourage me from going ahead with it. She said they don't make this payment unless there are extenuating circumstances, however she did not tell me what those were.

I can see why not many people get this payment!

sunnyflower
18-12-2006, 11:36
Just wanted to maybe throw my two cents in......

Yes centrelink can be a pain in the butt but i am so glad i live in Australia where families get assistance.In so many countries you get nothing.I wouldn't have been able to survive if it hadn't of been for centrelink.

I am a single mother to a five year old.We do not get a cent of child support.I work part-time and pay for rent (380 a fn) and daycare and all the bills from part parenting payment and from my wages.I don't know what the answer is chelle but it sounds like you really hate being dependent on your ex.I think trying to get into government housing is a great idea.My mum lives in a gov unit and it's really nice.The rent is really low and i think with your daughters medical condition they would have to place you on the priority list.You would get single parenting payment plus family allowance and rent assistance.I think you would find it much easier and you would feel more independent.Ask if you can talk to a social worker and explain your situation.Good luck!

neeky
18-12-2006, 15:55
could u contact the housing department and get yourself put down on the list for housing? then make another appointment at centrelink and if they are not being helpful make a scene and the supervisor will instantly appear at your side. (trust me it worked for me!)
Im sure there is something that u can get. Single parent pension, FTB etc. and tell them that you have nowhere to live until dep of housing can find u a place so until then u unfortunately have no choice but to live with ur ex, and u can NOT be financially independant unless they give u the payments u are entitled to as a single parent with no income!

centrelink frustrate the hell out of me.

Ana Gram
04-01-2007, 19:44
Got home from Canberra today to a letter from Centrelink rejecting my claim.

So basically I am stuck living with my ex for who knows how long. Tops...

04-01-2007, 20:00
Now to my point.... I had a friend in a situation much like yours, she didnt get anywhere with centrelink, including a case worker. She wrote down her story and contacted her local member of parliament. Then she followed up with a phone call and asked for some assistance. It worked. The local member assisted her through the centrelink process and she was backpaid her entitlements and it all happened really fast. Might want to look into putting a politician to work for you! Good luck.

Hi Chelle :wave:

That is FANTASTIC advice above. Find out who your local member is. Whenever I have had Centrelink troubles, my Dad is always on at me to write to the local member :ecomcity:
It is worth a shot, I'm positive they will answer, and I'd be suprised if they didn't assist you!

And getting backpaid... that would have to be great news - you should be able to set up your new home nicely with that :thumbsup:

:hugs: this must be so stressful for you

bubs_and_us
04-01-2007, 20:34
jeez, what a horrible situation for you to be in. im not going to tell you to lie (although, at this point, i wouldnt blame you if you did), but i'd definitely be writing to your local member, and also something like today tonight or a current affair... they like stories like this.

could u contact the housing department and get yourself put down on the list for housing? then make another appointment at centrelink and if they are not being helpful make a scene and the supervisor will instantly appear at your side. (trust me it worked for me!)

that is a great idea. at least this way, you've made the first step towards a new life.... you're just waiting for housing.

good luck, and big hugs

Ana Gram
04-01-2007, 20:55
Thanks guys. Just a little weary at the moment. And weighing up all my options is making me a litle depressed. Once I finish my bottle on wine and have a good cry, I'll think about thing more.

Mamaduke
04-01-2007, 21:07
Here's the link to your local member...surprise surprise it's a Labor held seat you live in :rolleyes:
You've got a woman too, she was the minister for Community Services from 1999-2002 so you'd think she'd be able to help you.
http://www.parliament.vic.gov.au/handbook/searchresult.cfm?menuid=1&memberId=72

Ana Gram
04-01-2007, 21:15
Here's the link to your local member...surprise surprise it's a Labor held seat you live in :rolleyes:

I tried but I wasn't on the electrol roll here and had to vote in Coburg.

WeThree
04-01-2007, 21:16
Do you have a friend that you can house share with Chelle? Just till you can get on your feet and that way you will be able to get the payment? You can look in the paper for share accomodation as well (although Im sure you already know that) various charity organisations can put you in contact with places that will pay your bond and help with other expenses of moving, even if it is into share accomodation.
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

Mamaduke
04-01-2007, 21:19
I'd be still going to her...your member for Coburg is Carlo Carli
http://www.vic.alp.org.au/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=76&Itemid=32
he's the Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure so he'd have absolutely no idea of what goes on the 'real world'!

Ana Gram
04-01-2007, 21:35
I'd be still going to her...your member for Coburg is Carlo Carli
http://www.vic.alp.org.au/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=76&Itemid=32
he's the Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure so he'd have absolutely no idea of what goes on the 'real world'!

Sorry am drinking red wine so I am not all that clear, I meant I tried getting someone good in office but look what we ended up with.

