View Full Version : how did he propose?
BabyClancy
15-11-2006, 14:21
how did your dh or df propose?
we have the ring but i'm waiting for dp to propose. he feels like the pressure is on him to come up with something special. i think he could do with some ideas for encouragement!
15-11-2006, 14:26
My DH took me to Taronga Zoo in Sydney & popped the question in a sky car :hugs:
shorty_851
15-11-2006, 14:27
He got DSS to ask me it was quite adorable he said manda will you marry my daddy.:D
We went out for a nice dinner and then he took me to a look out over looking the wharf. He then got down onto a half bended knee (The ground was wet) and asked If I would do him the honour of becoming his wife. Awww, so sweet!! :D
Mummy2Noah
15-11-2006, 14:31
My Hubby was surpose to ask me on my 18th Birthday but ended up asking me the day before on Valentines Day reckons he couldnt wait Awwwwwww!!!!!!!:kiss:
We were mucking around wrestling laughing just being idiots and he said that this seems like the write time went and got the ring got on one knee and asked me i bawled my eyes out but said yes of course!!!:hugs:
my hubby proposed to me on top of the Eifel Tower in paris on valentines day
hes stil quite romantic bless him...:hugs:
Dannii79
15-11-2006, 14:36
DH took me hotair ballooning for our 8th "anniversary". I was kinda expecting it because my mum, sister and I busted him buying the ring. Anyways it was over a champaigne breaky infront of total strangers. :eek: He didn't want to do it while we were flying along, he was paranoid about dropping my ring.
BabyClancy
15-11-2006, 14:49
all your stories are so sweet. they make in feel all gushy!
we have friends who got engaged in the kitchen and dp always says he wants to do something nice and not just propose in the kitchen. it seems to be his measuring-stick so to speak.
My DH woke me up one morning at like 3am told me to pack a bag for overnight, my parents turned up on our driveway at 5am took us to the airport.
We flew to Brisbane where there was a car waiting for us and we went to sea world nara resort, went to seaworld for the day...:thumbsup:
He had previously organised that during the dolphin show I would be picked out of the crowd to pat the dolphin. After I had done that they called him down and he proposed on one knee in front of 2000 people!! :yelclap: :D
(The crowd knew b4 me too by the way LOL) This is a very big deal for him coz he's quite shy and hates being in front of people!
Best part is we got it all on video... so proud of him :kiss:
Chub Chub
15-11-2006, 15:04
MMMmmm...my DH is USUALLY so romantic that I was surprised when after cleaning the house on a Saturday morning I curled up in bed for a nap.
He snuck up on one knee with a ring box.....very unromantic to say the least! But he had some truly wonderful things to say and asked me to honour him to walk beside him for the rest of our lives! Awwww.
I asked him several weeks later why the home setting for the proposal??? He said as I am super suspicious he knew that I would know something was going on and he couldn't wait to ask!
He has organised numerous romantic interludes but my proposal was very romantic but just in an unromantic surrounding *sighs*
SassyDiva
15-11-2006, 15:09
On the beach at sunset, he had a rug, seafood and champers.. and he made me cry.. I was shocked cause he is sooo not romantic - but what he said was honest feelings and it meant so much.
We even had dolphins appear in front of us just afer he slipped the ring on (must have been fate :D , the gods gave us their blessing).
I then had to scoff dinner cause I wanted to do the rounds and show off my ring :laughing:
niesl_bug
15-11-2006, 15:21
Mine isn't very romantic - I was actually grump with him! It was my birthday and he rang me to tell me my present wasn't ready, then he told me he was going to rugby training and wasn't coming to dinner with my parents. So I got home with a doggie bag and while he was eating my leftovers he said "I managed to pick up your present! close your eyes" and he place a box with a 1 carat diamond in my hand!
We had friends that did very extravagant proposals and DH is just not like that. Plus, I would have known something was up.
The poor guys - there is a lot of pressure on them to get the proposal right and I think it's up to us to make sure they know that it doesn't really matter how they pop the question, just as long as they do it!
catalicious
15-11-2006, 15:56
Oh my God Billy.
that would of been so awesome!!!
