View Full Version : Going Organic

SassyMummy
13-11-2006, 15:42
I've recently noticed that I've been choosing organic meats over regular meats, after seeing an episode of "Jamie's Kitchen" where the kids went to an organic pig farm.

I always assumed that organic meat was organic purely for the foods the animals were fed... but the farmer on Jamie's Kitchen said that to be organic, the animals have to live a very "natural" life as well... free to run around, breed at will and whatnot.

I really liked that, and hence have been trying to buy organic meats whenever I can.

I've also, for many years, used free-range eggs after seeing a video on battry hens at school. They cost heaps more, but for me, it's worth it...knowing that at least these animals were given a decent life (before they were killed to be eaten).

It's a bit gross thinking that animals are killed so that I can enjoy a burger, but there's no way in hell I'm giving up meat, so I appreciate that the meat I'm choosing to eat (if I can find/afford it) has had a decent life...

I've also found that they taste SO much yummier (you don't get that greasy "animal fat seeping through my pores" feeling like you do with regular meats).

I was wondering what organic products you purchase and why?

I don't buy organic veges or anything else simply for the fact that they are organic... for whatever reason, I just don't care about organic veges/fruit etc.

So what organic stuff do you buy, and why?

13-11-2006, 15:48
I always buy organic chicken - the **** they put into regular chickens.......anitbiotics........steriods :eek:

Organic milk - DD drinks so much of it I figure it's worth it

Organic rice crackers - same

Organic and free range eggs - again, because of the **** they put in chickens, and becasue of the way regular chickens are housed and treated :crying:

Basically I believe organic is definately better - who wants to ingest chemicals they don't have to?

But in saying that, I do shop on a budget so can't afford to buy organic everything - I buy as juch organic as I can afford :thumbsup:

candice_bree
13-11-2006, 15:54
I always buy free range eggs...

I too saw the story about how battery and caged hens are stuffed into individual tiny cages and fed their own sh1t... Not something i want to be either eating or supporting!

I too also buy organic chicken, for the same purposes, i like to think the chicken got to range freely before, well we know what for!!

Bron
13-11-2006, 15:56
I always buy organic free range chicken and eggs. I get stressed by the living conditions of chickens.

I often buy organic fruit and veggies, if they are available.

13-11-2006, 16:00
if you want it to have a nice life why eat it:p

Bron
13-11-2006, 16:01
Yes bronny-jane, I wrestle with that crisis often. I am regularly tempted towards vegetarianism.

13-11-2006, 16:05
Yes bronny-jane, I wrestle with that crisis often. I am regularly tempted towards vegetarianism.

ive been thinking the same thing....but i do love a nice medium rare steak....and i dont like cows;)

Mikeswifey
13-11-2006, 16:44
Growing our own vegies is very important to us and we try not to use any "commercial" fertalizers, only organic stuff like organic chook poo, our own compost etc.

My MIL buys Otway Pork which is organic pork.

I have brought organic chicken breasts a few times.

We also buy Norganic Crunchola cereal, an organic musili.

We have free range eggs only, from the local butcher or from my cousin. So so much nicer than cage and alot friendlier.

We also buy all our summer fruits from the local farms in my town - eg. cherries, strawberries, at least we can see where they come from and can see the conditions they are grown in.

We would go full organic for sure, but its extremly pricey to do so.

TwoBlue
13-11-2006, 16:47
will not buy cage eggs and get very tempted to have "words" with people i see pick them up at the supermarket (but i restrain myself)

I also grow a fair few of my own vegies but otherwise i dont stress too much about fruit and veg being organic...

My local butcher advertises that his meat was "happy" before it was slaughtered, i guess that counts as organic but i never thought about it that way... his meat is sooooo tender and yummo !!

Funkychicken
13-11-2006, 19:47
Sassymummy, you can buy a fantastic book at the newsagency called Clean Food-Organic. It now has a few editions i think. It lists all sorts of reasons as to why organic is best and gives a comprehensive list of where to go to buy organic in your state. It advertises organic producers and shops that sell organic. Definately worth buying or you can probably get it at your local library if you don't want to buy it.

