View Full Version : I just don't like him

lucyp
18-10-2005, 09:13
I just don't like my DH at the moment - don't get me wrong I do love him - but I am really having a hard time liking him this past fortnight.

He complains about DH crying in the night ( because he has to work the next day...hmmm.. and I don't? :( )

Won't get up to help do anything about it - just grumble and ask me to make him be quiet!

Hmmmmmm..... I thought we had agreed to to help one another with the control crying thingy - but obviously not.

Anyway - theres my grizzle for the day - unhelpful, unsympathetic husband at the moment :(

veve
18-10-2005, 09:17
oh lucyp - you have my sympathy!!!!

lots of hugs!!!

I feel the same way - my DH was out with his mates till after midnight last night... we haven't even HAD bubs yet and I want to strangle him!!!! I dont mind his seeing his mates... but I'm tired... fat.. sore... and frustrated!!!!

why are relationships so hard????

I felt so much more 'normal' when I saw your post .. I hope you can sort it out

hugs
xxxxxxx

belinda
18-10-2005, 09:25
i have the felt the same the last few weeks i just dont know what to do anymore hugs from me too as i know how your feeling...

thats so true why are relationships so hard???

hope all gets better sooon

belinda

Harmony83
18-10-2005, 09:26
I know how you feel I have days when I just really don't like my DF (I'll always love him though) I just won't like him - does that make sense...
I hate it when I feel like that, because it makes me wonder why I am with him if I don't like him - not that I would ever leave him, but men I think have a way of just ticking us off and it feels like you need a breather!

Hugs to you, and I hope you feel better about everything soon!

18-10-2005, 09:40

We live in an apartment block and the people that live up stairs from us just had a bub last week. The other night we heard bub crying (that really heart wrenching newborn cry, which my DH actually liked :eek: when DS was little) any way we heard the bub crying and then we could hear the ladys hubby upstairs yelling at her to keep the baby quiet and he was using some really vulgar language calling her a C etc etc.

DH got really upset and wrote the guy a nasty letter telling him to be nice to his wife or he'd call the cops........I really didnt want to get involved coz I understand how stressful having a new baby can be LOL. But ever since DH put that letter in his mail box we havent heard him swearing at his wife or the baby. So I guess DH did her a favour????? What do you guys think?

Oh and DH used to sleep right through when bub would cry so I know how you all feel, it makes me really resentful when I was bf to the point where I'd just cry when ever I had to feed DS at night coz I felt so alone.

Men they can be wonderful one minute and insensitive jerks the next :mad:

Mum2Tyla
18-10-2005, 09:41
I love my BF but he does get on my nerves at times, especially now I am 31 weeks pregnant and very sleep deprived and still working full time so I am not as patient as I used to be, he is a major slob, he has improved since I got pregnant but I still need to hassle him all the time, but other than that I must admit he is pretty great. What amazes me the most is that I have put on 27kgs and he still wants to have sex with me??? I think I look like jabba the hut but he says I am beautiful because I am carrying his baby? But we will see how things go once she is here and he is not getting any sleep.
Kelly

veve
18-10-2005, 09:51
Men they can be wonderful one minute and insensitive jerks the next

well said orlandosmum!!! (sorry- I can't get it to 'quote' properly!!! haven't mastered that yet!!! :)

we cant live with 'em.... can't live without them!!!!

wattle
18-10-2005, 10:09
I'm struggling with mine too today :(

veve
18-10-2005, 10:17
I just talked to mine on the phone-

I'm taking a big block of chocolate... a box of tissues and going back to bed..

it's all too hard.

xxxxx

18-10-2005, 10:39
I really cant bad mouth DH as he is home every night of the week and spends heaps of quality time with DS......but sometimes he does pee me off when he makes comments like "its your job" in re: to taking care of bubba, like his not a parent too LOL :rolleyes:

I must say though my BIL is the worst when my sister had her bub he spent every single night out till midnight. Monday/weds nights was coaching a footy team, tuesdays was his billards competition, thursady night was band practice and friday night was his "Relaxation" night at the pub.Then on Saturday it was coaching footy all day :eek: Ooh it made me so mad LOL to watch my sis go through that. Thankfully footy season is now over so he stays at home monday and weds night and saturdays. What a jerk!

