View Full Version : Wedding Gift?
13-11-2006, 12:18 PM
What do you get the couple who already have everything?
I'd love to buy something nice for some friends who are getting married next weekend, but they have been living together for some time and have all the *stuff* they need.
I dont want to be getting things that just clutter.
So do you have any ideas on practical but cute wedding gifts?
If I cant decide on anything, we will get them a gift voucher, but its pretty impersonal! (and we got them one for their engagement...LOL)
TabouliRasta
13-11-2006, 12:22 PM
I get plants! Usually a lime tree in a nice pot or some sort of standard - roses usually but there's heaps of beautiful ones around.
li'l mac
13-11-2006, 02:05 PM
What about a lovely big double sized hammock? We received one as a wedding present and it was a great idea. It's kinda romantic because they can laze around together, swaying in the breeze while they sip cocktails watching the sunset. Ahhhh, newlyweds!
what about a big pic of them on top of plain paper and get the outside signed by all their friends
auntka
14-11-2006, 07:39 AM
hi,
If you were still stuck on an idea and decided to go for a voucher idea i came accross this site for a friends wedding gift idea (didnt end up getting it they had a wishing well instead) but its something that DF and I are looking at to remember our wedding day etc...
www.celebrationsunrise.comecommerceindex.phposCsid =d8249a5bb33188303ecd56112e8b4033
they can put a message on the bottom and order a date that is relevant to them!
Good luck with it
Becteria
14-11-2006, 07:42 AM
what about a big pic of them on top of plain paper and get the outside signed by all their friends
we got married last month and out best gifts were a frame with the paper inside which all the guests signed on the day. photo frames are a good gift becasue good ones are expensive (50+) so a couple them might be nice? Also i loved the embroided towels we got, they even got one for maikyra which was cute.
artwork was another :thumbsup: :thumbsup: vocuhers are **** and boring as is cash in my opinion.
Cheekychops
14-11-2006, 07:42 AM
TUPPERWARE!!
:yes: :smiliedance: :yelclap:
I love tupperware, but it's quite expensive, so I think it's a great wedding present cause of it's lifetime guarantee and some of the peices are stuff you can use all the time, or you can get something a bit nicer like the illusions range that they can use for entertaining........although it's a bit late for this time, just wanted to put it out there in case you liked the idea you could use it next time......
M O P
14-11-2006, 08:20 AM
What do you get the couple who already have everything?
an electric pepper grinder! :laughing:
we were given one for an engagement pressie, it even has a light in it, and it gets so many comments from visitors
Cheekyckops- the chip and dip server with the lid would be a perfect wedding gift!
I do like MissK's idea too
14-11-2006, 10:06 AM
THank you all for the ideas! Some great ones here! Keep them coming!
Love the idea of tupperware! :)
OopsieDaisy
14-11-2006, 11:49 AM
Myer have these gorgoues figurines for different parts of life. One is for the first baby, married couple etc etc. They are like a sandy stoney kinda thing.... they are great I think :)
Beany
14-11-2006, 12:13 PM
I gave my sister-in-law a late wedding present. I met up with them the day they got back from the honeymoon and apologised for not giving them their present on the day and here it was - a photo album.
It was a NICE photo album and they were very happy with it, telling me it was perfect and how they needed a nice album for the professional photos that were on their way (the photographer provided an album but it was pretty naff).
They were still gushing about it when they opened the album and were met with all the photos I'd taken of the day. Their mouths hit the floor. She still tells me that mine was the best present ever. :D
14-11-2006, 12:20 PM
Beany, that is just a lovely idea!!!!
Hmmm....We are only going to the ceremony, but I might be able to get a few nice photos and could frame them or get an album! :)
OopsieDaisy
14-11-2006, 04:48 PM
Myer have a really nice wedding scrapbook album if she likes to scrapbook, if not they have a few nice wedding albums and really nice frames too!
14-11-2006, 05:51 PM
Thank you Kristy! :)
ButterflyMama
14-11-2006, 07:09 PM
Artwork.. a painting, print or a nice framed photo..
A beautiful glass salad bowl..
aquarius
15-11-2006, 12:02 AM
you might like this website, it has lots of interesting and unusual gifts, if you click on the link at the left hand side of the page that says EXPERIENCES, you can get them a gift voucher for all sorts of cool unique gifts like hot air ballooning and zoo visits and jet boat rides! i hope some of these are available in tassie...
http://www.wishlist.com.au/
niesl_bug
15-11-2006, 03:30 PM
We got our friends a really nice pen which they used to sign their wedding registry. We engraved it with their initials and wedding date. We wished we had something like that on our day but we didn't think of it!
16-11-2006, 08:46 AM
Thank you all for some really great ideas! :)
We will go into town on the weekend and have a look around. :)
abeckaj
18-11-2006, 12:50 PM
I love to get personalised stuff like embroidered towels or bath robes, pillow cases etc. - most shopping centres ahve embroidery places that you can get done the same day.
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.