Congrats to all of you!
Im so jealous of all of you... I told DF the other night (after watching this beautiful proposal on TV) that he mustnt of loved me enough when he proposed. LOL
We went to his brothers house for dinner and he asked me to come out onto the verandah, but it was too windy. So he took me into his old room (he had been living with his brother for a while there) and there was clothes and **** all over the floor and he fumbled around in his pocket, then got down on one knee... I looked at him and said "What are you doing? You're scaring me." Then he asked me and I took the ring, sat on the bed and stared at it for 20mins.
He was like "so.... you havent answered me yet" and I said 'Yes'...
So not romantic.
BabyClancy
15-11-2006, 16:47
i told dp this arvo of all these romantic proposals and i think it may have scared him even more. he is a creative guy but totally unromantic. i feel sorry for him as he seems to think that it should be romantic but he hasn't a clue what he's doing. but i wish he'd just do something nice for just this once!
Oh my God Billy.
that would of been so awesome!!!
Congrats to all of you!
:D It was, thank you! DH is always happy to hear how great everyone thinks it was LOL :rolleyes: :laughing:
15-11-2006, 19:24
DP ( im silly & hate using DF ) anywhos he waited till one nite Boof being a newborn fell asleep then we had a nice meal together then i was made to wait inside while having my dessert while he went outside. I was rather confused by all of this lol he finally lets me go outside blindfolded & stands me on our front porch so that im standing overlooking our front courtyard. He had tealights lit all around the wall, around the pond & along the garden beds then on the paving he had " MARRY ME ? " spelt out. Was too gorgeous !
I laughed so hard because just as i was about to say yes the wind came up & blew some of the tealights out & he got cranky hehe but it didnt matter the idea was awesome !
Ohhh Billy, your story made me cry!! (Damn pregnancy hormones!). That is SO cute! You have one thoughtful DH! :D
Ally - Your story is just as romantic, gorgeous!
My proposal was on my brother's land in the middle of nowhere. It was a favourite spot of mine and jsut hubby and I were there in a caravan. He had plans to have a candlelit walkway to the bonfire - but the wind had other ideas and he proposed in the outdoor iron bath with the fire smouldering underneath. We were butt naked and it was more like on bended butt cheek than bended knee!:laughing: Perfect:yes:
Hope you get the propsal you dream of!
15-11-2006, 19:32
:yelclap: Billy!!!!
My DH woke me up before sunrise so we could watch the sunrise at the beach.... he pulled out the ring & popped the question. When we went back to his parents unit (where we were staying) his mum had put a big bouquet (sp?) of red roses on my bed :) It was all a bit lovely really. :angel:
I knew he had the ring as I picked it out but didn't know when he was going to ask....It was the day before my bday and we went out for dinner....he was so nervous he hardly spoke to me during the meal....after that we went to a childrens playground near the ocean...
I remember it being really cold and I just wanted to go home...we were standing on a little bridge over looking the water when he ask if I wanted my birthday present early...Of course I said yes...then he said " Baby, will you marry me" I said " Your kidding right" but I did say yes with a scream when I saw the ring he had in is hand............
melbabie
15-11-2006, 23:53
well it was new years eve 2003 we were just going to to spend it with family and some friends nothing big because i was 6 months preg with our DD#1. he had asked his family and mine to come and i didnt think about it. till then the music stopped and i was asked to stand up and go to the front. then he got on his knee and said he loved me and he knew i was the one for him from the frist time we meet. then he said will you marry me and i nearly forgot to say yes i was crying so much.when i saw how big it was i said to my DH why so big and he repiled the bigger the stone is that is how much i love you. it was nice to have our family and friends there. here is a pic of my ring.
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m263/melbabie29/th_scan0002.jpg (http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m263/melbabie29/scan0002.jpg)
DF was down for Christmas and New Years, as we had a long distance relationship as he worked up in the mines and I was a Brissie chick.
