View Full Version : Bracken Ridge
14-11-2006, 18:27
Any Bubhubbers from around Bracken Ridge area? I am moving that way at the end of the month and was interested in knowing of any playgroups around the area or even nice kids parks etc:thumbsup:
TwoBoysOnly
14-11-2006, 19:13
I live there
Amanda! Jeez....I USED to live at B.R...and would have DIED to know someone in the area! Talk about bad timing...
The first thing I'd do when you move is go to the Bracken Ridge library - all the info there on all the local biz, parks, playgroups etc. In fact I'm fairly sure there is a playgroup run in a section of the library. Bracken Ridge has heaps of schools and kindys so I imagine there are probably quite a lot of playgroups/mums groups floating around.
So jealous - wish I could move back! Sigh...
(Congrats on getting your licence too! :yelclap:)
littlepickle
14-11-2006, 22:26
We are planning to move to that area after Christmas!
Can anyone give any info on what it is like to live there? We are currently living at Southbank, so its going to be a bit of a change not being so close to the city, but it will be a lot easier for dh to get to work, and as we want to get a newer house with a decent garden for dd to play in when she is older it seems to make sense being in close proximity to major roads, rail etc
I dont live in bracken ridge but i live in caboolture, and noone turns up to meets, I would love a friend :laughing: Gees i sound like a loner, But i we will be only 20mins away, have to catch uo some time oscars mum :thumbsup:
15-11-2006, 08:13
Amanda! Jeez....I USED to live at B.R...and would have DIED to know someone in the area! Talk about bad timing...
The first thing I'd do when you move is go to the Bracken Ridge library
Well you are going to have to just move back that way:p I will definately be checking out the library then especially considering it is walking distance from my house which will make life easier.
have to catch uo some time oscars mum :thumbsup:
Definately:yes:
Oh how I'd kill to live back in BR again too. Noo we should just do it.:p
I loved it. I think mainly because we have so much family there. It's pretty close to most things.
You lucky duck, I'm very jealous.
TwoBoysOnly
15-11-2006, 08:50
I find it very central;
15 mins to chermside, strathpine or northlakes
close to sandgate and therefore water
close to buses and trains to get you anywhere if you didn't have a car (ie when I had an accident in mine)
lots of kindys although you can discount two of them cause they are ABC's so that only leaves the one my son goes to which I find excellent it's like playgroup for him all day long.
Three schools to choose from, ours has excellent before and after school care - essential for those shiftworkers
two supermarkets to choose from (I prefer coles)
Lots of reletively younger people with kids in the area - although I don't know any so would love to catch up when you move
Lots of parks and places to take the little ones
15-11-2006, 12:09
Lots of reletively younger people with kids in the area - although I don't know any so would love to catch up when you move
Sounds like a plan:thumbsup:
Im in Fitzgibbon, its a lovely area. The area near to the train station near Bald Hills has a high break and enter though.
A real estate agent had informed us when we were wanting to rent in that area.:confused:
15-11-2006, 17:07
The area near to the train station near Bald Hills has a high break and enter though.
So is that near where my house is? I don't know the area at all!
TwoBoysOnly
15-11-2006, 17:15
Which area near the train station, cause I live just 5 mins walk from the train station????
15-11-2006, 17:21
cause I live just 5 mins walk from the train station????
Where is the train station?
TwoBoysOnly
15-11-2006, 17:22
where is your house going to be, can you walk under gympie rd to the train station, cause that's near mine. Is that the area with high break and enters?
15-11-2006, 17:24
I am moving to the area that is 2 streets away from Woolies and probably 2 streets away from the library;)
TwoBoysOnly
15-11-2006, 17:34
Well that's not near the station then. So you may be safe. I wonder where she means......:confused:
15-11-2006, 17:38
Well that's not near the station then. So you may be safe. I wonder where she means......:confused:
Maybe that area had cheaper rent and the real estate wanted to take them to a more expensive area:confused: Real Estates are not really known for their honesty;)
TwoBoysOnly
15-11-2006, 17:51
maybe, good thinking. Cause we are near the station and as far as I know there haven't been any break and enters in our street. Hope we can catch up when you move, I haven't got anyone close by:thumbsup:
15-11-2006, 17:51
maybe, good thinking. Cause we are near the station and as far as I know there haven't been any break and enters in our street. Hope we can catch up when you move, I haven't got anyone close by:thumbsup:
I will send you a PM when I get settled in;)
TwoBoysOnly
15-11-2006, 17:54
Sounds great
We just moved to bracken ridge 3 weeks ago, and I don t know anyone around here as well. So let me know when you plan to meet up and I am in.
@two boys only
It sounds you are around the corner from where I live, it takes us 5 min. to walk to the train station too (well, in my speed, with my son walking can be much more)! Do you mean the childcare centre on norris rd??? Thats where I will send my eldest in january. If thats the one, can you tell me some more about it???