We always have organic or biodynamic milk. Dairy products can be so full of hormones that the cows have been treated with. We also get organic yoghurt.

Organic honey, organic tea and coffee (fair trade only), organic chicken, sausages, and mostly other meat if we buy it but not always.

Organic flour and oats.

Fruit and vege's when we have a good week income wise but otherwise I settle for locally grown from the markets.

Organic cloth pads are my newest purchase and the children have some organic cotton clothing.

I use organic dishwashing liquid. This breaks down in a day or two-well before it reaches the waterways, although ours goes out to a paddock behnd our house.

Our own chickens=our own fresh eggs.

I can't recommend the above-mentioned book highly enough for anyone looking to switch to organic or begin buying more organic products. I think is costs about $20. :thumbsup:

SassyMummy
13-11-2006, 23:17
Thanks for the replies! Nice to know that some others are interested in organic.

Thanks for that FunkyChicken, though, being a non-driver, I'm pretty much restricted to my local Woolies (because it's in walking distance and if I use a cab, the fare is rather minimal). It's also the cost of organic that irritates me - though I can understand why it has to be more expensive. I'm just not in a position to fully go organic...(just after posting this thread I went to woolies and bought some non-organic mince... because I'm poor this week...).

Hopefully in the future, our house will be a bit more full of nice organic foods... maybe DP (as an apprentice chef) will begin to become more interested in using local food markets and stuff too... hopefully they'll have a fair bit of organic on offer.

That book might come in handy in a few years...so if it's around then, I'll definately look into it! :thumbsup:

lottiesmum
14-11-2006, 06:14
we are loosely vegetarian (:o ) in that we eat fish a couple of times a week, but no other animal flesh. We do wear leather products as well....and sometimes i resort to cheese with animal rennet in it.

I buy organic fruit & veg because i want the produce we eat to be good quality and low in pesticides and I like the idea of sustainable farming. if as consumers all we want is more food and cheaper, we will end up with most of our food supply with the quality of chinese garlic - which i find very alarming. having said that the cost of organic is significantly higher so i'm hoping to start up a veggie patch at home.

we also drink organic milk, and eat organic yogurt and of course organic and free-range eggs. also pulses, grains, flour etc.

i find farmers markets in Sydney are superb - but we've just moved out of sydney so i am using a home delivery service for fruit & veg which is a great option as it is always fresh - which can be an issue in some organic stores with low turnover...i'd say 75% of our diet is organic...

jasminesmum
14-11-2006, 09:11
I buy organic if I can get it. Unfortunately where we live not alot is available.

I get free range chickens and bacon and ham.My mum has her own chooks so we get our eggs from her.
I use organic flour, pasta,sugar, tomato sauce,pasta sauce, rice, jam,honey and tea.

Sometimes the supermarkets have veges and fruit marked down so I get them then.

I would use everything organic if I could afford it and get it. :yes:

Funkychicken
14-11-2006, 15:40
I wanted to add here that for those that are concerned about the cost of organic (aren't we all!) if you are near an ALDI store you will find that their list of organic produce is growing. it includes meat, tea, honey, milk, yoghurt, pasta sauce, milk and I am told it will continue to grow. The good news is the prices are VERY reasonable for organic products. :thumbsup:

23-11-2006, 11:18
I am impressed that even Bi Lo is slowly stocking more organic and free trade foods. I am vegetarian so don't eat meat organic or not. Hubby and kids eat meat occassionally though. If it was up to me everything would be organic fair trade. Its more expensive but to me much more worth it. I like organic clothing and like to knit with organic wool (or at least the less produced commercial wools - smells like the sheep!)

Duchessa
23-11-2006, 13:03
Hey Sassy,

I buy a mixture of organic and conventional and grow some of our food too.

My philosophy is I buy organic, grow my own or avoid foods that are notoriously high in pesticides. Strawberries are a good example as are lettuces and other leafy veges. And kiwi fruit.