We stayed at the Crest in the city for New Years and went over to Southbank for the fireworks for New Years celebrations.
I was sitting in his lap and at the stroke of midnight he said in a really serious voice that he had something to ask.... I got real scared I automatically thought the worst.... and he proposed, telling me all these lovely things, of course I said yes,.... and we didn't get to see all the fireworks!!!!....
16-11-2006, 08:23
DF has done it twice!
First time he got down in his knee at home and just asked lol and we went ring shopping. He got me a plastic ring that you get from those little machines you put money in LOL We were only 18 then.
Then he did it again this year on our anniversary. He took me out for brekkie, got his parents to babysit. To cut a long story short lol he gave me a pressie which was a rose ring case, opened it up and he held my hand across the table and asked with tears in his eyes awwww and I said yes! This time he got a ring he always wanted to give me.
So I was lucky enough to be proposed to twice and this time it still suprised me and was just as sweet! :D
OMG These stories are making me all teary!!! I love them!! :yes: :kiss:
Thank you Melo he is pretty thoughtful- and I'm sorry it made you cry!! :hugs:
This a photo when he was proposing :D
Awwww Kev!! (http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j297/billyjp/SeaWorld20.jpg)
And also, me patting the dolphin (http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j297/billyjp/SeaWorld7.jpg) before he proposed =]
BabyClancy
16-11-2006, 11:11
these are the sweetest stories. the simple things in life are often the most precious like your df having tears in his eyes kristy. that's awesome.
~mia&ryan~
16-11-2006, 19:31
I knew it was going to happen cos we had picked out my ring a while earlier (didn'tknow whether had had actually bought it though, just suspected.
I was working and we were supposed tobe going to the beach then out to dinner, but when I got home he was out and had left me a note saying he had gone to a friends bbq. I was so cranky. Anyway he got home and we headed off to dinner. We went for a walk first on the beach cos I love it there then went to dinner. We had a beautiful dinner and was lovely then we went and sat at the top of point danger. We love going up there and watching the ocean.
We just sat there talking and it was getting cold so he went and got me a jumper from the car. Wehn he came back he gave me a big hug then said can I ask you something, got down on one knee and asked me to marry him. I was so excited I cried. He then said lets go get some icecream and go home.
But instead of going home he drove me to outrigger where he had booked a room for us. He opened the door and it was just beautiful. There were flowers and candles EVERYWHERE! There was all my fave foods, chocolates, food for breakfast everything had been thought of. He even packed my bag for me with my fave clothes. He took me into the bedroom and told me to open the safe and there was another ring box, he had bought my wedding band for me too. The same one I had tried on when I picked my engagement ring out.
It was just perfect!:wizard:
*~alegna~*
16-11-2006, 19:39
Oh Em! You Suck! hehehe....:hugs:
My DH was sitting on the end of my Ma's bed & said....
"Hey well, um, so, um, woould ya, um, would um, married me one day?" I said why are you asking me? & he said "YEAH! So will ya?":rolleyes:
So romantic......Gawd Bless 'im!
Well, it's still fairly exciting for me still, as I only got proposed to 4 days ago!
DP (now DF!), took me out for my 25th birthday to a beautiful restuarant in the Hinterland. His grandad had given him a bottle of champers (supposedly for my birthday) to take (which later found out he had known what was planned & the champers was to celebrate the proposal). We had a lovely meal & he was just about to go pay, and suddenly he was on his knee, and simply said, will you marry me.
I burst into tears. I had been getting narky at him for sending a text message during dinner - turns out he was texting his cousin (who just got married), asking if he should be so nervous when proposing. He had complained about having itchy socks all night - turn out he had the box in his sock, in case I could tell he had it in his pocket! It was just beautiful seeing him cry when I started crying, then everyone starting clapping etc. :wizard:
~mia&ryan~
17-11-2006, 08:26
Oh Em! You Suck! hehehe....:hugs:
My DH was sitting on the end of my Ma's bed & said....
"Hey well, um, so, um, woould ya, um, would um, married me one day?" I said why are you asking me? & he said "YEAH! So will ya?":rolleyes:
So romantic......Gawd Bless 'im!
