View Full Version : Talking?
How is everyone? :D
Our dear DS has started gooing and gaaing, having a chat whilst sitting in his rocker.
Its SOOOO cute! :p
Thankfully he has found a routine at night, he has a bath with his big sister at about 7pm and then they both go to bed, hooray we have our evenings back!
(now if only I wasn't still so tired that I am in bed at 830pm!) :o
He can also hold his head up better and makes some really great faces.
I still am getting the hang of going out with two of them and end up trying to leave them at home with DH as much as possible.
How is everyone else going at getting out?
I'm really suffering from that feeling of not getting anything done this week, with the two of them I don't seem to be able to start let alone finish anything that isn't related to kids! :(
I decided I would set myself a craft project, and make our xmas cards this year as spotlight is having a sale on craft stuff, but um scissors, glue and stickers, how am I going to be able to do that with a 2yo around.
Hmmm maybe review project idea!
Hope you are all doing well.
Monica
17-10-2005, 16:05
You asked how everyone is going with getting out & about!! I try NOT TO!! Unless Mackenzie is in the toddler seat on the pram, going out anywhere is a huge catastrophe! She doesn't go anyhwere I want to go, & is continually running off and not holding my hand. To do the grocery shopping i have to put Charlee in the carrier on my chest & put Mac in the trolley as she won't follow me....Now i have resigned to leave them at home in the afternoons when DH gets home and do what i have to do (which is hard as he is camped away for alot of the time with work). I can sometimes leave her with my neighbour if i need to dash out and just take bubs with me. Does Natasha stay with you when your out or is she an escapee too? I have tried putting a 'leash' on Mac's wrist but then she just screams, adn i HATE the looks that everyone gives me! :o
Charlee is also starting to 'talk' heaps and coos at Mackenzie whenever she's around! She grions all the time, and definitely knows when big sis is around somewhere....her head snaps around to see where.... :D
Just curious, how much does James drink and how often? Just comparing...
Anyhow, i hope everyone is keeping well...oh...and Monica, I too decided to do cards and stuff for x-mas and have an area gated off so they can't get in!! However Mackenzie has now figured out how to climb over the gates, sooo.....i don't have much luck either :rolleyes:
Hi Shannon,
Groccery shopping is the worst! I have seen a special trolley once which had a baby seat and a toddler seat together but do you think I have ever seen it again? Nup.
We put the elastic strap on Tash when we go out as soon as she started walking so she is used to it now and if its not on she just runs, we have had a couple of episodes of running away in the car park which is a bit of a worry so we keep a tight rein on her.
After being so good last week she is back to really testing the limits this week, every time I sit down to feed jamie she runs of and does something naughty. sigh oh well.
To me Jamie seems to eat alot compared to Tash. They have both been BF and Tash only ever had one side at a time, where as james completely empties both sides. He is also demand fed so its all over the place but on average he feeds about every 2 - 3 hours during the day but only wakes once at night between 12mn and 1am and then gets up at about 530am! I find the 5am feed alot harder than the 1am as I always seem to be very deep asleep about then.
Iam still undecided about the cards, I might have to set myself up inside the play pen, but I will have to hurry as we will need it to put around the xmas tree.
What does your DH do? mine is in IT and travels alot too, he is currently trying to organise a trip to the USA for 6 weeks early next year, and he wonders why I am not excited for him!
He is going to get a taste this weekend as our playgroup is going on a shopping trip all day so he will be at home with the 2 kids himself.
Hope you are getting some sleep
take care
Monica
18-10-2005, 19:27
Hey Monica,
My hubby is a timber cutter and cuts forestry and private timber (works for himself, not for the forestry). Some of the blocks he regularly cuts at are 2 hours away which is just too much travelling to have to do in one day...so he camps out bush a fair amount. He'll probably have about 1 week in the month at home, plus weekends. Its hard, but i'm used to it now. Its actually sometimes harder when he IS home, as i have made certain rules for Mackenzie that he doesn't follow through with.... :rolleyes:
Did Tash chuck a hissy fit at all when you first started putting the elastic strap on her...i cannot seem to get anywhere with her.....I too have seen those trolleys...they have them in Dalby where i shop, but only at Woolies, and i shop at Coles. I might have to try Woolies and see how they compare in price, etc, so i can put them both in the trolley.
