View Full Version : Natural or IVF?
Yummy Mummy of 5
15-11-2006, 01:23 PM
Hi Ladies, I have been asked a lot lately if my twins are IVF, and by the way they are not all natural. My mum's sister, had girl and boy twins. And we have heaps going back on my side of the family. So this must be where I get it from.
So this got me thinking how many multiples on Bub Hub are natural or IVF?
CJJHRA
15-11-2006, 04:20 PM
Natural for me.. the only twins on my side was a great, great grandmother I think... and thats it..
BagginsB
15-11-2006, 06:28 PM
Hi there, our girls are identical...natural and apparently a "random act of nature"...
Duchessa
15-11-2006, 08:33 PM
Identicals here too.
Shajbm
15-11-2006, 09:18 PM
Mine are identical, however they were conceived on IVF.
mysteeq
16-11-2006, 01:53 PM
Mine were conceived through IUI and they're not identical
andrewsmum
17-11-2006, 07:03 AM
Mine were naturally conceived, they are said to be identical - most likely 'random act of nature' as identical twins are not generally considered to be inherited.
That said, I do have identical twins in the family, way back to my great grandmother generation.
DoubleDelight
20-11-2006, 11:00 AM
My two are fraternal and naturally conceived. There is a website which sells t'shirts etc. with slogans like 100% natural twin.
I've just bought my 2 t-shirts that say "No we're not identical"
mysteeq
20-11-2006, 07:13 PM
Double Delight-Whats the website that you got the tshirts from i'd love to get some
DoubleDelight
21-11-2006, 09:18 AM
Hi Mysteeq
Here is the link:
http://www.funtimesx.com/
I also got t-shirts through my branch of AMBA. Just as a heads up AMBA also run a forum for parents & parents to be of multiples
http://amba.org.au/forum/index.php
mysteeq
21-11-2006, 10:48 AM
Thanks double delight
Duchessa
21-11-2006, 11:26 AM
I had some very cute ts that said "Stop Copying Me" - which I thought was rather funny for identicals :D My brother gave them to me, but they were from WryBaby. They have a website I think.
Lollie
21-11-2006, 11:48 PM
Mine were natural conception.
BlessedWithBlue
29-11-2006, 09:43 PM
Mine were conceived naturally and are fraternal.
Yummy Mummy of 5
22-06-2007, 02:35 AM
Anyone else like to share?
bel84
22-06-2007, 01:36 PM
Mine were natural:thumbsup:
busymummyof4
22-06-2007, 03:19 PM
Our twin boys were 100% naturally conceived - out of lurvvvvvvvvvvv!
mum23boys
22-06-2007, 06:27 PM
Mine were naturally conceived.
andrewsmum
22-06-2007, 08:19 PM
Natural here too!!
My DH reckon's his little swimmers swam so hard the egg split on impact :rolleyes: :laughing:
Do you know that only 35% of multiples are conceived with medical assistance??
twinsandbaby
17-07-2007, 10:14 AM
My twins are IVF and I am very proud!!!!!
I don't think t-shirts with 100 % natural are very nice. :thumbsdown:
My twins are just as much twins as any other twin.
Its like saying my are ivf twins are more special than those who just had them. I'm sorry for venting... I just hate the way people view this topic
cheers Nanette
busymummyof4
17-07-2007, 04:23 PM
My twins are IVF and I am very proud!!!!!
I don't think t-shirts with 100 % natural are very nice. :thumbsdown:
My twins are just as much twins as any other twin.
Its like saying my are ivf twins are more special than those who just had them. I'm sorry for venting... I just hate the way people view this topic
cheers Nanette
Thats right Nanette. They all come from the same place in the end don't they. To be honest, I do get peeved when people ask if they were naturally or IVF conceived. I really dont see what it matters. Do people ask parents of singletons the same question? No they dont!
DoubleDelight
18-07-2007, 08:10 AM
Nanette
You're damned if you do and damned if you don't. The general perception is that most twins are IVF. At the end of the day natural/IVF/immaculate conception our babies are all precious and not the circus freaks that some section of the public like to treat them as.
I think you'll find that the 100% natural t-shirts are something simply born of frustration at this very question.
