View Full Version : Huggies vs. The Others

Lallas' Mum
17-10-2005, 15:08
I have only ever used Huggies nappies on my sons and have been very happy with them. I have been considering changing to other brands to save costs but don't want to do so and the expense of my childrens' comfort.

How do other parents compare Huggies with other brands ie Snugglers, Babylove etc? Are Huggies that much better or are other brands just as comparable?

I don't want to change if the quality just isn't as good as Huggies. Like I said I am very happy with huggies - it's just the cost.

Any advice, comments or recommendations?

Mummaof2
17-10-2005, 15:20
Lalla's Mum,

When I had my DD 5 years ago I used Snugglers and BabyLove nappies as I couldnt afford Huggies and found them to be ok. This time round though I have decided to go with Huggies as all the other brands like Snugglers and BabyLove have become just as dear as the Huggies brand so I thought for an extra $2-$3 I would rather use the brand that is well know for its quality.

Sorry if i havent been of much help.

Mum_2B

Lallas' Mum
17-10-2005, 15:24
Mum_2B - Thanks. That is exactly the sort of things I want to know - is it worth the change to another brand? I want to know people opinion and know what the have found to be good. I didn't even realise there was that little difference in brand prices.

Once again thanks.

razzle
17-10-2005, 15:43
I used Huggies exclusively up until just recently. I only use them at night now for the extra absorbancy. I've tried Babylove and didn't like them (although heaps of people love them). I now use Snugglers during the day - I find them to be just the same as Huggies, in regards to sofness and fit, just thinner. So I use maybe one extra nappy per day. Plus the one Huggies for overnight. I don't know how much cheaper it is - haven't bothered working it out, but I do know that Snugglers are way cheaper than Huggies! I've also heard good things about the new Woolworths Select brand of nappies... they're next on my list to try.

Baby Girl
17-10-2005, 16:03
Woolworths Select nappies are made to be as close to the quality of the market leader which is huggies but at the price of the cheapest selling brand name nappy. I have tried them and they are comparable to Huggies but much cheaper!!

SweetSerenity
17-10-2005, 16:16
I used Huggies all the time, recently used BabyLove as we were in desperation of nappies (we were out and didn't have any).
They are ok...i much prefer huggies. They don't leak as easily and fit better too.
I might stick to BabyLove for a while just to see if the money difference is worth it.
I also have tried another brand that the chemist i used to work with sold, its called DriBubs. Don't know if anyones heard of it...but they were shocking...within one hour Peter wet through. Never again!

3TinLids
17-10-2005, 16:24
I started off using huggies for my eldest son (who turned 5 yesterday) as there didn't seem to be much that was comparable at the time. However, towards the end of using nappies for Will I tried snugglers and haven't looked back since. I have used them for my second son and now my 3rd son and haven't had any problems. I used them day and night. They are actually made by the same people as Huggies anyway. You can get them at a very good price if you buy them in bulk at places like Big W.

Good luck

Rebecca :p

*Sal*
17-10-2005, 16:56
When I start toilet training, I switch to the cheap nappies as the child feels the wetness, and gets the idea of using the toilet faster.

Huggies are too dry (if that's possible!) Thanx for the tip on the woolies brand - will give them a go too.

Good luck

alicesmum
17-10-2005, 17:00
i alternate btw the generic brand (from bi-lo) and huggies. I use a generic one if I know a poo is coming in the next 20 mins or so, but use huggies if it's going to be a long stretch such as going out or at nighttime when we need that extra absorbency!!! :)

i find the generic brand to be as good as any non-huggies brand (e.g., babylove). and they are by far the absolute cheapest. you can also usually buy them in small packets of say 16 or 20 and see if you like them first. hope that helps.

wattle
17-10-2005, 17:43
I bought the home brand ones recently and they're great. I still use huggies for night time, but the others are fine during the day. They work out at @ 25c per nappy, huggies are @ 50c per nappy (depending on size of bub), and the woolies ones are great but they're not that much cheaper than huggies.

tickle
17-10-2005, 18:21
I used to buy nothing but huggies until I found ALDI nappies. They were really good, but I have found now that he is between sizes they are not a good fit. I have just recently brought the Woolworthes select and have found them REALLY good. My ds reacted bably to BabyLove and Snugglers but has had no problems with the Woolies ones yet.

Ellen

17-10-2005, 18:40
To me all nappies are the same. When Jayden was born i was just sticking to the brand names because i was worried that the others would be faulty. Well in the last couple of months we have been tight for money and so we decided to get the "no name" brands. They are not that bad, i havent found any of them to be faulty or leaky at all. Its true what they say with the price of these products your just paying for the name. People are always afraid of buying cheaper names because they dont have the same advertising as the rest. The thing to remember is your paying for their advertising, the label, the model on the front etc. I think that you should try all the brands at least once and see what you personally feel is good for your child.

jaydensmum.