Anyway, if you wann meet up some time, feel free to pm me. (my sons are 3y, 2 m and 11 m)
I have worked at the childcare on Norris Road, near the round about. If it is still owned and run by the same people, it's fantastic. I've never worked anywhere better!:thumbsup:
TwoBoysOnly
16-11-2006, 08:31
Yes the childcare on norris rd. I like it there and so does ds. It is run by a lady and owned by her parents. It is very homely there and all the staff are really good. ds will be in preschool there next year.
Sorry I couldn't get on here earlier, as Dante` has found he can roll over!!
The streets in the new estate, near to the path that runs under the freeway, to Bald Hills train station. I dont know the names of the streets sorry (I think they were named after tree's).
The agent had alot of rentals in that area and mentioned, that when they were first built they were all made with the same locks and so about 8 house were broken into or opened, with the same key, just after people moved in, some kids had got hold of the keys from when they were working for the builders. Samething happen on the GoldCoast too in an estate down there.
We just guessed that it was true, as it wasn't going to be in the real estate agents best interest to tell us, as that area was higher in rent then closer the the tafe which he was saying was safer.:confused:
Just thought I would let you know, if you know your neighbours then at least someone has an eye out for anything strange.
Mind you, it's pretty scary.
I had the same problems with a very common Australian made car, made in the 80's, being able to open other people cars with my keys! Great if you are locked out, not so great if you dont want it stolen:rolleyes:
hello all you locals l am in bray park(well for now anyway as landlord wants his house back and need to find new one in next 3 weeks but will stay in the area anyway)which is only 5 mins away from everyone else and have 4 boys that could use some new playmates so I thought I would jump in on this thread.I have the best playgroup down the road and its a free one that puts on a great feed for kids morning tea and coffee for the grown ups with super nice mums there(they threw me the 1st baby shower I have ever had for my 3 month old)but the year is nearly over so gonna have to find new places to keep kids entertained for the holidays.If anyone wants to meet up count me in.There is that awesome playground over at bald hills gympie rd that would make a great place to meet although i dont have a car on weekdays.
TwoBoysOnly
16-11-2006, 18:39
The streets in the new estate, near to the path that runs under the freeway, to Bald Hills train station. I dont know the names of the streets sorry (I think they were named after tree's).
Well that is my street no doubt. But I am happy and feel safe here, all the families in this street are nice, all have young kids, quiet area apart from the train horn thingy. We've been here for a while now and no attempts to break in (mind you I have tried and failed)......I think most modern homes are pretty secure....:fingerscrossed:
16-11-2006, 19:13
(mind you I have tried and failed)......
lol - don't you hate that:p
Well that is my street no doubt. But I am happy and feel safe here, all the families in this street are nice, all have young kids, quiet area apart from the train horn thingy. We've been here for a while now and no attempts to break in (mind you I have tried and failed)......I think most modern homes are pretty secure....:fingerscrossed:
good to know as we want to buy near to there.
So hard to know what to believe.
littlepickle
11-02-2007, 16:20
Well not quite Bracken Ridge, but we are moving to Carseldine in 2 weeks!
I really like the area as it just feels so calm compared to the CBD which is where we are at the moment (west end) I am looking forward to living in a bigger house and having a back yard for dd to run around in (when she learns to walk/run at least)
Anyone else around Carseldine?
Mum2Kieren
28-02-2007, 22:43
I am newish to the area and looking for some people to meet also. Let me know if everyone would like to meet up.
01-03-2007, 07:41
I am newish to the area and looking for some people to meet also. Let me know if everyone would like to meet up.
Where in bracken ridge are you near?
TwoBoysOnly
01-03-2007, 08:39
I'm keen we are free Mondays....
Hi girls, add me to your invite list. I'm in Eatons Hill but BR & Carseldine etc are very close by car (5-10 mins).
Have you moved yet, Oscar's Mum? Has anyone set a date/time/place for a meet up? don't tell me I've missed it!! That's what I get for being away from bubhub for too long!
I'm joining a playgroup next week with my Miss Ashley (22 Aug 05). It starts at 10am at Christian City Church on Thursdays, opposite Carseldine Bunnings/Clive Anthonys etc. You dont have to go to that (or any!) church but the facilities are great. Will let you know what it's like!
So, that ties us up Thurs am, and swimming lessons are Fri am, but the rest of the week we are free .. or at least slightly less expensive :)
02-03-2007, 08:02
Hi girls, add me to your invite list. I'm in Eatons Hill but BR & Carseldine etc are very close by car (5-10 mins).
Have you moved yet, Oscar's Mum? Has anyone set a date/time/place for a meet up? don't tell me I've missed it!! That's what I get for being away from bubhub for too long!
I'm joining a playgroup next week with my Miss Ashley (22 Aug 05). It starts at 10am at Christian City Church on Thursdays, opposite Carseldine Bunnings/Clive Anthonys etc. You dont have to go to that (or any!) church but the facilities are great. Will let you know what it's like!