LOL Ang gosh he's a dag! It doesn't matter what the proposal is like, the most important part is the life you build together.:yes: :yes:
17-11-2006, 08:35
My hubby has quite a few romantic bones in his body :yes: It was 2 weeks after we lost our first bub, we decided to go away for the weekend - just to get away from life and have some 'us' time. I had chosen out an engagement ring already - but because we'd lost the bub I kind of figured it would all be put on the backburner and kind of forgot about it all.
After a beautiful night together at a B&B, we went for a drive to check out the local area. We took a picnic lunch with us and found a gorgeous isolated little spot on a beach. We were right beside the rocks so we had the waves crashing against the beach beside us. The sun was shining, and we were in the shade of a beautiful big lighthouse. We had a couple of glasses of wine, ate our lunch, and then hubby suggested that we check out the rockpools (a fave past time of ours :))
I got up and began walking over to the rockpools and noticed he wasn't with me. I turned around and he was on bended knee and declared his love for me and asked me for my hand in marriage :kiss:
Aside from my wedding, it was the most beautiful day of my life - one that I will always cherish and hold dear to my heart.
Monday week is our one year wedding anniversary, and unfortunately he wont be home (he is in the navy). I love him so much and we are so excited to now be expecting our first baby together. He is going to be a fantastic father and I couldn't imagine being with anyone else.
Yes, I'm in love with a sailor :kiss:
:hugs: Ally that is so beautiful :yes: You are both going to make such wonderful loving parents :kiss:
Mikeswifey
17-11-2006, 21:13
DH took me out for dinner, then to the movies and then proposed.
I knew something was up hes palms were really really sweaty when we were holding hands and he was acting a bit nervous.
He also asked my dad for his permission and dad said yes of course. I loved that he asked my dad. Its real traditonal. I know alot of people dont ask dad's anymore, they just propose. I hope when DD gets engaged (in about 20yrs I hope) that the guy asks my DH if he can.
Havana_Face
19-11-2006, 08:08
dan proposed to me in the back of a taxi while in a traffic jam in bangkok! :yes:
neeshNgeorgia
28-11-2006, 14:25
i had to add mine because i just love it! I was 6 months pregnant and steve had told me to take the saturday off work, so i organised that and had no idea y! So on that friday night after we had finished work, i got home to steve standing at the door way with 1 bag packed telling me i had half an hour to pack and get in the car, so rushing around ( seriously who packs for a weekend away in half an hour??) we jumped in the car, still with no idea where he was taking me. being 6 months preg, i was exhausted and fell asleep in the car. I woke up in sydney at a beautiful motel, where i then got blindfolded and directed through to the premiere wing, he went inside for a few mins then come out and told me to come in, he had delta goodrem playing (i love her) and on the huge kingsize bed he had rose petals shaped in a love heart with a open ring box in the middle of it! of course pregnant and hormonal i bawled, he was shaking like a leaf when he put the ring on my finger, it actually took him a good 10mins after b4 he asked the question, "so is that a yes??", of course i said yes!!!! sorry for the rant but i just love it!!
cobysmummy
28-11-2006, 14:48
ohh they are just beautiful... i hope my dp comes up with something as romantic as any of those...
oh all these wedding threads makes me want to get married even more...
*off i go to dream*
Girls i have to say that my hubby is extremly romantic!!!!!!!!!
My story:
2 weeks before he proposed, at work he called my boss (i did not know about it) he told my boss to organise October 29th as a fake rostered day with an 7 am start,(My boss was in on it).
1 week before the proposal he sent a dozen long stemmed Roses to my work with stickers all over the tissue paper saying 1 week to go!
On October 29th 1996, I got up at 5 am to get ready for work, my Dad happened to be up (he is a concretor) i asked my Dad if he could give me a lift to the train station, but he refused which is unusual for my Dad. I thought oh well, so i grabbed my coat and walkman and headed down the street.