Ffrenchknickers
04-01-2007, 21:40
Chelle, I have just read this whole thread and can't believe what you have had to go through.:(

I have always had positive experiences with Centrelink and do feel lucky that we have such a system in place but I can now see how hard it is if your situation is a little out of the norm.

I haven't got any advice but I wish you luck:hugs: All the best, I hoe it works out for you.

Ana Gram
04-01-2007, 21:42
Do you have a friend that you can house share with Chelle? Just till you can get on your feet and that way you will be able to get the payment? You can look in the paper for share accomodation as well (although Im sure you already know that) various charity organisations can put you in contact with places that will pay your bond and help with other expenses of moving, even if it is into share accomodation.
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

No, I don't have anyone. My only other option to having to live with him forever more is to go back to Canberra and move in with my parents and brother..... I have just returned after 12 days with them and I am a fair way through a bottle of red and I don't drink. That should pretty much tell you my feeling on that option.

razzle
04-01-2007, 21:54
I am supposed to have 2 references from professional people stating that we have separated. I don't have any which is not going to work in my favour.
What about Ruby's doctors? Or you own family doctor? The pharmacist that supplies you with all of Ruby's meds? Dentist? Someone you know who works in a bank? And you can appealany decision that Centrelink makes if you're not happy. (Good info at www.welfarerights.org.au (http://www.welfarerights.org.au). Check the fact sheet on appealing decisions)

When I got divorced we were separated but living under the one roof - it is legal.

Separation: is a legal term and it is not the same thing as physical separation. The parties may have separated even if they have continued to live in the same house. In order to grant a divorce where the parties are still living in the same house, the court will require certain evidence from a third party of the marriage having ceased.Read this (http://www.facsia.gov.au/guides_acts/ssg/ssguide-2/ssguide-2.2/ssguide-2.2.5/ssguide-2.2.5.30.html). Then go into Centrelink and tell them to pull their finger out.

Sorry for bombarding you - but it p*sses me off that Centrelink can do this to you. :mad:

kiah
04-01-2007, 21:59
This is why i was ranting and raving on about those who rort the system today...its people like u that end up getting cheated ad u r doing the right thing....it sux.....:hugs:

Ana Gram
04-01-2007, 22:12
What about Ruby's doctors? Or you own family doctor? The pharmacist that supplies you with all of Ruby's meds? Dentist? Someone you know who works in a bank? And you can appealany decision that Centrelink makes if you're not happy. (Good info at www.welfarerights.org.au (http://www.welfarerights.org.au). Check the fact sheet on appealing decisions)

When I got divorced we were separated but living under the one roof - it is legal.

Read this (http://www.facsia.gov.au/guides_acts/ssg/ssguide-2/ssguide-2.2/ssguide-2.2.5/ssguide-2.2.5.30.html). Then go into Centrelink and tell them to pull their finger out.

Sorry for bombarding you - but it p*sses me off that Centrelink can do this to you. :mad:

A family doctor would come in handy right about now but I go to a bulk billing place where I see a different doctor everytime.

When I read the government site you linked, I can't see where they have refused me. I am going to ring tomorrow and find out why they have made that decision.

04-01-2007, 22:19
Chellegoth - I would look into what Razzle said. Push it fight them tooth and nail, write to your local member. This isnt fair and you are doing the right thing.

04-01-2007, 23:16
Chelle ive already told you how cranky i am about this but wanted to offer another :hugs:

This is so ridiculous those who need help from Centrelink never seem to get it :banghead:

Ana Gram
04-01-2007, 23:44
The part that is bugging me most at the moment is that as I was told by several Centrelink staff, I know may loose the payment I am currently on. And that is going to put me in a considerably worse position.

04-01-2007, 23:55
They cant take that off you.
I really think not only do you need to involve your local member but look into the legal side too !

V8
04-01-2007, 23:57
That's just so ridiculous! Has your ex been able to find somewhere else to live temporarily, even if it's just with a friend for a few weeks and he can still pay the bills while he's at his friends, then get the paperwork sorted and when you get the money from them you can stay there. ??? I don't know, i just wouldn't know what to do in that situation, that's just ridiculous! I hope you find someone a bit more compassionate and willing to help you with your situation. Did you talk to a social worker??

Ana Gram
05-01-2007, 00:26
It's my own fault really as I want him to have somewhere to live that is suitable for Ruby to be at for even 5 minutes. Sleeping on a friends couch is not acceptable in my mind for Ruby to visit.

And when thinking long term, there is still a housing issue for both of us.

I've always found people like counselors etc to be fairly useless to be honest so I haven't seen one.

pegasus
05-01-2007, 00:41
It's my own fault really as I want him to have somewhere to live that is suitable for Ruby to be at for even 5 minutes. Sleeping on a friends couch is not acceptable in my mind for Ruby to visit.