Kamaikia
17-10-2005, 20:00
My son goes through stages, depending on his size and shape. I only used huggies at night as they will hold so mcuh. Of a day I use babylove. They burst occasionally but of a day thats no hassle.
I have found snugglers to be the absolute worst. There isn't much differece between snugglers and huggies price wise.
If you are planning on using huggies just remember to buy in bulk when there are on special. I just picked up 4 boxes (72 I think) for $29 each. These will last me forever.

Milly
17-10-2005, 20:25
I stopped using Huggies when my daughter was about 4 or 5 months old. I had trialled a few others in the meantime before making the big switch. But Huggies were getting to hard on the hip pocket. Anyway, the brand that I have pretty much permenently switched to and have been using the past 14 months is Snugglers. I use them for morning and night and find them excellent. After using Snugglers I have found there to be no going back. I bought some Huggies on special a few months ago, but still returned to Snugglers. They are such good value. It is also the fact that they come in such big packs. They are still substatially cheaper than Huggies even when not on special. On special they are really really great value.

Cosifits are good for day use and are even a heap cheaper again. You buy these at chemists and the Chemist Warehouse.

Lallas' Mum
18-10-2005, 09:34
Thanks for all the tips. I think I might buy a small pack of the Woolies Select ones and see how they go. I usually buy the Huggies in bulk form and get them from whichever supermarket has them on sale. But with two kids still in nappies (the same size luckily) it gets pricey.
I'll let you know how they go.

JenNT
18-10-2005, 09:41
I can vouch for woolies select, they are great although I havn't seen them in smaller quantities yet, just boxes for $19.95. They are pretty much the same price as huggies though :confused:
Box of 54 Infant Woolies compared to 54 Bulk Bag Huggies. Only just realised this but they are still great and so much softer.

sugar n spice
18-10-2005, 12:22
With DS#1 i tried them all as i got a lot of different nappies given to me when he was born. Cosfits (don't bother) Babylove (cheap but leak), Snuggles (Very good much like huggies and cheaper but you can only buy in bulk). I mainly used huggies with ds#1 unitl the blue code where the tabs are on one side of the nappy started leaving blue ink stains on his groin. That is when i changed to snugglers as they were cheaper and just as good and left no ink marks. With DS#2 i am still using huggies but as he gets older i will prob change to snugglers.

Hope this helps. If you need to save money i would recommend going with Snugglers or VIPS :)

Milosmum
18-10-2005, 12:32
You could also try nappy liners and/or woollen or PUK pilchers over the cheapies if your child is a heavy wee-er.

26-10-2005, 20:45
I used Huggies at first for DD2 as she was so little (5pounds), and so they fitted alot better, but now she's in the infant size and i've switched to Babylove. I've used Babylove all along for DD1 after trying Snugglers and they leaked terribly. They were alright for daytime, but i don't see the point in buying 2 different types of nappies, one for night and one for day, when Babylove do both. Pretty easy on the hip pocket too. I now only buy Huggies when they have a good special on the boxes.

razzle
26-10-2005, 20:55
I can vouch for woolies select, they are great although I havn't seen them in smaller quantities yet, just boxes for $19.95. They are pretty much the same price as huggies though :confused:

I've bought some of these too - I like them a lot, they seem to be a lot softer and a bit thicker than snugglers (which I use during the day. I still use huggies at night with a bebe pad. My girls a big wee-er, and she sleeps for 12-13 hours.

They are cheaper than Huggies though - about 10 cents per nappy cheaper. I think I got 48 in a box.

Worm'sMum
26-10-2005, 22:43
I alternate depending on what's on special!! I prefer huggies, I don't really like babylove and snugglers didn't really work on my DD either. I also use ALDI nappies, which are very similar to the Huggies in thickness etc. and are a good price option.

mixi_mama
27-10-2005, 06:51
Woolworths Select nappies are made to be as close to the quality of the market leader which is huggies but at the price of the cheapest selling brand name nappy. I have tried them and they are comparable to Huggies but much cheaper!!

ive just bought a box of these last week - they had a sale on newborn ones (box of 62 for $19) and i also got a box for DSS....
With the newborn ones - im loving the navel cut out...
With DSS, we found that we'd use a cheaper brand during the day and the huggies at night (as his nappy gets heavy at night).... but the Select ones work just as well as the Huggies

......... well thats what we've found anyway :)

Lallas' Mum
27-10-2005, 12:00
I Love Woolworths Select!!!!!!!! Not only are they cheaper (always a bonus) but they work just as well as Huggies. They have the same layers of absorbency. They have adjustable grip tabs. The have the extra leak sheilds. They can keep my toddler dry during 12hr night time sleep (and we don't limited drinks before bed!!). The can also hold a 9 hour sleep from our 5 1/2 mth old.

They don't have the elastic at the top of the back though so every now and then we see a little plumbers' crack (which is cute) but it doesn't cause any leakage problems.

I usually buy a box of Huggies (walkers - my bub is very big) for $40 and I get 64 nappies. If I buy $40 worth of Woolworths Select (which is two boxes) I get 84 nappies. That's 20 extra nappies for the same cost.

So bottom line - If you are using Huggies but want to try something cheaper you don't have to sacrifice quality - trty the Woolworths Select.