To Veve- big hugs to you and bubba, oh and enjoy the choccie LOL you deserve it :p

tickle
18-10-2005, 11:30
My dh is really good. It is probably me who is the insensitive one at the moment. But staying at home all day preg, with morning sickness, and with a 14 month old who has taken to whinging A LOT!! Is driving me a bit stir crazy. To make matters worse my dh has to work heaps at the moment as they have a big job on, he is doing 70hours at work and then going to TAFE 2 nights a week.
I have been really short with him lately, I think it is just hormones and the fact that I didn't realise how lonely I have been. We live on acreage and there a not really any neighbours or people in general around here. Sorry I'm just feeling really sorry for myself, maybe I'll find some chocolate too!!

Ellen

veve
18-10-2005, 15:56
hey all :D

thanks for the hugs orlandosmum :)

After I polished off a fair whack of chocolate, some biscuits, and a mango ice-cream (therapy!!) , I met with some of my friends from pre-natal class after lunch today... and got lots off my chest (nothing like having a bunch of hormonal women understand you!!!!) anyways... DH and I have had another chat... and things are looking up!!!

note- having said that ... I could be back here tomorrow ...venting more!!!!!!! :rolleyes:

LucyP - we haven't heard how you and your man are..... I hope you are feeling perkier!! (hugs)

xxxxx

lucyp
18-10-2005, 16:34
I'm struggling with mine too today :(

Perhaps its something in the air - is there a full moon at the moment??

Thanks girls for your support - so nice to know that I am not alone - even though I am :rolleyes: He still a "doody head" (qoute courtesy of 5 year godson)

Will have to purchase some of the all magical "fix all" chockie :)

18-10-2005, 17:39
Hmmm Chocolate, cures all of lifes problems.....pity about the hangover AKA zits you get after a big binge LOL :p

veve
18-10-2005, 18:02
LOL LOL LOL

"doody head"

LOL !!!! Oh you have made my day - aren't children beautiful!!!

xxxxx

lucyp
18-10-2005, 20:19
I laughed too ! A) because it seemed quite appropriate and B) just because :D !

Lucybelle
18-10-2005, 21:07
Next time I'm cross with DP (probably 5 minutes from now) I'll just think of him as "Doody head".

What a classic!

Mummabear
18-10-2005, 21:53

I'm with you all the way on this one. My DH is great with DS sometimes, and other times he is so self involved it drives me mad. Like when I've had a crapper of a day with DS and DH comes home after working and then going to gym and I ask him to watch DS but he won't because he "has to have a protien shake" :eek: what a pathetic excuse!!! He also doesn't hear DS overnight, even when I'm up for an hour at a time and DS is crying the whole time. I shouldn't complain too much because on Sundays DH does the morning shift (from around 7.30am) and lets me catch up on sleep - only problem is that once he feeds him and plays with him he then puts him down for a sleep, takes the baby monitor into the lounge with him and falls asleep on the couch and then doesn't hear DS crying so I end up getting up to him anyway!!!

Men - you can't live with them and you can't shoot them..... :rolleyes:

Mummabear
18-10-2005, 21:56
But ever since DH put that letter in his mail box we havent heard him swearing at his wife or the baby. So I guess DH did her a favour????? What do you guys think?

I totally think he did the right thing - what a jerk off (the other guy, not your DH :p ). A big wahhooo to your DH for stepping up and being a man. We need more men around like him :D

melfunction
18-10-2005, 21:59
Men - you can't live with them and you can't shoot them..... :rolleyes:

Unfortunitly not... but hell its very tempting!!!! :D

bec79
18-10-2005, 23:20
I can sympathise with you, my partner suffers from a serious case of daddy deafness! :eek:

18-10-2005, 23:39
Lucyp- im really sorry to hear that your DH is being that way. I know i have days where i could just kill my DP for doing the same thing. Unfortunately, men dont seem to understand how everything works. They seem to think that we stay home and play with the children all day!! :rolleyes: They dont understand that being a mum is a full time job (but we love it)! :D Maybe one weekend you should go out on the weekend and leave bubs and see how he handles it (thats including the night shift)! :p I guarantee that the next morning he'll be understanding and will be more supportive. Its just a thought though.