And when thinking long term, there is still a housing issue for both of us.

I've always found people like counselors etc to be fairly useless to be honest so I haven't seen one.

This doesn't make it your fault - it reveals how you have Ruby's best interests at the forefront. When my hubby and his ex split up properly he lived at his parents for a year (it's okay - he was only 21), but could only afford a 2bedroom townhouse with no yard on a busy road when he moved out of his parents. He was lucky when he met me (the week he moved from his parents) I was living in a 3bdm house with a yard by myself and so we would bring the children to that house on weekends (only problem was it was 160km away from their mother's house). At least I had furniture and other stuff which he didn't have as he'd left it all at the ex's so the kids could benefit from it.

It is very hard for either partner to walk away from a home and set up another one suitable for a child to live in without compromising the home the child is already in.

My4True Angels
05-01-2007, 08:39
Yoiu would find that if you looked around you would be able to afford a 2bed room apartment or unit as they go cheap.....There are plenty of single mothers out there who manage to live without there ex. PLenty of my friends are single mums to one or two even three kids and with the money they get from centrelink for the kids they afford to live in their own place and support the kids on their own.
So maybe you should about all the propects and if you want to leave your ex then find a cheap unit and leave you dont need him to life a stable life. I know you can do it just like many of other single mums who do it you just got to put your mind to it and make some sacrafices.
You may want him around for the kid or whatever but in reality you can live without him and he would still be able to see the kid if you made arrangements.

Sorry if some of this sounds nasty but in my honest opinion many single parents live on their own and do it so i cant see why you cant either

Ana Gram
05-01-2007, 10:45
I know I can live without him perfectly fine, my problem is that I do not have the money to move which tend to be quite expensive.

I have looked at units, and I wouldn't be able to afford a 2 bedroom unit. I could barely afford a one bedroom and there is nothing suitable for my daughter's medical problem.

I am not sure if you have read the whole thread but the issue is that I get a minimal amount of my own money and can't get help until I or he moves out. To move, you need a fair whack of money, which makes it difficult on the minimal amount of money I get. I would like to not live with him, I have no problem doing that and I know that I would be able to live fine on what I would get from Centrelink.

05-01-2007, 11:56
My4trueangles - yeah the issue is that Chellegoth can't GET the single parenting payment... once she gets it of course she can live on her own... but she has to be able to get it first iykwim?

Chelle, you said oyu haven't seen a counsellor, but it is worth a shot seeing a social worker as they have a bit of power in regards to Centrelink and can 'advise' them. What they say often actually stands for something... and of course the social worker can then back you up officially in regards to you not being in a relationship.
A bit of a hassle, but may be worth it in the end.

Every time I see this thread it just makes me so much angrier at the stupid system :banghead:
So I can only imagine just how much it is ****ing you off :hugs:

m_jelly
07-01-2007, 10:05
Just a thought that might help sidestep the issues you are having with centrelink - say you are staying with friends/family (give their address and contact details) until your single parenting payment is sorted. I lived with my parents after leaving my ex and they were fine with me receiving the full amount without means testing them as it was classed as 'temporary' accommodation. A friend has just given her parents address as a temporary home though, you don't really need to go stay with someone imo for the 2 weeks it would take.

That would get you the full parenting + ftb =approx 700/fn. From there you can get a bond loan from the state housing authority - they will give you a loan for the full amount of bond very quickly and easily, no interest and you pay it back at $20/month. Once you are established in a house you can then apply for rent assistance, max rate of around $120.

I'm sure you could find a flat/house with timbler floors within your new budget. You would need to pay the 2 weeks in advance along with the bond paperwork, but with your new payment rate that shouldn't be a problem. To outfit your home take what you can from your current one - your ex is working and shouldn't complain if you ask him nicely. You can rent a fridge/washing machine for a monthly fee (usually $25+ as i recall), and pick up furniture and household goods from lifeline/salvos and what not. Friends and family will be able to provide a fair amount of stuff too, you only have to ask.
Re moving costs - call in your friends and hire a trailer and off you go. Minimal costs there.

Even if you wait 2 pay periods on the new rate before you move, you will be well on the way to independence.

You will need some references for your rental applications, so start thinking about who you could use. It can be tricky getting approved when your only source of income is centrelink, so maybe even get them to write up a reference to include with your application, and include an introductory letter the agent can pass to the owner (reminds them that you are a real person, not just details on a form).

Oh and you'll be entitled to a pension health care card which gives great entitlements, such as half price telephone connection and electricity discounts. If you elect to have an amount direct debited from your account each fortnight the elec company will also waive the security deposit (or they do in QLD at least). Not sure which state you're in but google pensioner entitlements and it should point you in the right direction.