Grains are usually pretty clean, as are paddock/range raised beef and lamb (most beef and lamb are paddock fattened in Australia).

Avoid all imported fruit and veges as food imports are not tested for residue and chemical laws are often A LOT less stringent than those in Australia.

Here is a good faq:

http://www.nutritionaustralia.org/Food_Facts/FAQ/Organic_Foods_faq.asp

annsam
23-11-2006, 13:07
I used to buy EVERYTHING organic.......fruit, vege, meat, pastas, sauces, soaps, face cream, cleaners - you name it, its was organic in my house. I used to order through an online delivery company as there are no organic shops around here but I got so sick of paying some extortionate price for fruit and vege to have it a third of the size of the norm and the meat though nice was horrendously priced so now I just visit the local butcher and green grocer and flag the rest unless its sold in the supermarket (like the pasta for instance).

faery
24-11-2006, 17:22
organic fruits and veg, eggs, soy milk, beans and grains, tins like tomatos, sauces that we use alot like tomato and tamari, flour, sugar.....basically everything we eat unless it is something special (like pampadums/taco shells - have never found those organic) or a treat like chocolate - too expensive for the amount i eat!!!

cleaning products and body products as well and clothes when possible (organic cotton if available).

for us it is just as much about supporting green businesses and the health of our planet as well as the health of ourselves.

aardvark
24-11-2006, 17:52
I buy mostly organic.

I make my own spelt bread, and I bottle fruit, tomatoes, pasta sauce etc.

It's expensive, but I feel better for it, and it has solved a lot of household skin conditions.

I'm hoping like crazy at present that my doggie boy is still earning his keep, and will continue to keep the birds away from my cherry tree for a few more days, and that he will then do likewise for my plums and apricots. I'm hoping to be making jam and fruit leathers from them.

Mikeswifey
24-11-2006, 18:54
I saw Organic minced beef today at Aldi which was suprising.

It was $5.99 for 500gm.

jessi
24-11-2006, 19:08
I don't buy organic veges or anything else simply for the fact that they are organic... for whatever reason, I just don't care about organic veges/fruit etc.

i dont know if anyones spoken about this but choosing organic veges & fruit over normal veges & fruit means saving your body from having to digest up to 3000 different pestisides.
Take a non organic apple, you might think its healthy & safe for your baby/child to eat BUT just one single apple could be sprayed up to 16 times with 36 different pesticides.
This is especially a problem for our children as their immune systems are immature and they have an extremely limited ability to detoxify any chemical substances. They are so much more susceptible to chemical residues...
Anyways, besides the whole food issue, theres the added bonus of supporting a way of farming that is not damaging the environment. Definatly something to think about!

luciesmum
21-04-2008, 20:00

I'm new to this, so bear with me. My baby Lucie is about ready to be started on meat, and I'm very interested in getting her started own organic meat, as I don't want to even think about what has been done to the meat that I buy at supermarkets.

Can anyone recommend a good organic butcher on the northside in Brisbane.

Thanks in advance for suggestions. :)

Lucie's Mum

A Party of Five
12-05-2008, 10:00
you can buy a fantastic book at the newsagency called Clean Food-Organic. It now has a few editions i think. It lists all sorts of reasons as to why organic is best and gives a comprehensive list of where to go to buy organic in your state. It advertises organic producers and shops that sell organic. Definately worth buying or you can probably get it at your local library if you don't want to buy it.

I got it on oder from my library it's written by Malcolm McGuire :yes:

We use the Bellamy's Organic (http://www.bellamysorganic.com.au/ourBabyfood/ourBabyfood.html) baby food products and they go down a treat with them!

Teley
13-05-2008, 10:43
I've basically gone veg, but if I woudl buy meat from the supermarket, I think I would buy it organic. It just makes me sick to think of the conditions those animals are kept under, I don't know about you but I personally think that when you eat meat that lived under those stressful conditions, it kinda gets transferred to you somehow. It then all the **** they put in non-organic stuff, not just meat -- :barf:. I try not to think about it, because I can afford very little organic food:no:.