20-10-2005, 16:27
I am so mad at DH right now :mad:

We've been planning for weeks to head out into the bush for one of DH's friends wedding this weekend. DH is really excited as he gets to show off DS to all his relatives and visit his mums grave, which is great(im very happy for him etc etc)

However DS came home yesterday from kindy with high temps and watery poos......he is really unwell (waking in the middle of the night and so on) not like himself at all.

Well today I tried to tell DH it wasnt fair to drag poor DS 6 hours in the car just to be passed from one stranger to the next just so he can show him off to his family. Besides the fact that he could give this germ to others too (even though I think his just teething, but you cant be to careful)

Anyway DH accused me of trying to spoil his trip back home and we had a big fight! I am so mad :mad:

I cant talk to him when he sets his mind on something.....I know his very excited about going home for a visit but am I in the wrong here? should we drag our poor DS on this trip just to please DH????

Thankyou for letting me rant :(

20-10-2005, 19:03
We've made up, DH is going back to the wedding by himself and leaving me to care for DS all weekend alone :eek: But I guess its better then DS being sick on the trip all wkend.

our little treasures
21-10-2005, 15:21
oh you poor thing, my dh is usually wonderful use to do all the hwk and help with dd Now he moans with our 2nd and constantly makes comments anout him always crying I go off as ds is easy compared to dd. Our house is usually trahsed as he now doesn't help. Anyway he p****d me off last nite so I quietly got the kids in the car and went to maccas!! (i was half way thru making tea) I ordered dd and my tea then drove home sat on couch and ate it infront of him!!!!

Gosh I felt guilty but wanted to make a point!! I finished cooking the tea for the next nite at about 11pm so I seen him eating a chop!! I dont think he really thought I didnt buy him something!!!

Well he has been so lovely today aaaaahhhhhh the house will shine for a week!! lol

maybe1more
21-10-2005, 16:25
I can sympathise with you, my partner suffers from a serious case of daddy deafness! :eek:
Why is it that men have selected hearing??? I went thru this too when my son was born, and my dp just complained that it was my job and he had to go to work, and did i want him to have a car accident from being tried! Lucky for me my son started sleeping thru the night at an early age, men just dont get it, they want the perks they go with the name Daddy but when it comes to taking some fatherly responsibiltiy its diffrent.My son is now 2 and a half and my dp wont even take our son with him to get the paper on the weekends so i can wash my hair, he tells me it will take to long if he takes our son :eek: If he thinks it takes too long to get the paper with our son, I can just imagition what would happen if i made him do the weekly shopping with our ds!

rynosmum
21-10-2005, 20:39
My son is now 2 and a half and my dp wont even take our son with him to get the paper on the weekends so i can wash my hair, he tells me it will take to long if he takes our son :eek:

Aha ! So we've finally found a good reason for smacking ! :D

My DH absolutely adores our DS but we have a long running joke (which would be funny if it wasn't true...). He has changed 16 nappies ! One for each month of DS's life. And that is only because I have had to go away for work a couple of times and he has been the primary carer. Grrrrr.... :mad: Another smack...

our little treasures
21-10-2005, 21:17
Gosh my hubby changes nearly all if he is home and if he doesnt offer I demand... Maybe I do have him under the thumb, he he.

Mummabear
22-10-2005, 17:03
my dp just complained that it was my job and he had to go to work

Oh FirstBub - you're singing my song!!! My DH loves to throw that one at me constantly "He has to work", like I don't have to be awake and alert to raise a child!!! It was awesome last night though, we were at my in-laws for dinner and SIL was there for a visit also and DH made a comment about not doing something because "he has to work during the day" and SIL bit his head off and reminded him that I also have to work every day and I don't ever get to knock off, I don't get weekends off, no holidays, no lunch breaks and he shouldn't also make it so that I don't get any thanks. She reminded him that I'm raising HIS child, not some strangers!! God I LOVE my SIL!!!! And for the cream on the cake - DH offered to look after DS for a few hours this morning while I went back to bed to try and beat this head cold!!!! I think I'll have to buy my SIL a thank you pressie!!!