I totally agree with the previous comments regarding appealing the decision and contacting your local member (their secretaries work miracles) but if you don't have the stamina for a battle, maybe my suggestion could work for you.

And yes, I know giving a false address is a rort but in this case its a very minor rort and rather necessary.

krikki
10-01-2007, 11:25
i used to work at centrelink...

there were plenty of people living in this circumstance - they might send a centrelink employee out to check on the living arrangements ie separate room, wardrobes that kind of thing.

there is a huge questionnaire that you have to fill out as well to establish your r'ship; but if you're not in one then it's no issue really...i remember they do ask some personal q's re sleeping arrangements.

maybe talking with a centrelink social worker might assist you with this issue - they are very good and from my experience tended to "make things happen"...

Ana Gram
10-01-2007, 11:45
Filled out the questionnaire and we do have separate rooms. It never got to the point where they sent someone out.

Am I am able to find out why I have been told I am actually part of a couple? ( I find this to be totally demoralizing and I have now given up anyway)

razzle
10-01-2007, 12:15
Oh Chelle - don't give up! You have every right to receive the correct entitlements. You never know, they might be able to backdate it too!

krikki
10-01-2007, 18:36
i know that if your application for any centrelink payment has not been approved then you are entitled to know why; but you need to request this.

you can also request a review of the decision made which is processed by a completely different c'link officer who specialises in reviewing claims (called an authorised review officer or ARO).

lastly, i really think it would be worth your while speaking with a centrelink social worker. i never met one who wasn't genuinely caring and who really wanted to help those who deserved it. your situation is not a straightforward one, so you need to seek help from those who are there to help you and who are specialists in the area - they know the ins and outs. so take advantage of them - that's what they're there for.

don't give up - centrelink can be full of red tape and paperwork at our expense. be persistent if you know you have a solid case but stay honest with them though coz it's not worth risking a debt or jeopardising a genuine claim...

kiah
10-01-2007, 18:37
still following your thread and just wanted to let u know im thinking of u....i really hope this works out for u....:hugs:

Ana Gram
10-01-2007, 18:58
Spoke to a social worker and I am pretty much where I was before. I will remain stuck living with the ex for quite a while yet.

I am exhausted and more than a little depressed about the whole thing. I found out why I was rejected and that is teh financial issue, the fact that I am unable to pay my own way in all areas. There is pretty much no way around that unless I can get more from Centrelink which they have said no to.

Leeny
21-01-2007, 14:23
Chelle, i just read the whole thread, and i just wanted to offer my support. It sucks that you have to go through this. In a different way, i understand. I live with my parents, i pay them rent but im not on a lease, dh didnt have a visa to work (even now that he does, no one wants to employ him because he wasnt a resident until 2 weeks ago), so he had no income for 4 years, yet im married so i have to be on partnered payment, i wasnt entitled to rent assistance or any other benifits, so i was getting about the same as you. I wasnt relying on my dh, but i was relying on my parents, which is just as humiliating when ur meant to be married with a child, and a dh who hasnt worked in 4 years.

They just dont seem to put the effort in to help the people who really need it. Dont give up though, when you finally find that loop hole that your looking for, think of all that backpay. I know it'd be ideal if you were getting it now, but keep on trying. Did you end up speaking to you're local member? If you did i must have missed you saying so. Keep screaming at them. Goodluck :hugs: :hugs:

kryan73
31-03-2008, 08:26
OMG!.. i was just doing a search online, as to how to make a complaint against centrelink, when i came across this story. i am going throught the exact same nightmare. my husband and i had been married for 14yrs and have 5 children in 2007 we seperated, and this year i applied for parenting payments, and honestly i have come to the conclusion, that centrelink is a dept. that cant deal with truths, you should just feed them lies. my ex husband and i still reside at the same address, because for starters my ex husband works away and is only in town for about 24hrs a fortnight anyway, but also i cant start my own life until i get my own money. i have been completely truthful to centrelink and all i have got from them is a kick in the guts while iam down. it got to the stage were i was feeding my children dry bread and water, as i had no money to buy food, i let centrelink know how deseprate i was daily to no avail, luckly my ex found out how bad things were for us, so he made a house payment and brought us food, otherwise we would of straved to death, no one at centrelink seems to care that they are playing god with people lives. many people told me i should of just lied, as most people do, but stpid me, told the truth and here i am on my own with 5 children ranging in age from 8 mnts to 13 yrs, and no way of supporting them. at the moment i am still battleing centrelink for my money i am entitled too. this is insane, as if my marriage breakdown wasn't enough stress,. something has to be done, so the people who really need help get it. iam just so stressed and so depressed, and honestly this is all becoming to hard! the system is insane!