View Full Version : Knackered

Melski
17-10-2005, 13:35
Hi gerls,

Thats it, I'm officially rooted. I haven't slept past 3 a.m. since
the first Saturday in October (and counting).

My 5 1/2 month old boy used to sleep from approx 6.30 through til 5.30 - 6a.m. getting up once or twice at the most for quick bf then straight back to bed. He goes to sleep quite happily w' no crying.

Last night he woke at 7.30, 8.30, 10.45, 2.30, and then was just
awake from then on. This has been typical of the past couple of weeks. To make things more confusing, he has had a couple of nights during this time where he sleeps just fine.

I try resettling a number of times to which he responds by lieing there quietly for about 10-15 mins then yells out for me to come again. If I try and ignore, it turns
into stressed crying. When I get him up he is fine and cooing after
a couple of seconds of cuddling. Last night I caved and brought him
into my bed but then he just thought "ripper! Let's play!!" :rolleyes:

He is cutting his first tooth, but I have been reticent to give him
panadol b/c he doesn't seem at all distressed or in pain. I don't even know if this is the problem. How many weeks do problems from one tooth usually go for??

WHAT DO I DOOOO??? WHAAAAAAAA, I NEED SOME SLEEP.

I AM GOING STIR-FRY PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jasminesmum
17-10-2005, 14:35
Hi Mel

Maybe the panadol might be worth a try.Or you could try a little bongela.Even once.The tooth might be annoying him more than aching.
It could take a while for the tooth to come through sometimes they pop up and down in their gums.

Hopefully you will get some sleep soon.There is nothing worse than just getting used to them sleeping well then they turn around and completely change.Little darlings.

All the best.

Michelle

sasholi
17-10-2005, 19:12
How much day time sleep is he getting? This might sound crazy but yes, babies need good day time naps, but if yours is getting too much, it could be a reason???

I know this doesn't solve the problem, but are you able to nap during the day when he sleeps - just to get some sleep yourself.

You poor thing... I am thinking of you!!!

I don't have any real advice but just wanted to know I know how it feels to have those horrible nights where they wake up soooo early and just don't go back to sleep. Just remember, it doesn't last forever. They change eventually...

You can get some homeopathic teething tablets that dissolve immediately in bubs mouth and relieve the gums a bit... Maybe if you are hesitant to give panadol you could try those? I got them from my pharmacy, so just ask them for the homeopathic teething relief stuff...

Good luck and hang in there. Each phase doesn't last forever (not much help I know at 2:30 am when ALL you want to do is sleep!!)

17-10-2005, 19:41
I was reading an article that said that babies who get a good dose of vitamin d (sunshine) every day are better sleepers at night! obviously filtered sunlight that is as you don't want to burn poor bubs! :)

funnyfarm
17-10-2005, 21:11
Teeth can play up on the little ones for weeks at a time. You could try panadol and if your bub does settle down, then he is obviously in discomfort and that could be the reason for him waking (teeth, tummy aches from new food (if he is being fed solids) etc) . He could just be waking because he knows that he will get mummy in his room and a cuddle.

If you suspect it is teeth, you could also try Bonjela. I put it on my daughters dummy when she is teething and she settles with this.

Hope it improves for you soon.

Janet

Bronte'sMum
18-10-2005, 19:26
I feel so much for you...and can relate as I had this recently for about a six week stretch with our 9month old. I wracked my brains for a cause but couldn't identify anything. Many friends mentioned teeth to me ( and this was also a resp[onse when I posted a thread). To be honest I was a bit sceptical re the teething as i couldn't see any and she wasn't grumpy during the day but lo and behold three have just come out at once and she is suddenly sleeping ten hours straight again.

Now, with hindsight I can recall that the nights I gave her panadol 'just in case' she did sleep better (if even just a little bit) so i would urge you to try it. I really wish i'd given her more relief sooner. My doctor assures me that unless you overdose her or give it to her / him constantly it does no harm.

I really hope it resolves for you soon as I really felt quite batty by the end!!

All the best

Bronte's Mum

Benandrewsmum
18-10-2005, 20:30
OMG Melski...I just noticed that your little guy is born on 05/05/05....which is the same day as my little guy.

Now, that in itself is a coincidence...but also...when reading your thread...I could have been reading a blurb about life in my household at the moment....these two boys are doing the exact same thing!!

Ben has always been a dream sleeper at night, but for the last 2 - 3 weeks I have been up to him up to 8 times a night....

Like you though, every now and then a good night will get thrown in!!

Is your little guy on solids yet....I wondered if Ben's issue was pains in the tummy from his new foods??

I too am at a loss!! I went to a day stay clinic today to try and get some help...but given the issue is at not I didn't really get much help....just the usual settling techniques.....

Keep me posted on how things go with you....given the boys are the exact sme age it will be interesting to see how they both go with this little phase (that's how I like to think of it...keeps me sane!!)

Imogensmum
18-10-2005, 20:33
I have been using a "brauers" herbal mixture called calm on my daughter- it seems to work ok (meanwhile i also have been missing out on sleep due to early waking) but when i have lots of trouble settling her of a night i give her a .5ml dose of this...

I really like it because it is all natural! I think the "brauers" range also have a herbal teething mixture so maybe that is worth a shot!!!

You have my thoughts and i really do understand how frustrating it is- especially the smiling and talking as soon as they are picked up bit- it drives me batty. (but it is sooo very cute at the same time)

Good luck- sleep tight!!!

Melski
20-10-2005, 10:02
Thanks All,

Well, i tried the panadol last night and that did nothing so I don't really think he was in pain or discomfort.

The karitane nurser I spoke to suggested 3 mins settling, 3 mins of crying which I did for 45 mins before he fell asleep again at 2.30 this morning. It was SO difficult to listen to him upset and crying and I think I cried as much as he did so I don't know if I can really do this again.

Great DOB hey Donna! My little guy was born at 5.15a.m. My show-off husband tried to bribe the midwife to record 5.55 but alas, she had ethics. What time was Ben born? DId you know it was also International Midwife's Day on that day?
So funny that you are going through the same thing. It's defintely not solids giving Eli tummy pains b/c he hasn't started on them yet. I'm wondering if starting them or giving a little formula at night might help, but obviously is not helping you.

How do Mother's stay at all sane / functional? I feel I may just collapse from exhaustion. And I find there is very little understanding or sympathy from ppl who haven't been through it - it's like you should just grin and bear it b/c you're a Mum.

Oh well, we battle on.

Cheers, Mel