As parents of twins we have to put up with more than our fair share of idiotic questions and comments. I certainly have noticed the difference between having singletons and multiples.
paige1
18-07-2007, 02:20 PM
i am pregnant with my second multiple pregnancy...both natural.
first set twins(dec)
second set triplets.
i also have a daughter
DoubleDelight
18-07-2007, 02:48 PM
:wave: Paige good to see you here. Although I've already said it Congratulations again on your pregnancy.
paige1
18-07-2007, 07:33 PM
thankyou double delight.
i took you up on your offer,its fantastic thread.
be safe
busymummyof4
19-07-2007, 06:12 PM
i am pregnant with my second multiple pregnancy...both natural.
first set twins(dec)
second set triplets.
i also have a daughter
Congratulations Paige1. :babydust2:
All the best for a very healthy pregnancy with the triplets.
I bought a book when I was pregnant with our twins called "Twins - A practical guide to parenting multiples from conception to preschool". It also has chapters on triplets. Maybe this might be a good read for you. I used to read different bits every other night. I found it quite interesting and helpful.
Look forward to seeing you around here now and again. All the best x
I'm with you Nanette. It is a little offensive. It really shouldn't matter how they were concieved, because then you need shirts that say how you delivered, whether you breastfed, whther you control cry etc:thumbsdown: .
People who ask are just being nosy, and I've found are often quite rude about it.
The latest research suggests only 20% of twins are IVF, or assisted (came in my IVF newsletter).
Trust me if I could have had children another way I would have.
Now any ideas how to get these twins out of me!!!!! They won't induce me at 37+ weeks because they said my cervix wasn't ripe but the scan showed a 6.6lbs and a 6.1lbs babies so I think it is time to evacuate!
busymummyof4
20-07-2007, 10:05 AM
I'm with you Nanette. It is a little offensive. It really shouldn't matter how they were concieved, because then you need shirts that say how you delivered, whether you breastfed, whther you control cry etc:thumbsdown: .
People who ask are just being nosy, and I've found are often quite rude about it.
The latest research suggests only 20% of twins are IVF, or assisted (came in my IVF newsletter).
Now any ideas how to get these twins out of me!!!!! They won't induce me at 37+ weeks because they said my cervix wasn't ripe but the scan showed a 6.6lbs and a 6.1lbs babies so I think it is time to evacuate!
Hi BecH :wave:
Yr twins sound like they're good and ready to face the world at that decent size. I had my twins at 37 and a half weeks by c/s. 6lbs 8 oz and 5lb 7oz. I didn't want to have them naturally but my first twin was breech anyway so it wouldn't have mattered. I was happy to have them plucked out so to speak. It was a very different experience to a natural birth which I had twice with my daughters.
Good luck with the birth. Hope it all goes well for you and soon....
Dan x
blessedmummy
24-07-2007, 12:38 PM
hope you all dont mind me popping in here, i think you are all wonderful for having twins and triplets all at once!! wow! you are all amazing! :yelclap: my dh only has twins in the family like long distance relations somewhere.......not sure where.... im trying to find something in my family.....i wonder! :detective:
Shajbm
24-07-2007, 09:50 PM
Sex and lots of it. Apparently the stuff from hubby is like being induced. Good luck
Well I'm still here. 2 days short of 38 weeks with these twins Valentine . Sex didn't work, and I think I'll go on strike now. DH was pleased to have a week straight but honestly could there be anything more uncomfortable, :thumbsdown: .
I can't wait to join you twin mummies, 4 days until my next visit and then I'll be 38.2 and hoping they will induce me so I can too be a twin Mum!
busymummyof4
28-07-2007, 11:44 AM
:wave: BecH. Oh they must be so comfortable in there!! What a lovely haven you must have created.
I too think I would have kept on carrying if my DH hadn't had to go away for work. I had a c/s and we made the booking in the final week. I was kinda relieved at the time!!
Oh and am struggling to conceive the idea of having sex that late in a twin pregnancy. You are one super woman!!
Again, good luck with everything.
Shajbm
28-07-2007, 10:33 PM
Well I'm still here. 2 days short of 38 weeks with these twins Valentine . Sex didn't work, and I think I'll go on strike now. DH was pleased to have a week straight but honestly could there be anything more uncomfortable, :thumbsdown: .
I can't wait to join you twin mummies, 4 days until my next visit and then I'll be 38.2 and hoping they will induce me so I can too be a twin Mum!
LOL you crack me up. Good on you for having sex this late in pregnancy. You must really want them out. Good luck in a couple of days and you will be joining us very soon.
bruna
29-07-2007, 09:57 AM
My twins are fraternal and were conceived with the help of IVF.
they are my life Valentine
Yummy Mummy of 5
11-12-2007, 09:32 AM
:laughing: I think most daddy's of multiples think that they have super duper swimmers!