As i approached towards the end of my street, there was a parked Limo, i didn't think anything of it, i just thought that one of the neighbours was being picked up for work or smoething, but as i got closer the Chauffer got out of the car with a Placard saying my name!
Well i dropped my bag, and started shacking, he then grabbed my hand and then opened the back door of the Limo and There was my Babe sitiing in the back with Big Teddy!
I said to him i have to go to work (still shaking) he said not today babe.
Well at 6 am in the limo he got on his hand and knees and proposed, of course i said yes and what happened next was inevitable. After 30 minutes of smooching and all that mushy stuff, we opened a bottle of Don perignon, i got mighty tipsy:D
Then we headed to Crown and met up with his sister and BIL and we had a champagne breakfast, Then we went to the Sofitel on the 35th floor for a very expensive lunch, then we went for a boat ride at port melbounre, which my fiancee saw me puke for the first time! (choppy waters)
The orginal proposal was meant to be in a hot air balloon ride which got cancelled that morning, so we did that for our pre wedding clip for our video.
Till this day Hubby is very romantic, he will buy me presents and leave them under my pillow, he always opens the door for me etcetc.......
We are comming up to our 10 year anniversary
29-11-2006, 07:11
Girls i have to say that my hubby is extremly romantic!!!!!!!!!
My story:
2 weeks before he proposed, at work he called my boss (i did not know about it) he told my boss to organise October 29th as a fake rostered day with an 7 am start,(My boss was in on it).
1 week before the proposal he sent a dozen long stemmed Roses to my work with stickers all over the tissue paper saying 1 week to go!
On October 29th 1996, I got up at 5 am to get ready for work, my Dad happened to be up (he is a concretor) i asked my Dad if he could give me a lift to the train station, but he refused which is unusual for my Dad. I thought oh well, so i grabbed my coat and walkman and headed down the street.
As i approached towards the end of my street, there was a parked Limo, i didn't think anything of it, i just thought that one of the neighbours was being picked up for work or smoething, but as i got closer the Chauffer got out of the car with a Placard saying my name!
Well i dropped my bag, and started shacking, he then grabbed my hand and then opened the back door of the Limo and There was my Babe sitiing in the back with Big Teddy!
I said to him i have to go to work (still shaking) he said not today babe.
Well at 6 am in the limo he got on his hand and knees and proposed, of course i said yes and what happened next was inevitable. After 30 minutes of smooching and all that mushy stuff, we opened a bottle of Don perignon, i got mighty tipsy:D
Then we headed to Crown and met up with his sister and BIL and we had a champagne breakfast, Then we went to the Sofitel on the 35th floor for a very expensive lunch, then we went for a boat ride at port melbounre, which my fiancee saw me puke for the first time! (choppy waters)
The orginal proposal was meant to be in a hot air balloon ride which got cancelled that morning, so we did that for our pre wedding clip for our video.
Till this day Hubby is very romantic, he will buy me presents and leave them under my pillow, he always opens the door for me etcetc.......
We are comming up to our 10 year anniversary
What a charmer!
melbryan
29-11-2006, 07:19
Oh they are all making me cry, some hubby's can be so sweet,
It was raining when we went to Port Macquarie we had sat down for dinner and he then wanted to go for a walk, I said my shoes will get wet, he dragged me as I wasn't making this easy. We walked out onto a wharf he brought out the ring and said 'I love you , will you Marry me, I started screaming and asking when did you get this???? Of course I said yes and we have lived happily ever after.
I was 6 months pregnant and we had organised 2 nights away just to have some us time before bubba comes along. I was totally oblivious to what was going on.... the trip up was a bit silent lol i kept asking what was wrong and al just kept saying nothing nothing then after we checked in he said lets go to the beach... i was exhausted but we headed down to this beach that was isolated! i was huffing and puffing with my bump and i said i need a break, al said well heres a reason to stop and got down on bended knee, told me why he loved me and wanted to marry me and then asked me... he proposed with his great grandmothers engagement ring which is absolutely stunning (very very modern)...
after he proposed he told me that he had rung my mum to ask permission to marry me (i don't see my dad).... what a sweetie
we celebrated that night at a restaurant at maroochydore which is actually the same place we are getting married on the same weekend next year :)
My hubby proposed on top of the Harbour Bridge. It was soo sweet- I was shaking whilst walking back down. What an unplesant journey back it would be if ur partner said no (ha!ha!)