So, that ties us up Thurs am, and swimming lessons are Fri am, but the rest of the week we are free .. or at least slightly less expensive :)
I have moved - Nope no meet ups yet!:no: What day is that playgroup I am desperate to get out of the house and wouldn't mind joining you;)
Umm ... "starts at 10am at Christian City Church on Thursdays," *heehee*
more info here: http://www.c3bd.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=23&Itemid=40
*hiding in case she gets shot by an admin for posting a link .. eek*
Mum2Kieren
05-03-2007, 14:34
Hello again,
I'm in between bracken ridge and Bald Hills in Northwind estate!!!
Let me know if you want to meet up.
Alison
We are still interested in meeting up as well. How about we try to organise a meet up??
It could just be a bit hard to find a day that suits all or at leas most, from what I read...
Best days for us would be thursdays or tuesdays.
Tuesdays are generally good for me too .. how about 13th March? Does that suit everyone?
06-03-2007, 14:32
Tuesdays are generally good for me too .. how about 13th March? Does that suit everyone?
Tuesdays are not good for me:no:
Ah, strike number 1.
Thursday afternoon? 22 March?
Would be good for us. Any suggestions for locations?
TwoBoysOnly
08-03-2007, 19:07
Thursdays good for us....not Tuesdays
Mum2Kieren
12-03-2007, 12:44
I can do Thursday 22 March name a time and a place and I should be there.
Alison:smiliedance:
Any time in the afternoon is good for me, Thurs 22 March. Can someone in Bracken Ridge suggest/PM us a venue? I know there are a couple of parks but I've never been to them.
Hey gals...
Sorry to but in here (been a while since I wrote in this thread... LOL)
What about Pine Rivers Park - at Strathpine there... (close to Bald Hills..)
Its all enclosed (well meant to be).... Not "perfect" for the smaller ones - like 1 year olds - but they still love to run around anyway!!
Anyway - just a thought - .... could I come along?
Strathpine would be good for us, but we are open for other suggestions, too, as long as I can get there by foot or public transport...
Manz, of course you can come! Would you bring both kids with you??? They are both similar age to mine, so my oldest would have someone to play as well :)
Hey yeah..... sounds good! Although - if its a thursday, Liam is at kindy that day.... :( But I would be keen to meet up with you some other time!!
Will catch up soon - time for bed now... :sleeping:
Reidymac
14-03-2007, 00:14
Got room for one more? I'm just down the road and have two little ones almost the exact same ages as you masami and manz. I would love to meet the neighbours ;)
Anyone still interested in meeting up this thursday???
TwoBoysOnly
18-03-2007, 23:55
Can't this thursday sorry - busy...let me know of others though. :wave:
Hi Masami,
Yeah I am good for this Thursday.....
Where are we meeting?
Mandy
PS.... there is also a good indoor playcentre in Lawnton - only $5 for a child to get in! Not a HUGE amount to play on, but its big & open and great for the kids to run around - just another thought! :thumbsup:
Hi Manz!
If it s just the two of us coming anyway, maybe we could choose another day, when Liam is with you -- so my older one doesnT get bored with the littlies??
But if some of the others still wanna come, we could keep the thursday, of course.
If it s not to hot, I would still prefer to go to the park -- maybe next time the playcentre (I actually wanted to check it out one day, anyway...)
mara
I'm still keen for this Thurs, if you can make it sometime in the afternoon.
If you want to make it a different day, that's fine too.
Hi Mara & Sonia.....
Mara....I would most definitely be up for a playdate with you and your kids...Liam really needs some stimulation from kids his own age....
But....this Thursday is still good for the park (hopefully it wont be hot :fingerscrossed: )
I do prefer the mornings though Sonia...but I am open to going in the afternoon if you can't make the morning.... Just depends on what time as I need to pick Liam up from Preschool no later than 4pm
Anyway.......let me know what you think! :thumbsup:
Anyone else still interested??
Mandy
So lets give it a try this thursday in the ***PM poster for details*** (I think thats what its called??). Generally mornings are better for us too, as both my kids usually get tired sometime after lunch (even if th big one doesnT sleep anymore...) and if we go after nap time its probably too late.... But we could give it it try, if you canT do the mornings sonia.
Just suggest a time and we will try to be there.
Mara
I just want to remind everyone that it is not safe to post full details of meets in the open forum. Anyone can read this and show up, it is not restricted to members.
Please post only partial details on the forum and PM the rest to interested parties.
Oh no.......... I comlpetely forgot about that....
Sorry........... I will remember from now on
Jodestar21
10-04-2007, 23:43
Hi Oscars Mum (& Islas Mum!!), & everyone!!
Ive just moved to Bracken Ridge also..two weeks ago now..close to the station too!! No break ins so far..lol. I have a little boy Fraser who is 14 weeks old..born 30/12/06..only a few days after Isla!
Im actually going to a breast feeding association meeting on Thursday at the library, so am hoping to meet some other mums there. They meet about once a fortnight and alternate with one meeting a month being a topic/discussion and the other meeting for coffee/socialising. Just another idea for anyone wanting to try it also.
Has anyone got together yet or planning to soon? Id love to come along, and would love to meet other Mums with babies close to Frasers age.
Jode