That's really interesting only 35% are conceived with medical help. For some reason I was thinking that it would be higher, don't ask me why.
kimmymonster
15-12-2007, 09:49 PM
My b/g twins were due to 1st round of IVF. We feel very blessed after 5 years and a lot of heartache to have our goregous babies.
I am an identical twin myself, so I know having twins is a great thing. Most people think it runs in the family.I tell them that it was thru IVF.I love being a mulitple mum and am one very proud mumma.
OJandMe
15-12-2007, 09:52 PM
:laughing: I think most daddy's of multiples think that they have super duper swimmers!
Dh called his twin swimmer's "Einsteins"
coz they split the egg! :laughing:
Peppa
18-12-2007, 07:30 AM
Hi Multiple Mums!!!:wave:
I am the mother of beautiful twins g/b almost 3. I generally post on IVF thread but notice someone referred to a twin thread and I thought I should check it out.
Our twins were conceived via IVF on our first attempt. We have just had a m/c after our second IVF attempt with a single embie and am half tempted to transfer two next time... lol
I could handle twins again no worries but I don't think the bank account could!!!
I wish you all a safe and merry christmas :xmastree:
cass'n'crew
20-12-2007, 11:17 AM
We were rather amazed when we found out we had managed to concieve triplets all on our own. Of course my husband is feeling very "manly" right now.........:wave:
DonnaR
08-01-2008, 08:00 PM
HI
I'm kind of new round here.
My B/G twins arrived after 3 IVFs and 5 FETs. We had almost given up hope:(
Two and a half years later we went for another Frozen Embryo Transfer and our two little girls arrived 8 months later.
All from the same IVF cycle.:thumbsup::sunshine:
andrewsmum
08-01-2008, 08:50 PM
Wow, Cass!! Good work on conceiving triplets!! Hope you are travelling OK!! How's it all going??
Welcome to the forum DonnaR!! Congrats on your miracle two sets of twins from one IVF cycle. It never ceases to amaze me that medical technology has advanced so much to enable us to have children.
Peppa, I joke and say I want triplets next!! I reckon I would be able to handle it but same here, the bank account probably won't LOL!!!
Kylie
twinmummee
09-01-2008, 04:47 PM
Am new around here too. Our twins were conceived naturally - thank you very much Mr George Bush for giving Sydneysiders an extra long weekend last year!!
The jury is out on whether they are identical or not, apparently my placenta(s) are an unusual presentation!!! Sonographers often refer to both placentas and then when the obstetricians look they say there is only one....
Who knows, as long as they are healthy I don't really mind either way!
cass'n'crew
13-01-2008, 08:27 AM
Wow, Cass!! Good work on conceiving triplets!! Hope you are travelling OK!! How's it all going??
Welcome to the forum DonnaR!! Congrats on your miracle two sets of twins from one IVF cycle. It never ceases to amaze me that medical technology has advanced so much to enable us to have children.
Peppa, I joke and say I want triplets next!! I reckon I would be able to handle it but same here, the bank account probably won't LOL!!!
Kylie
Hi Kylie. :wave:
I'm doing ok at the moment. The last few weeks have been up and down but everything has settled down again, which is great.
Yeah I can hear our account groaning already! Life is going to be VERY different.....:)
chrysalis
02-02-2008, 01:16 PM
naturally conceived, but I agree the question is very annoying. I've never thought of asking anyone that question who had twins. It just didn't cross my mind that it was relevant or my business. So I was rather shocked to be asked that question a lot when people find out I am expecting twins. The first time I was so shocked someone would ask that, I had no idea what to say!! I'm thinking of a suitable reponse for the next time I get asked ...tinmummee, maybe the placenta's have fused. It makes it difficult to tell if there is one or two. The ultrasound technician told me that having one or two placenta's is not a definite way to find out if twins are identical or fraternal though. He said in 25-30% of cases, identical twins have their own placentas. So, both fraternal or identical twins can have separate placentas.
kccmylife
03-02-2008, 09:54 AM
My twins are IVF, and also made out of MUCH luuuuurrrrrvvvvvv!! I so despertaely wanted a baby that we were willing to go to the ends of the earth for them and that I think makes them majorly special.
I am rather sick of the questions too, and the one I get most often is "do twins run in your family". And as my Nan had twin sisters and one of her sisters daughters had twins girls I now just say yes and leave it at that.
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.