29-11-2006, 21:15
my hubby and i went for coffee on a friday night at mt cootha, once we had finished we went up to the lookout bit, to talk, and then he got down on his knee and asked me to marry him. everyone around us clapped.
we have been together for 10.5yrs now and married for 7. sigh tis gone way too fast
JuniorMinime
30-11-2006, 08:57
My DF went and bought a cat for me (I actually chose it at the AWL the day before). He actually did this cause we just had our 3rd M/C. He bought it home and covered my eyes so that it would be a surprise.
I was so excited about getting my cat that I didn't even see him go down on bended knee. He then asked me (well actually 2-3 times as I thought that he was joking around) and of course I said yes.
I later found out that he asked my mum and dad as well. The wedding is now going to be in April 2008 so we can buy a house next year and get settled in there before we get married.
Butterbear
06-12-2006, 14:18
It was my 27th Birthday and DH bought me a star.. took me to the coonabarabran observatory to view my star... walked to the top of this mountain blind folded to have DH remove and all i could see was 360 degree views of mountains.... when i looked down there was a love seat with beautiful arrangement of flowers, love seat with blanket and doona. I turned to DH who was on his knee crying with a ring in his hand!!!!
Very emotional, he had to ask twice before I said yes... i was in total shock that he kept the whole thing from me.... Oh... we did get to see my star after dinner in the observatory!
06-12-2006, 14:25
My df proposed at a really nice lookout where we had our first date,it was really nice the view was great,he got down on his knee and said "babe will you marry me",of course i said yes.We are getting married sometime next year.
06-12-2006, 14:27
It was my 27th Birthday and DH bought me a star.. took me to the coonabarabran observatory to view my star... walked to the top of this mountain blind folded to have DH remove and all i could see was 360 degree views of mountains.... when i looked down there was a love seat with beautiful arrangement of flowers, love seat with blanket and doona. I turned to DH who was on his knee crying with a ring in his hand!!!!
Very emotional, he had to ask twice before I said yes... i was in total shock that he kept the whole thing from me.... Oh... we did get to see my star after dinner in the observatory!
Awww your Dh sounds like a real romantic :yes:
I am mostly disappointed at the way my DP proposed to me. After 11 years together, you'd think he'd know better.. but still I ain't training another one..
I might get him to read this thread.. hmmmm
bubbasmum
06-12-2006, 21:07
My dh proposed in our hotel room while on holiday in queensland. After a long day at sea world, I was doing the washing up after dinner and he went and had a shower and a shave and got dressed in his best clothes. I was in my Pjs. Then he got down on one knee and asked me. I will never forget ho scared he looked! LOL and how happy he was when i said yes!
Tam-I-Am
06-12-2006, 22:40
OOoooh, these stories are so lovely!
My DH proposed on one of the saddest days of our relationship, actually, and - whatsmore - when he was fairly drunk!
DH's best mate had died in 2000, and we, of course, went to the funeral. It was a really hot day in February, and after the funeral we went to the wake for a little while, but I felt really sick - sunstroke - so ended up going home, whilst DH stayed and mourned with his other friends.
DH got home at about 1am, and I'd been throwing up for most of the afternoon. I was deeply deeply asleep. DH climbed into bed next to me, woke me up with a very gentle kiss, and asked me to marry him.
It took me a good couple of minutes to realise what was happening, after which time I (of course!) said yes.....But I had to ask him why he'd chosen that night of all nights.....He replied that he'd been talking to the girlfriend of his mate at the wake, and of course she'd been devastated. She'd asked him, somewhere along the night, how DH's and my relationship was going (we'd been together for 11 months at that stage) and he'd told her he was planning to propose to me on my birthday, the next month - she told him that life was too short, and precious - look what had just happened to DH's friend - that he couldn't wait, and had tried to thrust her mobile at him to make him call me and propose over the phone. Thank goodnss he had enough sense left to come home and do it face-to-face!