23-10-2005, 10:42
In-Laws aren't ALL bad...my MIL defends me for the same reason!! How on earth do you bring this subject up with DH so that he doesn't chuck a wobbly at you??? My DH is ALWAYS saying how he has to work, etc, and cannot get it through his head that I work as well!! At least he comes home from work (VERY long hours i must admit) and can knock off....when do we mothers get a break? Never! He's got it pretty bloody good, get his lunch made for work (which i don't mind), on Sundays gets brekky cooked for him if he's not working, dinner every night, clothes washed....etc etc....I swear it now goten to the stage that one day i am going to leave everything that i normally do in a day (bar looking after the kids), and see what he thinks in the afternoon when the clothes aren't washed and dinners not cooked, house not cleaned etc. See what he thinks then! I am the type of person who hates arguments and am likely to end up in tears :o , so if anyone can give me any ideas on broaching this subject then i would muchly appreciate it. Thanks for listening....(or reading)

melzy
23-10-2005, 12:56
They suck don't they! Yeah, cause you really want to be up every hour feeding,trying to settle or whatever.

That part s***s me too. I'd give him a slap for you if I could, lol.

You know what, on the weekend, tell him you need a break, go out, turn the mobile OFF and let him deal with it. This will make him realise what exactly you do and maybe respect you for it.

whatwasithinking
27-10-2005, 10:57
First time replier:
Thought I was the only one with major DH issues - now I feel normal and better knowing I'm not! :)
My DH comes home from work and goes straight on the computer for the rest of the night (only comes out of computer room for dinner)- does not play with the DD's until he finishes responding to some forums he is involved with.
I'm left doing ALL the work around the house.
Due to our small house the youngest DD doesn't have a bedroom as computer takes precident (she sleeps in our room during day then computer room at night when we go to bed - crazy and stupid I know)
His excuse - " This is my way of coping with stress"
mmm... What's mine??

Hannah-29/9/02
Rebecca-29/8/05

veve
27-10-2005, 11:08
First time replier:
Due to our small house the youngest DD doesn't have a bedroom as computer takes precident (she sleeps in our room during day then computer room at night when we go to bed - crazy and stupid I know)
His excuse - " This is my way of coping with stress"
mmm... What's mine??

oh hon!!!! no no no no no!!!!! (((massive hugs))) why do men not GET this???? DD needs a room!!!

I INSISTED when we move to this house - that the computer was in a common area ( it is in a corner area off the lounge) - so that DH couldn't lock himself in a room!!!!! I got sick and tired of being by myself at the last house! - at least when I am watching TV we are kinda together!!!

I know that us women are addicted to bubhub.... but you have to balance it out!!!!

xxxxxx

whatwasithinking
27-10-2005, 11:44
oh hon!!!! no no no no no!!!!! (((massive hugs))) why do men not GET this???? DD needs a room!!!

I INSISTED when we move to this house - that the computer was in a common area ( it is in a corner area off the lounge) - so that DH couldn't lock himself in a room!!!!! I got sick and tired of being by myself at the last house! - at least when I am watching TV we are kinda together!!!

I know that us women are addicted to bubhub.... but you have to balance it out!!!!

xxxxxx

Thanks heaps for your hugs Veve

Unfortunatly the only living space in my house is the lounge room and it's so tiny you couldn't even swing a cat :)

We are hopefully moving interstate within 6mths and I have told him we need a family room for the computer and kids toys - will see how that goes.

BubbleBelly
27-10-2005, 11:54
My fiance did a runner 3 weeks after we found out we were having a baby! I'm now 25 1/2 weeks. One of the first things he said to me was that there was no way he was ever changing a nappy!

Men can be so horrible sometimes! But i guess we all can... right?