Good luck with the card-making....i have no idea how Mac is gonna go with the tree...between her and my 2 cats its gonna be fun! NOT!! :p
Boy, your hubby sure is gonna cop it on the weekend! I don't think they understand how much we actually do in a day, they think we just sit and watch TV (or chat on the net!!) ;) One day i'm gonna leave the kids with Trevor for a day and see how he copes, but i'm worried for the kids!!
Anyhow, have a great day of kid-free shopping on the weekend, take care,
Shannon
Hey Shannon,
Yeah I know what you mean, sometimes DH works from home to help out and I find myself thinking I wish you would just go as it mucks up our routine, and he panders to her wingeing and tantrums which I don't.
Tash chucked a bit of a wobbly later on but we just persevered and now that she has really discovered what tantrums do its not such an issue. not gettinga chocolate at the checkout being such a better thing to scream about!
Yeah DH is one of those where you can say day after day what happening but it just doesn't sink in till he's done it for himself. Even after 2 kids he still thinks that if you are having trouble then you are just not doing it right! and you should do it his way. He doesn't get that kids change and then you have to work out new ways of doing things.
We have been giving DS a bottle of EBM every now and again since he was born so that when we need to we can leave him with my MIL or step - mum, but lately he has been fighting it a bit so I don't know how DH is going to go feeding him all day from a bottle, I haven't mentioned it for the above reason so we will see how he goes, I almost wish he has a really diffucult day but thats not a nice thing to wish on anyone!
Good luck with DD1 and shopping, maybe a chest harness would work? do you know anyone you could borrow one from to try it first?
take care
Monica
Grubincubator
21-10-2005, 13:44
Back to the original topic (heh heh)...
Yes our little man is getting quite 'talkative'. Particularly when he's tired and ready for a nap. He hangs over my or DH's shoulder and talks away to the wall or the fishes or whatever presents itself until he hits the whingy stage and then 'bang' lights out.
He grins like furey too :D particularly first thing when he wakes up and one of us is there to greet him. He's so happy and excited he could just about burst!
Such a happy little critter we really are very lucky.
Cheers.
21-10-2005, 19:34
It seems alot of the August bubs are born only a few days apart or even on the same day!! Its amazing how fast they are growing up......I can't wait until Charlee's up and about though. But at the same time i kind of still want her to stay little?
Monica - I can't bring myself to put a chest harness on Mackenzie...even though i know its safer to have her in that than run in front of a car or something. I don't think i could handle all the stares and terrible looks that you get...like you can't control your child...(which is the exact problem!! :rolleyes: ). I may have to try it though as a last resort. She's actually been really good just going down town lately and holding my hand....probably won't last though. :p
Yes I know exactly what you mean, I really am looking forward to when Jamie can at least sit up and play with our DD a bit more, and once he is mobile its really going to be great, although then he will be so interested in playing with his big sister that I probably won't get a look in anymore! :rolleyes: (except for mummy milk)
and yet he is so cute now when you come in in the morning and he looks up at you and smiles, wow, how can you beat that? I don't want to wish his life away.
As he has set a routine for himself now, we moved the cot out of our room and into his own room yesterday, I can already feel him growing up so fast. :(
Shannon : I saw in a Grobag catalog (www.bumpto3.com.au) a 2 - in - 1 Harness Buddy, its a plush toy that is also a back pack/harness but with an extra clip across the front where a lead attatches, its looks quite discrete as it has the toy backpack (Monkey or Puppy), and the toys arms form the shoulder straps Hopefully Mac will get the idea and stay co-operative which will make shopping trips easier I just thought I would mention it.
Monica
25-10-2005, 06:37
Thanks heaps for that link Monica...that harness looks excellent and she can use it as a backpack too! I'll have to try one.....
Charlee still sleeps in our room as she wakes up during the night and will probably wake Mackenzie up...Sometimes she'll sleep right through and last night she wouldn't wake for a bottle at 9.30, so i left her and she actually slept til 4.30am!! Her last bottle last night was at 7pm! Amazing! So now i don't have to worry (hopefully) if she misses that bottle as she's quite often too fast asleep to take it.
Anyhow, thanks again for that link, its VERY MUCH appreciated! :D