After that speech, I was touched and moved....But sometimes I wish I'd gotten my romantic proposal on my birthday! LOL
When we woke up the next morning, DH was clearly hung over. I was so stressed he wouldn't remember proposing -so I asked him did he remember and he said "of course! Now lets go shopping for a ring".
For all his romantic failures, he's a wonderful husband, and I thank whatever forces of fate that brought us together :)
BlessedWithBlue
06-12-2006, 22:56
We were in the Philippines in his family's Condo after a big day of shopping :D we were just relaxing and laying in bed talking then it came out of nowhere:eek: I must say i was a bit shocked lol!! here we are four and a half years later and we have only just gotten married :o
hippychick
18-12-2006, 15:46
I was shocked with the way my man proposed to me!!
You can get from specialitychocolate shops,'letters' made out of chocolate...
Once night laying on the couch I said I felt like some chocolate (like most nights!!)..He came out with some letters (which i thought was strange,caus normally its good ol cadbury!!!)As i was sitting there i was just looking at them and noticed there was a strange combination of letters,...i noticed four of the letters spelt out my name ...I mixed them around a bit and the letters spelt out "Lucy, I love you!"
I ran into the kitchen where he was and laughed,where then he gave me a box of chocolates!I said "god, im gonna be sick with all of these!!",he said "open this box..you'll like these chocolates better!!"
I ripped off the plastic,and opened the box......and nearly had a heart attack.
Inside the box lid wrote " Lucy I love you,will you marry me?!" and where one of the chocolates was suppose to be,was a ring!!!!!!!!!!!!!:kiss:
Of course I said YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i cant believe he went to so much effort!Actually getting the shop to put the message in one of their boxes,and specially wrapping it up!!:hugs:
:wizard:
18-12-2006, 15:51
We had just lost our first angel and even though I knew he had the ring I figured it would be put on the back-burner for a while. Just wanting to get away from life, we organised a couple of nights in a B&B up the North coast. It was a gorgeous day - the sun was shining, the waves crashed against the rocks against us and we had a picnic lunch on the sand underneath a beautiful lighthouse.
He suggested we look in the rockpools (like we always do) so up I get, and when I turned around he was down on bended knee... He is so romantic :)
Hey everyone, OMG how romantic were all your proposals???
Well, I got ****ed waiting, so I PROPOSED...:thumbsup:
Its was Valentines Day, bloody hot day:eek: we were camping in the lounge that night...the only room with air-con:laughing: ...and I brought a tacky rose ring box, and gave him the speech from "Runaway Bride"...I guarentee there will be tough times, I guarentee etc he cried and said YES...then You are just too impatient, I would have proposed....My reply I can't wait forever....
DH didn't really propose at all. he just said (2 weeks after meeting me) "I'm going to marry you." i said : "Oh is that right, do I have a say in this. " him: "nope, it's fate."
Then 2 weeks later we were in bed one morning and he asked me what I had on at uni that day. (educational psychology.... yuk) so he said, "I want to go shopping for some clothes and stuff, you want to come." So of course I said yes... then when we were at the shops, he said "would you like to choose your ring while we're here?"
II found out later that after his inital (i'm going to marry you) statement he put his motorbike up for sale so he'd have enough money for a ring. How sweet.
19-12-2006, 10:37
We went to the beach (ST Kilda beach) and had fish and chips, then that night (still at the beach) he proposed, I can't remember everything that was said though :o
I sort of knew he was going to do it coz we had talked about it before.
It was a nice relaxed atmosphere but I was really nervous. :o
damien's mum
19-12-2006, 10:40
Dh, asked me when i was in the shower............ I almost slipped over... haha talk about a unquie (sp?) Lol
we went to new zealand in april and we went on a helicopter ride i always wanted to go in one and we got to the top of a mountain it was so so so high up and he proposed overlooking queenstown so beautiful..